Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Motel 6 Big Bear 2 stars

42899 Big Bear Boulevard, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315, USA

#40 of 49 hotels in Big Bear Lake

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 459 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    3.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.0
    will do in a pinch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room we had was on the highway side so we had traffic noise it wasn't the quite mountain relaxing setting I had hoped for.The pool was not open and it was August plenty warm outside. The Room had not been cleaned except for the beds but the management made up for it, by cleaning and with a discount on the room. The price is to high for this motel. it would be about right at half the price.

    Location to the convention center is ideal, big plus. and the only reason I would book again. Management did compensate for dirty room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Adequate for an overnighter if you get a good rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in at the front desk seemed kind of slow, the floor was wet ehen we arrived, the layout of the facility was complicated, no amenities to speak of, it smelled like dirty socks...

    It was adequate for my purposes (i. e., a place to sleep for one night). The help was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Greg the front desk associate saved my life!! He is the best!!! Thank you thank you thank you to him. I left a piece of luggage while unloading my car that had everything in it. Someone turned it in thank God and Greg got it back to me.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    Our non-smoking room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A/C, near town, price.

    Our non-smoking room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke (apparently our room was adjacent to a smoking room). No one would pick up trash off of the ground (a discarded dog's flee collar outside a room was left for 3 days).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    The hostel in Nicaragua that was $28 was better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Walls were paper thin. Cramped. Felt like i was in a box. Shower was gross. Duct tape holding pole together. Towels were small. Pillows were scratchy. Heard dogs bark

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom cleaning.

    Overall had a great stay but the bathroom was not propely clean. The shower had hairs all over, it was really gross. The walls of the bathroom looked like there were boogers wiped all over. The toilet kept clogging and i was told by the desk to come get the plunger from the office. I was told no maintenance staff would be available. I had a good time with my buddies mountain biking guys weekend...but honetly i would never take my family here with the bathrooms in that condition.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    Salty like nuts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old lady that works night didn't give my wife the rooms I reserved for 2 nights and charged her 80 for 1 night then said that she wouldn't give her a n,a smoking room cause she would stick it up like cigarette cause she smells like one that's crazy and everywhere is dirty my wife cleaned the rooms again an the laundry room was dirty and nothing was swept at all my 3 year old girl cleaned better then this place don't stay here or don't check in at night cause old lady loretta is very salty like nuts thank you good day ps don't check in early because she won't let you in

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    We will return but requests room to be checked for cleanliness first
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool closed for winter and it's summer

    Housekeeper Linda is excellent cleaner. But hated that I had to find that out by asking for Room to be cleaned after I checked in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.0
    We will return but requests room to be checked for cleanliness first
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in2different rooms I had to ask them to clean both. The first room clean was still filthy to my standards. The second room clean was amazing Linda did an excellent job. Everything was dusted and finally someone cleaned under the beds. The room smelt wonderful after she was done

    Beds not that comfortable. But it was quiet for the most part

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.4
    It was simple and easy to check in and out.
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor under the bed probably hadn’t been cleaned in weeks, the wifi was horrible; even the premium that you have to pay $4.99 per device. The shower has no water pressure. No in room microwave or fridge.

    It was simple and easy to check in and out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    small but ok for a last minute room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was really small and they charge you per person and the bathroom was really small when you take a shower the shower curtain touches you and that to me is nasty because i just think of everyone else it has probably touched and I'm not to big but i barley fit in there let alone my poor boyfriend who's 6ft he wasn't too comfortable in there either. There was only one towel and on one of the wash cloths it had a hair. They didn't provide and shampoo or lotion just one bar off soap and there is no microwave, refrigerator or a/c.

    I liked that it wasn't to far from the main attractions we wanted to experience while we were there. The staff was great and of course I love most places that are dog friendly. Every time we came back from doing something we kept getting parking right next to our room. It was a decent room size for the money we paid on a last minute trip up there for the holiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Extremely basic but okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tissues or pens or shampoo. Forgot my toothbrush and had to buy one from a vending machine. Needed to pay for WiFi and nobody mentioned it at checkin - have to buy a code at the office. Keys to room frequently didn’t work. Room wasn’t cleaned well. Additional money was charged over booking amount.

    The location was pretty convenient and the beds were confortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    I love the simplicity of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay extra for wifi per day.

    I love the simplicity of the room. The location of this motel is near to restaurants which you can walk to. They have free coffee and tea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.2
    Surprised at how unclean the room was... disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dirty. We stayed in a Motel 6 in Camarillo, CA the night before that was immaculate. Very surprised and disappointed.

    The location was ok... the price was good for the area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    My son got sick and vomited all over the sheets I stripped...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My son got sick and vomited all over the sheets I stripped the bed and layed him down in the other bed. When I called and asked for clean sheets cause he got sick I was told I’d have to wait till morning cause she was the only one at the desk she couldn’t leave and didn’t have a key for the housekeeping room to get sheets. Will NEVER stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    4.6
    Not a good trip this time around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was DISGUSTINGLY filthy. There was an infestation of ants, no water pressure in the shower. There was no bath only a shower and my special needs child doesn't stand so I couldn't even bathe her that evening. The floors were filled with dirt and dust. The table had a disgusting film of who knows what all over it. We didn't complain or leave because they were the only ones with an open room and it was late.

    The only thing I appreciated was the view of the mountains right outside of our motel room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    We chose the Motel 6 to save money but I think I’ll go with a cabin or lodge next time
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not to my liking. There was no closet and the makeshift closet was next to the toilet. I didn’t like the shower either.

    The price was right

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.5
    Not clean!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room looked like it wasn't swept at all, especially the bathroom. Behind the door had lots of dirt and several pubic hairs. The shower didn't look clean and the toliet didn't look clean at all. When you close the lid, you can tell it wasn't clean. Where the knobs of the toliet seat, should gave been cleaned. Very gross. Didn't have time to complain.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    Couldn’t beat the price of $48/night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room floor and shower was a little dirty. Also found some long brown hair on the pillow case and two of my towels. If it wasn’t the fact that I’m staying at a Motel 6 opposed to a higher end place I would have had them change all my linens but rather just went with it.

    Couldn’t beat the price of $48/night

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    Dirty rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty, it had a note that said it was clean half of month ago i think if that room is not booked for a long time clean it again

    The room was dirty, the only thing that i like was the staff and the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    3.8
    The free parking, that’s it.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean, the bathroom was disgusting. We were in a room for 4 but we only had 3 towels. We were at the end of the toilet paper but no reserve at all. We had to call reception and request more paper. Definitely WAY OVERPRICED !!!!

    The free parking, that’s it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice, clean place for a stay in Big Bear
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't really have any particular problems!

    The room was clean and the hotel is located very well in town. It's near many restaurants and activities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedding is scratchy, and the bed was old and uncomfortable The heating is poor. The room as very cold when we arrived, and took hours to heat up I know it's just a motel, but it just didn't meet the basic standards needed for a comfortable stay

    The guy who checked us in was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Very affordable prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a non smoking room and the room I got smelled really bad, very strong smell of cigarettes. I asked to change the room, and they just gave me a liquid to neutralize the odor.

    Very affordable prices

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    I love how close it was to Snow Summit and close to Big Bear...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was a pain was I had no cell service so I had to buy wireless from the hotel which was $3 a day and purchased at night so I couldn’t use it the next day. In town I had service LTE just not at the hotel. And the $3 internet wasn’t fast at all. They had A $5 internet option but I’m sure it is just as slow.

    I love how close it was to Snow Summit and close to Big Bear Village of coarse. A 10m or less drive and you’re anywhere you’d want to be! Coffee was great in the office and staff were super nice! The room was clean! I had great hot water and ac/heat worked!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    2.5
    Flat screen TV was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 pillows, no lounge chairs, no sofa, small bed, dirty bathroom. No closet. No coffee maker, no alarm clock. Extremely crappy and Not worth the overrated price.

    Flat screen TV was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    A nice time at Motel 6
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's really nothing I did not like about the property

    Motel 6 surprise me by just being a comfortable place to stay in between skiing days. The room was very clean the bed comfortable the TV was nice I have no problems whatsoever. The shower was nice everything was nice it is just Motel 6 but that is what I paid for

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    The room was unclean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was unclean. The bathroom needed to be cleaned as soon as we arrived - the toilet was extremely dirty. The sheets had stains and the overall floor was very dirty. We needed to use our pillows and sheets, even after turning the pillow cases inside out. I don’t mind an older motel but the uncleanliness was not okay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.4
    Uncomfortable, unusable WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it’s a budget hotel, at least give me shampoo! A/C and heating system is old and made uncomfortable sleep. Cleanliness is okay. WiFi (not free) totally unusable at night time when other customers are using the same network. I paid for it and can’t even open websites. Don’t waste your money on it. If you’re on T-mobile, you’re out of luck because the lack of signal here and crappy WiFi. For this “budget” hotel, price can still go up really really high and doesn’t really have a good value.

    It has a good location close to Snow Summit Skiing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    Budget friendly, cozy place to crash in night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Washroom was not clean - there were black stains on toilet seat Shower was unbelievably small Far for most of the tourist places / eateries - so you have to take out your car couple of times a day

    Cozy small room with comfy mattress and clean sheets Fully loaded TV with HBO+ Near to BigBear snow play area Loved early morning coffee service Staff was helpful Proximity to dried up part of lake and alpine pedal path ++

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.7
    ok
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they could have reimbursed our loss in room rates instead of the response we received of only having 10 more minutes to get our belongings out or to pay the room rates and deal with getting our money returned later on

    the staff was not very helpful when we had our money taken from our room while we were out for the day. when reported to the mgr on duty no action was taken to my knowledge, cooperate office hung up on me when trying to get some resolution, considering $410.53 was taken and that was to pay for the room for the week and I was told that there isn't anything they can do about it and to let them know if I find out any other news. I only wanted to be reimbursed in room costs so we can continue to stay rather than to have to stay in the car from this current prob;em

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Arguably the nicest Motel 6 I've been to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shampoo in the bathroom, only soap! No microwave in the room, however there was one in the lobby. Paid wi-fi.

    Excellent location, close to the lake, hiking trails, as well city center, shopping, etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    3.8
    It ruined my holiday weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    BED BUGS. I woke up in the middle of the night with bed bugs crawling over me. I immediately packed and went to check out. When I informed the night auditor of the bugs, she seemed unfazed, and without any show of sympathy, asked what I wanted. I requested a refund, which she processed. I was told that because I had only checked in a few hours prior, my card would not be charged at all. However, my card has been charged, and I have yet to receive the refund. I understand that you get what you pay for, but for $111.00 for one night, I expected few amenities and a slightly uncomfortable mattress, not to wake up with bugs on me! I spent the remaining days of my holiday washing every piece of clothing, blankets, etc that may have come in contact with the bugs and spraying down my car and house to ensure that I didn't bring the infestation home with me!

    I thought the location was good for the price, and it was convenient to book.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    4.6
    Everythinf is good expect the clean
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 2 days and housekeeping didnt clean the room well. Trashcan wasnt empty from the day before. No new towels. Hairs are everywhere. There was a stain at the sink but the housekeeping didnt clean it either.

    nice staff, great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.1
    It was simple and clean and in a nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the walls were rather thin so could hear people upstairs and next door to us. Though this was not helped by rather noisy neighbors

    It was simple and clean and in a nice area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    4.6
    Not great for the price....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well i asked for my room to be cleaned and sheets be changed and it didnt happen....i came back to my room with my bed never done and dust all over window seal...bathroom never cleaned...i had to ask for new towels and sheets for my room and make my own bed...also i had to clean and wipe down all the dust....and for as much as it cost to stay i would of thought better service but next time i will just stay at another hotel....

    I like the area that it was in....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    The property (while quite basic, it is a Motel 6 after all)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no kettle or coffeemaker in the room to heat water with.

    The property (while quite basic, it is a Motel 6 after all) was clean, quiet, and conveniently located.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.0
    Needed a cheap place to stay one night passing through. Our car is a better night sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise and discomfort of the beds. We could hear the neighbors, outside guests, people on the street. Very loud and was a horrible nights sleep.

    We liked the staff and the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    4.2
    I’ll never book again sorry!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds where uncomfortable, the room was small, the shower had very little room and pressure,and the walls are very thin which allowed us to hear the man next door doing everything he did and it wasn’t the greatest sounding!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    3.8
    Room's had no complementary shampoo or conditioner no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was nice and thats it!

    Room's had no complementary shampoo or conditioner no air conditioning no microwave or mini fridge heard all the noise from outside will never stay there again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I said the rooms were quite clean - I rated the cleanliness down because the Walkways, stairs and under the stairs were grey with dirt, stains and gum - just detracted from an otherwise great value and stay.

    clean rooms -

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    I was pleased with my stay at the Motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pricing. I expect Motel 6 to be a little more economical. The prices at Motel 6 nationwide seem to be creeping up to be more than other hotels. The only reason I choose Motel 6 in some cases is when I am traveling with my dog.

    Clean room, Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    4.6
    wont go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed/pillows are horrible. towel is like sand paper and enough to wipe dry 1 leg. Nothing else in the bathroom but 2 small bars of soap. They have a pool, but is closed for winter (and summer?).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    4.6
    It was close to family's house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ...., there's always a flowery powdery smell covering cigarette smell residue.... even if ur in a nonsmoking room ..... there's no ironing board or dryer or iron......

    It was close to family's house

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.8
    If I would have gotten the room I reserved I would have been really happy with my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't happy because I reserved a non smoker room on the second floor but they gave me a smoker room and first floor. The smell of the cigars really bothered me and all my luggage stunk to smoke.

    It is a good location and it's a calm place and relaxing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    It was just OK but not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact the room was $200 and didn't have a hairdryer, iron or any other amenities. It was literally two beds dresser and TV. I've paid less for a lot more. We could hear every word people were saying in rooms next to us. We'll never stay there again.

    The hardwood floors throughout

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    It worked.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shampoo or conditioner or hair dyer. The electrical outlet in the bathroom didn't work for my hair dyer. I had to use the one under the flatscreen with no mirror.

    Bed was clean, I asked not to have anyone above me this time so it was quiet above me. That was done.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.0
    would not recommend to anyone especially with toddlers or babies
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty. Hair on beds, in shower and filthy throughout the room and miscellaneous stuff under beds lots of dust. Washcloth and linens we're like sandpaper. Pool was closed... For winter

    Walking distance to Lake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.3
    Heaven for smokers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heaven for smokers. They have smoking places everywhere. There were two smoking places close to my room. Somebody was smoking at 5am so I couldn't even sleep. One woman asked staff when she can buy cigarettes when I was check in. Looks like they have a really tolerate rules for smokers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Still the best motel bargain in Big Bear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heater still didn't work in room #109 after mentioning it weeks ago. Very curious why?

    Consistently the same and clean. The nice room and low price is very important to me since I travel a lot on a tight budget.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Free cancellation up to day of arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool closed this last visit.

    Free cancellation up to day of arrival. Good location. Basic lodging. Least expensive place to stay. Across from Convention Center. (Small Convention Center but has many events like Oktoberfest and Line Dancing/Barbecue Food indoors (during the week). A short car ride to Lake and Village. Not a big thing though.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    4.2
    Sleepless night!
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled, when I say smelled it was bad. I think they sprayed it to cover the smell . You can hear everything though the walls all hours of the night. 3 am someone was going through the trash to get cans and bottles. And why would the pool be closed in July. Would not stay there again.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    3.3
    Don't stay here
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They took all of our personal items a day before we checked out! It took 3 hours to track down our shampoo, soap, pillows, cell phone chargers at 11pm! Good thing we took our clothes out!

    Location to ski resort

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Great stay for great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo/lotion in bathroom. No blow dryer. No pool.

    I liked the AC unit which didn't make much noise! And it was through a vent vs the big swamp cooler at one end. I liked how it was wood looking floors so it felt cleaner than carpet. Flat screen tv and cable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.5
    You need to notify people if a request isn't available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a light missing in one of the lamps. There was trash left in one of the thrash cans. It was supposed to be a non-smoking room but you could smell smoke. The A/C didn't work well.

    HBO

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Very Pet Friendly! But Pool is Demolished.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool was closed and staffs told me that they are getting rid of the pool, but that doesn't affect the rate of the rooms. The pool was one of the reasons I picked this place, so it was very disappointing.

    I like how pet friendly Motel 6 is. Most guests were traveling with their pets during my stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    4.6
    Getaway vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place advertised a swimming pool which is the reason why I chose this place. My daughters were really disappointed and so was I. They place was kind of dirty especially under the beds. We found a baby sock under the bed and dust bunnies like they hadn't cleaned under there in a while

    It was in a good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff and vending machines next to the ice machine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought there would be a pool to chill by, but it wasn't open. The sign said it was closed for winter, but I doubt that sign ever comes down.

    Friendly staff and vending machines next to the ice machine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more expensive than I felt a Motel 6 should be. I live 2 blocks from another Motel 6 and room rates run $20-$30 cheaper. I saw many empty rooms across from my room so rates could have been dropped I think. Overall a good experience though.

    Clean room. Quiet area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    3.8
    Other People suck...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room above me had very very loud guest and the cops did not show up for an hour..

    I am suppose to be getting a $50 discount for issues with neighboring rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.1
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was noisy, a lot of drinking hotel stayers out on the balcony near our room so it was very hard to sleep until about 2 a.m when they finally went to bed. There was an incident at the front desk where apparently someone had stated they left money in their room on accident when they checked out and the front desk person was not helpful or apologetic to them which made me feel they didn't really care about the guests. But otherwise we had a nice time.

    The location was near where we wanted to be, it was not a well planned vacation so we were happy there was a room for us, the room was cute and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    4.6
    Was very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the fact when I went to shower the shower was not clean it was disgusting to find hair in the shower and it not even being my own or my husbands... I ended up having to clean the shower before my husband and myself could use it... For what you pay you'd think the room would have been spotless, so sad that you travel to a beautiful place like Big Bear expecting your room to be much more tidier then what you got even for a motel 6 :(

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    3.3
    Not recommended, simply UNCOMFORTABLE!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room,table,chair,floor,sink, shower,bathroom,toilet,etc!!'Twas filthy,horrible!! Beds were very uncomfortable!! WiFi was useless.Very small bar soap,towels were skinny & rough to the skin!!

    Nope,no extra fluffy eggs nor beds like a cloud.Just the location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.7
    Location was great kinda in the middle of everything.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy who checked us in was quick to give a refund rather then find a way to keep us there. Luckily we had the funds to adjust the rates the manager helped us with. Otherwise we were screwed because the refund didnt go through right away I have to wait 5 to 7 business days. Very very very inconvenient.

    Location was great kinda in the middle of everything.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    3.8
    Not recommendable to stay at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave, bath was dirty with pee drops on hairs. Also few towels bed sheets stunk no wifi acces free too expense for bad service in the room

    Just the customer service was fine

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.3
    GREAT VALUE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to switch to a second non smoking room because the first one had obviously been smoked in. Purchased the wifi for the room at 4.99 and it was only good for one device and there is not good service for any carrier there. the toilet kept getting clogged-issue with the toilet pressure

    Very convenient location planned in advance so the price was great and the staff was friendly. new looking décor sufficient for a 2 night stay heater and ac worked well. tv was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    5.4
    I bought the expensive wifi just it kept booting me off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I bought the expensive wifi just it kept booting me off. There was a bug exterminator parked outside... Overall an OK experience but I probably wouldn't stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    6.7
    Good place to stay for cheap and for a few night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard. They don't clean under the bed which was nasty under them. My son found this out for us. The bath was okay but the need to work on cleaning the walls. An need to give more towels when they know the number of people staying in the room.

    i loved the location was close enough to town and right next door to a tubing place for my family to enjoy. The staff were super nice and accommodating. They also recommend an amazing place to eat dinner with my family.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    3.3
    NO MOTEL 6 EVER AGAIN!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The high price and frickn dirty rooms! Not enough towels for 2 bedroom room only 3 when usually 4 stay in room?? Rooms filthy! Motel 6 has gone downhill 2ned time in couple years disappointing stay!! Should get half refund when you complain and nothing done! I see why at scummy motels customers yelling at managers!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    4.2
    Stay away if you can
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are the bare minimum that can be expected.the thermostat in the room did not work. we woke up in the middle of the night to a hot room. Definitely not worth the money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    5.0
    I will never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unclean! Sheets smelled liked urine. Floors not clean, bathroom not very clean. Very bad experience for $300.00. I have stayed at Motel 6 before in other locations and this was the worst whereas others were clean and friendly.

    The young man at night on 1/28 was very helpful with the WiFi. He was the most decent part of the hotel. Also the men outside cleaning off the icicles were very polite.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    3.8
    Dont do it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing else, staff, property every thing. Will never say at a motel six again, more like ghetto 6 motel.

    Liked the fact that once I got out of 3 hours of traffic I could finally walk!. Best part was the Hott shower.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    6.7
    no one shoveled the 2nd story outside access to the rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    no one shoveled the 2nd story outside access to the rooms, making it a bit slippery, even for the maid carts. Also, for me the pillow was too firm, but oh well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    5.4
    WAY TOO EXPENSIVE.. no breakfast, no Wi-Fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    •too expensive •shower leaked •no in-room microwave •I had to pay for the Wi-Fi! •No breakfast was provided •There wasn't a lot around the hotel •The beds were kind of hard •The thermostat was ancient, could not operate or change

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    2.9
    Horrible, will never be staying at motel 6 again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My family and I made a reservation 3 weeks in advance but when we got there to check in at 3:00 PM, which is the time we are scheduled to check into our room, the room was not ready nor were all the other rooms. They were extremely short staffed. So they told my family and I to come back at 4:00PM. Now we have to continue to drove around with a truck full of luggage and every place we stopped we had to transfer the luggage from the back of the truck to the inside of the truck so nothing would get stolen. After driving around and waiting till 4:00PM my family and I drove back to the Motel. I go to get us checked in and the line is out the door of the place, there is only one person checking people in and it seemed like he was really not trained well or he was new. So after waiting in line for about 45 minutes, I'm told the room is still not ready! They told me that they will call me when it's ready... great! Here we go again having to continue to drive around with all of our luggage. So around 6:30 PM I have still not received a call from the motel. I proceed over there to check and see what's going on and the line it's completely out the door so I called the front desk. They answered the phone and told me that they have a room ready for me, they just haven't gotten around to call me... Are you kidding me?!? That should be on the top of your list to do. So I proceed back over there to check in and the line once again is still out the door so I wait in line for about an hour to finally get checked into a room. I was am extremely unhappy at this point because I have been paying for a room since 3:00PM and it is now approximately 7:30PM now so I wanted to speak with the manager about this. So the front desk associate goes back there and comes back saying that they are going to give me a discount of 75$. My sister asks him if the rooms come with wifi, the man answered yes today they do, all you had to do was ask nicely.

    It was right next to a place we wanted to go, so we didn't have to drive we were able to walk there.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: