Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Metro Plaza Hotel 2 stars

711 North Main Street, Downtown Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA 90012, USA

#218 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1408 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location

    It was reasonable place to stay for price but location was quite run down. we are quite nervous of going out after evening. I wouldn't recommend anyone with family to stay there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not the safest, no microwave, not enough pillows, soda vending machines has dead flies on the soda can, the free breakfast included only contains cereal, bagels, small muffins, coffee, and juice to choose from (no eggs, sausage, bacon, etc.).

    Friendly staff, excellent maid services, facilities functional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy who checked us in was not very welcoming or efficient.

    We were catching a train from Union Station the following morning. It was a simple 5 min walk from the hotel. We had an excellent meal in China town, less than 5 mins walk away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost laughable breakfast (cornflakes, bread - they don't even have butter, and apples), very uncomfortable beds and very old interior. Bed neighborhood in the evening

    Friendly staff, very close to union station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soundproofing of the room is next to none. A middle of the night one hour long loud telephone conversation made by the guest next door completely ruined our sleep

    Closeness to Union Station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been appreciated.

    The huge bed was quite comfortable. We booked this hotel because of the proximity to Union Station and that worked well. The complementary breakfast was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It might be time to replace the carpet - some lingering odours. Bathroom fan was noisy

    GREAT location for activities that revolved around Union Station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plumbing was a bit old & you can hear the pipes big time! Would like more options for complimentary breakfast though currently served workable.

    Centrally located no need for a rental car depending of course on what your travel plans are. Local public transportation options practically within walking feet, literally across the street from the hotel. Also plenty of dining options including the famous Philippe's walking distance on same side of hotel. Have stayed here once before would do it again if I could. My last room was surprising a suite which provided a nice balcony, stove top, microwave, & small dining table with chairs!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff indifference, breakfast person was impolite,

    It was clean enough, staff indifferent, the location was great. I will probably not stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more plugs, thankfully we brought a power strip. A microwave would have been nice to reheat the leftovers from all the great resturants we visited. The pillows were flat & hard & the towels small & thin. Nothing too bad just little things that you get a custom too from other hotels

    Loved this place! We got into town 3 hrs ahead of schedule & they allowed us to check in early. Great location, right next to Olvera St & a short walk to Chinatown. Dodger stadium is 2 miles away. The room was clean, just outdated, kinda like visiting your grandma. Good a/c & underground parking. Everyone was friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt somewhat intimidated by the homeless which I didn’t anticipating finding so many in USA.

    The location in relation to Union Station is excellent Nice big clean room ,good bathroom Good light breakfast A good short stay involving trains

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing needs updating. Working TV is a must source of entertainment when out of town.

    Location. The proximity of the hotel to public transportation and places to eat makes life easier for business travelers and tourists alike. Staff: friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough bath towels and bath supplies for 3 people. Call for more, but never arrive. Roms are dated. Front desk wrote down my credit card information on a 1990’s credit card voucher. This is dangers because once you left property you have no control with this information.

    Was near to the area that have business with. 12pm chieck out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like how the Hispanic lady hovers over you at the breakfast area. Makes me feel like I'm being watched. And makes me feel guilty for grabbing something.

    Location. Parking available and complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and good price. The staff were kind and helpful and the service was great! The location was very convenient to Chinatown and Union Station. Olivera St. Also a wonderful and historic Hispanic market. Post office is right across the street which is great for sending souvenirs/presents back home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you’re thinking of staying in this hotel- think again. The hotel was dirty. Staff miserable. The smell in the room was terrible- a mixture of body odour and smoke. The area surrounding wasn’t great- put it this way- I wouldn’t like to walking around at night alone.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner got loud when adjusted to cooler temperature. The carpets are quite worn. No microwave in room.

    The location was great. Near to Union Station, Galen Center, Restaurants and shopping arcade. Even though it's right in the road, we never had an issue with noise. Had no issues with street people either. The elevator was excellent. Large and efficient. The bathroom was large, clean and functioned well. Size of hotel. Quick access to Services . Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better but is reasonable even in its modest current form.

    Availability of hot water on tap (machine near the lift), proximity to Union station - less than 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel not maintained. Not been refurbished. Fitness room equipment did not work. Call for help that never responded.

    Variety of options for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old building. The walls are super thin, I heard my neighbors and people outside all night! The bed was NOT comfortable at all. The breakfast selection needs to be improved.

    Room was large and the location was near the amtrak. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was not great for what we wanted to do. We had the Santa Monica Pier on our to do list, and the Broad museum. The buses are confusing, google tried to get us to catch a bus at a place there was no bus stop. So we ended up having to uber around everywhere. I would pay the extra money and get a hotel closer to what you want to do. Even if the buses look simple. When you leave the hotel, you see homeless people everywhere (but hey that's LA) and a gas station. There is a Subway Sandwiches right beside it and a Starbucks about 5 minutes away walking distance. I am extremely happy with my stay but next time I will pay extra for a hotel closer to where I need to be. Another thing to note is the outlets are loose. If you plug in your phone the charger will fall out. You will have to prop something up to balance the charger on.

    The room was beautiful and large, great value for money. Staff was so nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife and I always stay here when we come to LA for her appointments at the Keck Medical center at the USC medical campus. For the money you can't beat the value. It's almost downtown, but access to the medical campus is easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had no type of protein, all carbs. Hard boiled eggs would be nice. Coffee had only powdered “creamer” some individual half and half containers would’ve great. No vending machine for snacks 😢

    The big tub! Elevator. Quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There seemed to be some strange "humming" noise or vibration in the room. We thought it might be a large AC unit on the roof as we were on the 4th floor. Not sure, but it was a little weird especially when you're trying to go to sleep.

    Staff were pleasant and it's very close to ChinaTown and downtown museums.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of helicopters which hotel has no control over and we found it hard to sleep with time change over beds were clean and comfortable

    Everything we needed in room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly it was a bit jaded and needs modernising but it was fine for an overnight stay.

    5 minutes walk from Union station, plenty to do and see in the immediate area and lots of food outlets so all good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price, nothing could be improved.

    The breakfast of Cheerios, banana, apple, juice, coffee, and toast. The proximity to Olvera St. and location on Main. Phillipe's famous cafeteria a hundred feet away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was great, but there weren’t many places in the area to pick up late night food.

    The room was perfectly located for a transfer on the LAX flyaway bus, after a late flight, to downtown LA. We had a quick wander round the downtown area the next morning before picking up our hire car and heading out of the city. Couldn’t have been easier.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location close to downtown. Don't be put off parking when you arrive its under the hotel, it gets busy so find one of the attendants and they will find you a space. Very nice staff. Simply breakfast included. Nice, modern spacious rooms with TV, safe, WIFI and bathroom. There are lifts so ask for room on upper floor with bit of a view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are only a couple electrical outlets in the room which are used by the tv and fridge. Had to charge phones in the bathroom.

    Very large room. Fluffy pillows and comfortable bed. Bathroom well supplied.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was terrible. Hard and very uncomfortable. When room was reserved, parking was requested. Upon arrival informed parking was full. Had to drive around block to park in rear and was charged for parking. Payment was taken prior to stay (before getting keys to room).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use power outlets near desk and nightstands (my only negative, and I made do).

    Old but nice. Room renovated and modern. Huge room. Easy, safe 10-minute walk from train station and Uber picks up right out front. I highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange white stains on the rug by the bed. Rug was dirty in whole room. The windows didn't seal and our room was facing street, so we were kept awake listening to traffic, sirens and drunks. AC didn't work. Beds were fine, pillows were small and thin.

    The breakfast attendant was very helpful and kept the breakfast food fully stocked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall impression of the hotel was poor at first glance, and got worse. The hallway carpeting was filthy; the wallpaper was dingy and old. When I got to my room, I found the same. I sat on the bed to remove my shoes and it squeaked and groaned as if the mattress were 50 years old. The bathroom was dated, but fairly clean; however, I had to hunt for the hand towels for use at the separate sink. The lighting in the room was horrible. The television channel selection was very limited and the quality of the picture left a lot to be desired. When I retired for the night, I laid down on the noisy mattress and immediately rolled into a canyon in the middle of the bed. I called the front desk and they assured me that all the mattresses in all the rooms were brand new; however, they would be happy to move me to another room. Not at midnight! When I checked out in the morning (certainly not rested!), I asked to speak with the manager. He was seated at a desk behind the front counter and walked up to see me. I told him about the mattress and how uncomfortable it was. He, too, assured me that all the mattresses were new. I asked for an adjustment to my bill and was denied.

    It was close to Union Station, and that's about it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was barely adequate and there were no tea / coffee making facilities in our room.

    Location was perfect. Very close to Union Station. We were able to check in early after a 12 hour flight. Room was a good size with a view. Room had a safe in it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in urgent need of refurbishment. The state of the carpets on all floors was dirty and heavily stained, and the bathrooms, corridors smelt of cleansing fluids. Breakfast was made up of processed bread, particularly the baffles, poor quality cereals, all utensils and cups of plastic, something you would expect from a café-type van on a busy street corner, not a hotel. Quality- price only fair.

    Primarily the location , just 5' walk from Union station. Undoubtedly the main advantage of choosing this hotel because you don't have to lug your suitcases too far, and within striking distance of Flyway bus service to LAX airport, a 45 ' ride.The double room was ample. Choosing a room away from the main Avenue outside was a notable plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came back from Little Tokyo to find our bathroom sink was backing up, and the person that they sent up to our room was a security guard...not a maintenance worker. He kept talking back to us as we were trying to explain what was going on. We had realized that every time the room next door flushes the toilet, the water starts flowing up. Disgusting... it looked like hair, dirt and pebbles? The security guard claimed that we were clogging the pipes with hair. To make matters worst, WE were the ones that had to ask if we could switch room's with the front desk. They didn't even apologize for the awful experience and brought us to the 4th floor and into a room with a King size bed. (We booked a room with 2 queen size beds) Unfortunately.... a King size bed is NOT AT ALL accommodating when you have 2 kid's + your spouse as well. So I asked for a roll away bed, and the gentle men said they do not have those, but the king size bed should fit and there's also a couch. (Uhh, what kind of customer service is that?) Another odd thing, the doors don't stay open, I found this frustrating since my 2 year old is still being potty trained and has a hard time opening door knobs, and I have to put a heavy item to keep the door open so she can go. + Parking is 5 bucks. You gotta check in first before they'll let you park in the slots. Also, the entrance gate is closed at a certain time so you're outta luck if you want to get back in during the evening.

    Loved the fact that it was convenient for me to get to where I needed within the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast could be better and the bathroom taps in shower could be better

    the room was extra big with a kitchen which was not expected was pleasantly surprised lovely people around the manager is a humble man i ordered some parcels online which were kept safely for me on arrival

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom tap system is old. Breakfast has no variety. The weather was cold.

    Good location. Quiet room. Manager is sweet. The room is nice and big. The bathroom is big. Just behind Chinatown (Golden Dragon Restaurant is a must try for dim sum lovers paradise, and authentic chinese) and Union station and metro.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is what it is - a good downtown hotel - I would stay again if I was connecting with the train.

    Free breakfast was about the right price for what was offered. Excellent location to train station. Many homeless people camping in the area - was not a problem but might be of concern to some guests. For LA great value for money. Very good restaurant (pub style) around the corner. Smoke house BBQ? not sure of the name.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was really stiff and not that comfortable. I brought my own blanket and pillow, as I always do, so I was still comfortable enough. The hotel seems to be near a fire station or the like because there were frequent sirens and emergency response vehicles going by. This didn't bother me too much but I could see how it would be an issue for someone who is a light sleeper.

    I booked a king sized bed and the room was very large. Six of us got ready for an event in the room and we never felt like we were running into each other or in each other's way. There were two large mirrors in the room and that really helped us with getting ready as well as two large closets to hang our costumes. I stayed in the room with one other friend over night. The bed was hard and not incredibly comfortable, but it was only for one night and our real purpose for getting a room was to have a close place to get ready for our event. Over all the hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and I would for sure stay there again. Oh and the bathtub was really big! As a six foot tall woman, I was very excited about this. I didn't make it out of my room in time to get breakfast so I can't speak to its quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gnats in the breakfast area, in the bread, elevator wasnt functioning for one day. Hotel staff was non friendly, did not let us know how to get to the main floor bc the elevator was down. Got lost a few times.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I saw was I felt the room rug needed shampooed. Other than that it looked and smelled clean.

    Liked a lot. Only complaint my husband had was no coffee pot in room but honestly, it was no problem going down and getting coffee whenever he wanted- it’s a available 24/7.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The window did not close all the way. The security chain on the door was broke. As others stated, the heat,air system was very load and I could not use it. Not enough outlets to charge things. Sad breakfast, but if you like cereal you will be fine. Front desk was not much help in knowing the area and how to get from the hotel to different areas in the city.

    From the other comments so far there is little I can add about this hotel. They are really spot on about this place. I should have read them before booking. Please rwad the review to make informed chose. I will say that it is only two blocks or less from Union Station. A big plus for me because I came in by train. In fact, as the train was pulling into the station I could see the hotel sign, Also, only two blocks from Chinatown if you need to be in this area of town. If you decided this is enough because you just a need place to shower and change you might like the place. But, do not except much. I would compare it to an older Motel 6 or Super 8 kind of hotel that needs updating in spots. Same kind of towels, bedding, and small soap bars,etc. It does have a mini fridge which is a plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The value of the room, a basic motel in Los Angeles' Chinatown district, feeling old and dated with some street traffic noise, just didn't match the cost of it.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Also, parking was only $4 a night in the garage which was a real bonus for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is really moderate. The neighbourhood of the hotel locates a plenty of homeless people, not very comfortable to walk to the station early in the morning and late at night.

    The location is close to the train station and easy to walk to. Wifi connection was good. Service was friendly. The beds were comfortable. A good choice with limited budget.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is getting a little frayed round the edges but for the money it's good value

    Very good parking, large clean room ,good bathroom, very comfortable bed and breakfast included.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to Union Station. Clean. Walking distance to restaurants - Spring Street Smokehouse was great! Walk to China Town for the Lunar New Year Parade was a bonus. Nice safe parking garage for $4. Great value all around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    1- What eggs? Breakfast a bit light. Overall, location excellent, staff good, facilities excellent. Although I like my prices less, for the downtown area this has been my best experience to date. Mike

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like their breakfast style , chocolate drink should be added for kids and people that doesn't take coffee or tea, eggs will also be a good one too

    I liked the room size, location,their was okay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less option for breakfast. No eggs.If you want a lively atomosphere then this is not the place. This has a calm surroundings .

    Clean rooms and easy access to Metro. Walking distance to the hop in hop off city tour bus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really old hotel. I couldn’t open the curtains on my bedroom because the window from the room next to mine was in front of it.

    Bed was comfortable and towels were change everyday

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom slightly musty smelling

    Good place to stay -8 minute walk to union station so easy access to trains and buses, even with luggage. Great choice of restaurants within a 5 minute walk

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One night we stayed on the other side of the hotel with view to back yard - it was obscure and we did not really like as the view on the union station.

    The rooms with view on Union station are much better due to the view :) The opposite side is really worth as you see other rooms and only obsure back yard of the hotel. No idea why the hotel was too loud for other guests - I was quite satisfied with it. It is no longer new it is clear, but it is yet ok, and for the money we paid it was great. To Union station you walk perhaps 7-10 minutes. There is free coffee and tee and water 24h a day. The room is very spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There weren't any major issues. It is in a very busy area of downtown, and can be a bit noisy, so if you are looking for peace and quiet, the windows are not double paned, and you will be woken up early. Also, the hot water is nearly scalding, so be careful in the shower and make sure to adjust it carefully before you get in. Just a few millimeters of turning the knob could cause you to be in some serious pain. Otherwise, I think it's a great location, great value, and very clean and centrally located.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell on the corridor and in the elevator area

    Room was ok, clean and spacious, even if not too modern. Breakfast ok (bakery, milk, cereals, fruits, cheese, beverages). Staff at the reception nice and helpful. Close to Union Station and Olvera Street. You can get coffee from the machine 24 hours.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One lift was out of action for our two night stay, so some waiting was involved. A minor quibble.

    This hotel has everything a budget traveler needs. Rooms are big and well appointed, reception is efficient and helpful, 24 hr. real coffee and a fresh, free breakfast top things off. The neighborhood borders Chinatown ( a bit sad and run-down, but some good food) but has a vibrant Hispanic influence.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is very close to Union Station and bus links, so is very handy for travellers. It is old-fashioned and could do with a makeover but is very clean and comfortable. The American style breakfast buffet was good quality and plentiful, space in the breakfast room is limited so be prepared to be patient and share a table. Staff were efficient and helpful. Would be more than happy to stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean and nicely decorated hotel. Large, modern, comfortable rooms with good facilities. Onsite parking was close to the lobby and secure. Friendly and helpful staff. Close to Union Station and Olvera street. 10 minute walk to down town and next china town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bedside table surface—layers of funk. Shower stal was not 100% clean—smear on the tile. Only one elevator worked and the walls are super THIN!

    Spacious

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Check in process was much easier than other times I have stayed at this property. It was nice to have bagels and cream cheese served for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Several maintenance items in public areas and room.

    Located very conveniently to Union Station, Olvera Street, Chinatown, Japantown, Koreatown, and some churches and museums of interest..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Great location for catching Amtrak train. We had an early chech-in 😀😀. Wifi was good, as was the 24hr coffee and breakfast. Walking distance to downtown LA. Would stay again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel needs a complete refurb Dated and dirty carpet, dingy walls and ceilings

    Proximity to union station Cleanliness and comfort of beds Helpful and friendly staff Felt safe and secure

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little down at heel in common areas - a new carpet would make a huge difference - but for the price it was understandable Would stay again without hesitation

    Location- few minutes from metro - great local restaurants nearby phillippes is a must!! Staff- super friendly and helpful Beds are really comfy and room was v clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows that close would have been nice. We heard sirens all night. The room was a throwback to the 1970's. The lighting was poor and the bedding was dated & dingy.

    The only plus was that it was a 5 minute walk to the train station. We won't stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Given a connecting room and unfortunately my neighbor was a pain in the ass. Standard American breakfast , need improvement compared to European breakfast : No eggs, no ham , no cheese diversity

    Good location near Union station,friendly staff, parking available for low cost, eateries and nice touristic walking street nearby .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you can hear what is happening in the room next to you. the cleanness could be better

    1. Breakfast 2. Fast internet 3. Great location (close to Union station) which you can go anywhere from there using the subway. 4. The late check out at 1:00 pm

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Vending machine on the 4th floor was not functional. Eggs could have been included in breakfast. There was some foul smell in the lobby.

    It is centrally located and easy to find. Walk-able distance from the Union station. Room was cosy and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service is poor , entire hotel needs renovation as there is a smell all over. Unsafe to walk in the night as lots if homeless people sitting around. Useless breakfast .

    Nothing is the best word I can say .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm already your sales person.

    I like more about the staff and the room ,its big, and it's clean. Lighting is very likeable.We will come again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    All OK

    This hotel is very conveniently located, close to Union Train station and the bus to the airport. Staff was very helpful giving us a late checkout and providing a lunch recommendation. Included breakfast is basic but OK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One elevator was broke so we would just use the stairs which is no big deal, but the stairs either let you out on the second floor parking lot outside or on the first floor outside down the street, the stairs didn’t go to the first floor on the inside

    It was close to downtown and walking distance to many things

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was dirty inside and out. Room was nothing like the pictures on their website. Save your money and find a better place. I would rate this place a ZERO out of 10!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything - the place is dirty and located in the middle of the worst place in the city. The facilities are run down mostly not working, the rooms are dark and dingy, and the hallways stink of marijuana and chemicals. The doors have clear marks of being forcibly opened. We debated if it would be safer to leave our luggage in the car or bring it into the room.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Metro Plaza Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: