Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Murray Hill East Suites 3 stars

149 East 39th Street, Murray Hill, New York, NY 10016, USA

#26 of 180 Holiday rentals in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 44 apartment reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A further stay was rejected, probably because it is going to be less than the 30 days minimum stay. Not very flexible given that my first stay was 30 days.

    Well located and the rooms are spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor points: the washing machines and dryers in the basement do not always work 100%.

    Functional Appartment. Friendly staff. Very convenient lpocation. Everything you need to be able to concentrate on work.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 25 nights

    according to the price best choice in Manhattan , everything was enough good. Thank you for the all workers for their kind behaviours during my familys 1,5 month stay. Also my wife was pregnant , everything was more sensual :) Close to everything , good bussiness center inside , clean rooms , meaningful prices , good and helpfull behaviours. My all family get satisfied with this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 30 nights

    Great location, close to Grand Central Station and other touristic points at midtown east in Manhattam. Staff was very helpful and supported us on everything what we needed during our staying. We strong recommend staying at this property!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 29 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. One can always ask for more, but it's a matter of value for money and Murray Hill was worth every penny

    The staff of Murray Hill was extraordinary nice, discrete and accomodating. Such a great experience! Possibility to do the laundry and free fitness facilities

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise ~ especially our room was facing 39th street and at 3rd floor (higher floors may be better).

    The price! Wonderful price for Midtown Manhattan! The kitchen helps save money for diners ~ It is hard to find inexpensive restaurants in Manhattan!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff on arrival were a little difficult, afterwards they became better.

    Location was almost perfect for our stay, room was good, some noisy guests on occasions.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 27 nights

    Interiors are very dated. Kitchen is a bit meager and quite tatty and old-fashioned. Didn't feel like cooking there. Not very well equipped and had to buy a few basics like a can opener, a sharp knife, a peeler and spatulas. Very rusty looking toaster. The pest control they use is very strong-smelling and for the first few days after we checked in, it was quite difficult to breathe in the room - we had to open the window to let some fresh air in.

    Great location and homely feel - can walk to all the main tourist attractions in Midtown Manhattan. Close enough to Grand Central Station. Nice for a long stay - minimum stay of 30 days required. Price is comparable to Air bnb for similar facilities. Bathroom is spacious. Laundry facilities are adequate. Didn't use the gym. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Plenty of closet space and nice spacious dresser. Business center downstairs can be used to print documents etc., so that's very handy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 28 nights

    nothing

    Bed was very comfortable, Hotel staff extra friendly and always helpful. The Hotel is centrally located to most tourist sites and Grand Central Railway.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 30 nights

    Air condition was broke for two weeks apartment needs to be redone

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 29 nights

    There was no restaurant at the premises. However the location is full of alternatives in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 28 nights

    The Wi-Fi is not so good at certain times.

    Great location, nice rooms (with all the necessary amenities) and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 25 nights

    there were a little car noisy out of the window.

    Staffs were very frendly. Room was crean. Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They charge on the first day for the hole stay and if you have to leave,it does not matter which date you leave ,still the don't refund the money. Awful cleaning,the place has unresolved electric issues and they don't care. If you claim them to fix something they laugh at you. Wifi does n't work propperly ,you have to reconnect every 10 minutes and its impossible to work like that And honestly it shows at first sight they don't invest in the place.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No Wi-Fi in the room. But in the lobby. No power in the shower. Noisy fridge

    This hotel it´s really old, not updated but has its charm! Nothing has been done for many many years. But its was clean and tidy.The staff is friendly! The bed was actually really comfortable for me. I booked a suit and its really airy. Two TV, one in the bedroom and one in the living room. Value for money based on the space.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Self catering kitchenette and utensils. Large bed. Small but essential gym to allow for some workout. Convenient location (Murray Hill/Midtown East). Close to Grand Central.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi in room is not complimentary, though is available in the lobby.

    Lovely vintage style yet really comfortable with fully equipped rooms, heard that many guests are long-staying travellers. The staff is really nice and helpful. Besides, the central station is just 6 min's walk away, thus convenient to different metro lines. Also walkable to 5th ave and Empire State Building.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little bit of street noise however soon got used to it so didn't disturb

    Appartment comfortable and large given New Yorks usual standards. All staff very friendly and helpful. Daily maid service who were more than happy to deal with any requests. Location was great with only a few walk to Times square and Grand central station.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not very clean and it had an old funny smell. We had to clean the bathroom before we could use it. The room decor and furniture is outdated but at least is well maintained. Very noisy even with the windows shut. At 12am, every night, for 1hour the garbage truck makes a lot of noise. Not well ventilated, you could smell everything from other rooms. Cmon' guys, is the 21st century... Add some fans to the bathroom and the kitchen ventilation holes! Also, how can you cook anything if you have no hood fan over your cooker. The fire alarm started every time we made some eggs or toast... Eventually we wrapped the sensor in a plastic bag. Wifi is very unstable and slow. You have to enter the credentials every time, even if your phone or laptop goes to sleep mode. The sheets are ok but the blanket is horrible. I don't want to offend anyone's religious beliefs but the Bible in the drawer next to your bed sends a very old and 'highway motel' vibe. We didn't mind because we are Christians, but is not ok to impose on guests that have a different religion. You are in Manhattan after all.

    Location is excellent if you want to explore Manhattan. The price is reasonable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Suite was spacious. Your own kitchen. Laundry room. Small but nice fitness room. Hd tv with cable.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    We had a weekend were wifi had issues but the managed to get it fixed the next Monday. Streets could be noisy during peak hours.

    Safe and secure. Perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Having stayed here before, albeit 15 years ago, nothing had changed but in a good way. Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable staff who were brilliant. The suites are exceptional as is the location. (Right between Grand Central Station and the Chrysler Building - perfect!)

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Denise Coatesville pa I took my granddaughter to new your for the first time we stayed here at Murray Hill Nicest people you ever want to meet from the door man to the front. loved our room it was nice and spacious That is my place to stay every time I come to New York

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No negative feedback.....experience was great!

    Stayed here for our new year's eve adventure at Times Square. It was the perfect location----easy walking to the Square, tons of cute eateries on the way, and a staff that was outstanding! Loved it!

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Slow or no response on mail

    Good Location. Safety: My daughter stayed there for a month all alone and felt very safe and secure!

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Maybe the noise, but it is Manhattan

    Everything is Excellent

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet did not always work well

    Lots of room

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Internet can be improved. Outages from time to time

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A large amount of room by New York standards. Staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Couple

    The cleanness was poor

    Location Service

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The position is excellent however considering the location it is quiet. It is easy to find all your necessities locally.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly service and great location.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Service and support was really good. I liked the place.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, room very comfortable, new doorman very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The door man (from Armenia) - and the rooms

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The space

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Super convenient for the Grand Central Station Well located over all Safe area

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Browse Murray Hill East Suites traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: