Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Morrison Clark Inn This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1011 L Steet NW, Northwest, Washington, DC, DC 20001, United States of America

#21 of 138 hotels in Washington, DC

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1094 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    8.8
    The overall hotel and room were beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very cramped with furniture, there was construction going on directly outside hotel so it could be quite loud at times. No iron in hotel room.

    The overall hotel and room were beautiful. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.8
    Not bad for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are small. It was my anniversary and I let the hotel know in advance, yet the person checking us in to our room wasn't aware of this. I mentioned it and she just said congrats. However the other attendant stepped in and upgraded our room. The room was nice but still small. I can't imagine what our original room would look like. Also, the tub was very slippery and there were no tub mats, or place to put your soap or shampoo except the side of the tub.

    Hotel was in a great location near metro, convention center and lots of restaurants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.8
    Nice staff and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have preferred a location that is a bit closer to the national mall. I would also be pleased to have a kettle or a coffee maker in the room.

    Nice staff and hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needed a dresser with drawer space for clothing or at least 2 luggage racks instead of one. No place to access clothing and accessories.

    Friendly, efficient staff. Excellent location. Comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect romantic luxurious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is absolutely amazing. It’s the perfect hotel for a romantic getaway. It’s very luxurious and clean. The service is impeccable. The only downside was the room size. It was a little on the small side but other than that it was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    10
    peaceful safe and comfortable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The addition of tea, coffee making in the room would be good. A herbal tea for bed time....

    peaceful safe and comfortable ..lovely big bed after a LONG flight

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    If in Washington, stay at this hotel definitely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!!!

    One of the best hotels we stayed at. The attitude of the staff was excellent during our entire stay. The hotel is very comfortable, it gives you a feeling of home, the rooms are spacious, well equipped and luxurious. There is a nice restaurant in the hotel. The hotel is located within walking distance from the White House (about 20 minutes) and many attractions on the mall, and a 10 minutes ride from the Union Station, in a very nice neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    9.2
    Historic property, superb restaurant on site, delightful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Historic property, superb restaurant on site, delightful courtyard, walking distance to downtown sites, friendly staff. I always feel safe and comfortable here as a single female traveler

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    3.8
    No amenities, never coming back.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No toilet paper in the bathroom when we arrived, the bathroom had a leak above the shower, so while I was showering I had water dripping on me from the ceiling. No coffee machine in the room or complementary coffee anywhere else in the hotel. Parking was $47 a night nobody explained that to us.

    Check out was 12pm

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.5
    Great location for central Washington
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was slightly on the small side and quite far from the metro.

    Lovely hotel with nice courtyard. Staff were very friendly. Perfect location to see all the big sights!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable, value for money. Small things could be improved upon.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room. This is very disappointing. They should offer these facilities on request.

    Good location. Friendly staff. I had a nice room although at first they offered a room where a common-area court-yard looked directly into my bedroom window (at ground level).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.6
    for those who like to stay in a special place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it appears that the rooms on the 6th floor are a bit noisy because of the aircondition machines on the roof so we switched to the room on the 2nd floor that was ok, the fitness room is really tiny. cannot accomodate more then 3 people.

    helpful staff assisted to pick out the most quiet room in the hotel, cosy room, comfortable bed, clean and nice bathroom, breakfast and dinner is quality , the local restaurant is quality, very conveniently sitiated hotel close to anywhere in downtown, historical building gives you some additional taste that we enjoyed, cofee in the early morning was gladly accepted, bellboy Teshale from Ephiopia was especially friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely room, super nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No iron or luggage rack in-room and pretty noisy on the street-side, but I slept through it. There is a bench and an iron is available upon request. Drinking glasses are small (4 oz.), there is no ice machine, and I don't remember any hangers in my room. Cable is also quite limited, should one need that.

    Lovely room, super nice staff. Sitting area is separate from bedroom and bathroom and both the bedroom and sitting area have TV's. The bed was extremely comfortable. Located near plenty of restaurants. Bottled water is included with the stay. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed very much and would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was very friendly and helpful with directions, etc. Had cocktails and dinner at the bar. Bartender was very friendly and had lots of suggestions of art exhibits in the area. Thedecor in lobby is very nice. Nice outside area for relaxing. Easy walking to the many sites.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    6.3
    Decent room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible gym with non-functioning equipment. Loading dock garage door just beneath my room made lots of noise opening and closing at late hours. Had to take elevator to get to room on second floor - no stairway access. Inconsistent staff quality - some very friendly, but some indifferent. Strange for a small hotel. Pillows hard.

    Decent room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.9
    Comfy room, excellent location , close to convention centre...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very disappointed that there was no coffee or tea making facilities in the room

    Comfy room, excellent location , close to convention centre and tourist attractions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in all regards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very hard to fault

    This is a great hotel, exceptional staff, good position, great value, excellent quality sheets and towels ( better than other more expensive hotels). Very clean would happily stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Hip hotel. Great vibe. Good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs. Surprised to find steep stairs at entry off street and in central lobby as necessary paths to expedite passage from A to B. Staff is happy to help you carry luggage throughout. Best if you wear walking shoes in these areas if you're to navigate stairs.

    Cool decor, warm staff, relaxing courtyard, lovely room, comfy mattress, lux comforter, Will stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    10
    Excellent Stay for a Great Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My stay at Morrison Clark was superb. Each and every staff member was friendly, helpful and outgoing. The WiFi worked wonderfully the entire stay. I've already booked this property for my next visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    10
    Outstanding I would love to stay there next year around the same time if the rooms are available
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no vending machine to get anything to drink, even though you have drinks in the room. That's all well and good a little to much. I understand this place is the top of the line, snacks dosing hurt anyone. Just a thought.

    What eggs? Now the bed felt like Heaven As far as the Hotel it is a Very Nice Place to stay. Very Luxury very Plush. The staff was very nice very helpful. I didn't get a chance to see all of the hotel but I believe it is very beautiful. Thank You for the comfort of this lovely Place Room 104

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    If the opportunity presents itself, we will definitely stay here again. Just no room service :D
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee-maker in room, high menu pricing (but I guess I understand), gratuity confusion (apparently you don't have to tip. We found out after the fact. lol)

    Super nice shower, Morrison Burger is mighty tasty, and very kind staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Comfortable rooms, very nice staff and it was great to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a little farther from the mall than I would’ve liked.

    Comfortable rooms, very nice staff and it was great to have a restaurant & bar onsite. After long days of sightseeing, we enjoyed cocktails and dessert in the evening at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    Location, Shower, Bed 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff are excellent and we’ll trained in customer service. The bathrooms are by far my favourite thing in our room, exquisite shower. Never wanted to leave.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    10
    It was a very pleasant stay and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice property with excellent staff. All well trained in customer service. Location is great, we walked to the Mall and back with no problem, and many restaurants near the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking at the hotel is pricey (forgot exactly how much), but apparently that is the case at every hotel in DC.

    The staff were great and extra friendly. It was my mothers and I's birthday and they gave us a little birthday present with chocolates and a card - was very unexpected and sweet! Room was clean and very comfy. They also gave us the best room in the whole building with great views! Would definitely recommend this hotel. Thanks for the stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel, charming, perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They forgot to clean our room 1 day and we came home at 5:00 pm to the room not being cleaned which was inconvenient because we had to call the front desk and then leave the room after an exhausting day of sight seeing. They did rectify this quickly. Also didn't like how one of the doormen was trying to sell us Hop on Hop off bus passes. He said we had to get it on Sunday because he wouldn't be there on Monday - lo and behold he was there on Monday. Didn't appreciate the pushiness of this man.

    The coziness of the hotel, the comfort of the mattress and the friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.2
    We got upgraded and very much enjoyed our stay at Morrison...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast should be served longer on weekends.

    We got upgraded and very much enjoyed our stay at Morrison Clark Inn. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the hotel is newly renovated. Great value for money and service. Would be happy to be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, amazing and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Victorian Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel, amazing and helpful staff. The Victorian Room was just stunning and comfortable. After a long day, I called room service and they were super accommodating- I wanted a grilled cheese sandwich, which was not on the menu. The chef took care of me and it was outstanding! I would highly recommend the Morrison Clark and will definitely be staying there again with my family!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    Amazing historical hotel located in a centre of the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing historical hotel located in a centre of the city! Didn’t need a car, everything was so close. Staff is friendly and professional. Room was very clean, cozy and beautiful. Will definitely recommend to my friends!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with a comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The doors could close a little softer.

    The beds are comfortable and the pillows are fluffy. The design of the hotel is very clean, modern, and consistent. I would absolutely come here again. The staff are kind and helpful. Overall, it's a great space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.6
    Well situated, very cute and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Other than the lighting in the bathroom being a little poor it was great.

    Well situated, very cute and comfortable. The bed was amazing!!! Room service came very quickly. Kinda pricey for a one night stay but worth it if you spend enough time in the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    8.8
    A 3 minute walk to the convention center; pleasant staff and a comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was noisy at night despite being at the end of the hall on the fourth floor. It sounded like plumbing or machinery.

    Excellent coffee and breakfast (though not much choice).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    8.8
    Expensive but really nice and a great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I wish I had had coffee available past 7:30. The room was small so there was not room for making coffee in my room. So they made it available in the lobby but it could have been there all day!

    The room had a nice view and the bed was really comfortable. Once I figured it out the temperature controls were really responsive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice staff, good location, comfortable bed, quiet place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had 1 pair of slippers but we had a room for 2 persons. At the check out they told us that we had to ask for the second pair. Too expensive for March month.

    Very nice staff, good location, comfortable bed, quiet place, very nice decorated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited menus both for room service and the restaurant. Overpriced restaurant.. Food was okay but nothing special.

    Convenient location, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel and cozy room in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was extremely fancy, which isn't a bad thing, but I felt bad when staff would rush over to open the doors for me when I'm perfectly capable of doing it myself. It just seemed a bit extreme. So did the maid's ACTUAL french maid uniforms. I get the aesthetic aspect of it, but can't we just agree that's not really necessary?

    The room was lovely and the staff was very friendly and accommodating, plus the location was perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    Our stay was wonderful and we will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that we didn’t like was the absence of a coffee maker in the room

    The property Met our expectations and the hotel was close to most of the attractions of Washington the room is clean and modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed my stay - spacious rooms & convenient locations. Just a bit noisy but recently recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I could hear the creaking through the Walls from people moving around and the Pipes. I heard a constant dripping noise which i assumed to be the water from the rooms above me. Like a leak lol but it wasn’t in my room. Not unbearable but very annoying. I didn’t wanna be difficult by asking to change rooms and I was too exhausted. Also went to the bar to order wine and the bartender wasn’t there. Waiting about ten minutes and still didn’t show.

    Very clean. Convient location. Nice room. Very large size and very spacious. I was impressed with it. Easy to check it and check out and there were doormen, which you don’t always see anymore. I’d recommend it here for sure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable Nicely Appointed Hotel in a Safe Neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy (Room 122 was on 11th street, next to a building exit) Expensive & very limited parking ($47 total per day) but it was very convenient and Washington DC has very limited overnight parking. Saw a few tiny ants in the bath but it was the first warm spring day. NO COFFEE MAKER.

    Location - about 6 blocks from national mall, etc. Very comfortable bed, Nicely decorated room. Large in-room safe. Helpful Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    6.7
    Good location but needs improvement on their services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They don't have coffee maker in the room and the complimentary coffee they offer is only between 5 am to 7 am. For a 4 star hotel I think a coffee maker with complimentary coffee should be included in the price.

    Room was clean and bed were comfy.The hotel restaurant has a good menu, on a pricey side but good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only issue is in check out they precharged my card when I checked in. So when I checked out they wanted to run it again which would double charge. Had to work with clerk for 45 mins to straighten this out plus call my bank.

    Everything was perfect very great staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was Great!

    Great staff! I even went with my 4 month old. When we went to brunch my son wouldn't stop crying, our waitress said she would carry him while we ate and he was quiet the whole time after that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    2.5
    The front desk has an extremely poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front desk has an extremely poor service. There is no drinks in the mini bar. No housekeeping even though phone call to the front desk has been made. Overall, the stay was extremely unpleasant. The room beyond small, and the service is not worth the money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    5.8
    Won't be going back I don't think.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to walk across the courtyard in the rain to get to my room. They charged me $7 for flat water in the restaurant without warning, salmon was tiny. Fire alarm at 2am, no apology. Weird vibe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    9.2
    Geat location, lovely old hotel, excellent restaurant. Very nice, all in all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had a maintenance issue that required a change of rooms. The upside was that the new room had a bathtub, which I prefer.

    Excellent breakfast menu--especially the duck leg confit! We also had a very nice dinner one night. The lobby bar is also very pleasant and accomodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.3
    Overall I like the hotel and the staff was helpful, I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a room right above the lobby - basically overlooking the lobby, so it was quite noisy until 1130 PM, but luckily the people are the bar left then and we didn't hear much noise. Also we were two people but there was only 1 bathrobe. There was also no where to read the wifi password so we had to call down to the reception to get the code. These are small things that didn't really impact our stay however. I could imagine that room being noisy though on a busy morning.

    The hotel looks very modern and nice. The location is quite central. Arrive quite late at night and was checked in very quickly. Asked for a 1 pm check out and the staff was very willing and ready to accommodate me which was great. The room itself was very clean and nicely laid out, good size too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think there should be a rule that no cell phones or computers are allowed in restaurants. We saw three people at one table. All with laptops open and the staff trying to serve them. No room on tables and when staff spoke they were ignored as they were more interested in the computers. Many restaurants in Australia are banning cell. Phones which is probably a good idea for staff. And other guests.

    Everything about it. A great place to stay that I would recommend to friends

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    7.0
    Inwoukd stay there again. The front desk staff were really nice and location good for conference cen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ordered breakfast to my room. It came fast - thank you for that! But, the grapefruit was not cut and there was not grapefruit sooon, in fact no sooon at all - not sure how anyone thought one might eat a grapefruit that isn’t cut and with no utensils. Also, got an espresso but no milk or cream was provided and got a toasted bagel and was provided no butter - it wasn’t a very pleasant breakfast for $19!!! But it could have been if a little more attention had been paid to provide a cut grapefruit, some butter etc

    Bathroom was pretty spacious and shower was big and nice with good water pressure. Evening turn down service appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    8.3
    The doorman did not help me up front steps with luggage on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Parlor Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The doorman did not help me up front steps with luggage on way in and was ready to grab the tip at top of step so he did not have to carry my suitcase down ( it fits in an overhead bin). I am near 70 and like to hang unto a rail when ascending stairs - especially steep ones like you have. Because of the steps, I will most likely not stay again after 10 years of it being my go to.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    10
    Staff was wonderful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff was wonderful. I booked through Booking.com (which I won't do again). There was a mix-up - and the staff made it work. I'll stay again - as I have in the past.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    10
    Professionally staffed, nicely maintained boutique property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Victorian Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    I am picky, so it says a lot that this hotel consistently exceeds my expectations! This was our second stay; we also stayed last year for an overnight, and will definitely be coming back next year. From the friendliness of the doorman and front desk staff, to the size, quality and cleanliness of the room, this is a really fabulous place for the money. It's a great choice if you prefer smaller, boutique properties to the big chains, as I do. As for food and drink, I wasn't expecting much given the size of the hotel, and the fact that we were just staying one overnight. We weren't there for the amenities. But we really enjoyed the cocktails we got at the bar. They had a number of creative craft cocktails, which I tend to prefer over the standards. Also, breakfast was amazing! We stayed here last year and opted not to eat at the restaurant since no one was there eating. Generally it's not a great sign when a place is deserted. But this year we gave it a shot and we were really, really impressed. One might expect that "breakfast is breakfast," but they do a fantastic job even with simple eggs, bacon, and toast. And the price of the food is a downright bargain for the amount and quality of what you get. They have upmarket choices like filet mignon and eggs, duck confit, and eggs benedict, but I loved my basic fried eggs with Nueske bacon and turkey sausage. They were cooked perfectly. Definitely recommend giving their restaurant a shot. Room tip: The Victorian room we stayed in this year has more character than the Deluxe room we had last year, which was in the newer part of the hotel toward the back of the property. The Victorian room is spacious and has high ceilings, tall windows, a chandelier, fireplace mantel (alas, not a usable fireplace), and a large balcony with patio furniture, which would be lovely in the spring or fall. I'd say the upgrade was worth it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    7.5
    Average, wouldn’t go bAck
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was tiny, when I booked they didn’t say I had to pay $40/day for parking. And I forgot something small and they made me go to a UPS and buy a label and send it to them so then they could ship it to me, very inconvient. And there is no microwave.

    Bed was amazingly comfortable and very clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    6.7
    Stuff and location are greate, but hotel hardly qualify to have two stars. Grossly overpriced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is very small, no cups, no coffee machine (actually nothing). Very small refrigerator full of overpriced drinks. Conditioner (heater) is very noisy. Crane plug in bathroom (hand washing) is very strange. it can be closed, but no visible way to open it.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    9.6
    Overall great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No in room coffee or tea. Had to get dressed to run out into the main hotel area to pay $6 for two drip coffees (and staff had to direct us as there was no signage.)

    Lovely decor. Comfortable beds. Quiet but with good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay on business, and would be for pleasure too.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything, from the very comfortable and stylish rooms to the excellent bar food , and breakfast, very friendly staff . A pleasure and very well located for offices located in Downtown DC

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    6.7
    The staff is very friendly and the hotel is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking unless you would like to pay for Valet. No coffee pot nor iron in the room. Coffee at the front desk is two dollars and something.

    The location was good for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.2
    Overall, our staff was excellent. Staff was excellent anf helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room lightening was not good in the bath room. The restaurant was too expensive for individual items -- coffee, juice etc.

    Staff was very helpful with moving to a another room due to inconvenience. Location to the convention center was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    7.9
    A good option.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s a lot of construction/vacant buildings between the metro and the hotel, which makes a nighttime walk between the two less comfortable. The furniture was new and nice looking, but not super comfortable.

    A good location, and short walk to the metro. Range of restaurants are close by. My room had a sitting room as well, so the extra room was appreciated. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    6.3
    Nice location and rooms, mixed experience with staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parlor Suites
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bad - service was very hit or miss.Lots of staff but they didn’t get good training I fear. Examples: - Hotel is extremely confusing b/c it stretches across several buildings. When trying to get out we went in circles and finally asked a staff member to help. He points to a ramp and dismissively says to go up it and then down. This is not signed and far from obvious, but tone was condescending - Multiple experiences with front desk clerk (Tola) were also poor. For example, when called on a Sunday to ask if there was an in room coffee maker she unapologetically notes that there is none and lobby coffee is available from 5-7am (on weekends!) and that the alternative is to buy in restaurant. The policy is one thing - unkind but ok I guess - but her delivery on this and other matters was unprofessional. No sense of sympathy or helpfulness, a tone that was more about getting out of the convo than driving a good experience These feel like small things but there were five in our stay and it ended up very much dimming the experience of the property. A shame because they clearly spent money on renovating and have almost too many folks standing around. But when those people detract value the whole thing falls apart.

    The good - location was awesome. Property is nice (historic building but rather modern interior). The rooms are decorated in a quasi-Asian / modern style that works and real money was clearly spent on the renovation (think silk drapes, modern mirrors, etc).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, affordable and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the rooms were on the small side.

    The staff were really friendly and because its a fairly small hotel you get to know all the staff. The hotel is lovely and just a short walk to all the DC tourist attractions. My partner and I both liked the old and modern theme and lots of history to learn about. Food is good but expensive just as you'd expect from a boutique hotel. Couldn't of asked for a better stay in DC.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    10
    Staff were courteous and warm. Ambience is cozy n cute. I will recommend this place to anyone!!!
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite Queen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like that there was no kettle nor coffee maker in the rooms.

    The Food!!!!!!!! The chef had me looking forward to the restaurant visits everyday I woke up. And they are affordable too. Affordable and tasty gets an A in my books 💯

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    3.8
    Location is bad, homeless people tried to attack us, thermostat broken...cool bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location - we were almost assaulted by a homeless person getting back to the building. The thermostat was broken. It wasn't in a very safe location

    The bathroom was the best part

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    10
    Lovely😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Customer Service was fantastic it was my wife’s birthday and they kindly upgraded our room! Had a great stay very comfortable with everything we needed! Great location 😊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    10
    Great value, comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't have an iron and that would have been helpful.

    The Morrison Clark Inn was fantastic. The staff were wonderful. They helped me check my bag and get set-up in the library while waiting to check in. They offered water and were very accommodating. The room was very comfortable. I slept easily. The shower was a good size. Everything was clean. The hotel was very close to the Marriott Marquis, making traveling to and from the conference I was attending extremely easy. Also within walking distance to Chinatown and other areas of interst.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.5
    it was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that there was NO PARKING for the customers that where staying at this location and I had to park 4 blocks to the hotel.

    the inside of the hotel is pretty and I loved the room I was staying in it was in a great spot

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.2
    Meh
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were odd things about it. The bathroom was renovated but there was not kight above the tub /shower our room was entered through a balcony that was not covered and it was freezing cold. There was no mention of anything like this that i read.

    It was nice and newly renovated

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    Great Boutique Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved the service of the staff - so very attentive and helpful! The hotel is very clean, and very close to transportation, restaurants, shopping, monuments, museums, etc. The bedding is great - very soft, the pillows were fluffy, and the mattress was very comfortable. The hotel is very quiet, which we loved. If we visit DC again, we will certainly stay at the Morrison Clark, and I highly recommend that you do too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    6.7
    nice hotel,, nice location,, unpleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the most unfriendly of the staff i have seen in last 10 years. No hi or hello no smile. Once i was treated by a staff like i was and outsider; some how got in the hotel with out a reservation.

    nice room. good location and walk distance to white house and the national mall. movie theater and china town is 10 minutes walk. good restaurant around the corner for breakfast 2 minutes walk. . .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    Charming decor, staff, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charming decor, staff, breakfast. The shower was amazing, and the rest of the bathroom, too. I normally hate the new pillow-top mattresses, and feel like I'm going to sink in and disappear. But this one was wonderfully comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    7.5
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small. Internet was very bad disconnecting all the time and asking for the password each time to reconnect. I had the cleaning service knocking on my door everyday and sometimes entering the room while I’m inside and have the “do not disturb sign” on the door. No coffee making machine in the room.

    Location is good, staff are friendly, rooms are very clean, bed is comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    10
    Lovely and comfortable stay, would definitely recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ordered breakfast room service to keep up with the theme of rest and relaxation during our trip. I ordered the eggs benedict but the eggs weren't cooked properly--basically hard boiled instead of poached with the soft runny center (the whole point of poached eggs). The hollandaise sauce had no flavor--it seemed to be missing the lemon. I was pretty disappointed since eggs bene is my favorite breakfast meal. Other than the food, our stay was lovely. Our room had a cool city/streetside view, but I felt it could have been a bit bigger (perhaps if some space was taken from the ample size of the bathroom). For such a lovely room, a king sized bed would have been a nice addition.

    The service was prompt and excellent. Everyone we interacted with was very polite and professional. The bathroom was huge! beautifully renovated. I very much enjoyed the shower due to its size and water pressure. The 12 noon check-out time was great, unlike most chain hotels which are 10 or 11am. We only stayed one night, but felt lucky to be able to sleep in and relax a bit before taking off. The atmosphere as your enter the lobby is lovely, really feel that they tried to preserve the essence of the historic inn. I only wish we had a chance to visit the restaurant which I believe is located in the historic part of the building. I really appreciated the detail and aesthetic of the building: the bright colors in the hallway, the soft and clean colors, design and finishings in the bedroom. The Morrison Clark Inn provides a luxurious experience in a historic location. A nice change from the other hotel chains.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    7.1
    Great hotel for business travelers!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Service at the lobby bar is not good.

    The hotel is great for business travellers. 24-hour printing room and small library to work. The restaurant is also a plus, very good menu and service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    7.5
    Decent if other options are booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parlor Suites
    • Stayed 1 night

    There may be an elevator from the sidewalk to the lobby but didn't see it. So start with carrying luggage up stairs to get to the lobby. There are two elevators in the hotel, used the first one incorrectly first. To find the second one, had to ask again, then climb another flight of stairs to get to it. To get to our room (Parlor Suite), had to then go outdoors as the door to the room is on an outdoor balcony walking area. To get back to the lobby, got lost because that same elevator has a 2nd floor and a 2.5 floor so the doors open on the opposite side. Overall just too much to think about, just get me to my room. Bathroom very small, no light over/near the 1970s shower/tub, living area smaller than expected for what sounded like a higher end suite.

    Good location. Staff nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    8.8
    Room was very comfortable and huge: my room had a balcony...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Victorian Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO COFFEE (yes, I did mean to have this in all caps). There are no coffee making supplies in the room (even a kettle and some instant coffee would have been nice), and if you wake up after 7am, you have to pay for coffee in the restaurant ($2.50 for a pretty blah cup). This is not OK. Also: hot water seemed to be an issue in the morning... shower had to be super quick.

    Room was very comfortable and huge: my room had a balcony which was nice since it was unseasonably warm. I ordered room service which arrived promptly and was tasty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    10
    Lovely Inn, Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No coffee in rooms or available as a complimentary amenity.

    Historical but updated, classy and comfortable. Superb breakfast in restaurant (Almond crusted French Toast and Omelette). Staff very service oriented.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: