Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mauna Lani Point 4 stars

68-1050 Mauna Lani Point Drive, Waikoloa, HI 96743, USA

#5 of 17 hotels in Waikoloa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 76 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Needed a gym very disappointed there wasnt one on the premises and i would have to pay extra to use one off the grounds.

    Location was great, and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Ocean View Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    You can walk or drive to the closest beach but - while it's great for snorkelling - the coral makes swimming difficult. The range of restaurants within the Mauna Lani complex is limited and we felt that some offered poor value for money. We found better choice and value in Waimea town, such as Merriman's (15 Km away) and - if you don't want to drive that far - there is somewhat better value to be had at restaurants in the Waikoloa Shopping Centre (particularly the Bistro at the Cinema).

    Many condos are individually owned and reflect owners' tastes. Ours was in Block A; it had a wide, peaceful ocean view (golfers passed from time to time) and had been decorated in the Chinese style - very comfortable and very elegant. A small swimming pool was by Block D and we could reach the coastal path easily via Block B, to stroll to the closest cove/beach, or further along - by the fish ponds and Parker Cottage - towards the Mauna Lani Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    The one bedroom unit is very spacious, kitchen ery well equipped, aircon quiet. Staff exceptionally nice, friendly and helpful. Service excellent. Our icemaker was broken. On reporting the problem, a bellboy showed up within 10 minutes with bucket of ice. The icemaker was fixed the next day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Ocean View Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The private beach was awesome and close by. We enjoyed the snorkeling, the beach chairs, the equipment rental on site and easy access to the bathrooms. Plus the beach felt safe. We also enjoyed the location and view from our condo. We liked the security of a gated community and it was quiet. The condo was nicely furnished and it was nice to have two bathrooms. It was enjoyable to have a full kitchen where we could cook dinner. Daily maid service was a plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Ocean View Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful condos a ten minute walk to a private beach. It's a small beach but the atmosphere is relaxing. It's great for kids who want to snorkle or swim as it is in a protected alcove and the waves are minimal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Ocean View Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Did not appreciate the gardeners starting work and making noise 3 days in a row at 7 am

    Room was great and view was awesome, but the fridge was old and noisy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really except when we played 9 holes on the north course it was not explained to us how to drive back to the club house. Very complicated.

    Location was excellent and really relaxing. Golf courses were well maintained and so was the unit. Plenty of food choices nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was an issue, no cooking seasoning including salt and pepper, dishwasher didn't shut off automatically, daily towel cleaning too much and unnecessary

    Location, privacy of backyard

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had problems with an alarm, using BBQ and it was a little difficult to reach someone to take care of the situations.

    Condo was very comfortable and quiet. So close to both lovely beach and pool. Mall near by with stores, restaurants, and groceries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Ocean View Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The surrounding areas to eat were not family friendly. We were thankful to have a kitchen to feed our family at instead of having to eat at the high-end restaurants in the shopping area.

    We loved having a place that our whole family could stay in for a reasonable price. Having the kitchen and laundry facilities was a money saver and made our stay relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful for all my questions and even had great recommendations. Very clean and well taken care of each day of our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were ants crawling all over the bathroom. The beach was a 10 minute walk away and is a small lagoon. There were no views of the ocean from the condo.

    The room is very spacious with a large bedroom, bathroom, and kitchen. The designated parking spot was great and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Ocean View Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was a little isolated. We needed to get into the car to get to most places.

    The space was roomy. It truly reflected photos and descriptions reviewed before chosen. It was perfect for a family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Ocean View Villa
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great but if I could make any suggestion for improvement I would say that the condo. has some carpet but tile would be better, in an area that has sandy beaches.

    The condo. is clean and well-appointed and the view from the lanai is wonderful. The property itself is very nice and well kept. We especially liked the private beach and the pool area. The golf course is beautiful and we enjoyed playing it. The housekeeping staff were excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Ocean View Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. This would benefit having a connecting paved path for biking/walking/jogging that circles the property. (The golf paths are nice, but simply dead end) The fishermans trail, while historical and interesting can be dangerous at times to walk on and even with trail shoes on the lava path was uncomfortable after 2 miles of hiking. My husband jogged up the road and back-too many cars for me. 2. The Napua Restaurant and Bar had TERRIBLE service! 40 min wait for a drink at dinner, bread service slow, my drink brought out but not my husbands-drinks don't have a good mix for the price-overpowered alcohol taste! (Food was good) Next day at the beach went up to Napua for a drink and it took the bartender 20 min to serve us. She was extremely busy (1 pm) and no help!

    Quiet, beautiful views, fabulous beach area with great snorkeling and beach rentals. Very comfy beds. Condo very light and airy. Roomy, nice bathroom. Nice kitchen and sitting areas. Beautiful lanai with chairs and table over looking golf course and ocean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Ocean View Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saw some bugs the first day, but I live in Florida so I understand they can be hard to keep out in warm climates.

    Size of the condominium and comfort, views of the golf course and ocean, full kitchen, 3 bathrooms, all the amenities of home-unit C101.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Ocean View Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I didn't like that I had to go home. I would have stayed much longer!!

    Simply put. Amazing. Would book again in a heartbeat!! We stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean view condo. It was way larger than expected, tons of space all around! Staff was friendly & available. Location was pristine!! The views amazing. You have the black sand beach, pool and resort beach all within 3 minutes! Shopping & dining within 5 minutes. If you're a golfer, its all around! I highly recommend Mauna Lani.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Ocean View Villa
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Not all units are consistently good. We complained about our so called 'signature hole' condo and were moved to one that was much better but not as good as those shown on web site.

    Fabulous oceanfront location. Good size condo's. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Ocean View Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived, we were given a very unpleasant room which did not have the saeview we had reserved and paid for. We had to go back to the front desk (a distance of more than 2 km) and clearly explain that we would not accept this room. Only then, the lady at the front desk agreed to give us another room from which we could see the sea. This room was fully to our expectations. In addition, the lady at the front desk asked us to pay an additional fee which was US$ 170.- over the agreed price of 1'130.80 (for 3 nights). She presented an invoice which I just rejected. I had a lengthy discussion with the lady over this discrepancy between her invoice and the written agreement I had from booking.com. I had to stop the discussion as it took too much time of our vacation. I wrote an urgent message to booking.com but unfortunately, never obtained an answer. When on our day of check-out I wanted to pay the agreed price, the lady presented the correct invoice and did not recall at all the first invoice in which she wanted to charge the extra 170.-. Thus, I come to the impression that in this relatively expensive place, the organizers want to create some extra income by: 1. providing the cheapest room to those who cannot defend themselves. 2.asking an increased amount of money from those who do not speak English well and do not have the energy to fight. I am convinced that this has and will happen to other customers and in the end the resort will profit from this unethical behavior. For my wife and myself, these experiences really made our stay unpleasant. We will not return there. Furthermore, I realize that booking.com provides no service if this is needed. Maybe that booking.com has intervened with the Mauna Lani Point Resort. But it would have been comforting to know that this was the case.

    When we finally obtained the room with a seaview we had reserved and paid for, we were very happy. But to get there, proofed difficult, see our comment on the negative aspects. The resort itself is beautifully landscaped, quiet and well worth to visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Ocean View Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Amazing location, butyfull beach and a supermarket located on the premises

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Ocean View Villa
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our condo was beautiful, well equipped

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Ocean View Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about this resort!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and beach we're quite a distance from room. Double beds in second bedroom less than ideal for second couple

    Nice golf resort

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maybe more than one pool for the whole complex....quite small for that many properties.

    Beautiful view of the ocean from both inside the main living area, kitchen and outdoor patio.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful spacious condo with all the needed amenities. Other condo rentals do not provide daily housekeeping, so this was a plus. All staff were very friendly and courteous. Very quiet during our week-long stay. Several very good meals at Tommy Bahamas in the local shopping center.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    When we arrived the AC & quite a few lights were not working, also the oven had been sprayed with cleaner but not cleaned so when turned on it stunk out the entire unit - so we had to have maintenance come back & forth for the first day the fix all the issues - we then had a problem with the toilet roll holders - decided to leave it as we didn't want to have to deal with more workers

    Great view & location the beach club was excellent

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hard to find the office to actually get the keys. The address booking.com listed was correct and we had to ask around to figure it out. If you google 'Mauna Lani Point' it also gives you a bad address. Very strange.

    The location of the condo was great, close to lots of things, yet removed enough to be quiet. The view was spectacular from our unit, B208. Condo was very well equipped.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Accommodation was lovely and all staff were eager to ensure everything was perfect for our stay. The facilities in the accommodation were excellent although with the view and everything else going on we didn't switch on the large screen TV once during our stay!

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The place is very comfortable and clean. Has all the amenities, and then some. Location is perfect for short drives to spectacular beaches for sunning and snorkeling. The pool and area is a great option in the afternoons when we got tired of the beaches.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The kitchen could have been a little better equipped, measuring cups would be nice.

    The setting was hard to beat, golf course, beautiful sunsets, quiet & serene. Plenty to do, great spot for paddle boards, snorkeling, kayaking, swimming, walking, biking etc.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No information was provided us about how to check-in. As a result we arrived at a locked gate with no way to get in. We pressed the button for assistance and a receptionist answered and told us we had to turn around a drive back to the security building a mile away.

    Upon arriving we felt the condo needed updating and new furniture, however, after a day we didn't notice those details anymore. We were overwhelmed by the beautiful condo, the views, and the ultra-quiet. Even a guest of ours noticed how quiet our Mauna Lani Point condo was. What a beautiful and peaceful place.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Kitchen was a bit dated but still quite functional

    Golf course and beach club. Peaceful with plenty of space around condo.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great condo. Very spacious and well equipped. Views spectacular. Loved the private beach club

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving !

    Condo was incredible- spacious, great view, comfortable- huge lanai, ability to walk to great beach with fantastic snorkeling, perfect!!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Shower doesn't have great pressure Beds and pillows very average

    Great to have the daily maid service. Beautiful property

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location, kitchen stuff, cleanliness, silence, room view(we've got sea view, actually it was a small lake)

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse Mauna Lani Point traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: