Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mondrian Los Angeles in West Hollywood 4 stars

8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90069, USA

#164 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 737 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Very jetset atmosphere if you like that kind of thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Double Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pricy and a little run down... roaches and earthworms under the decking...

    Very jetset atmosphere if you like that kind of thing. A real «be seen» place...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.0
    The location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior is outdated and not very well maintained. Cleaning isn’t great, as you will get dirty feet walking barefoot in the room. Service is average except bell service which is good.

    The location is great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Choice, a little pricey but worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to complain about.

    The room was very spacious, staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the valet team very efficient. The Skybar was a lot of fun, it has a relaxed atmosphere with a great view of the LA skyline, the pool was spotlessly clean, servers and pool attendants were always at hand to bring along that cold Margarita or a light meal from the restaurant. If you want a place to just relax and hang out on the Sunset Strip, it comes highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    2.9
    Wouldn't stay here again. EVER.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds don't have sheets - it's literally a flat sheet tucked over the mattress and covered by a white down comforter (I questioned the cleanliness). Way too loud - even with ear plugs and a sound machine. I felt sort of safe, but the clientele was questionable..... To me, it felt like a party hotel that caters more to a sexually-free, liberal audience. Not for me.

    There wasn't too much that I liked at this hotel. The one nice thing that stands out is the friendly woman who helped me in the restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Great experience overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Valet parking only but there're some street parking outside.

    The location is prime, lots of great restaurants and bars nearby, the neighbourhood is beautiful and clean and close to lots of attractions. The room is not very spacious but the decoration is modern. Friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful venue, decent not perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed had a massive lump in the middle. If you as much as move your arm the bed croaked very loudly which made for 2 sleepless nights

    The venue is emmaculate. The staff were also lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Good pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to pool due to private function. Housekeeping continually forgot to restock coffee in minibar.

    Good pool. No access to it due to a private function - unacceptable for hotel guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    Great hotel but the initial pricing through booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Initial pricing through booking.com did not reflect the final bill correctly which was a lot higher than expected, this was incredibly disappointing. Many hidden fees that weren't displayed and I will not be using this booking service again nor would I recommend it.

    Great hotel but the initial pricing through booking.com did not reflect the final bill correctly which was a lot higher than expected, this was incredibly disappointing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Excellent, superb, perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk was very extremely helpful. In fact their considerations made our stay special, most of all Richard Martinez was excellent. We would come back to stay here on all our future trips to LA and also recommend this place to our friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    The name is all you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were pretty small and outdated, our check in was nearly 2 hours late and the only thing they offered us was a voucher for 2 drinks at Skybar for value of $30 (cheapest drink about that). Shower pressure was terrible! Skybar is not on rooftop, it is actually on the first floor. I am always happy to pay $$$ for amazing hotel but I just do not think this is worth the money at all!

    The room service food was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    It’s a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Sky bar. Lovely setting, however as guests, staying for 5 nights at the hotel, they were rude and obnoxious, having come to enjoy a quick bar snack and drink before dinner, it was demanded of us that we pay our bill there and then, having not yet received our food or drink, no other table was asked this. We ordered chips and dip... we were told it would take 15 minutes, we waited 45 minutes and then Had to cancel them, (having already been made to pay for them). Having ordered and paid for 5/6 drinks when we remembered that we were actually entitled to a $10 dollar bar allowance as guest, we asked to redeem this, the bar staff knowing that they were not receiving payment or gratuity for this order took 30 minutes to bring the drink over, when all previous drinks had taken 5-6 minutes maximum. It was just not what I had expected from the Mondrian.

    It’s a lovely hotel. Lovely facilities but they most obnoxious and rude bar staff in the Sky Bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Hidden expenses!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Double Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Musty smell in halls, lots of hidden taxes and fees on checking out, we had paid in full, did not ok even touch the mini bar, but still had to pay a facilities fee when leaving. Plus the hold on our credit card for incidentals was hundreds of dollars and we only stayed two nights!

    Grea location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful hotel, be prepared for a 'party' vibe though. Not suitable for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were not impressed when we were stung with a facility fee as we left. Also, do not go for a poolside room - this hotel has a great pool party on a Saturday but I wouldn't want to be staying above it!

    The rooms are a fantastic size - so spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Good experience
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was disappointing considering the price. The valet service should be complementary for customers of the hotel (it currently is around $50 per day!)

    The room was very large with a nice view. The overall hotel facilities were very good and staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Los Angeles is a l city you cannot miss it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff was not very helpful

    Generally the room was beautiful and faced the internal courtyard. We were placed on one of the top floors with an amazing view of the city. Swimming pool is beautiful and breakfast is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    The room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hidden extras including a facility fee of $20 per day for supposed free coffee and water in the room and also internet use. No option of not to pay it. Blocking ones credit card for $200 per day with no option to pay cash .instead.

    The room size.. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay! The Sky Bar is your main attraction :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really.

    We stayed at Mondrian before so we came back this time expecting the same experience like last time. We didn't received the room with the view we wanted on our first night however we asked and the girl from front desk helped us to move to the higher floor room with much better view the next 4 nights stay. The sky bar is great as the roof has open during our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.2
    The pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was horrible. We paid for a king size bedroom and they gave us a queen size bed. All they were able to say was "I'm sorry".

    The pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Room was fantastic and lovely view of the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sky bar is expensive for what it is and there was a pool party running one of the days we were there so it meant we couldn’t access the pool that day due to how busy it was. Please note that external members of the public can attend said pool parties and attend the sky bar.

    Room was fantastic and lovely view of the pool. The sky bar was fantastic and the hotel is in an excellent location. The staff were more than helpful and a true credit to the hotel. Already dreaming of how comfortable the bed was.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful spacious rooms with great views. Unable to enjoy the pool on weekend afternoons
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a shame you can’t enjoy the pool as a hotel guest on the weekends - it turns into a club pool party.

    Room was incredibly spacious with great views and comfortable bed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Double Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 2 rooms as we had children but were put on separate floors and no rooms available to move to. The pool was closed to children on the one day we wanted to use it. There was a pool party. There were no pool loungers left for hotel guests as they had been reserved for people who pay for expensive drinks packages.

    Views impressive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in restaurant very poor quality & service. Room cleaning very inconsistent or non-existent. One day our room not cleaned at all despite 3 requests. Rude staff at pool & ridiculous rules about dress & daypacks. Also, drinks service ordinary & expensive. Door hosts barely acknowledge your existence on arrival. We complained to management & nothing was done other than apologise. Not good enough. There are all the signs of systemic failures here that can only be attributed to poor management. A sad position given the hotel’s proud history.

    Not much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Our stay was comfortable but not as I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was completely enclosed and pictures and description were that it was outdoor. One of main reasons I chose the Mondrian was to enjoy outdoor pool and sun. Also, deposit was the amount of entire stay which I think is really excessive. That is the reason you take credit info in case of damage. Have never heard of that amount for hotel.

    Loved the rooms and decor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    Room was spacious, view is good, pool bar is fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is uncomfortable and needs to be replaced, check in staff were lovely but the rest were not attentive or not even just nice, $20 daily fee charged for bottles of water, wifi & coffee but included water confusingly placed near other chargeable water. We ended up spending ~$70 on water without realising.

    Room was spacious, view is good, pool bar is fun. This is a good hotel if you want to party

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    3.8
    Very unhelpful and the staff wasn’t pleasant like the previous four stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was put in a disabled room when I paid for a king delux and never offered the difference back in money. The hotel is in need of modernising and will stay elsewhere in future

    No much as there was a poor service and I was over charged for the room I ended up staying in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    I did not like that the bathroom was visible from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that the bathroom was visible from the bedroom and that the shower window was only covered by a thin flimsy sheet. A little awkward when you are traveling with a friend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.4
    I would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Valet was very expensive, the air conditioning in the room was broken and it took over 1 hour to get someone upstairs to fix it, the room was on the first floor facing the pool which was very loud at night (and I had requested a silent room). The employees at the check-in desk were very slow and I was waiting over 15 minutes to speak with someone. We asked for a bottle of water and told we had to pay $10 - absurd! We were also told we were going to get free vouchers for the pool party and never received.

    Inside the room was decent. And the showers were nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.3
    Overall I will not stay again !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly at all ! If this hotel want to call them self 5 start hotel they have long way to go ...water is liking from the bathroom thru the bedroom! Mess

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.0
    Big room, nice view, good locations, Nice receptionists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service wasn’t good, bed should be replaced, lights in bathroom wasn’t working properly, hair on floors and coffee tablets wasn’t refilled, the wardrobes should be bigger.

    Big room, nice view, good locations, Nice receptionists

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    4.6
    Run down hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel needs a renovation badly. This is far from Morgans Hotel Group standard. Stained carpets and curtains, balcony door could not be fully opened due to damage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.3
    Great location , gorgeous pool and restaurant area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is extortionate, rooms are very dated and not in any way modern. WiFi isn’t included which is crazy in 2018. Room service is ridiculously expensive - it’s 7 dollars for a bowl of cereal!

    Great location , gorgeous pool and restaurant area. Nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Overpriced, Aging Sunset Strip Hotel with Views Charges $20 a Day for WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps par for the course in the area, but $44 a day for parking seemed rediculous. Funky flatscreen TV sandwiched inside a Sleeping Beauty mirror was all reflections and hard to watch. Required additional fee of $20 per day included the wifi, so in effect the hotel does not have free WiFi. The $20 per day fee included four espresso pods and two small Evian waters, but they were confusingly positioned on the same tray as a larger bottle of Evian and Badoit water. The rest of the for-cost items were on a silver tray, so this further convinced me the white tray represented the included-for-$20-per-day items. I found out the hard way that those additional bottles on the same tray were $14 each. Ouch. The staff at the bar was flippant and unpleasant to interact with.

    Room was spacious and view was nice. Appreciated the in-room espresso machine. Bed was comfortable. Safe worked as advertised. The WiFi was fast and reliable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Awesome trip and great experience at Mondrian
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is not a comment related to poor service on the hotel's part -- but it is an important point if you have business to do (or visits scheduled) in other parts of LA -- ESPECIALLY ANYWHERE ON THE WEST SIDE. LA will never solve its traffic problems - but you have to allow at least AN HOUR and A HALF to get to Santa Monica. THAT aspect of LA (I lived there for 20 years) is....appalling. I'd like to speak in 'real language' to describe it -- but I'll keep it professional and just say try to limit trips to the west side!

    The property is obviously expensive vs other hotels -- but it is an experience. Between the pool, the bars, the fine dining, 24 hr room service - and just about anything - literally - you may want within walking distance- this is my new favorite LA Hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Day bed in the room was nice and loved the size of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was 80 degrees all week but the pool was covered by a greenhouse-like enclosure which didn't allow for a breeze so was quite stifling.

    Day bed in the room was nice and loved the size of the rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Incredible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The warm hospitality from every staff member of the Mondrian hotel From valet parking to concierge service, front desk, room cleaning service staff, bar restaurant (Mr Bishop) Fantastic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Staff at bar and restaurant are ALWAYS so moody as if they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at bar and restaurant are ALWAYS so moody as if they do not want to be there. It seems like everything is a struggle for them and your bothering them by just being there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.4
    The hotel does not look like the website photos.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel does not look like the website photos. The website photos make the hotel seem very modern and sophisticated. In reality, the hotel has a very old and the rooms have a pretty odd layout. The pool does not look like it does in the photos-- in the winter it is all screened off. The hotel is clean and the staff is accommodating. At night it is very much a club scene. If you are traveling for business I would not recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    4.2
    Noise on Saturday morning at 7am fixing elevators.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise on Saturday morning at 7am fixing elevators. Even after I called and complained - no change. Didn't care to ask about this, no mention on check out. Good location - but its an old place and hotel service is not worth it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    5.8
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Double Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dirty, room on the floor above us was super noisy all night, inebriated patrons were ringing our doorbell late into the night, reception staff could not care less

    Location was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.7
    Overrated boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a typical overrated boutique hotel that pretend to be very fancy but it is not. Wi-Fi signal was very weak next to the bed. Remote control didn’t work and they could not fix it on my 5-day stay. Breakfast not included which is a bummer for the price. Sunset Boulevard gets really jammed at night making it difficult to drive back to the hotel.

    Room is enormous, sexy, sunny and very confortable. The view to the Hollywood hills is amazing. The swimming pool area on the lobby is also great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Fabulous in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The friendliness and efficiency of staff is top notch. The rooms are very well appointed and spacious. Lovely little kitchenette, and luxurious walk in shower room, with rain shower overhead and also a hand-held hose from which the water flows simultaneously. The bed and pillows are sup comfortable and the sofa bed is huge. We had view of the Hollywood Hills and Sunset Boulevarde, and the hotel is walking distance to Sunset Plaza and many famous bars and restaurants. And of course, the Sky Bar is just such a fab and fun place to hang out! We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for wifi Pool roof covered in plastic was not very nice.

    Very confortable bed and very spacious room with two showers Nice food Nice staff, friendly and professional Great location!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    Overall a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with the covered pool area plastic roof, I think it lets the hotel down when left on during sunny days. The top pool bar could do with a freshen up and the staff could be more attentive to the guests pool side, rather than guests having to get up and go to the bar or restaurant for anything they need.

    Attentive restaurant staff and room cleaners were great. Room size was amazing, and a well stocked minibar and amenities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    View of city from restaurant/breakfast were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is expensive in a city hotel, obviously. No free wi-fi.

    View of city from restaurant/breakfast were great. It was expensive but good with a great setting so not a ripoff, unlike some other places where it's just expensive. Rooms are extremely funky/aggressively modern, but they made up the day bed for our fourth traveler just fine (the rest of us were in the king).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.0
    Rooms are nice, But dirty stained towels is a dealbreaker
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets and towels were not cleaned well, brown and dark stains on them. Staff did not take our comments seriously enough to consider making our stay an even better one.

    Nice Spacious Rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    High style, and comfortable, too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lunch was tasty and eating outside was fun...then the place was repurposed in the evening, replete with zillions of candles and a Euro disco soundtrack, and we got a drink sitting by the pool (only to be evicted because someone had reserved "table service," whick was a kinda busch league move).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    2.5
    Would not stay here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I checked in on Sunday and stayed on the ninth floor. As I was checking in early because of flight arrivals, the only room available was an upgraded room for and extra $50 per night. Because of the recommendations I had received from friends about your hotel being such a great boutique hotel, I had no problems spending the extra. That is where the good impressions finished. Upon checking into the room, lights above the kitchen area did not work, there was POT (marijuana) residue on the mat in the safe, white powder residue on the bench in the kitchen and on the table just inside the door. I understand they cannot control what guests do within the rooms, but they certainly do have control over housekeeping cleaning up and getting rid of the evidence from previous guests so the next guests do not see it. I did mention to housekeeping on the first morning about the lights, but nothing happened from that. During my stay, I understand that my floor was a non-smoking room floor, but I all I could smell morning, noon and night was the constant smell of POT emanating from multiple rooms and filling corridors and every one of the elevators with such a strong smell, I felt dizzy by the time I hit the lobby each time I went in the elvators. Other guests that were in the lift from Australia and New York also commented how bad it was. I understand marijuana is currently legal in LA, but this still doesn’t stop the fact that not all your guests are into this sort of thing. On my last stay I stayed at a much cheaper hotel, and had the same issue, so that is why I decided to spend a lot more so I wouldn’t have to experience it again, ONLY to find out it is MUCH worse at your hotel. If this is the clientele they are trying to attract, then they have achieved it. Meals at the Restaurant are well over priced. 2 ham and cheese croissants and an orange juice was $33.60 :-(

    Nice views and comfy bed Hotel did refund the extra $50.00 per night after I sent them and email advising of my stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more milk cartons as needed two per cup and only 2 were left each day. Would have helped with the jet lag

    Room was fresh and clean, great view from the sky at and restaurant and good choice of wines. Bath products are good. Staff very attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable l, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The promo pictures are defiantly better than reality. The rooms are clean and on first look beautiful, but when you peer closer you get the impression an old decor has been dressed to impress on a limited budget.

    Remember rooms are large and airy, the bathroom was stunning and the bar in the evening has a good vibe

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful Hotel. Awful Valet Experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our great impression of the hotel was completely shattered by the aggressive and pushy (not to be confused with helpful) experience with the valet ‘team’ when checking out. Apart from one nice gentleman, the younger team were clearly all about the tips and made sure we heard their comment about how little they would get each once our tip was shared between them all. We had two light hand luggage bags and did not expect nor need help, yet we basically had our bags forced out of our hands. Very surly and unnecessary behavior - we had been very polite and cheerful, yet ironically, they were the ones who acted cheaply.

    We loved the SkyBar Restaurant and Pool Area, where we enjoyed a delicious brunch of Shrimp Cocktail, Club Sandwich, Tuna Nicoise Salad along with a cold beer and a bloody mary! Rooms were spacious and quite luxurious - nice toiletries, and day bed. We also had an awesome view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.8
    The team at the front desk seemed very overwhelmed and took...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The team at the front desk seemed very overwhelmed and took a length time to get to use. I had booked through separate King Suites on Booking.com. We were told that we would be given larger rooms, when, the rooms were smaller. I was personally them relocated to another room, but had to come back down to the front desk. The manager informed me that he would credit the other 2 rooms $50 each, but the statements just arrived and that was not the case. I was very disappointed with the customer service. The restaurant and bar staff were great. Can’t say the same for the front desk/reception.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    4.6
    Poor communication about the pool not being in use ruined our trip, hotel is basic without it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Double Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This was by far one of the worst experiences that I have had in a hotel of this standard. We booked in to stay at this hotel a few months ago on a recommendation because of its pool and restaurant. At check in the hotel produced us with a letter to say that the pool area would be close for 5 days which was our entire stay, to say this was distressing news was an understatement, we were offered the use of a neighbouring hotels pool and an apology. What was most frustrating was that prior to our trip we were not provided with any information of the pool closure nor given the option of making an informed decision. Had we of been given the option we would of chosen another hotel at half the price with a fully working pool. After much complaining i was finally offered $200 back which didnt even cover one nights stay and the promise of some drinks tokens that never materialised. The room looked nothing like pictures and we were given a room that overlooked a building site, we could hear construction from early in the morning which meant we could lay in on our vacation. The cool looking TV only worked on a few stations and the maids barley made our beds and replaced the towels. All in all this hotel is completely overrated and not worth the money. The pool experience ruined our trip to LA. This hotel does not look like it does in pictures and the front office staff are not equipped to deal with basic requests without having to call in the manager.

    The location was the best thing about his hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    3.3
    Tatty, tired and worn hotel - needs a like of paint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    whole place is tatty, tired and worn. Needs a refurb and lick of paint. Rooms really noisy - you can hear the traffic on the road. no one at the hotel tells you about anything going on at the bar/ club and lots of miscommunication about everything in the hotel. There is no shower curtain on the shower which is annoying - not everyone is in a couple and wants to see the person they are staying with having a shower. They charge you a whole another night if you want to check out late.

    pool area was fun and it has a bar that's open late that's good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Terrible. Don't stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Double Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was shocking. Rudest people on front desk. Wouldn't recommend this hotel. They also let the public in off the street to use the pool at no cost so it's always overcrowded and full of undesirable people at times. My friend and I were often harassed by the pool. Food left a lot to be desired. They tried to take a $3000US room hold for our week stay, and then when we offered to pay up front to avoid that happening, they still instisted on removing our mini bar, banning us from charging back to our room, and stilll made us leave $500 US. On what planet has a hotel been so untrusting when the accomodation is already fully paid anyway! So so bad. Do not stay here. So many better options. Every time I heard the concierge on the phone he was handling a complaint. Laughable. Sort it out Mondrian!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel policy for charging customers to deliver packages to the room should be revised, it’s just non-sense. Some guests were given a tour, we were not and not sure why.

    Staff were friendly. Room was spacious and comfortable. Location was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Classic LA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The clientele can be pretty nauseating.

    I have stayed here before on business and it has always been very comfortable with excellent facilities. It's in a perfect location and it is very Los Angeles if you were visiting for the first time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    Good, but nothing amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit of an old hotel, bathroom not really at the level, and the staff is unfriendly, if you request for a glass of wine it takes approximatively 45minutes when you order it with your food, when your food arrives in 20minutes. Well not the best service at all, but the hotel is nice, not amazing.

    The view from the room, the pool, well located.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Nearly but not quite perfect....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coming back to me room around 2am, desperate to get to bed it took 15mins and 4 trips to reception to gain access to my room. My electronic key battery had failed. It was frustrating to say the least. A minor blip but not good enough for the money. Also, the room decor was nothing like I'd seen on the website. It didn't quite meet expectations.

    Lovely pool, bar, restaurant and food. Great view from my room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.3
    Suites were enormous, breakfast great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a party hotel. Please remember it's a party hotel, and the Skybar takes preference over hotel guests.

    Suites were enormous, breakfast great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    4.2
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I felt this was over rated. I get the decor in the rooms had a deco style theme to it but it was shabby. Wallpaper peeling. Shower tiles in disrepair etc. The shower was terrible. The staff not overly attentive. Felt like a place to be seen in rather than to stay in and get any kind of service for the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the rooms is a little tired, but the rooms are big and have a great view.

    The staff are really helpful, we arrived 3 hours before check in desperate for a shower after a festival. The lovely receptionist gave us a room immediately and was just delightful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.3
    Place is perfect for location and pool but I paid $500 to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Double Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is perfect for location and pool but I paid $500 to stay 1 night and had to pay extra for WiFi haha what a joke of a place.! Just for that stupidity I wouldn't go back.!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel amazing location great resteraunt and food! Shame about the noise late at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sky bar music goes until 2 am so if you plan to rest this is almost impossible

    Rooms are great spacious location is amazing and the resteraunt food is amazing !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Modern and clean rooms, great pool, staff allowed us to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on level 1 and music was very loud until 3am right outside the room. Then house keeping entered the room at 8am while we were still in bed.

    Modern and clean rooms, great pool, staff allowed us to check in early

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    good location, great large rooms, staff need more training on their attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff were not friendly - a very pretentious atmosphere from all of the staff we encountered including at the pool, the concierge/bell men and staff at the outdoor bar area near the restaurant. We were asked for ID to enter the pool - even though we just wanted a swim not a drink. I look older than the pool boy - where is his ID?

    great size rooms, good maid service - she was quick and friendly everyday, nice food at the restaurant, easy to get to good restaurants and shops on sunset blvd

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had issues with checking in and my credit card not being accepted which led to me having to withdraw cash from their ATM which charged me lots of fees. Using the same fully working credit card. Front desk should've found a way to accept a fully functioning credit card that has worked all over the world.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.3
    The staff are nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's noisy. Be aware this is a party hotel and there is loud music every single night at the pool which most rooms look on to until midnight or 2 depending on what day. Any riff raff can go in they do not require proof you are a guest. Under the bed was filthy. There is no safe in the room

    The staff are nice. The location is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    LA is a great city to party, catch the sun and sight see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The constant thumping poolside DJ If you want a quiet and relaxing hotel, don't stay here. There are events and private parties in the week that prevent you from using all the facilities.

    The room was great and very clean. The pool and the view was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    A fun place to stay with lots of walking options to coffee, restaurant and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have loved a coffee/tea maker in the room.

    Hotel has a great vibe and lots of different places to hang out with great views over LA. The king suite is so spacious and great for a mother/daughter visit!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    4.6
    Used to stay regularly, great location, good pool area but this hotel has really gone downhill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Double Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor, chipped worn out furniture, one bed felt like it was off the back of a dumpster. Thin threadbare towels. Not ever enough towels for rooms guests. Dirty, poorly cleaned, poorly maintained. Whole place felt tired and grubby.

    The pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.8
    Design hotel but room confort lacking in the details
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For this level of hotel, we would expect a much greater attention to details and the room is lacking all the little details that would have made our stay much more enjoyable. no toothbrushholder, no tissue paper, no kettle or cofee/tea in the room. Room i very design but not functional. Wifi is chargeable for in room use. Parking is extremeky expensive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.3
    For a 5* hotel at a rate of $400 + tax per night: underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Corridors had a pervasive smell of marijuana. No kettle or tea bags provided in the room (kettle and mug available only on request). Weekend pool parties frequently occur and they essentially deem the sole hotel pool unusable for hotel guests (make sure you check ahead to find out if pool parties are scheduled). They may be able to ship you out to a neighbouring hotel (e.g. The Grafton, which seemed lovely and a bit of an oasis vs. the raucous noise from the pool party) to use their pool at no extra cost if space permits and in which case, perhaps you should be staying at that neighbouring hotel instead? Hotel toiletries were reused from the previous guests on our first day - as evidenced by dry crusty shampoo inside the cap and broken seal. Housekeeping cleaned our room heavily with bleach (perhaps it's a necessity in some rooms?!) so you will need to air the rooms upon your return. NOTE: the hotel flip flops are NOT complimentary, and you will be charged $25 each + tax if you remove them from the room. So be warned: in case you wear them down to the pool after check out, you need to return them and in case you cannot locate the price list that details the flip flops, it can be found on the MINI BAR price list because they clearly are considered to be a food item. Consumption however is not recommended!

    Comfortable bed and good pillows. Spacious balcony which allowed for plenty of fresh air. Well located.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    Stayed in the 1 bedroom suite with two teenager and found it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone is kicked out of the pool around 17:00 when the hotel staff want to convert the pool area to a "cool" lounge and bar area for the evening crowd, just the time most families returned from their day on the town and wanted to take a refreshing swim.

    Stayed in the 1 bedroom suite with two teenager and found it brilliant. Large enough to have an extra bed rolled in and the sofa was super comfy to sleep in when bedded. The view was to die for and the staff ambitious, courteous and attentive. Found location very good too. All that I missed was a nice breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    5.8
    Not a place for children/teenagers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a place for children/teenagers. Our room was lovely with nice balcony but constant smell of substances being smoked. Very noisy. Pool is lovely but very small. Overpriced for what it is. Gym/Fitness Centre is very small and outdated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Mondrian has great views and a great location. The pool is a scene, but your room is serene.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room service was pricey (as expected), but with a CVS down the street - grab some Fiji water and snacks as backup sustenance. Definitely, ask the attendant for the wifi code instead of inputting your room #.

    Great location and comfortable accommodations! Spacious room and good for entertaining or working in peace. The bathroom is an odd layout, but the Malin and Goetz soaps and cleansers are appreciated. The pool is a scene on the weekends, get there early to get a spot (even for hotel guests) -- and even on a Monday afternoon, it's still energetic and fun. I enjoyed the restaurant for a quiet morning breakfast overlooking the city, and I took the opportunity to see a show at The Comedy Store right across the street. Sunset Tower Bar is a great neighboring hotel for cocktails.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: