Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4 stars

222 Mason Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#16 of 264 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2932 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.5
    Clean quiet room in the heart of San Francisco
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is absolutely friendly, but somehow all is a little unpersonal and on a distance. Not welcoming. In 2018 you should not have a data limit on the WiFi of only 3MB. As soon as you want more data and/or a faster Connection you need to pay additional, for an hotel in the category unacceptable. Go to any Starbucks and you have unlimited internet. The room was not small but spacious is different, other hotels in the same price range offer more space. The rates are very much depending on the demand. I had a good price for the first 3 nights, wanted to extend for another night but suddenly had to pay more than double the daily rate: 700 USD is definitive too much for this hotel. Prices charged for the minibar are steep: 7 USD for a can of Coke?

    Hotel Nikko is very convenient located close to Union Square. All kind of shops, coffee places and restaurants are close by on Walking distance. There is also a car park around the corner where you can park for a - for SF standards - competitive rate. The room was super clean and quiet. Beiing allergic for feathers I did appreciated the synthetic pillows.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.6
    The view from the room was amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hoped it would have been a little more cheaper. The layout isn't my favorite. There's a very small hallway between the door and living area

    The view from the room was amazing. The bathroom layout was really nice and convenient. The staff was very courteous. The hotel was near almost everything. There was a Starbucks right downstairs and a Walgreens around the corner. As well as a few good restaurants around it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    Good service and great rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Imperial Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good service and great rooms. You can find good gym and pool area. Breakfast lovely and with small upgrade, you can enjoy beautiful views and complimentary drinks&snacks in the evening.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    Smart, modern hotel in good location but lacks character and is too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little characterless and the staff perfunctory rather than friendly. Quite expensive for a leisure trip especially considering breakfast is not included.

    Great location in downtown San Francisco. Smart, modern business hotel with good facilities. Good sized room with comfortable bed. Decent wifi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.4
    Location goods
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge extra for early check in. The room was too expensive to be charged extra early in. No complementary water or coffee. Would not stay there again.

    Location goods

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no microwave no where in the hotel. The fridge was barely big enough to hold two bottles of water. No true food options inside the hotel.

    The location was perfect. The bed was comfortable. The staff was great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative, uncomfortable pillows

    Spectacular, beautiful, modern, clean with great staff , we had a beautiful room with view of the bustling streets, what I love about and choose when I stay in a downtown area. Union square is so centrally located. When reading the reviews some were mentioning the homeless, they are in every area of downtown and please remember, they are people and though some approach they are just asking for money to survive. Can not say how much we enjoyed the hotel and bonus Starbucks attached for those caffeine fixes.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    3.3
    It was a Mistake
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is horrible very dirty around the hotel. The parking was way too expensive for just 1 night. They overcharge everything here. I had to pay extra in order to enjoy the patio and the pool. I would not recommend this hotel and I wouldn't think of coming back here again EVER!!!

    Patio and pool was nice but not nice enough for the price. The room wasnt bad either but, again, not nice enough for the outrageous price

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a queen size bed and it was really small and weird layout. We asked to change it so they gave us another room with queen size bed, slightly bigger but they charged more for this one. Also staff is not particularly friendly.

    Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.0
    Ripped off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At $900 a night I did not feel the hotel offered value for money. They wanted to charged for small things that for a $900 a night rate should have been included.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Considerable Relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing special. breakfast is high quality but if provide more choices would be the best.

    the very well considerable staff out my expectation. Help to sort my eletric wires and pull it off when it fully charged while I am visiting the city the whole day. Location excellent as well

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.3
    Not too pleasant. I will definitely not return to there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have been placed in a very small room that was below our expectations with regard to the price. The safe in the room was not usable due to wrong installation. It was also not completely attached to the floor/wall! When we have complained about the safe at the front desk, instead of immediately moving us to a different room, with the excuse that "there are no available rooms", the hotel has sent a technician to fix the safe! This was an unnecessary waste of valuable traveling time for us. Only when the technician concluded that the safe is not fixable, the hotel has reluctantly offered us a different room of the standard that we expected to find in the first place, referring to the price paid (which was available after all!). Charging extra payments for the pool and the fitness room is outrageous and misleading! The parking in this hotel is very expensive. The location, although central, has a major disadvantage, being very close to the problematic "Tenderloin" neighborhood.

    The hotel is modern and well equipped. The central location of the hotel is a positive factor. There is a nice view in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.4
    Money, money, money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They will charge you extra for anything, which when you consider it’s not a cheap hotel in the first place is a bit ridiculous. - $25 a day to use the pool. - $7 for a bottle of water from the mini-bar (water!!!) - the breakfast service for what was a pretty standard breakfast was $30 each. - early check in was $60 a room for the hour or two before it that we arrived. The location is great and the hotel is nice but they charge way over the odds for extras and for the rooms as well.

    It’s a nice looking hotel, it looks clean and very nice inside the lobby. The door staff were extremely nice as well. The bed was relatively comfortable too which was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel. Would definitely recommend to anybody.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really!

    We upgraded to Queen double room. Very comfortable and clean. Location is perfect for Union Square, transport, cafes and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in good location, but unfortunately charging extra for the pool
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Checkin took a bit of time, due to system issues. My premium Wifi was included in the rate, but initially charged at checkout. Was then taken out. 25 USD to use Gym and Pool in this price category is a bit of a rip off

    Modern room. Location next to Union square is very nice. Swimming pool is open from 6 pm, very spacious under a nice glass roof.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.7
    Underwhelming for price. Wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - room was smaller than expected even compared to other hotels in central San Francisco - was very expensive - everything costs extra - use of gym and pool, water in the room. They even charged us to take delivery of a letter - breakfast was underwhelming and expensive

    - location was great near all the shops at union square - parking was convenient but expensive at $50 a day - gym and pool area was very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location and amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Imperial Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows could be cleaner, tainted the amazing view a bit.

    Bed was super comfy, breakfast amazing and the staff second to none! Also amazing location right in the middle of union square, walk to everything!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Located on the center of union square, so was easy to get to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But the union square was not like a fancy area. It’s a bit old city. You might have not a proper place to eat around there if you’re a sensative young person.

    Located on the center of union square, so was easy to get to other places in san franciso. The staff at the front desk was so nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    All over pretty nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 rooms - 1 was really dusty (even after talking to the concierge twice they didn’t manage to vacuum..), staff at the reception had problems talking english (??). Additional charge for pool AND gym...

    Good location, comfortable beds, we were lucky and got a corner room on the 11th floor with 2 big windows overlooking the city! Nice bathrooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel with Great Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The room was beautiful and very clean. The staff was very welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel and will probably do so again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice and modern hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware of hidden charges! To be honest, I’ve already stayed in a lot of hotels but never experienced that you need to pay an extra fee if you want to use the gym and the spa! So I think with around 300€ per night, this hotel is just overpriced considering that this doesn’t include breakfast (an additional charge of approximately 35$ per person) as well as the gym and pool/spa (additional 25$ per room per stay).

    Rooms are really nice and very tastefully furnished! Rooms were very clean and the staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The check in guy was very nice as he put us on an imperial floor which meant the view from our room was just fantastic! Hotel interior is modern and clean. There are also good drinks at the Anzu Bar (the restaurant inside the hotel). The location of the hotel is excellent as it is on Mason Street at Union Square and just a 5 minute walk to Westfield Shopping Mall.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    Check in really was hard work and once checked I , we had to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in really was hard work and once checked I , we had to keep renewing access to our room! Unlike any other hotel I have ever stayed in, they demand money up front. I don’t mind that- but seemed a bit odd, seen as any other hotel gives you the bill at the end/ once we had paid they then continued to Chase is for the money! Very strange process.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel right in the centre of a bustling area. 100% would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds could have been bigger, other than that there wasn't an issue.

    The rooms look like they've been recently renovated to a very high standard. The pool and leisure facilities were excellent also, and for just 25$ for each person for you're entire stay it's very reasonably priced. The views from the room were beautiful & the overall decor was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    This hotel was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was fabulous! The location was within walking distance to everything that I needed to see. The staff was incredibly kind, helpful and friendly. Plus the on site restaurant was superb. I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    Corporate hotel, nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive, staff was polite but not friendly. The whole feeling of the hotel coming in from the marble reception is quite cold and corporate.

    Good sized room, nice bathroom with bath and shower, clean, central.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Really close to union square.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really close to union square. Feels safe neighbourhood. There are homeless people around but if you are not out very late no problem. Staff are amazing, very polite and helpful. Rooms are perfectly clean. The hotel is pet friendly if you need to.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    I I’ll definitely stay here again for my next visit to SF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uber are not allowed to pickup or drop off inside the hotel loading zone. Have to dragged the luggages in and out to the curb side, luckily the bell service give help.

    Good location, Starbucks, UPS store all inside the building. Hotel inside is comfortable and updated well and maintained. Definitely will come back again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    If I was a regular visitor to San Francisco this is where I’d stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Imperial Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING

    Japanese attention to detail. Extremely friendly and helpful staff from valet parking through to check in and bell service. There was nothing to fault.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Fair hotel, highly priced for the good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I paid for a King Deluxe size room, but it was the smallest room in the corner of the floor, all the other rooms were bigger. When I complained the stuff offered me to change the room, but i already spent half my stay and I expected that they offered the standard rate instead! I get the feeling that if you book on Booking.com with a discount, they are going to offer their worst rooms, so beware! The swimming pool is unattended, it is most of the time packed with kids violating all the rules as they run and dive all the time making it impossible to enjoy it and make a relaxing swim.

    Location is in the middletown of San Francisco, in an excellent location to reach all the shops/museums/theatre of SF. It is also near Powell Station, so it is easy to get either the train (Bart) to get to the airport, and the cable car to go to the Fisherman Wharf (although a long line is to be expected).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Imperial Club Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing really - it lived up to our expectations and we had a great time in the city

    The breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel gym was open 24/7 which was a good touch. The room that we had spacious and well appointed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    not sorth money and very expensive over rated restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    upgraded room wasnt much of zn upgrade really for 30 dollars extra per night plus taxes .found the room dirty on entry and on last day cleaner never came at all had to go to reception for clean towels and toiletries . wifi was crap for two days .

    location was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfort and great hospitality at its best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Imperial Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with hotel but the hotel is very close to tenderloin district and do come across a lot of homeless in the area.

    The little extra touches that the hotel put in place such as turn down of beds and chocolates and lavender bag left on pillows. Breakfast is a must if you stay here!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive.

    Great location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms nice and clean. Indoor pool was a bonus although we only used it once and was an extra $25.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    We had a lovely room, beds were really comfortable and view...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not modern as we expected and felt not appropriate for a 5* hotel.

    We had a lovely room, beds were really comfortable and view over the city was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Impressive Hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All Good

    Room service and food were excellent. Total comfort in my room included a wonderfully comfortable bed/pillows, black out curtains, wonderful bath & shower,The Hotel left nothing to be desired! Top Notch all the way! The gym was perfect and really A wonderful place to relax and workout, room A/C was the best in San Francisco, I am booked to return for 10 Days in Sept. I truly loved this Hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Great for shopping with excellent Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Imperial Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airflow in the bathroom could not be switched off. This led to a constant annoying sound during the night. The city view room was located to mason street and although we had a room at the 22nd level we just saw the Hilton on the other side of the street.

    Hotel is directly located in the city center which makes it great for shopping. Room was big and clean. Breakfast was excellent und the staff was super friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    A good option for central SFO - slightly soulless but generally friendly and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it is meant to be a 24 hour hotel no staff were around at 2am when I needed assistance at the business centre shower in the fitness centre men’s toilet didn’t work fitness centre facilities basic

    Rooms were very comfortable and well appointed restaurants were good Conierge very friendly and helpful good (though small) swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Clean and impressive looking hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff weren’t particularly on the ball and we had to ask a number of times for drinks compared to other people who sat around us who got continuous good service so unsure what we did wrong! Location is also fine but in a bit of a dodgy area I thought personally for the sheer elegance of the hotel.

    Very clean hotel with super comfy rooms and a nice views and friendly check in staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    3.3
    Most horrible experience that we ever had in a hotel! Not worth the money at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness should improve drastically! When we came the sheets in the room were dirty. Moreover, my father who was also staying at the hotel got bitten by Acari from the mattress and had many itchy bites all over him! Just terrible! The place needs to be fully renovated! Moreover, the area around the hotel is full of homeless people...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Very friendly and accommodating staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and accommodating staff! Check-in was a breeze and checking-out was even easier by just sending a text to the hotel! Was in a perfect location for shopping and room service was so good! Had an amazing stay here and definitely will stay here again in the future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    Very nice, but will try another hotel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Parking and Valet service - somewhat chaotic (limited space to pull up car), rushed, and takes too long to retrieve car 2) Bathroom design! Toilet is in a small "closet" - no fan - separate room from sink and shower/tub. Inconvenient layout for all.

    Location was great! Union Square, easy walk to Chinatown and even to North Beach. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    PERFECT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the check-in should be earlier than 15:00.

    There was a little mistake with the credit card and they added the imperial lounge and health club access at no extra cost. I really appreciate the treatment and solutions received by the hotel staff, specially Carin Leung that proved to be very understanding and efficient. Only kind words for the whole stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.The room was nicer than the pictures and the bed was divine! Would stay here again in a heart beat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    First time is SAN Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival were offered a room upgrade at USD 40 per night which we declined as already a top dollar hotel. Then found that was the room they had for us anyway - not a good feeling.

    Location close to Union square and transport options with good facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service excellent. Bed and bedroom very good and ample. Superb location and very helpful staff. We were also lucky to have gotten a good deal, so we were extremely satisfied

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Fancy hotel near Union Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is expensive and it was hard to understand that breakfast was not included in a fancy hotel like this. We did not really need the spa during our stay but also that would have been charged separately.

    The location near Union Square was very important for us. Cable cars and trams left just a couple of blocks away. The room was clean and the view was nice when returning after a week.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    We stayed one night for the San Francisco marathon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only concern was the price and the added cost of using the pool and health area if we wanted to. For the price of the stay, I would expect that access to the pool and health club would be included.

    We stayed one night for the San Francisco marathon. The room was extremely quiet, and the beds were very comfortable. It was close enough to everything in Union Square, but then not too far of a walk to the Embarcadero and the Ferry Building the morning of the race.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay but expensive and too many hidden charges (pool/bed etc).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected to pay $25 to use the pool and also paying for extra bed after moving rooms mid-stay. Booking.com we’re due to reimburse/compensate €25 for what I believe is s miss-selling of the room occupancy which I never received! Also the maid knocking to clean our room before 9.00am on checkout day when checkout should have been 11.00am.

    Nice clean rooms, good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, very clean and pool great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have a lot of homeless near the hotel walking around in gangs and did not feel safe. Also had someone jump on the hood of our car demanding money. Great hotel need but area quite seedie

    Great hotel, very clean and pool great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable hotel to stay in the center of the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lounge room on the 23rd floor is not in line with the standard of the hotel. The service and food need to be improved.

    The hotel room is very clean and comfortable. The location is excellent, walking distance to the shops and restaurants. The breakfast and service is great. The fitness certer on the 5th floor is a big plus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Hasta la vista
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gloomy lightings at the hotel lobby.

    If you are looking for a perfect location in downtown San Francisco then this hotel is for you plus the stafs are so accomodating. Special shout to Mr Jun Marquez and Micheal of the front desk office, you guys are owesome. More power

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice, Clean Hotel, courtious staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property sits in between an area of S.F. that I was told by the staff not to walk that way when leaving the hotel. I wish I would of known that. I was nervous to walk to dinner after dark.

    It was a beautiful property! Easy to get to. Room was small but had a nice view and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pricy valet parking in the hotel (USD 60,- / night), but you can park yourself (which I prefer) just across the street for a half price. If you want to be closer to the piers, choose another hotel.

    Fantastic amenity for the price. Great view of the city if you request a higher floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    A little bit expensive but good location and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional charge for using the pool and health suite. Seemed a bit much given the overall cost of the rooms.

    Room very pleasant, good size bathroom and plenty of toiletries restocked regularly. Staff all very helpful and friendly. Loved the free postcards and Buster! Water bottle refill station also very eco friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Staff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a bit sketchy. I didn’t feel unsafe, and it wouldn’t stop me from staying here again, but I made sure I was aware of my surroundings.

    Staff was amazing. I felt like a queen. Every single song age member gave exemplary service. Room and facilities were spotless. Definitely pay extra for the Imperial Suite- worth every penny.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Satisfactry for the price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free bottled water would be nice for the price. I wanted to relax with a warm bath, but did not as the tub was not clean enough for me.

    Good access to restaurants. Relatively quiet room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were excellent, special thanks to the concierge for all the recommendations, help and directions and huge thanks to the restaurant staff and chefs who accommodated all my allergies with consideration and understanding and served up fantastic tasty dishes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Hotel Nikko is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no complaints.

    My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Nikko. It’s beautiful and the rooms and amenities were wonderful. The staff was lovely, courteous and very helpful. We will definitely be staying again on our next trip to San Francisco.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Room was big and nicely renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Being downtown in the evening, careful to not wander too far out of this particular area.

    Room was big and nicely renovated. Comfortable beds. Nice lobby etc. Easy to catch the BART train from the airport. Staff for check in were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable and enjoyable short stay in San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The girl that checked me in was absolutely lovely. I love that they offer a stuffed animal dog "Buster" for purchase with some of proceeds going to a local animal shelter. As I recently signed up with iPrefer I got early check in (around 10:45 am) and free access to the pool/fitness center (didn't have a chance to use it) San Francisco was quite hot while we were there and the AC worked well. I also liked that you could text the hotel for requests while staying there and that you could just press a button to request your room to be made up.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms are tiny and clever photography used when showing what the rooms look like! Coffee making facilities located in the bathroom next to the sink and toilet ! You couldn’t swing a cat in that room and the bed is the smallest bed to date!

    Looks good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Above and beyond your standard city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t access the pool without paying extra.

    A stunning city hotel with beautiful decor. The staff here cannot do enough to help and the relaxing atmosphere in the bar area was perfect after a long day sightseeing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle Weak shower power

    Central location Fairly soundproof Amazing views Light and airy Comfortable beds Starbucks downstairs Beautiful relaxed reception Air con

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    City stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disliked the constant push for add ons, upgrades, buy a toy dog, 25$ to use the gym etc

    Amazing location and the queen room was lovely. Area is expensive in general so not something I can gripe about

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    It’s very central close to everything, it’s extremely clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay extra for the pool/gym, it’s a hidden cost

    It’s very central close to everything, it’s extremely clean and family friendly as it has multiple USB charging points, good size bathroom with lots of toiletries

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. Work out facility was great and so was the outdoor lounge area next to the workout area. Great alternative to the more expensive chain hotels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying extra for the pool was poor. We only managed to use it once but you are not sure when you book in and pay the 25 dollars. Too dear.

    Comfy beds and nice facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Great stay close to union square
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that one day the cleaning was not done. However housekeeping offered to come by when I returned and found the situation.

    The exercise facilities which included a pool and jacuzzi. But be aware flat fee 25$ charge for use of sport facilities. I loved the Japanese toilets which I had used on a trip to that country last year.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Decent hotel and high prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some traffic noise in the morning, but nothing serious. Basic Wi-Fi is free, but the small bottles of water in your room are not. You'll also have to pay extra if you want to use their gym or pool. Parking, breakfast, shuttle bus - all is available - for extra fees.

    Modern, clean hotel in good location. Very close to the main square and popular streets. Impressive lobby, helpful concierge, good size rooms, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    unfair high room rates without any good service. Not one free welcome bottle of water!
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym and swimming is not included. adtional cost of 25 Dollar/Person. No free bottle of water. The smell of the entrance was always smelling like baked cheese.

    Good location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Mediocre stay at what is supposed to be a very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel doesn't live up to the One Harmonu luxury chain. It's a very basic business hotel, and the staff do not provide the level of service of other Nikko hotels. The rooms are also very small.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay at a wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Imperial Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a crusty build up of dirt embedded in the lip of the drain cap and the bathtub. The bathroom and most of the tub itself was sparkling clean. I wouldn't have noticed if I hadn't closely inspected it while debating if I should soak or shower. I showered.

    Every staff member could pronounce my last name without asking me to say it for them first. The mood of the establishment is incredible. It is both formal and warmly welcoming. I felt at home and private (invisible) at the same time. Example, reading in the lobby on their surprisingly comfy blue sofas I felt as if I was almost completely alone. -and the view from the 22nd floor was extraordinary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in and check-out slow process. If you’re staying with kids, make sure they don’t open the chargeable items in the room, such as selfie stick.

    Great location. Really nice rooms. Nice staff. You can text hotel staff for assistance services.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Clean, well situated and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost to use health club. Some confusion at the front desk between valet and desk; front desk took our stub for the car, and upon check out no one knew why they did that and had to look for the car. Other than that it was fine.

    Clean and well situated, with a friendly staff and great concierge. One negative is you have to pay extra to work out, which seems ridiculous. Parking fee was lower than other hotels in the area. Clean and well appointed room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Room was extremely small very poor lighting position...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room very small not enough space for 3 suitcases.

    Room was extremely small very poor lighting position excellent lots of good restaurants in the vicinity

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Nikko San Francisco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: