Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. California hotel reviews
  4. San Francisco hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviews of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1625 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94115, United States of America

#43 of 270 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 963 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2019

    8.3
    Great location, weird room
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was really weird. We booked a room with 2 beds as we were just 2 friends staying together. The bathroom had no door on it, which was really bizarre. There was a door for where the toilet was, but the shower door was glass so completely see through and zero privacy whatsoever since the shower was in front of the mirror so wherever you stood you were seeing your friend in the shower. It felt like the room might have been part of a bigger room that was then separated and the bathroom felt like a major afterthought. I just feel that if I’m paying extra for a room with 2 beds, I should have some privacy when showering.

    The location was perfect! It was in a really quiet area near a lot of nice shops and restaurants and stuff. It’s not really walkable to most of the main tourist attractions of SF, but it’s an easy and quick Uber ride to basically everywhere.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2019

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are a bit pricey, but I gather it's all the same for such standards in San Francisco. My only suggestion for improvement is to have a bit more shelf/storage space available in the bathroom.

    We enjoyed our stay very much. The boutique hotel is in the middle of Japantown with lots of great Japanese/Korean restaurants near by. Also super close to Fillmore Street for other trendy restaurant/bar/shopping options. Our rooms were very clean and spacious with lots of space for storage. Bathrooms were large, too, with a huge walk in shower. The beds were super comfortable. Great wifi, excellent gym. Helpful staff. I'd for sure stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2019

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we couldn’t stay longer!

    Great location. Design of hotel is great and feels very homely. Lobby area and bar are nice and chill. Beds super comfy and the best bathrobes ever!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2019

    5.4
    The lobby was interesting.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The house keeping was spotty. I thought it was odd that my room did not have a lounge chair of some sort in it. I've Never been in a hotel room that didn't have a chair in it. When I call down to ask I was told that the corner rooms had chairs and that there was a room available but there would be an upcharge of $20 a day. Weird.

    The lobby was interesting. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2019

    9.2
    Excellent location as a jumping off point for the city, design-conscious interior.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps some balcony furniture might make it easier to enjoy the outdoor space. Also, the construction in the bar was a shame - I wish I had known there was renovation taking place before booking.

    The hotel is one of the best locations in SF for getting to know an often-overlooked neighborhood. The facilities have a great eye for design, and the lobby is a beautiful and relaxing place to enjoy.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2019

    9.2
    I would stay again, maybe ask for rooms away from garbage trucks pickup.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Early morning garbage truck noise can be disturbing, depending on room location.

    Nice parking lot under hotel, elevator access, and reasonable pricing considering San Francisco.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2019

    10
    Exceeded expectations for the price and I would definitely stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room - Disabilty Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only quibble is they didn’t have outlets near the night table for charging my mobile devices overnight. They should fix that.

    Clean, pleasant, Japanese simplicity and comfort, reasonable price and location perfect for my purposes this trip.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2019

    8.8
    Overall a good place if you need to be close to Japan Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We wanted to purchase breakfast ,(which wasn’t cheap at all) in the hotel. Luckily we went to check the dining room before paying. There was almost nothing there in spite of the promising description in the reception. We ended eating outside in a very nice place , but we were very disappointed by this incident.

    The location is excellent . The atmosphere is very young .

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    8.3
    Nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would have been better if the breakfast were included in the price like in compareable hotels.

    It‘s a nice hotel with well decorated and clean rooms. The stuff is very friendly and helpful. The bar is also quite nice.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    10
    A nice place to stay, but don’t eat breakfast there—it’s not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quality of the buffet breakfast—it was mediocre.

    Style and spaciousness of our room. Decor and ambiance of the breakfast room. Location of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2019

    5.4
    Staff are terrible. Hotel is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff are so ignorant and difficult to communicate. When I called them trying to fix some issues they just just won’t help and keep saying something useless.

    The cleanness of the room

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2019

    8.5
    Nice update, needs better soundproofing in tower 2
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I’ve stayed at this hotel twice before the renovation, in both towers. This time, my room was located in tower 2 facing a side street. It was extremely noisy especially during 3:30am - 5:00am when service vehicles would make deliveries, pick up trash, etc. I was on the third floor and could hear street sounds, cars honking, engines revving, people talking/cussing loudly, etc. I don’t remember it being so loud when I stayed there previously. The check-in process is very long. The bathroom is small, but the shower is large.

    The ambience of the lobby, and bar is very nice. The decor and garden is comforting. The room itself is spacious. The location of this hotel is one of the best in the city. It is not in the financial district or downtown, so the pace is a little slower than those areas. The fitness center is spacious and equipped with the latest workout equipment, including a peloton bike.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    8.8
    Excellent location. Right at Japantown, safe area. Can park in Japantown garage is cheaper. It’s connected to hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise insulation not good. Can hear people speaking in corridor & opening/closing doors. The buffet breakfast is $21 before tax but not much food choice. Service & decor are nice though.

    Very nice modern lobby and bar. Excellent room decor. New renovations. A lot of USB charge in the room.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    7.5
    A good place that has room to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price was fair for San Francisco, but not necessarily for this tier of hotel. The room was on a ground level floor with a weird shared balcony/hallway and that looked out onto the street. It was, therefore, not possible to go outside or even open the curtains if you want any privacy. This was disappointing as we had asked for a room on a high floor so we could open the curtains and have natural light. The bed caved in in the middle, which makes it difficult to share a bed. The TV is mounted on the side of the room, meaning you have to lie on one side to watch from the bed. The bathroom has no tub and it is quite small for this tier of hotel.

    The location of the hotel is good and the lobby is fantastic. In general, the place has very tasteful and unique décor -- both in common areas and in the room. The staff were also very friendly and accommodating. They did a good job of making recommendations of places to eat in the neighborhood. Overall, the property's strengths outweigh its weaknesses.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2019

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was near the elevator so I would hear it ding a lot at night. And housekeeping starts kind of early.

    Beautiful hotel! Very clean and hospitable. Great location. Easy to walk to shops.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a lovely room on the top floor overlooking the city in the direction of the Golden Bridge! As it was clear sky we could see it quite well. The room itself was a bit outdated, but the rest of the hotel facilities looked recently refurbished. The gym at the hotel is amazing! Recommend if you are staying at the hotel. Check for their yoga and boxing classes too.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    6.3
    Very comfy beds and nice design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked a corner room to ensure I got the most of the views. I was offered a room staying into neighbours apartments. Not impressed. The rooms on the lower floor should be discounted and not sold at a premium. The view was depressing and room was very dark.

    Very comfy beds and nice design

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2019

    9.2
    We had a great time here and would definitely consider coming back next time we’re in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a little compact, especially as we’re on an extended trip so we each have a suitcase and a hand luggage bag which soon filled up the floor space. On the nights we were there the bar was busy which gave it a great atmosphere but if you’re looking to have a quiet drink I’d head down early.

    The whole hotel was stylishly decorated and all of the staff were so lovely and helpful. The location was great, a little out of the main centre but a very interesting part of town to explore. We got around the city using the 3 day passport for the MUNI network, the furthest we had to walk to get on a bus was 10 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    7.9
    Overall, a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    "Resort fee." $27 a day. They tack it on to your bill at check-out. Claim that they are transparent about this, but it caught us by surprise. BTW, this hotel is not a "resort."

    Bed was comfortable. View was great. Central location.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    9.2
    Location and friendly staff.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price has kept us away lately. We can get a hotel of comparable quality in Union Square at the height of holiday season for less.

    Location and friendly staff. We’ve stayed at Hotel Kabuki many times over the last three years. It’s like returning home to old friends.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    10
    Did not have the breakfast but walked to Sweet Maple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I parked on the street during our stay and while parked on Laguna street, someone smashed a window of our car. Nothing was taken as there was nothing in the car, but dealing with the smashed window was a bummer.

    Did not have the breakfast but walked to Sweet Maple. Liked the location and the helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2019

    9.5
    Convenient, comfortable stay in upscale Japantown hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Did not like the "guest amenity" fees that were in addition to the cost of accommodations. At most hotels, use of wi-fi and gym are included in the cost of the hotel stay. Since the basic cost at this hotel is already high, it should include those services. 2. There were sharp protrusions from the edge of the carpet where it met the bathroom floor at the doorway. This may be material used to attach the carpet to the floor. It caused snagging of the fibers on our socks, and could cause injury to bare feet. 3. There was no gift shop or convenience store on site, although there were stores nearby. 4. Hotel description stated airport shuttle was available. However, when I called the hotel to make arrangements, I was informed that we were to contact private Super Shuttle company, since the hotel did not provide shuttle services but would assist with making arrangements.

    Convenient location for Japantown activities--we attended Cherry Blossom Festival events. Pleasant, comfortable accommodations, and nicely landscaped garden areas.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2019

    9.6
    Great beds, comfortabel rooms and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great beds, comfortabel rooms and nice staff. Location in Japan town is nice as long as you have a car. Probably not a great spot if you are a family and have to rely on public transportation. Rooms were very clean, very nice breakfast (not a lot of choice but all no e and fresh options. We loved that our toddler got these nice gifts at breakfast. Live music in the lobby in the evening and to close with what stood out (as mentioned before) really great beds. We slept like babies.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2019

    8.3
    Nice place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Corner King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Communication before arriving not acceptable : no answer after a few emails. Only on social networks like facebook or booking i have been able to have answers

    Nice place. Nice hotel. All we can wait for a 4stars hotel. Well located in japantown in SF. If you remove the only bad point about the communication, i appreciated everything

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2019

    10
    We will come back again for another delightful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The extra fees were disappointing.

    Loved the whole atmosphere of the bar and lobby. The gardens and koi pond are so relaxing and well kept. Our room was really comfortable, clean, and charming. The breakfast was fresh and healthy with delicious coffee as well!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2019

    10
    The rooms were lovely, clean and very spacious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The lack of wardrobe space in the rooms, one small rail and no drawers etc made hanging clothes difficult for both me and my partner. We both ended up living out of our suitcases which is never easy!

    The rooms were lovely, clean and very spacious! The staff were amazing and the hotel itself was super cool and the bar area always busy and fun! The location was perfect, 10 mins by bus from Union Sq or literally an 8 min uber! Japan centre is linked to the hotel and has so many cool Asian food places / shops! Great neighbourhood!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2019

    9.6
    Absolutely stellar and reasonably affordable for SF. Will definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extra $50 charge for local taxes. Wasn’t expecting it but that was my fault for not reading the fine print on the booking.com invoice.

    Bed was comfy, shower was huge and included two shower heads and a built-in bench and the corner balcony was a bonus!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    10
    Excellent😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking could be cheaper.

    The atmosphere casual and friendly. The common areas inviting. Staff great. Liked having japan town centre next door. Good location for our sightseeing.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    7.5
    Great location, hip lobby but hidden charges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel tricks people by adding in "services fees" You think you got a good deal on this hotel but the add ons are crazy. We paid $57 for parking, $37 - automatic charge- for wifi and access to a water spicket in the lobby (no water bottles provided). I travel a ton and have never seen this-- it felt deceptive.

    The location is great in Japan town and the lobby and downstairs area is very hip and nice. Rooms are nothing special, small bland, no effort in decor.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    9.6
    Beautiful downstairs lounge with light food and bar service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being that it was San Francisco the price was a little steep but I felt that it was worth what I spent. Will visit there again next time I’m in San Francisco.

    Beautiful downstairs lounge with light food and bar service. Rooms exceedingly large for San Francisco and very very comfortable! My view was wonderful. Next to a Japanese mall full of shops and food. Korean BBQ all you can eat across the street.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    7.1
    comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No morning foods other than a $28 full buffet What about a bagel or a biscuit or some cereals or fruit or some under $5 to grab item? Complimentary coffee only in room with no real 1/2 and 1/2, only that junky flakey fake creamer and we thought the coffee was not delicious Always welcoming to have comp coffee station in the lobby. People actually mention that when talking about where they stay. Bathroom needs a door; only one door on WC and none on bathroom, so light is bothersome for other person not in bathroom Bathroom a little too sparse and the lighting is terrible You need better cosmetic lights at least LED 2700 bulbs if not new fixtures

    comfy bed Like the clean white sheets Lobby fun Good access from street with turn around parking area Books are welcoming Fitness room very nice Great views from our corner room!!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    8.8
    Mandatory $27 amenities fee!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On check-in, we were surprised by a mandatory $27 fee for amenities! Filtered water was only available in the lobby and we only used the WiFi. An abusive practice by the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    6.7
    A slightly less enthusiastic stay in Japantown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room service service was inconsistent. The room was very dusty which caused an allergic reaction. Small room details were not properly maintained i.e. bathroom counter top stain, baseboard stains, etc. A few items that you would expect a 4 or 5 star hotel to provide were not available i.e. slippers, bottled water, dental kit, etc. Note that Hotel Kabuki is a 4 star hotel.

    The room was larger than most in San Francisco and extra amenities like gym, zen garden and free bike use. We enjoyed the convenience of the hotel linked to a mall where there are a lot of restaurants, shops and Japanese dollar stores.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    7.9
    It was close to the city plenty of restaurants around and the Asian Market right next door
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a bit of a mistake when I booked I had 2 rooms under my name and another a family members name this seemed to cause problems also when a couple of changes were made, we worked it out amongst ourselves no problem.

    It was very modern and comfortable the outside Japanese garden was beautiful and added to the calm atmosphere inside

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    8.3
    I highly recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room didn't have a door separating the bathroom with the room, which my sister and I didn't appreciate. Also, they claim they have meditation kits for guests to use, but they are never available because guests never returns them, so that can easily be sorted by informing guests to return them after a day just like with the bikes. Also, we stayed during NYE and the hotel hosted a party. I felt it was outrageous that guests had to pay an entry ticket when they are already paying to stay in the hotel during the season. The parking is a bit of a pain but is expected when you are staying in the city.

    I highly recommend this hotel. The decor is great, the rooms are comfortable, the gym was amazing, the location is not bad, the service was good, and breakfast is as healthy as you can get.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    10
    Best hotel in San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Corner King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If I can think of ANYTHING I didn't like, it was my bed. Not like it wasn't completely comfortable . just my big body mass sunk in a little too much. Nothing a extra pillow under my body couldn't fix. that is literally the only thing.

    Amenities. Incredibly friendly staff. I always feel so safe and comfortable anywhere in the hotel. Everything feels balanced . location is on point . and the room is spacious with big glass sliding doors . this hotel is perfect for me. I will be coming back for years to come. Thank you hotel kabuki

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    9.6
    The location was good, well, better than Hilton Union Square...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a little bit pricey though.

    The location was good, well, better than Hilton Union Square, which I reserved earlier. After I reached HUS I found the whole square was full of homeless. No offense, but definitely not a comfortable place for me to stay. So I drove around that area and found KABUKi. Not an economy hotel, but definitely located in a safer neighborhood.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    8.3
    The buffet was a rip off and customer service wasn't perfect, but the room and location were perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The customer service at the bar wasn't that great. The drinks themselves were fun and delightful, but I felt like the bartenders were mostly just ignoring me and my boyfriend to hang out with some folks at the other end of the bar. Also, the buffet felt like a total rip off. For like $25 a person you're paying for oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, cereal, and like quiche and that's it. I kinda thought that was ridiculously overpriced for what it was, and I felt like they gave me no warning at all about what it would really be. A menu would have been very appreciated.

    The room itself was BEAUTIFUL, comfortable, perfect. Bed was great, the robes were a nice touch! I also loved the shower and the TV was great too. I brought my own roku and was pleasantly surprised that I didn't need it because the room had a smart TV.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    9.6
    brilliant, will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    wonderfully renovated hotel. Love Japan Town and the proximity to downtown without being down town. Large room, great staff, and tasty drinks at the bar.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    7.1
    Japantown is a winner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hidden costs; the mandatory additional daily fees leveraged on arrival. The taxes and additional costs (for room coffee, shoe shining, WiFi access) dwarfed the proposed costs for the room. Breakfast is $25 a head - not an option we repeated, preferring to roam the locality for excellent options. A beer at the bar was $12. Liked staying here, but they do little to keep customers on-site for food/drinks options.

    Great staff, kind and helpful. This is a hip place and popular with younger set. The room was comfortable, had all essential amenities and nice view; bedding was comfortable -- great sleep. It is located 1.5 miles from shopping and action: not an issue, but be aware it is a bit of a hike to Union Sq. Terrific local dining options (Japantown was an excellent experience for this traveler).

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    7.9
    Great lobby, bar, and room set up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked a corner king room and they didn't have any when we checked in, only an hour into check-in time. I would have appreciated more of an apology, but they did end up paying for drinks at the bar to try to make it right.

    Great lobby, bar, and room set up. Fun location right next to the Japan Center.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    9.2
    That you don’t have a door going into the sink area and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That you don’t have a door going into the sink area and the light for the toilet, shower and sink is all connected and you cannot go into the area without turning on the light which is difficult for privacy and waking others up in the night.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    8.8
    Price, room cleanlines and quietness of where i stayed.
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was great. It seemed some of the female receptionists were helpful but not familiar with parking garage protocol? I thought this was either apathy of individual or lack of training. I also called Friday evening to front desk around 6:30pm to get dinner. It took over 30 rings before someone answered my call? Again overall happy with my stay but you asked so i provided minor details to which if these were imolemented i woukd of had 5 star vs. 3 to 4 star rating.

    Price, room cleanlines and quietness of where i stayed.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    7.1
    Rooms are fairly large and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tried to get valet parking and was told lot was full and we had to self park in a shopping mall garage. Not the best experience and the staff were pretty unhelpful and rude about it. Some of the rooms are in a different building and we got lost getting there.

    Rooms are fairly large and clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable place for business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    - Staff giving unclear instructions about facilities. - Room relatively dark - Room AC relatively hard to control

    - spacious room - good location - solid WiFi - good bar

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.9
    Rooms are clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel charges a 27 USD / day for "Guest amenity fees" which after not communicated at check in or clearly indicated by booking.com. One has to check the pricing details on the booking.com app (2 - 3 clicks away) and scroll down to the "not included" section to find that out. A great lack of transparency from both the property and booking.com

    Rooms are clean. Property is renovated. Beds are comfortable. And the location is nice (generally clean, plenty of restaurants nearby)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.1
    Great lobby area and bar - comfy bed - smart room layout -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Magnifying makeup mirror would have been so appreciated. Front desk and bellmen were nice enough, but really not terribly helpful. Need a better “concierge” mentality - dont Rely on them to give you either good recommendations or a timely cab - I realize that many depend on Uber and recommendations on the web, but some local help and vetting would have made this a top recommendation all around

    Great lobby area and bar - comfy bed - smart room layout - very functional - good counter space in bathroom and nice Jonathan Adler products

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.9
    Terrific rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Corner King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was terrible and far too expensive. They're undergoing some renovations right now, but they should REALLY drop the price of breakfast what they offered.

    Terrific rooms.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.1
    Bed and walk-in shower were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced. For $75 less I wouldn’t think twice about the offsite parking or waiting to long for an elevator.

    Bed and walk-in shower were nice. Check-in was easy. Close to good food and coffee.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    5.0
    uneventful!
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I simply did not like the ambiance of the hotel. I would not go back

    I was disappointed. No ambiance. Had to call three times for additional Coffee. Dark almost gloomy room. Did not like the decoration. It felt industrial. There were only 2 water glasses, that did not appear to have been clean, perhaps the glass was simply old. Thepillows were nice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    10
    Hotel Kabuki far exceeded my expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a little construction going on but it was limited to daylight hours and in no way bothered us during our stay.

    The staff was phenomenal! Everyone was so helpful and went above and beyond to ensure our stay was perfect.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    Loved the water & coffee station near the bar - why is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved the water & coffee station near the bar - why is Kabuki the only hotel I've ever seen with this setup? It's Genius! Front Desk staff were super nice, as were the servers and bartenders. Room was massive! The bed was like a cloud and the room and bathroom were both very clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    Another great experience with JDV
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front Desk staff were super nice, as were the servers and bartenders. Room was massive! The bed was like a cloud and the room and bathroom were both very clean. Great WiFi connection in-room & on property in general.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.2
    Great surprise in Japantown
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi did not work well in the room. For business travellers like me this is a down side as I had to work from the lobby.

    Rooms are spacious and super comfortable. Gym facilities are great and so is the overall ambience of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    4.2
    Hotel cleaning staff took money of a table.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel cleaning staff took money of a table. Although it was only 4-5 dollars and she probably thought it was a tip, the hotel staff was not apologetic at all. Instead, it seemed they wanted to turn it around on us, by saying that it probably happened because we extended our stay. Furthermore, I've tried organising a surprise for the birthday of my girlfriend in the hotel room. Tried emailing, calling and asking personnel directly, never got a straight answer with possibilities. Lastly, the hotel shower pressure was very low. In summary, we will not go back.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    5.4
    Hotel cleaning staff took money of a table.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel cleaning staff took money of a table. Although it was only 4-5 dollars and she probably thought it was a tip, the hotel staff was not apologetic at all. Instead, it seemed they wanted to turn it around on us, by saying that it probably happened because we extended our stay. Furthermore, I've tried organising a surprise for the birthday of my girlfriend in the hotel room. Tried emailing, calling and asking personnel directly, never got a straight answer with possibilities. Lastly, the hotel shower pressure was very low. In summary, we will not go back.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    7.5
    It’s the dream location in SF the area feels safe and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We choose a city view room but they gave us a 5 floor and we couldn’t see a thing but a horrible rooftop. Then someone wake up us knocking at the door at 1am and didn’t eve apologize or compensate us. Then they charge you Administration fees for 50 USD daily for WiFi and gym access. We didn’t need either. Plus the parking is a robbery 60 USD per night. They should be more open about the hidden charges I don’t think it’s normal we paid 350 USD MORE THAN EXPECTED FOR NOTHING.

    It’s the dream location in SF the area feels safe and the rooms are very original and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    9.2
    huge room, quiet in the night, very nice bar, comfy bed, big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "partial bay view" was really only a few inches of the bay from our window

    huge room, quiet in the night, very nice bar, comfy bed, big shower

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    6.3
    Lovely rooms and cool vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Insanely expensive shave for what it is - old lifts and common areas could GE cleanse. $25 for a simple buffet breakfast is just crazy on top of $300 fir a basic 4 star hotel

    Lovely rooms and cool vibe

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.2
    Still undergoing its 30 million refurb, but the downstairs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the lifts was out of order, so there was a longer than average wait to get the lift.

    Still undergoing its 30 million refurb, but the downstairs space is beautiful. No doubt will be even better once restaurant opens in March 2019. Great location and the bed was very comfy, which was exactly what we needed after plenty of walking and cycling across the city. Great location near some great areas of the city. Easy to get around either on foot, bicycle or by bus.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    7.9
    Loved the rooms, left with a sour taste after paying for their ridiculously overpriced breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Let me preface by saying we normally do not complain about price, but with this I feel like I need to say something. I've stayed here numerous times, and this is the first time I feel like I was ripped off. Whatever you do, do not eat their morning breakfast. Nowhere (that we could tell) were we informed that the breakfast was not complimentary. However, that could totally have been our mistake. When we got to the breakfast area, thought it was complimentary given the limited options of food. I kid you not there were two small tables. Only offering mini quiches, what looked like Cheerios, whole avocados, orange juice, milk, oatmeal, and cold baked goods like mini croissants and muffins. Now at this point we did not complain because we still thought what we were eating was complimentary. Again, that could have been our fault. Well shortly after we finished eating we were presented with a $50 check. The is was a buffet price of $21.95 PER person. Even if I ate everything they have to offer it would not justify a $21.95 price. Do not eat their breakfast unless you want to ripped off. My recommendation is to save your money, walk a few blocks down to a restaurant called Sweet Maple and get a great breakfast there at the same price maybe even less. I love this hotel overall, but in regards to their breakfast I will never make that mistake again. Even if you are aware that the breakfast costs money, I do think they charge a ridiculous price for hardly any food.

    The remodeling job they did is great! I love the new lobby area and bar, and the rooms are much more updated. I love it!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    9.6
    The builidng and room are all beautiful and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet is separated from the washroom, which is fine. There is no door on the washroom and the only light for the toilet is shared with the washroom. You have a to make a decision late at night: turn the light on and wake your partner up or hope for the best in a very dark room. A night light in the toilet would be an easy fix.

    The room, view, and building are all exceptional. It's in a nice location too. We had a great time at the Kabuki.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay especially if you want to have access to food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was a little steep for $20 per person with limited variety

    The King corner room was spacious with a view. Great location and plenty of food especially Asian varieties around Japantown. Impressive gym

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    6.3
    Very deceiving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They changed my room without telling me in advance and charged me for things I didn't utilize. You can tell there wasn't any communication upon the employees because nobody could really tell me what was going on. It was our first time traveling as a couple and instead of the king bed we had reserved, we get two full sized beds.

    The view from our room was nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.6
    A hip hotel stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The added resort tax for amenities that we had no interest in using.

    Nice view of the city. Comfortable bed and good shower. I like the “art” and decor.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    Prefect everything
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    Everything about this hotel was excellent. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the view was fantastic, and it's in a safe location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    9.2
    Although our stay was brief we enjoyed our room and hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel pricing was a bit pricey as well as the pricing of glass of wine.

    The breakfast was very healthy. The lobby area at night was very lively. The staff was very helpful, friendly and courteous. The hotel is near to interesting retail stores.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    9.2
    Everyone was super friendly and awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It seemed that only one elevator was working (perhaps the other was for better rooms, but not marked as such). Ice machine either a floor above, or below the floor I was on. Not a huge deal, but whatever. Love the place.still.

    Everyone was super friendly and awesome. The bar and bar food was fantastic (bartenders, waitstaff, front-desk) I just wanted to live there. Music was great!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    7.1
    Staff members were pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First room was on the top floor right under the roof exhaust system. Very noisy. Hotel was sold out so didn't get to move until the next night. I had specifically asked for a quiet room. Second room was fine.

    Staff members were pleasant. Location was excellent - close to many great restaurants both in the Japan Center and neighboring Fillmore District.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    8.3
    Nice place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was the corridors to the rooms look quite bleak, perhaps it's the colouring but it seems a bit depressing. The other is the extra guest charges which covers the gym but doesn't cover the coffee in the commons area. The area is quite quiet but with a short walk you're in Hayes Valley so it's still a good location.

    The lobby/ common area is absolutely amazing, such a lovely place to break out of your room and work. The garden is very peaceful and the area seemed safe to me. The room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    6.7
    No thanks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No dresser to store clothes. No shower door. Only 1 slow elevator working. Overpriced. Tiny balcony. Charged an extra daily amenity fee for the free WiFi and coffee.

    Doorman was very helpful. Lobby is beautiful. Nice views. Quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    9.6
    It was a short stay but I don't have any regrets
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The king size bed and the comforters and pillows are amazing. I slept like a baby. Haha the decor and also modern and it's really close, like walking distance to the Japanese shops and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    5.8
    Good breakfast.
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid more than it was advertised on booking (not just about tax). Beware that you will pay resort fee per night and more in addition to the advertised price on booking!

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely room in safe area
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to do with hotel, noisy neighbors on balcony.

    Safe area, close to shopping and restaurants. Clean room with nice shower. Beautiful view and balcony.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    6.7
    There are better for this price.
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price of this hotel is on par with some of the finest hotels in SF, 4-5 star hotels. Yet there is no room service, no water bottles in the rooms, thin hospital style sheets and towels, hotel branded bad room coffee, lumpy pillows and mattress, one veerry slow elevator, no valet, no concierge, no bellmen, no turndown service, etc. Anything you'd find in a finer hotel is missing. The bathrooms are very poorly designed as well, with ridiculously large showers and tiny sink and toilet areas. There is an extra guest amenity fee of $27/day for slow wifi, gym use, meditation area usage, lobby newspapers, etc. All this for between $750-1000 a night depending on your room (and if you self park add another $23 to that). I've stayed in a lot of outstanding hotels for this price and this is not one of them. The staff is quite good and the location is excellent, however.

    Staff and location are outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: