Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nicollet Island Inn 3 stars

95 Merriam Street, Minneapolis, MN 55401, USA

#6 of 55 hotels in Minneapolis

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 45 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 29

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    7.5
    A long anticipated stay not what I had hoped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heat pump in our room (there's one serving each room), decided to fritz out, leaving our room at roughly 55 degrees the first night (it was about 20 degrees outside). They did give us two space heaters, but that caused the electricity to go totally out in our room. They worked very hard to get it fixed, and they did (their people are wonderful!). However, the relaxing stay I had so looked forward to, just didn't really happen. And, for the price I paid, I don't think the "two free drinks" really covered it. Not sure if we will return - and that makes me sad.

    This is a lovely hotel and has been my favorite since staying there several years ago. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is truly a gem in the Minneapolis area. A quiet, wooded island getaway in the center of a large metro area.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Historic Hotel in downtown Minneapolis
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee in room has become standard in most hotels but not here. There was supposed to be complimentary coffee in the lobby but I could not locate this (perhaps as a result of multiple weddings the night before.) This is a minor complaint as there is a Starbucks within 2 blocks and a pleasant walk across the Mississippi.

    A wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. The room feels as though one is stepping into the late 17th/early 18th century yet they have updated the electronics, a nice dimmer switch in the bathroom and very comfortable bedding and seating. A view of the river and downtown with complimentary parking and wonderful walking to downtown areas of dining. While I did not eat at the restaraunt, the menu for dinner and Sunday Brunch looks incredible!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    Unique property offers elegant comfort in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No outstanding negatives. Front desk staff on arrival were a little aloof, but it didn't detract from the experience. Other staff members were very friendly and accommodating.

    Historic vibe with modern cleanliness and comfort. Makes you feel elegant and pampered. Charming island location in the middle of the city, with access to lots of great destinations on foot. Parking is free.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    This is a great old hotel that is totally modern where it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all.

    This is a great old hotel that is totally modern where it needs to be. Glorious. This is not one of the cookie cutter motels you see everywhere. It has character and old world charm in abundance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Best hotel I've stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing...I loved it all!

    The beds were the best I've ever slept on. The staff was accommodating, friendly, and helpful. We were late for breakfast time and they still serve us with the a wonderful meal and a smile. I had the quiche and it was to dye for. It was cozy and interment even though I stayed with my girlfriend. I want to take my husband sometime.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel in a great location with a wonderful staff. I would recommend visiting this area!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I lost power in my room trying to blow dry my hair. No kleenex in the bathroom (or anywhere) the shower was not good and hard to find outlet for my phone charger.

    The Inn is beautiful and in a beautiful location. The staff is great - but my room went totally dark when I tried to blow dry my hair in the morning. The gentleman at the front desk got it restored pronto! The view is amazing from the dining area and would love to spend more time there just to explore the hotel and the island. The hotel is more of a bed and breakfast atmosphere...no vending machines and ice machines.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfy as can be, close to where I wanted to visit, Lots of wonderful places to see and walk to!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the desk clerks was a tad snooty...no big deal...just somewhat annoying. Absolutely nothing else to complain about!

    Very close proximity to The Makeover Guy Studio, trendy eateries, walking trails. This Inn was highly recommended to me by The Makeover Guy Studio, after I asked them for their input. I am so appreciative of their assistance. I personally feel the inn should acknowledge the Studio for their (basically) free advertisement!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Have always wanted to stay here and it was a dream come true!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, the views, the historic charm, the service, the comfort, the vibe. The room service of desserts! Loved it. We had spent a few nights in a heavily trafficked hotel in the suburbs and were wore out. We checked into the Nicollet Island Inn and it was like a sanctuary! We put on our complimentary bathrobes, snuggled up in the comfortable bed with all the fluffy pillows, turned on Game of Thrones and had room service bring us some dessert. It was just dreamy! We will stay here again next year. Not to mention, it was a lovely river walk too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.4
    Nice place for an event. However, the facilities are severely lacking. I would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room temperature could not be moderated in the room. It was either 80 degrees and humid or 60 degrees and freezing. I had to have the front desk cycle the AC on and off. Guest internet is a joke! I had to use the staff's internet the entire time. They give you a $10 breakfast voucher. Other than a cup of coffee and OJ, everything else on the menu is more expensive. All told, breakfast added $15-20 to the total cost. My room faced the parking lot. The blinds do not block out much of the security lighting that they had on.

    Lovely location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Enjoyed our 1 night - would return if in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is small - need to find a better way to store hair dryer, extra toilet paper, Kleenex etc. in the space.

    Loved the location and dinner in restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Exactly what the doctor ordered. A retreat and a special treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpeting in the public areas isn't very pretty, but it appeared clean. I think it was a little early to stop seating in the dining room at 10am, but since we were guests, we were seated anyway.

    I liked the real windows. The view of the river was calming and nice. The walls are thick, so it was pretty silent. We took a walk along St.Anthony Main. It was drizzly and lovely. Overall, a stellar experience.Oh, the breakfast was excellent...I mean really excellent. The eggs were so fresh tasting and the coffee was very GOOD.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful weekend spot!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar closed too early on Saturday night. We would have loved a quiet drink after our busy day and family wedding but the office staff was more than accommodating to set us up for our own beverages!

    The building had so much character inside and outside. There were many comfortable places to sit and relax, have a beverage or read a book. The restaurant was amazing! The food fabulous! We ate both the regular breakfast and then the Sunday brunch and both had wonderful choices that were delicious. Everything was very comfortable and a good value. The location was also perfect! Lots of interesting walking with the river and parks near and St Anthony Main a short walk! Loved our weekend and would love to return!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Romantic. Elegant. Its own experience!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ONLY thing I would have liked to see would be a coffee pot in the room, or as the gal at the front desk said they are considering coffee stations on each floor. I am the kind of person who needs her coffee first thing after I wake up, and would rather not have to get fully dressed to go downstairs to get it. But that's it, I could not find another thing that's bad about this wonderful place.

    Absolutely stunning property! A perfect marriage of old and new. The staff are incredibly friendly, attentive and professional. There's a certain elegance about this property, and it's extremely romantic. What a great setting for a wedding, or even a honeymoon! The room was very, very clean. The bathroom very clean as well. They offer Pharmacopia toiletry products which smell fantastic. There are soft, absorbent, fluffy robes, and the bedding and bed is like sleeping on a cloud. I stayed alone while visiting Minneapolis to see a close friend, and I will definitely be returning to stay again! We had dinner in the restaurant downstairs and the Filet Mignon was without a doubt the BEST filet I've ever had. Definitely worth the price. The room has plenty of drawers and storage space for your things, plus an extra blanket and pillow in the closet, along with a hair dryer and iron and ironing board. *good tip about the hair dryer since I only discovered it as I was leaving and could have used it before then! I am disabled and found the entire place to be nicely accessible. If you have a wide camber on your manual chair, or a wider power chair, this may not be the place for you. Some of the doorways are a bit tight, but they are still manageable and the doors to the rooms and the bathroom door was plenty wide. I did have to move a chair out of my way to full access the closet, but I don't find that to be a huge deal. There is room service available and their food is absolutely amazing! You can also order an in-room massage. The views are stunning, and the entire experience was definitely worth the price. It's also extremely quiet despite being on the river close to the dam and right downtown. If you're looking for a room that's not just a place to lay your head, but is also its own experience, I highly recommend The Nicollet Island Inn!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Would have liked a fridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a fridge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    I’ll be back
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful with excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was squeaky

    Peaceful setting in city area! Amazing location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Location and excellent food at restaurant
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and excellent food at restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, excellent location, beautiful building
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The time it took to serve breakfast

    Friendly staff, excellent location, beautiful building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Swimming pool, individually controlled airco, and bigger...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool, individually controlled airco, and bigger windows would have made my day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, discreet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable, discreet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Great fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe place to walk on the island.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    We always enjoy our stay with you on the Island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We always enjoy our stay with you on the Island...keep up the good work and we will see you again soon. The location is perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.2
    Dissatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed, the thermostat, the cleanliness,the TV reception

    Location was awesome!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    All of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms could use a small fridge

    All of it beautiful hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    For history or architecture buffs, the Nicolette Island Inn is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is a well restored historic building in the most historic part of MSP.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Very satisfied
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Nicest place to stay in Minneapolis

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    5.0
    Staff was nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very uncomfortable, walls very thin, very noisy. Small bathrooms. A lot of money for very little amenities.

    Staff was nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Country Inn Oasis in Minneapolis
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sleep Number bed with down comforters and pillows period very quiet setting in the middle of the city on an island

    Stayed in March 2017

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 29