Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection 4 stars

62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Hapuna Beach, HI 96743, USA

#1 of 2 hotels in Hapuna Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 60 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Paid WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem with termites in our room.

    This place is so special. The beach here is amazing. The hotel itself has amazing views, & the service is fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel charges for EVERYTHING. As an experienced holiday maker, I feel that it cheapens the experience and leaves a bitter taste when you realise that self park costs $20 per day; coffee with breakfast costs $9 for filter; and almost all activities are only offered for a fee. At a luxury hotel like this you would expect to feel a little more pampered, and all these charges detract from that experience. The hotel would do better to add a little to the room rate and throw these things in as complimentary - it would certainly feel better as a paying customer. As a final point - we visited this hotel as part of our honeymoon trip. This was the only hotel out of the four we have stayed at that failed to leave a card or a bottle in our room to congratulate us. Again, it’s a little thing but stuck out when comparing this hotel to the others, and would have been an easy additional touch.

    The beach is incredible. Other reviews have said the same, and we can only echo their comments. The choice of restaurants was good, but pricey. All food and drinks were tasty and promptly served. The Mai Tai is delicious and packs a punch! Staff all very courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room - Golf Vista
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much nearby so either rent a car or plan in advance. The hotel does have a gift shop with to go food and also several toiletries. Also a few clothing stores. Also weird bugs on lamp shades. Almost like centipedes?

    Beautiful hotel, comfy bed, amazing beach. Quiet. Relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Golf Vista
    • Stayed 1 night

    I feel that whenever i book a room through booking.com the hotel gives us the worst possible option. This also happened to me in Amsterdam at the Okura hotel. Our request for quiet and 2 comforters and a hard pillow where not paid any attention to. We where placed next to a lift. The AC was old and noisy. the pillows dirty, like they have not been changed. The bathroom was smelling of chlorine. Nearly no vegetarian choices on the menu. Coffee making art was lousy.

    the location is definitely great. The hotel as such pretty iconic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Golf Vista Deluxe
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I didn't think the food was too remarkable....but we mostly left the property for other local restaurants at night.

    I never expected to like this hotel SO much since I have gone to Hualalai for 21 years and LOVE it........but I LOVED Mauna Kea. The beach is beautiful!!! Our room, on the golf side, was very spacious with a patio at least 10 feet deep. It even had a frontal and then an enormous bathroom!! which was half the size of our entire room.......and another nation of its own. It was amazing. With lutron lighting and plugs and usb connections for all of our cameras, phones, kindles, etc. We were in the main building, I think its quite a bit more walking to the newer building. And it does involve stairs on the final leg of traveling to the beach, it seems no elevator goes to that level (something someone with 3 artificial joints looks for!) but it turned out fine....good exercise actually. I highly recommend the mauna kea, the surf was really, really strong, but in talking to the manager I was told there is very strong surf for a month or two the rest of the year it is calm as a lake.......

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Ocean Front Deluxe
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The place is a bit expensive. If you want to eat off property you have to drive 15-20 minutes.

    The hotel is right on the beach. The beach setup was great. Plenty of chairs for everyone. The beach, the waves, and the water were amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I thought the staff were not trained as well as I would expect. The StRegis Princeville on Kauai was better in this respect. They Mauna Kea could learn from the St Regis but unfortunately its not in the same chain.

    The hotel is fabulous and it would be easy to say that it is worth every penny it costs. The hotel is really a Rockefeller Museum. The views are spectacular and the beach is the best in the Islands. We found the food at the copper Bar was excellent as was the service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Golf Vista
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building itself was probably visionary back in the day, but is a bit of an eyesore now - the grounds and surroundings however are spectacular.

    This is a spotless luxury resort with a stunning beach right on the doorstep. We particularly appreciated the thoughtful little touches in the room, the exceptionally delicious food (try the ahi poke tacos and the rib-eye steak!!) and the beautiful views. Staff were very kind, and seeing the manta rays at night is a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 1 night

    The big cross beam at balcony was dirty. It did not go well with a million dolor beach view. The bath room door was hard to operate due to poorly maintained sliding door mechanism.

    Staff is pleasant and professional. We appreciated early check-in. The most of all, lost and find department staff earned my respect, how trust worthy and efficiently they operate. When I made a call from Honolulu airport about items I left behind in the room they promptly took care of my problem. My Hawaii vacation ended with a very happy feeling. Mahalo!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Needs better wifi. Everything is nice but the mark up on price is very steep, like $10 for a Kona brewing co beer and $10 for a latte. Plan ahead with a trip to the store for snacks and drinks.

    Everything was great but it is expensive. So be prepared for a large bill at the end of your stay. The beach and pool and the grounds are gorgeous. The staff are very nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking was a bit too attentive/intrusive - just too eager to serve I guess, we just wanted to be able to help ourselves when heading out or returning each day. Short wait for breakfast on one morning only. Express breakfast options at beach bar were basic and not great value.

    Delightful oasis within those spectacular lava rock fields. Also a really pleasant and relaxed contrast compared to Waikiki's frenetic energy. Beautiful grounds and facilities. Beach front room on level two - away from the busier reception and family spaces. LOVED watching the wild Manta Rays just below the Manta restaurant each night. Great pool, quiet resort when we were there even though they said they were really busy and we should book restaurants etc. Lovely touches like fresh banana bread and fruit each day. Amazing breakfast options at the Copper Bar.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • King or Double Room - Golf Vista
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very unaccomodating and certainly needs help in the hospitality department... A lot of hidden expenses, still waiting to hear back regarding a rental car charge .. 5 days later, I am going to dispute it with Amex.

    The beach was incredible

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room - Ocean Front Deluxe
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is not cheap but that's probably what sets it apart.

    Loved everything about this resort. It's on an isolated very long sandy beach with calm waters and crystal clear water. The atmosphere is great and relaxing. Restaurants are good. Beach facilities are perfect and convinient. Only one pool but with such a nice beach we barely used it. There is great snorkeling on both ends of the beach and on the right side of the beach just near the restaurant you can see manta rays at night near the light projector. Amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • King or Double Room - Golf Vista
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Its a bit isolated in terms of options for eating and the restaurants are pricey at the hotel. The pool is smallish.

    Beautiful, tasteful mid-century design Located right on the nost gorgeous beach with excellent swimming and snorkeling Incredible customer service Comfortable quiet rooms w balconiies

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room - Golf Vista
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always a great stay rooms are comfortable liked the tower better than the rooms which open to beach..wish we stayed longer

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is amazingly beautiful. White sand beach is pristine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Golf Vista
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was below standard,to poor, only the breakfasts were good.

    The location and beauty of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Golf Vista
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aa

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While lovely, the cost of drinks and food was exorbanat for what you got.

    The location and property were amazing and easy to maneuver.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Golf Vista
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The manager went above and beyond to make our stay special. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed, huge room, beautiful bay and landscaping, outstanding food, staff super friendly. What's not to love?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Golf Vista
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No TV due to cable issues. You should have provided a food or other credit for this problem. The Ritz or Four Seasons would have.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room - Golf Vista
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pile of dust and sand under the beds, as we had to move one towards the wall (for our son). This was disgusting.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Ocean Front Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The amazing bedroom and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Patio furniture was very worn out

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room - Golf Vista
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drive to Kona was about half an hour

    Beach was lovely

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Wonderful staff, updated beautiful furnishings, exquisite beach location, very large room size, luxurious bath, great dining. What more could one ask.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you intend to get most of your meals and necessities at the hotel, plan to spend at the very least $80/person/day for food...closer to twice that if you want to enjoy drinks, appetizers, etc. The Big Island is very expensive so the prices here are reasonable if you know what you're getting into. Some cheaper options are available if you're willing to do a fair bit of driving.

    Everything was high quality: Great classic-meets-modern aesthetic, beautiful grounds and beach, comfortable room and bed, friendly and attentive staff, lots of on-site activities, good food offerings. We did not have our kids with us, but there were quite a few families enjoying themselves and the hotel seemed well equipped to handle all types of travelers.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The perfect place to go to in Hawaii, location at the nicest beach, wonderful room with stunning view in a most elegant building. The restaurants were also very good, very fresh fish and a memorable rib eye! It also had beautiful live music.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were unfortunately some families on property with very poor parenting skills. They just let their kids run loudly and rudely all over the place, the pool, etc. Hey parents, if you can't keep the kids under control, leave them home, they need a vacation from you too.

    Mauna Kea gives you Hawaii. So many of the other high-end hotel chains sterilize their properties, so in the hotel you can't tell if you are in Hawaii or in Boston. With the Mauna Kea you know you are in Hawaii and it's fabulous!

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Most gorgeous beach, lovely design and details

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really expensive food

    Total Hawaiian experience

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very high prices at all restaurants

    Beach, comfortable room, pool, pleasant surroundings, attentive staff

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: