Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Motel 6 Charleston North 2 stars

2551 Ashley Phosphate Road, North Charleston, SC 29418, USA

#34 of 46 hotels in North Charleston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 506 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    6.6

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.8
    Not too bad
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hardly any water pressure, some errand roaches greeted us upon entering the room. It might help to close some of the gabs.

    close to the location we need to be

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    2.5
    Never again.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in and paid cash upfront. After we had been our room for awhile, someone tried to get into our room. Our room had been given to this person. That was straightened out. The next day I had surgery. My husband was at the hospital wit me all day. He went back to the motel to rest. All of his belongings had been taken out and our room given to someone else. He was given another room but his person,al pillow was gone.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    4.6
    Price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasnt clean ,,towels dirty,smelled bad...Drug infested area ,,& arguing upstairs all nite long ..Cops locked up 2 people...Worst Stay ever

    Price..Even that was high for that area...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.2
    Not a good stay at Motel 6.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strong smell of smoke in the room and we saw a roach climbing on the wall and the bed sheets had visible stains on them and the pillows did too. There was also a loud noise coming from the bathroom sounding like a sink being turned off and on. VERY annoying when you're trying to go to sleep.

    The bathroom and sink area was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    2.5
    My stay was HORRIBLE! If I could rate this place a -5 stars I would.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that we booked for 2 queen sized beds, and got 2 regular sized beds. We woke up to bedbugs over in the early morning. My wife, children, and I were bit. There was drug activity going on in and around the premises. Grown men were trying to talk to my underage daughters who are 15 and 13. A prostitute approached me myself about sex for money. The room wasn't all that clean. The toilet was leaking.

    Nothing. My stay at this hotel was a horrible experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    4.6
    A nightmare, do not go there!?!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. The spring stick out. I had to sleep on a pillow! Noisy people talking outside all night, cars loud.

    Nothing, most days we had to get our own towels, they didn't leave any. One day they had deactivated our keys. We still had 3 days left on our stay. A car had gone through the front entrance and it was fixed with plywood. They gave us the room right next to the office. Horrible!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    2.9
    NEVER, EVER AGAIN!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was disgusting and I wouldn't recommend it to an enemy. The home office needs to make a drop in if they want to keep the light on.

    Nothing. There were dirty construction boots outside our door, bugs on the wall inside, dirt all over the floor. The A/C didn't work well. We called the front office for bug spray, they informed us they were unable to give us chemicals however he did tell us we could speak to management at checkout. When were leaving, there were used bars of soap littered all over the ground and trash everywhere too. There were surgical gloves.. it was the worse Hotel/Motel I've stayed in to date & I am 50 years old.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    2
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The phone in the room didn't work. The pool was locked and when I went to the front desk, the personnel stated the manager locked it because of weather, but the rain quit at 4 pm and she can't unlock it. I asked the lady to call the manager, she said she didn't know how to reach her.

    Location. I should get $25.00 off my next stay on July 26-28 in Helen, Ga for an extra booking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors had cigarette ashes and dirt when checking in. Mattresses were very worn and no support. Springs squeaked. Asked house keeping to clean the floor and they said they would be right there but took over a half an hour as they continued to clean an empty room instead of fixing the problem with mine.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    3.8
    Not really anything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was placed in a smoking room even though I had booked a non smoking room in advance online, and it smelled horrible The property was very run down and my door had to be shoved hard to shut all the way. The pool was broken, and they did not clean our room even though we stayed for two days.

    Not really anything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    3.3
    The worst experience at a hotel in my life!I am checking out early.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are in bad shape,dirty,bed quality in all areas where horrid but I didn’t have time too book another hotel on such short notice.Housekeepers do not respect the fact I did not need service.The manager ignored my dnd request.It made me feel as if I was untrustworthy,when I was here for work.my pet is very well trained.On the other hand there are guest that deal and do drugs but the housekeepers or management never made them have 1 room inspection a week.Like did me.

    I was able to buy my own cleaning supplies and clean my own room.front desk clerk where very nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Great staff but that was it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally run down, we would have been ok with it if it would have been cheaper , you get what you pay, for but this was not in proportion.

    The staff, very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Was great except for getting a smoking room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ended up in a smoking room and I have asthma, allergies, and sleep apnea. I was desperate so I took it anyways, but I immediately got a headache for the whole stay. Had to use my inhaler and extra benedryl to get through it . my clothes smelled really bad also. I was kind of miserable. Next time I'll just need an upgrade because I can't do that again.

    Was convenient for my dogs. no extra charge for pets. Everyone was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    The location
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved the room 2 months in advanced with a check in time of 3p.m. -12 a.m. I also called around 9:45p.m. to let them know i was on the way and to make sure our rooms was still available. (Because they were sold out) When i got there,an hour later yet well within my check in time. They said that my reservation was canceled because the ran the card on file. Now, they can only run the card if im 15min late outside of my eta. Which in my case was 3p.m. - 12a.m. However, i called and spoke to the lady and told her we were on the way. @ 9:45 mind you. And an hour later, she was gone. The new attendent had no idea what i was talking about. He just said that my card was ran, and it didnt go thru. Therefore my reservations were canceled. But miraculously he had only 2 rooms left. & they werent what i reserved, nor were they the amount i expected to pay. But, i had to take them.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.6
    The staff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was disgusting and nasty. The shower wasn’t cleaned. There was hair all over the sheets. The floor was dirty. You can tell they don’t clean the rooms. Just gross.

    The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    The room was small, there was no coffee machine’s in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, there was no coffee machine’s in the room or microwave or little refrigerator in the rooms either. But it was clean daily for the days that we were there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    3.8
    Stay away!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I reserved the room, I requested a non-smoking room due to severe allergies. When I arrived for check-in and inquired about the non-smoking room, I was told a non-smoking room was not available at the time, but one would be ready if I came back later. I returned 4 hours later, tired and ready to sleep. However, I was up most of the night coughing and taking medication due to the smoky smelling room and linen. Also, the water pressure was awful. The water barely trickled out in the shower and from the sink. And finally, the bed was hard as a rock, where you could feel and hear the springs through the mattress. I will not stay here again. It wasn't worth the hiked up price.

    The only thing I liked about this property was the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    For the price, it was acceptable.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool not open. No notice on website the pool wasn’t open. No coffee maker. Not enough towels or toilet paper.

    Beds good. Rooms ok. Wouldn’t let my worst enemy stay anywhere on Ashley Phosphate Rd.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    This was my first stay at a Motel 6 and it was good overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat had black marks on it.

    I really like that you have tile floors instead of carpet. It helps keep the room cleaner. I like the shower and it's easy access. The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    2.5
    Horrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    unsafe location, room was worn down and full of smoke, loud and noisy., lots of foot traffic, and no amenities, bed was not a queen size as advertised. VWRY POOR QUALITY

    NOTHING

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.6
    Noooo to many problems.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty. Was supposed to check in at 3 and at 6:40 finally got a key to ge t in that it was finally cleaned by house keeping. They didn't clean it well. Human Hair on the pillow cases, sheets, floor & asked all over the floor from previous quest along with potato chip bag left under edge of the bed. Walked in the bathroom and the toilet still had urine with toilet paper in it. They couldn't move me to another room...Was supposedly booked up yet I saw empty room and refused a refund for me to relocate to another motel. Very noisy btwn people running up and down the stairwell til 2 am along with huge dogs allowed to stay in a room near mine. I finally passed out from exhaustion at 3 am and had to leave at 7! never again will I stay at this Motel 6! besides no coffee in room, no mini shampoo and conditioner or even a fridge & microwave yet when I booked it stated all amenities.

    It was close to where I had to go. Cheaper than other motels but since staying only a couple hours, I wished I'd paid more and had a better room with some quiet to sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Most relaxing vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the motel was very clean, well kept. The staff are awesome, will go out of their way to make your stay fantastic and comfortable. The remodeling of the property is fantastic. I will definitely rebook my stay the next time that I visit my hometown. Fantastic value for money spent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.0
    Not worth saving the extra money to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in a bad part of town. There was a hole in the bathroom where ALOT of bugs were coming through. Someone was going door to door knocking at 10:30 at night, which made the stay even more uncomfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.0
    Check-in staff was very friendly and process smooth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Man pounding on door (next door?) for 10 min shouting f-bombs at 5am

    Check-in staff was very friendly and process smooth. They called to confirm reservation and also once I settled into the room to see if I needed anything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    For the price, I'd stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds aren't the most comfortable in the world, so that could use a little assistance. Otherwise the only thing I didn't prefer was the air not being able to go below 66 and the bed was pushed against the air conditioning and it was struggling to actually cool the room.

    The staff was wonderful, the parking wasn't too crowded, and best of all it was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Close to McDonalds and Cracker Barrel and more for meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beng asked to pay for basic wifi! No laundry bag or Kleenex in room.. Little shelf space, smaller room than previous nights motel.

    Friendly, efficient staff. Gave extra pillows on request. Larger tv that found in previous nights motel Pool might have been nice to use if staying longer and warmer weather.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    4.6
    If all you need is a dry place to lay your head, motel 6will do.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator or microwave. Hard bed. The room looked clean but when I wiped some spilt water from the floor the white towel became very filthy. I doubt the floors had been mopped for weeks if this year.

    It is the most affordable room in the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.1
    It was a relaxing stay but could use some improvement with the cleaning and lower the price a little
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't get clean and The sink counter wasn't wiped down.A lot of hair all over the shower. Hair on towels. Also saw a roach. I never had a problem during past visits.

    The set up of the room and how comfortable the bed was.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.0
    Was fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have asked twice now when booking at booking .com for ground floor, notes were there at motel upon arriving, said they didnt habe ground floor, last week there were in fact 4+ ground floor rooms thay were given to guys who checked in after me? Everything else was fine.

    Everyrhing was fine with the room. Clean. Bed was fair, just older i guess, comfortable just not super comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    3.3
    The staff was friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very nasty. They have a problem with roaches. There were stains on the bed covers. They need to renovate. I wouldnt recommend this place to anyone

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    3.3
    The staff was friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell was bad. They have a problem with roaches. There were stains on the bed cover. It was a very nasty experience. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    It was ok
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge , no trash can and bad television service wasn't nice at all. and I don't know about quite it was no peace at all the dragging of furniture and the slamming of doors! I don't think I'll be back!!

    The cleaning was nice and staff was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    3.8
    Not good but all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I truly thing at the owners of this property took the time to see what was actually going on and how the property actually looks cosmetically that would be a big Improvement

    The front desk clerk was very personable and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.7
    The room was comfortable and clean.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See my comments above. Would I stay there again Not sure that I would knowing there are other hotels near this area.

    The room was comfortable and clean. The outside premises needed a major cleaning and painting. We worked an event and arrived back late and there were two police cars sitting in the parking lot. Sometime in the wee hours in a room or rooms around us there was a very annoying smell that I attributed to drug activity. Lots of interesting characters outside rooms talking on phones. Would not have felt comfortable walking around there alone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.4
    They had my reservation did not honor request for easy...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay an extra 2.99 for net , they turned it off after 11 pm same nite I needed the net for reports

    They had my reservation did not honor request for easy access room it was a take it or leave it no choice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    Decent stay Nice Staff Too many bugs
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Omg the roaches were ridiculous that is my only complaint. It was too many to count and the baby ones at that so its hard to see them. Bigs ones come out after dark. Yall gotta fix this and I will surely come back I even bought spray for my room but it obviously wasnt enough. Invest in Pest Control Please

    The girls and gentleman at the front desk are really nice. The older black lady with the braids. Reginald, the pretty girl with the twist dreads and one other girl always wore a skirt but Im not good with names even housekeeping was polite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    3.3
    Will Never Return!!!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a smoke free room and the room I was provided 151 smelled like someone was "chain smoking" for the past 24 hours. The sheets were dirty underneath the comforter... worst experience! Will never return!

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    Great staff. Wont stay again, felt unsafe.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shady people hanging around everywhere outside all night...being loud...

    Great staff, the bad; banging on floor above all night and a girl screaming at someone at 230 in the morning. They should get security. The area is a scary location as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Has a confirmation from Booking.com and argued with staff for 30 minutes when they tried to change to a higher rate. Plus this is the 3rd time staying and the place is going down hill rapidly. They always have issues with the credit card machine. Always have to pay cash, probably so the owner can play games with the IRS. Outside is disgustingly dirty and loaded with cig butts everywhere. Not a good area to go outside at night. Just sayin. This will be my last time staying there. I'd rather pay $30 more and be respected as a customer and a much cleaner place.

    Nothing. Probably should have left when they tried to charge me more and cash only.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Despite the distance we had to travel, the Motel 6 provided good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a 50 minute bus ride from downtown Charleston, and in a less than savory area. The motel considers it necessary to hire an off-duty police officer to patrol the grounds! A small thing, but I thought it was tacky that they didn't provide a mini bottle of shampoo in the room. I was directed to buy one from a vending machine.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Accomodations were clean and adequate (I expect value, not luxury, from a Motel 6.)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.2
    convenience to Joint Base Charleston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing else was not up to my standards, people standing around outside, shower wasn't clean, bed wasn't comfortable AT ALL!!!

    convenience to Joint Base Charleston

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.4
    An okay place to sleep at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roaches crawling around outside of the room. The room felt damp the entire time. Room or bed wasnt dirty except for areas like behind the doors, under the AC, etc.

    Friendly staff, about 20 min from downtown Charleston. Plenty of restaurants, and a walmart nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    2.5
    Won't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds we're small rooms small

    The rooms are small had double beds not queens, were not in a good neighborhood​,dirty looking won't stay there again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    2.9
    Wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was poorly maintained. Trash everywhere. Pool was dirty and chipped. No in room microwave ovens or refrigerators. Satellite tv was limited to a small selection. Beds were hard. Wifi was not free.

    Room cleanish

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.9
    Good for the price around there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors were dirty a little more than I would have liked. Our sock bottoms were pretty filthy from just walking on the floor.

    Nice accommodation for the price. Close to the airport. Modern interior and a waffle house right next door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    I like that it was cose to everything we needed and wanted...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem i had was the other guest were loud at early hours.

    I like that it was cose to everything we needed and wanted to do. I loke that the staff was very friendly amd helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Clean Room and Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked the room to be a little bigger or at least include a larger bath tub or bigger shower

    The location was great and the room was decent. The front desk was very friendly and help.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    3.8
    Pay the extra to go somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was broken (they just sat it back on an already broken frame) & they didn't have any extra rooms so we had to sleep on a lop sided bed night one. We got bitten up so bad, I don't know if it's bed bugs or fleas 😷. We counted 67 bites on 3 of us (including my 7 year old). I had to go to the office 3 times to have our room cleaned on day two (which happened at 5p) all we wanted were clean towels & the trash out. The shower is awkwardly tiny & round which causes you to get water every where.

    Close to food & activities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.3
    Ok for the price but some issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay extra for internet. Killed 2 roaches while there. Was left alone when my do not disturb sign was on the door. Some rooms had microwave fridge etc my didn't and I stayed 4 nights would have been nice to be in one of those rooms.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a fridge in the room, but that was ok.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Felt safe and plenty of parking. You couldn't hear the neighbors through the walls.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    This location sucks!!
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived at 2:30 pm. I knew it was early and I waited. Didn't get checked in until 4pm and still was charged the room rate. The excuse was, they were short handed on housekeepers so, that's why it took so long to check guests in. Needless to say,I called corporate to tell them about the issues I was having. The clerk offered me a handicapped assessable room. I declined because that was not what I requested and I wasn't going to take away from someone who may have came there handicapped and needed that room!!! They need more reliable housekeepers ( on call, prn) so that they will not have this issue. I drove from Atlanta for a wedding and the last thing I needed when I arrived to the property was to have to wait almost an hour to be checked in!!!! I will never stay at this location anymore!!!!! If there was another place I could have went, I would have but unfortunately, everything in the area of the event I was attending was sold out!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    Even though the room was a smoking room, it was highly...
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You all need better room deodorizer or throw away those curtains and comforters and invest in new ones!

    Even though the room was a smoking room, it was highly noticeable. They need to invest in better air fresher or something because it was stuffy and stink of tobacco. When I left there, ALL of my belongings and my hair, smelled of old tobacco. I went out and bought Lysol from the local Walmart and that didn't do anything for the strong smoke odor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    2.9
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work.asked twice to have it fixed. Spider webs in corners. Door to room didn't close well. Floor not swept daily. The list goes on

    Nothing. I will never stay there again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.4
    Someone stole our bag of groceries that we had left next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Someone stole our bag of groceries that we had left next to the car for less than 2 minutes to unlock the room...the thieves were still at their car and when asked to return the stolen items they just got in their cars and drove away. Sketchy low-lifes stay here! Upstanding citizens beware!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    4.2
    Under staffed Bussines with miss leading advertisement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows and walls are not sound proofed. And the manager was horrible with people that have disabilities and also rooms for disabled should all have parking in front of the doors of each rooms

    Air conditioner and the fact that it was pet friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    How easily it was to make a complaint and it not be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How easily it was to make a complaint and it not be investigated. And how the police just walk up on you to search your vehicle. I felt like I had broken the law when I was just trying to smoke a cigarette.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    Good price for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Roll-In Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no shelves or place to set anything in the bathroom which was in a handicap room. Siren and airplane noise in the morning. No clock in the room. Asked for a wake up call but did not get one.

    The floors were laminate, not carpet. Room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    2.9
    Your Motel 6 SUCKS
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything else. The room smelled like weed, the bed was disgustingly dirty, very unstable, the rooms around us were extremely noisy, i felt unsafe due to the other "guests" looking like crackheads. i was unable to sleep due to how uncomfortable the bed was. I would never recommend this establishment to anyone.

    Margaret at check in was very friendly. That was the only good thing about my stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    One of the best nights of sleep in a while
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Roll-In Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the smoke smell but that was our fault. We told them whatever was available.

    The checkin and out was a very smooth process. The water pressure and amount was AMAZING!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little hard and the rooms were small, but great for what we paid

    Great location for the price. Sullivan's island was about a 30 minute drive, and most other things were about 20 minutes away (tours, aquarium, etc). Driving a little bit to save $80+ was worth it to me

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Checkin staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkin staff were very helpful. I left my phone charger at home and they provided me one to use. Also took time to help me find a place to eat and transportation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    3.3
    Not too bad if your not in a hurry
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well to start with I was told I could check in at 3pm it was 6 before I could get in the room you have to pay extra for wifi needs to be upgraded ...

    The pool wasn't too bad once I was finally able to get in the room it was ok for one night wouldn't book a vacation there

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    4.6
    Disgustingly dirty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was filthy. Had to wear shoes the entire time. Toilet didn't flush properly. Zero water pressure in the shower. Staff was not helpful. Key cards reprogrammed while out for the day, couldn't even get back into the room.

    Convenient to interstate and restaurants. Pool was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    It's okay for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Detailing: The room was visually clean but the floor was dirty. One barefoot walk across the room left our foot soles filthy. The bed left "firm" in the dust and hedged on uncomfortably hard. The pillows are thin flimsy and an insulting compliment to the bed. Two light switches: one is supposed to control the lights in the water closet, the other is for the light above the lavatory which is open to the room. In this room only one switch was operable and turned on the full compliment. Anyone visiting the bathroom during the night turned on lights disturbingly bright in the sleeping room.

    This is an aging property that has been refurbished and is fairly well maintained. It its class it is no more and not much less than expected. The staff is in much better condition; however, they are extremely pleasant and quick to address all concerns.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.1
    Satisfactory to lay your head for a night, nothing more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge or microwave. Not a huge deal, just hadn't planned for that. Also, had to pay for wifi? C'mon...

    Staff was very polite. Room was neat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Perfect for a short stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would've greatly appreciated free WiFi, fridge and microwave. Also, pen and pad.

    The property was easy to get to and my special requests were honored.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Great, as usual (aside from my car-trouble, which wasn't the motel's fault though ;) ).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much. ;) Just that the TV-picture in my room (136) seemed to have some sort of colored-vertical-stripes problem . But the picture was good otherwise and I could ignore them, for the most part, and enjoy it.

    I liked how superior, in my opinion, this particular Motel 6 was/is, compared with many other Motel 6's (and other similar facilities), in its upkeep and location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.4
    Bad
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was nasty. The toilet look like it hasn't been clean in months. It had a Stain on the toilet when I first got to the room I had to clean the toilet myself I would have ask to switch rooms but it was sold out but other then that the stay was just ok

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    4.2
    Luckly it was just one night.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was uncomfortable, you can feel and hear the springs every time you moved. Floor was very dirty food crumbs, hair and what looked like foot powder. Had to kill some roaches when I woke up in the morning.

    A Wafflehouse across the parking lot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    6.3
    The room itself was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed spreads were disgusting. They should be replaced. Stains all over them. I can't believe someone would have made the bed with them. There was something on my pillowcase too. Something crusty and dry. This brought rating down for me.

    The room itself was clean. The staff were nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    4.6
    the air conditioning was working .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I come here all the time. This time a couple came with me. I booked my room months in advance. They were on waiting list for opening. They got a refrigerator and microwave. Bull I can not believe we weren't given the other room. I cancel all future staying here. They did not pay extra. In fact they paid the same as I did the floors were sandy as with the bed covers. No soap or shampoo

    the air conditioning was working .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.0
    Great for pets. Not very clean
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One woman in reception was not very helpful, always saying that things were impossible when the same thing was suddenly possible if you asked anyone else. Also, my credit card was authorized 3 times by motel 6 and I ended up having to close it. This location is too far from town when there is another location closer in.

    Great that pets are free

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    2.5
    You get what you pay for. Low price means roaches, dirty room, no mini frid or microwave.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were traveling away From MUSE Hospital in Charleston where my daughter had major surgery & could not travel far. We needed lodging on the way home. This was my first online booking at Motel 6 in North Charleston, SC. When I arrived at the small Reception area it was packed with construction workers. They had my reservation and recognized me politely, my card declined. I asked for the WIFI code and they gave one to me. The place was so full I had to go back to the car to call my bank. When I went back inside to pay (6 new construction workers) There was a loud complaint from a customer who was mad about paying $2.99 for WIFI. That was unnerving. After the 3rd time thru the line I paid cash. A woman comes in complaining about being put in a Smoking room she didn't ask for one, (asthma problems). The lady at the desk said she told her it was smoking & wouldn't move her or give her back her money. The customer got mad and wanted to talk to a manager. Not one. Reception lady handed her a form (complaint?) to fill & sign. Before she could do that, R Lady snatched it out of customers hand. "You are not going to let me sign it?" They were almost screaming now. Wow, was I uncomfortable! Was a real fight going to happen? I wanted to run out of there! Reception lady apologized to me. I went to the room first. The door was dirty with hand prints. One bed was against the air conditioner & looked like someone had laid on it. The bathroom had clean towels but, there was #2 in the toilet & the shower stall bottom and sink are visually dirty. No shower curtain. Around the edges of the room was dirt and pieces of leaves, the dresser top had debris. The Ice buck had nasty hand grime on it. (Again, another urge to run!) I called them about the NASTY room and I was polite. They came and cleaned the bath and counter. I checked the sheets, etc. Under the bed side table was months of dirt, by the AC was the same.

    It had a roof that didn't leak.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.9
    Good value for the price. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed seemed tired but I slept well. The road the property was on had heavy traffic but was very close to the HWY. There was no refrigerator.

    Every thing worked well and the place was super clean. It seemed quiet as motels go.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    4.2
    Hotel 6 Hell
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handicap accessible room with (2) queen beds was unavailable. Room did not have coffee pot, microwave, or fridge. Carpet dirty and roaches present. Staff did provide free wifi since room expectations were not met.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: