Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Marker San Francisco, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4 stars

501 Geary Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#44 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 792 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The difference between booking.com and what I actually paid was about double. So, the ad for the hotel for three nights was ~$550. Then they charge a $25 "amenity" fee per night for coffee, tea, and wine. Parking, though I opted for it was $58 a night.

    The hotel staff are great! They really bend over backwards to make sure you enjoy your stay and feel welcome afterwards. Daniel and Tanya at the front desk really took the time to help me out with my issues!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somehow we got a disability room?

    Comfy beds. Funky decor. Service. Social hour. Great staff. Adjoining restaurant Tratto had amazing pizzas. Location. Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Marker is extremely efficient for anyone working with the Theaters or the galleries. Coffee in Morning and wine in afternoon. Nice in living room. Super nice staff. From Maids to Front desk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel bathrooms need an upgrade. The water pressure in the showers is poor and the fixtures are old and need an upgrade

    The staff is welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. must pay $25 per day, while i don't need other services. (bike rental, free wine...etc) I am coming for business and those were just unnecessary. 2. when i asked staff in the morning for shuttle bus, he asked me to book internet by myself. which gave me very bad impression. 3. free wifi was very slow.

    1. close to the union square 2. cheap shuttle bus service to airport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything! The only thing is it would be lovely to have softer sheets. Probably higher thread count. So not a big deal but if you want to improve that what I would suggest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In-room coffee is always appreciated, but these guys don't do it; like Euro boutiques, they could/should put in a small pod machine with some Nespresso capsules or something. Hard to knock the generosity of free wine for an hour at 5 each evening, but the wine is not exactly a great example of what is produced right nearby...it's pretty much just cheap Trader Joe's plonk, so don't rush back from strolling the city to get it. The hotel is also right on the edge of a pretty sketchy corner of the Tenderloin, so while we did not have any direct issue, the unfortunate housing/homeless crisis that exists in SF (insane unaffordability = driving many to the streets) means that there are some truly interesting characters who hang out right there on that block. No different than up and down the west coast's major cities these days, though.

    Cool style in an updated/upgraded old building, Euro-feel but made hip and pretty comfortable. Rooms are a bit small, yes, compared to executive chains but this is SF and that's what you get for the money, which makes value relative Front desk and lobby staff were (with one exception) super-nice young people who went out of their way to help and say hello, remember your name, etc.. Free wine for an hour in the evening in the lobby salon area, and coffee in the morning there, was nice. The attached restaurant (Trotta, kind of nouveau-urban Italian) is comfortable, convenient, and also with a very nice staff. But they do close early (like 10), so be aware. Location about 4 blocks from Union Square and Powell is decent, Nob Hill and Chinatown are pretty easily walkable in comfortable shoes if you are a city walker. Very decent selection of restaurants within a block to three in most directions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had trouble with toilet not flushing well. Finally was truly resolved after 3rd day. Shower curtain setup seemed to flood the floor every day regardless of how I set it up. Felt bad using up so many towels to mop it up - but they did provide LOTS of towels, which was nice.

    Nice to have coffee / tea/ hot chocolate bar in AM and wine bar with music in evening. Liked the non-corporate interiors and room décor. Staff was very nice. Were able to get taxis quickly, and not too far to walk to muni and streetcar. Liked the free online magazine subscriptions. Dinner at Tratto was very nice. Room rate was very pricy at beginning of my stay due to conventions, but was more affordable when I extended for the weekend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public areas of the hotel are scruffy, in desperate need of refurbishment. San Francisco, like many cities, has social issues. At this hotel you'll get to see them up close, in a shocking rather than dangerous way. Beware the amenities fee, though reception did waive this.

    Bedroom was a good size. Located close to Union Square. Staff generally very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front door man was a bit rude. The shower was cold after one use. Construction somehwere in the building started super early and woke my girlfriend and I up.

    The decor was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in-room coffee and tea service. This was served every morning in the common room downstairs.

    Cleanliness was good and staff were very friendly. Service was excellent. I like that there’s free flow of wine in the evenings ;-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cute but very small and a little noisy. The hotel overall was more dated than I expected from the photos on booking.com.

    Great location, nice bar and lobby area. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way over priced for what we got. They charged us a premium rate of $350 for a sub par room. A room comparable to best western rooms.

    Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee makers in the rooms, please!! Who wants to get dressed to go downstairs for that first cup! Also, warning there's a $25/day facilities fee (coffee, wine, WIFI, gym). It seems a little steep for what you get.

    The hotel is clean and the staff is VERY friendly and accommodating. The gym is a good size and has a great set of weights. There's free coffee/tea every morning and free WINE from 5-6. My queen room was a good size and the bed was SUPER comfortable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of homeless just outside the hotel. The hotel felt safe, but we did not feel comfortable walking around the area after dark.

    Centrally located and near transportation. Hotel staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The $25 add on for coffee and wine, which we did not plan to drink.

    Sandra was at the front desk. She was outstanding, super friendly and extremely helpful. The valet staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful, also.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proofing in the rooms was poor. We heard the room next doors child and more so the father from early morning.

    Lovely rooms. The restaurant was really good , the staff so friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the room was chic, & functional. I love the window seat, so much fun to watch the street below. The room was in good repair, staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a great experience!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't take a shower at 11 pm since there were not hot water in the tap. I left the tap open for about 10 min but the water were still cold. The answer I got from the reception that it takes long time and for sure there will be hot water in the morning - very disappointing !!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the whole staff could use a bit mostly training, or maybe there are slightly too few staff. But at one point no one was answering the phone at the front desk and some charges got confused (though all straightened out).

    Well located, pleasant hotel with a very good restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location - as it is next to tenderloin - so I suggest not to turn left - it can be dangerous especially during late hours.

    Location - as it is very close to everything. Staff is nice. Free coffee in the morning and free wine in the evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel staff was wonderful, they accommodated all my requests and made sure that my stay was pleasant. The hotel is located just a few minutes away from Union Square. My room was very, very clean. The wifi signal was strong everywhere around the hotel. There were enough power outlets in the room, which is rare for a hotel and I really appreciated it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free coffeee horrid, but hear Starbucks is down the block

    Across the street, a nail salon, Walgreens, cheaper parking...Close to bars, shopping, trsatsurants...Liked the water refreshments by elevator

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In looking back at my three stays at this property-- there was NOTHING that displeased or dissatisfied me.

    Well, the architecture and decor were both aesthetically appealing; the location wonderful, the personnel quite helpful and professional, and last, but far from least, the price that I paid per night for my nicely appointed room was indeed wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not great value, however, with small rooms and dated bathrooms. Normally some trade-offs for a good downtown location. But annoying when you are hit with a "small print" amenity charge adding $25 *per night* to your bill (for "amenities" such as wifi and coffee -- pretty much standard everywhere else.)

    The hotel has a great location, within walking distance of most everything. The bed was really comfortable. I would probably stay there again, if the rate were competitive (taking into account the up-charges.)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is really expensive, my fault that I did not read into details about the price when book.

    Location was really good and the decoration is cool, confortable bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was less than what we expected considering the price paid. General hotel price more expensive than the average, but didnt see the value.

    Staff very friendly, always trying to help and giving suggestion about what do in the city. Hotel has an excellent location, close to public transportation, restaurants, supermarkets, places to visit and etc. Excellent italian restaurant next to the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not given a print-out of our invoice upon check-out, but were assured that the amenity charge of a hefty 25 USD (for weak coffee and lukewarm water for tea essentially) would be waived for the day when we did not stay at the hotel (we checked out one day earlier and informed the reception at the check-in time about change in plans). The charge was not removed and the hotel staff ignored emails requesting to change the invoice and refund the fee. On top of that, the amenity fee was included in the hotel price, and was also withdrawn by the hotel. The hotel still has not refunded us for charging twice, including for the day when we did not stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wished I could have bought a newspaper in the hotel.

    Excellent accommodations for the price. Liked being connected to a good restaurant. Free am coffee and pm wine was a nice touch. Very helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My experience was quite pleasant; there was nothing that I did not like about the property and its personnel.

    I do think that I've already reviewed this property. ...found out a few days back that it's one of the better hotels in this country as stipulated by Conde Nast Travel mag. When I read this, I smiled because I've stayed here on two occasions recently and have been highly pleased both times with all aspects.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It extends itself somewhat on the price, even more so when the 'stealth' "amenities tax" is added only after checking in. This, along with the local sales tax, I think worked out to around +20% on the quoted price from Booking.com.

    For me and the main reason for the visit, (proximity to The Warfield and The Fillmore venues), this location was perfect. Service from each colleague was a joy! The most amazing pillows!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have s view. But can’t have everything,

    Great location... great staff and housekeeping. Wonderful informative customer service. Coffee and tea in the morning and wine hour in the evenings. Very quaint. Yoga kit in room. You will not be disappointed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -- for everything in the room you need to pay, even a bottle of water. However, they have free water with lime and orange in a lobby :)

    + friendly staff + clean room + comfort bad + great tea and coffee in a lobby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely property. Room was decorated beautifully, and the bed was extra comfy. They were very accommodating of my dog, and I saw many others on sight while at the property. Great location to explore SF. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a terrible view and both bedside lights were not working. I paid over $500 per night for a view of an HVAC system, was definitely overpriced for the value received.

    It was walking distance to a lot of shops/ restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the lower levels I think the rooms are a bit dark not a lot of light gets in through the window in the room I was in.

    The room was great and drinks in the afternoon

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were so many homeless people all around San Francisco but none were aggressive.

    It was central, quiet, clean and comfortable. Staff informative and friendly. Free: glass of wine in the early evening, containers of water with citrus provided in the reception area and tea or coffee in the morning. No bad smells. Amazing breakfast just down the road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was my 50th birthday and the staff not only upgraded my room but also left a wonderful PERSONALIZED card with a bottle of wine. Totally unexpected. My wife and I will return both for pleasure and business!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the begging of booking the hotel took money only for the one room and never answered before the trip. I also wanted to get in touch with them after, but they never ansvered. Location is really bad, as locals told us - this is the place where all crazy people live on the steets.

    Hotel was nice, they had a wine hour. Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot of places in San Fransico seem to have this 'resort fee' so its not a complaint about the hotel but I do find these extra charges really annoying as when you add this to the service, taxes and on the ground tips the actual cost of staying is a lot more than you are quoted on booking.com. We don't have that in the UK the price you are quoted is the price you pay so I would really rather just know the actual price when booking abroad as well.

    Lovely hotel with boutique styling. Free mint or orange water on tap all the time, coffee available in the lounge in the mornings, wine free during the social hour. Friendly staff. We walked to pier 1 for the market from there but might be a bit far for some. Lots of places to eat/ drink nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was in need of some deep cleaning or redecorating. Staff not to welcoming.

    Comey beds. Great location. Drink station at bottom of lifts was very welcome. The old ambience of the hotel was Impressive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Photos on website do not match reality. I thought it was The Outlook Jr. and Jack Torrance would jump out at any minute. Room was shabby and we saw a bug.

    Only redeeming quality was a nice staff person.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't very clean. In particular a sofa cushion was pisitively grubby when it was turned over. This made us chech the cleanliness of the rest of the linen. We asked for a kettle and some tea bags and we were charged the full 'amenity package' price of $22.00 a night. A bit much. The walls are so thin that you can hear snoring in the adjoining room!!

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this place was class. From the front desk to the room it is a great place to stay. All of the little perks that come with the room are outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was excellent: personable, friendly, competent and helpful. Adjoining restaurant very good. The room was good-sized and nicely decorated. The hallways were beautiful, too (not at all plain). Elevator was gorgeous inside! Complimentary wine hour was very nice, as was coffee in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing they could have improved on.

    This hotel was far and away better than any other we have stayed in. The staff and service was beyond professional, the hotel and room and lobby bathroom were all immaculate, and the location could not have been better. Also the price was much lower than we expected to pay. Close to great restaurants, Trader Joe's, buses, the cable car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homeless people were in lounge area where morning coffee was being served...stench of urine in elevator..we brought both issues to staff attention

    Bed was comfortable..suite was a good size..lovely bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    FRONT SERVICE MANAGER WAS A TOTAL DOUCHE. Rude as could be. You're getting rated down purely for this dude. No need for that whatsoever.

    On the special rate, this was a fantastic price (we got this on a late deal). It's luxurious in that regard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They added an additional charge on my card after sending me the final invoice and has simply ignored my multiple attempts to get an explanation, much less a refund.

    It was average. Not uncomfortable or unpleasant, but nothing to truly recommend it either.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The extra $22 charge on top of the booking was unexpected and disappointing. The concierge was not always helpful.

    The attached restaurant was great. The room was very comfortable. I liked that there was a drug store and small grocery across the street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was advertised as suitable for 4 people. It Wasn't!

    The closset space was virtually non existent, we had a room for 3 people travelling from the UK. We spent 5 days at the hotel and had to live out of the cases. Not very appropriate!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only complaint is that they charge a $22 a day amenities fee. They justify it because they provide wine each evening, bicycles, and wifi. However, it is a little surprising and is not an insignificant sum - especially if you are staying for several days. There is a note at the bottom of the reservation page about the fee - but it is not very noticeable and everywhere else they give the very clear impression that they are providing complementary amenities. So, when comparing area hotel prices - add $22 for the Marker to your analysis. It is still a great place to stay - but be aware!

    The staff was very friendly. The room was beautiful and very spacious. It was our 20th anniversary and the upgraded to a deluxe king room which was very much appreciated. The location was good - very close to Union Square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our reservation was not available at the hotel during check in. I will never use booking.com again. Tried it once and it failed. We had to manually re-book a room when we arrived, which took a long time (it was also 2:30 AM). We were also even lucky to get a room, since the hotel was sold out over the weekend. The hotel tried to check us into a room that was already filled. Usually not a big deal, but it was 2:30 AM and we were beyond tired/frustrated.

    The staff worked well with us given the booking error

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not fond of the toiletries. While we appreciated the "green" approach of not offering a bunch of sample sizes, it seemed odd to use something (shampoo, conditioner, lotion) from a larger bottle that a stranger has used. The scent was not to our liking either. That said, we had brought our own, so it wasn't a deal breaker. We were also a little bummed to have missed out on the happy hour wine because we were out exploring the town...wish that would extend to accommodate guests who may be out during that short window. We would have enjoyed it once we returned to the hotel for the evening.

    Hotel was clean and very trendy. Decor was fun...my daughter thought it looked like something at Disneyland with the colors and the mirrors. The staff were friendly and willing to help. The front desk gave great transportation advice and a map to help us. Beds were comfortable and the rooms were spacious. We had a small issue in the bathroom when we first checked into our room. The staff took care of it right away by moving us to another room. They also read and honored our request to not be near the elevator. Free Wi-Fi always a plus!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very nice, but a little small for my liking. But the worst part was the location, the amount of homeless people around that neighborhood was over whelming. The streets were disgusting and stunk of piss; didn't feel safe to walk around at night time.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was not ready when I arrived even though I said that I would be arriving before noon and got to the hotel just before noon. My room was not ready until approximately 1:30. When I arrived back at the hotel to check in, my bags had not been taken up, and I had to wait an additional 45 minutes for them to be delivered. The lighted mirror in the bathroom did not work. The "appetizers" served during the social hour were not nearly sufficient for the number of guests present and were not replenished in a timely manner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby had perfume being blown into it through vents. It was horrible and very strong. We complIned and had to change rooms because our room was above lobby.

    Staff was amazing and rooms were nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beware of the fact that the location is on the edge of the Tenderloin district, which has significant problems with drugs, homelessness and panhandling. We were aware of this before we booked and had no difficulty in navigating our way around it, but some people might be upset by what they would encounter a block or two away from the hotel.

    The location (close to Union Square) is central, and the hotel is of a good 4-star standard. The staff are very pleasant (hats off to Victor in particular, who is great), and they're efficient too, but there's also a relaxed, easy-going vibe to this hotel that we found very likable. For an hour each evening, you can enjoy a complimentary glass of wine on the house and listen to a musician. We only availed of it once, but it was a nice touch, particularly in what is a fairly expensive city. The fitness room is of a reasonable size, and (remarkably) all the equipment works, which in our experience is unusual. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is pricey but so is everything in San Francisco! Would I have liked it cheaper? Yes. But it was wonderful!

    Staff so nice! Hotel smells amazing! Complementary wine during their happy hour! Rooms clean beautiful and comfortable. The inside of hotel has gorgeous ceiling paintings, a lot of room to sit by a fireplace and relax with guests .. hated to leave it!!Will book here again no question

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice place to stay the surroundings with the homeless was a turn off. But overall I would probably stay again. Staff was friendly but a little disorganized losing my reservation dates.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very friendly and courteous. Room was very spacious and clean. Location was very close to Union Square. The 5:00 wine and music was Great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lamp in our room is broken

    The room looks cute with the painting on the wall, and it is very clean. The service and facility is very paient. I had problem with the reservation on booking.com, they didn't send me the confirmation letter with details inside, and the hotel didn't see my reservation info, but they still let me check in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was not in Union Square as advertised but several blocks away on the boarder of very sketchy area. The happy hour was pretty much a joke, each night there was sufficient wine but the only food was 3 small pizzas which were gone in about 5 minutes and were never replenished

    rooms were surprisingly large and well appointed, clean and bed comfy with nice linens

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bottles of water in the room weren't free and they were quite expensive, I've never seen that before in a hotel. Luckily there are plenty of shops around to purchase normal priced water.

    It's in a handy location, the room was clean and it was reasonably priced considering the cost of hotels in the cities of the USA. Checking in and out was effortless.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the restaurant stayed open later.

    The staff was so nice and accommodating.I really enjoyed myself especially the way you are treated. The restaurant is excellent. I will definitely be staying here again. You won't be disappointed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking. You really are forced to use valet parking. Felt like we couldn't use the car to go anywhere.

    Centrally located to shopping, eating, and the theaters. Good value for the money. We wanted a short get away to celebrate Father's Day and this was the perfect gift for him.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a self-serve coffee and tea set up in the lobby each morning. However, I would have preferred to just make it in my room so I didn't have to get dressed and trudge down there to bring it back up to my room. A little keurig espresso machine like the ones many hotels have in their rooms, does not seem implausible. I would have paid for room service to have food and coffee brought up. It would seem feasible to have room service at this hotel as there is an excellent bar and restaurant in the hotel itself.

    The staff was exceptionally kind, attentive and professional. Jackson was so good to us on check-in. He had lots of great suggestions for restaurants and bars. When we checked out, Phillip was very helpful. He honestly made us feel like old friends. Mose was great with helping us when we lost our valet ticket after checking out. The rooms are beautiful and the hotel is beautifully decorated throughout. Great ambiance. Since staying here for the first time several weeks ago, we have recommended this hotel to many of our friends. They have thoroughly enjoyed their stays as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel charged me an amenity fee and said it was complimentary. Billing did not return my phone call when I got my bill.

    Comfortable and cozy oasis.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard as a rock. Said pillow top. Room wasn't cleaned for day had to call when we got back in evening. No ice bucket liner had to ask.

    it was pretty. Liked decor

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location a little too close to the Tenderloin area of the city.

    Complimentary tea/coffee in the mornings and wine in the evenings was a nice touch. Decor was very modern; beds extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amenities..we were excited to have the pizza but they ran out and wouldn't get more...we paid for it and don't get to have any?? Frustrating...:(

    Clean rooms and great central location...staff was nice and rooms were quiet..beautiful hotel...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had stayed in the Vitale, which was amazing the weekend before, but thought to shake it up a bit the following weekend (as colleagues love the Marker in Dublin), but was unimpressed - room was small, lamps by my bed didn't work, the internet wasn't reliable (which meant I couldn't work as effectively) and the hotel area felt a little sketchy.

    Clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff member at the time of check out

    One front desk staff at time of check out was the most pleasant, too bad the rest could not be bothered.I have never experienced such a disappointing stay at a hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn't have a closet or iron, not sure if this is standard.

    The decor was great, rooms were clean and the bed was very comfy ! Loved the bonus of having fresh water infused with orange and lemons.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our first room had mold on the ceiling and hair stuck to the wall in the bathroom. We did get moved to another room very promptly and that room was sufficient. But the second room telephone wasnt plugged in so we had to plug it in and charge it for a bit in order to use it and call room service.

    Our children loved the Large window seat. They played in it all evening and again in the morning. Very safe location . Close to shopping, food, and venues. Liked the fully stocked mini bar.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: