Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Harborside Inn 3 stars

Christie's Landing, Newport, RI 02840, USA

#5 of 32 B&Bs and Inns in Newport

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 250 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but amazing things to say about this hotel...perfect location walking distance to everything, friendliest staff who makes you feel a part of their family, waterfront balcony, convenience, value, comfort. The list can go on and on, and I’m already looking into booking another stay at Harborsode Inn! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Pricey hotel that was very poorly maintained! Big disappointment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old facility, not well maintained. Chipped and stained toilet seat that didn't flush well. Patio door would not lock. TV volume did not work. Shower did not drain. Expected better maintenance for such a high price.

    I enjoyed the size of the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Didn’t look quite as nice as in the photos but a reasonable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice comfy bed and a simple help yourself breakfast included in price. After travelling around and being given too large breakfasts it was nice to be able to just take what you wanted and also nice to have it included in price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only way to room is up a flight of stairs. Hard to lug luggage up and down.

    Charming inn right in the middle of the action of Thames Street. Everything was an easy walk. Staff was so nice. Room very quiet and charming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    When we go back to Newport, we will stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The occupants above us were very loud all night long, but not the Inn's fault.

    Location was awesome, right on the water. We liked the eating area and morning coffee and breakfast nearby. The staf greeted us immediately, as we were parking, and were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    The staff went above and beyond from the moment we got there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff went above and beyond from the moment we got there! There is free parking which is great - and at one point we had forgotten to put our parking 'sticker' on our dashboard, and while we were gone, someone from the hotel put a new 'sticker' under our windshield wiper so we wouldn't get towed! Would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    The staff was very helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Jane the manager is very sweet and made sure that we enjoyed our stay. Jennifer who helped in the breakfast room was a delight to talk to. They served afternoon baked cookies and tea. The continental breakfast was very good. I will definitely stay again at the Harborside Inn when I return to Newport. It's a small hotel with about 15 rooms, which makes it relaxing to stay there because the staff makes sure that you enjoy your stay. The hotel is right on the water & a parking space is available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.0
    Front desk staff was friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was subpar. Few offerings. Bathroom was very small and cramped. The air conditioners are installed in the wall and there are huge gaps where cold air poured in around them. I can imagine in the summer it’s a nice doorway for mosquitos. Our neighbor smoked on the balcony and our room filled with cigarette smoke. Came right through the gap in the wall. Our belongings smelled of smoke. Management did not fix this issue to our satisfaction. When we politely complained, the other guest proceeded to yell harassments through the door at us. Threatening to come over. He was belligerent and frightening. Management offered us a different room. We had booked the best room with a view and two large beds. She offered us a room without the better view, twin beds instead of a queen. We had to move ourselves while the angry man continued to harass us. She only offered us a $50 credit which felt insulting. It turned my first and only mom weekend into a stressful one. I will not be going back.

    Front desk staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was light and the main bed was comfortable. Location is great. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and the harbor. It was nice having afternoon and morning access to coffee and tea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Everyone here is so nice and cheery. You can tell they really want you to enjoy your visit. Love td
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath tub was slippery when showering. But everything else was so wonderful!

    First of all the hostess at front desk was soooo nice!!! She went out of her way to tell us about events going on etc. the room was beautiful. Best inn in Newport. I will never go anywhere else. Love the location. Walking distance to everything! Again we stayed in Newport a lot and I will be staying here for now on. Love the balcony as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful location, wondering view- makes you want to go on vacation just to stay in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The woman who checked us in accidentally sent us a voice text around midnight our first night there, which woke us up. Thought that was a little weird. haha

    Loved coming back to the room in the afternoon to go to the breakfast room overlooking the water to have some warm cookies!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice facility but thin walls. Disappointed that they did not offer us a credit after no sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were so thin we were up until 2AM listening to the group next door. Complained to front desk twice but noise continued. Not good for families or people who enjoy a good night's sleep.

    Room was great. It included a loft. Very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    We had a wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property needs to have a thorough going over. Hallways, etc are beat up and need painting, for instance.

    Great location. Nice sized room and wonderful bed!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, very cosy, would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of noise from the bar/ hotel next door, but did not disturb our sleep. A few stairs to climb with our heavy bags.

    Loved the loft bed and the view over the harbour. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds were very comfortable and the room was nice and warm. Breakfast was fairly simple but with a good selection to please us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are up a flight of stairs so it is difficult to lug bags up and down.

    Very easy to find the hotel and free parking was available right in front. The receptionists were friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Excellent location at immaculate inn in center of beautiful Newport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Wonderful location in center of beautiful Newport! Onsite free parking, easy check in, friendly staff, lovely breakfast, cookies and tea in the afternoon, wine and cheese on Saturday afternoon,& big guest rooms!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    Romantic,,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything,, breakfast was great,,

    Yes; all was comply,, didn’t use loft tho; too old,,,wd like to come back again after the holidays, hope for a better rate, Let us kno,,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay in the off season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was too soft.... woke with sore back.

    The staff was very friendly. We were there in the off season so was not overly crowded. Other guests took time to chat and visit in the breakfast room. The night was stormy with gale force wind. Our room remained cozy despite the winds and pounding rain.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Great overnight getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very comfortable, we loved our harbor side balcony. The afternoon cookies were wonderful and the breakfast room was nice with a great view of the harbor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Really lovely accommodation - very cosy and in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely accommodation - very cosy and in a great location. Friendly, helpful staff. Wish we could have stayed longer. Would visit again if I am ever back in Newport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Great place l!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was spacious, with two different floors, and one bed in each of them. Privacy was great, and breakfast was very nice (and the place to eat had the best views of the ocean).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    That it was in walking distance to restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We knew from past stays that there wasn't an elevator so we planned for it and took a small overnight bag.

    That it was in walking distance to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    The room was big like an entire european house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stairs, but the building is made that way and it was specified in the description

    The room was big like an entire european house. We had a queen bed and a king upstairs. We also had a small balcony. You can park in front with a permit and a good breakfast with port view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Would highly recommend and would stay there again.
    • Group
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a bit dated and the shower curtain had mildew. Happened to notice baseboards were dusty because I stored my suitcase on the floor. Just a little attention to those kinds of detail would make my review score even higher!

    Great location! Excellent accommodations. Free parking. Good breakfast. Delicious cookies. Wine & Cheese in the Harbor Room was a pleasant surprise - hung out with other guests enjoying a lovely sunset.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    We wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were a little difficult with luggage.

    The room was spacious, the view from our room fantastic, the staff was friendly and helpful, the location central . It was a beautiful place to end our vacation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent homely property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed this stay. Nothing to improve.

    Great staff, room was lovely with mezzanine bedroom over the living/ other bedroom area. Fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small bathroom very old need renovation.

    nice continental breakfast beautiful view great coffee. high price for the suite for a family room a bit too crouded.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodations, great hospitality, fantastic location. Would definitely stay again!! Hey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, I wanted to charge my room to a rewards card (Timeshare Vacation Visa card), but was told charges had already gone through. So, couldn’t use the card/rewards and had to pay with my own credit card. Kind of bummed about that.

    Accommodations were wonderful and comfy! Just like home! Bacon? I missed the bacon, but breakfast was very good (and healthy!). The staff was wonderful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Newport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave....

    Very comfortable large clean room and its central location with easy parking immediately outside. The service was excellent and everyone was very accommodating and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator at Inn for 3rd floor accommodations

    Close proximity to pier and water as well as short walk to other piers with several shops,pubs and eateries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    The Harborside Inn is fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The host who greeted us on Sunday was more than helpful and welcoming. Our suite was lovely. The breakfast room was charming and the breakfast fare was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    We would recommend the Harborside Inn because of its location and the staff's friendliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The waterfront room we stayed in had a beautiful view, but was very small. Bathroom also very tight. Also, having a bad back, I found the mattress on the bed to be quite hard and uncomfortable. The other inconvenience was not having an elevator; therefore having to bring luggage up two flights of stairs.

    The staff was very friendly and professional. Cannot say enough about how accommodating they were. Location was great - close to everywhere we wanted to go. Breakfasts were probably the best continental breakfasts I have experienced. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely. will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladder leading to the upstairs. The sheets had not been changed there were partials of dirt on the sheets.

    The room was great. the balcony was. wonderful. especially at night .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    wonderful hotel, fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    price for just myself was a little bit expensive.

    I had a harbour view room with a small balcony which was wonderful. The hotel is in a fabulous location and very easy to walk everywhere. The staff were extremely helpful and the choice of breakfast was really good for continental choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Our stay was pleasant. There is lots to see and do in Newport. Wonderful vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The loft room was comfortable. The closet could have been more spacious. Also, it was somewhat inconvenient not to have a mirror on that level. I had to always go down to the lower room to use a mirror for basic needs.

    The room was attractive and comfortable. The beds were spacious and filled with soft pillows. The breakfast room was a cozy and relaxing place. The afternoon cookies made a great snack as well. The staff was extremely helpful, especially when recommending places of interest, restaurants, as well as giving directions. They even went as far as booking dinner reservations for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Charming and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very tight. Our 'city' view was actually a view of the parking lot. Stairs that lead up to the rooms are steep and would be difficult for a lot of people, I'm not sure what they could do though, that's the way it was built. I don't have a lot of criticisms for this hotel, we really enjoyed our stay.

    The hotel is old and very quaint, but kept in great condition. Our room was huge, had an upstairs with a small porch to sit outside. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is right in the pulse of Newport right on the water. We could walk to all our destinations. Continental breakfast was average, coffee was very good, breakfast room was charming overlooking the water.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic stay on Saturday at the Harborside!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were greeted by the loveliest woman both on the phone and at Check -in. I believe her name was kate. The location was fantastic but I was worried about it being loud late night but it wasn't and we slept fine! Highly recommend the Harborside Inn for your next stay in Newport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    We enjoy our stay.A bit pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was very welcoming. The food consisted of mainly carbohydrates.I'm gluten free so we had to go out for breakfast.

    Bed was comfortable. The room was very clean.Great access to all of newport.Helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was only surface clean. I don't think the floor was vacuumed once during our 4 days there. Bathroom was not as clean as we'd liked.

    Great Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Cannot wait to visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newport is just as welcoming as the photos you see. Although a passing through stop for us, we cannot wait to visit Newport & the Harborside Inn again soon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Perfect little Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that we didn't love was we wished there was more breakfast, but definitely not a deal breaker!

    The room was beautiful with an awesome view! The bed is probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in at a hotel. The location is so convenient to a lot of Newport attractions. This was our second time staying here and won't be our last, we love it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Gathering room was very nice to hang out in and play cards,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is VERY tight and in a driveway shared with other businesses and rental carts. Extremely busy and not easy to park a normal size car, nevermind an SUV.

    Gathering room was very nice to hang out in and play cards, drink wine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.8
    Down to earth, organic elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room to have a good breakfast/ lunch/dinner "income potential". Only had quick breakfast oatmeal/ cereal "Holiday Inn type"

    Down to earth, organic elegance

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly staff, great breakfast room with view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, great breakfast room with view of harbour where you can als enjoy comlementary tea, coffee, fresh cookies, fruit. We had a very nice family room with loft and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Character property, with a nice loft space for second bed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access to rooms are by fairly narrow stairs, and there is no lift, so this could be a problem for some. Parking is adequate, but spaces are fairly tight, with a wall in front of them, that is not protected by wheel stops

    Character property, with a nice loft space for second bed in the 2 double bed rooms. Very good beds . Nice breakfast room with views

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Newport Bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is ideal...enjoyed not needing a car...shops, restaurants, and views all around. The staff was so friendly and went out of the way to make us happy. It was also so nice to walk down to the breakfast/snack room and eat with that beautiful water view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Great Place to stay in town and on the water!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get to the loft you have to go up a ladder. It showed it in the pictures of the room so we knew when we booked the room. The part that surprised us was how steep it was. Not a huge deal you just have to be careful.

    We loved the Harborside Inn! We have been to Newport many times and stayed in 7 different hotels in the area including this one. We had the room with the harbor view and a loft. We went with another couple and it was one of the only rooms in town that didn't have two beds right next to eachother. The room was awesome! The beds were very comfortable and the view was very pretty. I like that they have their own parking for guests since parking is hard to find down town. The location was great and the hotel employees were extremely friendly! For the price this is a great and comfortable hotel to stay in! We would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Harborside Is What Newport Is All About
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They absolutely need an elevator or way to get our bags up & down the stairs.

    Loved everything about Harborside including the staff! It was charming, clean & even though it was an old building I liked how everything was updated. Plus the shopping & restaurants were right at your finger tips.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful welcoming and friendly staff, beautiful view and...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little hard and the walls are thin. If you are near the kitchen, it is very noisy beginning around 430am.

    Wonderful welcoming and friendly staff, beautiful view and lovely accommodations.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.2
    The staff was great, check-in was easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2nd night it seemed like the group above us was doing circus tricks based on the noise.

    The staff was great, check-in was easy. The inn is close to a number of good resturants. Breakfast was very good. Definitely recommend this Inn.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is perfectly located with a nice view and a parking available. The staff was very nice and available for questions. I highly recommand to stay in Newport.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.2
    Great location and great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was that the bed in the loft was very hard, but when I asked for an extra comforter to sleep on they were more than accommodating. The housekeeper actually made up the bed with the extra comforter under the fitted sheet making it like a mattress topper.

    The location was great- right on the water downtown and within walking distance to shops, restaurants & the visitor center. Staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. Room was large, nicely decorated and clean. There was a very nice breakfast selection served in the common room which had a wonderful water view. The breakfast, afternoon snacks, bottled water, parking, and wifi were all included. Would definitely stay there again!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    We spent less than 24 hours at Harborside Inn yet had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent less than 24 hours at Harborside Inn yet had a wonderful stay. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast and a lovely, spacious room which also included a loft. The location was perfect to take advantage of the Newport Marina and Black Friday shopping. The Mooring Restaurant, just two blocks away, consistently offers superb seafood.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Great place to spend a long weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly and very accommodating. The room was spacious, very clean and bed was extremely comfortable. Fresh baked cookies and coffee in the afternoon was a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Cute inn, friendly staff, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only wished I could have gotten my hands on more cookies. Not really a complaint though.

    They have a crockpot with cream of wheat and brown sugar, cinnamon, raisins and walnuts to add. So good! There was quiche on Saturday and Sunday (may be a weekend thing because there wasn't any Friday). The cookies are amazing too. Get there earlry for them, though. We only saw a few on Thursday early afternoon and never again during our stay. Aside from food, the staff is super friendly. Parking is right in front of the building. Water bottles are available in the lobby. Views from even the city side rooms are gorgeous. Location is perfect for walking to shops, restaurants, and other recreational activities.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.9
    Location was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still don't understand why we were charged an extra person fee when the room we stayed in sleeps 4 and there were 4 of us. Innkeepers explanation didn't make sense to me. Feels like an overcharge.

    Location was fabulous!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.3
    We were in a suite with a loft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a suite with a loft. The bed in the loft was so uncomfortable that we were both left with severe backaches. By the third night we were sleeping sitting up. Room 17 needs the mattress replaced.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    4.2
    Stay somewhere else, not worth the money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room did not look nearly as nice as the photos. I was very disappointed.The furniture was very shabby, the bathroom was in dire need of a renovation, and the common areas of the hotel felt rundown. I would not stay here again. It was certainly no where near the $400+ price tag. The staff were very friendly. Though, when I complained Sunday morning about the Saturday evening noise from the neighboring dance club all I got was a smile and a shrug. I suppose there wasn't much they could do, but a little empathy would have been appreciated.

    The continental breakfast was better than the typical offerings. I was pleased they had hard boiled eggs, quiche, and cold cuts.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.0
    Quaint, friendly boutique hotel with view from balcony!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator...balcony had only one chair very narrow...loft stairs in suite steep, narrow not for children. Floor and carpet felt sticky...could have been humidity!

    Boutique hotel...staff very friendly and helpful...view from balcony was great! Complimentary self serve continental breakfast on second floor with oversized comfortable wicker chairs in sunny room with view!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.9
    Location was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpeting needed a good sweeping! There was dust and rubber bands all against the wall going into the bathroom.

    Location was excellent! However, we were in room 16 which couldn't have had better view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    7.5
    Cold A/C.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 19 should not be considered a waterfront room. Waterview, yes, but not worth a premium at $338 a night. I attached photos of the different views. They are, Photo titled Room = view from balcony. Photo titled Bathroom = view from balcony looking left. Photo titled Lobby = view from balcony looking right. Photo titled Outside =View from window.

    Cold A/C. Very friendly staff. Great cookies.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    9.6
    It is one of the most beatiful hotel I have ever stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is one of the most beatiful hotel I have ever stayed. And the staff is very friendly and always making you feel comfortable., hope I can return soon !!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    9.6
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature control. Room very cold, no way to adjust

    Staff was friendly and informative. Dining room was lovely as was our room with balcony and water view. Great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff! Great breakfast in the morning plus great view of harbor, they provided towels for the beach, very helpful with ferry info and beach locations! Located in the middle of shopping & restaurants!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.2
    Definitely want to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes toilet would continueously fill & sweaky bathroom door.

    Super helpful staff, comfortable & spacious room, wholesome breakfast to fit everyone's taste, have already recommended Harborside Inn to family & friends.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.9
    The location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in could use updates.

    The location is amazing. You are close to everything. Even the cliffs are only a 20 minute-beautiful walk away! The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. They truly made us feel welcome!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast room with terrific views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast room with terrific views. Cozy loft.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Lived up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far too little counter space in bathrooms. It was awkward and frustrating.

    Location was superb and staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    View from balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and conveniently located on the waterfront

    View from balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Newport location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Great location and staff. Near all the attractions. Breakfast served daily. Made our trip enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    We had a lovely time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were used Bobbi Pins on carpet next to my bed. Sort of grossed me out a bit.

    All of it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    The end is located right off Theme Street. You can walk to everything that you need to go to
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with our overnight stay.

    The beds were comfortable and pillows. Very clean! The staff was excellent!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    The bed was really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was as advertised.

    The bed was really comfortable. The cookies were a nice touch. The concierge was extremely pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    The location, view, room and staff and services were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The location, view, room and staff and services were outstanding! Absolutely enjoyed the stay!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Nice and clean room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean room!! Hope I can return soon!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Awsome!! The room was clean, cozy and compfortable and the staff was sooo nice and helpfil
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!! Everhting was perrrfect!

    The room with the loft was very cool.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Harborside Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: