Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Metro 3 stars

45 West 35th Street, New York, NY 10001, USA

#105 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 957 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    The Art Deco interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A roof terrace was advertised and it was there but non functional A restaurant was mentioned in the description but this was undergoing renovation. The air conditioning unit in our room was faulty- a big negative with the excessive heat and humidity we experienced during our New York stay.

    The Art Deco interior. The coffee machine in the foyer.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised on website that complimentary breakfast included. When we arrived breakfast room and bar were being refurbished with no prior warning from Booking.com which added to the cost of our stay as we had to eat out for breakfast.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Art Deco theme with nice personal touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Second stay here and been really happy both times. They are undergoing renovation so we had to walk around the corner for breakfast but no issues. We had a superb room and the staff had picked up on it being a significant birthday treat so we had a bottle of champagne waiting for us on arrival. A lovely touch which really does make all the difference. Fabulous view of the Empire State Building especially at night from the terrace. Great location for getting to just about everything. Now thinking of excuses to go back....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    ANY PORT IN A STORM !
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was the smallest and the most expensive I have ever booked, There was a storm on in NYC which I am sure made the price high ..but the room was very small ...clean but small. I mean tiny ! Lovely to stay in if the price was right but having stayed in NYC hundreds of times this room was small !

    The hotel is old world which I always find interesting....The girl at the front desk was very nice , as were the porters that looked after our stored bags.Bed was very comfortable . Good location .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    I travelled with family (Over 18yrs, no children under 18).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I travelled with family (Over 18yrs, no children under 18). Spacious, bright, comfortable, clean bedrooms. We were made feel very welcome throughout our stay. Free continental breakfast each morning. Staff were friendly, informative and very helpful. I would definitely stay in this hotel again. While there was some renovation work in progress in the restaurant this in no way impacted on our stay. Thank you to all the staff we met along our way for your welcoming courteous behaviour at all times.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    good situation ,nice little hotel but ask what kind of room you have
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very simple

    if you choosed a premium room it s nice (upper level ,big room ,new room) but not all the rooms were like this (some have bad bathroom with broken things ) the situation is very nice you can a break in a liitle salon and it s very nice the happy hour between 5 and 6 is very pleasant i would go again but i would ask for a restaured room in a high level

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.2
    Very basic & disappointed - error in our booking meant we paid for a room that we didn’t occupy !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that the reservations dept made us think that an error in our first 1 day booking would be refunded if we confirmed a 2nd & subsequent booking later in the week. A promised upgrade was as basic as you could get, so not convinced we were ever upgraded

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    great location, rooftop has good view of empire state...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    water was cut all night, with no option left (eg additional water bottles, or jugs) . reception staff were ok-borderline unfriendly. we booked 2 nights since we knew arrived early morning and didnt want to be delayed to checkin, the receptionist commented ''not sure if the room is still available as you didnt show up yesterday'' ! we got the room at the end, but was a totally irrelevant comment to throw at guest who already paid for 2 nights!

    great location, rooftop has good view of empire state building, free wine and coffee at 5

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.0
    Large attractive room, comfortable bed, good shower, plush...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible breakfast. Free, yes. But coffee not good and only bagels (ugh and plain bread for Toast. Didn’t expect much more for free but as “continental” breakfast it doesn’t compare with free breakfasts often provided at moderately priced hotels in Europe. Must have been dissppointment for your many European guedts. Also problem with noise, both from street and from loud guests in hallway late st night. But not your fault ‘

    Large attractive room, comfortable bed, good shower, plush towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    GREAT!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Always enjoy my stay at this wonderful hotel. Yes, the bed was most comfortable. Looking forward to my next stay already Thanks and best wishes Allana Flynn-O'Neile

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Made an amazing trip a perfect trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators didn’t work the best but you are in the middle of construction so it’s okay.

    Top deck was amazing. It made our trip. The staff was super helpful and courteous to everything. Location\view was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    $ 250- charge for damage security hold on credit card. Hoping this gets promptly credited.

    Great location, very clean, room spacious and bed comfortable, Loved the wine reception in the afternoon and water and soda complementary in room and tea and coffee 24 hr. in lobby. Great terrace and view of Empire state Building( esp. at night when it is lit up) Had a great deal on room rate. Would go back again. Decent elevators.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Great stay in an exciting city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Paper plates seem to be put out of reach you had to lean over the ice box to reach them. Breakfast was excellent but plates awkward to reach and rather small. Plastic knives would not cut anything and the butter was kept too cold so was impossible to spread.

    We were updated to a suite which was excellent . Separate lounge, comfy beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    A perfect base for exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t fault anything

    The location was perfect with easy access to the main sights most within walking distance. We only took the subway once to get to 9/11 memorial and walked everywhere else. The rooms were clean and bed was so comfortable. The breakfast and wine tasting every evening was a bonus. Staff were really helpful. We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and had a bottle of champagne on arrival which was a lovely gesture.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    Visit to New York
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being refurbished and the air con fans for the whole hotel were noisy behind the hotel as I was on 5th floor at back of hotel

    Good location for tourism

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    I would check next time and not assume that the facilities were all available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    one of the elevators was not working and since we were on the PH level that was a problem. There are a significant wait for the elevators even after walking down to the 12th floor. Metro Grill closed a week earlier than scheduled so we were not able to have breakfast there, as planned.

    our room was lovely and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    the location of the hotel is very convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    heating system is very old, hotel interior design and rooms look old too. Also the isolation of the doors and windows was very poor. Everything happening on the street was right in the room.

    the location of the hotel is very convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, the comfort of the bed, very clean bathroom and very nice bathroom amenities. The size of the room is comfortable for 3-4 person, breakfast was good although only for limited choice of food They serve 24/7 free flow coffee and tea at the lounge, you could bring them as your “coffee on the go” everytime you need a cafein boost.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location, very comfortable, fantastic complimentary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial check in was dissapointing as the woman was very rude and unhelpful however the other staff were friendly during my stay.

    Good location, very comfortable, fantastic complimentary continental breakfast, overall great hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    4.6
    Won’t be back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very disappointed in how our checkin was handled. I called in advance to pay for the room and add my roommate’s name so she could access the room prior to my arrival since she got there first. Staff failed to follow their own policies and my roommate had to suffer for it by sitting in the hotel lobby for hours until I got there with the same card the room was reserved with (and I thought paid for). I’ve never had this problem at higher rates hotels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location but can be noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the street was very loud. Also you can hear everything if something is going on in the hallway.

    The staff was very nice and helpful. It was a great location from grand central, time square and Madison square garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Old fashioned but comfortable and well located hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The common parts look a bit all fashioned. The room is much better.

    I was given a very nice room at the last floor as an upgrade versus my initial reservation. It was large and comfortable. The breakfast is basic but it is nice to be able to have it in the hotel. The personnel was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Location and comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception could have been more informative. My friend unfortunately had their bag/passport stolen. Reception had no idea what the process would be to get an emergency replacement.

    Location and comfy beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Clean bed and bathroom, adequate bar, comfortable bed, close...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean bed and bathroom, adequate bar, comfortable bed, close to our NYC Office. Worked out really well and was upgraded to a ridiculously large room with 3 beds. Within a few blocks of our NYC office, will look to stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location - with great views from roof top terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts were very noisy and quite 'bumpy' which was a little worrying at times. The hotel restaurant was also closed during our stay, but as there are so many restaurants nearby, it wasn't too much of a problem.

    The hotel is in an excellent location, esoecially for Macy's! The free wine tasting each evening was a bonus too - especially if you took your drinks up to the roof top terrace as there really cannot be many hotels in Manhattan that have the most amazing views of the Empire State Building. Our room was quite compact, but was very comfortable and had everything we required.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Great location, very warm and friendly staff, rooms are very comfortable and provide everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Friendly, accommodating, fantastic location, beds are so comfortable I slept like a log. It was my second visit and would highly recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was nice and has all you need for a standard breakfast. The paper plates and plastic cutlery could be replaced by real

    Our stay was made unforgettable with the help of the hotel and staff. Perfect location for a perfect weekend. Excellent staff and good rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Excellent will stay again and again and again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s central location it’s atmosphere the fact that they offer a continental breakfast, there is tea & coffee available all day, you can bring your own food in to eat in the lounge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been better but It was still sufficient.

    I liked the bathroom and the tub was lovely. Room cleaning service was a very nice surprise when we got back to the hotel the room was cleaned. Air conditioning was working and hotel room had a mini fridge and a TV. Lovely hotel overall.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.9
    Great Location but Small Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was MUCH smaller than expected and the windows were awful. There was no view and they seemed very poorly insulated because I felt a draft and the noise seemed to get in a lot.

    The location of this hotel is amazing. It’s basically in the center of NY and there are metro stops close by. There is parking just two minutes away and it’s only $35/day which is pretty cheap for NYC and for the location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    a lovely way to spend the new year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was average at best, we ended up walking down the road to starbucks and brought coffee / food back to the room.

    the Queen room was a nice size (small for american hotels but more than enough for two people.) Location was perfect for everything being right near macy's, the empire state (which you can see from the roof terrace) and 5th avenue. free wine was served in the lounge every evening which is a lovely way to finish a day on your feet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    Extremely disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dirty windows and ripped curtains. Only plastic glasses. Had better breakfasts in a cheap motel. In need of renovation. Completely overpriced for what it is.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Overall a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi does not work well, had to use my phone’s LTE about half of the time. The elevator requires a lot of patience in the morning.

    Clean room, comfy bed, complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    I informed the hotel it was a special occasion as we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I informed the hotel it was a special occasion as we were travelling for my husbands 50th and we were delighted to be upgraded. The staff were fantastic and the breakfast was a brilliant start to the day!! It was only continental but it was all we needed! Bagels, pastries, muffins, toast, yogurts, cereals, juice and hot drinks! It set us up for the day. Hotel was an amazing location, up a quiet road but close to everything!! 5 mins or less and you were at Empire State and Maceys. Times Square was no more than 10min away. If we were lucky enough to return we would want to stay at Hotel Metro again!! Fantastic and it made our stay just perfect. Angela in reservations was most helpful leading up to our stay too. Thanks everyone at Hotel Metro.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Four days in N Y
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location, near 5th, Bryant, Central Park. We did not take the free breakfast, but ate in their restaurant, where staff was very friendly. Room was good, clean, and bathroom a bit smallish everything was there so not a real problem

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is super well located - there is a subway station just on the corner; the staff was great and the room was very comfortable. The breakfast was included on the price, which was a wonderful surprise for us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Fabulous property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel metro is by far the best in my book I choose them over Waldorf for location and hospitality. The rooms are immaculate. Can't say enough good things!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    Comfy, friendly hotel in a great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets & furniture are tired, as are the 2 creaky lifts ( one was often out of order or max 2 people only) - not ideal in a 12 floor hotel. We had an 'upgraded' room to a queen size bed but this was only just about a king size - perhaps a standard room bed would only be double - this is worth a check.

    24/7 Availability of complimentary tea & coffee. Good continental breakfast included. Daily Complimentary wine tasting every evening Great mid - town location perfect for Macy's, Empire State Building and the Subway. Super view of the Empire State Building from the roof terrace (see photos)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Fleeting 2 day stay in NYC. Metro hotel fabulous location, great price, clean comfy rooms. Will
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't dislike anything.

    Fantastic location. Clean rooms. Free continental breakfast - eat as much as you like. Free wine tasting in the evening. Great rooftop terrace with amazing free of Empire State.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.1
    Great location, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room on 2nd for was rather noisy. Right above reception so lots of chatter early morning

    Good location near to Penn station, Empire State building etc. Comfortable rooms. Not very big but then not unusual for New York. Free breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful 5 nights in a comfortable welcoming hotel which is ideally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like leaving...!!!

    Loved the shower and the spaciousness of the room. The location is excellent and the hotel has a lovely homely feeling.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.5
    it was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much of a selection for breakfast. had to walk down street for parking.

    location was good. shower was great had a lot of shower heads. the balcony was great. got a discount on parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.7
    Location is amazing, concierge is very attentive and ready...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms come with complimentary breakfast... and it is not worth it! No variety at all!!!! Only cream cheese, jam butter and bagels. The dining is small so soentimes you cant find a place to sit down. Staff at the reception are not friendly, you can hardly see them smiling or greeting . The doormen also have issues with showing a welcoming gface. Only 1 guy smiles when u entar the hotel.

    Location is amazing, concierge is very attentive and ready to help. Room is small but smartly designed to feel comfortable. Toilets are clean, housekeeping staff are kind and ready to help anytime. Coffee and tea are available throughout the day in the room and in the dining room at the lobby level. The penthouse is nice to checkout but you cannot sit during winter because it is too cold. Gyn was nice, necer tried to go inside but looked neat fronthe outside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location very close to metro station .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The breakfast was ok .It would alsobe good to have some variety of cheese or ham .

    Excellent location very close to metro station .The staff was very friendly and helpful . Very convenient the alltime fresh cofee and tea in the breakfast room. Really enjoyed the view of the Empire State Building from the penthouse.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely great hotel - would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi in our room was poor - we were on the 10th floor (out of 12) but we think maybe you were only able to have one device per room/passcode and that’s why we struggled with it.

    The bed was so comfy and the room was spotless when we arrive. The room was also ready earlier than we thought so we could check in early with no hassle. The staff were lovely and accommodating. For the price, this hotel is fab. The location is half way between everything you’d need to be near, the metro is a 10 second walk down the road and the hotel and staff are lovely. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    Hotel metro is a great choice if you like everything accessible , hassle free check in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is all carbs , should add at least protein like eggs or a piece of ham , instead of the huge muffins... which I think were not even touched during our stay :(

    I love the location it’s just a few steps away to the nearest subway , it’s super near shopping area food and restaurants

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location, close to a lot of things.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noises at night. Not a lot of tables during breakfast, you better be the first one to arrive

    Perfect location, close to a lot of things. Breakfast is good, and the personal very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Loved the hotel, hated the Wi-Fi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Wi-Fi was horrible. Kept going off line. A real nuisance. Not worth the aggravation to kept getting knocked off line. They should rethink using 'free Wi-Fi' as a selling point.

    Location of hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel. I would stay in it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I recommend to update the decoration of the interior. It is all brown and looks on the old side. I think a little modernization makes this hotel a fantastic one.

    The location was excellent. The room was on the small side. The breakfast was adequate and it is a plus. The hotel is clean, the staff are helpful and the linen are all clean and changed daily. .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    great location at the heart of new york
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast is really poor

    excellent location , near the metro ,10 minutes from Penny station , at the heart of Manhattan , Herald square , in front of Macy`s and close to all shopping areas..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Affordable lovely hotel in midtown NY
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is quite slow and cut out often

    Comfy room right in midtown. Free breakfast made getting up and going in the morning easy. Great place to come home to after long days walking the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Great time, lots of sightseeing, shopping and eating - lots of memories were made!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wished there were more restaurants near by, but its NYC, nothing was too far away.

    I took my 15 year old daughter to NYC for first time for Mother/Daughter weekend. We loved your hotel and would highly recommend it. The room was clean and beautiful and lots of hot water for showers. The front desk staff and doormen/bell hops and concierge were all friendly and very helpful. The free WIFI worked great and the breakfeast was fantastic (also enjoyed the wine tasting too). Location is good - easy to get around from here by subway or walking. Not as loud and busy as hotels in Times Square. Would definitely go back. Thanks for a great weekend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel parking... We drove to NYC, we found a good deal of parking for 24hrs. We just don't like the fact that we have to bring the car out after 24hrs coz if not, we'll be charged per hour which is way too expensive.

    The hotel is right in Midtown Manhattan which is a plus since everything is accessible.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Hotel Metro a delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con.a little loud. No bath.

    Rooms elegant & clean. Bed large & very Comfortable. Lobby lovely. Staff friendly. Rooftop stunning views of city with wine tasting a bonus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was OK (bagels, pastry, yoghurt, fruits, coffee, juice) but no warm breakfast food (eggs, bacon, sausages). It would be great to have at least one of these every day. (You can still purchase a full breakfast for $5) There are only two quite small and slow elevators and they are being used also by the staff (the service elevator was broken) so waiting for an (empty) elevator especially in the morning was quite long.

    Great location. Spacious room for NYC. Amazing view to the Empire State Building from the roof top terrace. Free breakfast and wifi included.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Location is superb and staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I couldnt find my earring the morning after i checked in i searched under the bed only to discover a bloody tissue and a used cotton bud obviously left from a previous guest. Not wanting to get anyone in trouble i found the room attendant the next morning and asked her to hoover under the beds but despite this no one did. The rest of the room was nice and clean so this was disappointing but didnt detract from my stay and how lovely the hotel was.

    i loved the art deco feel to the hotel and that it was older and had character but still had all the amenities and the location was superb. The roof garden with the spectacular view of the Empire State Building at night was an awesome sight and an added bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel in an excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Continental breakfast on paper plates with plastic cutlery was a bit disappointing.

    We really enjoyed the unexpected upgrade (to family size), super high quality beds, spacious room, pleasant desk staff. Relatively quiet for downtown hotel (sirens and honking horns during the night are part of the game in downtown NY). All in all, a super pleasant stay, a real oasis after a day of schlepping about in the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    fantastic
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a thing

    The staff were efficient and friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable, the hotel ideally situated for site seeing, which is why we have chosen to stay at the Metro on the three occasions we have visited New York , which is the reason we have, and do, recommend the Metro to family and friends

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi could be improved, really slow. Also they should make something on the rooftop, it’s to beautiful to be wasted.

    Really liked the hotel, nice and clean, the staff was very helpful. The breakfast area was super, nice music and atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Overall, my experience was great and would be happy to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative experiences.

    Great hotel in a great location. Breakfast is simple but perfectly adequate. Reception and staff generally are excellent. Stayed here a few times and on each occasion it has not disappointed. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    ;Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cant think of a thing

    The breakfast was excellent, the staff attentive without being intrusive, the rooms a good size and well maintained, the Hotel well situated for getting around New York. We have, and do, recommend the Metro to any Australian visiting New York. The Metro made our visit to New York perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Awesome hotel highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had peanut butter at breakfast.

    Location was awesome! Loved the continental breakfast and complimentary wine tasting. The roof top terrace was an added bonus with a marvelous view of the Empire state building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    very good location, very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very good location, very nice staff. Upgrade my room from a double bed to one king bed. And the breakfast is good too as it is free for us. But the price is little higher than I expected. The hotel has a very long history.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather small, hardly any room for luggage. So was the bathroom. But it was clean and amenities were okay.

    Free breakfast, complimentary bar in the room, free wine tasting & finger foods in the afternoons, the roof deck, the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    loved every minute of it and the room was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Upgraded to family room, 2 sumptuous beds, fridge Staff in reception excellent. Distance from sights excellent . Empire State Building View from roof terrace unreal. Good breakfast . Wine tasting excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.0
    Excellent location. Good if use of hotel is only for bed/breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff at reception could have been more helpful. Wanted to warm up food and were told not possible. What would people with babies do for warming baby food? Wanted to call free phone for shuttle and were told to call from room phone at a cost of USD1.

    Room was spacious with clean bed/linen and decent bathroom/shower. Location is excellent-only few metres from 5th Avenue. Excellent roof top area. Breakfast included was handy. Also had 5-6.30pm free wine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location - can't imagine anything more convinient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matrasses are very soft, pillows visa versa are "high" and firm Bathroom is very small (in standard room) Only shower (sometimes it's a plus) and it's "fixed" Noise from the street, but it's usual in NY and you get used to it Breakfasts are very limited - only bagels, muffins and yogurt

    Great location - can't imagine anything more convinient - all sites and shops are at walking distance. Rooms are cleaned well Staff is friendly and helpful Wine tasting ;) and wonderful terrace overlooking Empire State Building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    We were very pleased with Hotel Metro and would choose it again if staying in midtown NYC.
    • Couple
    • Premier Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow, small elevators. We were offered no help with our 2 large suitcases and 6 additional carry bags both arriving and leaving. We were on our own to get through lobby to curbside to hail a taxi.

    Excellent room....king bed premier had ample space for our luggage & belongings and to move around. Bed was extremely comfortable and room was quiet so we slept very well. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location in Midtown, very close to subway so very easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit on the small side. The in-room safe was a bit tricky to figure out at first but generally no major complaints.

    Great location in Midtown, very close to subway so very easy to get about. Nice quiet room. Good breakfast selection. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Very Good!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only minus was the breakfast, which was only continental one, not much choice either....After 7 days of eating the same things you are a bit fed up... most hotels offer full variety breakfast at this price...

    Nearly everything, apart from the price, what you have to be prepared to pay a bit for 5th Ave location, considering 5 minutes walk to Macy's, Penn Station and Empire State Building...Location was fantastic... roof terrace great with spectacular views on ESB...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    A perfect location which made our stay in New York so easy and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was excellent within walking distance of many attractions or the subway was literally on the doorstep.The bedroom and bathroom were clean and comfy,The breakfast was excellent and free coffee 24hrs a bonus .The staff were always polite and helpful.The price we paid was extreme value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Great location and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .

    Great location for getting around New York. Complimentary breakfast was a nice touch and an easy way to start a busy day. The roof top terrace was good to take a drink up to, especially if you caught the free wine tasting session.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom lighting is dim (especially for women putting on makeup). Difficult to find a taxi on 45th Street at peak times (like heading to the theater), so consider walking or leave early and have a plan. Uber turned out to be a lifesaver. Having an easy way to carry your group's breakfast or wine up to the rooftop deck would be nice.

    Reasonably priced. I have stayed here several times and they have upgraded the rooms nicely. The rooftop deck looking directly at the Empire State Building is amazing. Continental breakfast and evening wine tastings are nice touches.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    4.6
    The only advantage of the hotel is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were extremely dissatisfied with the choice. The hotel seemed to be completely different from the photo. We have trusted too much four stars that I do not know why this hotel got (probably many years ago). Hotel is very old. Air conditioning works like the engine of plane. We could not fall asleep. We asked for the room change at the reception. They pretended to not understand where lies the problem and said that technician is already out and there are no more free rooms. After 5 minutes it turned out that they lied because after insisting another free room was found. Unfortunately, the same horrible and noisy. We did not got absolutely any customer care. The staff (apart from one technician guy) was rude and seemed to not understand basic phrases. Absolutely passive in terms of approach. NEVER AGAIN!

    The only advantage of the hotel is the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Superb hotel, great location, lovely staff - what's not to like?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel Metro is a really nice Art Deco styled hotel, close to the Empire State Building, Macy's and Times Square. For location you couldn't pick better! The staff are very helpful and the standards within the hotel are superb. Our room was spotless, towels changed daily and the bed changed twice during our 5 night stay. Facilities in the room were great - tea/coffee making facilities, iron, hairdryer, safe, fridge (stocked with welcome cans of coke and a bottle of water) and a huge flat screen Tv. The bed was so comfy we slept like logs - one word of warning though the air conditioning is very noisy so take ear plugs! The continental breakfast provided was good - cereal, fruit, yogurt, bread for toast, pastries and of course bagels with plenty of options to load them with! Complimentary tea and coffee are available in the dining room 24/7 which is a nice touch after a day sightseeing 🙂 Huge bonus is the rooftop terrace - the Empire State is so close you feel you could almost touch it! Should I ever return to NYC I'd definitely stay at the Hotel Metro.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Metro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: