Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mithila Hotel 2 stars

972 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109, USA

#212 of 264 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 697 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    2.9
    Free wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelled of mold every day. No temperature controls in room. Bed was hard. Pillow completely flat. So by the last morning my back/hip started to ache and did not get much sleep. Refrigerator door was broken. Seems like a family business, which I totally appreciate, but seemed like bare minimum is done to upgrade, etc.

    Free wifi. Had a TV. Staff was okay, though not amenable to you checking in early. I liked the quaint feeling. Like stepping back in time with the really old elevator, etc.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Great budget hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    GREAT place. It looks a little dated but don't let that put you off. The rooms are SPOTLESS and quiet. Wi-Fi is great, staff are incredibly friendly. A really great budget hotel. Can't recommend it enough.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Good Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some linen had holes in it ( one sheet and one bath mat)

    It was a good location to stay nice and quiet close to a laundry. The staff were amazing. Room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    Way to expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is just way too expensive for what it is. the entire building should be renovated, it is old and not in a good way. the elevator is a catastrophy. the location is okay but i would recommend staying in a more pleasant neighbourhood. also, they missed one day of room service. you get a coffee in the morning for breakfast and thats it, which i find really shocking for the price you pay.

    the staff was very nice and helpful. there are good caffees and shops around the hotel. the room was clean. if I hadn't paid so much i would probably have been okay with staying at the Mithila Hotel but the price does really not match the offer.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    how close it was to transport and the city itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the fact that they only make yourbed rather then put clean sheets on. one of our beds had a blood stain on it and when we told them about it we just got a “i will let them know” responce and for the 4 days that we were there it still wasnt changed! yuk! the guy at reception also wouldnt accept my $100 note when I checked in as it was aparently “out of date” not much space in the rooms but you get a microwave which is good.

    how close it was to transport and the city itself.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    2.5
    It is absolutely disgusting that they are allowed to even remain in business with such an unhygieni
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms smell like urine. The urine smell is so strong it'll make you feel sick. There are electrical safety hazards like uncovered outlets. The bedsheets are stained yellow. The towels are stained brown. The windows are absolutely filthy with dust and grime and mold.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Location was good, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t open the windows in the room, it was a dark room. The equipment and furnitures were used and old.

    Location was good, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.0
    There are better structures nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room and bathroom, check out at 11am and parking expires at 1pm.... Think at home many people were forced to put their luggage in the car for only 2 hours. Make it expire at the same time and align the fees (higher it if you postpone the check-out, lower the parking fee if you anticipate the parking expiration), now it is nonsense.

    Located in the city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Standard hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building a bit dated, but room in good condition

    Standard hotel in great location. We had a room with private bathroom, everything was clean and bed was comfortable. Good value for people like us who only sleep in the hotel, location excellent for exploring the city by foot or bike. Coffee in the morning a big plus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice and cosy hotel rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small with bunk beds for adult children

    The hotel is ok. It is clean. I would like to mention nice staff members, particularly Ryan, who helped me put when I needed to make an urgent phone call.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not very clean (the fridge smelt!) and generally looking old fashioned and tired.

    Location is good. Although no breakfast is provided, there are quite a few good options within a few minutes' walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Having a fridge in the room was handy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was incredibly small, very little room to place two suitcases. The building was very old and the elevator looked like it came out of the movie, The Tower of Terror.

    Having a fridge in the room was handy. Parking nearby at $25/day was good for San Francisco.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Small place in the middle of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in the street is not recommended, the are some expensive cars overnight. Hotel partner offers parking for 25$ a day (probably with provision, but this is a good price for central SF). Some surfaces and windows need cleaning the dust. There is free morning coffee and tea, nothing more neither less ... it's something. Old smell is typical for "cheaper" SF accommodation.

    Great location. Generally clean, soft beds, room service works good, friendly reception. Rooms have fridge and TVs. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress pads. Every time one of us moved, the bed made noise. Also, we had a room with a bunkbed and it made noise when it moved.

    That is was within walking distance from Union Square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    3.3
    l will not stay there next time. will not recommand this to my friend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poor sound proof. People walking above my room annoyed me half the night. Every night. Bath room usage noise from other rooms was unacceptable. No uniformed staff at the counter at all times. The elevator was from the year of 40's. It was like getting into a coal mine.

    Not much. Just a very basic place to stay for the night. Like the old army dorm with your own bath.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    2.5
    Pretty much nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start: Got to San Fran at 2 am (yes, my fault) - hotel suggested a parking location which closes at 9 pm when we arrived - parking near the hotel is extremely challenging if you get there past 10 pm. Took us about 45 minutes - worst smelling lobby and hallways I have ever experienced at a hotel - we check in and get to the room. The smell in the room is worse than in the hall. Even the extremely strong-smelling cleaning products used could not cover whatever was burning in my nose - NO BATHROOM!!! Literally no toilet. Sink located in room. Upon further inquiry we discovered that we could get key cards for a shared bathroom on another floor on the other side of the hotel - The carpet in the room was wet - Refer to the attached pictures for towel and bedding standards. The lighting in the room was too bad to capture the rest of odd coloring on the towels and sheets - It’s now 2:30 am and all other hotels are either booked out or cost a fortune. - my brother decides to sleep in the car. I can’t because there is only space for one of us - I put on as much clothes as possible and removed most of the bedding to sleep

    Pretty much nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Very clean and parking was close by and organized
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very small but efficient and warm water. I’d probably pay the bit extra for a bathroom room if I went back though. Tried to upgrade but nothing available.

    Very clean and parking was close by and organized

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.9
    Read the reviews beforehand, something I failed to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell was disgusting throughout, staff were rude and extremely unhelpful, the decor is horrible but one can look past that, unfortunately the paper-thin walls cannot be ignored. What’s more I was charged the deposit days in advance of my stay and am yet to have it returned. It’s overpriced for what you get: a broken fridge and microwave precariously balanced in the room. Spent as little time here as possible.

    Location (sort of)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay, recommended to everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The area a few streets to the south is noticeably worse. I had no problem crossing it in the morning, as there was plenty of pedestrian traffic, but the high number of homeless folks was a bit upsetting.

    Fine hotel in the touristy part of the city. Located between the posh Nob Hill and the dodgy Tenderloin, Sutter street is a perfectly normal place with nice restaurants, grocery shops, and even a coin laundry next door. This neighbourhood is quite hilly, so it is a bit of an exercise to wander around on foot. Plenty of buses, and even the cable cars are a few blocks away. My room faced right the next building, so had zero views, in return it was perfectly quiet, no problems with the neighbours either. It was clean, and had a micro-fridge combo. The building also has an awesome retro elevator.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.2
    Great location. Disapointing in all other respects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room did not match up to the pictures on the website. The bed was in the corner with no space for a bedside "anything" on both sides, so water, glasses etc are on the floor. The place was clean from everyday dust etc but it was very run down and in desperate need of work, and was generally depressing to be in. Have a look at my photos (and compare with their website). My pics - Stained chair (we put a towel on it), Mouldy soap basket, Room window, Shower valve, Room, Room, and Bathroom window.

    This hotel is all about the location. We got a cup of tea in the morning, and the staff were friendly. Unfortunately it stops there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    Smell bad, no parking, too tiny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t think I will come back. It is very hard to find parking lot . U have to pay to park or park on the road . It smell old and bad . I couldn’t breathe well . No fresh air . Also it is too tiny and uncomfortable .

    Location is good. Near everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.0
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    It could have a lobby where we could sit and have a cup of coffee

    It was central. We could easily walk to certain places. It was average in general. It was quite and secure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Fair for the money's worth, I guess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting around the room sink was dark. It would have made the mirror above it more useful if it had a separate lighting, not just for cosmetic purposes but also to view my teeth while brushing. The bed cover was too thin for a cold-intolerant person in mid May, and the room heating could not be adjusted. I had to put my jacket and scarf on top for extra warmth. The shower water was lukewarm at best too.

    The bed and pillow were comfortable. The shared toilet and shower rooms were clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.0
    - Just the location as it’s close to city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - It was a tiny room - The hotel infrastructure and specifically the caged lift reminded me of the 18 the century. The water flow in the shower was not so strong. - Refrigerator was bit smelly not working

    - Just the location as it’s close to city center - Room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    the room was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the walls are thin so you can hear if someone is moving in upper room so it would be nice if they don't do housekeeping at 9 am

    the room was clean the staff was friendly and helpful the location was good there is a market right next to the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    If the receptionist is not helpful, wait the manager
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    1) I would welcome a more willing receptionist while check in. 2) Water for morning tea was usually cold.

    1) At first, the receptionist gave me a room with view on the street. When I asked for a quiet room with view to the wall, he said he had no such available. But the room with the window to the street was really too noisy. Later, at the reception, I met the hotel manager, who was very willing to exchange the room. The room with the view to the ugly building was very quiet and pleasant. 2) Wifi fast even for skype calls. 3) Only 15 minutes walking from Powel BART station. 4) Large coint laundry in the building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    I would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was updated but very small , with no place to set toiletries, but not a big issue.

    It was a vintage hotel but had been updated and was clean, with new carpet and the bed was comfy. Great location...able to walk to many attractions. LOVED the old elevator❤️

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Good value at the hip end of The Tenderloin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It's very basic, and old. Don't have any illusions about amenities.

    Good value for The Tenderloin. Room was relatively spacious. Clean. Quiet enough. Really good value. Good hip neighbourhood.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    It's an adequate place to stay in San Francisco. Not luxurious, but it has the basics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing I didn't expect. There is a weird smell outside. But that's the city. I can't blame the hotel proprieters. They don't have a parking lot. You have to park your car in a lot about two blocks down. But again, it's the way of the city. The best way to get around is either walking or with an Uber. Research area. There are parts that are "rough". The locals walk around like nothing because they are used to it. But if you're a visitor & are not "tough" in the ways of the streets, it may shock you.

    The location is prime. We were able to walk (just a warning, it's about 3 very hilly miles) to Ghirardelli Square and Fisherman's Wharf which yielded us a very enjoyable day. It's also a nice walkable distance to the Westfield Mall. And seriously close, like about 2-3 blocks from a Trader Joe's which we frequented quite a lot. Our room was extremely small, but it had all we needed--our own bathroom, microwave and refrigerator. Honestly though, it did get clausterphobic after a while so make sure if you decide to stay here with your family, you actually like and enjoy them. LOL! The whole building is very "antique" looking. You are NOT staying at The Ritz when you choose to stay here. Don't expect that or you'll be seriously disappointed. But there's a big difference in price between the two hotels so if you want to save money or are on a budget don't expect valet treatment and chocolate on your pillows. The walls are super thin, but it's San Francisco life. All the buildings are on top of each other. Again, it's the way of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    The room of windows that traded views unseen for those seen by others.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an excessive amount of lint buildup on the windows so when you open the windows the lint would blow in excessively and the view was obscured. There was also a window in the shower that did not have a treatment which allowed the next property a direct clear shot into the shower. I am not much of an exhibitionist.

    The staff and the maid service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    The view of my room was literally an alley, and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the view of my room. The view was an alley.

    The view of my room was literally an alley, and the room was small. It did not look like the images online.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.0
    What we saved staying at this hotel we paid for with poor sleeps and a $100 fee to park for 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not friendly at all. The first night the heater broke - we didn't have it on and all of the sudden it was spewing heat like a sauna. Night two my key car for the bathroom broke and the attendant didn't say apologize for the inconveniences either time.

    There were lots of cafes, bars, and restaurants close by. It was walking distance from all we wanted to see.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Booked the economy room with shared shower and toilet. The shower is insanely small, more like a closet sized booth, can barely move inside.

    Ok place to stay. Very convenient location. Very little to no homeless/junkies around, for once I felt safe staying in SF!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.1
    N/A
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Online it said there was first come first serve parking. I ended up having to pay $20 per day which was an unexpected cost and was pretty disappointed about it. Our room also didn't have a fan in it and it was hot during the day and made it uncomfortable at times.

    I loved the location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location, old building but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from my room (a wall of another building, prety close), but there's nothing they can do about it and I can live with it

    Old building, but clean and comfy. The location is very good, short stroll to some breakfast and lunch places (I can recommend "Farm:Table" and "Han's Coffee Shop" for breakfast, and "Sanraku" for Sushi/Japanese food), California Street, Union Square and all 3 cable car lines (Stay away from the South-West direction though at night as the Tenderlion neighbourhood is full of junkies and homeless people). I didn't mind the fact that the windows look out to a wall of another building (very tight, internal yard between buildings) and that the building is old. So if you're like me and you need an inexpensive hotel to sleep and safetly keep your belongings there and the location is the key, then it's definitely for you (on the other hand if you are looking for a 4 star hotel, look somewhere else and pay more money)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    2.5
    One star. Don't recommend. Not safe. Nothing works.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I stay in a LOT of hotels, like more than 50 days a year I am in hotels, and I hardly ever review, but I feel this one was just so BAD. Things that didn't work AT ALL in my hotel room: 1. The refrigerator. 2. The alarm clock 3. The phone. 4. The ceiling fan. Things that were damaged in my hotel room: 1. The bathroom window (didn't lock and backed onto public land). 2. The microwave (didn't spin... therefore didn't cook food evenly/properly so frozen and burnt at the same time) 3. The mattress: The indentations were unbelievably huge. There were even foot indentations! I also bought bug spray because there were bugs. 4. The radiator: The off valve didn't work properly so I could either ask the front desk to turn it off (and freeze) or leave it on (and it got far too hot, which is when I found out the ceiling fan didn't work). Things I didn't like about my hotel room (some of these are much worse than others): 1. There was no reasonable place to put towels that were in use. I don't want to use a hand towel once and discard it. 2. The bathroom window was moldy. 3. The broken refrigerator was also moldy, so I couldn't even buy ice and use it as a cooler. 4. I could hear the people upstairs all through the night, all 8 nights that I was there (different people, all apparently insomniacs). Some were playing loud dubstep at 4am. Others sounded like they were line dancing with a bass guitar. Others were having those deep and soulful conversations one can only have at 4am (if you're reading this, girl from upstairs, he's not worth it). Others were burning stuff that I could smell in my room because the building's insulation was poor. In the UK this building would be served a notice for fire safety infringements due to this. Smoke should not travel through the ceiling (especially in a nonsmoking hotel). 5. The Wi-Fi was often slow. My work needs Wi-Fi. 6.

    Nothing. I've stayed in better hostels. This place MAY BE good for: Young people/backpackers who don't want a bad hostel. This place is probably marginally more secure than a dorm in a bad area. That's about it. A good-rated hostel would be better though. If you're on business, if you're a married couple, or if you're here for work, forget it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    The staff was attentive and answered all our questions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our restroom and shower were on another floor all the way down the hall that was extremely inconvenient.

    The staff was attentive and answered all our questions. The hotel has a nice vintage style and the location is great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.0
    The room was fine overall, and met my immediate needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had l some difficulty with the ceiling fan. Could you hear a lot of foot traffic outside the room, and from the room above me.

    The price was right on target, the location was pretty good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Great value hotel in SF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The space in this hotel is a little tight, which I guess is typical of SF. They have a no smoking policy which I think some guests did not follow, as the rooms next to us consistently smelled like cigarettes. The neighborhood sits between Nob Hill and the Tenderloin, so there can be some homeless walking about anytime. While this does not bother me since I am a city dweller myself, it can be off-putting to those expecting a very ritzy neighborhood.

    Hotel was a great value for the price. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, allowing us to check in early and even holding onto our luggage after check out so we could enjoy the city before leaving on the red eye back home. I would recommend this place for anyone who is looking for a comfortable and private place to sleep while in town to be out and about. The private bathroom was a definite advantage over similarly priced hotels in the city that all have shared ones. Housekeeping was also a great surprise since we were not expecting much, but we came back to a very clean room with a neatly made bed and fresh linens every day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    2.5
    False advertisement ,, ITS LIKE A ROBBERY HOLD UP
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    PARKING ADVERTISEMENT , THEY SAID ITS A PARKING " First come first serve basis" totally No Parking, It was a STREETPARKING AND PUBLIC PARKING PAYMENT WILL APPLY.

    False advertisement ,, ITS LIKE A ROBBERY HOLD UP

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Amazing place, amazing location, friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything!

    Rick was amazing in the front desk. He was a great at answering our questions and offering advice on where to sight see. Super friendly!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They said we would have parking included, but actually we had to pay for the parking. Also, the room included a refrigerator, which wasn't working. I asked hotel staff to help us with that, the refrigerator never worked and we didn't even get any feedback from them. Finally, one day we've just arrived at night and someone from the staff knocked on our door and said we were making a lot a noise and threatened to call the police. We were there for 5 minutes and we weren't making that much noise. So, in conclusion, the staff didn't help us, they were rude and we didn't get what was promised regarding the parking space and refrigerator.

    Location is good. (But no free parking)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.0
    The neigboorbood is ok and has some nice little bars and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly rooms, not very clean. Uncomfortable bed and the room was super noisy; could hear any step throughout the hotel.

    The neigboorbood is ok and has some nice little bars and restaurants, and is not too far from downtown. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    Was a little nervous as I usually stay in 'nicer'...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was a little nervous as I usually stay in 'nicer' hotels but the guys on the desk were very friendly and helpful. I had intended to walk the 20 mins to work but ended up getting a taxi after the first day, it appeared longer than I thought it would be. No breakfast which I would usually have but much of the city was booked and very expensive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    Central and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It lack space especially in the bathroom.

    It's a central location. The room was cleaned each day and the towels were changed. It's a quiet place to sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    3.3
    Pay more for a decent hotel and stay in Fisherman’s Wharf!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nothing like the pictures advertised! 😡. It was a really small, dark room with almost no natural light, situated at the back of a dingy property. The accommodation was very old fashioned and definitely needs to be updated, particularly the cramped bathroom facilities. The bath was stained and towels very thin - one even had a hole in it. Hotel situated alot further away than expected from decent cafes and bars etc. Rickety, old fashioned lift with a heavy door or very narrow stairs to floors.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.5
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was an odd smell coming from old furniture

    Location was perfect. The hotel was very close to main attractions in SFO and the room was cleaner than expected.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    Ideal for students, or those planning to only sleep there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    People should be aware that access is tricky - steep stairs, lift is not from street level, awkward corners, narrow corridors. Room small, but ok; eg one side of bed against wall. Not very clean, bed ok but has the feel more like a hostel. Not for elderly or disabled

    Location is ok if you can walk uphill from centre for 20 minutes; easy to get to cablecars, shops etc - but we are quite fit. Interesting building, quirky. Tiny but efficient bathroom. Free coffee. Staff helpful, several breakfast places very close. Good Value

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.1
    Overall a comfortable and good experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homeless people on the street. The facilities are a more of a hostel than a hotel.

    Privacy, clean, comfortable. The staff are very helpful. An overall good experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    Staff was friendly and eager to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I selected the hotel since it is parking included. When I went there, I saw that the hotel does not have a parking area, instead in cooperation with a separate parking place. I was directed to that parking place but it was full and they didn't let us park. I had to look for another parking place and park with paying money.

    Staff was friendly and eager to help.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    3.3
    We were very disappointed with our stay and were glad to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid $510 for a 3 night stay in a dirty room with a tiny bathroom. The curtains, carpets and surfaces were dirty. There were only 3 functioning TV channels, the rest were either fuzzy or had a high pitched sound on them. The bathroom was so small there was no where to put anything. The windows were either filthy/mouldy and the netting covering them was all torn. There was no air conditioning but the light had a fan attached. Unfortunately, the fan made such a loud rattling noise, we had to turn it off at night which wasn't very helpful during the hot nights.

    The location was fairly convenient for what we had planned.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.8
    The location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is quite dingy, lift didn't work, ceiling fan was broken when I arrived. Some of the staff were unhelpful and had poor English.

    The location is fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    4.2
    Honestly, this place shouldn't charge more than $50.00 a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was filthy when we arrived. We asked for it to be cleaned when we went out that first afternoon. Upon returning that evening, were told that the cleaning staff had left for the day, and they had had an air purifier put in the room for the dust which affects my partners asthma. When we arrived back the following evening, it was a joke. Honestly, a joke. Two words gentlemen, "FOLLOW UP". You received a critical complaint from a customer, and didn't even bother to check on the cleanliness of the room when it had been attended to, and if you did, you are blind. The sheer amount of dust in the room was astronomical, even after cleaning - which, and I checked thoroughly, beyond the normal bed and towels, amounted to running a finger over an edge of the mirror and removing someone else's bill from the top of the TV cabinet. I showed the man at the front desk photos of the dirt in the room when we raised the issue. None of it was addressed. The cleaning staff pay no attention to their job and take no pride in it whatsoever - clearly just going through the motions. The air purifier was also removed for the last night of our stay. Fancy that. Customers being able to breathe clearly isn't a top priority.

    I liked the sound of the door closing behind me when I left.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    I wish I could have found a better hotel for less money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    San Francisco is a rip-off. Like all other accommodation in SF this hotel is way overpriced. The hotel is very hot, probably partly because of a heatwave and also because it is above a laundromat. There is no aircon only a ceiling fan which really did not cope with the temperature. My room was facing the street so I could not have slept past the arrival of the bin lorries. The hotel is tired and worn out.

    I had one good night's sleep. I did not see one cockroach which for SF is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    great location close to city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room could get a little hot and the fan was very slow, I was in sf during record heatwave so may not be a problem but a better fan would help if you are there in summer

    great location close to city center hotel has all the amenities closeby including bus metro grocery and laundry

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location and much quieter than we expected (arrived...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and much quieter than we expected (arrived mid evening - our room overlooked a main road but we had no problem sleeping as the road went quiet at night). Tidy room with clean crisp bed linen. Central location with easy walk to trams and bike rentals. Enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, great price, spotless except for bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom windows full of soot, no window guards in bedroom, fridge and microwave unplugged, so my food spoiled, tub seemed to be fitted over old tub so there was an uncomfortable curve at base, further narrowing space to stand.tv didn't have cable and tv reception was bad

    Comfortable, great price, spotless except for bathroom windows

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    4.2
    Very basic. Cool antique elevator. Easy walk to Union Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels provided in the room were the oldest and most ragged I have ever seen in any hotel. The front desk is behind plexi-glass, which gives the impression of it being frequented by criminals and prostitutes.

    The antique Otis elevator was the best thing about this hotel. there are plenty of nice cafes nearby and Union square is only a few blocks east.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slight problem arranging an early taxi to the bus station

    Comfortable hotel at a competative price within walking distance of San Francisco attractions

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    4.2
    Good size
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ac, ceiling fan worked with didficulties, no accesible power outlets, old dusty smell in the room, very big deposit - unreasonable for such facilities

    Good size

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no laundry service in the hotel although photos show there is. There is however a laundromat next door.

    Good location. Nice but dated interior.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Good value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interiors are a bit old but overall cleanliness is ok.

    I liked the location, within a walk distance to major attractions and public transportation in SF.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    3.8
    Stay away from this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I travel frequently but never faced such unworthy policy from hotel management. First we found that dispite statement in booking.com hotel has no parking and we were offered to find public parking ourselves. Next we were told in reception that we've booked standard double room for the family of four persons. So we were asked for double price. After showing of booking.com voucher with 4 people mentioned, manager agreed to provide us booked family room but told that cleaning and taxes were not included in the room price so the actual price is $100 bigger. If we don't like it we can go and find another hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    4.2
    Staff at reception were very helpful when we had issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to change room #205 because it was full of dust everywhere - windows, windows covers, carpet, bed sheets... Parking for 3 days was $75 - pretty expensive

    Staff at reception were very helpful when we had issues.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.0
    Will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems there are shared bathroom rooms. Pay attention, what they don't write is that they are located at the end of a long corridor far away from the rooms. The bathroom is so small, you can't use it. They even did not clean the room, the receptionist told me he will check but it was too late. Had to upgrade, to regular, asked for 30$ more,didn't even take into account the cleaning issue. regular rooms are ok but everything skwiks, old and small. Wifi is weak and doesn't reach all the floor.

    Good location, frendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice location, nice staff (they let us leave our suitcases...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice location, nice staff (they let us leave our suitcases for the whole day in their office after we check out so we could spend the day luggage-free)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Love this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need was a bit uncomfortable, but no biggy.

    We were in a double bed room with our own bath room, we had a street view and it was awesome! The windows actually opened, unlike the swanky hotels. Room was small but had a microwave and mini fridge, a table by the window with two chairs, it was all we needed. The staff was amazing, the coffee in the morning was good and the elevator was our favorite part. Such a neat, old, classic building, very clean and a historic gem. The neighborhood was gritty, which we like, not touristy but real San Fran. Small grocery a couple doors down and a really good pizza place up the block that is open until two in the morning. We loved our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    4.6
    Don't expect cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Bed sheets, pillows and towels often had all kinds of gross stains on them. Place smells bad most of the time. Maid service came at completely unpredictable times. Very loud workshop in the opposite building.

    Friendly staff. Good access to BART and shopping areas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    [ liked and enjoyed the stay at mithila hotel and i would recomend it further
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    add porter service and pickup service from airport

    The location, the facility is correct as compared to the cost. the staff was helpfull. and the room facilities were good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    Small room/great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and really crammed in the bathroom. Only a few channels worked even though it was dish. Lastly, could use a nightstand and/or trash can in the room, not just the bathroom.

    The location was great. It was easy to navigate by bus to everywhere plus many places to eat within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    Budget Hotel in good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    l had read older reviews and l,m sure they had done some work on the Hotel.lt is a little noisy but San Francisco is a busy place.

    The bed was comfortable but the pillows were thin,however l asked for more and they gave them to me straight away.lt was in a great location and we were able to buy travel cards at the grocery shop next door to use the public transport.The train was only 1 5 minute walk down a hill.There are a few nice places to eat nearby and having a microwave in the room was handy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    6.3
    San Fran is expensive, but if you're looking to travel on a budget, you'll have to make sacrifices
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Parking. Had to park in a garage about block and a half away. Hotel had a "discount" rate with garage, that came out to $30/day. Considering this IS San Fran, not a bad deal. The rooms are teeny tiny. I mean tiny. No desk or chair, but they did manage to squeeze in a twin-size bunk bed and full size bed in that room along with a stacked fridge/micro. No Coffee maker. No counter in the bathroom (so no place to put your toiletries). There's an interesting vent/laundry chute - not sure what it is in the bathroom, which if you leave what looks like the window open you can hear conversations clearly from other rooms. Reminded me of those godfather or spy movies (dunn dunn dunnnnnnnn). No working heat (thank God my husband is a warm bear of a man) and the windows are probably grandfathered in to not meet building code because if you had a small toddler, they could fall down 3 stories to the alley below. Not kidding. No bars or safety window to prevent a disaster.

    Very nostalgic, rustic hotel. Has the old dumbwaiter-type elevators that you see in the old buildings (my kids got a kick of it). Stairs are narrow, steep and twisty. Building was in a good location right next to a very clean laundromat so doing laundry after a week of travel was convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.3
    We very much enjoyed the Mithila experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The sprung double bed base and mattress were old and needs updating

    The view from the front bedroom where we stayed and the helpful staff. The room had a quaint period feel to it which we enjoyed immensely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    5.0
    Nice location, but that's about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was covered in some gross stains. It looked like it hadn't been washed properly. Also, the cable TV barely worked and had minimal selection.

    Location was very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    4.6
    Not worth the value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell in this place is bad. There was no thermostat. Very hot. Creeky floors, so you can hear every move the person above you makes. The security card kept needing to be replaced as it wouldn't open my door. Not worth over $400 bucks for 3 nights.

    The location was convenient. Good wifi

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: