Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nob Hill Hotel 3 stars

835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109, USA

#166 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1839 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Ok stay... But pay just a bit more and get a really good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly, I expected much more. Rooms were tiny. Bathrooms as well. The receptionists were not too friendly nor helpful. The guy working dayshifts (although very hot) was barely talking. And we had to do everything around the bad storagging ourself. He just gave us the paper and without words mumbled "Mhm" when I would say thank you.

    Hotel had a charm of an old hotel. I like the elevator that was like from the 60´s. Oh and wine and cheese were free from 18:00 to 20:00! ;)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    They were friendly, rooms are cozy and furnished nice .
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small yet cozy but do go up in temp during the day,a ceiling fan added would be a nice addition to the rooms,but they do have a portable fan

    They were friendly, rooms are cozy and furnished nice . The price for SF was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    2.5
    Well I was there with my Bo and we were in the Garden Suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well I was there with my Bo and we were in the Garden Suite We went to sleep and woke up covered in bed bugs. I was attacked ! My body was covered in bites . Ruined this place for me . I immediately called to complain and they down graded me to a smaller Room. And to top it off there elevator was out of service and we had to walk 5 flights of stairs with all our luggage at 3:30 am !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Affordable, friendly staff offering useful advice, walkable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy, a little dated and public transport links were not very close.

    Affordable, friendly staff offering useful advice, walkable distance to fisherman’s wharf, booked at short notice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Upon arrival, the front desk associates were very polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The windows don't have screens so i would not recommend booking that room if small children will be attending 2. It's SUPER windy when the windows are open (string enough to knock our lamp down and break the bulb) 3. We needed to print our tickets for the comedy show and for whatever reason the printer they have in the lobby wouldn't work (if it had, the work station center would've been extremely convenient) 4. The elevator is cool and really retro but as a person that doesn't like modern elevators, it was scary being in one so old school. 5. Maybe we didn't know how to use it, but the phone also didn't work in the room

    Upon arrival, the front desk associates were very polite and professional. When we made it up to our room, the pictures online don't do it justice - the penthouse is amazing! You have just 1 neighbor and your own patio. In the room, there is so much natural sunlight and an immaculate view of the city. The jacuzzi tub is big enough for 2 to sit comfortably and the bed is even better lol the room is roomy, the bathroom is nice and the accommodations were perfect. The location is pretty good too, we walked to a Chinese food restaurant, Golden Kim Tar (highly recommended btw) after we checked in on Friday and stopped by Kara's cupcakes later in the evening. We walked to Miller's Deli for lunch on Saturday (also highly recommended!) Sunday we spent lazing about watching football since late checkout is at 1PM (which was great since we were out late at Lush Lounge - another super cool little spot we found after going to the Masonic for Hannibal Buress' comedy show). Overall it was just an amazing weekend, and the feel the property gives off is one of home.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.0
    Would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms smelled like pot and cigarette smoke. Other patrons by our room were loud for at least an hour, even after I called to complain. Staff was not very warm, and then upon leaving, since we used valet (we thought to make things easy)...we had to wait 30 minutes for our car. This is not service, and way too long to make customer's wait before leaving their hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.4
    Passable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny to the point of inciting claustrophobia, even more cluttered with unnecessary stuff like old useless chest of drawers and an ironing board too huge for the room, placed (together with an iron) directly on the floor (night bruises hazard), but at the same time no coffee set, fridge or strong box - which is bad because a comfortable street-facing fire escape is right outside your window, - no AC, no phone to call the reception, not even a chair or a table (not that there was some space to place them), spots of paint of different color on the walls. Rather comfortable bed (not big), which was the only good thing about this room. NOT VERY CLEAN! Had to wash down a handful of someone's hair down the drain in the shower cabin (yuck((( Bedding and towels, thankfully, felt clean, but had some old stains of suspicious nature on them. Also, the housekeeping left an envelope gently asking for tips EVERY day during my stay (I am sure they do so even when the guests stay for a whole week), which kind of forced me to prepare some smaller bills and moneys every night just because I was scared to find my room totally covered with hair and my towels covered with more stains if I had not left something.

    This hotel is OK for the price (well, I personally don't think so, but weekend hotel price statistics does), even though the standard double room I lived in was nowhere near 3* standards (and I travel around the world a lot and use mostly 3*). On the positive note, the reception staff was nice and the lobby quite atmospheric. Also, it was quiet at night (big thanks for that, as I had a difficult trip). So I guess I will still give this hotel decent points, it's just that in my opinion they should not have rate themselves as 3*, or rather they should have put 0*, on booking. com.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    Quirky and romantic spot if you get the rooftop penthouse; great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No room service, bellman or pay-per-view movies. The woman who checked us in was curt and unfriendly. She did not recommend the Italian restaurant next door which we found to be delightful. The wine and cheese reception needs help also. Screw top wine and no crackers? A small amount of effort could make the difference between good and great..

    Valet parking. The Penthouse suite has a private patio, whirlpool tub and comfortable bed. Double sink in the bathroom and shower for two. Very nice bathroom. Let us leave our luggage early while we went to a Giants game.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Good location fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy (walls are thin). Room smaller than it looks like on the pictures. No breakfast.

    Location is perfect. Good value for money when compared to the hotels around. Rooms are small but clean. Shower was nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    A clean quaint hotel with a bed a breakfast feel located in a clean safe area near shops etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and the sheets and towels were new. The bath was updated. The TV had a lot of channels. The location was conveniently located within walking distance to shops and transportation. There was valet parking. An on site restaurant offered lunch and dinner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Staff were excellent as well as the location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dated..booking.com needs to update their website as it included breakfast and they haven't had breakfast for over 12 months.

    Staff were excellent as well as the location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    Overall our stay was fine except for some issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and had no place to put your toiletries.and the hotel had a distinct smell even in the room with no air conditioning. We stayed for four days and our room didn’t get cleaned for two of the days. The elevator was not functioning for one day but the gentleman at the desk did bring our luggage down from the fourth floor. Most of the staff were very courteous and helpful but some not so much.

    The room was small but quaint. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    No breakfast was disappointing, decor dated but the the room was very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor of the room was tired and needs overhaul, stain on carpet by the door and wallpaper peeled in places. Noisy plumbing of adjacent room meant being woken up early every day.

    Comfortable bed and location was quiet. Room was cleaned every day and had all appliances required, even fridge and microwave.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff really made our stay. They were extremely helpful and obliging - calling taxis, giving directions and advice and just generally making every effort to ensure we were comfortable. I inadvertently left my rings on the bedside table when we changed rooms and these were handed into reception who put them in safekeeping. I was very relieved as they are of enormous sentimental value to me.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Very very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am from the country where it is very quiet at night. The city is too loud for me at night but its not the hotels fault.

    We loved the style of the hotel and rooms. Reminded us of a chateau we stay at in New Orleans

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.2
    Disgruntled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was nothing like the photos on booking.com We bought with breakfast included to find out that this had been withdrawn and no refund offered and the hotel said this was a problem between booking.com and us Altogether a disappointing couple of days

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.2
    If I could have changed hotel I would have
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very old and run down. Paint and wallpaper peeling off the walls. The room was so small that I could hardly walk around the bed. It was hour and stuffy. Location is more really Nob Hill, more Tendaloin. The lift was from the 1800's hard to use.

    I didn't like anything about this property. The Italian cafe next door is great?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Bed was comfy, bathroom was super nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was the smallest room, ever. Kind of dingy furnishings in our room, but we did stay in their cheapest room, so maybe that is why we had the littlest room.

    Bed was comfy, bathroom was super nice. Location was amazing to so much!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.5
    Not bad 4 price but very basic hotel and no ectra space to move aroubd in no closet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Room nearly had 1 foot around each side no closet no chair no desk or table and no thermostat so hot during day and cold at night bathroom was nice but the street noise was horrible if the windows were open u had 2 turn the tv on hi to. Hear it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    If you are looking for a bargain and location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition and with just the fan it was not enough at night. If I was staying more than a few nights I would have felt way to cramped in the room, we we're living out of our suitcases because there was just not enough room. The clerk who checked us in was horrible, she checked us into a room that was being cleaned, then a room that was being cleaned and still had a guest occupying the room, till we finally received a room that was unoccupied.

    Location is perfect for walking just about anywhere and when it's not a quick Lyft/Uber is available. The lobby was clean and had water and coffee out throughout the day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.8
    Not recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Negatives Disgusting dirty foul smelling room carpet Chipped flaking wall paint throughout Flea market furniture Fleas or bed bugs or something causing skin irritation No climate control except operable windows Miserable antiquated elevator Exercise room, all equipment inoperable Few electrical outlets to accommodate convenient device charging

    Positive Bathroom plumbing functioned

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the penthouse. It was very tired and grubby looking. Couldn’t get a soft drink to buy there and no breakfast as booked. Very disappointed

    Staff were ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.0
    It looked amazing in the website pictures, unfortunately, it was not. I would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was very limited and down a hill. The alternative parking was a ways down the hill and very small. The location of the hotel was not the most ideal, there were several homeless people around and call girls at the corner as we walked to the other parking. The entry to the hotel was much smaller than pictured. The elevator was hard to get into and the stairs were narrow. The room was a lot smaller than pictured in the website. It faced the busy street and the hospital. It was busy and noisy with an ambulance going by every so often. I was afraid to step on the carpet, it didn’t appear clean. The bathroom was tiny and the shower door did not seal. We decided to stay only one night instead of two, my husband didn’t feel safe nor comfortable.

    The entry area was small but nice. The room looked clean, the bathroom looked clean, the bedding looked clean. There was a coffee maker, a microwave, and a small frig. The reception was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Fun, funky boutique hotel at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fun, funky boutique hotel at a good price. A taste of Old San Francisco. Updated bathroom with a great shower. Bathroom sink was in the bedroom! A mix of old and new. Cool decor with fun curtain ties. New windows. Good coffee shops nearby. Small market around the corner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Great Value Hotel in a Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...everything was perfect.

    This hotel is spotlessly clean. We stayed in a lovely large Queen Bedded Room. Wifi excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. Great location and value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    3.3
    Awful experience! This hotel is not at all like the website showed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa was filthy. The screen on the door was broken. The brass toilet paper holder was RUSTED. The bathroom mirror was chipped. The wall in the bathroom had water damage. The bedroom was tiny. None of the furniture shown on the website was in this suite! It was minimalistic and sparse. Scratches, scuffs, and chips in the paint. Noise from the elevator on the other side of the wall kept us up all night long. The sofa was filthy and disgusting. The cover to the fire extinguisher was broken. Upon arrival the staff was cold and contradicted what staff had told me the day before on the phone. Overall it was an unpleasant experience that was supposed to be a sweet and romantic get away. NEVER again!!

    NOTHING! We aren't even staying for breakfast because it is so awful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was close to alot of people smoking crack and crazy people and my room said it had a fan in it that fan didn't work very well at all they need better fans

    The staff was nice and the Beed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.0
    Grim and depressing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly the hotel lobby etc is nothing like any pictures you may have seen,its very dark, tired and dated.The pictures also lead you to believe complimentary breakfast is offered, sadly not,only grim lukewarm coffee.We had one of the penthouse rooms on the roof terrace so can't comment on the furnishings in the other rooms however ours certainly weren't authentic victorian!Also what really annoys me about hotels is when bulbs dont work in lights,ours had 8 missing out of 14,housekeeping should check this. I reported this to front desk who were clearly not interested. We booked and paid for 4 nights but left after 2 The hotel needs lots of money spending to restore its former glory

    Comfy bed,that's about all!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Wine at 6pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Victorian Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    according to the website, the suite we booked had a sofa bed, which we wanted to use. On arrival this was not the case, though we were given a room with 2 beds as a replacement. Key didn't open door, so we spent a lot of time running up and down to reception.

    Wine at 6pm... lovely touch Old school hotel feeling and decor. Great beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.6
    The wine and cheese during happy hour was a nice touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bed, small room, very noisy early in the mornings. Staff on the whole ok but not helpful at all at check in. Room also very hot, reception supplied a fan when we asked.

    The wine and cheese during happy hour was a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a weird smell in the whole place. Also the power was going on and off all the time like we were in a haunted place. Beds were making too much noise.

    The location was good. Bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Shabby but not chic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was shabby with lots of unfinished bits all over the place. Breakfast included was a coffee pot in the lobby. The garden suite garden was 2 square metres with a 6 foot wooden fence around it.

    Handy for Union Square and most ameties.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel with great staff. Nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was ' breakfast included ' in the booking but when we arrived we were told they don't do breakfast any more. This was a main consideration for booking so we were very disappointed, and no alternative was offered. No laundry service either.

    The staff were great and the decor was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    I’d spend a little extra to stay in a different place with better accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, had an outdated feel to it, storage was minimal, thank heavens I only brought a backpack and went alone because it would’ve been chaos for two people. Shower door would not stay closed and it was located in front of toilet. Vintage elevator motor noise was heard all night. No AC. Bed was creaky.

    I liked the location and the price. The hotel was cute and quaint; very 1900’s feel to it. If I had a thing for ghost hunting this is the place I’d bring my equipment to. Staff was courteous, great location, plenty of parking garages around, walking distance to many eateries and venues. No bedbugs, thank heavens.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall good
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was noisy from the street and there wasn't really a good place to hang clothes The larger room Was really good and quiet.

    The staff were helpful and lovely. I would return to and recommend this hotel to others

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    It's a very old hotel, they need to paint all their...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very old hotel, they need to paint all their facilities, the elevator improve it, the bathroom (shower) clean it deeply, put pieces that are missing in the shower and sink. They don't have kitchen service, they don't have breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Whacky place with everything you need except breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    An hotel of character! Just the sort of place we love, not a poncy 3* with annoying music in the lobby and leaflets trying to sell you stuff. Great ambience esp. the lobby. The lift is straight out of Hollywood 1930.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    All in all is was decent, but we probably wont stay a second time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were well used. I realize that this is an older hotel, but I wasn't too excited to see the indentations of where other people had slept in past w\years since the mattress was so old.

    Quiet atmosphere for being a smaller hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Nobhill hotel is a historical hotel, so it's kind old,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nobhill hotel is a historical hotel, so it's kind old, vintage and mechanical, but it's fun to stay if you are explore the since it's located in the heart of san francisco. the staff are very friendly. If you are trying to see a vintage and historical side of SF Nobhill can be a great choice, by the way use the elevator in the hotel it's vintage and fun!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    Reasonable base for stay - slightly ot of key areas but overall Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    slightly odd configeration of room ; Hotel is "tired" & needs attention. No breakfast (due to change of ownership of adjacent restaurant)

    Comfy beds -

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    It grows on you !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet had 2 large iron shaped burns in it. Not a great first impression. The sink was loose from the wall. The curtains and furniture a bit tatty.

    The bed was comfortable. The staff were helpful . The location was good. The attached restaurant did excellent food. Coffee in the lobby was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    In SF its a good option, not in the center of the tenderloin so area is not bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    few services, looks a little bit old scool hotel. gym is quite terrible.

    big bed, nice located, easy to check in and out, fast wifi and has a fridge and a microwave, so its cool enough

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value hotel (if booked early) with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite booking saying breakfast included , the hotel did not provide breakfast at all. Difficult to cool room as fan provided just recirculated warm air and window would only open a couple of centimetres.

    Room small but comfy. Bathroom new. Staff helpful . Wine and cheese offered as complimentary at 5.30 a massive plus...lovely and relatively unique touch. Old building with character.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    3.3
    It was the worst of my experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were lumpy and sagged in the middle creating a backache. No air conditioning so we opened a window and the screen didn't fit it. They were in the process of updating the bathroom but it was unfinished. Where the roll for the toilet paper was supposed to be was two prongs sticking out of the wall on which I cut my arm which oozed blood for 2 days. Thank Nob Hill's stars I am not the litigious sort. There was no dresser. Only one chair and very hard. Their website hasn't been updated for 5 years since it says free breakfast and the day clerk said they haven't had that for 5 years. Th room was the smallest thing I have ever been in. The elevator was obsolete. First you open a door, then slide the iron grill back, enter, close the iron grill (which you've had to hold open) then hit your floor. No help from the staff with this monstrosity. Now the thing that pissed me off the most. I paid $50.00 a day to park my car. No complaint there; however, some s.o.b. lowlife stole my handicap parking permit out of my car. I still had a week to go in CA and I desperately needed that. I booked 3 rooms in that hotel for 3 days. We left after 2 days because it was so bad. I have travelled in 46 of the 50 states, to England, the Bahamas, the Turks and Caicos Islands, Puerto Rico and 3 provinces in Canada, and never have I experienced as bad a hotel as this one was. How it earned its 3 star rating is beyond my comprehension.

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel couldn't find my booking - apparently, the staff had messed up the details. Luckily, they had a spare room. The room was ok, but I didn't like the bed, and the window didn't close fully. There is no breakfast, and you need to walk quite a bit (up and down the hills) to get to some nice diners.

    Nice design. Free wine and cheese in the evenings, free coffee and tea all day. A lot of grocery stores nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.2
    Much less than I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    An OLD hotel that needed a lot of care. Room was VERY small. Water pressure terrible. No air conditioning (a fan was provided). Bed took up more than half of the room. Floor was like walking on fly paper. As a jump off place to visit the city of San Francisco, it was okay. As for comfort and quality, it left a lot to be desired. Not worth the nearly $1500 I spent for the week. I would not stay there again.

    The staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    A formerly nice hotel that has gone downhill
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was given the smallest room in the hotel despite booking a standard queen. I could tell that the woman at the desk figured she could get away with down grading me

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Adventure in San Fran
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is about three or four blocks from the cable car or bus line that takes you to the waterfront. The neighborhood is not the greatest or most comfortable for walking around after Dark.

    We love the character of the property. We were in the penthouse suite and it was so cozy! We loved the jacuzzi tub! While most of the front desk staff did not talk very much. They were very friendly. Our housekeeper was amazing! On our last day as we were leaving she wished us well and was very sweet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, decent room and welcoming enough hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It seems a tad expensive for what it is, but I think that's just SF rates

    Great location, decent rooms and while a bit dated, kind of comes across as kitschy thanks to it being kept clean. Perfect for a short stay in SF.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    Great staff, the feel of traditional old San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website indicated they had complementary breakfast none available and we were not compensated.Coffee was not always available. Mirror light was not operational, shower handle keep falling off. Room 406

    Wonderful Staff and nostalgic venue! Local is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.6
    quite dissapointed with booking.com and the hotel both
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no breakfast in spite of paying for the same through booking.com, the room was completely different than what is shown in booking.com, the upgrade i had to spend more adn even than the room was very smelly, like not used and not cleaned.

    the hotel was okay, wifi was okay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    An eye opening experience of a city that could be too liberal for its own good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same of the staff were friendly (ish) others made you feel like you were an inconvenience. Asking them to order a taxi became a mission. If you leave the hotel to the left up Hyde it leads you to the beautiful bay, but go right out of the hotel and you are hit with the gauntlet of homelessness and open drug use on the street, groups of 6-8 people sharing needles and passing out or having fit. No one talks about this side of San Francisco but it’s what is happening behind the Instagram photos

    Very clean, had a bit of character about it, pent house had jacuzzi in which was needed after all the walking or cycling you could do

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Very good atmosphere but needs attention to detail,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wardrobe or even a hook behind the door to hang any clothes.

    Friendly staff and atmosphere. The wine and cheese were a pleasant addition to each day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    They provided wine and cheese around 5:30pm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no business center. The hotel charge $.5 for 1 copy of print. If you want to print out something, you should send the document to the front. Sometime, you should consider privacy issue. When I booked the hotel, the breakfast is included, but there is no breakfast.

    They provided wine and cheese around 5:30pm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    2.9
    This is a decrepit old, structure w poor service, safety issues and likely black mold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. BLACK MOLD is growing on ceiling of room 204... suspect many of the other (obviously empty) rooms have same problem. Desk manager said they can’t fix this quickly ... though they painted over A bit the next day but would lower my rate because of this, while other desk managers deny this’s offer. I have the original photos showing this. 2. Room not ready when promised, and no advertised breakfast was available. INCONVENIENT 2. Inroom phone did not work so I couldn’t call front desk and also missed SEVERAL key business calls I was in town to act upon. NOT OK 3. Elevator was decrepit, last posted inspection 2016 and for several days did not align with the floors it served. Sprung closed on people trying to enter. NOT SAFE 4. Room had no heat, nor air conditioning. On cold, rainy days had to seek out staff for space heater 5. Sheets were old, worn, and made of such poor quality you are in a sweat by morning. 6. Front desk staff know NOTHING about area and did not advise about some really nice places nearby. 7. Room rate on room door states $4,000.00/ night!!!! On what planet ????

    The complimentary breakfast was terminated for no reason and the adjacent restaurant has nothing to do with this decaying relic of a hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Romantic getaway with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I meant to book for two nights but the dates on the website wouldn't allow me to change. Glad we got the one night here!

    They gave us a free upgrade to a pent house with spa jacuzzi on the 6th floor and roof top garden entrance. Very friendly staff, wine happy hour and lovely rooftop garden. Little gem in San Francisco

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    Good deal for the price, especially for short stays. Parking is an issue.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is very old so you have to accept very narrow squeaky stairs etc and rooms are very small. No heat or air in the rooms. The windows do open but they are also drafty. It is very noisy. You can hear the people in the rooms next door and of course all the city noise outside. I was there on a Sunday and found a parking place on the street. I was leaving at 7am the next morning and the girl at the desk ask which side of the street I was on when I told her she said OK no problem. WRONG!! Street cleaners between 6and 8am. I got a very expensive ticket that could have been prevented if she had told me to move my car. Their valet would have been cheaper!!

    Very nice linens, comfortable bed, toiletries, and the extras of wine and cheese and breakfast are a plus. TV was great with lots of channels. Also appreciated the free Wi-Fi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    Free complementary breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was somewhat small but still fine for two persons

    Free complementary breakfast Free wine and cheese in the evening Bathroom was remodeled and clean The elevator and old charm of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.8
    The hotel was clean and smelt very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel mentions that parking is available on booking.com BUT forgets to mention that it’s valet parking for which guests have to pay $45 a night. It’s very misleading. Very disappointing.

    The hotel was clean and smelt very nice. Breakfast cereal, muffins and youghurt were delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.3
    Old world charm in a great location, fine for a couple of nights if you’re not trying to impress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All lights in the room flickered. Door card key lock was very touchy. We both needed to be trained and practice to get in (Hotel did immediately offer to change our room but we declined).

    Great location. Nice cold buffet breakfast. Charming lobby, circular staircase, old fashioned elevator.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    Great for the money super clean except the carpets are dirty tho
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the place is very very dated on purpose to keep it consistent with the look there going for

    The location is not to bad ure pretty close to union square. But your border line tenderloin

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.0
    no heating in the room, staff gave me a plug-in heater that...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    no heating in the room, staff gave me a plug-in heater that didn't work well and I was cold most of my trip. Not good at all, especially when I was staying there for 14 days!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.0
    Good location, comfortable enough but a bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good value for money. Worn out. The sink was blocked and could not be fixed. The carpet has many stains. The room has no heating. The shower pressure is low. The room is looking a bit old.

    The bed was soft. The complimentary breakfast eases the value for money dissapointment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    3.3
    A terrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing like the photos. We got a room that was old, smelly, had mold in the bathroom, water wasn’t draining properly in the sink and shower, etc. We booked for a few nights, but left the next morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Great location, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, close to everything. Room is small but clean, with big windows. Our flight arrived very early and they let us check in at 7am for a very small fee!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    I found the hotel #1 secure #2 clean and #3 quiet #4 the staff very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was ok for me but I imagine some might think it too soft

    I love historic buildings. Not everything in hotel is ‘state of the art’ but that’s fine with me!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.0
    Paid extra to have a whirlpool tub and it was a waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was horrid. They have the lights on a motion activator that you have to reactivate every 5 minutes and they put it right next to the door which is actually very far away from the shower. It was a nightmare...

    It was quiet and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Home away from home.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet service was very slow. Called an hr ahead to have the car ready by checkout didn’t receive the car until 1 pm

    The room was very cozy, felt like home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.0
    Worse than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Victorian Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is a disappointment. The baked stuff is disgusting and almost everything is sweet. How about plain yogurt and more healthy alternatives in general? When we moved in there was some renovation going on in the room just above us. The noise was unbearable.

    The hot tub is a room is why I booked this hotel. It was hot and it was a tub.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    We got upgraded to the Penthouse and it was awesome. Staff were friendly and accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was wonderful! We got upgraded to the Penthouse and it was awesome. Staff were friendly and accommodating gave us great suggestions. Beds were so comfy. Our wall heater didn't work so they brought up a heater right away. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel for a little getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was a little rude when we asked if they had any desserts. First time we asked had none then my partner went down to ask again and then they did have chocolate cake. We wanted to go but felt uncomfortable after.

    Overall very good for last minute booking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Exactly what we were looking for. Will stay here again! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was comfortable, bathroom was a good size. I liked the décor n the lobby and the staff was so friendly. I dealt with three different employees and each of them were wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    A good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a pretty noisy property, clanging pipes, etc. The person in the room above me was so noisy during the night (3 am) that it woke me up both nights of my stay. The bed was acceptable, but would not say super comfy. Linens were excellent. No heat, so the bathroom was exceptionally cold as SF was experiencing a major cold bast.

    They offered a breakfast, but it didn't open until 7 and I leave for work at 6:30, so that's a downside. There is wine & cheese offered in the evening @ 5:30.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.8
    A hotel that could be very interesting but it needs someone to love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Passive woman at the desk at check in. Room had broken light fixture- not the bulb but the actual glass in the ceiling light. Walls were repaired with paint that did not match the wall color. Room looked out onto roof. Breakfast was minimal- mostly carbohydrates.

    Very helpful gentleman at the desk at check out. Bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Great location for exploring all parts os the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room coffee maker didn’t work, but not a problem because there was coffee in the lobby and I forgot to mention it to the front desk!

    Location was perfect, hotel charming, room cozy. Loved afternoon wine and generous continental breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Nob Hill Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: