Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of MarQueen Hotel 4 stars

600 Queen Anne Avenue North, Queen Anne, Seattle, WA 98109, USA

#66 of 89 hotels in Seattle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1006 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Book this for the location, not necessarily for any state-of-the art amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The building is a hundred years old, so you can imagine the age shows. A bit creaky. A tad dusty. Surprising lack of usable electrical outlets. I didn't even know the place offered room service until night 3 out of a 5 night stay, when a room attendant walked right into the room while I was inside to place a menu on the table. ZERO elevators, prepare to meet your daily step goal if you get the 3rd floor (didn't bother me at all, but it may affect some).

    Location is top notch if you plan to venture anywhere near the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, MOPOP, Key Arena, etc. All easily within walking distance. Free breakfast. Large "roomy" room. Attentive staff. Kitchenette and full size fridge. Prompt room service. The hot water in the shower seems to last forever, I actually tried to test it and eventually gave up.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk Young Lady clerk no friendly at all.. windows not able to open.. floor very noisy... breakfast is very very poorly managed.. plumbing is terrible...

    Great location ... spacious

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    At check-in, the lady gave us loads of recommendations of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Was perfect

    At check-in, the lady gave us loads of recommendations of things to in and around Seattle. The room was HUGE, with its own kitchen, giant bed, cloak room and a very nice bathroom with a big walk in shower. Location is perfect. 5 minute walk from the space needle. Monorail, and Kerry park which are all must do's. Also a CVS pharmacy across the road. The breakfast was a little weird. Not many tables to sit at and the room with food in was small.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Doesn't feel like a 4 star hotel. Leaking bath faucet, good location, OK staff, decent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath faucet was leaking which made a lot of noise and caused a very low pressure in the shower head. We reported to reception but issue wasn't properly fixed. The tub itself was warn out and in very poor condition. No elevator - pretty hard to manage with baggage.

    The building is an oldie but goodie, has a nice retro feel. Breakfast is pretty good. Price was good relatively to this time of year in Seattle

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and vintage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street parking was horrible. Could not use the offered valet parking due to car not having enough clearance. They were polite about that but finding parking was awful.

    Liked that each room was a small apartment. Shower was spacious and easy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Valet parking only. No direct access to the car without having someone bring it forward. Check in time per booking,com was 3pm, by hotel 4pm, the room was not ready until 4:30pm due to housekeeping. Hotel housekeeping left our room door ajar after cleaning, we were able to push it open when we returned. Reported this to the front desk but no real response.

    Good breakfast. Front desk staff, valet and door greeter friendly. Near sites. Good pub and music.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    The vintage look of the decor was so fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vintage look of the decor was so fun! The location being right in downtown was also amazing. Plus you can never go wrong with free breakfast! Thanks!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable apartment tpye stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist on duty when we checked in was not friendly or helpful. Everything we asked her for...i.e. towels, directions, information about the property and the sister property, she was unable to answer or she gave us incorrect information. If it wasn't for the valet doorman on duty and the fact that we are research travelers, we would have been lost. When I mentioned this to the receptionist at checkout, they stated that she was new and that they would need to better train her. We happened to stay on the 1st floor, however just an FYI, they do not have an elevator.

    The restaurant staff was very helpful and friendly. Both Valets were polite and knowledgeable. Breakfast is offered at this property. The sister property is around the corner. That is were the guest laundry mat is. They are within walking distance of each other. The rooms at the Marqueen are converted apartments. My husband met a women in the lobby on our second morning at the hotel. She explained that she was visiting where her husband lived when they met. The room was spacious and the kitchen was fully equipped. There are also several restaurants within walking distance. There is also a Safeway and a CVS pharmacy at the corner. The downtown market is a short 20 minute walk and there is also public transportation right on the corner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.4
    The hotel was cool and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no elevators and we hauled our luggage up three flights of stairs. Would have expected more for the price. I do not like when the pictures on the internet are nicer than the room actually is.

    The hotel was cool and comfortable. Staff was nice enough. The room was large with a kitchenette and sitting room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom needed some TLC, bath was pretty old and peeling. Breakfast, personally with though was average, weak coffee, and plastic cutlery

    We liked location, a bit of walk to city centre, but nice enough, close to lots of restaurants Room comfortable. parking available, with charge but to be expected in a city

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is in a good location but way over-priced for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was NO wifi in the room and staff steemed largely disinterested. There was no lift. Paying £65 for underground parking with no access to the car other than with a member of staff. The room was described as a separate bedroom but it was open plan.

    The large bed was very comfortable. The room a good size

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Staff are extremely accommodating, rooms are always very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price is creeping up there for an older hotel, but we pay it for location

    Staff are extremely accommodating, rooms are always very clean. Great walking distance to major events

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    The property was truly central and perfectly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t an elevator so pack light! My husband almost died carrying our luggage and there wasn’t anyone to help. We were on the highest floor so it was a nightmare going up and down for me!

    The property was truly central and perfectly located. It also was full of charm and Old Seattle history.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    2 nights in seattle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spongy mattress. Also heating/air-conditioner fan was very noisy.

    An old style hotel with aging furniture makes a nice change. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed with the quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really old hotel. Wifi is very poor. Breakfast is low quality. No elevetor and noisy air conditioning.

    Not much, hotel is from another century. Only positives are the size of the room and the bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, but some "things to know before you go"!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no elevator in the building. Disabled, be aware. And the main staircase was being recarpeted, so it was difficult to get our heavy bags upstairs. The parking situation is not good! Valet parking is available, but expensive! There is very little street parking during the day, so we moved our car from cheap lot to cheap lot until street parking became available in the middle of the night. The breakfast was really good, but there was only one wait person on staff each morning. On the first morning, the lady ran and ran to keep everything full (juice, coffee, buffet) and did a great job! A different lady was working the second morning and she was not nearly as efficient as the first lady. Juice was not full or mixed properly, coffee pots were empty and the buffet looked like it was stocked with the leftovers from the day before.

    The hotel is beautiful with many of the charms from days gone by. Loved the era appropriate music in the lobby at night! My daughter said "I feel like we've gone back in time and we're at an old 'speak-easy'!" She loved it! We expected to get a room with 2 queen sized beds. Instead, we got a suite with two queen sized beds, a separate, fully equipped kitchen and a small study. More like an apartment than a hotel room! The complimentary breakfast was very good! Great location, too! Lots of good restaurants within walking distance. A Chase bank is right behind the hotel. We were very comfortable and able to enjoy our trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    The MarQueen Hotel Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I didn't like was you couldn't open any windows and the bed was a bit stiff. The shower head height was quite low, looking down on it almost. No counter space in bathroom.

    What I did like was location, big room and high ceilings. Climate control room. Large TV. A place across the street called Atlas, jucy Lucy sliders, unbelievably awesome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.2
    Stay somewhere else, unless you're a Fawlty Towers fan
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel has been seriously under-invested in, its staff are undertrained and unprofessional, and the quality of the rooms is nothing like the photographs suggest. Examples: no real wardrobe, just a hanging rail in a boiler cupboard; no chest of drawers just one tiny nightstand for 2 people staying 5 nights; plaster falling from the bathroom ceiling; a 'kitchenette' that reminded me of cheap hostels in 1975; breakfast room without proper tables to eat from and way too small for the number of guests (with 1 domestic 2-slice toaster serving everyone); front desk receptionist who couldn't place the hotel on a map; another front desk receptionist who dismissed my request for drawers for my clothes, saying 'we've never been asked for that before'; only 1 key allowed per room(?!); chipped and old paintwork, scratched wooden floors and cheap, unmatched sofa/chair in the bedroom. And to top it all, for 3 days during our stay (and the busiest vacation time of the year), all of the carpets were replaced in the corridors so carpet dust everywhere, workers on the staircases (oh, there's no elevator), banging noises and radios blaring. I travel a lot, for leisure and for work, and this is one of the worst hotels I've stayed in for the past 20 years. It's a shame really, as with the right level of investment and management, this could be a very cool boutique hotel. But it's not.

    Interesting location close to the Space Needle, museums and independent shops. Manager finally addressed our concerns, and gave a discount.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location, big comfy room but don't rely on the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was hard to work and the bath plug area/drain was blocked - it didn't drain even overnight but they sorted it for me the next day. The bath itself wasn't in great condition - I would not have had a bath in it as it was chipped and stained. The breakfast wasn't that good either and it was very cramped in the breakfast area, hard to find space and they didn't restock essential items like plates very quickly.

    Big comfy bed and nice sofa and armchairs. Good sized room which was almost like a small 1-bedroom flat, with separate bathroom, living area, big closet space and functional kitchen. Great location - walking distance to Sculpture Park then waterfront walk, and Seattle Center with the space needle and other sights/museums/theatre. From there its 2 minutes by monorail to downtown.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    Hotel was in bad need of some TLC, But other than that stay was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom basin was cracked, bath enamel was worn and stained. Hotel was laying new carpet, but no mention from staff about apologising for the inconvenience. Workers still laying at 10 pm, and were very noisy.

    Bed was ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Quick stop in Seattle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dated but if you embrace the character and history of the hotel you won't notice.

    We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It has a lot of character and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was good and the location was excellent. Less than 10 minute walk to the Space Needle area and just round the corner from a fantastic supermarket.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was atrocious. Hotel is old and room was a little musty. Not central enough to main city area, but a short bus ride which was quick and reasonably priced. The price at A$950 for 2 nights was outrageous considering the breakfast and the mustiness of the room. I expected much better for the price paid.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. The Toulouse Restaurant across the road was magnificent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.8
    Marqueen hotel It was old dirty and smelled really bad. Way overpriced. Would never stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was old and is in need of renovation!!! The pictures were misleading . Very disappointed with hotel and booking sight for representing it as an elegant comfortable place to stay . It was anything but way way way overpriced would never ever stay there or stay In That part of town again.

    Close to cruise terminal that is pretty much it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    4.2
    Needs TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really in disrepair!! Wifi very weak. Had booked room with pull out and stove,which I was not given, asked to move...they moved me to a room with NO pullout and alot of furnace room noise. Breakfast was cold and not very well laid out. This is NOT a 4 star place

    Close to space needle and grocery

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.8
    Very average, overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets in common areas, hallways, stairs were filthy. Need a major clean. A real detraction from what is a nice building. Room had wooden floors which were very creaky. No wardrobe to hang clothes. The breakfast was continental and very poor, served in a bar with limited seating & tables that were totally unsuitable for eating at.

    Nice Old building, rooms large, kitchen with fridge, large sitting area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Great. Would come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs decorating and was scruffy in places

    Room very spacious and comfortable. All facilities we needed and sofa seating area was an extra bonus. Large comfortable bed was wonderful. Kitchen and dining areas and large bathroom. Lovely breakfast and location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Hungry and aggravated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty pathetic when you call for room service and the guy on the phone tells me " Sorry, I am too busy to make you food" I have never experienced this before. I had just climbed Mount Rainer, was exhausted, showered and all I wanted was something to eat in my room and to be told "We're too busy" is an example of horrible service.

    Location was convenient for me

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Historic property pros and cons
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Things I wish we knew when we booked - there is no elevator but it is 3 stories (4 flights of stairs), so be prepared to carry your luggage. Also, air conditioning is just a window unit. We had to keep the curtains open to get air in the room (it was very warm when we were there) and the sun rose very early. Also, the pullout couch is a short single bed, not a regular size pullout. Breakfast food was good but the space was tight.

    We liked the history of the building and the room with a kitchen gave us some space to spread out with 5 people. Roomy bathroom for a historic hotel. Great location - walked to Seattle Center for activities and took the monorail from there downtown. Lots of restaurants near by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Loved the place. Loved the location. Really loved the staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While it didn't bother me, there were no elevators. That might affect decisions for others. The carpet was REALLY DIRTY.

    The room was awesome. From the photos on the wall, it was easy to tell this was formerly an apartment building, so the rooms are bigger than the average room and had a small kitchen. Love the ambience!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    Spacious and comfortable but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old, bathtub was stained, with no surrond, likely original to the building. Which may be for charm but isn't pleasant. The view was nonexistent, as it directly faced the wall of the building behind. Very pricey for the quality.

    Room was very spacious, plenty of room for 2 people, and with a full kitchen. Neighborhood is a nice residential area very close to the park and the space needle. Service was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.0
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid quite a lot for 2 rooms. Check-in staff was pathetic, the lady was not trained and her general attitude made us regret our booking. When she handed the keys, she had no clue where the rooms were. The room was ok but there was no black tea and we were told that the hotel only kept coffee. They could’ve arranged something Breakfast was ok. Cold boiled eggs and all sweet stuff. For the price I think a better breakfast can be provided. We finally got tea! Bathrooms are with the theme but could be renovated a bit

    Location is central. Walking distance from attractions, restaurants and supermarket

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.4
    As we were about to go to bed, wife spotted a ladybug on the ceiling. Won't repeat / recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    - For the price paid, this hotel needs to be renovated. - Noisy: Noisy AC Unit, Noise from the hall, squeaky wood - Old furniture, old flooring, old tiles - Bathroom taps / shower had leaks, squeaked and was old.

    - Clean beds to sleep on. - Walking distance to the Space Needle and alot of bars / restaurants / etc. - Parking right in front of the hotel (per hour) and free from 8PM to 8AM. (Parking in Seattle tends to be really expensive, this was a plus).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Great stay on a super busy Jays-in Town Weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little bit annoying but it's expected and not the hotel's fault. Valet was pricey but for the location and safety, worth it.

    The staff, but especially Jasmine. She was so helpful and accommodating. I could not say enough great things about her. You guys have a gem! Location was wonderful, right by the Space Needle and its beautiful, cultural surroundings. Value for this particular weekend was priceless. It was the weekend the Blue Jays were in town so we came down for it. We struck gold, price-wise considering this particular weekend!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    It has a great location and very good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an old property and a historical building but that means that there were external adaptations for electricity and the bathtub needed renovation. There was no place to put the clothes, no drawers and the closet only had hangers.

    It has a great location and very good service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.6
    it was Fine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Halls we dark and smelly, carpets dirty, Shower needed work, took 10 minutes to get water adjusted. turn hot on cold went off, turn cold on hot went off. was a 10 min game to finally get it adjusted, and pressure was poor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Probably the best sized rooms in Seattle and for the best price, but it needs a refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It really needs updating. If you are disabled or cannot manage stairs you need to ask for a ground floor room as there are no lifts to upper floors and the staff don't offer to carry your suitcase. Staff are very young and not really professional as you might like from a hotel. Rooms are very warm with poor a/c. Breakfast in the bar area is a bit of a mess. No organisation, poor food replenishment and a bit of a free for all. Very disappointing.

    The rooms are very large, with sitting area, small kitchen and table with chairs. There is a nice (if pricey) bar. Staff are friendly. You can easily get around the city from here. We walked everywhere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location, spacious room, good shower
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior is worn out, carpets at the hallways and stairs are old. Breakfast area way too small. We could not find a seating so had to go and buy ourselves breakfast in the city.

    Good location, spacious room, good shower

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Love the feel of the hotel, the vintage vibe, the size of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives. Everything was clean and wonderful.

    Love the feel of the hotel, the vintage vibe, the size of the room, the kitchen, comfortable bed, staff was amazing very helpful and polite without being stuffy. This was my second stay here and I will be back. Shout out to Chris at the front desk, who went above and beyond to make us comfortable after a long travel day. Gold star!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Fun place to stay if you like character buildings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpeting is a bit old in the hallways. The vent in the bathroom blows in a lot of cold air.

    Lots of character. Our room was very large with a seating area, kitchen with a nook and just so much space. I loved the flooring in the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    Location - very close to Space Needle and you can just walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities - hotel is old and garage is small to park a full size SUV. The staff is cold when you need help.

    Location - very close to Space Needle and you can just walk there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff and comfortable, large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Free breakfast was adequate but not enough room for all guests and the layout of the food section could be improved.

    Friendly staff and comfortable, large room. We made it our base for a total of 8 days and found the location good for tourist attractions and access to the wharf area. I liked the ambiance and history of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv was in a weird place, I wish it had been facing the bed. The bed wasn’t great, my main issue was that the pillows were too thick and hurt my neck The breakfast was at times chaotic, the space isn’t really set up efficiently. Sitting space is odd. But the people working the breakfast were great and were clearly trying their best One thing I just don’t understand... they were out of coffee! For the rooms they only had decaf! How can a hotel run out of coffee?! Thankfully we could get our fix at the breakfast.

    It’s a great location. The building is clearly old, but I have no idea why some of the other reviews talk about that so dramatically. I was honestly slightly disappointed when I got there and it just looked fine. We were on the first floor so we didn’t have to deal with the stairs. But at check in someone immediately offered to carry our bags, which turned out to be unnecessary since we were on the first floor. The room is huge, with a kitchenette and a sofa. Great location, grocery store near by. You can easily walk downtown through the space needle. Several restaurants close by. I was a bit nervous because other reviews mentioned several homeless people close to the hotel and a homeless shelter. According to google maps the homeless shelter is pretty far away. Also, there are just a lot of homeless people in general in Seattle. There were none directly around the hotel. I never felt unsafe. We would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    A noise was persistent all through the night that awoke us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A noise was persistent all through the night that awoke us several times. It sounded like a compressor or something that had to resent every 90 minutes or so. Called the front desk but they did not know what the noise was or how to stop it....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Would book the hotel again, as I really enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If anything, not much in vicinity of Hotel

    Room was more than I expected. You have to get used to no elevator. Facilities in room were perfect.Breakfast was ormal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, but the concierge was very helpful

    I Like the ambiance of this older hotel. Well positioned for many tourist destinations and the waterfront, but due to steep hills we caught taxis back to the hotel. The rooms are huge with a kitchen, eating area, small sitting room and bathroom. Staff are very helpful and there is a restaurant on sight

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Plenty of sleep in Seattle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No draught beer at the bar and charging over £5 for a small can. No kettle for tea just a contraption that didn't work well although never tried coffee.

    Lovely big room that was very olde worldie. Staff very friendly and extremely healpfull. Location was good with a restraunts and bars nearby. 10 mins walk to the Space Needle.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    3.8
    The photos they show are not what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The photos they show are not what you get. Look at the real photos. I have stayed at hotels all over the world. I have never experienced a hotel in this deplorable condition. Even in third world countries. I have never seen more staines in a carpet before.The carpets throughout the hotel were completely full of stains. The third floor hall had a chair in it that looked like someone sat in it and urinated ( see photo of chair ) The room we stayed at did not even have a dresser. We lived out of our suitcase that we put on a coffee table. The baseboards in the hallways were all chipped up. The room where you ate breakfast where about 50 people would eat every morning had one toaster that was broken, there was one salt shaker and one cardboard pepper shaker, the flowers on the tables were dead and the water in the vases holding the dead flowers was yellow stagnant water. Did I mention this three story hotel had no elevator.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.8
    O.K. Don’t think I would stay again or recommend this to any of my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every faucet in the room (kitchen, bath, shower) dripped incessantly to the point of being bothersome. The bed had a valley in the middle of it. No elevators made carrying luggage to 3rd floor rather difficult. Parking was too expensive ($30.00 / night).

    I liked the kitchenette, I liked size of the room, it was fairly quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location and interesting historical building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet needs to be replaced in the hallway and stairs. The breakfast was not great but OK and convenient. The bar was a friendly place to hang out.

    Pillows weren't great but the rooms were large with bath tub and shower and kitchenette. The location was great. The decor is old fashioned traditional but in good repair. The building is a grand olde dame. No elevators but the staff is happy to help with luggage .I would equate the decor with a bed and breakfast in Charleston. Lots of hot water. For the most part clean but could use some replacement of carpeting in hallways and stairs. Great value by comparison and the location is extremely convenient to space needle, parks, museums, monorail to get downtown and pier for cruisers. Lots of good restaurants and nice grocery store near by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst night’s sleep ever Pillows were uncomfortable and lumpy Sofa in room was sagging in the middle and very uncomfortable to sit in Pretty expensive if you are on a budget

    Fantastic location Walkable to many attractions and restaurants Very friendly and welcoming staff If we had been staying longer then the kitchenette would have been very useful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    It was close to the Seattle center!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water in the bathroom had very little pressure, so we either took very very hot showers, with no water pressure, or we would take a cold shower to get decent pressure! We told the staff about this every morning, but it did not get fixed. The day we were checking out again we told the gal at the front desk about it and her response was “wow, sorry that really sucks and I’m so sorry”! I was a bit shocked by the response “really sucks”! Not a good Customer Service response in my book! Also, the electrical plugs need to be replaced. When we would plug in our plugs for charging our phones or my sons iPad, they would just fall out...or if you thought they were plugged in, and you did not check your device, there’s a chance it wasn’t charging! This was room 204...hopefully not all the rooms have these 2 issues!

    It was close to the Seattle center! And if you had children there is a great park at the center! The room was spacious and clean. We stayed in the King suite. There were 3 of us, and our 12 year old son slept on the twin pull out couch! He called it “his room”! Breakfast was included!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    Would have picked a hotel closer to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location...yes it was close to the space needle, but it is a long walk into Pike Place Market and town.We took the bus which was $2.75 valid for 2 hours. More normal tables at breakfast would have been nice, as the breakfast area doubles up as a bar in the evenings.

    Huge room with friendly staff. Good supermarkets close by if you dont fancy a big meal. Comfortable bed. Generally clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Skip this one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We do not recommend this hotel. The place is old and needs a complete facelift. Stained carpeting. We found a cockroach in the kitchen as we arrived. The breakfast is served in the hotel bar, which is not furnished with regular tables and chairs. People sit around low tables meant to be used to sip wine or drink a cocktail. Overpriced for what it offers.

    Large room and clean linen. Excellent location, near Seattle Center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.3
    Terrible Terrible Terrible,, On ALL FRONTS.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and run down condition. Terrible breakfast. Poor attitude of staff and manger towards things. Nothing was good. nothing.

    Terrible property. Don’t even think of staying here. Totally run down condition and staff attitude is that they could not care less, including the manager. Building is very old and the furniture and fittings seem very very old and in horrible condition. Bathroom Tub seemed 50 years old. Pull out bed was broken. Rooms stink. Rooms don’t seem to have been renovated since 50 years or so. Dirty carpets in the passages. Dirty stained linen. No lift. Breakfast is pathetic. No milk, rarely is sausage refilled. We were there for 4 days and reached 1 hour before breakfast closed and only once we got sausage. If anything got over at 9 am, it was rarely refilled. We never saw yoghurts or breads or sausages or fruits get refilled. Forget 4 star. It is not even a 2 star property. No reason to stay here at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Cute historic hotel that is perfect for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen did not have a cooktop, but had pots and pans. The bed that came out of the sofa was sqeeky and matress was very uncomfortable. The rooms need a bit of maintenance to repair some visible damage.

    Having a room with a kitchenette was great. The location was very convenient, and the room was quiet and confortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    The air conditioning was insufficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was insufficient. It was a hot day and it did not give out enough cool air. The bathtub didn't look clean. Wether it was stained, it wasn't invitable!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.2
    Overpriced and hagard! But great staff and cool, quirky decor downstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed; hagard room interior in bad need of complete renovation; shower and toilet on the verge of unusable. We felt as if we were staying in the starkly empty apartment of someone's recently deceased grandmother: terrible. To add salt to the wound: $250 a night and $30 a day for parking. And that's all before mentioning the astonishingly run down part of town the place is situated in. Seattle, in general, certainly seems to have a homeless problem - I could write an entire review just on how much we didn't enjoy Seattle itself.

    There were two redeeming qualities however: the staff was really great and genuine. The lobby and restaurant were awesome - whatever money was spent on renovations, one can tell it was there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    This hotel looks old but it looks antique and very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only valet parking and parking fee was very expensive. However the staff were very helpful, notifying us about the fee and instructing us ways to park.

    This hotel looks old but it looks antique and very beautiful. And the staff is very kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.4
    Old & Crusty with no lift. Great location for Ferry's, but costly for the night. Not great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift so with heavy suitcases, this would have been a nightmare. Thankfully they put us on 1st floor, as otherwise, I know I would have been very unhappy.... The place was overpriced for what it was. If you liked old & crusty, this is the place for you. Bath so bad, that I wouldn't put my daughter in it, then the shower knobs so old, I thought I was going to break them as couldn't get hot water tap to go. Not great when in a hurry to get out early. Cost for room crazy for what we received, as only good thing was close to ferry.

    The location was great, as we had a very early Ferry ride to Victoria, so a short $10 taxi ride to get us there, so perfect. Had an awesome supermarket that had ready made meals at, & having a small kitchenette with microwave, we could eat in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    How close it was to the Space Needle and the Key Arena.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a bit firm.

    How close it was to the Space Needle and the Key Arena. It was really helpful so my mum and her friend could do their thing while I was at my concert.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    This hotel takes you back in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We we're not able to have two keys for the room it was a bit of an inconvenience. The location was great for the Key Arena and the Space Needle, but it was quite a walk from Pike's Market. Parking is a bit expensive, but we we're able to find a spot on the street and paid for the meter with an app on our phone.

    This hotel takes you back in time. Even the complimentary toiletries had feel of days past. Our room had a full kitchen, which was nice for a long stay. While the breakfast at Tin Lizzy's was very crowded, it had a nice variety and was yummy. The concierge was incredibly helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    This is our second stay and we will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in had a taped up broken window and smelled a little musty.

    It has such character every where you look. WiFi worked great, free breakfast was good, location is fantastic. Walking distance to space needle and 5 min drive to cruise line pier.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Fun place,not for people with disabilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of beggars and transients near area

    Quaint hotel,lots of character very old! The room was a small suite Staff was helpful and room was very clean Location was close to needle,lots of good restaurants near by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Best Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like having the same things available at breakfast everyday.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was unique and comfortable. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    There is no elevator so you will need help with your luggage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator so you will need help with your luggage. The hotel is very old and not completely renovated. Its stuck back in time. Although clean, for the price and reviews of great boutique hotel I expected much more. The pillows were hard, our large SUV could not be parked and we had no idea where breakfast was (if they even had breakfast). There is a homeless shelter around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    2.9
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is antique including the beds, squeaky floors, tub, and peeling paint on the tub wall. The shower has 0 pressure. This place is 18 century, no elevators and everything is old and even smells old. This property is on the edge of downtown and it is surrounded by homeless individuals who aren't the nicest people. There was dust and dirt everywhere.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.6
    Like the history of the hotel.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevators stay was on the third floor. Shower old and water dripping all the time

    Like the history of the hotel. Stayed here over 10 years ago and enjoyed our stay. The hotel and area has really become run down. Way over price for a two star hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Overall a good hotel, a few minor glitches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only had one name on a 3 room reservation so they would not let the others check into their room until I got there. Room 110 needs a new AC or maybe a filter cleaning. Beds are very hard.

    Good location, close to cruise pier and Seattle Center. They held our 20 bags the day of checkin and checkout so we could tour city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable stay! Seattle is just an expensive city to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast has changed. The current offerings are "okay" but we missed the made-to-order great choices.

    The room size if great and having a full kitchen is awesome! We had a nice view of the space needle. The Marqueen is located in a great area for markets, restaurants and Seattle Center. It is fun to read the historic photograph explanations of the building origins that are posted around the hotel. Hotel staff were friendly and did everything they could to assist guests in enjoying their stay and the local culture.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Good location for families, low standard compared to price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my assessment this is a 2 star hotel. The room we got was very dated, I would assess at least early 90’s If not 80’s since it had been renovated. Bathroom felt quite unhygienic, although we can not complain about the cleaning as such. From what we got we feel this hotel is overpriced. Breakfast very poor from a Northern european point of view, but Ok from a continental point of view.

    Location was very good for us travelling with kids. Only a few minutes walk from Seattle park

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    The rooms were large and bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is pretty basic but ok.

    The rooms were large and bed comfortable. They accommodated my dad with a walk in shower as requested. Was a couple of blocks from the Space needle and Chihuly Gardens.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Quiet and nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevators and the shower was a bit hard to work.

    It is an old property, which used to be an apartment building. So it had an old feel to it, I liked the vibe.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    For the money, I have stayed at places I found more accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness needs to be worked on as my neice and I both became quite ill during our stay; not sure if it was after having their continental breakfast or perhaps the bathroom wasn't as clean as it should have been. The shower is terrible, low water pressure and hardly any hot water. There is no cup in the bathroom either. You have to ask for extra blankets and then call again to get them, again service is well-meaning but slow.

    The hotel is fine as a boutique hotel and while they seem a bit overwhelmed because the service was at times slow, the staff is very nice. The location is pretty great depending on where in the city you want to be.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Hotel should be more flexible by guests requests
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I requested an early ck-in but had to wait till 3:45pm in order to see my room(I arrived at 8am) , I ws so tired from a 20 hrs flight from overseas

    Decor ws decent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charm has long since faded and property is just outdated, worn & overpriced. Carpets in public areas are in desparate need of replacement. The wood floors in our room were scratched and worn beyond repair. The kitchen & sitting rooms are not functional and just take up space. The bathroom was old with exposed pipes, cracked floor tiles & old skimpy towels. I realize this is an old building but leaving it as it was originally built does not suit today’s traveler.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse MarQueen Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: