Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Stevenson Monterey 3 stars

675 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940, USA

#35 of 67 hotels in Monterey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1245 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    Staff was excellent and very friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of its location right next to a gas station, it seemed like there were creepy people loitering nearby for a good part of the evening.

    Staff was excellent and very friendly! Always love it when there are waffle makers for the continental breakfast. Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in a friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotels location whilst great for getting to the wharf was also very noisey. We could hear the buses pulling in and out of the stops on the main road and the petrol station forecourt was quite loud.

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful, the receptionist, manager, breakfast staff and cleaners; everyone of them were great, thank you. The room had everything we needed, was clean and the breakfast each morning was very welcome,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay in monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of noise at uncomfortable times, but one can live with that.

    Comfortable and nice, good wifi and loads of things to do. Right in the centre. Everything to see or do is within walking distance of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    4.6
    very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old room not accurate with the photos shower problems AC too loud to sleep view from the room : a gas station! cars all night long .. overall very noisy

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    We had room 109.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con unit a bit loud

    We had room 109. It was on the ground floor. Very quiet. No noise from the road. Breakfast was plentiful and good choices. The room was big. It is next to a gas station but we got no noise. 15 min walk to The Wharfe. Plenty of bars and shops close buy. Del Monte shopping outlet where there is a Macy’s is just a 5 mins drive away.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    6.7
    A convenient location and was quiet even with lots of traffic in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom ceiling leaked...water all over the floor. Turns out the room above took too many showers per the front desk. But it would have been nice to have received some credit on my bill for the problem. And the coffee maker stopped midway so I believe there was an electrical problem.

    The bed was nice and the ADA room was ok except for not having a shower.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quiet room was two down from the reception so not very quiet.

    Staff were very helpful, location was fine a 10minute walk from outside the main area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    Good location downtown, and within easy walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Water temp in the shower just not hot enough after a day at the track (rm 205). Noisy frig (I figured out what was making the noise the last day) in the room that really kept me from a good night sleep. Location downtown is great, but the Stevenson is located behind a gas station and at the convergence of three roads, so if you are a light sleeper, the traffic may be an issue.

    Good location downtown, and within easy walking distance to many restaurants. Friendly knowledgeable staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Great way to spend some special time with a special person or family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing; loved it!

    Great place to stay; located within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf and easy access to downtown. Staff was awesome, and the breakfast was wonderful. Everything about our stay was better than I thought it would be!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    4.6
    Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this stay 10 month in advance and got the worst room!!! Ground floor, behind the stairs, vending machine in front, best view at the gas station! We complained after check in, the destitute girl at the reception called the manager on duty (!!) but he having dinner with his family! No excuse, no try to find a solution!! Disappointing! Overpriced!

    Location is good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    4.6
    Expensive Nights Stay at Noisy Location with Little Sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked in for three nights on 30th September and allocated room 303 top floor. Got less than two hours sleep after 10pm due to noisy cars and trucks using the co-sited Chevron 24/7 filling station throughout the night plus air and water facilities which resulted in slamming of doors and hoods. Also noise from people using Dennys opposite during the night, then bin collection at 5.45am, coupled with a lot of noisy traffic using Munras Road throughout the night which passes the front of the building. Regrettably I had no choice but to seek alternative two nights elsewhere as all rooms were facing the filling station and Munras Avenue. However the hotel then charged me $299 for one nights stay when the three nights would have cost $498. Given the inconvenience of having to find another hotel and lack of sleep I asked for a pro-rata rate of one-third ($166) which the hotel would not accept. I contacted Booking.Com and they wrote back to inform me the hotel would not make a goodwill gesture. In all an unpleasant experience exacerbated by a stuffy bedroom where having the air-con was too noisy and opening the window only enhanced the outside noise!

    Onsite parking

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.1
    Nice room, but too pricey in my opinion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit expensive for what we got and there not being a microwave in the room.

    Very clean and the room looked nice. Lots of TV channels and close to a lot of things.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.1
    Room was bigger than average for 4 people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee in the rooms was awful. Not a lot of parking. No gluten free cereal option for coeliac husband (everywhere we stayed cater in this way now)

    Room was bigger than average for 4 people. Breakfast waffles nice treat for the kids. Kids enjoyed the heated pool.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    It was a pleasant enough motel for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beside a bus stop with very loud announcements day and night. Breakfast poor and served in a foyer area with limited seating.

    It was a pleasant enough motel for one night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Simple, clean and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Decent location just a few minutes walk from the main town part. Friendly staff (didn’t have a lot to do with them). Breakfast was basic, but this was expected and still did the job.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Very good value for money,and comfortable with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing for the price this was all we expected

    Very good value for money motel,very clean with good facilities.All the staff were very helpful and friendly.Location was very good only a short walk to the harbour and a lot of places to eat.Would recommend people who stay here to have a pair of ear plugs the motel is situated at a busy junction with some traffic noise,having said that it would not put me off staying here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Good size room, clean, helpful staff, good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light coming in from street (curtains didn't pull whole way across and the net wasn't sufficient).

    Good size room, clean, helpful staff, good parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.7
    You don't get much for $200+ per night in Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The linens on the beds are old and thin. Hardly any blankets to speak of. Poor-quality TV reception Awkward access to underground parking Coffee was very weak Next to a big gas station and Denny's--noisy at night

    Convenient location for walking to downtown: Peet's Coffee, Trader Joe's very close by Good showers (remodeled) Heating system worked well Fridge provided

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location, great service in a CLEAN comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the hotel is older, it was sparkling clean, clean, celan. Everyone I encountered from check-in, at breakfast and check-out was friendly, efficient, and professional. The location is perfect for seeing Monterey or in out case getting to the Fairgrounds for Jazz Festival. The parking is limited on the ground level and we didn't have to go underground so can't evaluate. I was totally pleased. It's not a resort, but a great place to sleep, shower and do touristy things!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    A lot better than it looks online!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There weren't enough spaces to sit at breakfast which was a bit annoying as we had to wait for a while.

    Good breakfast, nice staff, comfortable room, easy to park (or at least we were lucky). It's on the edge of town but within good walking distance and about 12mins from the pier. We really loved Monterey in general and this hotel was a lot better than it looked in the pictures so very happy with it!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent place to stop off
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was limited (did manage to squeeze it in)

    Staff were excellent. Very helpful. Location was great, 10 mins to the front and easy to get to from route 1

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Go for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy because it is on a busy corner and right next door to a gas station. The walls are also not very well insulated.

    The staff was friendly and the beds we're comfortable. The breakfast included: juice, tea, coffee, cereals, waffles, hard boiled eggs, muffins, toast, and yogurt.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable. In a great location and good value for money. A great place to stay if you are looking for somewhere comfortable to sleep and don't need too many facilities!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Room was basic but clean, close to a supermarket and lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you struggle to sleep this is not the hotel for you, the curtains struggle to block out the light and it’s on a road that seems to have traffic all night long

    Room was basic but clean, close to a supermarket and lots of restaurants, only a short walk to centre of Monterey

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Excellent place ro stay in Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything fine except for... shower in our bathroom only got warm. I know this room was probably used by less able-bodied visitors but I’m sure they could adjust the temperature. Secondly, get a new toaster! I put bread in and adjusted the dial. 4 minutes later hardly any change in colour

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in a fantastic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like. We loved it & would love to visit again.

    The staff were so friendly. They made us feel so welcome & offered us great advice on where to go & what to see with their local knowledge, so we saw places we would not have found without their recommendations. We drove to Monterey so the hotel is just off the highway & is easy to find. The location is great & is walking distance to Fisherman’s Wharf & The Aquarium. Oh yeah & the waffles for breakfast were amazing!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely friendly, clean hotel conveniently situated for sight seeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was really disappointed that I hadn’t done more research and realised that the hotel was right next to a gas station and a busy road which was quite noisy at night.

    It was a lovely room and had a modern feel to it. There was easy access to a coffee machine. It was placed very well to walk into Monterey and to a lot of the sites. There was also easy access to the roads out of Monterey to the 17 mile drive and Carmel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Very close to the centre (5-10 mins)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast average with limitged ndoors seating area Area a bit noisy due to a petrol station next to the motel Some rooms are connected/separated via doors, which are not very sound proof

    Very close to the centre (5-10 mins) Close to pubs/restaurants Rooms clean and tidy Beds comfortable with nice pillows

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location, disappointed in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture in the room was very tired and dated. An alcove which contained the safe and a hanging rail had no doors even though it was obvious there had been some there at some point.

    The room was spotlessly clean, the bathroom was modern with a good shower and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Positives:
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Negatives: - there are some noise issues: the hotel is on a big intersection so there's trucks and buses all through the day. At night the buses stop running, but there's still considerable traffic. - there's limited parking, even with the underground garage. If you get back late, you probably won't have a spot. Parking along the street is free, according to the front desk, but if you're a tourist in a rental, you don't really want the stress of finding a spot and leaving your rental on the street.

    Positives: - the location is great, walking distance to anything you might need. - the rooms are pretty big and comfortable, nice beds and our bathroom seemed recently upgraded - the staff is very friendly - breakfast included is handy, though it's a little heavy on the carbs: waffles, toast (which I'm sorry to say was really dry), cereal and muffins. Some fruit, and the option of a hard boiled egg.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Love Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a noisy corner going all night must be open 24hrs

    Very clean and user friendly great for a 1 - 2 night stay. Position was close to everything. Breaky was adequate.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were not sound proof so I heard the cars all night. Not enough parking , so we had to park on the street. Then my car alarm went off in middle of the night waking me.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Lovely motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy, as it is on a busy road. Also walls seem to be very thin as could hear next door and neighbours above.

    Lovely staff, great value, very clean, free parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    The hotel was fine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was that it was noisy... our neighbors had a baby in the room and it sounded like they were in the room with us... Luckily I sleep with earplugs anyway.

    The hotel was fine!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.7
    Bed was comfortable if cold, no spare blanket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls very thin, did read about keeping sound down so owner aware.

    Bed was comfortable if cold, no spare blanket. Great coffee, nice to have a decaf option. Receptionists helpful with directions, ordering taxis etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    Decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk gave my room to someone else as well. If i werent in the room at the time, they d come into my room where all my stuff were. Nice! The hotel does apparently have a strict no noise policy, but it s located on a busy street next to a gas station with lots of traffic from 6am.

    Close to the Wharf (about 15 minute walk). USB chargers. Good wifi. Smg like looked like breakfast. Spacious room. New bathrooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.8
    reception available 24H/day
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms look better in picture than in real breakfast quality to be heavily improved

    reception available 24H/day collaborative staff the price clean rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent and very friendly service and staff. Definitely a plus. AAAA+++++++++
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bathroom a little small especially sink and toilet literally made for a toddler, very short. Other than that every thing was great.

    food and bed was just fine

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    A short walk to the sea front with good parking facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool required cleaning. Too much plastic was used for cups, plates and cutlery for breakfast and in the room. Some fresh fruit at breakfast would improve the quality of the meal.

    A short walk to the sea front with good parking facilities. A good size room with good facilities if a little noisy from the road junction. Breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.0
    Not the best choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The position: just behind a fuel station with a lot of trafic. The bathroom: small and with small light

    The breakfast was good and various even if the space was very small

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    The location was convenient for exploring Monterey and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very basic and there was insufficient sitting space for guests in the lobby.

    The location was convenient for exploring Monterey and walking to Fisherman's Wharf. Room was pleasantly large.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Love Monterey and now have an affordable place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Easy 10-minute walk to Fishermans Wharf, free trolley to Cannery Row, nearby restaurants (plus Trader Joes and Walgreens), nice free breakfast and free coffee 24/7! Staff was very nice and price was very reasonable! We will definitely come back! 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel, Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceiling was leaking in our room so we switched rooms. The new room didn't have a bath tub as I had requested. Street noise.

    The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was good. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little noisy from traffic but most hotels are on this main road

    Great location easy to walk downtown, easy parking, really friendly staff, safe deposit box, large shower, spotlessly clean, towels changed daily and toiletries replenished, decent breakfast, pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Free parking, good facilities, breakfast included, elevator...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool, noise at night from the garage, location on outskirts but free trolley

    Free parking, good facilities, breakfast included, elevator, ice machine, clean room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.6
    The Stevenson was so INHOSPITABLE we have selected a different hotel for our next Monterey stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old property with a facelift. Upon check-in the management presents guests with a strict NO-PARTY POLICY stating IN WRITING that if another guest makes a "too-loud" complaint (this includes the television/radio volume) management will call your room first with a warning and on the second offense will have Monterey Policy escort you off the property without a refund. We are a quiet family, so what is the problem? THE WALLS AND CEILINGS/FLOORS ARE PAPER THIN! We could hear our nextdoor neighbors' full conversations (as well as their TV and bathroom/closet doors), each footstep taken by our upstairs neighbors, and every noise outside our door/window including voices as well as rolling cases headed to the musty-smelling elevator. Did we consider complaining? Of course not, because when you are in close proximity to others you simply must exercise some tolerance, EXCEPT the management of The Stevenson sees fit to impose their personal pet-peeve onto everyone else, and that is TV volume. On our first night, while our children slept soundly in front of the TV my husband was watching a reality show about crab fishing just loud enough to hear it over the clanking of the old HVAC fan. We received a call from the front desk stating that another had guest complained our TV volume was too loud. The clerk said, "turn it down and there won't be any trouble." As I mentioned, the walls are paper thin so it is possible the guests in the next room could hear our TV the same as we could hear others. It was certainly not our intent to disturb anyone but the clerk did NOT say, "The Stevenson is too cheap to spray soundproofing insultation in the walls and ceilings/floors, so we have to impose on guests to be exceedingly considerate of one other else not everyone is comfortable.

    Housekeeping does a good job keeping guest rooms clean. Property is located 3 blocks from the trolley stop that goes to Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, and Monterey Bay Aquarium. Trolley is free but even the $25 per day cost of parking (or Uber/Lyft fees, if that is how you prefer to get around) does not offset the premium room rates charged by The Stevenson.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.4
    Convenient location, but lots of traffic noise
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy intersection, Next to gas station, Traffic noise, Thin room walls

    Walking distance to Fisherman’s Wharf and many restaurants, Elevator to get to 2nd & 3rd floors

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.4
    Rooms and beds need an update.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed smelled unpleasant, like it was not clean. Hotel is outdated. Very small swimming pool in an unpleasant location. Very modest breakfast facilities.

    Personel is nice. In walking distance of some fine restaurants. Free parking underneath the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It did the job for one night so was perfect for what we needed it for!

    Really great as a stop off. We only stayed here one night before travelling onto San Francisco. Great location to Fisherman's Wharf. Welcoming staff, from the man who greeted me on reception when we first arrived, to the lady who checked us out - really lovely. Underfloor parking which was safe and off-road. Breakfast was also including in the price which was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Quiet Stay in Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent sized room, comfortable and clean. Rooms were quiet also. The breakfast was nice and we found getting to the hotel and parking very straightforward. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Quite OK, worked for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sound-proofing is not that good so any neighboring shower or other water activity is heard through. Also the seagulls make quite a show of noise in the early hours (5-6am) waking up any lightsleepers. Trashtrucks also patrol every night around the same hours. Breakfast is simple and there is not much indoor space to sit down. You might need to eat outdoors or in your room.

    The location is easy to find and quite good with easy walking distances to downtown restaurants. Two gas stations and grocery stores right next door. The Del Monte shopping center is a car/bus/taxi drive distance away, though. So is the aquarium. The shower and especially the water pressure is outstanding. You rarely see a shower of that quality in the U.S. We found the parking spaces adequate with our SUV and there was always room for us. Just be sure to arrive earlier than 7pm after which new customers start to arrive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel in Monterey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    We arrived after a whaletour around 8 PM and were very cold and asked the reception for a nice restaurant. Their suggested Rosine's Restaurant and that was great! Breakfast was okay. It was fun to make your own wafles. Plastic plate and cutlery we find a little cheap. On our way to the south via HW 1 this hotelroom (on the 2nd floor) was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Good basic accomodations for a safe, comfortable overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy walking distance to sites. Basic accomodations. Everything was clean and worked. Free covered parking. Bistro tables outside office for guest use.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing negative to say.

    Extremely good value. It has air conditioning!! The staff seemed like family. They were extremely friendly. Wonderful location. We walked everywhere. They FREE trolley was a couple blocks away. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    The friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was a bit elbow to elbow during peak breakfast time. But the wonderful lady managing the food service was very helpful, moving people along, and pre cooking waffles.

    The friendly staff. The room was a good size.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit on the tired side and could use some updating.

    Good location. Close to all the restaurants. The aquarium is about a 30-40 min walk though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    OK for a less-expensive stay in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    If this weren't Monterey, this would be a $70/night hotel. They have done some room upgrades over the time I've been staying here, but do not expect much above a Motel 6.

    Close to the event I attended. They have free parking and let me use it after check-out while I was at the event.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Hotel is in a prime spot close to bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is in a prime spot close to bars and restaurants. It is only a 10-15 min walk to fisherman's wharf. The hotel is clean and comfortable it is next to a gas station which is convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good value for money, the room was clean and well serviced. Reception staff were very helpful explaining details of the area. Used car to travel to Fishermans Wharf, Cannery Row, 17 mile drive and Carmel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.2
    Would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It needs updating.

    It was not cheap to stay here. It was on a busy road at the back of a petrol station. The rooms were very worn and it is in dire need of a makeover.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Short walk to the wharf, the room is a bit dated but still...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you’re a light sleeper, you’ll be awake very early: there’s a lot of traffic noise starting early in the morning and the plumbing is quite noisy as well so you’ll probably get awake whenever your neighbors take a shower or go to the bathroom.

    Short walk to the wharf, the room is a bit dated but still okay! Easy parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely city, close to center and marina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound isolation in room is very poor. Could hear all of the cars. On one window there was no possibility to close night hanging

    Good location, free parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Area was nice but I felt the pictures in the site were nicer than the actual room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave in the room. The one in breakfast room was not working and they did not try to help us in any way. Owner was really rude and is only after your money with no customer service. They tried to charge us more than the room rate for a toll free call. We got charged twice even though I specifically told them that it is a Canadian account and there are exchange fees and bank fx rates that we would have to pay and they should not charge me again since they charged before my arrival (even though I asked them to charge my USD account instead) though it was too late for that. But charging twice and then refunding cost us a lot more than the actual room rate due to FX especially considering the fact that I specifically told them at check out that payment had already been made. They almost charged us at check in too.

    It was quite clean and location was good. Breakfast was not bad.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was tasty, only sweets, but American.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was right next to the street and an gas Station and looked not very beautiful from the outside. But the room was very clean and good looking.

    Breakfast was tasty, only sweets, but American. Room was very clean and stuff was extremly friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable nights stay with breakfast included. Room was clean & the the bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Accessible Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is limited although I found a space both times.

    Reasonable choice for breakfast. Although the building is 3 stories there is an elevator. Checkin staff member was good & very informative. Plenty of power sockets for charging & resonable WiFi. Close to a variety of restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Good location. Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy as near a busy intersection. Parking coukd be a problem if you have a tall vehicle or roof box. Underground car park only had 6'8 clearance so our van had to stay up top where we were lucky to get one of the few spaces.

    Excellent location. 10 mins to Fisherman's Wharf. High quality mattress. Clean. Good choice for breakfast and 24hr tea and coffee in lobby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Value for money and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don’t want to pay too much for a cannery row type location then maybe this motel out of town centre will do you well. Parking and decent breakfast included. Walkable distance to some food premises too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    We’ve stayed for two nights and everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to be honest.

    We’ve stayed for two nights and everything was perfect. The rooms are really nice, the parking is super easy, location is awesome and the staff is super friendly. Breakfast is ok for what you pay. Do not expect more. Its a great value. By the way, we got there by the night and the man at the front desk was waiting for us and ready to welcome us. Thank you very much Sr!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice and comfortable motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options were a bit limited and you could hear the traffic from early morning.

    The bed was really comfortable and spacious. Walking distance from the city centre and free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Stop off as part of road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice friendly helpful staff. Nice spacious rooms. Good breakfast. Great central location within walking distance of attractions. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    It was OK given the prices in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restroom is very small and everything is sort of dated. The hotel overlooks a gas station. The rooms had very little soundproofing so it was hard to fall or stay asleep because you can here everything going on outside or in other rooms.

    The location is super convenient. The place is clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    the cost of over $250 per night is outrageously high for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the cost of over $250 per night is outrageously high for accommodations that are equivalent to Motel 6. I like Motel 6 but i would never pay $250 per night to stay there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a great, relaxing stay and enjoyed our visit to Monterey, CA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very minor but only basic cable TV stations were available and I was not able to connect my kindle fire table to the WiFi to download my new book.

    The hotel is centrally located near restaurants, shopping, and public transportation/tourist trolleys. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, plenty of pillows, and the bathroom was modern (with a large tub).The staff was very friendly and helpful. The free continental breakfast was typical/basic but replenished quickly. The dining area in the lobby was clean and extra tables are available outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    The staff was soooo great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower doors leaked water onto the floor, making me slip and almost falling. The toilet wouldn’t stop having the water run..bef was a little hard could use a mattress topper.. Other then that very nice stay, breakfast was great. A little noisy with traffic.

    The staff was soooo great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    The Stevenson is a good option for those on a budget who want to visit Monterey.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls were a bit thin, so one could hear the TV in the next room. Same for shower use.

    Very conveniently located in Monterey. Located at a busy intersection, but after 10pm it was very quiet. Lots of historical attractions close by and the variety of restaurants, pubs, shops within walking distance was a big boon.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: