Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel North Beach 2 stars

935 Kearny Street, Chinatown, San Francisco, CA 94133, USA

Review score

Based on 1022 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Very nice staying
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Corridors are sooo long, so when you are at the end - there will be a long long way to the bathroom ;)

    Hotel is clean, cleaning every day (except weekends), no air conditioning but to be honest - I like it. In SF can be cold and windy so cold temperatures in rooms is not a good idea. Bathrooms were clean and no queues. Microwaves, small tv and sinks in rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    Hotel North Beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom / toilet. The lock didn't work, three times somebody walked in on me. Very drab, dark, tattered and worn interior, needs decorating and refurbishing. The carpet was threadbare, window looked onto other windows, who could probably see you. Wouldn't stay there with my girlfriend. Decided to sleep on top of the bed.

    Excellent location, many good restaurants nearby. Exceptional Chinese food just around the corner. Staff very helpful, especially Jenny, very pretty Asian lady. Ok for solo person, maybe one or two nights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    I liked the vintage feel of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    One way streets. Streets that end and become another name. Heavy traffic. No parking

    I liked the vintage feel of the hotel. the bathrooms and rooms were clean. Good flat screen tv. Lots of places to eat and things to see locally. The clerks were very helpful with directions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Great stuff, clean room, but noisy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location isn't good( It's the area where you can meet a lot of homeless people. They're a quite calm, but very noisy (at night too). But if you sleep as soundly as me, it isn't a problem.

    Actually, the hotel is good, and the stuff is the best. These guys are very pleasant and can help you with everything. Thank you! The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Good value for this price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    San Francisco is very attractive. I had a great time. The hop on/off is very recommendable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chinese receptionist, in her 40s, was not very polite, the rest of the staff was Ok.

    Right in the middle of Chinatown, very good location, good value for the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Nice staff. Clean rooms and clean shared bathrooms. It was our third stat. You won't find any other hotel in that price range in SF.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    The location, the value, the airport shuttle not expensive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nobody clean our room for 2 days. It was cold in the hallway. And it was a bit noisy because we were on the street side.

    The location, the value, the airport shuttle not expensive at all..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    I did not realize that there was a communal bathroom with no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not realize that there was a communal bathroom with no soap, that was a little unsettling, considering I didn't bring any. Not much privacy without your own bathroom. Rooms are super small, more like a dorm room feeling than a hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Great cheap location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms where very small and bed was pretty average but if your looking for somewhere cheap close to everything this is a good spot.

    Great location, nice staff, great price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.3
    Wouldn't come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change rooms because it was extremely hot The staff was very rude in the night period The room was not comfortable

    The location is very good It's near a lot of restaurants You can walk to the pier

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Close to a lot of interesting places and restaurants, most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small, will be good if windows have screens so the flying insects would not enter through the window.

    Close to a lot of interesting places and restaurants, most are walking distance, quiet and clean, good and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location, great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very loud construction right outside our window that started at 7am EVERY day we were there. Would've just liked to have had a heads up of this

    Very affordable, great location. Loved the bathrooms that they weren't stalls and you had the whole bathroom to yourself

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Everything was very OK. The personal was very polite. This hotel is located in a very good and central palce. I will go to this hotel next year also. I can recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    4.6
    The cheapest option in San Francisco...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lady on the reception was rude, the shared bathrooms were horrible (the whole floor uses 4 toilets), the elevator did not work and we also had some problems with our cards to open our room. It was quite hot, so we opened the window at night but there was no net on the window so we could not sleep all night because of the mosquitos and the noise. If you can afford to spend more on accomodation do not choose this hotel (parking was also extremely expensive).

    The location was good, we could walk to Pier 39 and Union Square. Chinatown was right around the corner. There was a refrigerator in the room plus free toiletries.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location. A good place to stay for a few nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smell in the room. It seems cleaning personnel uses some sort of reeky, bad smelling cleaning agent to clear rooms.

    Location, location, location was great! I got a quiet room as requested. Very safe place. I would stay there again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Last stop on a two month car journey which included the 2017 eclipse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was small but had all the facilities we needed and was comfortable. It was cleaned every day. It was quiet. The bathrooms were clean. Internet was good. The area is great for eating and transport and felt safe at night. The 24 hour cafe on the corner was good for breakfast. A taxi was called for us when we left. It was value for money for the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.8
    Very cheap for the area, walking distance to the BART, so...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bars right outside my window and very high traffic street so I hear everything outside, and the walls are thin so I hear everything next doors and upstairs. No curtains, just blinds, which do not block out flashing lights from cars.

    Very cheap for the area, walking distance to the BART, so many great restaurants and bars (a bit too close to noisy ones). Has all the basics to just sleep (good if you spend most of your time outside).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    3.8
    Go at your own risk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place is awfully dirty. None takes care of the restrooms (lots of mold in the bathrooms). It seems like a residence for homeless people.

    somewhat near the city center. Lots of bars just around the corner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay for a few days in San Fran. but it's not the Dorchester!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very convenient location for getting to Bart and main sight seeing attractions either by walking or public transport. Plenty of choice of eateries from Italian, Chinese and American. Room spacious comparable to some 'cupboards' I've stayed in. Efficient book in and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping can be improved. Always replace toiletries Some of the staff could have been friendlier Bathrooms should have more maintenance since it is shared

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.3
    Hostel. Not worth it by a long shot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathrooms. Only one working for entire floor. Staff not particularly friendly or helpful. Run like a boarding hostel. Mostly long term residents. Rules. Rules and rules. Hot hot rooms in summer. Windows open means mosquitoes. Lots of mosquitoes. Not value for money.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.4
    Cheap, and clean linen. Though the carpet was damp, the bed bugs and misquitos were bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No fly screens so I was bitten by mosquitos the first night. The second night I was also bitten, and found two bed bugs in the morning. Spent the remaining nights covered in DEET repellant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.3
    A normal place to stay, everything ok but a little overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room has been made just once in our three night stay, the common bathrooms were not always clean, and in general the hotel seemed a little overpriced as many hotels in United States comparing with the cost/service they give, 200$ for three days with shared bathroom is a little too much in my opinion

    The room was very big, we had an extra bed even if we were just in two. The room was pretty clean and ordered

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    2.9
    unsafe and uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful staff, dirty, unsafe, no air con/fans when it was the hottest weather San Francisco had on record when I stayed. When I asked reception if they had a fan the woman looked confused as if to wonder why I'd ask such a question. Windows do not lock properly and not safe to lea e them open at any point of the day with an open courtyard right outside. Strange characters who 'live' at the hotel wondering around without shoes on. Shared bathroom was disgusting and not kept clean at all even first thing in the morning. The room and building had an odd smell to it. Would never stay again, it made the start of my trip to the west usa an awful experience. Pay more money for ANYWHERE else,just don't stay here!

    Only good thing was location close to China town/ union square and the Bart station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    4.6
    Bad but ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restrooms without soap = unhygienic!! Muggy corridors with the smell of marijuana. Hot rooms, open window resulting in lot of mosquitoes. Also bedbugs, not sure. Minimum service minded staff breathing "come, pay, go"

    Fresh towels each day. Luggage storage. Many restrooms and showers (however not very fresh lacking soap).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    the location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel definitely had a 'sketchy' feel to it (corridors are quite dark, rooms are very small and run down looking). As a solo traveller I did consider trying to book into a nearby hotel, but the prices were eye-wateringly high so I decided to stay put, and ended up enjoying the rest of my stay.

    the location was perfect. The fridge, microwave and wash basin in the room were all much appreciated. Room was a good temperature given the hot weather, and there was no problem with noise etc. On the whole I enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.4
    The room size was quite good and the hotel location is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since our room faced the street, it was way too noisy at night making it quite difficult for us to sleep. Bathrooms were not very clean too

    The room size was quite good and the hotel location is very close to both public bus and good restaurants. Staff at reception has very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    North Beach Hotel catered for my needs and because of the low cost, enabled me to extend my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, no air conditioning.Bed sloped.

    Staff very helpful. Close to attractions. Single room had fridge and microwave. Hotel clean and value for money considering San Francisco is expensive

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    The location is not worth the bug bites, noise or heat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bugs are real. You only need to see the dead mosquitoes on the wall to realize what you're in for. Unfortunately we were in San Francisco during the record-breaking heatwave, and had no choice but leave our windows up (and even that was barely cooler than closed). Feasted by mosquitoes and woken up in the middle of the night by street noise (this is worse during the weekend); I can't say that we got much sleep during the stay. I've stayed in places in SE Asia for $6 a night and even at that price, the room had a fan and a mosquito net. If this is what counts for 2 stars and ten times the price in SF, then I highly suggest staying outside the city or paying a bit more for a proper hotel.

    Very accessible location. No issues with staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    loaction

    it is basic to crash.location is great, around some good restaurant. price is quite unbeatable. it is more like a hostle, so don't expect too much .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    Convenient location and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooling in room. Only one bathroom and shower per floor. Hallways and lifts smelt.

    Easy walking distance to restaurants, tourist attractions. Staff were friendly. Not too far from airport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    This hotel is super cheap and is in an awesome location for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real complaints here, just be aware this is a perfect example of 'you get what you pay for'. It's a shared bathroom, so you need to be prepared for other guests to have left it dirty. There's no aircon, so you may need to sleep with the window open. It's a busy hotel and it's in the city so it's going to be noisy. There are people staying here from all walks of life, so if you are sensitive to this then you may need to stay somewhere else. If you're prepared for these, then it's the perfect place to stay.

    This hotel is super cheap and is in an awesome location for seeing all of San Francisco's key attractions, and access to restaurants, etc. Enough bathrooms that I never had to wait for one. On site laundry is handy. Lots of places to eat nearby. Staff were friendly and very helpful whenever I needed assistance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    It is OK.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not know what the "shared bathroom" mean before booking. I understand the bathroom is between 2 rooms. Actually the bathrooms are shared by whole floor. Please make more clear on the website so we have the choice to compare.

    great location, nice stuff, quiet, cheap!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.7
    Great location - though too noisy at night - good value for money by Frisco standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise off the street at night was horrendous - ask for an interior facing room.

    The location is very good with the Nanking restuarant next door-try the sesame chicken.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.7
    Overall ok, good location and value for money but very basic accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel has locals staying there for longer periods of time and as you will probably discover when visiting San Francisco, some of them don't inspire much confidence. Also, the rooms have thin walls so sleeping without earplugs is definitely not recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.1
    I would love to come to this hotel again if I am coming to work or spend most of time getting out.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There was no food. The room was hot and the smell was not pleasant

    The hotel is a good place near everything in the city with excellent price value. It is a place where you can stay and sleep after your day in the city but do not spend much time in the room as it will be boring. The staff people were nice and friendly. you got what you pay for. The neighborhood was safe. WiFi was excellent. Airport shuttle was available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.6
    Ok for short time and sleeping only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small, the bed was ok, but there were some hair and dirt between top blanket and sheets to cover yourself. We slept underneath our sweaters. It was enough cause the weather was nice. If you are looking for a room to only sleep in, it s ok.

    The location was good, nice stuff, big elevator

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    perfect location and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is absolutely perfect. We were able to walk to about 50% of the places we wanted to go and we never felt unsafe. chinatown, little italy, lombard street, fisherman's wharf, pier 39, coit tower, union square... the steep streets could be hard for the knees but worth it because of the beautiful houses around. bed was very comfortable. room clean. i had some apprehensions about the shared bathroom but everything was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.8
    Authentic North Beach Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We out street view windows and noise overnight was loud. The rooms are on the small side. Shared bathrooms OK, but not always clean.

    Location was great. Beds comfortable enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    pleasant stay in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had everything we needed, but the bathrooms were not always as clean as they could have been but that depends on the neighboring guests. we also had some loud music playing at night

    The location is great to roam around the city- right on the intersection of chinatown, little Italy and financial district. great public transportation options.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.8
    So so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Narrow and scared corridors. There are a lot of homeless in hotels area after 10pm

    There is a sink in the room because sharing bathroom concept. Close to the city center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.4
    Awful smell in room 61
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Worst thing was awful smell in room. Fortunately I was going home after visit to hotel because all of my stuff now need cleaning to remove this smell (literally everything including luggage). Room is very small and hot. Since my room (61 - 2nd floor) can be accessed through window I couldn't even left windows open when leaving room. Room was cheapest on Booking.com at moment of reservation but after stay I think paying more was definitely better option.

    Free wifi in room and location is great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was located to the main street so it was a bit noisy. There was no air conditioning and although the weather in San Francisco is not hot in the summer the room was pretty hot so we needed to leave the window open and that increased the noise.

    The location of the hotel is great - it is near to Financial district, Embarcadero and whole marina, China Town... The room was clean and big enough if you just need a place to sleep and leave baggage.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.7
    Bed was comfortable, sink in the room was a necessity with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People smoke in some of the rooms. There were splashes of dried blood on the walls, which was pretty disgusting. The whole room needs a really good clean. For the money you can find much better places as long as you book far enough in advance. If you have to book last minute in the busy season like I did this place will do, but don't expect much.

    Bed was comfortable, sink in the room was a necessity with shared bathrooms. The area is safe and close to buses. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    I had a good stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a good stay here. California is expensive but this hotel is close to main attractions and decent budget option. Would prefer own bathroom obviously but they did their best to keep shared ones in shape, and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    Cheap place to crash? Go for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bring mosquito protection! There were a lot that probably slipped in from the open windows.

    Easy to access the city and transportation, close to Little Italy and Chinatown..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money if you don't mind sharing the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The carpet in the corridor smells really bad. The bathrooms are shared, so even if they are constantly cleaned, they are always smelly and a bit dirty.

    I was expecting something more creepy. The room was actually quite clean, the staff was attentions and they let me ship some online purchases to the hotel, which was super helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.4
    Check the room for bedbugs upon check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No screens in the windows. We were constantly attacked by mosquitoes and the room was infested with bedbugs. We only realized this after arriving home with what we first thought were mosquito bites. A closer look showed them to be a mix of bedbug and mosquito bites.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    Good location, good value for room rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is well located, rightt in the heart of China Town with all restaurants and shop around. The coffee breakfast next door is so good and Chinese restaurants close by, foods are so delicious. Room is ok. Double bed is not really big but ok to fit 2 small people. Public bath are not so clean but there are enough for all rooms. Carbet has stain everywhere and bedsheets also but they are clean, just stain can not remove is sticking on it. Staffs are so so. Not so smiley. With price we paid, this hotel is the best choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.0
    Pack insect repellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms not attached to room. Public bathrooms and showers. Property keeps windows open 24/7 which lets in massive numbers of mosquitoes. I managed to kill all the ones in room, but next morning after the maid service more came in from hallway. Carpets were blood stained. Blankets were stained and/or had holes in them.

    Downtown location close to all the sites

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    At night we could not sleep because the hotel is located in a zone of bars. The hotel also had a strange smell...

    Very closed to the center. The room was ok, and the bathroom although shared, was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location! Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking at the lot near the hotel was expensive.

    The location was amazing! We were able to walk around Chinatown and enjoyed the resturants nearby. The room was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    Loved the little dock in the back of the motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    According to the online listing, breakfast was included however it wasn't. There was a great cafe across the street in walking distance which was a great breakfast

    Loved the little dock in the back of the motel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    Chinatown was very interesting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roomtemp was Really hot due to unisolated water transmission line. Complaint received due to bike in the room.

    Chinatown was very interesting. Near to the Aquatic Center and Pier 39 and downtown. Historic building. Single room occupancy with shared bathroom is living like in the past. Decoration is nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.3
    Depends on the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The first room I stayed in felt less like a hotel room and more like a transient bedsit.

    After a few days in a room, which had a TV that only showed one channel and had some bugs and an arguing couple next door, I asked to leave but was given a better room. That changed the whole stay. I got a gorgeous street view and a TV with tons of channels and a nice bed and a desk. All the rooms have a fridge and a microwave, which makes travelling on a budget easier. It really depends on what room you are staying. The location is great! If you are on a budget you can not get anything better for this price. You can go further away from the city center but then you have to plan going out better and may have to venture through some less safety inducing neighborhoods (I say this with all the respect). While it may not seem like a big deal when planning a trip, it will more like an issue once you are there. Kearny Street is a great location. The place is smack in the middle of North Beach; a stone throws away from City Lights bookstore, The Beat Museum, Coit Tower, all the restaurants, clubs and bars. Chinatown is like another destination - very picturesque. The location trumps everything. The rooms that have a window opening to the middle of the building are quieter but the rooms with the street view, while the noise gets in, are more interesting. You open the window in the evening and you can hear jazz playing somewhere. The noise does quiet down for the night. I felt I was living with the rhythm of the location. Despites the bars the location is actually rather business driven. There are also galleries and high end fashion stores near by. Sharing a bathroom/toilet wasn't really a problem. You get used to it fast and there's plenty of them. I found the staff nice and friendly. For grocery shopping I found a Safeway at 145 Jackson St. There is also a 24 hour place called Happy Donuts in the corner of Kearny and Columbus (downstairs that is), which serves coffee, sandwiches, breakfast and so on.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    "The Stay at North Shore Hotel."
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay was fine, however, there was a strong stench inside room. But, over all I would stay there again.

    Access to everything. Walking distance to the main attractions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Good location, about a 10/15 min walk and you're in...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to a busy street with some pretty loud traffic

    Good location, about a 10/15 min walk and you're in union square and 5 mins the other way are some great Italian restaurants! Not anything fancy, but if you're looking for a comfy bed to crash, this place does the job.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    2.5
    Stinky and Old like the whole City
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place is dumb, there is nothing to like, stinky, old, old, old and stinky, the staff at front desk was great, the cleaners wow missed 2 days of cleaning out of 4, I want my $ back

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    3.8
    Tiny, stuffy room with bad ventilation options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was tiny (like, our suitcases hardly fitted into the room) and packed with old, unnecessary equipment. It was really warm due to a badly insulated heating pipe in the room, but when opening the window, the smells of deep-fried food of the restaurant next door came in. Bathrooms were not really clean. None of the toilets had soap, and some toilets didn't even have a sink. It's probably what you can expect in downtown San Francisco for a relatively cheap price, however, we wouldn't recommend this place.

    The bakery / coffee place at the corner next door was nice, with good opening hours and friendly prices.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Comfy bed, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A kettle and toaster would've been really handy, with a couple of cups, plates and cutlery, so we didn't have to purchase plastic (landfill). Also, somewhere to fill water bottles (it was suggested to us, not to drink the tap water) and again don't want to add to landfill. This is, of course, just extras that would've been nice, not a criticism. The room was a little hot on the first night, but we realised the central heating was on. The staff addressed that when requested and it was much better. We were on the side that got the afternoon sun, so it still warmed up and we had to leave the window open at night. This was not the greatest, given we were also on the 'street' side and that was NOISY. If you are a light sleeper, it would be best to request a room, not on the street. The price you pay for a good location :)

    It was one of the cheapest hotels in San Fran, we could find, in a good location. It was fairly basic, though clean and comfortable. I was surprised at how comfortable the bed was. We only needed a bed, didn't plan on spending any time in hotel, so it was perfect. I read in previous reviews that the bathrooms were dirty. They are SHARE bathrooms and therefore probably not as clean as if you had your own, however I didn't think they were too bad. They are cleaned each day and I think it really depends on the other guests and how considerate they are. We were there for 5 nights (other 4 in friends name) and were comfortable enough there. It is a great location. Close to most things, either walking distance or close to public transport, which is easy to navigate. Good coffee shop across the road (for fellow Australians that like their coffee), called Station. However you are also in Little Italy and on the edge of China town, so could probably find many places. I'd also like to mention that 'Enjoy Vegetarian', just down the road had fantastic vegetarian food. I'd definitely stay here again, rather than pay the exorbitant prices in San Fran. There is so much to do that you don't need to be in your hotel much.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.8
    Cheaper than average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared toilets aren't always as clean as they could be. The room is very tiny. Bed is small.

    Cheaper than average. Comfortable bed. Good location to walk to touristic areas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    Great location, with a lot of (Chinese and Italian) restaurants in the neighbourhood!
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The quality of the Wi-Fi depends on the room you're in: I had great connection in the hallway (Skype call with video was of perfect quality). My friend had a good connection in her room, but in my room the internet was quite slow.

    The location was perfect! The hotel is located on the edge of Chinatown and North Beach, and at Columbus Ave where there are a lot of Italian restaurants. Union Street is in walking distance and you can walk via the water to Pier 39 and Fisherman's Wharf as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    Affordable centrally-located hotel, some minor issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet didn't work properly for part of our stay. It would work on some devices but not others, and on one of the days we couldn't connect at all. For this reason alone I would hesitate to return. There's also a fair amount of noise from the street and music from one of the venues downstairs.

    This hotel is good value for money given its location -- walking distance to Pier 39, for example. Mini-fridge and microwave in the room were very useful. Staff was courteous, if not exceedingly friendly. Shared bathrooms were reasonably clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    Single men hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathrooms are really not clean. Similarly the carpet in the room did not seem to be vacuum-cleaned. Generally the rooms have thin walls meaning that one can hear the showers or neighbors. The hotel seems to be booked by either large families or single men.

    The property is really centrally located, bars and breakfast places are all around. The staff is most helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    5.0
    Nice single bed and single room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough bathroom. If you take a shower at late night it will be dirty. If you go to the toilet at late night you might not get to use the toilet paper because it's all ran out! The heater in the room is weird. Sometimes it works but most of the time you need it doesnt. The walls are thin.

    Nice single bed and single room. Nice closet in the room. A sink and mirror in the room are convenient. Also microwave and fridge. Very close to City light bookstore and various restuarants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.9
    I did not get quiet. I got good location. Not a place to stay in summer. Believe me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The NOISE and the HEAT! There is no air conditioning. My room faces Kearney Street, the wind is cool at night if you leave the window open and the door slightly ajar BUT there are constantly people coming from the bar close by, it is noisy and the cigarette smoke wafts up to your room. It will help a little if you shut the window but then the room gets stuffy and hot. Throughout my five day stay, I did not use the blanket at all. Too hot. People talking outside is also amplified because of the closeness of the buildings. After 3 am, the trash collector would wake you up. I am not sure about the rooms that face inwards and away from the main street. I would give a 10 if the hotel had air conditioning or at least provide fans.

    It is so close to everywhere. A lot of my tours started elsewhere but I was able to walk to them easily. I would not recommend walking because of the hills, use the public transport. Food is everywhere, it's so close to little Italy, and a quick walk to Chinatown and Market Street. I could even walk to Fisherman's Wharf and Lombard Street. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly. It has a fridge, which I love. I bought a lot of things and can store food easily.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.0
    Basic hotel but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny rooms, no bathroom/shower in the room and a bit pricey for what you get

    Smack in the middle of San Francisco the location was great as a base for excursions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single rooms are very small but that's typical for old hotels in San Francisco. Shared toilets and showers. They've raised their rates for the summer. Pretty expensive considering what you get.

    Great location. Laundry room. Heat in the rooms for those cold nights. Plenty of channels to choose from on the T.V.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    2.9
    Beware! Not as Clean as we thought
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place has bedbugs so beware. We killed one walking on our pillow. Night staff there mentioned that they get bit by bed bugs and the hotel is aware with the issue and don't wanna fix. We noticed a pesticide smell when we checked in and we mentioned to the staff but they didn't have anything to say about it at the time. After waking up by a mosquito buzzing we turned on the light to kill it and saw a bed bug walking on the pillow we were laying on. They say they don't have any problems to you when you ask at check in but their night staff speak otherwise and atleast are honest individuals who I can respect. I would submit photos but don't want to gross anyone out so take my word as this is not a place to be. Honest Truth

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.8
    Amazing location, good beds, nasty bathrooms... but yes, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathrooms were very very bad and not clean at all. It was also a bit noisy and unfortunately the room was very bright (no big curtains) so we were awake as soon as the sun was entering the room (not really a problem for most days as we wanted to explore, but still). If the bathrooms could be cleaner (last week was very bad to the point we thought about showering to a different place where our friends were staying), this hotel would be perfect!

    The location was great and our main objective was to find a place pretty cheap but central, which was the case for this hotel. The beds were also very comfy and it was easy to travel there from the airport. The staff was also very nice and willing to help us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay at North Beach!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small but I suppose it was adequate for a single guy traveller like me

    Hotel in a good position on the edge of Chinatown - 20 minute walk to Fishermans wharfe and the piers - cable car trolleys nearby if you wanted to use them - Hotel itself was adequate but not outstanding - very "1940's esque" but clean and tidy - shared toilets and shower rooms but there were a few on each floor so always available - all staff were friendly - James on the front desk was particularly helpful to me as an englishman in a strange city - all in all a good stay - would recommend for adults but not families

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    My Stay At North Beach Hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish some of the front desk employees were able to ans. My questions a little better. Particularly during the day.

    I liked the consistency of the maid service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Great location and easy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location between financial district, Chinatown and North Beach. This hotel is not for everyone the showers and toilets are down the hall but it has fridge and cable tv and sinks in the room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    7.9
    Great budget hotel in the heart of the city
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The first room they gave me had a very penetrant smile, but they were happy to switch rooms.

    Prefect place in the Financial District of San Francisco. From here it's easy to travel to all the interesting places within the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Good for short&long term stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the bathrooms are not I. The rooms. That's about it.

    The rooms had a decent size drawer and closet. Even though there were no bathrooms there was a sink on the room. The bed was comfy as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: