Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The New Yorker, A Wyndham Hotel 4 stars

481 Eighth Avenue, Hell's Kitchen, New York, NY 10001 , USA

#322 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 7803 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and room were very small. Was ok for one night but wouldn’t stay there for an extended stay.

    Loved the location as we were in town for a concert at the Garden. Staff was very friendly and security was top notch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the security desk person was not friendly at all.. we mistakenly had the nerve to ask him a question and he made it very clear we were at the wrong desk in a rude way. Checked in on Thursday 6/14 in the late morning if you want to figure out who that was.

    Most of the staff were very nice. The room we had on 40th floor was awesome. The one on 34th was nice but small. Our 40th floor room was hot on one side but maintenance came right up at 11 pm and fixed it for us! We all felt very safe and secure staying here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My view was awful. All I could see was another set of windows to other rooms.

    Beautiful old hotel with great security checking key cards in and out the building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were much smaller than pictured, hotel gives the impression of free rollaway when theres a charge, hotel is outdated

    The rooms were clean, staff was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Work going on across the road throughout the night. Wasn't told. Very very noisy. First member of staff very rude!

    2nd member of staff lovely. Comfortable room and amazing view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hallways looks old and in decadent condition.

    Great location. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Clean rooms, shower working properly. Comfortable bed and sheet. Nice view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hallways to room is dark and old (decadent condition). Bathroom wall was peeling off, and shower wasn't working well.

    Location and the hotel staff is excellent. Efficient housekeeping. Confortable bed and sheet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and bathroom. Very noisy during the night - 8th Ave always busy

    Great location near Penn station. Good breakfast in Tic Toc restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing which is honestly kinda stupid and meaningless: the towels leave lint all over you after drying off. Happened all 4 nights of our stay with every towel. Maybe they are a bit old?

    Great location, clean, not super old style rooms, allows 18+ to book rooms, but most of all the price for it all. Perfect for a NYC weekend. Even better for any Madison Square Garden event: you can see MSG from the hotel’s front door!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low air conditioning. None available for individual rooms.

    Close to everything, 12 minute walk from The PlayStation Theater. Close to food stops all over. Cabs always available. Cab to LaGuardia cost approx, pending time you leave, $34 (5am) ish. Staff is helpful, rooms are clean. 3 Star Hotel. Over all good, just don't expect a big room. This place is perfect for solo travelers. Other wise it's kind of a squeeze for two people. Good value for your dollar, don't forget the $45-50 room deposit per night stayed. Which usually comes back to you after checking out, provided you don't destroy your room. I would stay here again in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room layout is really awkward. The shower was more awkward. I couldn’t get the water to come out from the overhead spout and the instructions weren’t any help. I made it work the best way I knew how. At least the water was good and hot.

    The history. In a decade, place would be a landmark. Literally across the street from Madison Square Garden. When I stayed, Billy Joel had a sold out show!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Bathroom needs updating. Ratio price / room a bit pricy. Paying for location I guess.

    Excellent location, next to Penn station direct train to JFK. 10 minutes walk to Empire State Building, 5 mins walk to Macy’s. Frienfdly staff, clean rooms. Comfortable bed. Able to use computer and printer in downstairs office.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room still wasn't ready at 9pm. Didn't matter too much as we were provided with drinks vouchers for the bar so kept us occupied however not all people would be quite so happy I guess.

    Comfy beds, view of empire state building, diner and italian on site, lots of amenities outside hotel (shops etc). Good location for exploring the city. Security on lifts made hotel feel safe. Close to Penn Station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors could do with a little sprucing to make them look clean and maintain the feel of a bit of glamour as you move about the hotel.

    The staff were all really friendly and helpful. Genuinely felt welcomed. Location superb. Great archetypal diner ‘Tick Tock’ in the hotel to set you up for the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was building site next door. They started at 9.00 pm and was making awull noise whole night. couldn't sleep there. Hotel manager just said that is not their problem.

    Good location and we didn't hear street noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed when went to pay at hotel was charged over 30 dollars extra than what was agreed on when booked through booking.com. Shudve paid by card online.

    Bed was huge and very comfy. Views from the 38th floor amazing. Very central n just a stones throw from Penn station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They tried to put us in an old room even though we paid an upgrade fee....called to front desk and the person was rude so I spoke with the manager and he got it squared away and put us in a nice room although NO view and we paid for a view.

    If you can get an updated room it is great! Great Location and the room is perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • New Yorker Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was a little small, but it is an older building.. not detrimental - it served its purpose. We slept two to a bed and one on the sleeper sofa (5 in the party). The 'queen' beds in the rooms were more like 'full' and seemed small for sleeping two to a bed unless you are a person of small or average stature. While the bathrooms are likely harder to change, it would be worth the loss of a foot or two of space to upgrade the two beds in the room to true 'queen' sized.

    Staff was awesome and every person was glad to be of any type of assistance. The property has a lot of history and some great amenities such as the Tick Tock diner on the first floor! Well worth the visit. I loved the extra attention that every employee gave, even the cleaning staff were very personable and polite and helpful. We felt almost like royalty by how the people treated us from check-in to check-out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I humbly feel that the hotel need to refresh in terms of colors, brighten up a bit. My bath room show was old as well as the tub.

    I love the location and the security at the hotel. The staff was friendly both at the front desk and by the elevators. My bed was nice and comfy and my room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    House maid service was very bad. No towels replaced & no coffee cups replaced, even when thrown out.

    View of Empire State from level 33 room was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • New Yorker Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    It’s was our daughters first visit to New York, we stayed in a suite on 22nd floor. To have a balcony and a fridge were lovely extras to make it a very special trip!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful and especially loved Crystal, she was the best! We felt very safe since no one can come up the elevator without showing their room card.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was amazing right opposite MSG and a stones throw from Empire State. Subway outside and Penn stn 2 mins away. Staff awesome food fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy location close to the Javits center for work. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. You feel very secure in the hotel with having to show your room key before entering the elevators. The front desk goes above and beyond in whatever you might need.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in the room was dirty. I trod on bobby pins and there were lollies on the floor from previous tenants . The water in the shower leaked onto the bathroom floor which made it very slippery.

    The fitness centre was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed! Mattress was old ,springs squeaked and one side of bed sagged. Our room with view was not ready when we checked in at 8pm so they offered us a room without view in executive suite. We were so tired, we accepted . The executive rooms were advertised as newly renovated rooms with two double Simmons beauty rest beds n pillows. But not the room we received. After 3 nights of not being able to sleep we asked for a new room but since the one available was half the size of what we had the hotel clerk offered to have mattress change which sounded great. Unfortunately a newer mattress was put on top of the old mattress . It was an improvement, was softer, still squeaked but made us roll into the center of bed making it hard to fit my husband and I on the double bed. Next trip will have to spring for 2 Queens. She did try to fix it for us ,so I have to give her credit.

    The location was great - extremely convenient to subway and the locations we had planned to visit. Staff excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room with a view was damp and small, staff moved us but our 2nd room had no view but slightly bigger. I had paid for room with a view so was then moved to a far nicer room with a view for the other two nights. Staff were great but wasted an afternoon waiting for room change. Was given 3 5$ vouchers for inconvienience not really good enough

    The beds were great so comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Having to pay another $250 upon arrival for using facilities such as gym, desktop, etc.

    The pillows were very flat. I wasn't upset about the clean policy with sheet changing, yet twice we got clean sheets that had blood on them. I had never been to NYC, so I am unsure if this applies to all hotels, or just the New Yorker. The room was very tiny, the closet was almost bigger then the room. There was no counter space in the bathroom. I have never had a room so tiny. It was similar to a cruise ship room. So for the cost of the room, I believe it was too small. My room also could not get HBO even after a repairman came to fix it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking too expensive. A coffee maker should be in all rooms. Brighter lights in rooms.

    Tick Tock Diner and morning coffee/pastry cart are great- most appreciated. ATM in lobby is extremely useful/helpful. Security at escalators much appreciated & they could not have been nicer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • New Yorker Suite with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic historical New York hotel with great views and a spacious room. Superb value for midtown Manhattan and great transport links to surrounding areas.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Earlier check in would have been nice. We arrived around 2 and our room was not ready but we were told check in was at 4 so it was fine.

    We were in the city to see Billy Joel at the Garden. Excellent location. Staff at check in gave us a complimentary up grade to a newer floor. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Security was very tight and we felt safe in the hotel. The homeless situation in the city is once again becoming problematic but we were not impacted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • New Yorker Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected more of a decoration for a suit besides a sofa and table, there was nothing exceptional about the suit and there was not wow factor on walking into the hotel/ reception. Guess it’s just about the location. Nothing to write home about i.

    Beds were comfortable and the location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I have to say is that the bed was small for two people but we made it work.

    Great location! Walking distance to time square and a lot of great restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a renovation, mini fridges should be added to the rooms, complimentary water in the rooms would be nice and if it says we’ll have a view of the river or the Empire State Building, we should actually have one.

    Location is great if you want to be close to Times Square or Madison Square Garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tea and coffee facilities would have been nice.

    Good location, comfortable bed, very clean, helpful friendly staff, good security, 2 restaurants and a 24 hour diner on site, all very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The closet was so small the hangers had to be on an angle and the safe prevented clothes from hanging freely - bathroom was ridiculously small - door had to be shut to use the toilet - sink was too shallow as water splashed out everywhere - AC had a very annoying “tic” every time it cycled off -

    Location, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely comfortable bed. Fantastic view. Spacious, elegant room. Refrigerator. Free bottles of water. Good shower. Fast elevators. And right near Penn Station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really except be warned the price that Booking.com confirmed I paid an extra $200 for room tax !!!!!. Also make sure that you leave plenty of time to get to both airports and returning as this at certain times can take up to Three huors

    As previous reviews have advised this is a dated hotel, but that actually adds to the charm of it. If you are fan of beige 1930's look you will enjoy this hotel. I'ts virtually opposite the Madison square Garden and a Ten minute walk from Times square and Penn Station a Five minute walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in process not good . Arrived at 4.30 pm and people were having to wait 1.5 hours for room to be ready . Surely rooms should be ready by 4pm - the check in time. This is a big hotel - service should be better . I needed to have shower and change before journey across town to meet my son who was also visiting NY - just a brief catch up . The delay at the hotel disrupted our evening

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • New Yorker Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We booked a regular suite, but was upgraded to a special suite. Checking-in was a swift. Mr. Miguel of the front desk was super accommodating and efficient. He processed everything in a few minutes. The room is very spacious, and very clean. We even had view of the Empire State Building. All the staff are very courteous. The hotel is closed to everything - subway, restaurants, Mc Donald's, Macy's and other shops. I just wished they have a microwave to reheat food. But, surely I will return to this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is my New York hotel. I always try to stay here, mostly because of their service and its location, near Penn Station and all the major attractions as well as the subway. Staff at Front Desk is always very friendly and helpful. And I like that they play classical music in the Lobby. Nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was too small. The water from the shower gets very hot and the temperature doesn't change even when the cold water tap was on to the fullest and the hot water tap was almost off.

    The location is perfect, very central and close to everything from Broadway to the Empire State Building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location right in the middle of the midtown Manhattan action. Being right opposite Penn Station made transfers by train from JFK simplicity itself

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property location was excellent, very accessible from Penny Train station and the bus terminals. Coming or going to anywhere within New York or outside New York was very easy. 8th Avenue/34th Street subway stop is right by the hotel. Getting food to eat outside the hotel are within reach and the prices are very reasonable with good quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds with View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms for 4, lack of windows and old furniture.

    Overall hotel is great value for money in NYC. Staff was very friendly and always at dosposal, rooms were very clean and the location was the best you can have if you are visiting NYC for sightseeing and as a tourist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was brilliant

    Location is so central and is directly across from Penn station. The staff were all super helpful and really made our trip special. When there was a slight mix up with our room we were given a suit on the 39th floor for the same price!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom were pretty tight fit.

    Great location in the city. Bonus that we realized it was Tesla’s hotel. Clean room and friendly staff. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are tiny, rooms looked old and tired, no refrigerator or coffee making facilities, bathroom was not large enough to swing a cat.

    Rooms are tiny, no refrigerator or coffee making facilities and the bathroom is not big enough to swing a cat in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. It was the smallest room we’ve ever stayed in, especially for the price. There wasn’t even space for a coffee maker in the room. Nothing much to really complain about.

    The hotel is conveniently located across the street from Madison Square Garden and near subway lines. The restaurants in the hotel are nice and the staff is quite accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were really small and on arrival we were advised we had been upgraded to the executive floor (8) I would hate to see what other floors were like if that was an “upgrade” also staff in tic toc diner were extremely rude

    It was in a great location and the staff were great! The rooms were modern and comfortable and cleaned everyday

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Thank you very much for everything! We spent our honeymoon in NY and stayed New Yorker Hotel. The room was awesome, and all of the staff were very kind! I highly recommend to anyone who is looking for a great hotel in NY.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything negative about the New Yorker. 5 stars! Well done!

    The room was pristine clean and very well appointed with great WiFi and USB ports for easy charging. The room was cleaned daily and was always pristine upon arrival back from business. Having the diner downstairs was always a bonus. I have eaten here for the past four years. The food is always superb and the staff are friendly and cheerful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything I didn’t like.

    The hotel is beautiful, kept clean and has good rooms. I liked the fact it was very near the train station. The hotel staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in an updated room this time, shower either scalding or freezing, had to ask 3times for the telly to get fixed, didn’t clean room one day. Felt we were penalised for booking cheaper rate for no cancellation when they had our money upfront for a couple of weeks

    Great location, nice hotel,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all, we loved it.

    We loved this hotel, it had great character and our room was spotlessly clean and had an amazing view. The location was excellent and the staff very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again on our next visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, no fridge or coffee machine. The bathroom was miniscule. It was partially renovated with an old tub and a new faucet... the shower was dripping for hours after it was used. The noise of the doors from the adjecent rooms was very loud.

    The proximity to the Penn Station and the views from the room are hard to beat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Heating system works but getting uniform temperature in the room is a challenge

    The wifi is super fast. The restaurant Tick Tock has good American dishes. The hotel location is ideal for shopping & walking to discover NY.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tramps! 90% no problems but some were shouting abuse & a bit intimidating.

    Excellent location for all main attractions! Time Square, Theatre, Empire State Building, Water Taxi for Statue of Liberty & the rest! Great time was had by both of us & would recommend this Hotel to anyone! Cheers Ken & Carol Turner, Scarborough, North Yorkshire, England.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • New Yorker Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much we did not like...The only thing would be that our request for early check-in could not be accommodated. We arrived 9:30am and check in was 4:00pm. However we opted to store our luggage for $2 each. And this process was very smoothly run.

    Stayed in the double suite...shared with four others. Room was spacious with large table and seating area. Beds were comfortable. We had a great view of the Empire State Building. The location is superb...close to subway and only a few blocks from Times Square and Broadway. We located an ‘Essen chain food shop on the same block as the hotel - it was a great place for grabbing breakfast/snack food on the run.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very tired, and could do with a refurb, paint was peeling off the walls in the bathroom. Tiny room (even smaller than expected for NYC) so no room to store luggage. We had a Metro Queen with view room; if you could call looking at the office block directly opposite, with a bit of Madison Square Garden a 'view'.

    Staff were very friendly, hotel is brilliantly situated for Times Sq. and Broadway, Macy's and the Empire State Building amongst others. Room was generally clean. Lots of lifts, which for a 40 storey hotel is a massive bonus. Tick Tock diner (situated within the hotel) offers reasonably priced, good quality food. Only a 2 minute walk from Penn Station, which meant transfer from JFK was quick, easy and cheap via the LIRR trains.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower curtain is not waterproof

    The location is fantastic! All staff were friendly and tried to accommodate the requests. Beautiful! My next stay in NY will be with them!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. There should be some arrangement with the Tick Tock restaurant for a room discount when staying at the hotel.

    Room was clean and the location excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • New Yorker Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, while friendly, weren’t very good on following up. We had a few issues during our stay which took a while to get sorted. Lines at the check in desk were always very long so you couldn’t ask a quick question or get your room keycard fixed quickly. But plenty of other staff standing around doing ...? Air conditioning was poor but it was warm enough up on 28th floor not to need it too often.

    Excellent location! Two room suite was very spacious, great for three adults travelling together. Fantastic to be able to open the windows a bit and get fresh air. Staff were very friendly and pleasant to deal with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear everything the couple were doing next door. They weren’t overly loud but it was one of those adjoining rooms with NO sound proofing. Absolutely none. Even heard the lady tell her boyfriend that she was ovulating, and I genuinely wish them the very best. My wife didn’t enjoy the experience at all, so we told reception and there manager. Before we knew it we were trying to defend why we hadn’t informed them during the night. We were perplexed as would the hotel have knocked on our neighbors door and asked them to stop. Surely they would then be writing their negative review. Manager said they’d “look into” the sound proofing, but by her tone and manner, I doubt that very much. Not impressed!

    Leaving

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • New Yorker Suite with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very clean, and they paid attention to my requests prior to our arrival. They even brought us a bottle of champagne for my daughter’s 21. Birthday. Location is perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Almost everything was not good! Except the situation. This is a 2* hotel This is absolutely not a 4* hotel. Only 1 chair in the room. No Fridge (for a 4* hotel!). Carpet on the ground not clean. Standard rooms are TOOOO small for 2 persons with suitcases.

    The rooms looks like 50 years old! Not possible to have a King size bed with my wife! The queen size bed room are absolutely toooooo small! Do not take that for 2 persons! The air conditioning and the shower are good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the restaurant was quite rude at times. They need to be hospitable a bit with the guests. They have to understand they are not doing any favour on us by serving food as we are paying for it..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom was little dated and small.

    I really liked the location of the property right next to Penn station and that historic part of the hotel with Nikola Tesla statue and memorabilia.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room although clean was tiny for the price we paid, particularly the bathroom. Had to go in and close door before you could turn round to use the loo

    Location and cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very grubby and had none of the usual bathroom items like razors or shower caps etc. The room didn’t have a view as advertised which was disappointing. I was charged an extra $45 without being asked or told why. I had to go to reception with my bill and ask why I was over charged. Turns out it was a security fee (which was fine) but I didn’t like how I told how much it was and then have them take $45 out of my account without my knowledge.

    The bed was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is old and so are it’s appliances. The iron wouldn’t work, tv cable kept restarting and the audio fazed in and out. My door key stopped working a couple times so it was inconvenient to all the way back to the lobby to have it fixed. The room is also very small.

    It was clean and the staff was nice. It was conveniently located across the street from penn station and made it easy to get around Manhattan

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • New Yorker Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gets very crowded when events are in the area. Make reservations.

    Eclectic mix of food types in surrounding area. If traveling with a group, all should be able to find a place to eat without going to far.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hallways were dingy and smelled like they hadn't been ventilated in some time. There are exaggerated additional fees. $31 dollars extra on arrival goes to their various "facility fees" that are apparently not covered by the price of the room. From what I gathered the fees cover WiFi and the gym. Mandatory gym fee is a bit ridiculous for most people, who after a day of walking around the city aren't going to need more treadmill.

    Great location, next to Penn Station. Double room with a view was small but clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Small rooms with old-fahioned bathrooms and bar sope provided for bathing. Very loud flush in the toilet, which can be heard from other rooms.

    Great location in the heart of Manhattan withing walking distance to some of must-see landmarks with a friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cost of the hotel was not transparent at booking but this was an issue with Booking.com and not the hotel. When I booked I didn't realize how much tax had to be added and while I understand this had to be done I would have like to know the "real price" at time of booking.

    The bed was really comfy and the view was fab from our room. As it was my daughters 16th birthday gift they gave us complimentary breakfast each morning. The staff where all very nice, the hotel was safe, clean and very central. The subway from airport is literally next to hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: