Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Motel 6 Canoga Park 2 stars

7132 DeSoto Avenue, Canoga Park, CA 91303, USA

#4 of 5 hotels in Canoga Park

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 101 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room Design Poorly, room was too Large and Nothing in it Definitley not the Motel 6 it used to be!!, TV set too Small, Just one small bar of soap and nothing else. One Bed and no Chairs. I would have slept in my Car or would have paid$25--$30 more for a good Hotel/Motel. Your $130.00 is a Crime!

    NOTHING!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are too thin you can hear everybody else in their room or outside

    Super spacious looks nice and has a fridge and microwave. They are also pet friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had a to pay extra if I have my wife or kids stay with me. That I had to pay if a second car was to park and visitors are only allowed to stay 30-45mins as per front desk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    YES, I will, because this needs being ADDRESSED: WHEN BOOKING WITH YOUR SITE, which I didn’t know it was, as THOUGHT and seemed was directly with the Motel, why wasn't there a TAB for reduced rate with AAA or Senior??? When checking in, they told that since the reservation is beyond 2 days the rate couldn't be changed to AAA or Senior, it's not their fault, as FAULT LIES with the way your site was set up. I have to believe this isn't the first time the matter has been noted, so why wasn't this modified long ago. When booking in the past over 4 years, as I like this motel and staff are great, I always called them directly, getting the reduced rate, this time I thought of maybe trying to do this online. Sad to see it's not user friendly, because right now all AAA people or Seniors are being GOUGED, so much for that NOW, USELESS term of QUALITY ASSURANCE… worked great in beginnings, but now it's ignored. I would appreciate an adjustment to the AAA rate, please contact me for my number, as best not putting here, re-the public.// M Sz SUM UP YOUR STAY: It would be NICE if the management got to see my comment, because I have a feeling they, themselves might have addressed in the past from same,.ie., “customer comes in discovering can't get reduced rate because of no option on your site, which comes back to reflect on us, making it seem that we are not user friendly, and we are.” THEY ARE, always doing for the customer, that's why I stay here when down from Kalispell, MT.

    IS told below

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, I won't be coming back! $145 a night for that dump what a JOKE!

    Nothing, I won't be coming back! $145 a night for that dump what a JOKE!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like them calling me at 10:30 telling me check out time is at 11 and call me back at 5 minutes to 11 to tell me check out times 11 I didn't like the pressure of feeling rushed to get out of the hotel

    I like the consistency of everything the hotel is clean and comfortable quiet the staff is very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No TV for the first day we were there and no remote in room. Once we got tv working we received a remote that wasn;t programmed for it.

    The staff is friendly, facilities clean. There is a lot of shopping within walking distance. And a lot more close by. Its close to both the 101 and the 118 freeways making it a great location for someone traveling in Southern California.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge humidity in room (because of pool), everything is wet

    Enough power outlets and lights in the room,fridge, microwave, pretty good fast internet. Clean and nice, no cockroaches, good air conditioner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were maintenance issues with our first non smoking room as the air conditioner only produced warm air! Nothing like paying big bucks for a motel room in mid summer and putting the heater on! Front desk personal did accommodate us with 2nd room yet it was a smoking room and smelt just like butt, cigarette butts that is. Hey Tom Bodette, how about leaving the A/C on instead of the light when its 90deg outside!!

    You get good opportunity practicing your Spanish in the area but hey I was able to buy a whole pizza right across the street for just five bucks!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For what we payed i expected the hotel to have enough parking. We had to park behind the hotel next on the other hotels parking and walk around the hotel to our room carrying our stuff that was not cool. There wasnt enough towels for a guest if 4.

    It was clean but the towels and bedding didnt smelled too fresh.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to go to three different room to finally get a non smoking one. The last room I settled on the lath room was dirty and one of the light didn't work. No remote. Parking was tight . Shower was small. Water pressure was non existent and the room had a weird smell.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff became irritated with us when we asked to switch rooms because the stench of cigarettes was so strong in our first room. The second room was nicer but even the phone was broken and we were not given the WIFI code.

    The rooms were very modern and not dingy like most hotels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dim lights in room, it was more expensive than the usual Motel 6 room. Perhaps due to location (city) and the fact that the rooms look brand new.

    Very new rooms for a Motel 6 - new design, from the bed to the corner table to the TV and bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was so small you couldnt turn around. the price was way to high, the bed to small. the walls so thin well you could here everything.

    I dont have to stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    😞 When i got there, they were doing something & didn't acknowledge me or say wait a minute...people taking up 2-3 parking places & parking long ways???? phone in room wasn't working!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction, it was paint and led all around the pool and the hotel door area. The staff was so rude and it was well over priced for a motel.

    The rooms was clean , a lot of amenities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was under construction and workers set up in front of pool area. Check in office closed due to it had to use tiny window and attendant very rude. Property torn up and dirty. Room not clean well prior to our stay. No coffee available in the am. Not a good area and shady people walking around all night. Terrible security.

    Location was convenient

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager was rude and did not control his motel guests. We were awake from 2am until 5 am with loud noise and slamming doors. It was a total waste of 129.00

    I liked nothing about this place.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Pets are free and the room had a fridge and a microwave

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super old microwave... I think older than me. Bed was not very comfortable. Tons of street noise.

    Very clean and tidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of course! Lol

    Dog friendly and close to work with truck parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A loud guest or two.

    Needed a quiet, convenient room without disturbances. I got what I needed there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was located at the front of property so we could hear the traffic.

    Hotel was close to relatives. Close to places to eat and express way.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like lamps in room for long work nights.

    Was a pleasure to visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found a cockroach inside the restroom and the whole 4 nights stay it smells like a dead cockroach😔

    Organize

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cops everywhere and why didn’t like staying there

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed had burnt stains In a non smoking room also smelled like a smoking room

    It was Quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mildew spell of the A/C unit.

    Fridge, microwave and cable TV

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kinda ghetto

    Comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo and hair conditioner

    Clean rooms. Nice staff. Many parking places. Very dafe area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy rooms and car park always full

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    very comfortable for sleeping and getting away from the craziness

    The room is very spacious and really nice place clean and staff was very nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many homeless on the sidewalk

    The room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows.

    The new look of the hotel its nice and elegant for the price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    The room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was rude. Grounds were filthy.

    The room had a bathtub which was nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroach in my bathroom No shampoo like in most Motel 6

    Renovated motel Very clean Good comfortable bed Nice interior and exterior design

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Completely remodeled so beautifully! Staff was excellent 😀

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the middle of the night.

    It was ok for a motel - we can't request more.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were not nice at all, complaints of cockroaches, ants, and loud noise.

    Our room was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff was nice and room was just renovated. Nice!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was horrendous! Not enough spaces

    Nicest Motel 6 I've ever stayed in! Plus they gave me a discounted rate.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have free breakfast

    No breakfast 😔😠😒😩

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    best rate and service

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the roaches i found in my rooms... but they are trying to maintain during construction

    locatin

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Microwave and Refrigerator - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible representation for Motel 6 brand Gang bangers in the parking lot all night

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was good, but price was a little high. Especially, when the buildings are undergoing remodeling

    Remodeled room, comfortable bed, microwave, refrigerator, Direct TV

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Dirty rooms. past visitors clothes in bed when pulled down. Grafiti in room like you were outside. Major parking problems & construction being done. Office unresponsive to problem and I will never ever stay there again. Worst hotel I have visited.

    I liked nothing about this hotel. Picture of hotel is misleading.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They were doing major construction so the parking lot was cut down to may 10 spots (all tiny). Thankfully someone left as we got there so I was able to park in a cramped space. Our room was in a separate building in the very back corner that seemed condemned. Shady people outside lingering and asking us questions. No parking near our room - just a dark alley. The room was OK (recently renovated) except the layer of dust covering the floor from construction. Then they started doing construction at 7 AM literally outside our window scraping paint off the walls and on the room directly above us (we were on top floor). Horrible, sketchy experience with clearly no regard for customer satisfaction. Even if this was a great hotel in a great neighborhood, don't do construction at 7 AM in a building that you make guests pay to stay in. The building should not be open to guests.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking is limited due to construction next door

    Rooms are updated and clean. No dirty carpet (laminate floors) which is great for dogs. Pet friendly!!! This location is way better than the Van Nuys location! Lots to eat and do close by. Park next door for kids and dogs

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty floors due to construction... Towels are no even close to soft!

    The bed and rooms are very comfortable.... But there is alot of uncomfortable traffic and people on the lot...

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The price was double over the other 2 stays with Motel 6. I was told it was do to the location. NOT a location for such a price. Only stayed there because of daughter living down the street. Parking was sprase

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    That was the good part.

    Bedcover had burn marks on them. The front desk called me a few hours before my arrival time and told me my credit card must be good or he was going to cancel my reservation.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Outside spaces need to be upgraded but the rooms are clean.

    The price and acceptance of pets. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with fridge and microwave.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The room was extremely out of date and they were roofing which woke me up at 7:00am. They hosed down the balcony which cause water to leak thru the door causing a mud puddle.

    The WiFi was good

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedding had cigarette burns in it and the area itself wasn't great. The outside of the hotel (carpark etc) is currently a mess as the renovations are being completed and the debris is just left outside

    Clean, modern room with good wifi. Fridge & microwave.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    $94 a night and are toilet kept clogging for 4 days we had to plunge it ourselves they refused to do anything about it managers are extremely rude

    The location was close to my work

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Paper thin walls could hear the next occupants tv and general conversation. Very crowded on a Saturday nite with beyond limited parking. Loud people in parking lot after 2am in the morning.

    Room was clean and had no unusual odors. Mini fridge in room with a decently firm bed and mattress. Hard wood floors throughout was in good shape.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pillows were super thin, bedding was was thin as a sheet, No in-room iron and ironing board. The ironing board they loaned us was broken.

    Clean, microwave and mini fridge

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bare floors made it a little cool and hospital-like! The area is a little rough but there are lots of restaurants around and the freeway is close!

    The room was really large, lots of space to spread out! Clean and comfortable, great value for the money, could have had a family of four in there comfortably if there were an extra bed!

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The parking.

    Everything was good! Will stay again!

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was some remodeling going on but it was not too bad.

    Wonderful gentleman at the desk.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Family with older children

    Needed a dresser or chest of drawers

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    none

    they had a smoking room

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Couple

    Nothing to say

    Friendly Desk

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bright lights outside filtered into room, making it difficult to fall asleep.

    clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Everything smells like cigarettes.

    Nice design.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Seemed a little run down, lack of parking, area not too good

    Comfort of bed, free wifi

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    First room had Bugs

    The workers helpful

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Had a major disturbance of couple arguing early in the morning.

    Generally clean and basic room.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    parking tight

    Recently updated large rooms, very clean

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Group

    Not so good of an area

    The staff was excellent, very friendly

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's in a really bad area. It's quite run down.

    The value for the money is good.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Privacy and comfortability

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: