Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Morris House Hotel 3 stars

225 South 8th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106, USA

#1 of 75 hotels in Philadelphia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 434 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street is tiny, no place to park, have to unload fast and go in the garage next door. No warm food at breakfast. Narrow stairs, no elevators - we did not mind but people need to know.

    Nice staff, accommodating. We had a beautiful room but the bed was far too small (I noticed no fridge) so had to change to the new annex where the bedroom was very spacious but did not have the same charm (had a mini fridge). Comfortable bed and pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One thing probably my fault, there was no elevator and we are in our seventies so next time, I try to get a first floor room instead of third.

    Loved the spacious bathroom. Had dinner there outside and it was exceptional. Staff friendly and helpful. Quiet, even though it was in a busy location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too pricy considering there's no pool or gym. Airport transfer would make it more even with the price.

    The decoration and style of the property is awesome. It has super friendly staff and the location is perfect. Very quiet and perfect for relaxation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything exceeded my expectations. My suite was large and open and lovely. Bed was very comfortable. Lots of towels provided. Very clean, the maids seem to have a great work ethic. Kayla and Nick at the front desk were both great individuals, very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was totally inadequate and the dinner and snack we had were not good-burned and way over seasoned. Some of the front desk staff were ill-trained and really had no idea how to check us in, call a cab or perform basic tasks.

    The room was lovely and quite comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The rooms were much, much bigger than expected. The room extremely comfortable and the courtyard so cute and relaxing. My stay was better than expected!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our dining experience left a lot to be desired; the food was absolutely tasteless, however, the wait staff was very pleasant. The Tv in the living room was not working properly and being a senior couple, the stairs were really tough on us. I did ask if there was a room on the first floor but none available.

    The court yard was very pleasant. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower was very small and there was not much room to put your toiletries down. But we understand it is a very old building! Room was just a bit small but bed was nice and linens were very nice.

    Breakfast was very nice. Beautiful library or dining room to eat in. Very quiet and elegant. Great location in center of Philadelphia and very close to the historic sites. Did not use the restaurant but did have some wine on the patio and it was very good. Wonderful cookies for afternoon tea. Young desk attendants were very nice, friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Speaking only of the restaurant we were very dissatisfied with the food. Partners food was burned and not recognizable. My fresh sea bass which was recommended by the waiter was no thicker than a quarter of an inch. It took over thirty minutes to get. The waiter made excuses for the kitchen but finally gave up and ultimately credited the entre cost. Overall a memorably bad experience.

    Speaking only of the restaurant the setting and ambience was great. Before dinner we enjoyed drinks in the bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old historical building nicely transformed into a hotel. The location is excellent for Penn medical facilities and Wills Eye Hospital. There is a living room converted into attractive communal space. The restaurant is convenient with enjoyable local cuisine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of fllies in the room, my little one was very scared. Breakfast option limited.

    The apartment/room was filled with flies (almost 8 to 10). Room was cozy and in the ground flood area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom seems to have been renovated in the 1950's. Breakfast was more reminiscent of a motel than a classy boutique hotel

    Gas effect fires in public areas, congenial bar, nice patio

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was very romantic and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful. The 1700's building was exactly what I hoped for and had a beautiful patio area for drinks or eating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs! There is no elevator, and we had to change our room to the top floor. Very sore legs the next day.

    The bed was very comfortable. Very cozy room. The hotel is in a great area. Lots to do and see in walking distance. The food at M was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were up @ 6am, gathering to leave for the Hospital, and we could hear the early am worker yelling & cursing from below. Awkward, but it made us laugh on a very somber day.

    Bed was extremely comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had no problems or complaints.

    The rooms were beautiful, the property was beautiful and the breakfast was very good. You can not find a better location to explore the old historic district of Philadelphia.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very patchy on the second floor. A bit of a nuisance as we had to go to the lounge to stop in cutting in and out.

    This was a lovely hotel, close to the historic part of the city. A friendly touch was the homemade biscuits and coffee available in the afternoon - especially welcome as one day everything in the city was closed because of snow. Nice fires to chat to other guests by and read.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not unlike most inexpensive breakfast buffet type hotels, less packaged items for a more elegant touch would have been nicer. More focus on healthful items, but overall it was still good. The setting, dining area was beautiful, especially the fireplace and availability of today's paper was a nice touch.

    The size of room and amenities were excellent. Very clean, style elegant yet modern, beautiful place, an oasis in an amazing location. The history of the location is so interesting also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ate in the restaurant and found the entrees very disappointing. mine was swimming in oil (Trout) and my friends was very salty.(Chicken) The Tuna tartare appetizer was very good. Liked the thoughtfulness of a complimentary glass of wine and the staff were very nice.

    I thought the place was warm and comfortable and the staff was soooooooooo nice. It was very beautiful and would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in shower was poor, drain for sink was clogged, TV remote was difficult to operate

    Friendly staff, comfy bed and linens, fireplaces, breakfast spread, staff saved our playbill after we lost them

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was a little bit unstable regarding water pressure and temperature, but nothing that impacted the overall experience.

    Room was beautiful and extremely comfortable, breakfast was as expected and loved the afternoon cookies (specially the oatmeal and raisins one) + always good to have coffee and tea at our disposal. The location was perfect and made it possible for us to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress on our bed, unfortunately, has seen better days. Only recommendation - replace it with a firmer one.

    We liked the relaxing atmosphere and the extras that were provided - warm delicious cookies, bottles of water, ease of location, assistance at any time. Having the restaurant next door was terrific. Great atmosphere at the bar and restaurant, so friendly! so efficient!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more options for breakfast. Water pressure on third floor could be better

    Room was comfortable and clean. Location was great for seeing historical sites.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed slopes slightly downward towards the headboard, because the floor was sloped (very old building!). Maybe add some spacers to level it up? Water pressure not great. Again, old building issues and totally understandable. Not enough to keep me from staying again.

    Excellent location. Beautiful and cozy atmosphere with a fire burning in the parlor and period decor. Personalized attention by staff and knowledgeable concierge. Suite I stayed in was spacious and lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The days we were there were frigid and windy. I could feel a bit of a draft of cold air on the floor of our bedroom.

    The ambiance of the Hotel was decked in holiday splendor with greens, warm fireplaces, wonderful cozy, quiet sitting areas to take in the Christmas Season. The Staff was so helpful and friendly helping us via telephone prior to our visit in finding wonderful places to have lunch and dinner on Christmas Day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 301, a very spacious and comfortable room on the third floor. A close walk to Pennsylvania Hospital, it was a great place to stay during my husband’s surgery. The staff was gracious, the restaurant very good, and convenient. The complimentary glass of wine was just what I needed after a long, stressful day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointment was the shower. No water pressure and temperature kept changing from scalding hot to freezing cold. On third floor so not sure if that was an impact. Showered at 10 am. Is that laundry time? I hope they can address that cause I would stay here every time I'm in the city otherwise.

    Such a beautiful building. Everything was elegant and yet comfy. Love that breakfast is included. Bed very comfortable with fluffy comforters.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was awful. stale bread & wrinkled fruit ..the whole point of a continental breakfast is that it needs to at least be fresh !

    The house itself is very cozy with beautiful old features including fireplaces with all the fires lighting

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast has no hot items. It is a cold buffet of yogurt, muffins, croissants, hard boiled eggs. Very nice but nothing to go wild about.

    This historic inn is located within walkable distance to Old City and many attractions. The room has a wonderful bed and many are four poster beds. Beautiful sitting room with a fire. Wonderful afternoon freebies..cookies, tea/coffee, wine next door at M restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it is an old historic house, can hear neighbors above and below in Carriage House. Would still stay again.

    Super unique place to stay and location is amazing. Super walkable to everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is one of the most historically charming hotels I have stayed at. It feels like a quaint B&B. The staff is very friendly, the rooms huge and modern. There are fireplaces running in most of the public spaces and there is a complimentary glass of wine for each night of your stay. It really feels like home away from home here!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Morris House Hotel was amazing! So charming and historic, well appointed and comfortable, the hotel was clean, lovely, and spacious. It was also in a fantastic location and served a delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was large, but univiting and not in keeping with the historic character of the main house. Breakfast was adequate, but uninspired.

    Lovely cozy bar and breakfast rooms with fires always burning in the fireplaces. Charmingly historic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 1 night

    The large suite was clean and spacious with very comfortable furnishings. The bathroom was large with a shower and jacuzzi tub. The kitchenette was nice with 2 electric burners, sink with garbage disposal, microwave, Keurig and dishes for several settings (at least 4 as I recall). The location is great for walking to Old City; we even walked to City Center, though it's a bit far. There is a large private parking garage with reasonable rates across the street. Breakfast was OK: baked items, BabyBel cheeses, granola, cereal, coffee, etc. The staff was friendly. I would stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave! Loved Philadelphia and the Morris House 😊

    This is a beautiful little hotel full of character, so homely and comfortable. The bedroom was luxurious, very big with a gorgeous bed you could sleep forever in. Nice welcoming glass of wine in the friendly bar next door. There's a lovely courtyard there with fairy lights where you could sit out on a fine evening also. The location is excellent being just a few minutes walk from the old historic sights and short walk to the metro connecting to train station. We loved this hotel and highly recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No maid service. They spoke with them or whatever, but that didn't retroactively provide me with coffee in my room for my 2nd morning...

    Great place to visit with someone. Not so hot for business travel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we couldn't fit in a longer stay.

    A quaint hotel! My wife and i enjoyed the atmosphere and the history. The restaurant next door was excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was not greeted at the M restaurant after waiting close to 5 minutes, so we left and ate elsewhere.

    Excellent: bed, linens, spotlessly clean; suite so lots of room, breakfast perfect. Other travelers may want to be aware that this suite was two flights up. Not a big deal for us as we had lightweight suitcases with only clothes for two days.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not very interested, the coffee was good Not included parking but have a discount

    The best place I ever been in Usa , the room was big , the blanket was very comfortable, the bed too, was jacuzzi, tv in both rooms , the staff was very nice, very recommended

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not good. Croissants were hard and food quality and choices were not very appealing. There was a lack also of healthier breakfast options such as chopped fruit salad (which is easier to eat than the apples and oranges that were offered) or full grain breads. Good quality yogurt however and whole fruit and an iced hard boiled egg were available and the breakfast area was pleasant.

    Really great location,quaint b and b with high quality bedding, attractive bathrooms and ambience. Hotel is 2 blocks from entrance to Pennsylvania Hospital which makes it so perfect if a family member is having surgery and you need to be close by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While there is parking directly across in a parking garage it is expensive and the discount offered is not a whole lot. There was not a lot of history offered about the place even though it is listed on the historical records, it would have been fascinating to learn more about the property!

    The property was close to a lot of activities, both for historical sight seeing and other city explorations. The staff was very informative, friendly, and available. The room we booked had a kitchenette which was perfect size and was stocked with the essentials and cleaning supplies for the dishes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please note that due to the age of the building, there is no elevator.

    Effortless stay in a beautiful, historic Philadelphia building. The breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having more options at breakfast would be nice.

    Staying in such a historic place of Philadelphia made this trip extra special. The rooms were beautiful and the staff was very helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE BREAKFAST. It had a Hampton feel, no at least Hampton Inn had some hot options. Didn't fit how elegant the hotel was.

    Great location; very elegantly decorated;excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Close to so many historical points of interest. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and clean. I would definitely stay here again. Next time, we will dine at M as well. The courtyard looked so charming and romantic. And the fact this is an historic home made our stay that more special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is in a ramp directly acrosss the street. The downside is that the ramp cost $30 for a one night stay. Obviously, not something Morris House can control, but something to be aware of.

    Beautiful, historic hotel! Great location next to Washington Square and within walking distance to Independence Hall and Market Street. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Enjoyed the complimentary hot cocoa and cookies!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Climbing 3 flights of stairs to my room. Would have liked a hot dish for breakfast. Would have appreciated a non alcoholic beverage offering instead of wine.

    Tea round the clock.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Breakfast could have slightly had more options -Study or work desk in the room would also have been nice (but there is a business center downstairs for internet and printing if needed)

    Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and we were both really pleased. The room was comfortable, the location was great, and the staff are always very friendly and helpful (kudos to Chandler, our receptionist who was very sweet and welcoming). There was also free delicious cookies (macadamia and white choc - my favourite) and free wine every day of your stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location. The room was nicely decorated, exceptionally clean, and the bed was very comfortable. I felt like I was at home! Staff were helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was a little rudimentary for breakfast but it was of good quality.

    The place was like an oasis. The people were friendly, the courtyard was lovely and the bedding was like sleeping in a cloud. This is one of the best places I have stayed a while. It was also an easy walk to everywhere you want to go.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't end up arriving at the hotel until almost 1 in the morning because our plans ran behind schedule, but the man who greeted us was very accommodating and warm. He greeted us as if we were old friends, and showed us around the place. The room and the entire interior of the hotel is beautiful. The bed and sheets were incredibly comfortable. In the end, it felt more like we had spent the night at a good friend's house than at a hotel. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really liked the friendly, quaint and homey atmosphere. It's a hotel with more character and history than most, and that was a positive part of our experience. The staff was great and the location perfect. I had thought about opting for a hotel with its own parking garage; but the public parking garage on 8th Street is right next to the hotel, and so that was really, really convenient. The hotel validated our ticket, which helped reduce the cost a bit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    "Presidential suite" decor was 60s and not of the period of the rest of the hotel. Big disappointment. This "upgrade" was offered over the phone after my booking and I assumed same decor... bad assumption. Remedy will be difficult since I used your booking service. Never again. This is the second time I've had issues that were more difficult to resolve because of 3rd party involved.

    History of the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no elevator, so you have to carry it up and down stairs (sure staff would handle if asked).

    Just be in home built in 1894 so wonderfully maintained was wonderful. The continental breakfast and complementary glass of wine each evening were both very nice. Nice business center available. Very close to historic area; e.i., Independence Hall, etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding in the courtyard and the staff cleaning up afterwards was a little noisy since our room was next to where they were stacking them.

    The staff was amazing, the room and hotel are absolutely beautiful, and the breakfast did the job, it is in a great part of town and even if it doesn't have its own parking, the garage is right across the street. Within walking distance of independence square and many of the major attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with breakfast on day two of our stay. Crusants were reheated and thus hard as a rock. It looked like the breakfast from the prior day was covered over and put out on day two of our stay. Also disappointed that the M restaurant was closed. Not informed of that when we reserved the hotel.

    Location to historic district

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to know that we wouldbe going thru the lobby, outside on the patio, into an attached building thru 2 locked doors (at least we were secured) and up 15 steps to get to our suite . I am a senior. What would have happened if I could not negotiate that scenario? I think there should be some type of statement in the introduction to the hotel No elevators and possible difficulties in reaching the rooms. Part of the problem is that I have limited eyesight. The staff was extremely helpful and the suite offered ample room.

    The staff was so friendly and helpful. The M Restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities not well maintained even for a historic landmark and for the money. Resteraunt was not open on Federal Holiday. Depending on the day/ time/ staff hit and miss on helpfulness.

    the hotel was convenient to the historic district.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could have been stronger to allow us to stream our movies at higher quality. Parking is $27 each day which is a discounted rate. Bed was very comfy but sofa bed could have been a little better. :)

    Location, private, apartment like, breakfast included, could check out umbrellas, quiet, bathroom with jetted tub and separate shower, kitchen(stove, frig, microwave) with dining table, sofa bed in living room, wifi, very to close garage parking- just catty corner, cookies at 3, wine at 4, 5 minute walk to Indepenence Hall ...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good !

    Lovely B&B type property in the heart of Philadelphia ! Unique ! This was our third visit. We have a son in medical school who lives nearby so the location is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    This hotel is an amazing find - close to everything! A short walk to a park, blocks to a wonderful restaurants. Just love it. And the staff was incredible!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front door: really cool in it's period styling, but terribly inconvenient to operate. Obviously a stumbling block for staff and guests alike, the front entrance could be retrofitted. There was a protruding nail in the beautiful hardwood flooring in our room - I caught my bare foot a few times, Ouch. A simple fix, are there regular inspections?

    Easy walk to historic sites and the property itself captured the authenticity and feel of Old City, with enough modern conveniences to be comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more options for breakfast would've been nice, and maybe fresh cream for the coffee.

    Lovely property and area. Nice to stay in a renovated historical B and B when in olde city Philadelphia. A great alternative to big chain hotels. Lots of thoughtful touches and friendly people. Thanks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, we were on the third floor, but we got help carrying our bags. Parking is an issue in Philadelphia for everyone, I didn't mind we had to pay for parking at the lot across the street. We got a discount, and it was very convenient.

    I decided to stay on in Philly, and plan to move here shortly. Huge rooms, beautiful bathrooms. Everything was in walking distance. The food at their restaurant was good. Lots of great places to eat nearby. Wonderful park around the corner to relax in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did have to haul our 45lb suitcase up 2 flights of stairs since there is no elevator, but such is a quaint old home. An elevator would ruin the feel.

    Quaint hotel - more like a bed and breakfast. Perfect location for walking around Old Town. Parking is in a garage but it's right across the street and very easy. Staff was super friendly. Morning coffee and breakfast in a beautiful dining room with a fire on - so lovely. Grounds/house are so beautiful. Our carpet was a bit old in the bedroom and it wasn't a luxurious hotel, but we absolutely loved the comfortable feel and fantastic location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late night it's a little hard to figure the entry.

    Reception was a bit rocky. Afterwards all was as good as it's gets. Enjoyed the property and its offerings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 1 night

    Totally overpriced for what you get. Workmen all over, so not very peaceful and inviting. The rooms not very tastefully furnished. They advertise a good breakfast; but it was every bit as bad as those tend to be in cheaper US hotels. I had to go round the corner on Washington Square to eat something decent.

    The location is near Washington Square and Old City. Physically, the site is quite charming, though perhaps too close to impersonal hospital buildings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of an elevator restricts access to the rooms on the upper floors.

    Charming hotel centrally located near Philadelphia's tourist and nightlife hot spots. You are greeted by friendly staff and are welcomed to relax in the period rooms of the historic hotel. The suites are large, spacious and comfortable. Easy walk to Independence Hall, old town and center city. Quick ride to the main train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was really a find...more like a European Guest House than a typical American Hotel...lovely, comfortable, welcoming...I enjoyed my one night stay there so much that I booked a room for this month as part of my wife & my 10th year anniversary trip to Philly...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A We loved the Morris House!

    The house had a beautiful colonial atmosphere and the staff was outstanding. I especially enjoyed drinking coffee in front of the fireplace with my wife. I highly recommend the Morris House to anyone who is in Philadelphia.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property with an interesting history. Courtyard dinner at M restaurant was memorable and the breakfast room was serene and set up perfectly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Brilliant hotel with excellent staff!! Reception staff were all very welcoming, friendly and professional. Chandler was such a delight and always happy to help. Loved the homely feel to the hotel with a nice touch of fresh cookies & tea, complimentary glass of wine and cozy place by the fire. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think that a boutique hotel should offer a cooked breakfast option. The breakfast was disappointing and a little boring. As I paid $200 a night for a room, not a suite, I do expect a proper cooked breakfast. Also, the toaster oven is inadequate and quite useless. It only really dried out the bread and did not toast it.

    The bed and pillows were like sleeping on a cloud, so very comfortable. The proximity to the old city is excellent and the staff were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Extended Suites
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the bedroom decor was a bit cheap looking for a high end hotel

    Nice historic feel; classy common areas - lounge, breakfast room; great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rm 302 shower pressure and temperature fluctuated during shower. Lots of stairs. No fridge in room ( had medication that needed to be kept cold so had to call front desk for ice multiple times- brought upstairs promptly and pleasently...just less convenient) Parking in public lot across the street was easy, but not inexpensive (even with the discount). Complimentary afternoon extras were not set out (and didn't choose to ask for them)

    Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Attractive decor. Continental breakfast adequate. Reasonable price for location.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Morris House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: