Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Murray Hill East Suites This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

149 East 39th Street, Murray Hill, New York City, NY 10016, United States of America

#26 of 180 vacation rentals in New York City

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 39 apartment reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    7.5
    Well located and the rooms are spacious and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A further stay was rejected, probably because it is going to be less than the 30 days minimum stay. Not very flexible given that my first stay was 30 days.

    Well located and the rooms are spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    8.3
    Convenient and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Minor points: the washing machines and dryers in the basement do not always work 100%.

    Functional Appartment. Friendly staff. Very convenient lpocation. Everything you need to be able to concentrate on work.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    10
    according to the price best choice in Manhattan ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 25 nights

    according to the price best choice in Manhattan , everything was enough good. Thank you for the all workers for their kind behaviours during my familys 1,5 month stay. Also my wife was pregnant , everything was more sensual :) Close to everything , good bussiness center inside , clean rooms , meaningful prices , good and helpfull behaviours. My all family get satisfied with this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    10
    Great experience
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 30 nights

    Great location, close to Grand Central Station and other touristic points at midtown east in Manhattam. Staff was very helpful and supported us on everything what we needed during our staying. We strong recommend staying at this property!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2016

    9.6
    Great staff and great location. Very nice one-bedroom apartment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 29 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. One can always ask for more, but it's a matter of value for money and Murray Hill was worth every penny

    The staff of Murray Hill was extraordinary nice, discrete and accomodating. Such a great experience! Possibility to do the laundry and free fitness facilities

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2016

    8.8
    We will stay here next time definitely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise ~ especially our room was facing 39th street and at 3rd floor (higher floors may be better).

    The price! Wonderful price for Midtown Manhattan! The kitchen helps save money for diners ~ It is hard to find inexpensive restaurants in Manhattan!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2016

    7.5
    Our stay at Murray Hills suites
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some staff on arrival were a little difficult, afterwards they became better.

    Location was almost perfect for our stay, room was good, some noisy guests on occasions.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    10
    Air condition was broke for two weeks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio
    • Stayed 30 nights

    Air condition was broke for two weeks apartment needs to be redone

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    9.6
    There was no restaurant at the premises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 29 nights

    There was no restaurant at the premises. However the location is full of alternatives in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for medium and long term stays
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio
    • Stayed 28 nights

    The Wi-Fi is not so good at certain times.

    Great location, nice rooms (with all the necessary amenities) and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2016

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    They charge on the first day for the hole stay and if you have to leave,it does not matter which date you leave ,still the don't refund the money. Awful cleaning,the place has unresolved electric issues and they don't care. If you claim them to fix something they laugh at you. Wifi does n't work propperly ,you have to reconnect every 10 minutes and its impossible to work like that And honestly it shows at first sight they don't invest in the place.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    6.7
    This hotel it´s really old, not updated but has its charm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    No Wi-Fi in the room. But in the lobby. No power in the shower. Noisy fridge

    This hotel it´s really old, not updated but has its charm! Nothing has been done for many many years. But its was clean and tidy.The staff is friendly! The bed was actually really comfortable for me. I booked a suit and its really airy. Two TV, one in the bedroom and one in the living room. Value for money based on the space.

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Self catering kitchenette and utensils. Large bed. Small but essential gym to allow for some workout. Convenient location (Murray Hill/Midtown East). Close to Grand Central.

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2016

    9.6
    Lovely vintage style yet really comfortable with fully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi in room is not complimentary, though is available in the lobby.

    Lovely vintage style yet really comfortable with fully equipped rooms, heard that many guests are long-staying travellers. The staff is really nice and helpful. Besides, the central station is just 6 min's walk away, thus convenient to different metro lines. Also walkable to 5th ave and Empire State Building.

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2016

    9.2
    Appartment comfortable and large given New Yorks usual...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    A little bit of street noise however soon got used to it so didn't disturb

    Appartment comfortable and large given New Yorks usual standards. All staff very friendly and helpful. Daily maid service who were more than happy to deal with any requests. Location was great with only a few walk to Times square and Grand central station.

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2015

    7.1
    Location is excellent if you want to explore Manhattan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not very clean and it had an old funny smell. We had to clean the bathroom before we could use it. The room decor and furniture is outdated but at least is well maintained. Very noisy even with the windows shut. At 12am, every night, for 1hour the garbage truck makes a lot of noise. Not well ventilated, you could smell everything from other rooms. Cmon' guys, is the 21st century... Add some fans to the bathroom and the kitchen ventilation holes! Also, how can you cook anything if you have no hood fan over your cooker. The fire alarm started every time we made some eggs or toast... Eventually we wrapped the sensor in a plastic bag. Wifi is very unstable and slow. You have to enter the credentials every time, even if your phone or laptop goes to sleep mode. The sheets are ok but the blanket is horrible. I don't want to offend anyone's religious beliefs but the Bible in the drawer next to your bed sends a very old and 'highway motel' vibe. We didn't mind because we are Christians, but is not ok to impose on guests that have a different religion. You are in Manhattan after all.

    Location is excellent if you want to explore Manhattan. The price is reasonable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Suite was spacious. Your own kitchen. Laundry room. Small but nice fitness room. Hd tv with cable.

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2015

    7.9
    Safe and secure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    We had a weekend were wifi had issues but the managed to get it fixed the next Monday. Streets could be noisy during peak hours.

    Safe and secure. Perfect location.

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2015

    10
    Having stayed here before, albeit 15 years ago, nothing had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Having stayed here before, albeit 15 years ago, nothing had changed but in a good way. Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable staff who were brilliant. The suites are exceptional as is the location. (Right between Grand Central Station and the Chrysler Building - perfect!)

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2015

    10
    Denise Coatesville pa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Denise Coatesville pa I took my granddaughter to new your for the first time we stayed here at Murray Hill Nicest people you ever want to meet from the door man to the front. loved our room it was nice and spacious That is my place to stay every time I come to New York

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2015

    10
    Stayed here for our new year's eve adventure at Times...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No negative feedback.....experience was great!

    Stayed here for our new year's eve adventure at Times Square. It was the perfect location----easy walking to the Square, tons of cute eateries on the way, and a staff that was outstanding! Loved it!

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2016

    8.3
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Good location

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2016

    7.9
    Good Location.
    • Solo traveler

    Slow or no response on mail

    Good Location. Safety: My daughter stayed there for a month all alone and felt very safe and secure!

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2016

    10
    Everything is Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Maybe the noise, but it is Manhattan

    Everything is Excellent

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2015

    9.6
    Lots of room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Internet did not always work well

    Lots of room

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2015

    9.2
    Internet can be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Internet can be improved. Outages from time to time

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2015

    8.8
    A large amount of room by New York standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A large amount of room by New York standards. Staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2015

    6.3
    Location
    • Couple

    The cleanness was poor

    Location Service

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2015

    7.5
    The position is excellent however considering the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The position is excellent however considering the location it is quiet. It is easy to find all your necessities locally.

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2015

    10
    Friendly service and great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Friendly service and great location.

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2015

    8.3
    Service and support was really good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Service and support was really good. I liked the place.

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2015

    8.8
    Good location, room very comfortable, new doorman very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, room very comfortable, new doorman very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2015

    9.2
    The door man (from Armenia) - and the rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The door man (from Armenia) - and the rooms

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2015

    8.3
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2015

    9.2
    The space
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The space

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2015

    7.5
    Super convenient for the Grand Central Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Super convenient for the Grand Central Station Well located over all Safe area

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Murray Hill East Suites Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: