Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel 3 stars

905 Royal Street, French Quarter (Vieux Carré), New Orleans, LA 70116, USA

#87 of 148 hotels in New Orleans

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 45 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Cottage vibe in the heart of the French quarter
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price quoted and accepted was a base price There are added charges- service /taxes that did not appear in the initial price

    The room was a small suite with kitchenette -semi private entrance that also included access to a courtyard. Cottage vibe , Very comfortable bed. Friendly staff - interesting street in the heart of french quarter in close proximity to many galleries- 1 block from bourbon St

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.4
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was confusion with the booking; firstly confirmed, cancelled, then re-confirmed. Apparently a computer glitch but worrying when you are travelling. Greeting on arrival was brief and impersonal. There is no staffed reception area. We were very surprised by the condition of the room, given the amount we had been paid. Carpets were thread bare, thin and wrinkled. Bathroom is tiny and very old. Kitchenette needs an upgrade to make it functional. Bed linen was old. Furniture in the room was old, fragile & stained. Room was dark and no natural light.

    Location was perfect as it was in easy walking distance from restaurants, bars, shops etc.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    We loved this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tiny, very clean but barely able to brush teeth or do your hair without bumping a wall with your elbows.

    Very clean, quiet, excellent location, adorable room. Staff was friendly, our room was always spotless. We can't speak highly enough of this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.4
    Beware of hidden charges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First, the hotel has no reception, front desk or common areas, to find the manager one must ring a bell and she appears from another building. This made it difficult to ask for directions or suggestions and worst of all, there is no place to leave the luggage if you are catching a late flight. She finally let us leave our bags on a small patio next to a room, but after we begged her. Second, when you do the search, the price listed is much lower than what it finally costs, they charge a hidden service charge of $25 per day......what for? I think it is to trick you, you only see it at the end of the transaction. It is easy to overlook it until too late and they have no free cancellation...of course. For that price you can find better accommodations.

    Location, location, location. Room was Ok, comfortable and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    4.6
    Never spent so much money on so little.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Vastly overpriced. The room is shabby and run-down. The bathroom is very small, all appliances rusty and stained. Dirty too when you look more closely. Nothing has been modernised or replaced for many decades. No shampoo or shower gel, just some cheap soap. No bottled water. Nobody available to ask about anything. No breakfast. Bedding is flimsy. No safe. In sum, I have never spent so much money on so little.

    Great location. Wifi. Bed was made and towels were replaced every day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Great historic place close to the action of the Quarter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was cozy - maybe a bit too cozy for two fully-grown adult men. The bathroom (sink, toilet, & shower) was always a bit of a waltz for us, but we laughed our way through it all. Free WiFi was a bit spotty at times - fine for messages on the phone/tablet, but wouldn't be up-to-speed for extensive business work or streaming entertainment.

    Great location (I think everyone brags on this). Just steps away from cafes, coffee shops, restaurants, shopping, Jackson square, tourist sites, and bars. Nice to have a little kitchenette for storing Bloody Mary supplies & snacks! Very well-managed & maintained - the staff is super friendly. The state of this historic building is amazing -like stepping back into history to see how other people lived/traveled.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.9
    Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lobby open. Only a buzzer for access to manager. However Manager very helpful when in contact with her.

    Kitchenette was a bonus. Ambiance was perfect for the feeling of a different era. Privacy of courtyard was a bonus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't aware that the hotel office closed at 10pm so when our flight was delayed going into New Orleans, it was a struggle making arrangements to get into our room. That should be made clear when purchasing the reservation.

    The location was perfect, we were able to walk everywhere except the airport. We sat on the balcony our last night and listened to the tours go by, the horse and buggy tours, ghost tours, etc. So much fun!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We absolutely loved staying at the 905 Royal Hotel. The location was perfect. I loved going to the backcourt to drink my coffee and relax. The staff was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    6.7
    Great location but old building and tired fittings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Permanent fabric such as curtains, lounge furniture and beadspreads were old and some decay happening. Bathroom very small, one person at a time only. Outside noise finished at 1 am.

    Location was great. One street south of Bourban St, far enough away from revellers. Bedsheets and towels were clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.9
    Great location for the Mardi Gras experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet only works at front of property. Rooms at back not so much. Small bathroom, could be fixed by not having door swing inside.

    The location was great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small but we didn't visit NOLA to stay in our room😎

    Excellent location and friendly proprietor. Was within walking distance of many activities and sights.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.6
    Stay here because it is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was PERFECT! The private patio in the back was used nightly as a private space away from the crowds, but where you could hear the jazz and people in the night air. Having a kitchen was extremely resourceful, and the room was comfortable and quaint. The staff and management was more than accommodating. We couldn't have asked for a better experience!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic traditional French Quarter budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The French Quarter is noisy, which is the major part of its appeal, but this room was extra noisy as a result of air conditioning units outside the window. I got used to it but it's probably quieter at the front.

    Very comfortable room. Very friendly staff. Great location. Fantastic porch on which to sit and watch the colourful French Quarter world go by. Great nearby cafes.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a lobby of some kind where you can speak with someone.

    Clean and comfortable...and location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    Eccentric micro-apartment in the heart of the FQ
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in my room, no cleaning supplies or microwave in the kitchen.

    Great location, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    would like to get this room again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    need a microwave

    i wanted to be close to Mardi Gras...i was very close

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    Good bed great location nice to have a kitchen and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good bed great location nice to have a kitchen and good shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Located in the middle of everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in the middle of everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are driving to New Orleans be sure to reserve the parking spot

    Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    You want to stay in the heart of the French Quarter, this is it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location, the mgmt. was charming and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    6.7
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed hard as rock. Few amenities. Didn't change our sheets at least two days in a row.

    Location, courtyard

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.1
    clean, comfortable and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i thought it would be more like a B&B with a common area lobby and kitchen area

    clean, comfortable and well located

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    7.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    9.6
    My new favorite hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat but that's not their fault

    The location and atmosphere. Great staff as well

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    10
    Room was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been nice to have a way to have cleaning bypassed on Sunday. I was at a race and they woke my friend. Not a huge problem, but all I could come up with.

    Room was very nice. Hot water in shower was wonderful. Loved the outside patio. It was like having an extra room.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    10
    The staff were wonderful and friendly, always stopping to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was nothing I did not like

    The staff were wonderful and friendly, always stopping to say hello when we were sitting on the balcony people watching. Our room was just as I expected and hoped, it was like stepping back in time.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    8.3
    Very central location with a verandah to sit on & watch...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathroom was tiny with no room to put your toiletries. As our room was situated at the back of the hotel the air-conditioning units were noisy at night.

    Very central location with a verandah to sit on & watch the passersby.Our friends had a problem with the toilet and that was attended to immediately.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    Location, ease of coming and going, and splendid service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Initial batch of coffee condiments were "petrified" (dried out), but subsequent packets were fresh. The coffee was excellent, and we could make it to our taste, so above nuisance was minor.

    Location, ease of coming and going, and splendid service.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    3.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1890's hotel with 1890 smell ,damp peeling wall paper .badly stained mattress, thread bare bed linens .The carpet was sticky. The cooker did not work.

    location

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    9.6
    905 Royal Hotel is perfectly situated in the French Quarter,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    905 Royal Hotel is perfectly situated in the French Quarter, just where you want to be for your visit to NOLA. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go, and we signed up for several tours at an office just a block away. It is spotlessly clean, quiet, private, and comfortable. You don't need a B&B - there is an excellent breakfast place right across the street, and another one about 2 blocks away. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    9.2
    Awesome location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wish we had a balcony but we're able to sit on the front porch and enjoyed it.

    Awesome location! 1 block away from fun but a quiet street. Private entrance was nice.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    7.9
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was awfully hard. Did not sleep well at all on any of the nights I was there. The room was a tight fit. But lots of wasted space in the kitchenette. Add a large mirror over the sink in the kitchen. Would be helpful when fixing hair and someone is in the shower. Floor length mirror in the long wall of the kitchen and a bench so there is more place to sit or use for suitcase. Also maybe remove the antique writing table. Maybe place a bench there. This room was so tiny moving around with 2 people was difficult. Everything was stacked or piled on floor. We stayed 3 nights and it was not too comfy. Also the option to not have room service. There was not a door card and no front desk to tell anyone. I would stay again but not in room #2.

    Location! Location in the heart of French QTR. Short Walking distance to the hot spots! Heating worked very well and so did the hot water.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    5.0
    Location was one block away from Bourbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was the size of a shoe box. Wifi didn't work. TV remote didn't work. Windows were drafty. Room shook everytime a truck drove by. Not sure what the additional $25/night charge is for since the same hairs found in the bathroom during check in was there when I checked out. When I said I didn't want housekeeping to come in, I was told that's not an option. Management could some hospitality and social skills training.

    Location was one block away from Bourbon. Right in the middle of everything.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    10
    Perfect location, very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location, very convenient. Atmospheric and comfortable rooms. Kitchen facilities were a nice perk. I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay here again. Thanks

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    8.8
    The hotel was in a great location on royal st - one street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel was in a great location on royal st - one street back from bourbon st and a 5 minute walk to the incredible jazz on Frenchmen st. Royal st itself had plenty of live jazz playing on the streets so you could easily be entertained for an afternoon simply walking down the street! Our room at the hotel was small but very quaint, and the bed was very comfortable. Staff provided fresh towels and cleaned the room every morning. The only complaint we would have for this hotel was the wifi - the reception cut in and out throughout our stay. Otherwise we would recommend this hotel to anyone for it's location and comfort!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.9
    Location, quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small bathroom, housekeeping moved my stuff around and didn't need to, musty smell outdoors

    Location, quiet

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    8.8
    Location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom door could have closed.

    Location was fantastic. Mattress was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    8.8
    location and privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it would have been nice to have a few cups. plates,etc. in the kitchen

    location and privacy

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    9.6
    Adorable old word feel, awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Adorable old word feel, awesome location

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    The front porch and location of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The front porch and location of hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    8.8
    Right in the heart of the French Quater.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The toilet was a little iffy but the owner took care of if right away.

    Right in the heart of the French Quater.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    The staff and management were truly there for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff and management were truly there for me. I can't wait to go back

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    6.7
    Proximity to all Hungary in the French quarter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No breakfasts

    Proximity to all Hungary in the French quarter. Housekeeper did a great job. Very small room

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    9.6
    Never heard or saw another guest.
    • Solo traveller

    Never heard or saw another guest. Privacy was awesome. Nice to have a kitchenette. The housekeeping service was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On room # 6. No time for TV, but , please, find a way to hang it upper, on the wall. Thanks.

    Excellent location. Feel the city life, day and night.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small bathroom. OK for us, but do not recommend for large person.

    Location. Room had everything you need!

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    7.5
    close to center
    • Business trip
    • Group

    smell of oil in all over the city

    close to center safety place clean room and bathroom nice and helpful stuff easy to reach the manager

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    7.9
    The location is excellent close to all of the sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom is small and parking is not the best

    The location is excellent close to all of the sites. Friendly staff, very cute for a getaway

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: