Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beacon Hotel 4 stars

720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139, USA

#158 of 390 hotels in Miami Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1227 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was traveling with for vacation and to celebrate my moms birthday. The hotel brought champagne to our room which I felt was a nice touch and thoughtful. I had to change my hotel reservations at the last minute and I am so glad I did! I booked two rooms at the Beacon. The staff were all very friendly and made staying there a pleasure; from the valet, to the front desk, to the servers and waitresses at the restaurant on site, everyone made you feel welcomed! It is an older model hotel; but very clean! The restaurant on site has some of the best food and the complimentary breakfast was great too! I definitely would not mind staying here again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location friendly and helpful staff valet parking available at the door this cost was $30 a day. Rooms were spotless and comfortable the room we had was quite small but not an issue for us All in all a great stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If we had been in a front room, we would have hated the noise from Ocean Drive. Fortunately, we got 517; highest floor, furthest to the rear, and never heard a sound. I can imagine that 3rd floor, to the front, would be a nightmare of the street partying that goes on until 5am on Ocean Drive, including in the bar / restaurant on the hotel's own porch. (The 2nd floor is a mezzanine lobby.) Do be aware that location within the hotel will be a significant factor in the noise level.

    First-class service from staff, typical of a more luxurious hotel. Don't get me wrong, this is definitely a luxury property, but it is also a historic building, so rooms, and especially bathrooms, are a bit small by modern luxury standards. If you want the Ocean Drive Art Deco experience, this place is wonderful. Beach towels and beach chairs are provided in the room, and the towels replaced with use. Free breakfast is eggs, pork & turkey sausage, bagels, some fresh fruit. With noise caveats, the location can't be beat for heart of the Art Deco historic district.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have beach chairs and beach towels which you can take to beach! Great money saving. Very attentive and friendly staff from bellboys to front desk staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a great location at South Beach. The hotel was very good as were the staff. The room was fantastic, overlooking the road and the beach. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the toilet didn't flush well, none of the plugs worked except the lamp, the front desk gave us a bit of a hard time checking in as they said our reservation never came in & such but overall it got fixed apparently they blamed booking.com for the confusion but it worked out at the end.

    The inclusive breakfast was amazing, i really enjoyed it, the beds were comfortable & espresso machine was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It rained but can't blame the hotel for that. They made the cloudy days enjoyable.

    All services and amenities provided were excellent. The beach chairs with attached coolers and towels in the room for the beach day were great. Smiling friendly faces by all employees that we met and that served us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was amazing but the hotel was very unpleasant . The bathroom smelled really bad and very small room. They didn’t clean our rooms the 2 days we stayed.

    Was right by the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first room was very noisy due to some sort of mechanical noise from the street. But the staff managed to move us to another room for the next night.

    Great location. The self serve coffee in the morning and drinking water during the day were handy. Seating area on 2nd floor and room decor were nice. Beach chairs and nespresso machines in the rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The constant need for every where to play loud music from breakfast until sunset was really annoying. Ocean drive seemed to be a popular road to drive down at the weekend, but again the music was deafening. The police definitely need to introduce noise control for all hotels, restaurants and anyone using a car stereo. Another thing Miami need to learn from is to remove the restaurant touts. They do not bring extra business, in fact they drive people away. The hotels were beginning to look tired they needed to be spruced up, but in keeping with the Art Deco style.

    The position of the hotel was good. The suite was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free breakfast was horrendous, it was basically meat and eggs saturated in salt. The rooms were the size of my pinky wall to wall and the bathrooms need serious work. We didn't even have a garbage can the first night.

    The location and staff are the only two good things about this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Concierge is pushy to sell tours. Go directly to the Tours office two blocks away and you will definitively get a better Price. Breakfast.... bad juice, but the way that personal treats guests.... is like doing guests a favor.... And is something they offer... and its always the same: bagles, cereal, scrambled eggs...

    I liked Location, nontheless, better options closer to Lincon Rd might be better, or towards the south point end... This genteman that helps out with luggage and is always willing to help and provide towels and offers water and is sooooo kind... he really is capable of making a difference. But is a one man show.!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise coming from the neighbourhood at 4.30 in the morning onwards. The hot breakfast which should have been really nice was often luke-warm by the time you returned to the table situated on the veranda or street-side.

    The immediate presentation of the building was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Run Of The House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BEWARE when you book a king or double bed since if you are two people they will automatically put you in a king bed when you requested two doubles. This was problematic and was annoying for our stay. Gave us a broken rollaway bed as an accommodation.

    Nice bed and overall clean room. Sink didn’t drain that great though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could need a make over. Bad coffee and selection of breakfast not great - like a cafeteria. They serve from 09.00 for hotel guests which is too late with many guests waiting.

    We stayed in room 501 with outstading view of the beach. Very nice, clean and spacy room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast included was very basic, we ate out 1 of our 3 days. The room was 3* not 4* with basic facilities. Bed and pillows very soft. Room felt a little dated but clean.

    Great location as expected, right on the main walkway. Reception was great. Good size room with lovely views. Most amazing happy hour cocktails!!! Staff were really friendly and fun.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the placement of the bathroom to the room. Since it's an older hotel, but they need to do a complete cosmetic upgrade.

    I loved the cleaniness of the facility. And the staff at the front desk was her knowledgeable, and was able to help with our Wi-Fi connection.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The we didn’t get our ocean front view ! That’s what we PAID for

    Maid cleaned our room everyday and met all of our needs when we asked for extra bath towels and coffee

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Given the location of the hotel and the daily cost I would have expected a much better breakfast. Also there was no business area or quiet room for calls etc.

    Location. Incredible. Staff. Friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt it could have been a little cleaner.

    The employees were very helpful and always in a pleasant mood. Not all hotels have that. It’s also located right across the street from the beach and on the strip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that did not meet our expectation was the breakfast. You could choose from sausage, egg and potato. That's all. I would expect a wider selection even if it is being called by the staff as "complimentary", because the rooms were 400 USD a night and it was not mentioned at the booking that the breakfast included is "complimentary" (by its quality too). As for an European it is somehow bothering that every time when you try to enter the hotel multiple staff members from the hotel's restaurant try to convince you to stay there. Even if you come and go 5 times a day, they approach you five times. As I saw it is very general on Miami Beach, so this is not specific to this hotel, but maybe something to consider having lots of tourists in your venue.

    The staff was very nice! At the time of the arrival they have offered a free upgrade, and we got a room with an Ocean view. Also at one night I could not sleep due to the jet lag and they kept entertaining me at the reception. Every time we turned to them for some help, they were very much on the spot. The hotel has a nice patio with a view to the Ocean Drive, you can see all the extravagant cars passing in front of you. Also the beach is just like 3 minutes by walk. And we loved the chairs and towels we had with our room. WIFI was excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast- heavy, zero fruits and vegetables. Order your car from parking half hour before your start to the airport if you don’t want to be late!

    Very nice stuff. Comfortable bed, helpful housekeeping, suberb localisation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above.

    Not having been in South Beach before, we were expecting a very upscale property for $300 a night. After spending time in South Beach, we realized that the hotels in the area are not often upgraded and the Beacon is probably about standard for the area. The breakfast was excellent (eggs cooked just right) and service was a high standard as was all the service at the hotel. The staff is amazing! The friendliest staff ever! We felt like we were coming home to friends when ever we came back from an adventure. We were staying in South Beach while waiting to board a cruise, not likely to visit this area again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was small, would have liked more drawer space. The breakfast that was included was just ok.

    This location can't be beat! Hotel was clean, great coffee, staff was welcoming and very helpful! We would stay here again. Sylvana at the front desk is amazing, Beacon you are lucky to have her!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast. Complimentary, but that's no excuse for below average choice and below average quality. Don't opt for it, take a walk away from the strip and you'll do much better. Depending on the room you get, the aircon (your own, and the fan outlets of others outside) may be very noisy.

    The view from the room overlooking the strip to the beach in the morning... wonderful. Bed, awesome!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are steps leading to the foyer area so carrying heavy suitcases was a bit difficult.

    Staff were very friendly. Good meals were available at downstairs restaurant. The room was quiet and had a great view of the excitement of Ocean Drive. The hotel is convenient to the beach and right in the Art Deco area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to have a conversation in the restaurant area due to loud music.

    Clean hotel, nice rooms and comfy bed. Smiling and serviceminded staff, valet parking worked perfect. Good outdoor restaurant on premises.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pictures on the booking.com of the rooms and bathroom do not reflect what I stayed in as the bathroom definitely requires updated. On the free breakfast this is very poor, you receive plastic mugs and plastic tumblers as you are getting the buffet not anything from the menu as per the people who walk in and receive good quality food and real cups and glasses, needs some upgrades as I only had a bowl of cornflakes on the first day out of a plastic bowl with a plastic spoon, went else where for the rest of the stay. The staff were not the friendliest on my one and only day at breakfast. It was also vey noisy and I Did expect noise but not at this level, plus the windows are not double glazed so this does not help and I also wonder when the windows were last cleaned

    Locality, friendliness of the staff at the front desk

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The front desk is fantastic, the room was clean and more large than expected, the breakfast was good for us. I would recommend for bed and nice second floor with a lobby

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel with a bit of renovation. Not completely clean. The room was full of cigarettes smoking smell. Breakfast was very basic and bad.

    The location was excellent. Opposite to the beach, just cross the street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom small. No place for toiletries. But overall manageable. Breakfast same every day. Lacked variety

    View of beach. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast included. Complimentary upgrade.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was poor, family of 4 could not have managed more than 4 days with the space, and external noise from renovations next door.

    Location was excellent, hotel vibrant, breakfast was good, tea and coffee available, front desk and communal areas very clean modern and staff helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small for 4 people. We had a bigger room in NY than we had in Miami (on the same trip).

    Fantastic location across the road from the beach. The venue was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in our room rate, which made things easy in the morning and there was a valet parking service for our car.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach is good and whether was fine

    Very poorly outfitted rooms, not at all clean, beds from other ages, breakfast could not be worse. Very loud and parts of hotel smelling very bad. Valet parking is a robbery. Only recommended in case you want to stay in the middle of the very noisy "party mile" of the Ocean Drive (VERY low quality, overpriced and loud, without class).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the standard was much worse than on the photographs on booking.com. everything in the room was much more shabby and worn out. the pictures were either photoshopped or very old, they do not represent the reality. The worst was airconditioning which was out of date and made so much noise that it felt like being at a factory. we could not sleep without airplugs and still woke up a lot. The personnel said they could do norhing about it. The breakfast was boring and the quality of the food was low. "plastic" tasting juice and bread which you had to toast to be able to eat and only one toaster for the whole hotell making a long line. Finally, too expensive for such a bad standard!

    location is great. personnel was friendly, but they could not help when a problem came up.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property needs facelift. Very old building which definitely needs to be refurbished anew... I booked a deluxe double but the room I got had nothing to do with the photos!!! Breakfast was disastrous.. only bread, cream cheese, badly cooked omelette, jam and butter, tasteless yogurt and cereals...

    Staff was great!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was sandy on arrival and not swept after the first night. The wet and dirty beach towel were taken away after 1st night and not replenished so did not have enough. Phone didn’t work so could not phone reception. Walked down and requested more. They never arrived. Really disappointing.

    Location is amazing. Could not be better. Free Starbucks coffee 7am-11am and hot chocolate. Flavoured water which was a nice touch. Valet good service and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work noise almos every morning. I book a hotel with a city view but i got i think the worst room overlooking for garbage. Worst breakfast and the same every day! Very very slow elevator. The doors on the bathroom are see-through. Overpriced and lowest quality 4 star hotel I've ever stayed at.

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was good nothing fancy, the staff was great. The hotel was clean and the room was nice but the beds were a little small. The location was good right across the beach and there were a lot of things in walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double bed room is small so nowhere to sit other than on the beds. Forgot they had a glass bathroom door so it was not very private if you are traveling with family members. Valet parking only but most hotels in this area have no on site parking.

    Breakfast included. Good WiFi. Clean room with coffee maker and fridge. Good location and staff friendly. Have stayed here a couple times before. Second floor has nice lobby area with chairs, tables, coffee and water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cleanliness, the smell is terrible Expensive valet parking 25us, booking show the hotel when you apply “free parking” and its no truth. Breakfast good, nothing special. Bathrooms have no windows.

    The hotel is near to the beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is dated. Although everything worked, it was dated and didn't have a crisp clean look or smell to it. The room didn't smell like a clean room, although it was as clean as could be expected.

    The staff was fantastic. From check-in to check-out they were wonderful and accommodating. Plenty of supplies in the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was noisy in the morning. The sound proofing isn’t the best between rooms or between rooms and the hallway. For example the room next to ours had a double door - and we could hear the shower and talking of the room next to ours.

    The bar outside the hotel on the main strip was amazing. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. The extra large cocktails while sitting outside the hotel. The location was fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, come on!! It’s your weakest link, change it to the better and you have a great 4-Star hotel!

    What a surprise since I was here 20 years ago, beautiful room, nice design and splendid bathroom, perfect!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Highly recommended. Fabulous building, staff friendly and helpful, rooms lovely. Breakfast was good, a little more choice would have been better but still enjoyable. Location amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bus load of African Americans that came that morning and bullied the staff into giving them free breakfast vouchers. I understand they were on vacation also, but they were loud and demanding.

    I like the old charm like Ricky Ricardo days...yet it was very clean. The location is awesome!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room looking through a very dirty window to construction work in the alley next door.breakfast needs improvement.

    staff very courteous and friendly bed comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amenities in the hotel aren’t great. No pool. The hotel is smack in the midddle of the deco zone. Lots of cute old hotels and neon but the sidewalks are full of barkers trying to get you to happy hour or cheap drinks. Really cheesy and annoying,

    The room was nice, and very comfortable. The breakfast is awful but not operated by the hotel. The bathroom is very small. It is a nice barely three star hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the restaurants bothering you to go in to eat or drink/2 for 1 including where we were staying.

    Seeing the other buildings, view of the beach, people watching

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were 4 of us in the room with 2 double beds, and once we opened our suitcases the room was a little tight. Also, there is no view from the room (but who stays in their hotel room anyway, when the beach is right across the street). Apparently the breakfast service is run by another company, not the hotel, and along Ocean Drive the servers can be a bit pushy to get you to eat in their establishment (the restaurant part of the hotel is open to everyone, not just hotel guests). But none of these issues would stop us from staying there again.

    We would definitely recommend Beacon Hotel. It is one of the nicest of the Art Deco hotels, you can't beat the location right across from the beach, the hotel provides beach towels, chairs, bottles of water for the beach, and can also rent a car for you. The staff are very helpful, we'd like to thank Sylvana in particular who was extremely accomodating when we ran into a problem with the rental car (through no fault of anyone's...the rental car office was in a building that caught on fire!). Breakfast is free and the choices are good though it's the same thing every day, and the interior decor of the lobby is fabulous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was good just had to go 2 floors fir ice no fridge. Parking not great but not terrible. There is garage cpl blocks away ir valet. Food good people veey good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was meh.

    I stayed here because I had no power due to hurricane irma and this was basically my only option. I would never stay in such an overpriced hotel otherwise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very dark and had scaffold just outside of the window so we left the curtains closed at all times.

    Fantastic to walk out of the front door and the beach was just across the road. What a stunning beach - wow!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small but we have stayed in several hotels in South Beach and it's pretty typical of the hotels in art deco district. Other than that, it was great!

    We stayed there in 2015 and liked it so much we stayed again in 2017. The same wonderful staff greeted us as in 2015. I think it says alot about a hotel when that the turnover is low. Friendly, accommodating and efficient. They go way out of their way for you. Great staff, cool atmosphere, right on the strip and all the action. Bar, restaurant, free breakfast. Great place to stay, we will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, noisy air conditioning unit. Very expensive area. Emailed them as I'd left my kindle and still haven't had a reply.

    Great Art Deco hotel on ocean drive. In the heart of everything. Great beach (lots of sea grass though but that's how it is) . Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and there was very little hanging space for a family of 4. The breakfast was quite good, but the same every day, it would have been nice to have a variety.

    The beds, although small, were very comfortable and the room was quiet. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the room, not very clean, bad smell, uncomfortable, not enough light ( inside), no chair, no table, small and old bathroom... expensive,,, very bad hotel... one of the worst room an breakfast I've ever had and I travel more than 3 times per month!!!

    The recepcionist was very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are to small for 4 people, but very clean.

    The hotel is in a beautiful location. You have towels and chaise lounge chair in the rooms you can take to the beach. The personnel in the reception (especially Silvana), Bellboys (especially Victor) and cleaning personnel were excellent. Very helpful. Breakfast was ok. Don't expect so much. Simple American breakfast. Valet parking for 25 Dolar for 7/24 was very good. You request your car 20 min before and it is infront of the hotel door. Nice Valet personnel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow elevator..!

    Historic place in a great area.. South Beach is amazing!! The hotel is very good. Best feature of the hotel is the helpful staff; just tell Silvana at front desk what the problem is, and she always finds a solution with a smile... thank you !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for 5 persons but the room wasn't big enough for 5 persons (2 beds present). The hotel doesn't look as pictured on the website. A lot of noise because construction work on both sides of the hotel.

    The location (South beach / Ocean drive)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very noisy: street noise and hotel walls are very thin. Bring earplugs. Virtually no outlets in the room to charge anything. Breakfast is poor. Complimentary water and coffee are often not available. The one small elevator is a challenge to use. In room coffee maker did not work and coffee supply was not replenished daily. Hot water in bathroom takes forever.

    Great location. Right on the beach. Good views of the ocean from the front room. Easy walk to many things. Staff is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping didn't replenish soap, shampoo or conditioner. Had to call housekeeping to supply these items. The valet took more than 20 minutes. We were told 20 minutes and it actually took 35 minutes. We got to the point where we just stayed in our room and they called us when car was in front of hotel. We needed the car early and was told to request in advance with the front desk. We weren't told that we would be charged a $25 special request fee. We were already paying $20 per day for the valet. We only went to the free buffet on our first day. My son didn't eat breakfast since he said his eggs were green. We had our breakfast outside of the hotel after that. We had stayed here previously and was able to order off the menu. There was a double stabbing one night next door to the hotel. The hotel isn't at fault for the stabbing - just answering question relating to safety of the area.

    I liked the location of the hotel. The beach is across the street. The hotel will provide beach chairs and towels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite is very poor. The ocean view, I already paid for, was hidden by a tree. A coffee cup was dirty. The humidity is dominant in the room. The first front desk was rude.

    Julio, Alex and the homemade were excellent. The bathroom is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't good. The orange juice was disgusting. There was no pool if you don't feel like going to the beach that day. Also, no microwave if you brought home extra food and wanted to warm your left overs.

    Bed was comfortable and the hotel was very affordable, right in the middle of everything plus hey provide beach chairs and towels for the beach where other hotels make you pay to rent them.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathrooms are very small, and the Ocean Drive rowdiness sometimes carries over into the rooms and hallways.

    The front desk staff is very helpful, but a special nod to Silvana, who goes out of her way to accommodate any special requests and always has a big smile for everyone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first thing that paying customers should be advised about is how the surrounding area is filled with people who steal and to be extra careful when walking on ocean drive. Innocent vacationers are targeted by scammers and robbers unsuspectingly . The level of security in the area should be increased. There was an empty police department vehicle parked next to the exact area where a robbery occurred and nothing was done to stop the robber. I will NEVER visit Miami beach ocean drive again!!

    The complimentary breakfast, the caring front desk clerks and doormen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Run Of The House
    • Stayed 1 night

    The employee that checked us in was upset that we booked our room on booked.com and got a discounted rate, so he said he had to put us in a not so good room, and let me know that if I pay him an extra $60 he will give me a better room. The room we stayed in the shower had hair in the soap dish, the door in the room lead out to an alley.

    The Location was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast a little limited, could be better. Staff during the breakfast , after having accommodated the customer , spent their time together and chatting each other. If the customer need anything else? Room was not very clean and especially the bathroom. Is it really a for 4 stars hotel? The price of happy hour, 24$ for a cocktail??? And if you take the second one 19$! Happy hour for the hotel not for the customer. On the beach the chairs were expensive $20 per chair and $20 for the umbrella. We were two, total $60 USD per day.

    Great location, close the sea, restaurant and bar. Plenty of night-life. Staff at reception were friendly, especially Silvana, great person. Thanks a lot :-) The hotel are dates but nice. Nice room, a bit small the bathroom. Free towels for the beach available by the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only issue was that on the beach the chairs were expensive so it would cost 2 people $20 for the umbrella, $20 per chair. Total $60 USD per day to be comfortable on the beach. Thats a rip off.

    The only issue was that on the beach the chairs were expensive so it would cost 2 people $20 for the umbrella, $20 per chair. Total $60 USD per day to be comfortable on the beach. Thats a rip off. Other than that the food was great, location was great! Drinks were amazing. no pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only bad part of the stay was that the elevator could not be called to the 5th floor (where we were) so we had to drag all of our baggage down to the 4th floor to catch it.

    Great location, plenty of night-life. Don't book here if you expect a quiet evening. Nice room, a bit tight, but that was expected. Buffet was a little bland, but we caught it a bit on the late side of the morning. Staff was very friendly!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Run Of The House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in the room from cleaning chemicals and noice from street until 3am every night.

    Hotel location is perfect if you're traveling with friends or couple and and you like night life. In waking distance you can reach beach, shopping area, restaurants so many and very nice. Architecture of Art Deco district is very interesting.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no pool... i don't like the ocean so i was hoping to jump in a pool but I had a fantastic time!

    loved the art theme. staff was wonderful, especially the valet guys. location is perfect!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking via booking.com never came through ... Not the first time coming from Europe. However, the staff was very friendly and understanding and managed to get us a room. Not the same as I requested but this not due the Hotels' failure but Booking.com

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the frosted glass on the bathroom door. Makes it just a little uncomfetable being in there when you know the others in the room can see you. Also, unrelated to the hotel, ocean drive is wild and the hosts at restaurants will hound you to come inside, even walk next to you and continue speaking after you've rejected their offer. Made it a little annoying to take evening or daytime strolls down the street.

    The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in. The pillows are amazing, and the view from the window from our oceanfront room was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking was inaccurate with a missing bed (the hotel blamed booking.com) and there was a buildingsite right next to our window that the staff disnt inform us about. The demolition /drilling started 08.00,a total nightmare.

    Location is great

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Beacon Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: