Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ocean Beach Hotel 2 stars

5080 Newport Avenue, Ocean Beach, San Diego, CA 92107 , USA

#106 of 226 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 325 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.3
    Overall we had fun and enjoyed our stay at the Hotel; we will come again.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the beach but we must of been in the bad area of the beach. Beach side was kind of dirty.

    We enjoyed our stay at Ocean Beach Hotel. Workers where very nice and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location on a fun beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super location!!! Right in the heart of Ocean Beach. Right on the beach in the middle of the action. Best location in Ocean Beach. Rooms are a little old, but clean and functional. Had a fun time on the “Hippie Beach”, it’s a little like a trip back in time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    first time, but won't be the last!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could get a little stuffy. But crack the window and you're good.

    EVERYTHING! The location was perfect, we barely had to drive anywhere, everything we really needed was in waking distance. Totally coming back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.0
    Smelly dirty 1 star room was not worth the 5 star level price
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of the hotel it was not clean. There was flies swarming in a circle in the room already upon entering. Go out to the balcony to find trash littering the ground. An unpleasant stink to the room left my local guest who was to split the cost running back home to sleep in her own bed for the night rather than suffer like I did and try to sleep with my face on my hands and above the blankets touching anything in the room as little as possible.

    Location was right on the beach

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.4
    Good location, but with it comes lots of traffic/ noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was close to beach....so that meant people / cars going by all day & night We had a balcony / ocean view room....so right on the road/ sidewalk, so noisy all/ day & into early morning hours.. The room was small, but clean tastefully decorated...during summer it was warm so needed to leave door open, no screen on sliding door No ceiling fan, but did have a portable AC unit ..RIGHT next to bed , so when it was on & you were in bed, blew cold air on that person.....who got cold, so we were turning it off& on all during night, only other option was to leave sliding door open, so heard all the traffic from road/ street below ...was not a restful weekend

    The place was clean..housekeeping staff did a good job The hotel was as close to beach as you could get. Several different/ exciting restaurants around hotel Room was tastefully decorated. Bathroom clean, well stocked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    I do not recommend staying at ocean beach for families with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The homeless people (15+) hung out across the street from the hotel. They were very loud, arguing with each other all night. The police came twice to try to quiet them down. So many mental ill/druggies in Ocean Beach, we ended up Staying in La Jolla because we did not feel ocean beach was s good place for a family with 3 kids.

    The location is as close to the beach as you can be.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, clean beds and great location. Would have been better with a microwave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to call twice to cancel one day and when I arrived it still wasn’t cancelled so I had to be over charged before I could get my money back.

    The location to the beach and atmosphere. Friendly staff too! Nice to see it being updated!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Right next to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old looking, smelly ashtrays and smoke smell, fountain water was green. Loud noises at night, no hooks in the bathroom to hang towels after a shower and too dark in the bathroom. Curtains need to be able to cover the bright lights from outside

    Right next to beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    The hotel was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm bummed I even have to write what I don't like but I do.... the room walls are paper thin, you can hear everything the neighbors next to you and above you( we were on the bottom floor). The couple above us were up all night running through their room, it sounded like a bowling alley above us. Also, the courtyard lighting stays on all night so the black out curtains they have in the room literally have a glowing light behind them. Yes they block out lightening but it really didn't do much. The hotel allows people to hang out in the courtyard all night, which the other tents that were in the courtyard all night were not quite or respectful of the time or volume of their voices. Due to the loud neighbors and courtyard lighting we did not get any sleep at all. I'm not sure if this would be a perfect getaway for romance or a "relaxing" hotel, maybe in the off season when it's not so busy.

    The hotel was perfect! It was pretty from the outside, nice courtyard and room was super clean and and nice, plus the location was on point! Literally across the street from ocean beach and you can walk everywhere to food, beach and shopping. Perfect little beach town for a getaway with your hunny or family!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    Location can't be beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, including the balcony, was small and all-around average at best. The courtyard appeared more cool and welcoming in the photos than it felt while we were there.

    You cannot beat the location. It's right across the street from the beach and pier. And only steps to some great bars, restaurants, and shops. They've got on-site parking, which was very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.6
    Partial view of the ocean, walking distance to the beach.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small. Does not looked like on pictures at all. The interior could be changed to better colors. Sink are small and shelf above are NOT comfortable even to wash your face. For girls no place to put your make up in the bathroom. No screens on windows, so can leave window open for night if you want to. Water in shower smells. Stairs need to be washed. Front desk people should be more knowledgeable about hotels policy. No coffee makers in the rooms(really?)

    Partial view of the ocean, walking distance to the beach. Great yard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location, poor value for cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy especially at night. Across from parking lot where many homeless and derelicts hang out. Late at night loud music, drunk, drug addled screaming. Staff is very friendly, location is right on beach but the homeless and crazies create a visual and noise problem. Room smaller than shown in pictures, very small bathroom, very limited closet space, no dresser. Room deck has no barrier to adjacent room you can see right into next door room from the deck. You are paying top $ for location, but be prepared for a loud evening and a room that just isn't worth the money you are paying.

    Good location right next to beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Location, location, location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small but comfortable. The bathroom is small but has what you need. The location is perfect!! It is right on the beach and very close to the airport. The staff gave fantastic recommendations for food in the area which was totally appreciated! We did enjoy our stay here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Pleasantly surprised and will definately come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in a corner by a trash can and there were lots of flies

    The front desk person was friendly and helpful. The location is perfection. The room was clean and comfortable. I really loved the courtyard which has a beautiful ocean view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    2.9
    The property was way over priced for the tiny room that you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was way over priced for the tiny room that you get. They don’t have AC only swamp cooler like units in the corner of the rooms that produce a tremendous amount of noise and don’t really cool off the room. The beach area out front is very run down and has a tremendous amount of homeless lining the beach area. It is not a place that I would recommend and for the same amount of money you can drive 10 minutes and stay on the beach at the Hyatt .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    Great Location if you don't mind noise and traffic and Street People
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of Auto Traffic as it was right on Newport Ave and it is full of bars and restaurants. the ocean view was slightly off center as we had a better view of the parking lot across the street and Newport. Quite a few Street people that did not make you feel comfortable on the beach

    The location was great close to Bars and restaurants and the beach was right across the street

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location, but a bit pricey for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No coffee machine. Balconies are in pairs with the room next door (with dividing balustrade) so OK if you know your neighbour, but not good for privacy if you don't (luckily we did).

    Location is bang on for beach, restaurants and people watching from your baslcony. Nice courtyard area in middle of complex.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    This was a very clean, comfortable and friendly place to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a very clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay in an amazing location. So many fun places to walk to. Right on the beach. Just beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is older but very clean, the staff was friendly. We arrived early and they upgraded our room to an ocean view. We didn't want to leave. The courtyard is awesome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    OB Ocean Front
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My first floor patio area was sketchy at best. Great space but the foot traffic would litter the area and it did not smell good. Maybe previous person had a dog and they peed out there?? Also. The room was not truly a handicap room as the bathroom was not fully accessible with the layout and the toilet and sink being so close, one could hit their head easily but my handicapped husband ended up not coming.

    The location truly cannot be beat!! The courtyard is such a lovely space! The room actually held 4 of us!! Fridge was a true bonus and appreciated! I would recommend this space/hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing. Fun . Delicious. Food All kinds . Lots of fun places to have a cocktail or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer

    Location. Location. Location. Park and Everything is there within ealking distance. Uou dont even have to move your car. .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    We loved the hotel, it had the best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the hotel, it had the best location. Right in front of the beach, and near all the restaurants and shops. They have a nice patio for people and dogs, and the staff was friendly and gave us some tips about good restaurants. We’ll be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Soft bed, super clean and awesome location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were thin - snoring neighbor. Door lock was fussy had to ask staff to help me get in the door.

    Friendly staff, free parking, reasonable rate - loved listening to the ocean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.8
    Not Great No Bargain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first full day there our water was off for quite some time so we went out. When we came back there was no electricity. Not a great day when you are spending over $1000.00 for a three night stay. The bathroom was very small and water pressure was not good in the shower and the water would suddenly become scalding hot at times.

    The location was great. From our balcony we could see surfers, people watch and enjoy the cool breeze

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not match photos. Our double room should have been a single room. The path to enter the room was only 8 inches wide between the bed and the wall, it was absurd. It was so difficult to walk in and out of the room, let alone while carrying luggage.

    Location was convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh dear! Door very difficult to open. Battering ram would have been a useful tool to have. Rust stains running down the wall. Bed very mushy, like mashed potatoes. Lousy support, did not sleep much. Hey Shane either. Wardrobe cheap and difficult to open. Room heater failed after 10 minutes, new one had to be brought in. Both heaters unacceptably loud. When you have to increase volume on tv when the unit is running, not good. Way too much light coming in window at night. Porch light and courtyard overly bright. Cheap drapes, poor coverage. Had to use ironing board to close gap between drapes and wall. Bring push pins, if you stay.

    Bathroom is perfect. Clean and nicely updated! Water gets hot quickly in shower, very important. Location is awesome. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful views, clean and comfortable room that made our stay relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Street people sleeping in park and hanging out was a distraction from beauty. Seems it could be regulated a little better by the city.

    Location is great. Good restaurants near by. Courtyard is beautiful and view of beach is wonderful. Older hotel being renovated (our room was charming) so a little rough in places but I hope they continue to improve. So much charm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, noisy, noisy... you hear everything, the refrigerator all night long, an airplane every 5 minutes, you hear people outside, nextdoor, upstairs... even the cleaning staff starts walking and talking (not quietly) very early... this hotel is really really to expensive for what you get (more than $200 for a night...) and you don't even get a breakfast! Not even a coffee/tea machine in the room. We've stayed in hotels all over America where we have paid much less and got much much more back, even in San Francisco, Los Angeles, Disneyland, New York, Miami... this was by far the most expensive and the worst hotel of all. I would at list give a breakfast and maybe put signs at the stairs and hallways asking people to walk slowly and quietly sinds the walls and floors are paper thin or otherwise ask much less money for the stay! Unbelievable they ask so much money, you should be ashamed Ocean Beach Hotel. I really hope with this review i can help people not to fall for this hotel...

    Not much... but i would say the distance to the beach. Free parking (but for the price you pay is the least you can expect).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    So much noise in the common area of the hotel. They were kind enough to change the room folks after we complained, but it improved very little.

    Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.1
    The location was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding did not breathe. The air unit was too close to bed and was very loud. Preferred an open window for sleeping but window would not open and did not have a screen. The shower temperature was difficult too regulate.

    The location was awesome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    A lovely hotel on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn’t offer breakfast but that’s not a huge issue, plenty of restaurants and cafes around.

    The hotel is practically on the beach. The room we stayed in had partial ocean view which was lovely. The room was spacious, bathroom/shower great too. The best part was the restaurant next door - OB Surf Lodge - the best food we had during our 2 week long Cali road trip. Absolutely recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    2.5
    Find another place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Discourteous staff on the phone. After locking reservation online they very rudely turned us away. Ended up at the Hilton by the airport- very clean, free wine, courteous employees!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Cute and quaint. Great location. Rooms are not meant to be lounged in, that’s what the beach is for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin...could hear music and talking in the next room. But front desk was very quick to make a call after curfew. Bed mattress a little worn, had to move to the middle where it wasn’t indented. Inflated price...but I get it.

    Location is amazing. Front desk is helpful and responsive. Hotel is beautifully landscaped and taken care of for the limited space they have.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I absolutely loved this hotel. The staff was very friendly and the location was perfect. There was great restaurants in walking distance and the beach was beautiful, especially at sunset!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.0
    The hotel is right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was freezing, door and windows aren't air proof. Heating/AC is portable meaning every hour water fills the tank stopping the machine from working, it has to be pump out by stuff or a guest.

    The hotel is right on the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Overall it was a nice stay. Small but perfect for someone who doesn’t spend a lot of time in the roo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water!! We had to pay for bottled water through the vending machine. Our room didn’t have a great view.

    Location and the common grounds were lovely. We were able to walk everywhere so we saved money on transportation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.4
    The view is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not worth what I paid, even with the booking.com discount. No microwave, no extra blankets in the room, no coffee maker. The room itself is very clean and looks recently remodeled but the rest of the hotel is kind of grimey.

    The view is amazing! Staff at the front desk were very welcoming. This room was perfect for one person.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    We had a nice room, clean comfortable bed in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needed a remodel. It was older than we expected. Needs a good overhaul. We woke to the smell of pot coming in thru the crack under the door.

    Great location. Good price. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving there at night it looks really unsafe I didn't realize how many homeless were around there, unlike the homeless in my own town were the ask for money. these homeless were Peddlers and had stuff there to buy and they didn't bother you it was nice.

    Right on the beach so nice wake up in the morning and hear the waves have coffee outside. Do you need to say any more.. the shops were fantastic and little places to eat where amazing too good food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    It was great for a quick visit without the kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was bouncy and not very comfortable.

    I liked that it was right there in the beach at a great price. The staff were helpful and shops were close.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    Not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that the pictures online were extremely misleading as far as room size goes. The pictures made the room seem much bigger than it was. The price for the room was too much for the size, not even an ocean view room.

    I loved the front desk staff member, she was very sweet and tried her best to be as accommodating as possible with what she had to work with.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.8
    Would recommend and stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So many homeless people nearby. Thankfully none were on site at the hotel so they were great with that but they were close by.

    Easy access to food and the beach, very relaxing hotel. Convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    We loved it so much!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise on the street was a bit loud with people walking around late at night. We could have closed the windows but we LOVED the sound of the waves too much! So not really a downfall.

    We loved the view of the ocean. The courtyard was quaint and inviting. The surrounding restaurants were amazing!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    3.8
    I was very dissatisfied with this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was out dated, door and window frames rusted, towel racks and tissue holder rusted, curtain rod fell off the wall when we tried to open the curtain , the windows were dirty, and my boyfriend had to lean against the door to lock it. No coffee maker or microwave. Totally below my standards of comfort. The beach was a bit dirty for me compared to mission beach. The outside stairs had filthy carpet on it that looked disgusting and slick. And there were a lot of homeless looking people right outside the hotel on the Newport ave strip. This room was not worth it very over priced for what u get. I will never return to this hotel in its current condition. Horrible! Thank goodness we were only there for one night.

    The staff was nice but the first night the girl at the front desk gave us a bag for ice then said laughing” oh it’s broke, u have to go down the street and buy some”. Which we ended up doing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    second stay. great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hotel could supply tissues (Kleenex) could keep an eye on the TP supply lid for the ice bucket would help especially since the ice machine crapped for the final 3 days had to ask to get room serviced in a timely manner once

    great location for people and pet watching from the balcony great location for stores and restaurants go for the beach view good coffee in the office

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Amazing ocean view- modern, updated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel lobby (check in area) is closed around lunch and also closes at night. This could be a problem for people arriving late so be sure to let the hotel know.

    We had stayed here many years ago before it was redone and now, after the updates, the hotel is amazing. The location is incredible- steps away from the beach, and you get free parking, which is really convenient. We were so happy that the hotel has been redone since before the location was great, but the rooms were dingy. Now the rooms are very clean and bright- nice white, clean sheets, great tiled bathroom and modern furniture. We stayed in a queen, partial ocean view with balcony and it was just perfect. You can stand on the balcony and hear and see the ocean and waves and look right at the pier. The room and bathroom are small (it is an older hotel), but with the modern updates, I love this hotel and can't wait to come back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    There was a crazy party going on at the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Crazy night when we were there. Something was going on. There were people sleeping on the sidewalks, it was loud. We didn't enjoy the area around the hotel because of all the commotion going on around the hotel.

    There was a crazy party going on at the beach. The manager of the hotel called the police and asked them if they would come and break up the party because all the noise was disturbing the guests of the hotel. For what we got, it was a little expensive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location, great view from courtyard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No second curtain so had to keep shades drawn the entire time due to being right by the stairs. A privacy curtain that allows light in would have been nice. I will say that airplanes take off over this hotel on a regular basis out of SAN (except 11p-7a).

    Location, the parking in the area can be kind of tight so guest-only lot made it nice, the courtyard had a windscreen on it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Had fun and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a little bit unsafe after 9pm, and a few wired people wandering around. Should be careful if you are girls traveling.

    It's quite close to the ocean beach, and the Newport Ave downstairs is great that you could find many high-ranking restaurant and bars.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Stay was amazing, definetly will be staying there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are very small and it's one of the hotels that do not have a pool or hot tube. Our room was on the 3rd floor and they only have stairs.

    The staff was very friendly, the beach is a two minute walk, lots of food places close, a gift shop close with good items.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure was poor. Not much room in bathroom to get ready, or even an outlet. Used large mirror & outlet in main room.(Daug and her fam had outlets & addt'l shelf)

    Loved the staff...friendly & helpful! Loved the ocean view from courtyard & so close to ocean!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    Great location but outdated and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st impressions was that the courtyard looked grubby and badly needing updating. Noise generally was horrendous ! ! Walls must be very thin as we could hear fellow guests talking thru the early hours/tv's on. Residents doors slamming at all hours of the night. The air con unit was great but very loud which made it impossible to sleep 😩

    Location was great ! Buzzing night life around Ocean Beach with a really good surfer/backpacker vibe. Room clean and recently updated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    Fun, very lively, perfect little hotel in the heart of OB
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in room was very loud.

    The hotel is right by the beach and within walking distance to all Ocean Beach has to offer. Bars, restaurants, live music, wonderful taco stands, etc. I can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    This is a cozy hotel, right by the beach. Lots of food and entertainment within walking distance!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to the hotels fault, there were a lot of festivities right outside on the beach for most of the night.

    This hotel was perfect for anyone who wants to check "staying by the beach" off their bucket list. It was nice waking up to the sound of waves!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    EASY & SMOOTH. HAPPY THOUGHTS.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Elevator. I had to carry all my stuff and babies up and down.

    Shout Out to the Receptionist. She's very helpful and awesome. She let me have an early check-in considering I have multiple kids with me. Very accommodating and informative about the area. Very Outstanding Host. The most perfect, when you have kids, you don't need to look for parking. Just get ready with their swimming attire and the beach is right in front of your hotel. They're hungry multiple diners infront of the beach less than a minute walk or go back to your hotel. They need to shower or restroom, the Hotel just infront of the Beach. Love the location and the Price not expensive for a Hotel infront of the Beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.5
    Right on beach and close to restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave in room. Too expensive for a small queen bed room.

    Right on beach and close to restaurants and shops. Could see the pier and ocean from our deck.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The last night there was a drunk couple above me making a lot of noise. The staff was great in handling it.

    Great location! Staff was Awesome! Room was very clean and nice. Wifi worked great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Great affordable hotel in a fun location I ❤️OB!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are picky about the room don't stay here. It was clean but it's an older hotel. The beds were comfy though and it has been updated.

    Great location and the patio courtyard was great. Fun to people watch at beach across the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Location was very good
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny not much room to put or store your stuff For that price they should include continental breakfast

    Location was very good Friendly stuff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.0
    Good location but not a good hotel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of this room was not good. At the cost we could have stayed at the Hotel Del Coronado (which we have in the past). I know location is important and the beach was very nice. But the room itself at OB was sub par. If you are not going to do renovations you should lower the room night cost considerably.

    bed was comfortable and I liked the lamps

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    The Perfect No Frills Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of a mess outside my room initially - a bunch of towels and beer bottles. It was cleaned up later that afternoon though.

    Location is fantastic. Sweet courtyard. Friendly staff. Will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.8
    need to up grade the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    coffee pot and microwave in room........motel 6 has these at $39 per nite has that + breakfast

    very small rooms, NO COFFEE POT, NO MICROWAVE.....FOR $200+ per nite....cost more than the Del Coronado where we were for 3 days earlier

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Absolutely perfect stay - thank you Booking.com and OB Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suppose it would be nice to have some way of making coffee for the rooms. Either in the lobby or individual coffee makers in the room. I also wish the parking lot was a tiny bit bigger. Not necessarily more spaces, but when it is full it is very difficult to squeeze down the isle.

    The bed was so comfortable, I slept better than I do at home and that is very unusual for hotels! It was a basic facility, there were really not many extra accommodations like coffee or breakfast or anything, but I didn't care. We were not looking for that anyway. The room was extremely comfortable and spacious, the staff was pleasant, the view and location were prime, parking was free, and I got an incredible discount through Booking.com. Everything was easy. Plus I got a $5 off coupon for zoo tickets in the lobby (2 of them!) which was one of our main destinations, so we were able to save an additional $10 on our trip! Checking in and out was so easy and pleasant and I would LOVE to stay there again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot of smokers in the courtyard.Wish they had a non smoking area. We had to keep moving around the BEAUTIFUL courtyard to avoid all the smoke

    Location.location.location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Had a great time, didn't spend a lot of time in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rest room was dated, portable closet was awkward to use.the a/c was right against the bed.

    The location was close to shops and restaurants and clubs, great view of the ocean and sunset from the court yard

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.9
    You pay for how close you stay to the ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drunk hotel guests hanging around vending machines after hours, bathroom is a little small and shower temperature is temperamental.

    Cute Hotel, view of ocean from room window. Walk out of courtyard and cross street and your on the beach. Courtyard is beautiful, bars and eateries all walking distance around, and parking for guests is for hotel guests only so you will have a spot if you leave and come back. Loved walking to pier and watching the sunset with family. I would come back but with only the wife next time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.5
    Very nice. Would come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not have microwave. That would have been handy.

    Location was great, right across the street from the beach. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    8.3
    A bed near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee makers in the rooms. Only vending machine food on the property. Rather smalll bathroom with no tub.

    Just a walk across the street to the beach. Private Interior courtyard to view the water but not deal with all the people. Tide pools and fishing pier were great to visit on non-water days (when too chilly, etc).88

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.2
    Great little hotel for the money!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The homeless bums are a huge issue. We would stay again, but I wish they would clean up the streets a bit. Bed was not very comfortable.

    After reading some of the reviews, I was a little nervous, but I did not need to be. Place was perfectly located! Noise was not an issue, Rooms were VERT clean, Staff was super nice, hotel courtyard was great to hang out in with our dog. I was pleasantly surprised!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    6.7
    basic room and amenities but great location and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi kept cutting out, only 7 channals on the TV. walls VERY thin. no coffee pot in room. room very basic.

    loved the location and the balcony with an ocean view. staff friendly and room clean. many restaurants and bars within walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    It was great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great.... on a strip of restaurants, antique store, on the beach... had a blast and would easily consider spending my next trip out there at the same hotel....

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.9
    dog friendly, beachfront hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small (but satisfactory) room for the price

    --location-adjacent to the beach and close to all of the bars/restaurants/shops of ocean beach. --courtyard-great courtyard with fountain and ocean views --free parking --fridge in room and outdoor shower for rinsing off after surfing --dog friendly with no additional cost

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.5
    'Teas ok! Expected more for my money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in room! Some kind of little machine that had no directions for use for heat or cool. Once I turned it on it was very loud.

    Access to the beach and all neighborhood facilities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.2
    Great buy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm very meticulous.The room could've been a little more tidy.The air/ heat unit required a little getting used to.

    I loved my bed.The cooler in the room was a plus.The staff was great and excellent location. The beach is right outside your door.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    5.4
    Small room. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above comments.

    Location was great. Room was too tiny and had no fan or ventilation. Noisy. Could hear other guests. Vending machine was out of water.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ocean Beach Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: