Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4 stars

400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940, USA

#3 of 67 hotels in Monterey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1656 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Paid WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little uncomfortable. I had a tiny bit of back pain each morning. I thought it was just me until. My friends said the same thing. Not a huge deal.

    The staff is outstanding. They make you feel like a VIP from the moment you arrive. The hotel restaurant, Schooners, was better than I remember. Great food, great service. The location of the room, right off the water, was perfect. I left my windows open each night and fell asleep to the sound of the waves.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the balconies are a joke. They are only deep enough to fit a small chair sideways, are probably less than 2 feet deep. We had to pay more to get a balcony that we could sit and enjoy the view of the ocean. For what you get at this place is way too expensive. If you stay here and are looking forward to sitting on your balcony you’ll need to request a bigger balcony and pay more.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor in the bedroom was very traditional so not my style but this isn’t much of a negative. There was improvement works going on in the hotel during our stay but we hardly heard anything at all as we were out most of the day.

    The bedroom was really big. With a large bathroom, wardrobe and vanity space. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well without being noisy. The location was good. A short walk from the aquarium and the pier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area a bit small and evening entertainment shoukd have been marketed better as the acts were fabulous

    Location staff so helpful valet parking excellent nothing not to like. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would definitely book a room facing the ocean next time. Our room faced Drake Street, and it could be noisy at times. Be prepared with ear plugs if you are a light sleeper and your room faces the street.

    Excellent location, and beautiful ocean views at this property. An easy walk to Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The staff at Schooners was a lot of fun! We had a great time watching the Warriors game at the bar with the sights and sounds of the ocean right behind us. We also enjoyed our Tidal coffee every morning while we sat by their fire pit, and took in the view of the bay. Very nice amenities, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We would definitely return!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Two Queen Beds with Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, beautiful property, friendly staff. Defiantly recommend The Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa. Must take advantage of the spa. Beautiful, relaxing rooftop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Inland View Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water valve was broken, but was fixed on 2nd day. Bed was too high to get in and out of comfortably, @ 5’5” I was too short.

    Proximity to aquarium was nice. Could walk to it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charges add up really quickly so I probably paid an extra $100 in resort fees for a one night stay in addition to the booking charges, but you get what you pay for- it was worth it for the experience.

    Room with a harbor view was so beautiful, loved falling asleep to the sound of the ocean. Staff was very nice and accommodating. We were celebrating a birthday so they made sure we got an ocean view at their restaurant and a birthday desert. Food was so delicious at schooners! Wish we could have staid longer!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Handicap Access - Two Queen Beds with Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is a perfect walk to Cannery Row, The Monterey Bay Aquarium and Fisherman's Wharf; centeralized! We had the Harbor View from our room and it was just beautiful! We also enjoyed the ability to open our room windows to enjoy the ocean breeze and listening to the ocean and sea lions! We would highly recommend this property and look forward to another stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two Queen Beds with Partial View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything very good.

    Twin room with large beds and ocean view. Easy walk to restuarants on Cannery Row and to Downtown. Valet car parking worked ok and included in resort fee. Handy coffee shop on the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of one thing which could have been improved upon.

    We thought the property was outstanding. Little extras at no cost, for instance valet parking included. No "resort fee" no fee for WiFi. Everything was absolutely first class. They offered servicing of the room at guest's request (i.e. call and tell us when you would like your room serviced). We have never seen this before.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    check in process could have been better managed and more timely

    view from the room was better than anticipated considering it was called inland; turn service was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were attentive, friendly and very helpful. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. The room was beautifully maintained including a turn-down service. We couldn't fault the location of the hotel, and the local knowledge and helpfulness of the staff made our stay perfect. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives only that we couldn’t stay longer

    Everything! My fiancé and I stopped for 3 nights with garden room. The room was spacious, coffee machine, balcony, bed super comfy and the shower is the best I’ve ever had. We are from UK road tripping started at San Fran ending Vegas. Tidal Coffee has great breakfast options and the coffee was fab. The restaurant serves gorgeous food overlooking the beautiful bay. I’ve been to Cannery Row once before (3 years ago) and said I am coming back and next time I do I staying in that hotel... not disappointed and will be back again. Magical stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst part was checking in at 4pm and after waiting in a line - finding out our room still was not ready. We had to wait an hour. Pillows were plentiful but lumpy. Valet parking takes some getting used to.

    Our desire for a bathtub was accommodated - we were in some funny piece of a suite - where our bed was a king murphy bed that was pulled down from the wall. it was comfortable-- we had 3 balconies and we looked at the bay and we had our bathtub. It was quiet and beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were a bit disappointed by the evening meal in the restaurant - quality of the food didn't match the price (although breakfast food was excellent).

    The view from the restaurant at breakfast was spectacular - watching sea otters from the table was amazing. The location was excellent with Canning Row and Fisherman's Wharf within walking distance. Sea life was everywhere and whale watching (both from the whale watching tour boat and from the land) was truly memorable. My wife wants to employ the cleaners - the room, especially the bathroom, was spotless and sparkling!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Inland View Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service at the restaurant was a bit slow - they had one waiter for the inside and outside bar area and our waiter was quite overwhelmed.

    The room was impeccably clean and the staff was excellent. We traveled with 2 small children (2 and 4 yo) and they provided them with toys and wonderful memories. The restaurant was accommodating to them as well. Everyone was extremely friendly and prompt for all requests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately construction on the floor above us was extremely noisy the last two days of our stay. I feel we should have been notified prior to booking and also when checking in. The only notice we were given was a letter by the coffeemaker. This is the main reason for the less then good scores.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s really tricky knowing when to tip, who to, and how much for!

    The spa is so nice! Up on the top floor, in a hot tub, with a log fire burning and views out over the Pacific - was bliss! Also - the lady on reception was outstanding when we first arrived, allowing great flexibility with which room we checked into. She even gave us a voucher because we were on our honeymoon! A great perk is the free bike hire - we had a great time cycling along the seas front.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though expensive this hotel will exceed your expectations; the consistency of service was impressive and seamless. We upgraded to a room with a view over the Bay - well worth it to be able to sleep with the sound of the waves over the rocks below the balcony. Binoculars were provided to view the abundant marine life surrounding the hotel - a good touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location was great. very clean and friendly staff. we loved the out door jacuzzi tubs. it was great to sit in the tubs and look out across the bay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The massage was very overpriced and I closed very little massage. It was mostly a scrub and hair treatment with very minimal body work.

    Wonderful location and restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woken up around 12:30 to three or more guests on the walkway below. They were talking really loud and our windows were open. Also they were smoking cigarettes and the smell was awful coming in the room. I know it’s not easy to see everything in the hotel but it was very annoying. It took a while to get the smoke smell out....Also I ordered food and specifically asked for a bowl of fresh fruit. The order came on time but no fruit was ever delivered.I called earlier in the week and asked for a chilled bottle of champagne to be in the room as we were celebrating and wanted to start off with a bit of champagne. The person I spoke to said that a 4pm a bottle would be chilled in the room. That never happened and I was definitely disappointed.... not the end of the world but it would have been nice. We ordered cocktails and they were really good...

    The Location of the room was in hearing distance of the ocean and the room was perfectly decorated....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced Chart House restaurant and traffic made it noisy since windows aren’t double panes glass.

    Spacious, nice facilities, convenient location, comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only complaint we have was at 7:30 am Easter Sunday, we were shaken awake by the sound of hammering above our room. When it happened again, I called the front desk, they investigated, got right back and said it was maintenance. They told them to stop. The hammering stopped, but we were kept awake by the rustling of tools, and the tools being dropped or laid down until 8:40 when the hammering resumed until 9 AM. Why not just wait until 9 AM? This upset us terribly due to the money we spent, it was our anniversary, and we looked so forward to sleeping in, due to our work schedule and limited time off. At 8 am, the housekeeper exchanged comments by yelling down the hall to each other. By then, we decided, forget sleeping in, maybe we should have gone to church like we normally do, and we were being punished. I didn't know how to handle this hammering situation and just decided to wait until I got home and cool off some, and then do your survey. Steven and Melvina Ward RM 1006 3/31 - 4/2.

    Staff was amazing. You can tell they have been trained well and were all VERY considerate and engaging. From the valet to the front desk to the bell, to the restaurant, to the housekeepers, just fantastic. Nice job.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Inland View Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location. Great staff. Free valet parking. Could keep car in valet until 5 after we checked out. Incredible view from the spa and fitness center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden fees. They decided to do maintenance on the access elevators to the building, preventing access to the rooms for half an hour.

    Nice and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Great location and service. Staff were nice and helpful. Loved the place and the binoculars available in the room. Watched the wildlife from the comfort of our room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room facing the harbor. Very nice view! Comfortable bed. Tasty seafood in the restaurant. Very relaxing at the big balcony beside the lobby. I got a very useful local map with a lot of information from the valet parking staff. Really helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can't think of anything

    The unfailingly gracious, friendly and efficient staff facilitated our enjoyment of the trip and provided exemplary hospitality. Coming from the East Coast, the hotel's every detail spoke of the California culture we so admire. We were particularly taken with MP's visual beauty, Pacific spirit and reflection of Steinbeck's Cannery Row. Your gorgeous seaside location and breathtaking views, architectural integrity and NCali style, luxurious room accommodations, art work honoring Monterey's storied history, even the aesthetic lighting and vibrant primrose window boxes, all combined to create a palpable West Coast experience that we took to heart.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot say there was one thing just better instruction as to how to get to your room...

    Everything location service view restaurant not one bad thing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in , I asked for rooms with a view (50th anniversary event for my brother and sister-in-law) and was told although there were plenty of rooms available, that the upgrade would cost $75. I have been to hundreds of hotels and when they have the opportunity to upgrade my rooms they have almost always done so. Instead we were given rooms looking over the street. I would not return to this hotel due to the inhospitable attitude of the receptionist.

    Dinner was OK — nothing exciting; room was OK in terms of layout and comfort.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elegance of the hotel. The staff are superb and make you feel like your visiting family. Watching the otters frolic was a great treat and the outdoor fire pit was a very nice and relaxing way to end the day. Their restaurant was fantastic but if this is not your thing, there are several restaurants within walking distance and the very helpful staff will tell you how to get there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The huge portions of food. It was off putting. There should be a smaller plate option. The quality and cooking was excellent though.

    The spacious room, spa and the lobby area. Charming staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We opened our windows to hear the sound of waves and the window sills were very dirty. This was a little off putting as you are paying premium dollars but a small fault overall.

    Loved the spa and gym facilities plus the water view and atmosphere from our room was very picturesque. Plenty of shopping and restaurants within walking distance as well as the Aquarium.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel is wonderful. From the staff, restaurant and super comfy beds.... great place to stay with kids, wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car situation is a pain - parking is valet and we waited a long time for them to bring the car. The room itself as OK - not a 4 star room as advertised.

    Good location, comfortable bed, very clean- fridge and safe in room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds with Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got an ocean view, but thought I reserved ocean view with a balcony. No balcony and the windows were locked to open just a few inches.

    Live music was a plus!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Inland View Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was happy with everything except some of the extra charges for the things I did not use. Also not cool that my checkout time was 12 p.m. when they didn't have the room ready until 3 p.m. the prior day. I would of thought you pay for one day that you get 24 Hours. Really beautiful place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed sitting by the fire pit in the evening, however, it was not built large enough to accommodate all the guests present. Our suggestion would be to build another one on the property for guest's use.

    We had breakfast at the hotel. Our table overlooked the water which was splendid! Our server was very knowledgeable and courteous. It was a nice memory for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location ,staff and the restaurant and the roof top spa was magical and a romantic place to spent time.

    The location location location . If you wanna Hotel in a Monterey this is the place to be.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were a little dated. It was a big hotel and took a while to get from one end to the other.

    The jacuzzi/spa area was incredible. It really made our stay here enjoyable. We also enjoyed walking around the area, and having drinks by the firepit outside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful bayview worth the reasonable upgrade offered at check-in by desk team member. Helpful and courteous “I am here to serve you” staff at each encounter and corner of the property. Enjoyable walks to many diverting places, historic, and artful, and playful, and tasty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel offers bikes to their guests: we cycled near by the ocean! It’s the most breathtaking trail and so unforgettable experience! We loved jacuzzi on the roof top and fire-place outside. Definitely an amazing place to stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were unaware of a marathon and were almost unable to leave the resort to catch a flight and turn in our car. horrible communication and the valet is aweful. they need a better valet plan

    it was a beautiful resort and loved the location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steam room under repair. Couldn't use locker rooms with sauna etc without a scheduled treatment. Only staying one night with limited time, so no time for spa treatment. Would have liked to use sauna and steam room.

    comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Inland View Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like the fact that the spa did not allow children under the age of 13 at all! even with an accompanying adult. That's not cool in a family oriented hotel. And they REQUIRE you to pay the spa fee, even though we couldn't enjoy it with the family.

    we had a nice big room. And the hotel itself was very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s was pricey for what it is.

    They advertise being over the water. Our room was over the road behind the part of the hotel that was over the water. No sea view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No accessible electrical outlets for medical devices. Beds are too tall. We had trouble finding the correct path to restaurants. Our room was not clearly described online.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe, maybe the room could have been abit more updated.

    Kids get a small fun bag that is pretty cool. Our 4.5 yr old loved it. Being right above the bay is rad.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price we paid I would've liked to have a love seat in the room. However, the room was comfortable, roomy and the amenities offered were really nice.

    We had breakfast at Schooner's a couple of times. The service was great as was the food. I loved their cinnamon french toast and you can't go wrong with applewood smoked bacon and eggs cooked to order.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility was great! Valet parking included in the rate!👍 Locarion location location! Staff incredibly pleasant/helpful/accommodating! We loved it.....guess it shows!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dealing with them over the phone prior to arrival was a nightmare. We were dreading coming. Every time we called with questions, they could not find our reservations without extended searches. They told us they had no refrigerators and none were available for the room. Upon arrival, they delivered one immediately.

    My brother in law didn't arrive the first night due to foggy condition and airplane cancellation. They didn't charge him for the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to buy the robe at the spa and they would not let me because they were changing them and they would not sell me one that was there so I was highly disappointed because I wanted that one

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ate a light meal in the restaurant on Sat evening and service was surprisingly slow and the clam chowder showed no evidence of fish!

    Huge comfortable room with sunny balcony. Excellent service from front desk and concierge. Used the wonderful hot tub overlooking the sea both nights and enjoyed breakfast outdoors at Peet's Cafe watching the otters!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price online isn't the real price per night. It's actually the AVERAGE price per night. You also need to add in the room tax and additional fees. The $29 valet parking fee isn't included either, but that's stated prominently. If you have a $249 a night room, just the additional fees (parking not included) can total around $31. So, the room is $280 without the parking and $309 with parking.

    The staff is great, very friendly. The room was quiet and comfortable and the bed was very enjoyable. We had two very nice nights with no loud noises or distractions. A very comfortable place to hang out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a shame that there is no pool although the rooftop hot tub is outstanding

    Outstanding room size with excellent fixtures and facilities and great bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very unsatisfied with the breakfast - first of all we had to wait quite a long time to even get a table (at 8.00am in the morning). Then we had to wait a very long time for the breakfast and had to ask several times. The orange juice was not freshly squeezed and in general the breakfast lacked a freshness. Compared to other places it is absolutely not value for money - everything seems overly priced and the quality can't live up to it. Also we asked to remove a croissant from our order (5 minutes before the food arrived) and was told we couldn't as it was being prepared (it came cold and alone on a plate). So the service wasn't too good either.

    The location and the room were perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The added resort fee along with taxes makes for an expensive stay.

    Beautiful plush hotel, fabulous view from sea facing room. Good location. wonderful walks in both directions along the coast. Easy access to numerous restaurants. We really appreciated the coffee shop on the plaza where we could get coffee and breakfast in the mornings overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is very little to dislike about the property, all the staff were exceptional, and the accommodation perfect (we came back and stayed a second time on our way back up the West coast - had an ocean view room second time, there is something special about watching seals play from your balcony!). Food great and good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Handicap Access - Deluxe Two Queen Beds with Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the services received at breakfast. I should not have to complain to front office and then to the restaurant manager about seating and so forth for $599 per night. We could have stayed at all inclusive for this amount and not have to deal with inept hostess staff.

    Customer service was above average overall. The cleaning staff, front office, concierge, valet were all excellent. My husband and I were not happy with the service we received at breakfast. For $599 per night, we expected much more from the staff. Overall, the facilities were over priced for the services received. However, our dinner was outstanding. The services and food were excellent. We paid $44 for a rib eye. Again, this is expensive on top of an overrated room price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Handicap Access - Deluxe King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Strange smell at front entrance at restaurant area and booth (Body odor). My partner has some health issues but our room placement required a lot of walking. Both on line and at registration it felt we did not have priority in our our requests.

    Dinner and Desert were 5 Star!!! Breakfast very good. Staff treated us very well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Honesty.

    Our reservation was "cancelled" by Booking.com when we arrived, per the hotel, so we lost our ocean view room. We feel the hotel oversold the rooms and decided to bump us for a large wedding party. They tried to make it up to us, but when you book 9 months in advance to have an ocean view and instead, you are in a street view, it's extremely disappointing. Lesson learned? Not sure who you should trust when you make reservations, but just know that you can lose it and not be notified by anyone! This is a lovely spot, and good restaurant, and I would have loved to give it a higher rating. I just feel we were taken advantage of, due to overbooking, similar to what the airlines are doing. Trust no one!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very little that we didn't like, but our "balcony room" had such a small narrow balcony, that it was not that comfortable to sit out there. Since you pay extra for a balcony, that was disappointing to us. We had intended on having breakfast in our room, but changed our mind.

    The outdoor spaces were particularly beautiful, and we enjoyed sitting around the fire pit with wine or a small breakfast. Everyone was very courteous and friendly, especially the people at the bell desk. We will be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it is beyond the hotel control, but the noise was very bad at night. We could not sleep well. Also the value of money (parking) was high.

    A wonderful location and staff. Near the city center. And the housekeeping was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style rooms, the style is very vintage. Made me feel like it wasn’t work the price tag.

    Nice walk to the Aquarium, good cafe and it’s overlooking the ocean. Spa was amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Executive building. I prefer to stay on the bay side. The Executive building accommodations made me feel like I was staying in a lower-budget hotel. The bathroom needed an update. Plus the street traffic is very noisy.

    I like the location and friendly staff. The on-site restaurant, Schooner's, has one of the best views of the bay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel very impersonal. 'Complimentary' valet transfer is unreliable - and as you pay for it in the '$27 per night additional resort fee', it isn't really complimentary anyway. Had to make our own way back from our night out, having waited for over an hour for them to turn up as arranged - got back to hotel and saw both transfer vehicles just sitting outside. Staff not really bothered about providing a decent service - wouldn't recommend this hotel

    big hotel - rooms spacious and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Soft water - dislike that feeling

    Generously spacious room, bathroom, nice deck (although mine did not overlook the water). Convenient location to everything and complementary bicycle rental (and adjacent to THE bike path that adjoins everything along the waterfront.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The one thing that we could have done without was the Keurig coffeemaker in the room. It would work for the 1st cup of coffee and then not work again. They even brought in a different machine and it still did the same thing. But they gave us room service coffee without having to pay for it!

    The room was very nice with a wonderful view of the Monterey Bay, and the beds were comfortable. The food and room service was wonderful. Dinner in their restaurant on Tue. night was absolutly delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A resort fee of $29 per day was excessive given the room rate A breakfast buffet would have been better than the limited choice available

    Location was good as was the overall feel of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Handicap Access - Deluxe King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive.

    The location is very good and convenient. The spa is very comfortable and you can see the sea from the top roof. Very good experience. Have a try!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were told that it would cost additional $200 to upgrade to sea view upon check-in. $29 for parking and WIFI, $25 for extra rollaway bed.

    Great location. Love the bed & pillows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch & dinner menu were not good. Needed a step stool to get into the bed

    Beautiful location & comfortable rooom. We were offered an upgrade to ocean & bay view. Glad we did it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ask for a quiet room ended up on the corner we're all the deliveries and garbage trucks we're picking up all morning

    All was okay but very few amenities no breakfast Continental or otherwise I just seem like I get more for Less at other locations

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: