Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles 3 stars

328 East 1st Street, Downtown Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA 90012, USA

#101 of 376 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 787 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel in Little Tokyo, LA
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel. Nothing to complain about. I like the area Little Tokyo, if you go here you should check out the restaurant Chinchikurin, very nice and just a few steps away from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Perfect Little Tokyo Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was definitely happy with the hotel. The staff was friendly, and answered any questions that I had. The valet parking was perfect and charging my two vehicles to the room was no hassle at all. No doubt in my mind would I stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, warm hospitality and indelible memories :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    ...

    My wife and I really enjoyed everything about our stay ... and in particular, Margarita ... she was so much like my mom with her desire to take such good care of us both :-)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Pick of the Boutique Hotels in downtown LA
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfort of the bed and pillows. The size of the room and facilities. The restaurant was exceptional. Highly recommend this boutique hotel for cleanliness, facilities, comfort and value for money

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Close to Union Station, downtown Los Angeles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downtown Los Angeles is full of homeless people. It made me very uncomfortable to be walking around site sightseeing in this area. I am very thankful I am not poor and living in the USA.

    Excellent quality hotel, walking distance to Union Station where bus comes in from the airport and the train left for our trip to the Grand Canyon.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    perfect location clean comfy friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some nights were cold and others were warm in the room but its still okay. yes, you can hear people outside, talking, walking around but didn't bug me. the night usually ended around 2 am. for the right price i would book again.

    The check in and check out, super easy and simple. the hotel is really nothing to fancy or special, its a room you can stay at clean and comfy. the location is perfect, lots of things to do walking distance. the staff is really friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    BTS Concert at Staples
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from the room was as expected, nothing to talk about.

    Staff were helpful, location was excellent for this visit. Love the variety and location to other places of interest. Walking distance to many stores in the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Great comfortable hotel to stay at. Good area close to transport and staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Great sized rooms. Nice comfortable bed and bathroom big and especially loved the bidet toilet. Area was convenient to get to all parts of LA and Little Tokyo area had great food choices and area seemed safe to walk around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was inviting and extremely polite! Everyone from the valet to the person checking us in were great! But I do want to let others know they charge 50$ for incidental fees a night, and that will cover your parking when you check out because they charge your room! Be prepared!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value, intriguing location and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    See above

    Breakfast was interesting but more attention has to be paid to keeping dishes warm since tepid sausages and bacon are not up to the standard of the rest of the food on offer. An explanation of the variety of Japanese dishes would have helped but overall the breakfast was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel for one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only valet parking. When traveling with family, this is not handy because there's lots of luggage and possibility to park yourself and get stuff from the car easily would therefore be nice. Now you have to get all you need at one time or tip the guy every time you need to get something from the car. The air conditioning was very weak or had some kind of malfunction and our room extremely very hot. As we were only staying one night and noticed this only late in the evening, we didn't ask for another room. However, I mentioned the issue during check-out. They apologized and promised to fix the issue for the next guest. Breakfast was not included in the room rate. Some not so nice neighborhoods (e.g. Skid Row) are not far away, so pay attention to which direction you start walking to. Based on hotel's own description, I expected a more welcoming feeling from this hotel and slightly better customer service. Nothing really to complain, but not much to praise either.

    A reasonably priced hotel in Korea Town. Easy access to and from the highway 101. Location in Korea Town is nice and there are lots of dining options near by. Also LA downtown is within walking distance. If you are just driving through LA and want and easy place to stay, this hotel is a good option.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location in LA, very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good hotel, friendly staff, centrally located in LA. Stayed for 4 nights. Metro station is a 10 minute walk. Took the metro to all locations including universal studios. Lot of places to eat near the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxed stay and an opportunity to enjoy Japanese food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like.

    Very comfortable,clean room. Helpful,friendly staff. Good area with many lovely Japanese restaurants close by. Hotel has a bar and restaurant, also a coffee shop that sells a continental breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellence in Little Tokyo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just wished there was a pool!

    In the heart of Little Tokyo, very comfortable and clean with great staff. We loved the room — spacious and great bed. The bidet was awesome!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    I’ll be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable with excellent friendly staff. Location is superb in Little Tokyo with brilliant food places and trendy area. Clean and modern, the best area I’ve stayed in in LA

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Miyako Hotel DTLA
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Very friendly staff including valet parking guys. No complaint on location. Japan village is 1min walking distance also theaters and convention center were within 15 minutes of driving. No homeless ppl are on this street. It might not be one of those hip DTLA Hotels but room was super clean and beds were comfortable. Huge bathroom with ToTo Washlet toilet was cool. I will stay here again for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Great, quiet, clean, comfortable and very convenient for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing to complain about!

    The Miyako is very clean and the beds are comfortable. We like the walk to the Broad and to Symphony Hall and the many wonderful restaurants nearby. We even walked from Union Station and back. Can you imagine spending 48 hours in LA and never getting into a car? The Miyako alliwed us to do that!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    One night wasn't enough to explore the Japanese American Museum a block away.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I only had coffee and a bagel for breakfast. It was fine. the space is a little tight when several people want to be served.

    I love the warm toilet seat and bidet. It reminds me of when I was in Tokyo. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. I liked having the slippers to wear. I especially appreciated the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    I loved the classy look in the room, hallway, and in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking wasn’t included in the price.

    I loved the classy look in the room, hallway, and in the lobby. Elevator was cool too. The room was clean and comfortable. I can’t wait to go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for travel, large rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk required us more documents than other hotels to confirm our stay, which makes me felt uncomfortable.

    Great location, walking distance to little tokyo, breakfast place, Japanese restaurant and metro station. The room was clean and large.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    The coffee shop had terrible, overpriced food and coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee shop had terrible, overpriced food and coffee. The shower sprayed as strongly as a fire hose and actually stung when in direct contact with skin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    I enjoyed my room. Everything was clean. But I couldn’t get the room temperature to be cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Streets seem dirty around the area and homeless individuals walking around

    I liked the Japanese village area next to the hotel and the restaurants close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Awesome!!! I'd happily stay again.l
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find ESPN on the TV.

    The bed was super comfortable and there was a bidet in the bathroom. The staff was helpful and the food at the restaurant was awesome. All around great stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    3.8
    Unpleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a major renovation. It is tired and dingy. Rooms are dark and unpleasant. Paper thin walls so I heard my neighbor speaking in the middle of the night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Stay here and eat at the restaurant on site!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a luggage cart when we arrived, but none seemed to be available, so after waiting in the lobby for a while, we carried our own bags up to the room.

    The sushi restaurant was fantastic - we had sashimi, a house salad and Hiroshima udon noodles that were excellent. Our waiter, Aki, is also a magician who performs at Magic Castle in LA, and he did fantastic card tricks for us. Also the car valet was fast, courteous and really helpful, both at check in and check out. Since this is often the very first hotel staff member one meets, this was a good sign!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel. Very convenient to Little Tokyo. Will definitely stay here again!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Met our expectations

    Location was great ! We wanted to spend time in Little Tokyo and this hotel was perfect 😃 Bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking wasn’t free but you can park on the little Tokyo mall parking for 10$ per day. Bit pricey

    Best location for little Tokyo trip Clean and comfy room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is valet only but giod service. It is expensive.

    Location is perfect, across from the most famous Ramen shop Daikokuya (over 1 hr wait). Next to the best Okonomiyaki place Chinchukurin. Famous little Tokyo village plaza. 15 min walk to Grand Central Market and The Broad. Excellent and clean facility, friendly staff. Best value! And very safe!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice location in Little Tokyo, which has a cool vibe, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice location in Little Tokyo, which has a cool vibe, and good access to public transit. Great staff and a very nice room. Hotel is definitely Japan-influenced but nothing pretentious or formal about it, very relaxing and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable with a few surprising shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My drawers didn't open and shut properly. Overall the general condition of the furniture was surprisingly poor for such a nice hotel. Scratches on the surfaces, the cabinet doors not shutting properly, the drawers getting stuck. This was not consistent with the rest of my hotel experience at Miyako. Also, one elevator was shut down--making going up and down slow and crowded at times.

    Liked the bed, overall cleanliness, the toilet, the staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Big room, nice bed, Within little Tokyo so enough great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area around the hotel when leaving little Tokyo didnt seem to be the nices with a lot of homeless

    Big room, nice bed, Within little Tokyo so enough great restaurants around

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Worth it for the location...maybe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, in the heart of Little Tokyo, but too expensive for what you get (in my opinion.) One of the two elevators was out of order, and the elevator that was working was s l o w... Read lots of negative reviews about the parking situation in the area, so it was difficult to decide on where to park the car overnight. Ended up parking in the garage right next door to the hotel, $10.

    Awesome location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Since I live in the country sleeping in the city is an issue...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since I live in the country sleeping in the city is an issue with the noise. I asked to be placed on the temple side if possible. I had purchased a booking at the time of entry so I knew it wasn't a guarantee. They did it! So nice. It is also possible to walk around safely and eat well locally which is why I like this location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    This hotel is a hidden gem!!!! We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was very clean. The toilet was amazing- heated rim and washlet. The shower is like a rainforest, and the bed was incredible!!!!! The staff was very nice, and the location was outstanding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Great home from home downtown, especially recommended for train travellers
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once again a wonderful stay. If you are taking the train to/from Union Station this is a great base. Many, many wonderful Japanese restaurants/shops close by, including the little shop in the lobby; and if the Blue Nova ice cream truck is along the street, go for it and count yourself blessed!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Overall it was a good experience staying with miyako.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet looks like need to be fixed. But the basic function works fine so doesn't really matters to me.

    I like stuffs. They are very nice. We arrived a little bit early and they let us check in very quickly. Rooms are clean and neat. Love the location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Hotel with character in business district.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's right across the street from good restaurants in Little Tokyo. The windows open. Great views from my room of the mountains beyond downtown LA. Toto toilet seat in the bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay and I learnt a lot about local history in the process.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested a late checkout at 6pm in lieu of the normal 12 noon (which is good), but the charge was more almost 2/3 our accommodation charge for one night. I think this excessive, but I accepted it as we have a late departure connection. The bathroom light switch behind the door as part of a power point combination proved to be a bit of a challenge initially, particularly when there is a round pad on the outside, which ‘might be’ a touch pad .!?!?

    Staff excellent, as too was the checkin. Great location in terms of LA history, museums, entertainment and diverse reasonably price dining option.S.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    The room was very stylish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were extremely hard. As firm beds are part of the culture in Japan I assume these beds are targeted towards that audience. So while I did not like the beds this firm, others may like it. The prices in the restaurant were very high, though the portion sizes were pretty big. We were the only people in the restaurant. After a while sitting there eating we were ready to go but all of the staff disappeared. We had to wait another 15 minutes or so before anyone came back so that we could ask for the check. The hotel is currently under construction. I was not informed of this prior to reserving my hotel. I may have picked a different location had I known this.

    The room was very stylish. There were many Japanese shops, restaurants and museums within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel had a sushi restaurant on the 2nd floor. We arrived at 8 am. Although the check-in time was 3 pm they were able to get us into a room at 11:15 am.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    We would stay here again. We came by train and walked to the hotel from Union Station.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suggest the hotel come through with some touch- up paint. Our chair paint was chipped. Paint was also chipped on the bathroom trim. First, I thought it was dirt but, no, it was chipping paint.

    Friendly staff. Elegant lobby. The Little Tokyo location has great noodle shops and a nice walking street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel with easy transportation connections
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was a bit too dark, not so nice when you need to see clearly while shaving, and the shower head made it difficult to get the desired water pressure. The downtown area the hotel is located in has homeless people around, but this is not a hotel's fault.

    The hotel is at walking distance from Union station and from the subway, which is useful when you arrive from the airport or go sightseeing. There is also a bakery close to the hotel, in case you prefer a cheaper breakfast, as well as several Japanese-style places where having food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    Not bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price for the kind of hotel not really in accordance. Should be a cheaper hotel, I have expected a better Miyako more Japanese style.

    The location was good and the environment of the Little Tokyo so nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Music weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occasionally we get a room which appears a little run down.

    We love the location in Japan town within walking distance of Disney Hall where we attend concerts. The staff is always very nice. Very easy to get on and off highway 101

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.4
    Stay was ok. For the fee everything could have been better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too pricey for the area and the room. Better hotels at the same or lesser rate. This hotel is not worth $279 a night. Total rip off

    Easy check in and check out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.7
    Very close to little Tokyo place, just 1 mins walk from...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit old and not enough space in cafe at lobby.

    Very close to little Tokyo place, just 1 mins walk from hotel. A lot of good ramen stores near by. Hotel room has a washlet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Peaceful Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small issue that there is no room service after 10 pm.

    Rooms very decent in size. Good comfort. The property is little away from hustle bustle and you need to have a vehicle to commute. The service was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    Karaoke, Ramen and Little Tokyo Nostalgia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room interiors are dated, with popcorn ceilings and aging plumbing fixtures. The inner-spring mattresses are squeaky, in need of replacement. At $29, valet parking is comparatively expensive.

    The Miyako has excellent staff and a central location in Little Tokyo. Rooms are impeccably clean, catering to travelers from around the globe. The karaoke lounge on the second floor has a superb bar and offers genuine Japanese hospitality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Awesome as I was in the neigborhood for Nisei Week to see everything in Little Tokyo
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    can't think of anything that I didn't like

    everything - I definitely like the security - where you have to have a key to use the elevator feel very SAFE

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a little off. The only parking that was close by was not that safe looking. They had valet parking but is not run by the property.

    This hotel is one of the best on the area. The view was perfect from my floor. The property staff are friendly and willing to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    The staff is really nice and the rooms are clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the lights come from lamps so the rooms are barely well lit at night. You have to turn on all 3 lamps for light when a single switch could have done it.

    The staff is really nice and the rooms are clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    We arrived back at our room late after a concert and went to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived back at our room late after a concert and went to sleep around 1:00 am. The alarm clock went off at 6:00 am, which must have been set by the previous guest. It was difficult to get back to sleep at that time and since it was already light outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable hotel in a convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu in the little cafe in the hotel lobby was too limited.

    This is a tastefully decorated and comfortable hotel located very close to downtown LA.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Decent stay...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed to check in early and was not able to. The fitness center A/C was not working and no curtain on the window. Sun was shining directly on me. No breakfast.

    The hotel was clean and the room was nice. I only spent one night but all was well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.1
    The staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the homeless district, somewhat uncomfortable when walking.

    The staff were friendly. Good value for money. I enjoyed the heated toilet seats. Little Tokyo was very nice. Close to the trains.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely Little Tokyo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having bottled water in the room and then finding you had to pay for it. Noisy air-con.

    Really lovely hotel with generous sized rooms and en suite. The beds were extremely comfortable. We slept very well. Choices for breakfast, the on-site cafe and gift shop. Really liked being in Little Tokyo - good choice of Japanese and Korean restaurants. The area is lively but feels fun and safe to walk around. 3 minute walk from the metro line to Union Station allowed us to travel to Burbank and Venice beach easily and cheaply.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Nice renovated rooms, near Little Tokyo, lots of counter space
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very spacious with lots of counter space including the bathroom. Really nicely renovated and had a great feel. Would definitely come back as it is also near Little Tokyo.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cafe very high price and not so friendly staff (only in cafe). Yogurt, juice and coffee plus a banana was $14 and they wouldn't let me carry the tray to my room! Cheezy!

    Location perfect, Staff were GREAT!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no room service for breakfast; I was told that staff was too busy between 8-9am to provide room service.

    Room was modern, spacious and had really good facilities and amenities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here a few times as we have a subscription to Disney Hall. It is super convenient to get from the 101 and right into their garage then we can walk everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    convenient in downtown LA
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I understand it is a japanese hotel but the American breakfast was terrible. I appreciate that they had all options, but the eggs weren't well cooked, the bacon wasn't cooked and for that it was expensive. there is no room service and for the hour i had to be at my conference it was hard to get out extra early to find a diner nearby. some didn't open in time. It was a buffet so super fast... I also don't eat alot of the other things they offered like the toast etc... and they had a full spread of what i assume would appeal to foreign visitors which i think is also great and nice for them.

    it was very conveniently located to my conference across the street... Not the most luxurious hotel but certainly perfectly fine for me to attend conference across the street. The double tree down the road much more beautiful, but also much for expensive... I would stay here again as long as i could find a decent breakfast nearby. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    15 minutes to union station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy after dark for a while but not too bad that we couldn't get to sleep. Easy walk to town hall that has a great observation deck that's free

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast option was limited --- buffet seemed to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast option was limited --- buffet seemed to be oriented to likes of Japanese culture so not worth the price for just what I wanted to eat. Coffee shop first floor could have offered more.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Convenient hotel in nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable. Great location. Gold Line metro stop is 5 minutes walk, red line 10-15 minute walk. Very safe area. Great places to eat in the neighbourhood

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    All staff were very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tile grout needs bleaching and possible regrouting. Rooms need upgrades

    All staff were very pleasant. And the restaurant personnel welcomed our entire family.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    9.6
    Delightful surprise in downtown Los Angeles
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish room and bathroom lighting had higher wattage. While bright during afternoon w/curtains open, at Night I had trouble reading by bedside lights.

    Hotel staff was very friendly and service-focused. Good sized, very clean room, w/King bed. Four, full-size bottles of water awaited me.Price for each was a pleasant surprise at $1.50 per litre. I often pay as much as $4 per bottle when staying at other hotels.Llocated in Little Tokyo, a neighborhood of which I knew nothing. Enjoyed exploring on foot day and night. Authentic sushi and sake choices were plentiful. Starbucks around the corner that's open 4am-1am. Conference was 1.1 mile away. Not far, but because of LA traffic, 28 minute trip in morning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    10
    It's wonderful hotel, very clean and comfortable in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's wonderful hotel, very clean and comfortable in the heart of Little Tokyo Quarter (Japanese Quarter) which means loads o things to explore around. Very close to Union Station which was very practical for us as we had travel by train and also by plane (there is shuttle going from Union Station to LAX)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.9
    No hot tub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were looking forward to soaking in the beautiful hot tub pictured on booking.com. It was removed 6 months ago! We arrived early to specifically soak in that tub.

    Comfortable room .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    The weekday front desk woman is amazing!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weekday front desk woman is amazing! I didn't catch her name, but she was a pleasure to deal with and always followed through on any request. Give her a raise!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.6
    We will stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive. Parking costs money and there are not many places nearby that offer typical American breakfast.

    Room was clean and staff was very courteous. Right in the center of Little Tokyo. Very convenient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    10
    Getaway in Little Tokyo
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a little confused about the happy hour for dinner... we went upstairs and the only obvious place to get a drink was the bar and they didn't have the happy hour... we never did figure out where that second floor happy hour was! But the bar was cute and nice.

    The location is just wonderful. I love little Tokyo for the great restaurants... not just Japanese, all kinds of great places all within a block. Andnshopping is great for fun gifts. Also the atmosphere. You can almost feel like you are in Japan... not exactly but for a quick getaway it is awesome. Good location if you need to be in downtown LA early. It is worth it to escape an awful drive!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.2
    The valet parking, though pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad coffee at Cafe. Close proximity to skid row. No prevention of non-guests accessing hotel floors.

    The valet parking, though pricey. The bathroom facilities were impressive. Great places to eat near hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.2
    Hotel is not fancy but it has everything one needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged $.75 as a connection fee for making a toll free call. On the other hand front desk happily took the time to print out my train ticket at no charge. Go figure.

    Hotel is not fancy but it has everything one needs. Great location. My 10th floor room had a lovely view.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    The Miyako is my go-to hotel in LA
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No downsides from me, except a nit to pick that the wifi is not very high speed and bogs down. I ended up using my hotspot half the time to do my work. Oh, and another nit. If the Dish TV system had NHK TV Japan or NHK World (the English service), I couldn't find it. Meant to ask the front desk but ended up watching CNN and MSNBC the whole time.

    The Miyako is my go-to hotel in LA, smackdab in the middle of Little Tokyo. If you're Japanese, Japanese American or a Japanophile, you'll feel right at home. The hotel caters to Japanese tourist groups, so the service is courteous and professional, and the hotel is kept spotless.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.6
    The staff was nice, and prompt, and it was very convenient...
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting in and out of the parking garage can be a bit tricky due to busy street.

    The staff was nice, and prompt, and it was very convenient to Little Tokyo. We got upgraded from a regular King bedroom to a Two bedroom; we think it was one of the higher classes of rooms. The the floor above us was closed due to remodeling the hallway but we could hardly heard it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.8
    The location is certainly convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is surprising that they have bidet toilet. Unfortunately, it is old and some of main functions don't work anymore. I think it will be better to either fix or replace it. The heater is not so efficient but it might not be a big problem in California.

    The location is certainly convenient. The Union station is within walking distance and plenty of restaurants and bars are around though most of them are Japanese style. The interior is slightly old but rather clean. The staffs are friendly and you can ask for chopsticks and hot water if you want to enjoy your instant noodles, which is a plus for Asian travelers.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: