Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Marrakech 3 stars

2688 Broadway, 103rd Street, Upper West Side, New York, NY 10025, USA

#387 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3174 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are really small, nothing like the pictures, it seems a little dirty, kind of old, and the air conditioner is to big for the room, it was almost touching the bed and making the room uncomfortable. The bathroom is also small and not nice. It was very disappointing for the price.

    The location is amazing and there’s a subway right outside the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit uncomfortable and the rooms were small. A little confused as to why we had to pay for them to store our bags after we left, nowhere else we stayed in the USA did this and this was our longest stay by far.

    Location was excellent, about 20 metres from the subway and near plenty of places to eat. Staff was good and always around to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very small Electric kept going out Shower doesn’t stay hot very long unless you get up early Kept getting bit, maybe bed bugs If you have any disability don’t go as you have to take lots of stairs Quite a way from most tourist places

    Staff were friendly Cheap

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is outdated & badly in need of a make over. The stairs which lead to lobby are very steep & were difficult for my brother who has special needs to manage. The carpet that runs throughout is really dirty, though the staff do their best to keep the hotel clean, it needs to be renovated. The beautiful photos on the website do not properly depict what the hotel really looks like. It's dark and dreary which doesn't help the small room sizes & narrow hallways & stairwells.

    The staff are very friendly & helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place was a dump. The room was so tiny that there was only enough room for the bed and end tables. Our room was on the 5th floor. It was a walk up. The stairs were so old and creaky, I thought I might fall through. The listing said "parking" but when we arrived we received a coupon for $35/day at a parking lot nearly a mile away!

    I liked the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I didn't like was the lack of an elevator was difficult to get the suitcases up and down the stairs.

    The location was great the red 1 subway stopped right outside and brought you to times square

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 4 nights

    lack of double glazing to block out noise and no elavator

    Excellent location and if on a budget then it works. Please note their is no elavator in the building which sucks if you arent fit and healthy! noisy if your room is over looking broadway and other rooms off the main road can be dark. However for New York the price most likely reflects these isssues. staff are excellent and very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only wish was to have a coffee maker in the room. However, there is a Starbucks next door.

    This location gave good value for its cost. I am a senior citizen on a fixed income. The room was clean and the facilities were simple but adequate for my needs. My expectations were met. I don't need an elevator, but those who do will find that staff is happy to carry luggage up and down the stairs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wardrobe in the room. Everything else was flawless.

    Good location Great advice given on attractions and amenities Breakfast coupon was given for nearby Broadway Bagel Rooms were always spotlessly clean. I’d definitely come back here next time I’m in NY.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked to know that there was no elevator. Recent hip replacement made the stairs difficult. I asked for a room with 2 beds, no rooms with 2 beds were available. After getting a roll away bed the small room became even smaller. Window air conditioner was insufficient.

    The staff was very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complaints about this hotel are by people who must not travel often or understand what a crappy hotel is. If you are coming to the city and need a place to sleep and shower this is your place. It’s clean, it’s close to the subway, and it’s comfortable. No it’s not a luxury sweet.. but as a traveler and someone coming to the city to explore and be outside and not sit in our hotel this was just what we needed for the price. People complaining about noise? You’re in New York City .. haha..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    decor, cleanliness, old old building. floors uneven and tilt. tipped maid $10 day and still no towels.

    picture of room deceiving. I would not stay there again. had to keep asking for washcloths, hand towels, shampoo, and never received them. carpet in common area and steps and lobby FILTHY. basically the environment was very depressing, color scheme etc. afraid to sit in lobby because upholstery very dirty. as the old adage states sometimes the cheaper it is, the more it costs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes, it’s a little run down in places but still mostly nice overall. Could have used some hangers for the wardrobe! There wasn’t anywhere to actually put my clothes

    Good location near Central and the Hudson River Parks as well as some great places to eat! Staff were friendly and helpful. Usually someone is around to carry your bags up the stairs which helps if you do stay on the higher floors. A great place to stay which made NY more affordable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was extremely old and stained throughout the whole hotel and in our room. I wore my thongs in our room because it felt dirty because of the look and smell. Our room was tiny and only had a tiny window. There was no bar fridge. The bathroom was tiny also. I booked this accommodation trying to get value for money as close to central park as possible. I understand that accommodation in New York is pricey but we paid good money and did not enjoy our time spent at this hotel. The six or so flights of stairs that we had to climb to get to our room are the least of our complaints.

    The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy if you are at the street side. Airconditioning is a wall unit that also makes noise.

    Great staff, very friendly. Great location, close to subway. Great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to check out. I wish I had time for another day. I live out on LI and I was in the city for my Granddaughter's Graduation from Sophie Davis School of BioMedicine, City College of NY.

    The hotel was perfect! Just what I wanted and needed. Comfortable, Clean & a nice location for me. This was the first time I stayed in a NYC Boutique Hotel and not a familiar large hotel. I just loved it. From the time a staff member opened the front door upon arrival until I checked out, the staff was super helpful & friendly. I felt like I was their Grandmother as well. I arrived at my Granddaughter's Graduation the next morning well rested, clean and happy. I didn't have to chase trains, subways and cabs. I was right where my family could conveniently pick me up for all the festivities. (And I must also add that other guests traveling from all over the world were also friendly, happy and interesting to talk to.)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets need cleaning or replacing. Service at front desk often slow. Think need more personal working at front desk.

    The fact that it was so close to Central Park and a Metro Subway System.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been abit firmer for me but that’s personal....Each to their own....

    Everyone was welcoming,friendly and helpful. The location being next to the subway was great,although abit too far out of midtown... Nothing wrong with the property at all...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small. Not a lot of facilities. Good for the price though

    Location is great. Metro outside that gets you to a lot of the main stations. Quiet for the city too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    The place is very small. The staff are corrupted. They gave me wrong information to take money when we were asking for taxi. They made me pay extra 20 bucks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs! No elevators. But its worth it for the price.

    Its in the Middle of everything. If u go to NY and want to visit this is the place to stay. This place’s location is perfect! The people are super nice! Good Value place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not the Holiday Inn its not fancy, it's still a very nice place to stay with a New York feel. I will return again!

    Bed was comfy,employees were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in room was coming off. Dark. Carpet looked dirty. Bathroom was extremely small. Bathtub was only maybe 3 feet long. Just not good at all for 900 dollars

    Some furniture.....that's it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds omg spend some more money on new beds !!! God they are awful ! Thin walls !! Extremely thin ! Depending on where you stay it was a bit noisey.

    Was a good base to travel Close to subway Close to Central Park Lovely staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs updating. Not very clean. The stairs were a nightmare. Wallls are thin so I could hear everything next door. The lighting in the rooms is terrible. Way to dark , especially when getting ready to go out.

    Employees were nice and helpful. Location was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs were dark and the carpets stained. The shower could only produce lukewarm water. Ended up doing a bowl wash.

    The staff were very obliging and friendly. Very close to the subway- metres away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness not perfect however for the price not bad and would’ve picked a more central location to everything but the subway is convenient but limited central spots.

    Loved how friendly all the staff were very welcoming and helpful with any queries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath towels are not clean, spots on the towels are quite visible. The shower is not very good as well.

    The location is perfect because it is close to underground.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms of rather the hotel is a make shift one . You hear any slight movement in the next room and the room above . Its worse when the occupants are showering or using the toilet. We changed rooms 3 times. The carpert is old there is no elevator or lifts. No iron in the rooms and there is no system to trace the guests with the limited irons shared . Can wait the whole day for an irony to press clothes.Its just a lousy hotel . No value for money

    the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhere in the booking it should mention that this is a walk-up hotel. NO ELEVATOR. 2 floors of stairs before you get to the check-in, and we had another 3 floors to walk up, with bags. This is not a hotel for anyone with knee or medical issues.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t know the hotel didn’t have elevators. Also the rooms are very small and furniture is all budget. No coffee, no iron, none of the basic items typically in hotels.

    Staff was very accommodating and helpful. I found them very pleasant and were truly the best part of the stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't escalator and the room isn't so clean. The view from the room was a wall. Moreover there was smell of smoke.

    The staff is very nice and gentle. The hotel is located near a subway and this is so comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could invest in a lift the stairs will test your fitness and I’m a gym goer

    Really friendly staff excellent location room cleaned daily and would definitely stay there again . It’s not over fancy but very good value for the price as in New York you’re only in the room to sleep to much exploring to stay in so can’t warrant £3000 pounds to stay in the centre 10 mins to Times Square perfect myself and my wife loved it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I emailed the property to request a room on a lower floor knowing the property had no elevator. On arrival we were put on the 5th (top) floor. Rooms are very small and with the addition of a rollaway bed to accommodate a family of 5 plus luggage there was a serious lack of space

    Great location and very freidenly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was tiny, and no elevator (very annoying when carrying luggage up all the stairs)

    Staff where extremely helpful! Hotel was in a great location and a very comfy bed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could have been a bit more updated. There were stains in the tub that were unsightly. But overall, that was a small price to pay for a quick and easy booking and a restful night's sleep.

    It was a quick and easy booking on very short notice. Check in was super easy. The room was more than adequate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They kept changing the rates all the time. I understand HI and low season, but this is random.

    Beds super comfy, room and bathroom clean, but most of I liked the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room was too compact, bed was a double pushed up against a wall, could hardly fit in once two suitcases were open and these had to be on the floor.

    Location was great close to breakfast diner, Starbucks, subway and short walk to Central Park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shuttle service to the airport is bad. They didnt arrive at time, and didnt return the money. They commited to arrive at 2:40pm, but it was 4pm and they still wasnt there. If my flight was earlier, I would have missed it.

    The price was reasonably fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1. When you make requests once you are there for more than a day, they do not respond. like towels. I suppose this also depends who is on duty. They agree, but simply ignore you. 2. The hot water stopped working and they took some time to repair, couldnt find an alternative while they repaired 3. Can be better cleaned 4. The day rate does not change based on number of days stayed, but afetr day 1, the service and cleaning goes downhill

    The room was fairly basic. The strong shower . Staff on day 1 were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We changed rooms twice, first because the bathtub was not really clean then because we had problems with the lighting in the bathroom. There were also orange stains because of the rusted shelves in the bathroom. The bedsheets and the duvet would absolutely need to be changed.The windows could not be closed completely so it was cold at night.

    The staff was really lovely and helpful. They were extremely efficient and responsive when we had problems inside or outside the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the staff a lot. Friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

    The beds a very comfortable, the showers are hot and high pressure. The linen and rooms are very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room we were in was not nice at all. The desk was chipped, the bathroom was stained and the bedspread had a wet spot on it. Definitely didn't meet expectations. The second room was better.

    It didn't look anything like the pictures but it was clean and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They no longer have a bar

    Great boutique hotel on th upper west side. If it wasn’t on the second floor with a flight of stairs to climb it would be amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift had to climb 5 flights of stairs ... room was basic and tiny (even though it was allegedly a larger room) bathroom was matchbox and basic. No tea or coffee facilities in room, tiny bed v noisy on lower levels ... website massively misleading re what you actually get

    Location and staff both excellent. Staff v accommodating and helpful. Close to subway station and there’s an excellent bagel place, diner and bar nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service and 5 flights of stairs dragging my luggage. The long steep stairs just to check in. Door to tower wasn't noted on door, went up incorrect tower of 5 flights to have to climb 5 more stairs bcz of lack of guidance. I was cold was offered an extra blanket. The lobby was cute and the pic made us booked. I was in shocked as I didn't take pix bcz I felt tortured from beginning no elevator on website but 5 flight of stairs twice

    The room was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know this is only a small thing and this not a complaint but a suggestion. The entrance stairs to the hotel are the first thing you see which gives the first impression of the hotel but they were always dirty and could have been made better by being kept clean.

    The room clean and the beds were really comfy and had plenty of hot water. Staff very friendly and helpful anything we asked for was dealt with straight away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    awful hotel, very noisy, when someone passes through the room, the floor is shaking. drapery sheets, towels in stains. left the hotel two days earlier. simply impossible to be there. the money for cancellation of the reservation was not returned.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room, stains and hair on bed cover, no heat, noisy from outside and within, no hot water

    Nothing, dirty room, no heat, no hot water, small uncomfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not clean at all. Toilet was clogged shower was so dirty we couldn’t use it. There was food on the floor from people before us. Terrible atmosphere. Huge dissappointment. Very dissatisfied

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Already mentioned the Elevator situation, and that really is about it. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Marrakech.

    The Marrakesh is a very different hotel compared to, let's say, the corporate chain style hotels. It is therefore very personable, comfy, warm and slightly quirky. As is the name as is the decor. The reception lounge reflects a strong N. African theme in style. The room itself was spotless and cleaned through each nay by Rosa and was en suite. During the week the staff were always there if needed and the Bell Boys were great. Everyone was really friendly. There is one word of warning, there is no elevator, and reception is atop a long flight of stairs and we decided to request a room as low as possible, which was all sorted when we arrived. The hotel's location at 2688 Broadway/103rd Street, in the Upper West Side of Manhattan was about a 1 minute walk from the subway and and an excellent 10 mins walk from the North West side of Central Park. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but as it is located above an excellent Starbucks, 1 block south from Ben & Jerry's and a 24 hour McDonald's, opposite a Subway (food not train!) and a Block north of Broadway Bagel, breakfast is no problem, and many more food outlets are close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All a little tired and ready for a revamp. I had read the reviews and my expectations were not too high so it was all as I expected. Would pay more next time and stay in a nicer hotel.

    Good location, good staff and good price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was helpful but the level of service mindset varied a lot depending on who was working. Rooms are a bit to small. We only slept there so not really an issue but the pictures doesn't really show the reality.

    Good location, quiet local area, very close to subway and places to eat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonable hotel for the price. Very friendly and helpful staff. No lift but staff helped carry bags up. Great location with subway right outside, 10 minutes from Times Square, and lots of choices for food just across or down the street. Very basic, but would stay there again! Staff were great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk staff was either indifferent in their attitude toward me or "new" and pre-occupied or too busy to notice me as a human being outside of taking a credit card for incidentals and making sure I am clear on the rules. They did not ask "How were your travels into the city, they did not engage in "small talk". They did not say "Welcome" they did not say, "hope to see you again" or hope that you decide to stay again. The "bell-guys" were more friendly and helpful than the frontdesk staff. The front desk staff didn't even provide detailed accurate directions on the how to get to my room. The leaning service and "bell-guys" helped.

    The rooms were really clean and I have been traveling and staying in NY since June 2017 as a doctoral student at Teachers College Columbia University. Therefore, that is indeed saying a lot. †hey were more clean than the hotels I have been staying at and that will be the reason I will stay again and bring others, if I choose to stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating system was so old that it made noise the entire time. In the morning it sounded like someone was hammering on it, and all the rest of the time it sounded like someone was hissing or breathing. Also room was tiny and I could hear other guests conversations clear as day from my room. Very odd little place.

    I liked that the staff was friendly and quick to carry bags up and down the stairs for you, as they don’t have an elevator.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in shower, no heat, had to walk up a lot of stairs (no elevator). Room was not as shown online.

    Was located close to the subway station and Starbucks which was really convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe if u book online from Booking.com they don’t give you the room that is pictured on Booking.com website or in the YouTube video. Our room was nothing like what we thought we get. Very low lighting and the shower door couldn’t close and the rug in the building was old and dirty. The so call. At was closed down and the lobby was dirty. They painted the walls using strong paint we smelled when we left and returned. No elevator and that was never mentioned or shown in the pictures or video.

    The bellhop man was always willing to assist and they help us a few times. Not only was the bellhop helpful they were attractive young man and very courteous when we came and left the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed sheets was dirt and no hot water on Shower when check-in!!!, Staff helps to "solve" issues, but after 12hr travel is unacceptable to get into a room like that.....room was noisy step-foot all time on upper room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really uncomfortable bed. Deformed mattress. They have central Heater so you can not regulate temperature in your room. One night it was too hot so we had issues trying to sleep. Tried opening the window (even it was snowing) but there was too much noise coming from the street.

    Great location. Central park is really close. Subway is just a few meters away from hotels door so you can go wherever you want in public transportation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred to have been walking distance to Times Square but that’s a personal choice and getting there was not a problem anyway

    The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating.As this hotel does not have an elevator which is very clearly indicated when you are booking, the staff were always there to help us bring our luggage up and down from our room.Indoor parking is available with a hotel discount not too far away and subway access was right across the street. Plus you have a Starbucks right next door to start your day

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Well the KIDS working behind the front desk could use a brush up on CUSTOMER SERVICE, NOT at all pleasant.,or professional but than and again I wasn't staying at the PIERRE. I did mention that the room lighting was VERY POOR the room was still too dark to read in, and ONLY 1 light bedside and the ceiling fan light fixture the globe was too dark for the light bulb to shine through....no help.

    I DID like the hotel decor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff attitude (not all- unfortunately i don't know their names because they don't use name tags), size of rooms, no elevators, stayed in their first level and still was suffering with my luggage, the room size is so tinny and bathroom has no room to move , they have a serious problem with the bathroom mixers, it is hairline movement between so hot and so cold, you will be so lucky if you could adjust it, there is huge noise coming from street all night, got wrong information from front desk about the luggage allowance when i booked the airport transportation with them, which caused a problem to me with driver in the morning, and when i return to front desk, the guy over there told me that it is not his problem and he is not responsible on what his colleague told me without any try to help me out. on brief ... every one will try to say value for money, but i will say that for same money you can get 2 or 3 stars hotel which can offer better service and value .

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable and didn't sleep all night. Staff were friendly but for $250 for the night, it was definitely not worth it. Would not stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Last minute decision to stay here so had low expectations due to low price for queen room. I was very surprised that hotel room was very clean...crisp white sheets, crisp towels and clean bathroom so decided to stay a second night. Staff were professional, courteous and friendly. Located 1 block from subway. Retail stores, market and restaurants right outside hotel. Room had electric heater and expected room to be cold but the heater kept room very warm. Checked out of room 5 hours before return trip home and wanted to shop before heading home. Left UNLOCKED luggage with Ipad and laptop in hotel storage room. All items were still in luggage upon return. Will definitely stay there again. Absolutely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would suggest investing in an elevator, the bathroom as not cleaned. There was a sink in the middle of the bed, I woke up with back pains. I was so hot and could not turn off the heater even though the a.c. was on, I had to wait until it chipped on it's own. One thing I did really like is the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Let’s start with the good, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the location is great. Line 1 is right beside the hotel so it is super convenient to travel anywhere within the city. When I initially booked the hotel, I made the mistake of looking at the price and not the reviews. It was AFTER I booked the hotel that I started to look at the reviews. When arriving, I was super nervous that I would have to climb a lot of stairs, it will be filthy, and I would be eaten alive by bed bugs. Reality - I had to walk a lot of stairs. The entire place is carpeted with old dirty carpet. I had to go to the 99 cent store to buy slippers to walk around the room and in the shower. The room came with speakers with iPod dock. I docked my iPod, and it didn’t work. I needed to wake up early, so I picked up the phone to call in for a wakeup call - the phone didn’t work. The room across from me had kids running and screaming until 1am. There is absolutely NO sound proofing. They also woke up at 5am screaming, laughing, and blasting the TV. As terrible as I am making it sound, it wasn’t THAT bad. The bed was uncomfortable, but my sheets, pillows, and towels were clean. The biggest thing I can say is that I left bed bug free! Would I return? No. I rather pay the extra money and sleep somewhere else. If you are on a budget and need a place to rest for a night or two, this place will do.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, entrance to the subway right across the street, affordable parking a few blocks away and a Starbucks right downstairs, what more could you ask for?! But seriously, this hotel was awesome. The room was super clean, it had a great flat screen (needed, because we ran into a huge snow storm while staying,) and the bathroom was a good size! I plan on staying here again!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge and drinking hot water appliances such as an electric tea pot would be nice to have in the rooms

    Very small bathrooms. The water is running hot cold hot cold

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was so congested and cramped. I knew I shouldn't be expecting too much. The bathroom was so tight. It feels like a typical new york apartment. The bathroom was quite dirty and the sheets feel like they haven't been washed. It was very dirty and had stains on it. I regret staying here and I only did it because it was such a last minute booking. The wifi was not even working properly. It was on and off constantly, I finally resort to using the data.

    The only thing that I liked about this place was the subway (The 1 train) was right next to the hotel. And there was a Starbucks right next to us and a lot of restaurants for a good eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, not very clean and had little to no space to hang up clothes/ store anything. The shower was dirty and the bathroom overall was pretty small. The room did not offer a view at all, we simply looked out into the next house.

    The location was great, you could reach timesquare in a couple of minutes by using the subway.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. The second and third floor stairs reeked of Raid roach spray, there's no elevator. We had to stay on the 4th floor. And the creepy dude that kept following us inside the hotel. The worst part was that the staff knew him!

    None of it. Initially I had booked it for the price and to get a way briefly in during the week. The hotel is 20 minutes by train from my job so I thought it was a good idea. I'd never stay there again. Never.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls, carpets are very worn and appear dirty, my bathroom floor was not clean, the shower was vert difficult to get hot water and the shower head did not move so I had to shower against the wall I had to ask for things, ironing board and iron, hair dryer, to be brought to my room, I had no clock by the bed. The fuse blew twice so I was in the dark for a while.

    I liked the staff they were friendly , the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets in the entrance and hallway were incredibly dirty. It’s like a vacuum never touched the place. First night in and I didn’t have heat. They didn’t believe me till someone came to the room. Finally moved me the next day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took a while to get the right temperature in the shower.

    Location was very good, room was big and comfortable and friendly staff. Great hotel if you only need a place to sleep

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Marrakech traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: