Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mimosa 3 stars

79 Division Street, Chinatown, New York, NY 10002, USA

#325 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 517 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    The room was cleaned, we stayed for 3 nights and they will...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small and no space to leave our stuffs due to we have a little kid with us...

    The room was cleaned, we stayed for 3 nights and they will keep help to clean our room without informing and changed the towel too... :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    Good deal in lower Manhattan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and dated.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Nice location away from the midtown madness. Room rate was very reasonable in comparison to other hotels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location for us, it was very clean, staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were on the smaller side and the walls are thin, so you could hear people speaking or opening/closing doors.

    Convenient location for us, it was very clean, staff were friendly and helpful, washing machine and dryer available in basement. Traffic sounds inside were minimal, due to the double pane windows. Overall had a pleasant stay. Would stay there again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Location is close to Subway stations, easy access to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably some people wouldn't like smell of that area - but what you can expect at China-town =) also it's far from Uptown\Central park\Times square. Just choose location in accordance with your needs and you will be ok

    Location is close to Subway stations, easy access to Brooklyn and Manhattan bridges or Downtown. Lot of nice asian restaurants in walk distance. If I need save money and be early at Downtown - perfect choice for staying

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    A handy place to stay in Chinatown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double room we booked was really small which is fine for a short stay. We will stay here again but will upgrade to a queen or king room next time. A bedside table and lamp would be great on each side (there was a bedside table and lamp on one side only in the double room).

    The room was amazingly sound proof (much better than expected), given its proximity to the train, and we appreciated the free tea and coffee. The bed was comfortable, the free wifi worked well and it was very convenient to Chinatown. The bathroom is well equipped and the shower was good. We had a very warm welcome when we checked in and the check out process was easy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Mimosa and staff get 5 stars. Friendly, knowledgeable, safe and clean. The price is right !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unless one wants to immerse themselves in the culture of Hotel Mimosa, I have a feeling the location and surroundings of Hotel Mimosa could turn people away. A lot of trash on the streets.

    Hotel Mimosa is a great place to stay if you're looking for an attentive staff, comfort and cleanliness, good price for what one needs when traveling. Roof over head, Warm shower and a comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Room were great and good localisation.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong noise from the bathroom. When i came back during the night, door was closed with a phone number, but nobody answered. I thought i was locked out, but finally someone came after ten min.

    Room were great and good localisation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff is friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was directly across from the elevator so there was a lot of noise until very late.

    The staff is friendly. The room was very clean. Lots of amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    The place was very clean and well conditioned (was a really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small (but was expected). The area of Chinatown was quite dirty and smelly. The subway from manhattan bridge is very close and you can hear it from the room (didn’t bother us much).

    The place was very clean and well conditioned (was a really hot week in NY and the hotel had perfect temperature). The staff were super nice and attentive. There was free good coffee and tea as well as lots of chocolates ready at the reception at all times. Clean and well cared bathrooms. Close to subway (5-10 min walk) and walkable distance to Brooklyn bridge and the financial district.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    For those who want Chinatown as their base in NY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not sure the surroundings late at night fit a single woman. We were couple, so it was ok

    Clean, small and relatively quiet room in this busy environment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Okay for no-frills and affordable short stays on the LES
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are definitely some things this hotel could do better. The room was small, but I guess when you have limited space there's not a lot the builders can do. Okay for 4 nights, but I would not want to spend more than that there. But there were no in-room tea or coffee making facilities. You had to go down to the lobby for that. Some basic tea-making facilities on the desk in the room would help. Very limited hanging or shelf space for clothes . . . you essentially have to live out of your suitcase for the duration. Two days in a row we had to ask for our room to be serviced. We had gone out early in the morning and returned back at 2pm. Despite leaving out the sign to make up the room, it had not been serviced. This is simply not good enough in an establishment that only has 25 rooms over 5 floors. It should not have happened two days in a row, especially when we expressed our displeasure the first time.

    The prime reason we chose this property was the close proximity to the Office of the City Clerk and the Marriage Bureau. This is important if you have limited days in NYC and you wish to maximize the time it takes get married as an overseas visitor. You need at least two visits to the City Clerk office, and then another 2 locations close by for certification processes for overseas recognition of the marriage certificate. The hotel is a comfortable walk to the City Clerk, the Brooklyn Bridge, One World Trade, the financial district, the Court House (step 2 of the process), William Street (step 3 for the paperwork) and the lower east side restaurants. The hotel is on the edge of Chinatown so only a 30 second walk to the heart of Chinese food. Shower was hot with good stream of water and I enjoyed the fact they had a bath tub. The bed was comfortable and the windows double-glazed for noise. This was needed as the hotel is immediately across the road from the train tracks. It was noisy with the window open, but no issues when closed. The hotel can book private cars and this was a GREAT service and far cheaper than cabs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Chinatown gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really except that it could get rather noisy if you have a room facing the trains.

    Friendly, helpful staff at check-in. Free coffee and tea at the reception all day. Comfortable beds. Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally, I liked the location, but it may not be the most desirable for some travelers because of its proximity to subway and popular tourist areas.

    Friendly, accommodating staff. Very clean. Non-touristy neighborhood with plenty of locally owned food establishments.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    It's a good hotel .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The window have some gaps , in night the cold wind can be blowed in .

    Near Manhattan Bridge , in night have some noise , but the hotel is very clear , comfortable .This is the 2nd time stay in this hotel , the receptionist is very polite and friendly!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    This place has everything
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    None

    Amazing staff: friendly, always helpful, ... - Perfect AC in the rooms - Super comfortable bed - Authentic neighbourhood - Close to multiple subways stations - Close to Lower Manhattan and Brooklyn

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff was really friendly and helpful and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small, and relatively expensive.

    The staff was really friendly and helpful and the room was very clean. The hotel is conveniently located in Chinatown, close to the subway and both the financial district and Brooklyn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Incredible hotel experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My husband and I spent May 19-21, 2018 at Hotel Mimosa for our 20th Anniversary. Staff were exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. They made us feel like part of their extended family! The mini chocolate bars and espresso machine at the front desk were a nice treat. Our room was clean, bright and modern and the size of an average bedroom, not large but not tiny. The washroom was larger than expected and very clean. The location is great (about a 20 minute walk to places we wanted to go) and close to subway stations if you want to go uptown. I highly recommend booking the car service through the hotel for airport transportation (affordable and very efficient). This will be the only place we stay whenever we visit NYC!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Great little hotel in bustling Chinatown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    Very friendly helpful staff,great location a short walk away from the subway.You can reach Central Manhattan in 15 mins.Room was modern and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel in Chinatown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The air conditioning could not be turned off for the night and was too powerful so I got a sore throat each night. The Manhattan Bridge is very close so it is a bit noisy. Maybe not the best choice if you're a light sleeper.

    We were happy with our choice of hotel. The room was nicely furnished with a modern look even if it was slightly on the small side. I prefer small hotel rooms to pricy ones anyway. Everything worked well and customer service was superb! There was complementary tea and coffee available at the reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect base to discover NYC from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My one gripe is that the climate control is centrally controlled. During the day it is fine, but at night I would have preferred to be able to put mine a little colder.

    The staff! They were all super friendly and knowledgeable. The room was compact, practical, clean and nicely furnished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Value for money. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. Not much space to move around. Lighting in the room could be better as it looked very dull.

    Value for money. Location was great! Very close to brooklyn bridge, statue of liberty / ellis island, 9-11 memorial and china tours (TakeTours).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Small room, in chinatown, good for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There was only one temperature of air conditioner for the whole floor, so we were kinda freezing sometimes.

    The staff was amazing at all times, even on the middle of the night. Very helpful, very caring and kind. Can't thank them enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we would have liked is a safe in our room as we had to use the hotel safe. The staff were more than happy to let us use it but we had to wait for the manager to come in to get access to it. It would not stop us staying there again.

    Staff friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. Room was clean, and bed comfy. You can get free tea and coffee in the reception which is nice. Location is very central loads of great places to eat. Wall paper in the hall ways is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Convenient hotel in Manhattan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean, convenient hotel in Chinatown close to East Broadway subway station. Friendly staff! Safe neighborhood, altough sidewalks and streets in Chinatown are not clean. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Room was very clean, cozy and comfortable .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 19 nights

    Noise from other rooms is heard on the entire floor. Mini fridge would be a great addition to service.

    Room was very clean, cozy and comfortable . Staff was very friendly and helpful. The Wi-Fi was stable and reliable, which is a great plus if you are traveling for work related purposes. Great location (close to 2 subway stations) to all kind of attractions in lower Manhattan. Good service for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    delightful, the staff was just amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just the location for our planned activities was a bit far, but if we plan on staying downtown for our next trip I will stay there without a doubt!

    the room was very clean and comfortable, the staff was absolutely amazing and helpful, polite and so nice, honestly the best people I have come across in my travels. Would recommend this hotel 100%

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money! Great staff and wonderful location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I have to say something, the room is small, but it's NY, I was axpecting what I got and value for money is excellent.

    Very conveniently located, close to a metro staiton, staff amazingly nice and helpful (They gave us printed recommendations for going out). Room clean and nice shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    The staff was nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite small. We could hardly find a place in the room where we could place the luggage so we can take out clothes from it.

    The staff was nice and friendly. They even provided a list of the restaurants and places to visit nearby. The metro stations are close. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    I would never stay there again. It didn’t suit my taste.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely small room and you could hear everything that was happening in the hall way. Also the hotel was located across from subway as well as part of the Williamburgh Bridge so, you could hear and feel trains all night long in your room. Based on my over all exprinces they’re prices rates should be less than what we paid even during a preak time. It should never go over $150 a night and I’m kind with that price.

    Staff was very friendly! Pretty good location if you are a walker. Didn’t take us long to walk to Soho.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Efficient stay in Chinatown, Manhattan NY
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the room. I guess you get what you pay. And for such a price in Manhattan, it was enough. Even though it was super small for 2 adults with 2 big luggage.

    There is a dim sum restaurant on the 2nd floor of the building. When you are staying in this hotel, you do not need to be worried about getting hungry in the middle of the night. Everything was very reachable and walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Staff were amazing and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was the floor/carpets needed to be vacuumed

    Staff were amazing and helpful Use the shuttle to and from the airport. Much cheaper than uber and nicer vehicles.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Will definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like.

    Customer service, hospitality, also locations was nice. Decided to stay over night with my boyfriend. When we got there the man was very nice and was a pleasure to talk to. Checking in was easy and we were given a lot of information about how to get the the subways and food around. The restaurants were listed in an organized way by the types of food like breakfast, lunch, dinner; and their time they are open. They provided a map to the subway as well. The room was very nice and clean. We didn't stay there much since we wanted to see parts of the city. I seen that people complained about the size of the room being small but its NY so not sure what they expected. Still loved the room, bed was comfy and clean. Provided a toothbrush and toothpaste along with soap and stuff. Check out was at 12 but we were about 40 minutes away but train and I called to extend and they were able to. Also called before arriving to NY ti see if we can check in earlier which was allowed. Overall, I would definitely stay again. The people here are wonderful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    The staff was super available to help, the elevator and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff was super available to help, the elevator and bedroom were new and clean, and even though the train ran right across the street the soundproof windows took good care of the noise and the room was actually very quiet... Plenty os options to eat around, 4 blocks form the two closest subway stations and walking distance from soho, wall street, east village, etc. The Manhattan Bridge and Chinatown are very pretty at night! There is no breakfast, but there are nice coffee and tea options at the front desk and a vending machine, for food emergencies at the wee hours of the night. We loved our stay!!! Will definetely recomend to friends and do hope to come back!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall it was a very nice experience. The staff was friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was right next to the train so you can hear it go by but to me it wasn't so loud that I couldn't sleep at night. I would say it's similar to an ocean making noise. Sometimes the staff start cleaning the rooms really early in the morning. On Sunday they started cleaning around 9 AM when we were still trying to sleep but if you like to go out and about before this time then it wouldn't matter. Also, they don't have a lot of channels on their TVs. If you like to watch a bit of TV at night then be prepare to watch the news or NCIS.

    Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We were able to check in early (around 1PM) and was also able to check out late (@ 2PM). They gave us free toiletries which is always nice. They also had free snacks and soda in the lounge but water was $1 (which was cheaper than other places around there). They also held our luggage after we checked out so we can go grab some lunch before leaving the area. You can't beat the location. It was a few minutes walk from the nearest train station and bus stop but a lot of restaurants were just outside the front doors. We had dim sum in the restaurant across the street. The restaurant was nice and it looked like that's where a lot of locals eat at. If you want a nice place to go to with just the bare necessities, then I recommend booking this hotel. :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    A clean room, conveniently located, with an amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small, but it was very clean and comfortable. The WiFi was reliable for when we had to do work. The staff was fantastic and accommodating. They let us check in two hours early, provided us with a list of recommended restaurants in the area, found me a nearby tailor to fix a dress I needed the same day, and when we checked out they kept our bags secured at the hotel so we could go have lunch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    i loved my stay at mimosa, my room was super bright and had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i loved my stay at mimosa, my room was super bright and had a great view, and the staff was impeccable, very friendly and helpful. also the neighboorhood is fantastic, i really enjoyed my stay there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No sound proofing between rooms, can hear people next door/alarms/tv so it really depends who is in the next room.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Really handy to have a computer available with free printing. Microwave also great for cheap eating option. Great sound proofing from outside. Nearest subway station is only two mins walk, and plenty of different lines to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Exceeds expectations!!! An excellent budget option in Manhattan!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No complaints! Thank you Mimosa!

    This is a perfect budget hotel to stay in Manhattan! The staff is super attentive and friendly, gave us all the tips about the neighborhood. Our room was spotlessly clean, cosy decor, big comfy bed and quite a big bathroom (at least for NYC standards :)!). Although Manhattan Bridge is just opposite of the hotel, the room was quiet. They tidied the room every day. There is free tea and coffee in the reception available 24/7. The location of the hotel is very convenient, a lot of great food options nearby and subway stop very close by. When we had chosen this hotel, we did not expect that everything will be that nice - fantastic price/value ratio!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location turned out to be very good. Could walk to many places and easy to take the subway to places further away. Good eating places nearby in Chinatown and little Italy. Staff very helpful. Considering New York the price was reasonable, but room was very tight. Facility clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    Great value for money- professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighborhood was a busy one, but all the same good for a short NYC stay. On our first night I was bitten by bed bugs in both arms& suffered for a week afterwards. I complained to the hotel and they immediately offered to change our room, but we declined and asked to change sheets and towels only.

    Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. They are obviously professionals & this is evident in their replies to reviews written here (one of the reasons we've chosen it). Room, sheets and pillow cases were clean. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate were available at lobby at all times. The hotel is close to several subway stations, Little Italy and shops. A good value for money hotel. I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.0
    It worked for a break from on our trip home from Italy before flying another 5 hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small I had to put my large suitcase in the tub at night. No drawers either.

    The bed was comfortable and the windows were DOUBLE double paned, so it was quiet, even though the freeway and train were right across the street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Good location and good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though close to the subway as people describe, it is very well insulated from sound from it. Their restaurant recommendations were good. The staff were amazingly helpful. Great place to stay to experience Chinatown.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, enjoyable stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Manager and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Felt very safe at this location as a single woman traveling alone. Would recommend to others as a very comfortable and budget friendly place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    above average
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    should have individual temperature thermostat rather that central heat. need to get the staff to come up to adjust if its too hot or too cold. garbage bin only in restroom and too small. too few tv channels.

    like the location. bed was v. comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Seven stars out of ten
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 4 tv channels w. two in Spanish. Bathroom sink tap was leaking and can only be fully shut sideways. No breakfast only coffee at the front desk

    Bed was v comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    We had a brilliant and comfy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a brilliant and comfy stay. We were able to walk everywhere and it was very handy to Grand Street subway station. Fantastic staff who were very helpful with arranging a car service to and from the airport. I would highly recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    I loved everything about it.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were tooooooo small

    I loved everything about it. The staff was GREAT!! Nice & friendly. Could walk to Chinatown. But the rooms are just too small.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Christmas in New York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit cold and you can't set up air conditioning manually. The wardrobe was only an open structure with little space.

    Well located next to several subway stations. Very good size of the room and the bathroom. Clean and excellent services. Good value for money considering it is Manhattan.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    Not bad for Manhattan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door was a bit janky and wouldn’t close correctly. The shower and sink faucets kept up a slow drip throughout the evening, and the flimsy curtain couldn’t keep water off the floor after showering. Manhattan hotels aren’t cheap to begin with so I can’t complain too much, but spending up of $300 for this would be maddening in Tokyo or Los Angeles.

    The hotel is roughly a ten minute walk to Grand St. Station, or fifteenish from Delaney St. It is cozy, quaint, and the staff is very welcoming. There are a fantastic number of shops and a 24-hour deli nearby, so even the local culture is fun to explore despite the quick ride uptown to bustling districts.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I went with my wife. We had a nice time, the staff was very helpful and friendly. Even though the rooms were small, they were clean and comfortable, BTW, who goes to NYC to stay in the room. They offer free coffee and tea which is nice fir the very cold winter. We highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Would recommend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very clean, cozy and quiet.Staff was very friendly. A perfect place to stay on a budget in NYC. A short walk to the WTC. and shopping in Chinatown. Subway across the street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Comfortable room and relaxing time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a pearl at Chinatown . Even the bridge and subway are closed we could sleep well . Coffee and green tea on front desk were excellent. They provide toothbrushes and toothpaste .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Overall I loved staying at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room are quite small and if you have a lot of baggages it will be hard. Furthermore it faces the Manhattan Bridge where there is a the sound of the metro train passing by every 5 min. However the sound can be ignored much as the room as double window shields which can filter the sound out quite well.

    I liked the facilities provided like complimentary high speed Internet n printing facilities with a PC provided. The hotel also gives gives complimentary ice to go with your beer or drinks and hot water to make a great cup of coffee. Overall experience is wonderful n I would recommend staying here to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.8
    Terrific, reasonably priced short-stay experience in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's situated right beside Manhattan bridge so there is significant ambient train rumbling noise, but there is good double glazing and I had ear-plugs so it didn't bother me through the night.

    Super friendly staff who were always helpful and welcoming. The hotel was very clean and felt safe for this solo female traveller. Free tea and coffee at front desk is a nice touch. Bed was very comfy, linen was clean and plentiful, shower was good and hot. All in all a great stay in a brilliantly located hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Great little place in Chinatown. In New York all you need is a base and this one was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Was perfect for what we needed.

    The staff were friendly, the bed was comfortable after a long days walking. The free coffee was really nice and the room was just right for what we needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful helpful staff. Great location for a different visit toNYC than past mid town locations. Near subway to get around the city and lots of interesting walkable sites.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    Convenient place to stay in NY with a reasonable budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We run out of soap, shower gel and shampoo, we had to ask for a refill and in the end they gave us a soap bar (no shower gel or shampoo). The room was clean when we arrived but was not vacuumed again during our stay (7 nights).

    Good value for money. Convenient location. Friendly staff. There is a computer and printer in the basement which is very useful if you need to print boarding passes etc. Nice places for breakfast around that area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room's walls are very thin. Can hear a lot of what goes on in the hallways and other rooms. Makes intimate moments a bit uncomfortable.

    Very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.8
    A Friendly Place to Stay, Highly Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The was no control over air conditioning in the room.

    Awesome staff! Great location in the heart of China town, you can enjoy a lot of places within walking distance and subway stations are very close too. Good soundproofing - noise from Manhattan Bridge is very low if you keep the window(s) closed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.0
    Brilliant trip to New York and a place to chill out and sleep but not much else:
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television did not work - not that we were in New York to watch telly but would still like something to watch as we got ready. Very small room.

    Friendly staff, located near to china town and very close to three subway stations. Walking distance to Brooklyn bridge too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The property is air-conditioned but it cannot be controlled from the room, the AC works at property-level. This can be an issue when they have it on 24/7. They tried putting it up a bit upon our request but it was still chilly and they never actually turned it off. Superior room is not very spacious and there is no wardrobe, just a small tidy rail.

    The property is central, walking distance from 2 metro stations, the East Village and the World Trade Center. There is free coffee and tea at reception and you can also use the printer for free. The hotel can storage your luggage for free upon check out, which is handy. Don't panic when you hear the train outside, the property is really well soundproofed. Bed was super comfortable!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.5
    An economical and pleasant place to stay in NYC!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were extremely pleasant and accommodating. They have ingeniously muffled the roar from the elevated train that runs across the street from the property: they have insulated windows, and a second set of insulating windows. Those keep the sound of the train (so loud that when you're on the street below you can't speak to a person standing next to you, and can barely hear when you're shouting) to a very low rumble that quickly becomes "white noise". The subway is only a couple of blocks away, and Little Italy is a relatively short walk. If you're using your hotel room as just a sleep and shower area, this is a perfect lower-cost option. If you want lots of amenities, you won't find them here -- and the price reflects it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Nevertheless, I enjoyed our stay in the hotel and felt like a real New Yorker! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In terms of the environment, I didn't like it that much because you can see garbage everywhere. (I'm referring to the streets outside the hotel of course) But I think the experience to have walked on these streets completed my stay in New York.

    Staff were very accommodating and knowledgeable on places around. Location is very good as per public transport, restaurants and convenience stores. The hotel itself is clean and the room is comfortable to sleep in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Value for money and close to subway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Temperature of the room can only be adjust outside (for the whole floor)

    The room is clean and rate of the hotel is decent, compare with other hotel in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is value money, room is clean and decent. Hotel staff are very friendly and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area is a bit noisy, as it is close to the subway.

    The staff are very helpful and nice, they can help you to arrange transportation to JFK and give you tips on local area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Immaculately clean, exceptional staff, great location, great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and facilities were immaculately clean, small but just enough for what you need to explore the city. Staff exceptional- kind and attentive, genuine. Would go back in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Ideal downtown base for exploring everything NY has to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not too many other facilities within the hotel but New York is for exploring so that shouldn't be a dealbreaker. As hotel is located in Chinatown, you may need to walk a bit further afield for real diversity of bars, cafes and restaurants

    Staff here are so friendly and will help you in any way they can. Rooms are bright and very clean, with a spacious bathroom and such good value for money given NY's average rates. Well located in Chinatown, within walking distance of all areas of downtown NY.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    A nice surprise in Chinatown!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The staff is very kind and professional, the bed is comfortable, small room, very clean and although our room faced the street on the second floor the noise is so low that we hardly notice it. Interesting neighborhood.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    Hotel mimosa is a good hotel for the short stay in Manhattan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room have no fridge. And I suggest to get more facilities such as washing machine and dryer. Because I stay there for fives days, it would be great if the hotel provide this facility.

    The room was clean and the staff came to make up room everyday. The nice bubble tea shop is just next door to the hotel which help me to refresh after a long walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    A great place, great location and friendly staff! I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The TV didn't work in our room. A coffee maker would have been nice - however they did have coffee at the front reception that we could take up to our room. The room is a little small, however we didn't stay in our room much because we were out sight-seeing.

    The location is really good for lower Manhattan, it is in the middle of China Town. There is easy subway access which we used. You can walk to several tourist locations - such as the Brooklyn Bridge, 911 Memorial, Battery Park (just have good walking shoes). The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. I would stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    Much better than initially expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have had a mini fridge for keeping drinks cold. Room was very small, but for the price and it’s location I could not expect any more

    Bed was super comfortable, bathroom was a good size and clean, large television and amazing view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    i will be back next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was great

    staff was great when i needed a taxi and help to get into my room.....our temperature needed to by hight and they came to check on the vent.. i did not know how to put tv on and they came to help me. staff is great.....coffee and tea downstairs is nice....room is clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    It was really great travel. I love NYC, it's amazing. You always have something to do. Hotel wasNICE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only one thing that was missing there is electric kettle with mugs. I think it would be a good addition.

    I really like my stay in NYC and in hotel Mimosa. I love the staff, they were always nice and helpful and chatty. I had problem with my credit card in the US (Europe) so they were patient, always with good attitude. Hotel is nice, clean, there is a lift there, room was comfy and clean with comfortable bed. Neighborhood is very busy and loud but you don't hear it inside the room. It's a great location to explore Financial District and WTC zone. Also when you want to take a ferry to Liberty Island and Staten Island. It will take you 20 minutes walking distance to Financial District. It's also close to metro station. Lots of Asian restaurants around and Columbus park nearby. Bathroom was clean and towels were changed every day. You have teeth brush, shampoo and conditioner available there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    The location was great for sigh seeing, eating and transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small (although probably not by New York standards) and the air conditioning couldn't be adjusted in the room.

    The location was great for sigh seeing, eating and transport. The room was comfortable and well furnished, making good use of he limited space. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the information pack we got at check in was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    coffee and tea for free at the reception: great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a fire alarm problem on the first night (somebody smoking in the room) but that's not the hotel's fault. Anyway, no true fire...

    coffee and tea for free at the reception: great! very easy to walk to many destinations in NYC : World Trade Center, Wall Street, Little Italy, Greenwich Village, Brooklyn & Manhattan Bridges (that's what we did) good subway connections chinatown is a lovely neighborhood it's the better ratio quality/price that I found on booking.com when looking, and I was not disappointed

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: