Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Monteleone 4 stars

214 Royal Street, French Quarter (Vieux Carré), New Orleans, LA 70130, USA

#10 of 148 hotels in New Orleans

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 811 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    EVERYTHING about this hotel was MAGICAL! The service is above any other than we've ever experienced! Will definitely return! THANK YOU TO THE ENTIRE STAFF AT THE HOTEL MONTELEONE!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Well, you are leaving your room at 9-10am for a walk around a city, and coming back at 4-5pm to refresh and get ready for a dinner. In every hotel ,room would be clean and ready, but not in this one. Housekeeping is coming exactly at this time then you have to get ready for the dinner. So, you have to leave your room or just cancel cleaning your room. ( Hey, less work for housekeeping). Asked reception to change cleaning time, but nothing has change. So in 6 days housekeeping cleaned my room only 2 times, for 2000$ what I paid for 6 nights.. Poor, very Poor service. Plus rooms are really small... Overpriced hotel!!!

    Very good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a problem getting our car from valet parking when checking out . Car was taken to front of hotel instead of garage...waited an hour in garage waiting area and we finally found out in front on our own and they never informed us.

    Great bed and room was cool and comfortable. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vieux Carre Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dark and noisy. Staff very good on the whole especially at reception but we had poor experience with outdoor wait staff and chef at breakfast. Breakfast cooking was deplorable. Wailtress forgetful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you go to the Carousel Bar in the lobby in the afternoon they only had two waitstaff for the floor area between the two bars; bring your patience getting an adult beverage or your check. That said, it is worth the wait to have a drink and people watch.

    Great hotel, breakfast was wonderful their restaurant Criollo. Pool and fitness facilities were top notch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was excellent. Comfortable beds, very nice room, loved the carousel bar, very friendly staff and also very helpful. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A very nice and historic venue. Very quiet even in the bustling French Quarter. Rooms were extremely nice, and the staff couldn’t have been any nicer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor complaint: No sunshades at rooftop pool. Music too loud and not Really relaxing.

    Location fantastic. Old world hotel with all modern day amenities, excellent for a treat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small for the price & view, valet fee was really too high.

    Very convenient to the French Quarter, bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too too small and bathroom really small furniture scuffed. Food on tray outside over 24 hours. Elevators inadequate Not enough staff in bar area

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have our room made up on Sunday despite complaining at 5 pm and going out again,we felt the staff on reception did not do enough to remedy our frustration. This hotel had an air of trading on its prior reputation

    Location excellent large comfortable room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rather expensive for what you get and breakfast is also very expensive. But I guess this is normal in this part of New Orleans.

    Very well located in the French Quarter of New Orleans. People are very kind and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking with the hotel one month in advance and making several calls confirming we had the proper rooms requested - Accessible Room with walk-in shower and King bed. We very disappointed when at check-in we were informed that our Accessible room w/king size bed was not available. They would need to give us double beds. Even though it was confirmed with the hotel several times prior to our visit. Our Accessible Room was not ready at until around 5:00 (after we went to front desk several times). We were finally given an accessible room. Housekeeping came in with new chair, iron, and lamp. Housekeeping indicated that they did not think anyone would be using room. I would recommend that all accessible room be ready upon the earliest checking in time. If rooms are not ready, it becomes a burden for the guest.

    The property was well kept and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk woke us up at 6:30 AM with a bellman knocking at our door (which frightened me), and a follow up phone call that a bellman was waiting outside our door to get our bags. They had come to/ called the wrong room, we had NOT requested that, and were staying another night. Although the beds were incredibly comfy, i couldn't go back to sleep after that.

    Amazing beds, the carousel bar, the pool and the spa

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    That I had to pay 40.00 a night for Parking should be free. And the fact my wife is handicapped and still had to pay so much is just bad service for that reason I will not come back and stay there. And just because everyone is doing that charging for parking does not mean you should also.

    The staff was very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridor & areas around elevators were not hoovered during our 7 days at the hotel despite rooms being cleaned & tidied each day.

    Location & ambience was typical for New Orleans. Roof top pool & bar was an excellent place to end the day before dinner. Staff were very helpful & courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was uncomfortably small

    I’ve stayed at the hotel often and always had a pleasant experience- making the higher price worth it. However the room i stayed in was uncomfortably small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carousel bar was SUPER crowded all the time - not at all the hotel’s fault of course but I was disappointed we really couldn’t spend much time there at all because it was just really loud and overrun with people.

    Loved the location, the roof deck pool was perfect, the room was comfortable and clean, and the staff was super friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything else. Beds are HORRIBLE. Pillows do not support your head they're these old flat horrible things. Everything looks old musty and threadbare. Housekeepers don't make your room up apparently unless you ask the hotel lobby to make it so.

    Honestly? I didn't like anything about this hotel save for it's history and the carousel bar and even that was overrated in a smelly horrible room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom in our room You could hear the noise from the street in the room especially during the weekend Not all the front desk stuff was nice

    Great location,nice rooftop pool Good bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    cost

    the rooms are very nice and beds awesome! Service and atmosphere is the best on Bourbon Street. the Hotel bar is an attraction for people not staying in the hotel. we had breakfast the last morning and the benedict and beignets were incredible. also, bloody mary was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking did not accommodate large NV 3500 which I can understand. The complimentary bottle of wine was about the worst wine I had ever tasted. I would just not offer anything and it would be better. My wife did notice a small roach in the bathroom which she flipped out over, but I wasn't too worried.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms had nice touch and appearance. Overall enjoyable experience and bonus that hotel was close to event and all places we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As an older Hotel, the bathroom is really small with very little counter space. The shower curtain is a little funky and the beds are very soft. Some people like that but maybe too soft for some. But hey, you're in the Quarter and don't want to spend much time in your room.

    Best location in the French Quarter! On Royal Street, a much nicer and saner place than Bourbon Street which is only one block away. Don't need a car, walk everywhere or take trolley downtown. Gorgeous historic building. Great carousel bar. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom was a little small. Noise from street could be heard at night, even on the 11th floor. But I guess that's the nature of the staying right in the heart of the French Quarter.

    Size of room was wonderful. We had a corner room with great views. Room also beautifully decorated. Had a mini-fridge, which we like. The concierge was very helpful in every way, including restaurant recommendations. Location in the French Quarter was fantastic. Right in the hub of things, but NOT on noisy Bourbon Street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful facility, location was great for seeing sights of NOLA. Pool and Bars were excellent. Would recommend to anyone wanting to see the French Quarter area of NO.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was beyond friendly and helpful. Rooms a little small but you are only there to sleep so I did not mind. But over all, I would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location is great and the staff is outstanding. The pool is wonderful and the atmosphere is great. Quiet hotel, so after long days and nights you can get some sleep!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tight squeeze bathroom... carpet seem to need upgrade... ‘bed’ was lower quality (seemed to be ‘old style’ spring type)

    Staff, location, old school ambiance

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only a personal point of view but hotel too big and impersonal for our liking, couldn't get into the carousel bar as so popular with tourists

    Only had breakfast a couple of times but was excellent, great choice. Room very comfortable, great shower and bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This bed felt like I was sleeping on a cloud. I would love to have taken it home with me so that I could sleep like this everyday. The food we ate for breakfast was delicious and better than I expected it to be. Everything was around the hotel so we didn't have to walk to far to get anywhere. We had an amazing time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge for parking which I didn’t like. 44. Dollars a night. 😮

    Great location in the French quarter with an excellent restaurant across street. Close to everything. Very quiet room and comfortable bed!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    HAVING STAYED THERE BEFORE, WE EXPECTED THE RESTAURANT TO BE VERY GOOD; HOWEVER, THE FOOD WAS MARGINAL AND THE SERVICE WAS TERRIBLE. THIS WAS THE BIGGEST PROBLEM WE ENCOUNTERED.

    THE HOTEL IS VERY ATTRACTIVE

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the tours in the lobby were very loud and they crowded the lobby which made it hard to get through when I needed to go outside. The noise level was, at times, extremely loud and that was annoying.

    The bed was super comfortable and the pillows were really great. I like it when you have a choice in pillows and that was what was on the bed, some firm and some soft. Really nice touch. The mattress was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vieux Carre Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. The couch was wore out and also uncomfortable. Light switches in bathroom were hit and miss with working and The thermostat in bedroom didn’t work. Also the carpet looked very wore out and pieces of carpet was missing by the fridge.

    Nice view and very spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Keith greeted us upon our arrival and made our entire visit feel like we were welcome family. The hotel is impeccable, we had an amazing birthday breakfast with Q, who made my 86 year old father feel like king for a day. We've always stayed at the Ritz in NO before. So glad it was booked this year. From now on, we will stay at the Monteleone!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved it all!

    Bed was very comfy, shower was amazing (great shower head), loved our view from our room (we were on the 16th floor), left our luggage checked downstairs for the day while we explored the city more and had no issues picking it up, we always were met with friendly, helpful faces, had an overall easy and great experience!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned properly for all three days we were there. Expensive for no reason really. Don't understand the hype!

    It was close to shopping. Easy to find. The door guys were really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exhaust fan in bath area didn't seem to work; lots of humidity after shower, but this is a very small matter on an otherwise outstanding hotel.

    Exquisite condition of entire facility, excellent city view fitness facility with fruit, Criollo restaurant superb. Doormen personable and friendly, concierge very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing I can think of. Loved it all.

    I found the hotel lovely and elegant and quite beyond my expectations; the rooms clean and comfortable (my bed had seven pillows and I slept like a log), and the staff helpful, friendly and courteous. I took advantage of the in-room dining service on several occasions and the food was excellent. I managed to get on the Carousel Bar only once during my seven night visit, but it was definitely worth the wait - I met such interesting people. The hotel location was perfect, within easy walking distance and central to almost everywhere I needed to get to. I would definitely stay at the Hotel Monteleone again and would not hesitate to recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room size- poor upkeep 1 lamp switch not working-bath exhaust not working i.e. in morning mirrors where steamed up from other rooms using showers before we used them. Very evident from pealing paint on ceiling.

    location and staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s getting a little tired but by America. Standards it’s okay. What really lets it down though, and it can’t do anything about this, is what a dump New Orleans is!

    Central location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no window and elevator action reverberated throughout room. Upsetting! Management should make you aware of issue and opt for better room. Rooms small and bathroom almost impossible to manuever

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    thin walls...heard people come in at all hours. Tiny bathrooms, but nicely done. Smallish rooms. Also,treatment by a front desk employee who totally disregarded an issue I brought to his attention and actually made me cry. He never let me talk to a manager and the next day when I checked out, he didn't recognize me!

    great location, perfect beds, great sheets, wonderful doormen...a grand old hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost! The room per night was pretty high considering we were in New Orleans and not NYC.

    The restaurant's food exceeded our expectation. The food was fabulous and the staff was amazing! Over all the every staff member we came in contact was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, bad service, sheets were not fitted, we got scammed and missed our flight by the doorman they also required that all of my guest had wristbands and charged me 25 dollars for each one over 2.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    shower water pressure very poor. restaurant service and food subpar.

    great ambiance. extremely friendly staff. excellent room. person that cleaned room outstanding! Except for elevator noise (we were very close to elevator) room very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property exceeded my expectations as well as my partner. The staff was extra friendly and helpful in recommending different places to visit. Being that it was Mardi Gras, the rooms seemed soundproof and the hotel was not noisy at all. Also, our room was upgraded to a suite since it was our anniversary! I definitely would recommend this hotel to everyone especially couples.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left bracelet for my husband and put his name on room at the front desk. He arrived later than I did on Friday night. At midnight they wouldn't let him up, said that I wasn't a guest at that hotel. I had to go down and get him after he was finally able to wake me by calling cell. Hotel wouldn't even call the room. They called a friends room but they were out. This went on for over and hour. We Returned to front desk the next morning and the lady that I had spoke to earlier was there. She remembered and pulled the note up on computer that she left for the front desk explaining. She apologized and give our bracelet back. I would have rated staff perfect if his wouldn't have been such a big problem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely but I will stay somewhere different next visit as I personally Do not like the congestion of being near/in the French Quarter.

    Lovely hotel; great staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    walls very thin, neighbor kept us awake all night bathroom is ridiculously small...no counter space, only 1 person can fit at a time bed uneven, huge divot in middle wish they had a microwave

    location is nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All OK

    Amenities were just about perfect. There was sufficient room, comfortable beds, enough connections for power and USB. I felt very much "at home" in the hotel and the room. The view over the Mississippi was a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in lady had a very heavy foreign accent and was rude and hard to understand.

    The bed was a cloud and the staff amazing! The carrousel bar in the lobby-so much fun! Traditions of New Orleans -priceless!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little dingy, it seemed to have been cleaned in a rush upon check in.

    The door man was so friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent and the location of the hotel was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs renovation as the rooms are old and tired. The bathroom was very small, definitely only big enough for one person at a time. There are definitely better hotels in the French Quarter.

    The location was great. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The valet attendant left the parking brakes on when he brought our car from the garage and that messed up my brake system in my Lexus SUV

    bed was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I heard the hotel was haunted... would've been cool to see a ghost haha

    from the moment we arrived at valet our bell man was hilarious and we knew we were going to have a great time. All the staff were amazing and helpful, and the hotel is in a perfect location. The hotel itself is absolutely stunning and the Carousel Bar there is a must.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was VERY small. So small I actually hit my head on the towel rack while using it. Toilet paper was almost unreachable. Also, housekeeping never answered the phone and never left enough soap/towels, so we were constantly having to get more things for our room. Front desk was very helpful with this so it wasn't that much of a problem, just something worth noting.

    Staff especially the doormen were great. Also loved the Carousel Bar and the bartenders there. Hotel is beautiful and in a great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary water. The bathroom very small. Very noisy - would suggest if allocated a room across from lift you so to be moved. One door man was rude and pushy in the taxi to the airport - wanted us to take Taxi at $45 where our uber was $29. Was very rude. The others were lovely

    The restaurant was very good and the fitness centre excellent. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to walk a block in the freezing cold with my luggage to get my car from the Solari's Garage

    Exudes Old New Orleans Charm, Great Bar, Roof Top Pool and Gym, Centrally located in the French Quarter. We were in town to see the Sugar Bowl, Clemson vs Bama and we walked to and from the Superdome easily.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa there is small and not exactly laid out or designed properly. I felt cramped.

    The hotel is beautiful. The location is right in the middle of the French quarter and close walking distance to all that there is to do in New Orleans. The staff was helpful and very thorough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude and hotel was unable to accommodate the capacity of holiday travelers. Room Service wait was over 2 hours and once arrived the orders were wrong or missing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was unable to get into the Carousel bar very busy.

    I like the location in the heart of the French Quarters. If you are flying in just catch Uber no need for a car.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was VERY soft, likely old, and was not good for my sleep. Room quite small. Bathroom was well maintained, clean, etc., but small and awkwardly shaped and laid out.

    The hotel's public areas reflect its long history, and are beautifully maintained. The live jazz is great, the lobby gorgeous, the bar seemed nice too. The staff were proactively friendly and helpful. I was particularly impressed that they allowed us to check out early without penalty due to the problems we had with the beds and rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The $40 charge to park your vehicle is never all that welcome but necessary and consistent with other hotels in the city.

    We love and appreciate all white bedding and this hotel was also very quiet in the room. The pool was heated and could be used year round. Walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were NO towels in our room. We called and were told they were on the way. However, we had to go to Commander's Palace without having showered. The towels arrived nearly 2 hours after calling.

    I liked the location and the bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service and atmosphere is unbeatable. There is so much character in this beautiful place. My parents have been coming there since 1939. Our bellman has been working there for 59 years. He is 80 years old and still lifting bags like a young man.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The price was a little high - but you get what you pay for....

    The Hotel is extremely well maintained and the staff go out of their way to be helpful. I will never stay at another hotel in New Orleans - The Hotel Monteleone is the BEST! The decorations for the upcoming holiday were beautiful....and even extended down the hallway to the garage - nice touch!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not eat in the restaurant after hearing others in our party complain about lack of service. Plenty of wonderful places to eat nearby. Why suffer lack of attention from wait staff? Because of the excellent location, there is a lot of street noise late into the night. we were on 4th floor, and it may be quieter higher up.

    The location is hard to beat. We were able to walk to several of the locations we planned to visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little tired/small Restaurant very busy without non-resident guests which made for good atmosphere but slow service and no warning that need to reserve a table. It was close to Thanksgiving. Staff apologised for slow service.

    Great staff. Good location. Decor

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No housekeeping card. Just privacy card to hang on door.There should have housekeeping sign. Our room 1028 was VERY noisy due to constantly use.

    Great staff. Location. Housekeeping staff helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping ! We left the hotel in the morning to site see and returned around 3:00 pm! We were tired and thought by then our room would have been cleaned! Not so! We had to go down the hall and locate a housekeeper to get clean towels, shampoo and coffee items so we could take a nap!

    The bed was like a cloud! The room was comfortable and the lobby, restaurant and lounge has a beautiful atmosphere! Very relaxing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing more I could have wanted from the staff or surroundings.

    The room was decorated beautifully. The showerhead was awesome and the bed was so very comfortable. Our (2) nights stay exceeded our expectation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small but it really didn't matter, as we weren't there to spend time in the room.

    Hotel in perfect French Quarter location within walking distance to many restaurants, bars, shopping, river front etc. Loved the Carousel Bar and comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very comfortable, bed was fantastic, restaurant was very well done, and the bar is a legend. The staff was courteous and very warm. We asked for a room at the back of the hotel, and it was lovely and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both rooms were looking at a wall! Not nice at all. Location is not so good, though Royal st is very nice is not so good to be too close to Canal st. I woulld recommend being closer to the cathedral and to the end of Royal street more in the quiet area of the french neighbourhood

    The hotel is very nice. All the amenities, rooms, bar, lobby everything is lovely and in good condition

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Monteleone traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: