Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Metropolis 3 stars

25 Mason Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#179 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 281 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    you have to be very clear about how long you park and check your receipt afterwards. You pay a lot of money for a room that is not that nice because it is in the city centre.

    central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Chinese uncle at the front desk - try to put a smile a bit will ya :)

    Great location! Just at the border between city centre and cheap places to eat. Easy to find halal food nearby (Halal Guys, Halal Wings, etc.). Westfield Shopping Centre and other attractions are just around the corner. Landmarks are just few mins away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.2
    short
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location - homeless people all around hotel. neighbourhood was sketchy and frightening at night. We didn't feel safe walking back to the hotel at night - we took a cab. Short male night clerk was curt with us. Didn't like the 17% additional "resort fee" or the $30 parking fee. Wouldn't recommend this hotel to single women traveling alone.

    price only

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    3.3
    Proximity to business event location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As per the amenities list this hotel offered nothing. It was in the worst portion of the city. It was sub standard by all accounts of modern hotel offerings. Due to the event the prices were jacked sky high, which means it was the worst for double the price.

    Proximity to business event location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.8
    well for this price I think I should look for airbnb that could get better rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is too small and got no breakfast. No hot water or ice cube offer.

    The location is good, not too far from the city center, can walk from the nearest Metro station. The price e.g. USD 200 including tax is too expensive for the room facilities and size of the room. Only coffee, tea that made available for guests in the morning, perhaps adding some toast, bread in the breakfast would help a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Hotel is fairly basic but one of few reasonably priced in San Fran.

    Owner was very friendly and even provided us with day pass tickets for the buses and tips on what to do. Allowed us check in at 11am despite officially check in not until 3pm. Had read reviews saying hotel was in poor location with a lot of homeless around. Yes there are but they are everywhere! This hotel is a 2 minute walk from Union Square so really couldn't be more central. If you're worried about homeless then don't go to San Fran.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, easy to find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have loved a fridge in our room. We were travelling from Australia so the homeless were an eye opener.

    Excellent location, easy to find! We explored a lot of the city and thought our location was the best to experience all of San Fran!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing stay for the amount that was paid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very old and dated. The heater was old and useless so the room was cold and this was in March. The shower didn't have much hot water. Trying to use the hotel's iron at the same time as the tv tripped the electricity switch causing all plugs to turn off. When i went to reception i was told it cant have been the hotel's equipment and it must have been a personal device that did it. The street that it is on has a lot of homeless people on and around it. The hotel is over-priced for what it is.

    Good location right next to Powell Street BART station and the Westfield Shopping centre and in easy walking distance of many restaurants and bars. The bed was large and very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.8
    location great. value for money not great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    an old building, without heating or AC. I was freezing during my stay. Asked for a portabke heater and was given a 10 inch one which was a joke. not as inexpensive considering all disadvantages. cleaniness. i stayed 4 nights and hey probably vacumed once.

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    3.8
    Dingy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a very bad part of town, no heater in our first room . Was moved to another room and this time heater was broken had to use small portable heater

    Was near mall

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.7
    Reasonably priced hotel with basic facilities, close to transport and conference centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No AC unit in room, so window needed to stay open. TV remote didn't work. Hot water was a bit variable.

    Requested a quiet room - 9th floor overlooking carpark was quite reasonable for noise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street can be noisy at night. Loads of homeless on the streets next to the hotel.

    Great value for money. The hotel location is very convenient right on the city center. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel staff is super kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.1
    Spartan hotel that meets my ends for a simple clean place to stay while in the city.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area right outside of the hotel has lower end elements of the city. Those more concerned with security and safety may find it dangerous to venture out once the sun is down.

    It's one of the cheapest acceptable clean hotels available that's so close to city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable stay, 2 days in SF. Met nice people, very helpful, got back safely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the price for the stay was a very good price, the extras one has to pay on the final bill is something we have to put up with. This doesn't happen back in the UK. I suppose the USA government has to recoup the money for its war spending in this way. When I book a room in other places around the world WYSIWYG.

    Hotel is a good central hotel in easy reach from the Caltrain. It's right on Market Street and from here we could get to our locations easily.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    A no frills, comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The street corner where the hotel is located can be a little shady, especially in the evening hours. A few extra amenities would be nice, such as a mini refrigerator in the room and breakfast.

    Small, cozy room with comfortable beds, friendly staff, and great location (especially for tourists). The building is a lovely restored 1930s building if you're looking for something with a little character. Coffee and tea are offered in the mornings which is a nice touch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.4
    The pricing was good but I likely will not choose to stay at this hotel again for my next trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t always feel safe travelling to and from the hotel as a single female traveller. There was no air conditioning in the unit and the windows didn’t open so the room was extremely hot and stuffy.

    the hotel was central to all the most transportation options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.1
    A little expensive but the location made it worth it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view looked into another hotel. The overall place looked a little run down. The closet was really small. No fridge in room

    The location was really good, a short walk to union square. Not a lot of noise at night. Surrounded by lots of places to eat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    3.3
    Dont come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wanted a double room with two beds. Expected two rooms but had two beds cramped into one room. Tried to address with the staff and were not helpful. Beds were terrible, little spaced and was quite old. PLease note, this hotel is not located in the good part of town. Best moment of this hotel was check out

    Only thing good with this room was the shower and close to the train.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.8
    Expected more due to the photos on booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air Conditioning Photos of hotel on Booking.com completely misleading. Rooms look nothing like reality. Fitness room is an overstatement - there is 1 running machine and a step machine. No weights. Hot water in bathroom turns warm after 5 minutes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.4
    Friendly staff but really bad neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in the tenderloin area of SF, which is known to be a bad neighborhood. The roads around the block of the hotel felt a little unsafe while walking as there were quite a few homeless people. Not a pleasant experience. In addition the walls of the hotel were quite thin as we could often hear the neighbours and people talking in the hallways. The windows were also quite thin and we could hear car alarms going off multiple times at night. I would not choose to stay here again.

    The staff was really nice, friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The level of poverty in the surrounding area was very off-putting. Although it seems to be a problem in most areas of the city, the two streets each side of the hotel were definitely the worst I saw. It is extremely sad to see the large amount of homeless people but it was also quite frightening at times as some would approach you or shout out. I'm aware there is little the hotel can do about this, however I would not stay here again or recommend it to others. The rooms in the hotel itself are old and very basic.

    The hotel is very close to the main shopping area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    excellent location and clean room with nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel staff is pretty nice and room is clean. The location is excellent! Market street is very near and convenience for shopping and about 7-8min on feet to convention center west.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    2.9
    Very bad choose for staying at SF
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbourhood, room too small,smelly, no cable TV only analogical and not working well. Structure old and dirty. Hotel too expensive respect the quality provided. To absolutely avoid.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    4.6
    That they kindly held our bags until afternoon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area outside had a lot of homeless people. I felt unsafe. It stank of urine when you walked outside. There was no airconditioning. Overpriced. Cramped bathroom. Door lock tricky.

    That they kindly held our bags until afternoon. Farmer Browns next door.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    4.6
    Location is central, but the hotel was definitely not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no refrigerator. The booking.com website advertised that they would have one. I had to go downstairs and use the staff fridge. Cleanliness was mediocre. The bathtub was still icky. No breakfast, and it's at the corner of a bad part of town, so you need to be very careful at night.

    They have a special area in addition to the lobby to hold a large party. You can take drinks and food up to that loft and just hang out with friends. Also, It's only a few blocks from Powell station which is a 100% bonus!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.9
    The parking fee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking fee. I thought it would be free because I stayed at the hotel but they charge me an extra 30 dollars plus tax for parking over night. It should be part of your bill or free with the stay. It was a surprise to me. And I wasn't pleased with that. But other than that it was a nice stay. Just the parking was way to expensive! Specially since we just parked for a couple of hours because we got to the hotel late and left early.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Nice place but location not too good for ladies travelling alone
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    location was not good for ladies travelling alone. Quite stressful having to avoid some people. was followed up the hotel one night by someone who wanted "to smoke". other than that it was nice walking distance to the station as well as a lot of eateries nearby.

    the staff are very helpful. It was very much appreciated since I travelled alone.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    4.2
    Not again
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room, small, creepy area. Very noisy you can hear everything. TV did not function.It's not worth the money.

    It was quite clean, the room at least.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    5.0
    hot shower and dry housing. thats about it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is an old hotel that looks that no improvements have been made since the 80s. The curtains, shower curtain, and bed cover were all a little, ummm, "suspect". Outlet covers were broken and had exposed wires. No ac or heat, but there was a plugin space heater. The area wasn't terrible, but there was a guy taking a leak on the front of the hotel when I walked in one night. It's the tenderloin district, it is what it is.

    It was a dry place to stay and the shower was hot. Location was an easy walk to the moscone center, but I would never, ever consider bring my wife and daughter to stay here on a vacation.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.9
    It's sort of like an oasis in a sketchy part of town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corner of a sketchy part of town. But, I kind of like nor am I afraid of sketchy. Sketchy fears me.

    It's sort of like an oasis in a sketchy part of town. Luckily it's right on the corner of the Tenderloin debacle. All you need to do is turn left outside the door and you're safe. I would not recommend turning right. It's charming, clean, cozy and warm. For the most part, it is my preferred place to stay downtown based totally on value. If you are driving they have a locked gate to park (for a fee)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    5.8
    The hotel seemed like it was pretty well kept and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was smaller than the pictures appeared. It was extremely cold. The heater was so small it didn't do enough to keep the cold out. We left it on high the entire time we were there and were still freezing. The bed was so uncomfortable; especially the pillows. It seemed like a joke that I had to pay so much for the valet since I had to stand in the pouring rain for him, there needs to be a better system for having your car pulled up.

    The hotel seemed like it was pretty well kept and clean. It had a lot of charm.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    5.8
    Too noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too noisy around the street... have been waken up for two to three times daily. Suggestion: transform to a fully enclosed hotel with central air conditioning

    near to where we go

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    4.2
    Cheaper place to park a car at a hotel than some of the...
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room that barely fit a bed and had a bathroom attached. The bed was lumpy and sloped inwards and the pillows were hard as rocks and were very thick, making it feel like you were sitting up when you were trying to fall asleep. The wifi barely worked and had to be logged into every time you wanted to get onto the internet.

    Cheaper place to park a car at a hotel than some of the surrounding hotels.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    5.8
    Great customer service, no AC, sketchy neighborhood!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning and even with our window cracked open and a fan, our room was extremely hot an uncomfortable and we were there in Nov. Also, we did not feel very safe in this area. It seemed to be a gathering place for the homeless.

    The staff was very friendly. The location was convenient. It was clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    5.4
    No a/c in any rooms! Noisy but great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was really really old. The Asian lady at the front desk wasn't very friendly though the rest of the staff seemed nice enough. The worst part was NO air conditioning in any rooms!! I can't believe that's even an option now. We packed for cold weather but we were sweating in our room that's all stuffy because there wasn't any fly screens on our window and preferred to be hot than have flies and mosquitoes. The rattling sounds from the cable cars and traffic outside were so loud it was hard to sleep. The room was so small we didn't have room to comfortably open our suitcases. There was no kettle though there was a small coffee machine we used to make hot water instead. No fridge means we had to drop off our milk for the kids at the front desk every day.

    I liked the soft beds and it was in a good location. Close to westfields, union square and the BART. Though there were loiterers on every corner smelling like weed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The homeless people screaming at all hours of the night. The walls are made of paper or balsa wood at best. The rooms are outdated and the wifi is horrible. Will never stay again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    2.5
    Worst suburb in all of San Fran
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was horrible. Drug addicts, homeless and quite intimidating people on every corner. I would not reccomend anyone stay in this are ever!!!

    Nothing at all!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    4.2
    Dishonest, unhelpful, prejudiced staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had reservation, but staff said i didnt. Then they told me my card was declined. I opened app and PAID online, no problem. If i hadnt, they would have gotten away with discrimination.

    Attractive entryway. Nice bathroom. My problem was with gentleman at desk.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.9
    Affordable for being close to Union Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As other reviewers mentioned, the walls are very thin and we were able to hear a good amount of noise from the homeless individuals right out our window (Second floor). If you turn away from Market Street and towards the Tenderloin area, you are bound to encounter much more homeless people and a very strong scent.

    The hotel is located in a great corner of the city where it is close to the BART and other public transportation. As well as being only blocks away from Union Square and a Westfield mall. The room was very clean and was very affordable for a weekend stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    the lift slow
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the lift slow

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Lousy coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lousy coffee. Booked for 3 but supplies were for 2 had to keep asking for additional

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Hotel in great, central Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel in great, central Location. Room were clean, but Basic. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    It was a clean place to stay. Close to public transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV did not work very well

    It was comfortable and close to public transportation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    2.5
    This place should be CLOSED !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    EVERYTHING ! Worst hotel in history

    NOTHING

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    2.9
    I will never atay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not friendly, room was extremely tiny for the price, no ventilation, extra charges we did not read about.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.4
    The a tra wasn't what we were expecting.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a tra wasn't what we were expecting. Alot of homeless, and trash in thee area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Good night sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heater in the room

    The history of the building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    I have enjoyed my stay at this location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Balcony needed chairs

    Great corner room with a balcony.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.8
    Good location but uncomfortable sleeping situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and uncomfortable bed/pillows

    Good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.8
    Good location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small and the toilet was in poor conditions.

    Location...convenient to travel around the bay areas.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.8
    cold room, poor heating system, windows are not insulated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    cold room, poor heating system, windows are not insulated

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.4
    I’d come back...but it needs a good paint job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff was indifferent most of the time.

    Cleanliness. Location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    nice to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom

    It is nice to stay speaclly for shopping at SFo downtown.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    3.3
    Not good value for the money at all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good value for the money at all. Would not go back here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice Staff & Clean Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with homeless people in hotel location

    Nice staff & room clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    5.0
    Cheap, reasonably accessible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast , no bar , hotel surrounded by vagrants at night

    Cheap, reasonably accessible

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    4.6
    Middle of the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    The bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    4.6
    The location is near downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small. The receptionist was not very nice. Facilities were not good.

    The location is near downtown. But not a safe area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    4.6
    Meh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are too small. There are too many homeless people around the facility, it's not kept clean.

    The walking distance to Union Square.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location. Right on the edge of where you want to be.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.1
    Relatively okay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being locked out of my room because of a payment tissue

    Courteous

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location for visiting a conference in Moscone, and for sight-seeing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit dated

    Good location, nice rooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    4.2
    Comfortable but low on frills
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast would have been good and understanding the type of area it was in would have helped.

    In a dodgy area. No breakfast of frills.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    6.7
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms, having to pay for parking

    Nice staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos online made the room look bigger than what it really was

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Always a great place to stay in SF
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always a great place to stay in SF

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    4.6
    Very noisy both outside and inside.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy both outside and inside.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the window of room 604 seems broken

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    6.7
    My brief stay at hotel metropolis san francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. There lots of homeless along masonn turk sts.

    Room. Cr and beds are clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    8.8
    The Value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Value

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    4.6
    the location is terrible, just close to the downtown which...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is terrible, just close to the downtown which you would never want to see

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Great value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    8.8
    Check-in was fast although we arrived too early.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Although the bed was just perfect, our stay was not 100% comfortable. Since the hotel faces Market street, there are city noises like cars, police sirens etc. Our room was next to the elevator shaft, so it added some noise. There is a huge construction going on on the opposite side of Market. Probably you can ask for a quiet room if you are sensitive to noises. Apart from that, the hotel is very good.

    Check-in was fast although we arrived too early. Location is great. Yes, it's on the corner of Tenderloin but it's no worse than the rest of Market st. Never had any problems. There are great Thai and Indian restaurants just around the corner. Can't complain about the daily room service. There is a heater in the room if it feels chilly at night (although it does not produce too much heat). Bed was super comfy. Staff was friendly and helpful at all times. You can grab a free coffee or tea in the morning. WiFi is fast and stable.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    10
    The staff was so friendly so ready to help me with needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was so friendly so ready to help me with needs. Great entry to the Farmer Browns .So Clean, maid service great, Front desk Great. I had small problem with shower, I asked Antonio to help me He came right helped me clean the mess I made, he then over brought fresh towels and asked is there anything else I can help you with? What wonderful staff.....I will rebook the next visit with them. Thank you for your Kindness and 5 star service Gary Durham

There are also 61 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Metropolis traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: