Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel New York 4 stars

45 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036, USA

#120 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1367 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Paid WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant revisit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nice if there was a double basin. Compared to our previous stay, the facilities seem a little tired. I would prefer a buffet breakfast rather than just a la carte, so that I can load up more fibre and fruits which we all lack while on trips.

    The room is spacious and bright. Separate shower from bathtub is a plus. A lot of space to store toiletry items around the wash basin.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Could have been better on rates and services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for Money, options provided by staff for room type. No value add services, staff not so welcoming Not clear charging for room rates !! Confusing and wrong double charged

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    It was convenient and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They went the extra mile to upgrade us i think because i was chosen as guest of the day but again not sure (i checked in at 4.30 pm) myself & 2 daughters to the junior suite which was nice but then when they knew my dad was staying in a separate room they only gave us 3 breakfast vouchers and that only after i had said i dont need 4 drink vouchers at the bar because my children were under age and my dad has a heart condition so doesnt drink. Would have been so easy to just skip drinks vouchers and just include 4 breakfasts. It totally undermined the upgrade since the bfast thing was on our last day😩 we were only there 1 night and so i was actually it seems only guest of the day for the day of arrival. Our check out day was the 4th of july too and my birthday os the 6th! Could have been an awesome customer experience moment! But missed.

    Great location for theatre especially and 5th avenue shopping. Housekeeping fantastic & v attentive as were concierge team. Was v pleased to get an upgrade & be customer of the day but was a bit unclear from staff what that actually meant other than drink vouchers (a bottle of champagne would have been nice - french perhaps?!)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    size of room is nice, lobby is useful and comfortable, Gaby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very small shower stall, rain shower head too big for and small stall

    size of room is nice, lobby is useful and comfortable, Gaby is nice for a slow drink, location is good, a/c is excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    The Sofitel staff well trained with exception of Conceirge...
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    exception of Conceirge staff. The other Sofitels in Munich and London have better services and are well connected to the scene within town The bell persons couldn't call taxis for us therefore always had to walk to busy road to try to catch taxi. The property is 12 blocks away from Central Park

    The Sofitel staff well trained with exception of Conceirge staff. The other Sofitels in Munich and London have better services and are well connected to the scene within town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Really excellent, you can stop the frustrating online search...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast/complimentary coffee service could use a little French touch from an experienced continental manager (especially considering the steep price tag.)

    Really excellent, you can stop the frustrating online search and settle on this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    I lost my favorite toy in the hotel ~I wrote the email to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I lost my favorite toy in the hotel ~I wrote the email to them the email address from one of the employee when I contacted the hotel .but I didn’t get any feedback ~can u help me right now The toy is very important to me I can go to hotel to take my toy if it is still in your hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    The accommodation was excellent, and the staff did more and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The accommodation was excellent, and the staff did more and above. The reception staff was helpful and offered assistance required with my infant daughter. The concierge directed us to favorable restaurants and done it with patient and a smile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    3.8
    hotel closed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    arrived and along with other guests was told the hotel was closed due to operational problems. later found out it was s labor issue. staff in strike. had been ongoing the girl should have told us before we arrived!!!!!!

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Magnifique-less in NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Location, not really as defined. Need to walk 1block to see the Times Square, and street by night is bit dark. 2. The breakfast is not so Sofitel level. Skip theirs and just go out and do it in the park instead. 3. Coordination with employees lack when they want to charge us for breakfast but was included in our package. The waiter even said: maybe your free breakfast was yesterday, HELLO? We just arrived! 4. No coffee maker or tea kettle inside the room (but they have Bose speakers and Belkin chargers) 5. No free water, you need to purchase the evian water from the mini bar 6. Every morning, someone will knock the door to give you refill of water for the mini bar (yes its a bother) 7. Lastly, they should change their breakfast crews: they’re a bit rough and arrogant compare to employees at night. When we ask on our second breakfast for “Fresh” not factory made orange juice - he got upset and went away.

    Bed, toilet and the Bar for evening drink

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    The room was clean, spacious and attractive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food in the restaurant was terrible and overpriced. The workout room was small and crowded.

    The room was clean, spacious and attractive. The lobby was elegant with comfortable seating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment

    Check in offered superior personalized service Restaurant food outstanding We enjoyed storing our luggage so we could watch StPatricks Day parade

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Looks like a great place, but not worth the funds..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did get billed correctly, couldn't get a response for front desk via phone for mini bar pricing, phone buttons to specific department did not work, alarm clock was broken and never replaced with working one.

    I thought the room Service and food was awsome. The room was nice size. Bed was great, bathroom Huge

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    Had multiple problems with room service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had multiple problems with room service. Food was late and cold once...had to send it back. Next time was not prepared as offered, didnt bring condiments requested. If Im going to pay $50 for a burger abd a soup...I would like to eat what I ordered

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    The staffs are very nice.
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Classic room is very small. The hotel used to be able to give late check out; now the hotel policy is not very accommodating.

    The staffs are very nice. Location is very good. Clean and ambiance is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    Overall okay, but I won’t be staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no coffee maker in the room. Unacceptable. The bathroom could have been cleaner too. The fire alarm went off and it was a false alarm but the staff did not make that very clear when we went down to the lobby.

    Thw location was great, I appreciated the apples in the lobby, the bath products were amazing and the bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect hotel in the perfect location -- Would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pillows were terrible and smelled. They need to be changed out. The A/C went out the last night -- we reported it but no one came. They removed the only charge we didn't prepay from our bill without us requesting. It was nice.

    Love the room location - 29th Floor and the roominess (by NYC standards). The bed was very comfortable. When I made a specific bed request, they accommodated. Our original room on the 14th floor was TERRIBLE. They apologized but were booked. We were moved the next day with no inconvenience to us. Perfect solution. Loved the location -- close enough to times square for the plays but removed enough to actually enjoy the streets of NYC. If booking a luxury kings -- realize they are on all floors (unlike the queens). Be sure to request a high room if that's important to you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Nicely appointed hotel, but uncomfortably warm rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen wasn’t open for breakfast due to “issues with the kitchen”. They did offer complimentary cut fruit, but if you wanted something more substantial, you were out of luck. Additionally, despite maintenance’s best efforts, they couldn’t get the temp in our room below 75 degrees. Things began cooling down the following morning, but I couldn’t sleep at such a high temperature.

    The hotel is nicely decorated and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Love it. We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant atmosphere and accommodating staff. A smaller hotel with a more intimate, European feel. The lobby/lounge area, restaurant, dinning area, exercise facility and of course the rooms, are all very nicely furnished and comfortable. Great location and quiet, as well. I highly recommend this hotel. We'll be back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My favorite hotel in New York. Close t Times Square and 5th avenue. Super confortable bed. Lovely linen. Nice staff. Haven´t try breakfast yet. It is luxury and expensive as well. Will always stay there during my times in NY.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    Nothing special to say!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No dedicated breakfast room. So the place is like a public brasserie where you share the space and the availability of the tables with non-hotelguests. It was cold in the place and terrible cold every time when somebody was entering from outside. When outside you have minus many degrees the normality is to start heating system- which was not the case. Everybody was complaining how cold it is, basically you cannot enjoy your breakfast. The A la carte menu is expensive for what you get. However the food was very good.

    Nothing in particular, except the politeness of the staff and the location. Room was OK but too cold for me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Can't wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was excellent! The hotel's location was excellent! The room was very spacious for NYC and extremely clean! Just a wonderful experience! I highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.3
    comfortable stay at a comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no material dislikes...but if there was in room tea/coffee making facility would be even nicer.

    good location, surprisingly good food at restaurant and room service (robust coffee and flaky croissants), and hotel having an overall comfortable casual luxury feel to it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.8
    Wasn't up to my exception as a 'Sofitel', standard is very low.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has very limited and basic facilities, the only bar on the ground floor is out of date and doesn't have any ambiance. Compared to many other Sofitel in major cities all around the world which I've been to, this hotel has a very low standard.

    Very convenient location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.8
    Freezing cold but that is nothing to do with Sofitel :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast, bed and overall value for money. I didn't get to see any terrace with a view over the city to both Empire State Building and the Chrysler Builder as depicted in the booking photos.

    Staff at Reception was very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed my stay and would likely go back to this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was disappointed that I didn't have turn down service. I later learned that you had to request it. I think for the amount that I paid for this stay it should have been expected.

    The room was very comfortable. The location is excellent. It was New Years weekend so I think the staff was a little strained, especially in the restaurant at breakfast. But, the hotel was very cozy in general.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    Very comfy beds, good size room esp for nyc. Great view. Need to get a decent food service in the
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service food was pretty bad. Breakfast service and food at hotel restaurant was simply awful. Very disappointing that in a French restaurant they didn’t even have a decent croissant. Service atrocious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast and dinner are wonderful,my son always said...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everyday I gave the tip for the room clean,but the clean was not good as well.

    The breakfast and dinner are wonderful,my son always said :delicious.The staffs in restaurant are very kind.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.3
    The staff were courteous and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked to have a coffee maker and milk in the room.

    The staff were courteous and helpful. We had an issue in our room which was taken care of immediately.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel on perfect location with very friendly and competent stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if tea pot is available in the room.

    Hotel in perfect location, quite area and only 5 minutes walking to Times Square and many other ammenities. Stuff devoted to guest, very friendly. We had small issue, and guest relation manager Matteo solved it in perfect way and quickly. Bed very confy, and breakfast exceeded all our expectations. Stuff in restaurant excellent. Strongly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.5
    The room was very clean and bed comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and bed comfy. Staff very friendly. One night we had a problem with the heat and maintenance immediately showed up. Also I had call hotel concierge to have flowers delivered on the day we arrived for my daughters bday. They did a fantastic job. The bouquet was absolutely beautiful!!! They also threw in a small cake and a sweet bday note from hotel. This is a great Central location. Also several good restaurants by hotel. Would definitely go back again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic location, staff were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, staff were very friendly and accommodating, room was clean, comfortable and spacious. 5th Ave, Central Park, Empire State and Times Square an easy walk away. Great restaurants nearby; perfect spot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Excellent .... will definitely recommend to family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very friendly staff and great location and very distinctive aroma as you enter the hotel lobby very relaxing and calming after a long trip... breakfast is great and the waiters are awesome specially Dos and Ronald:-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    The croissants were amazing and all of the food at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bad menu for late night room service. The mini bar was not re-stocked and had to call room service to re-stock the mini bar.

    The croissants were amazing and all of the food at the restaurant was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    it was fine
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    outdated furniture,noisy rooms any door opens/closes in the corridor is heard very loud in the rooms

    The min advantage is the location its in the middle of everything. helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Delightful stay at Sofitel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was all perfect

    We were celebrating our 5 year wedding anniversary. Sofitel went above and beyond to give us excellent service. Very satisfied with our stay and would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Superb location, friendly and smiley staffs
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy and pretty good size room for 2 of us and our little toy poodle. Employees were great with smiley faces. Clean room everyday for our 3 nights stay. Location is great near Times Sq and 5th Ave!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.4
    not a luxury hotel for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no room amenities, no water, coffee, tea in the room, no ice down the hall , ice machine has been broken for a while!!!! housekeeping did not replace wash clothes, we had to ask several times for replacement, elevator was malfunctioning, stopped on every floor,

    location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Would love to stay again!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to do with the hotel per se - waiting for lifts was a bit of a bore, especially when about fifty new arrivals came at the same time. But this is unfair to the review of the hotel - it's the architect's problem and obviously(sometimes) the customers. No negative comments about the hotel's staff at all. They are brilliant. Comfortable and sophisticated hotel.

    The staff is wonderful, knowledgeable and superb at their work. From the beautiful and very intelligent lady at reception,concierge (the best - all of them but we dealt with Geoffrey) to the waiter who served us at breakfast and the cleaning lady, who was just great. Very committed and enthusiastic people. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    Quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought the car that we ordered through the concierge to take us to the airport was very expensive. $150. This was charged through the hotel. We were left waiting in car while driver disappeared into hotel. Also he took us through all the neighbourhood routes rather than expressway.

    Extremely comfortable bed, plenty of room and great bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.3
    Very nice hotel, well located, just needs some refurbishment now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was in bad condition. Also we needed an engineer late at night to get our heating working. But he was excellent and got it going for us.

    We feel it is time to refurbish our room, it is showing it's age.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    5.8
    Would not stay in the NY Sofitel again - not worth the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced vastly for everything from room to breakfast. Had even to ask for a bottle of water for my room. No coffee or tea-making facilities. Room was reasonable size but a bit dull and slightly old-fashioned for this chain. The Sofitel in Philadelphia was great in comparison. I was very disappointed this time in NY.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.1
    Don't expect the views advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Don't expect the views advertised. Nowhere near neither in Queen nor in King room. Had to insist hard not to have a wall across. I know it's NY but there are better opportunities. Overrated and expensive. Better value in the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.0
    Sofitel NYC, not up to the chain's reputation. For the same price there are 1000 better options.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travel to NYC for the last 10 years at least 3 - 4 times a year. This is by far the worst price / quality hotel I've been in my whole life. I Travel all around the globe. I stay in around 50 to 60 Hotels a year.

    Location. Near the spotlight but not on the crowdy places.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    The skyview suite is spacious and perfect to stay with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Skyscraper Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only challenge with the property is lack of outlets and USB ports.

    The skyview suite is spacious and perfect to stay with a family member, wonderful view and lots of room. The staff of the hotel from top to bottom are focused on customer service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    We had a great time. We were in walking distance of great restaurants and Broadway shows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Other than the cost, nothing. It has comparable rates to other similar hotels.

    We've stayed in many different hotels on our visits to NYC. I think everyone goes through price shock and you don't see the added taxes until you check out, but that is part of staying there. I would definitely stay at the Sofitel again. It was clean, the staff was great, and had a great midtown location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Wouldn't necessarily stay at this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Restaurant was not great - breakfast was like food from a diner Bar Snacks - were from frozen Room service was expensive ie tax and tip AND a delivery fee so didn't use Chairs in room could be more comfy Windows were (are) filthy Hotel was most accommodating regarding my disability. But really - No automatic doors at the entrance?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.4
    great location ,nice staff ,would noit stay again need a makeover very dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    thread bare carpet ,very slippery bath tub,no tea coffee facility in room,terrible bar food ,shrimp tempura was not tempura batter it was greasy regular batter ,stale muffins with room service eggs Benedict,ice machine broken on our floor,mini bar missing items

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    This is the perfect choice for a couple to explore New York's highlights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't much at all not to like. The restaurant could be a little less expensive but the food is very good.

    The hotel is stylish and very clean and the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    A quiet retreat in the heart of New York City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing negative to report.

    Just one block from Times Square and a half block from 5th Avenue. Very clean and quiet. All staff we encountered very polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    My favourite stay wherever available
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Unlike other SOFITEL hotels around the world , for some reason the bread which is being served is not fresh . Especially the baguettes. No freshness , no crisp, just yesterday’s leftovers... 2. Pillows in my room had a strong smell of undried material not well treated.

    Sofitel’s Ambiance is great wherever we travel Love your service and efficiency .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    A fantastic stay from beginning to end.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very well appointed room, spotlessly clean. The hotel was in a fantastic location. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. I'll definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was a bit busy during breakfast and since it's not a self-service can take a while to order , so recommend calling in advance to reserve a table.

    Hotel looked very pretty, especially the lobby. Location is excellent- within walking distance of major city attractions. Staff was very professional and kind. Everything went smoothly from check-in to check-out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Loved every minute of New York and couldn't have picked a better place to stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of one thing to criticise here

    The room was very comfortable, the bathroom was imaculate and well stocked with toiletries i.e.. towels, dressing gowns, slippers, showering items etc. Honestly could not fault anything about this hotel.Free coffee and fresh apples and newspapers available every morning. All staff very courteous particularly the bar staff. Definetly recommend and we will be returning in May next year

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Best Hotel Experience Ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Without exception, the staff was wonderful, from the maid to the desk clerks to the restaurant staff. Best hotel experience we've had in our lives. Can't recommend it high enough. Thanks, Sofitel! We'll be back--and back and back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.0
    Over priced! Poor customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No customer service Staff too busy talking between themselves! Porters were the most helpful & friendly! No information given just take your money & go basically. Over priced for what you get. No wow factor

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    gOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    looking at the photos of the hotel we presumed there was a roof top bar available. Later to find out this was the picture of a hotel suite. We were very disappointed as this was the primary reason to booking this hotel

    nice staff very clean hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Busy bussiness hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should ask rooms on higher floors .Breakfast should be Buffe style.there should not any compulsory gratuity system. Cups and Saucers be provide in the room for tea &Not Starbucks take away disposal glasses.

    Great location.Good staff .Easy access to all tourist attractions. Easy availability of public transport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    Quite, clean, well situated hotel that I would stay in again but has unexpected room charges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were several service fees that were added onto the bill at the end that were really just a way to make the basic room rate look lower. Occupancy fee, hotel fee - I can't remember what they were called. When I asked at the front desk while checking out I was told it included "things like internet", but I said that internet was supposed to be free and he said ... "well ... there are other things" ... without really having anything to add. I don't remember how much the extra fees amounted to exactly but it was at least another $30 a day or so. Possibly all the other hotels do this as well but it seems dishonest to me. I would still stay here again, as this was the only thing I didn't like and a quiet hotel is important to me, but they should be more honest with their customers and incorporate all those fees into the price of the room so you know what it really is when you are booking.

    Very quiet. No street noise - and I am anal about quiet rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    8 days in New York
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the showers are too small and low. you can feel the hotel is quite old.

    food was of good quality. bed was comfortable but a bit short for my length. reception and concierge were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Business trip to NY
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Well located near Grand Central Station and 5/6 Avenues. Comfortable room, good gym and nice breakfast choice. Pleasant atmosphere and place to stay in New York.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Extremely confortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price paid, a complimentary bottle of water in the room is a minimum. A coffee set in the room is more than welcome, was missing that

    Extremely confortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location, awesome staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Suite with Sofa Bed (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable and the foam mattress was very old. We had terrible sore backs. Don't bother trying the restaurant downstairs (gaby). Staff weren't very friendly and the food was undercooked, cold and tasted horrid.

    Staff was super friendly, attentative and very courteous. Room was clean and room service was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Fabulous Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the bathroom in our room...with a fresh orchid(!), cleanliness of the hotel, comfy bed, the helpful staff, and the fabulous location. Wonderful lobby. The bar/restaurant manager, Chris, was fantastic...could not have been more friendly and helpful. Wonderful concierge staff. We have stayed in other NYC hotels, but we will be staying at the Sofitel from now on.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Sofitel leads the way.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The doorway to our room (1114) was too narrow. There are not enough electrical outlets in the room and no USB charging outlets.

    Sofitel means three things to me: delicious coffee, nice bathrooms and excellent service. All three are to be found at Sofitel NY. Edgar, one of the porters was outstanding, going out of his way to help us load luggage into a car a

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Comphy like home
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were exhausted and jet lagged and the staff and the hotel all around made it comfortable to relax and recover. All our requests and needs were met beyond our expectations

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Best Hotel Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I worked with Javier on the front desk staff who was so very helpful, solving my problem of the bed. I had booked queen but needed twins --- no problem. Great help and friendliness. Breakfast in dining room is excellent!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Short trip in NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff didn't make me feel like a valued customer.

    the room was bigger than expected. Location was perfect and the facilities were even .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Great place, could do a little better!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't get food or drink in the lobby, had to get room service in my room after hours. I couldn't prepare a tea in the morning and had to wait for room service. The light setup was confusing

    Great hotel, excellent location, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.8
    I have been a repeat client because of good service and ample rooms and now I am afraid to try again
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I am a return client and this was by far the worst room I have had. Small ,tight and the bathroom sink and bathtub did not drain appropriately. This time we only ate ate once at your restaurant after the theater at 10:30/11:00 pm and were VERY poorly attended by the waiters. There was no cover sheet on the bed therefore we had to use the feather cover that made us turn the air to 67/68 degrees

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.1
    Ok for a last minute stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the lobby we felt like we were in a movie theatre, standing in line to buy tickets. The hotel could really use some loving care.

    Room very spacious, felt like from another time, also very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    French comfort in unbeatable location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in room. Being charged an extra $10 per day when checking out for a room charge? This was not disclosed before booking, or even on check in.

    Great comfortable room and hotel. Wifi great. Beautiful street and views. Bed extremely comfortable and all room amenities perfect. Value for money with a secret deal on Booking.com.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Central hotel for family trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Suite with Sofa Bed (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pool would have made my rating for the hotel perfect!

    Breakfast included for kids, delicious and great choice! Suite great for 4- double sofa bed for kids in lounge area. Verranda with outdoor furniture lovely, but high on floor 24! All staff so friendly. Great central location. Although a high end hotel we were all made to feel very welcome, even the kids.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They never opened the door when i came in with a stroller. There r 2 heavy doors to come in, sometimes they opened 1 of them.Not very child friendly all over the hotel

    Breakfast is great. Staff from breakfast are very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Great Location and Extremely Friendly Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Easy access to Times Square, Shopping, Theaters and Restaurants...walking distance to everything. Subway was only two blocks away as well as Grand Central. Really an excellent location. Staff was extremely well trained and courteous. Concierge was fantastic as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sofitel New York traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: