Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. New York State hotel reviews
  4. New York City hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Midtown East Dormitory for woman

Reviews of Midtown East Dormitory for woman

39st Lexington Ave, Murray Hill, New York City, NY 10016, United States of America

#385 of 423 hotels in New York City

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 17 hostel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 9

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    9.6
    Simply great!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I have been in Manhattan many times before but I have never stayed in such a lovely, comfortable hostel as this one. The beds are very comfortable, everything is clean, the location is great, and the atmosphere is so relaxing that it is like being at home. I really felt like being in my own house here, and incredibly you can sleep at night and during the day , no noises coming from the street, which is quite incredible being in midtown manhattan!! Also Sam, the owner is extremelly kind (another quite rare thing in Manhattan), and whatever request you have he will satisfy it. This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in, and if I am in Manhattan again I know where to stay now. Thank you Sam!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    9.6
    Super clean, nice decoration/style, awesome friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As it is a private property it does not display any street number, which was strange cause I could not find it and the manager had to come and pick me up at street level. No elevator/Rooms to hot.

    Super clean, nice decoration/style, awesome friendly staff. Really good value.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    8.8
    Great for short stay or a night transit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. No elevator, so you have to carry up or down your suitcase from 2nd floor. Not a problem for people who travel light. 2. The first room i stayed was noisy until 4 am because its next to common room and it doesnt have proper wall its just basically a room with curtain. The temperature also could be hot in this room. First day also the music (instrumental) plays whole night, im a light sleeper so this is doesnt help even though it supposed to e relaxing (you cant hear this at the other dorm room), Sam moved me to other room after i told him tho. 3. There only 3 bathroom for whole place to accommodate whole people, so theres queue to use it sometimes. Only proper place to do make up is the bathroom, not much mirror with proper light, if they do have at least in the room, they could do make up not in bathroom so others can use the bathroom too. 4. No personal reading light on each bed so if the lights in dorm out you rely on your phone flashlight. 5. Despite its all comfy, i didnt see any cctv camera in presence inside the building eg the common room, kitchen area or outside the bedroom (or i failed to notice it).

    Sam text me even before i arrived in hostel. He greets me and help me to my luggage. When i had complains about my room because its bit noisy because its next to common room, he moved me right away to other room. The kitchen area is clean, you had free coffee and tea. Its a complete kitchen so stove, fridge and microwave are free to use. Warm water dispenser is always ready to use as well as electric kettle. Common room also cozy with a public PC. Internet is working. Hostel provided soap, towels and blanket. Hot water and water pressure for shower is great (i took shower very early tho at 6-7am). Close to subway station/Grand Central. Walking distance to Chrysler building.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    9.2
    Super cozy & comfy, but hard to find. Make sure you contact the guy before you get there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    you HAVE to contact the guy to be able to find it, otherwise you'll end up wandering around midtown. 3 flights of stairs to climb & no elevator.

    Super cozy and tranquil, but hard to find. Make sure you contact the guy before you get there, otherwise you won't find it since there's no reception/facade. Otherwise great place, specially if you want some very quiet place Midtown

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    Fantastic, Confortable and home away from home!
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I like everything because they really pay attention to details. They make the place as comfortable as possible.

    Sam and his brother are amazing. They own the property and they are very clean and pay attention to details. The property is in the center of everything shops, restaurants, etc. There is no elevator but they help with your bags upon checking and checkout. They use organic products such as shampoo, body wash, and conditioner. It’s perfect for guests like me who is very sensitive to products who has harsh chemical. The house have an automatic coffee/tea machine in the community area that is available 24/7. They are very strict with people using their camera phones inside the property which might make other guests uncomfortable. Unlike other places, who does not care. This is really home away from home. You will not be disappointed. I will definitely book and refer people here.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had to call for the precise address. That is: 142 east 39 street Call the owner when you’re there he’ll help you with carrying your luggage and code at the entrance door.

    Everything was great. The place looks very good, brand new and is cleaned every day. Everything you need is there. Clean towels, kitchen wear, soap shampoo etc in the shower, sheets for the bed, US chargers, a private safe if you need one. The owner is very helpful and kind. The location is super. Lots of places to go and eat around. Also a nice living room to eat when you want to cook and eat in. Coffee and tea is there for you to take and make. The place is very quiet. This was my first time in a dormitory and I will definitely come back to this place again. I came for work purpose but for a weekend holiday trip this place would also suit very well. Definitely worth the price. Thank you!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    8.3
    location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    staff’s help would be nice when I carry the luggage. (check in & out)

    location is great. safe neighboring area.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Dorm was clean and walking distance to famous landmarks of New York City. Wifi is free and fast
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Neighboring street to the Consulate Office of the Netherland. Owner is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    10
    Very quiet and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very quiet and clean. Nice helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 9

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!