Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Monterey Fireplace Inn 2 stars

2362 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940, USA

#65 of 67 hotels in Monterey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 348 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.2
    That I was in Monterey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and dingy. Needs to be updated or at a minimum painted.

    That I was in Monterey......if your not overly picky about accommodations, this place is ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    Front office staff provided good customer service. Location of the Inn was ideal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main street was under construction at time of stay. Owner(s) should consider reducing hotel room cost. Noticed bathtub drain stopper was missing. I usually take a bath when traveling on business.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Only a short drive to the Monterey Wharf/beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (king size bed room) was a little small and cramped but overall for 1 night stay it was ok.

    The room was clean and the gentleman at the counter was extremely courteous. He told me ok to leave a little late at check out time 11am.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    2.5
    Free parking, it that comes as standard with all other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean, dusty, horrible old carpet. Awful shower, everything run down in the room. Far too expensive for the standard of hotel. worst place I’ve ever stayed

    Free parking, it that comes as standard with all other hotels

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    3.3
    Keep away - not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and old room, carpet not clean, walls damaged, bed not comfortable with hair between the sheets. They steal you 200 $ a night and it’s totally unworthy.

    Only positive aspect was the very kind receptionist (its not his fault if the place is falling to pieces)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is run down and and needs to be overhauled and I'm not sure about some of the people staying there. Personally I would save a little more money and stay somewhere else. The only thing they offered was coffee at the front office.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.7
    staff was friendly , considering the area price was the best around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    seemed clean

    no ice machine, no cups for even rinsing out your mouth, and no coffee machine in rooms ( I found out when I checked out I could have picked up a coffee machine in office but who does that!), tv was older than my car!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Good stay for a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fitted sheets for the bed and absolutely no water pressure coming out the shower.

    Good price. Clean. Friendly staff. Perfect location as I felt we was absolutely near everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Thank you I will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would of liked the trash to be removed after the 1st night and have clean towels in room, Maybe up date TV, put refrigerator on a stand so you don't have to crawl on the floor to get items out. Don't get me wrong it is a nice little place. Just needs a few upgrades.

    good location, friendly staff, very accommodating, older facility but clearn

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Monterey Fireplace Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To bad it didn't have a pool. There were 12 units. So that was okay.

    It was a great deal for a Friday night. Small but comfortable. It had a gas fireplace. Everything had been redone - granite counters, new paint and etc. We had a king room and it was perfect for me and my two girls (ages 10 & 11); we weren't crowded at all. Too bad the weather was crappy in Monterey we went back to Santa Cruz to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Route 66 motel charm, great bed, WONDERFUL host
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, really

    You could not ask for a nicer host! Truly! I didn't know that there was a handicapped room with walk/wheel in shower - as soon as I asked if our reservation could be changed for that room, it was done. Nice bathroom, remodeled! If the weather was cold the fireplace would have been cozy and sweet. Bring your own cups/glasses, no coffee stuff, but the refrig, altho small, was adequate. Did not use m'wave. BED WAS VERY COMFORTABLE. That's a biggie. The exterior is clean and crisp appearing, again, the host is super! The furnishings are humble and reminded us of the motels along Rte 66 back in the day. Considering that we had to make last minute reservations, and the BW Carmel wanted several hundred/nite and required two night minimum, we were most pleased here. BTW The Diner with all of the bears, just up the road to the right - FANTASTIC SERVICE AND GREAT MENU. Food was great! Juke box was a fun touch and the selections added to the 50s vibe of our motel. Don't miss this! Thanks for a wonderful visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Just for sleeping
    • Group
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room. No desk or table. Stingy on towels. TV did not work,

    Room had working microwave and refrigerator. WiFi worked OK. Not to much noise. Bed was OK.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    The manager was very nice and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was kind of old and stained. It’s a long walk to the beach or the main area but if you are driving is not a problem.

    The manager was very nice and very helpful. He always asked me if everything was ok, or if I needed anything like cleaning or extra towels. He was kind enough to call a taxi for me on my departure. The room had a fridge and microwave which is nice, and the fireplace was lovely for the cold nights and mornings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    They went out of the way to have a room for me for early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit hot but they did offer an additional fan (we already had one going). They were very nice about it and had warned us about the heat. It was a hot day in Monterey.

    They went out of the way to have a room for me for early check in. The staff is super nice. We were going to an event at the fairgrounds and the distance is walkable (which was great!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Cozy and quaint little hotel close enough to walk to the fairgrounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing my stay went well.

    This is not a new fancy hotel, at all. It’s a small old fashioned kinda feel. This place is just close enough to the fairgrounds to walk yet far enough you don’t here all the ruckus as the venue closes. The price was WAY below surrounding hotel rates. I was nervous it would be bad. The room was available early (awesome!) and the gentleman who checked us in was beyond kind. The room was dated but sufficient. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    2.5
    It was about as sanitary as sleeping in a sewage pipe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Rooms we’re filthy. Carpet was moist, old & heavily stained. I was afraid to not wear shoes. -Customer service was bad. -Walls are paper thin. I could here the entire conversation of the individuals next door until 2 am. -Bedding heavily stained. -Room smells dirty. -It cost around $240 to stay for 2 nights due to high volume of people in Monterey. GO ELSEWHERE. Learn from our mistakes.

    Nothing. Absolutely horrid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.2
    Most Disgusting Room Ever Stayed In
    • Group
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the most disgusting room I've ever stayed in. They charge you up front and there was a rediculous cancellation fee, so we were stuck. The furniture was old and beat up. Plaster on one corner was falling off. The walls were scuffed and had splatters on them. The mattresses were so old and stained, and there was mold on the ceiling of the bathroom. The only thing that saved us was there were no bed bugs, the plumbing all worked, and despite being old and very stained, the bed was reasonably comfortable. Would definitely never stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Too much money for a 1/2 to 2 star motel. Will most likely stay elsewhere next time. Rooms are noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are very noisy. People from outside, or in rooms next to yours, sound like they are in the exact same room. Rooms could use a handy-man to fix simple things that have obviously been neglected. Broken doors, with gross looking glue holding door jams together. Does not appear they try very hard to fix the simple things.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    3.3
    Dirty, uncomfortable and very sketchy motel stay - do not book!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was awful. The carpets were horribly stained and the duvet and blanket looked like they had never been cleaned. Under the bed we found empty beer bottles, lighters and a used crack pipe. The water in the shower was luke warm - not fun in Winter. Don’t book this property.

    The only redeeming / novel feature of the room was the working gas fireplace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.8
    It worked for the short time we were there and the golf and wale trip was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old needs remodel , walls thin head people next door all night, no cleanex , room very small no coffee maker microwave did not work, no place or rack to put your luggage

    Liked it was close to everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    It was a quant place for our romantic weekend. We would definately stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV it was very old school.

    Oh I loved the quant little place, the fireplace in the room was awesome! I loved that it had a fridge. Very small room, but very cozy! For the price it was not bad at all. It was walking distance from a very delicious Chinese restaurant and Grandma's Kitchen. Both yummy places to eat. The bed was spacious and so very comfy. Although it had outdated TV, curtains and bedspread it was all still very nice. My boyfriend and I would definitely stay here again. It was not close to Monterey's cannery row but within 15 min we were there. So not bad at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    Clean quiet and secure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tricky to access with divided dtreet - u turns needed. Furnture and decor pretty dated.

    Clean quiet and secure. Good value for the price. Lots of info for touring around. Host very nice and accomodating.Fireplace worked!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    4.6
    Paid for 2 non refundable nights, couldn't endure a 2nd night so I booked elsewhere more appealing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cruddy quality room, tepid (not hot) shower water, huge draft under door in entry way, cruddy, worn, sticky carpet, it reeked of total grossness!! Ewwwww!

    I liked the fireplace! The manager was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.4
    will X this place off for our March visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Non Smoking Room NOT! Walls filthy, Feces on the Bathroom Outside or Toilet, Carpets NASTY! Curtains wouldnt Close, TV didn't work properlly. I have stayed at different placed through out Monterey, at different rates. this was TERRIBLE. We switched roooms the next day, won't even tell you what we found on the Blanket. We checked out that afternoon.

    From the start Gentlemen at the front office was very considerate and NICE.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    Decent place to just sleep not to spend much time. You get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WEATHERSTRIPPING on door! Room was freezing! Air came in through sides and underneath of it. No hot water for shower in morning, no coffee pot in room.Remote did not work for t.v

    Fireplace heater,looked so realistic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.0
    The fire place worked and the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was cold and the towels were dirty. The toilet couldn't have cleaned in while.

    The fire place worked and the bed was comfortable. The staff was super nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    4.6
    sucked . I would not recommend it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower head broken. no heater.very cold.all the water went to the tub drain.manager got angry when I told him. He complained about American people.

    location.price. you get what you pay for.not much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Good value. Quite. The man at the front desk is really nice and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a nice fair hotel and good value. Same tyoe of hotel were going off at three times the price. Its not a luxury spa and it not priced as such. Will stay there again next year.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    Only stay here if you get a really good price. Better value Inns on the same street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast. Bad cancellation policy. Dirty carpets (don't forget to bring your slippers). Old, non-flat TV. Relatively high price for what it offers. Very thin walls. BaySide Inn offers better value and better cancellation policy and is very close by. Plus, they have a basic, but complimentary breakfast.

    An actual fireplace in the room! Clean sheets, towels and the bathroom was clean. Location is good if you come by car. Staff OK. Free wifi that works fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.0
    Fireplace was an excellent addition to our stay.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super outdated. Holes in the wall. Not very maintained

    Fireplace was an excellent addition to our stay. Location was good and walking distance to food and other activities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Easy to find Clean sweet fireplace in the room Helpful manager will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    The fireplace. It was very romantic. I was celebrating my birthday, so yea! We had breakfast right down the road and it was a delicious recommendation from the charming desk clerk Ron. We will definitely return soon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable inexpensive lodging.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fireplace was a natural gas insert that heated the room. The bathroom grout was dirty.

    Good value and location. Extensive cable channels, microwave and refrigerator. Outgoing manager.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Saved money by staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No heater, only a fireplace.

    Slept well. They keep things affordable by not updating things and having all that fancy room stuff. Who needs it when you're spending most of your time outdoors and tooling around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Great value for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small for the king size bed... The small refrigerator and the pipes made weird noises throughout the night.

    Great value for the location. Just a quick drive into Monterey! The hotel was close to shopping. And various restaurants. Hitel rooms are equipped with full cable channels. The hotel attendant was very nice and helpful through your weekend stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Great hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tax on top of booking price could be included in the booking.com price to make it clear

    Clean, very friendly staff, free breakfast, central location, safe

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    nice enough if your just going to sleep and leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    kinda dirty and small, mold in the bathroom and stains on walls, part of the sink held together with tape and condom wrapper behind the bed

    the fireplace and it was close to most things

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.0
    For the price we paid the room was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The table and chair in room was old with noticeable scratches, Very usable but newer furniture would have been nice.

    The ad featuring the rm showed that a coffee maker was included. Our rm did not have one and when asked about it the owner quickly brought one to us with coffee and and filters. Coffee filters and coffee grounds were supplied.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    3.3
    Very very unsatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work, no fitted bed sheets. Mattress had a huge stain. No A.C. even though it was advertised. Bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. Curtains were dirty, really dirty. Window wouldn't lock(broken). No outlet visible to use, had to unplug what the owner plugged in. Furnishing looks like it was sold from a garage sale. Toilet leaked from the back. Bathtub water spout had soap scum ALL over it. Also, no heater, aka the reason for the for place. Semi fleece blanket had yellow stain, circular size of a 2 liter soda bottle. I am a regular visitor and this hotel is far most the worst hotel I have ever been to down here.

    Only the fire place in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    3.3
    Depressing. Priced way too high for the value. **Not** a 2 star motel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    To start with, there was no fireplace at The Fireplace Inn. The physical environment was simply depressing. The Internet service was sporadic, the heat didn’t work, the carpet was filthy, bathroom smelled nasty, walls were thin-making it difficult to sleep, curtains were dated & tattered, bed spring was filthy, there was no phone in the room, no place to put a suitcase, furniture was chipped & dated, the carpet was dated & ugly.

    The manager was very cordial, helpful, and responsive. Exterior looked fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.3
    Do not stay here!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing good was, the man let me out of my contract so I only had to suffer one night I had to use my sleeping bag because the bedding was so dirty. Blanket stained, hair everywhere. Pillows smelt of someone's perfume. Visible rat poop where filthy carpet met wall! Never took off shoes! Horrible! Lots of airport noise! For all this I got to pay more than $100.

    Absolutely nothing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.3
    Does the trick as a place to rest your head but poor value for money - wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was old, dated and kind of clean. Bed was very uncomfortable. Walls were paper thin and we were woken up by the neighbours at 4am. The sliding window in our room didn't lock.

    Wifi was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    4.2
    About 10 min drive to Monterey Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room; instead of a fireplace it would have been nice to have a bit more space. Also, the bathroom was pretty small and could have been cleaner. Walls are paper thin and you can hear everything that is going on next door and outside.

    About 10 min drive to Monterey Bay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    2.5
    TRUST PREVIOUS REVIEWS!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Staff is horrible, room was run down & old. The price is extremely high for a room that has nothing to be impressed with. When we checked out, the maid didn't want to vacuum crumbs that my kids left on the floor, so the manager called me and demanded me to drive all the way back to pay him a cleaning fee or he threatened to call the cops on me & charge my card. I told him I didn't authorize any other fee. And for the fact that the maid didn't want to VACCUM THE ROOM, told me that they rarely ever do it then. Which made me disgusted. Trust the reviews, and don't ever stay here. I learned my lesson.

    Looks nice in pictures

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.8
    Loved the location and the price. Would not recommmend this hotel due to cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was Not clean. I understand that it is an older property and expected decorations to be out of date. But the cleanliness of the room left much to be desired. The light fixtures had at least two years worth of dust. There is no excuse in my opinion for not cleaning the room.

    I loved the location as it related to all that Monterey has to offer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    2.5
    FOR THE MONEY WE SPENT 175.00. IT WAS AWFUL
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THEY SHOULD LOOK AT THE SHOWER THE KNOB WAS FLOWING MORE WATER THAN THE SHOWER HEAD. CHECK YOUR APPLIANCES TO MUCH ON ONE OUTLET. CLEAN THE WALLS AND FIX THE CRACKS.. REPAINT THE PLACE PUT MATTRESS COVERS ON BED. WE CLOSED THE BATHROOM WINDOW AND THE SCREEN FELL OFF.

    THERE WERE NO HAIR DRYER IN THE BATHROOM AND NO ICE BUCKET. THE ELECTRICAL WAS NOT LEGAL THEY HAD A 4 PRONG SURGE PROTECTOR WITH A MICROWAVE, REFRIGERATOR, LAMP AND FAN. IT WAS BLINKING ON AND OFF. THE ALARM CLOCK COULD NOT BE PLUG IN. THE BATHROOM DOOR HAD MARKS ON IT. THE SHOWER FLOWED FROM THE KNOB AND THERE WASN'T VERY MUCH WATER COMING OUT OF THE SHOWER HEAD. WHAT DID I LIKE ZERO

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.3
    i'll find another place to stay next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no ice machine, outdated furniture and crowded inside room,thin walls ,could hear next room guests,flimsy door entrance.

    it was a place to sleep and shower

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.3
    It was really quiet at night and I loved the fireplace to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms really need some updating, new bed linens and towels. The walls are really thin so when the people in the neighboring rooms moved their stuff around you could hear everything.

    It was really quiet at night and I loved the fireplace to warm my room in the morning!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower did not have good pressure.

    Close proximity to parks, Cannery Row, and the Aquarium. Management was very friendly. We were able to check in early since we made good time and arrived earlier than expected. The bed was comfortable and the fireplace added a cozy flair on the chilly mornings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    4.2
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows had hair on them from previous guests. Bed was uncomfortable. Tv and cable receiver were outdated. Staff began cleaning at 7am before guests were even awake.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Monterery trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were really small. Definitely for a couple but not for kids.

    It was secluded. It was not far From all of our destinations. It was quiet. Restrooms were really clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.8
    Tolerable in a pinch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn, obsolete furniture, cramped, absent normal conveniences, no pool, no AC. We came on a race weekend, economical 1-night rooms scarce and VERY expensive. Given similar conditions, I would stay there again.

    Easy access, convenience store across street, restaurants close.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    2.5
    Disgusting hotel!
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is extremely run down. The whole room was filthy. It looked as if no one had actually cleaned it. Disgusting. The walls needed to be painted or at least cleaned!!!

    There wasn't anything positive about this hotel!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.8
    Beds and bathroom were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was dirty, particularly the floor. Walls had dirt and smudges. The fan in the room didn't work. Very noisy also, large gap underneath the door let in light and noise.

    Beds and bathroom were clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    3.3
    Worst room ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was extremely dirty, ripped stained towels, stained walls, and worst of all, bed bugs. Management was no help and argued me about he bed bug bites I received.

    Close to the beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    4.6
    It was close to down town.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty and mold on the walls. We had to buy cleaning items and clean the room. We did not know if the bedding was clean so we bought new bedding and sprayed the room. The out side was nice it was kept up nice.

    It was close to down town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic service! Close to beach!
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't have coffee makers in the room so the a.m. and I'm accustomed to my a.m. coffee. But it want a big deal with a diner, starbucks, and 7/11 walking distance.

    It is not fancy by any means, BUT. It was clean and the staff was amazing. Very accommodating and service like you are family. I didn't pay slot and expected little. The gentleman at the front walked me to my room to be sure it was to my liking, then checked DME in very quickly. I had kids with me and he was very kind. The housekeeper found a very expensive item of ours after we checked out and they called and let us know right away. Just no Utes from the beach too! I will stay here again for sure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little firm for me but then again I like a really soft bed. Neighbors were weird and noisy and very rude to the maid.

    Perfect location! The owner is the nicest hotel owner I've ever met. He was courteous and very friendly. The fireplace was lovely and everything was clean. We got fresh towels every day and the room was vacuumed every day. We will be staying again. Super easy check in and check out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    2.5
    Cheap but horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were falling apart, holes, duct tape, no screen on fireplace, bathroom was dirty, smelt like smoke. Shower was broken.

    Nothing really, easy checkout was about it

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    4.2
    Do not stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC!! Cramped small dirty rooms, old furniture, old beds, old everything. Trying to get 3 kids to bed with no air conditioning or fan on the first floor with the window open and bathroom window open was near impossible.

    The man who checked us in was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.6
    It's a great place to stay!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some parts/areas in the rooms need to be thoroughly cleaned, not just wiped or dusted off. A bit more attention need to be given to the walls, most surface tops and bathroom floor. Don't get me wrong, it's a great place to stay- but I think a "deep cleaning" or initial clean-up inside each of the rooms would make a BIG difference.

    Fireplace Inn is a quiet and cozy "Mom and Pop" establishment. The owner and his wife are always friendly and pleasant to interact with. I've stayed there twice before. They are very nice and accommodating. My friend and I stayed for 2 nights revcently. We each brought our dog, and checked in super late the first night but it wasn't a problem(called the hotel ahead of time to let them know we were running late and they said it was okay but still felt awful for waking them up to get the key at 1:30am, i'm sorry!). It's in a great location and the pricing is unbeatable. I will definitely stay there again for future trips to Monterey.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so uncomfortable. The decor was outdated.If they would upgrade, paint, and get better befs they could make fortune.

    We loved the fireplace.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    8.3
    Fireplace and location, staff was courteous.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temp on the shower was not hot enough. Our neighbors were having an ongoing domestic dispute on late Sunday evening to early Monday morning that did not seem to be addressed.

    Fireplace and location, staff was courteous.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    7.5
    Quick trip destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was simple and manageable.

    I booked this motel as a quick last minute overnight getaway, so I wasn't looking into spending a fortune. We were more interested in just having a comfy and tidy place for the night. This place is aged and worn, but was fine for overnight. For the price we paid we didn't expect much. There's no frills but is comfortable. The cable and heater worked great, which was a big plus. The staff here was wonderful and very helpful and informative. It's about a 10 minute drive down to the aquarium or cannery row, and there's an excellent breakfast spot that's a 30 second walk down street. Overall I'd recommend for someone else on a tight budget or someone looking into simple accommodations for a quick trip.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    6.3
    Room was functional, but ok for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needs an upgrade. Lampshades, furniture and towels need replacing, room needs painting and new flooring.

    Person on the desk was very helpful. Liked the fireplace in the room. Price was good. Coffee set up in the lobby for breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    3.8
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dusty, doors dirty, needed painting . Cheap old bath towels, tv was old and cable service wasn't functioning well. Cheap coffee(watery) he cut blueberry muffins in 8ths..room heater not hot. No toilet paper.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    8.8
    I will come back next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was fine, but others in my group said it looked as if their room was used for intravenous activities - blood on the ceiling.

    The people are great! This is an outstanding deal if all you want to do is sleep and shower. The coffee, etc. was very appreciated first thing in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.6
    Clean and roomy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com we're terrible to deal with coming from overseas I didn't want to call hotel directly. I tried resolving my issue through booking.com but they weren't helpful. I ended up calling hotel directly and got problem resolved quickly. Also, 'aybe a more modern TV would be good but once again, room only $40

    Place was great for $40 a night. Is wasn't a palace but it was roomy, clean, King bed etc

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.9
    Adequate accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remote would not turn tv on. Had to be done at the tv. Fan but no AC.

    Adequate nothing extra special. Beds are comfy decent size bath. Basic motel accommodation. Did have fridge and micro which was a help

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    2.5
    Filthy old aweful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The worst place I have ever stayed. Proprietor not willing to work with us at all. Accused me of lying about a request for a late check out. He told me a week ago that we could check out at 12 instead of l1:00. I came up to run the Monterey Half Marathon. After the race the car would not start so had to get Geico to start the car. This made us later... he thought we were lying and said he will put out things outside so made could clean or charade another day rate. We told him we would call police if our things were stolen. Never stay there. TV didn't work , microwave chord could not reach plug unit on wall, carpet and curtains filthy ...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    3.8
    Very disappointed. I wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't very clean. The water tasted bad. The rooms and office had a bad smell throughout. There was a language problem. They didn't speak English very well.

    Staff was friendly. Location was ok. I wouldn't stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    Great place to stay for a decent price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked hotter water for the shower.

    We liked the location and that it had a wonderful restaurant(Grandmas Kitchen) right next door. The bed was really firm and the motel was super quiet. There was a Starbucks, Safeway, Dollar tree, thrift shops, and many other restaurants and stores nearby.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    6.3
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dusty under and around the bed, the shower was hard to work.

    It was well located for our needs. It was cheap and provided us with a bed for the night and a shower in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.3
    The manager was lovely and the muffins at breakfast very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manager was lovely and the muffins at breakfast very nice. This place is a faded glory - it was obviously once high end and now a room is very cheap. You get what you pay for - it's clean but the towels are tatty and the place isn't super well maintained. I'd stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    5.8
    Good for a budget visitor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website claimed there was air conditioning, but it was broken and blowing out hot air. Towels were a bit grubby.

    Liked the value for money and although very limited, there were coffee and muffins for a quick breakfast. You also get a fridge and microwave in the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.1
    Comfortable at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some basics could have been there like a travel or larger sized iron and board. I was in town for a wedding and needed to press a few things.

    Did not try breakfast, but was conveniently near a nice restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: