Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ocean Gate Resort 3 stars

70 Ocean Gate Road, Southport, ME 04576, USA

#2 of 2 hotels in Southport

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 254 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything we didn't like. Only stayed one night, would've liked to stay more.

    We loved everything about our stay. Plenty of outside activities for the whole family to enjoy. All of the staff were so warm and friendly. Definitely would love to come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating system a little hard to regulate, bathroom water pressure weak, especially the sink. Ice bucket in room, no idea where to get ice from?

    The new owners were so accommodating! Beautiful scenery and most rooms have a view. The rooms are comfy and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have visited this property for the last 3 years, and love the quiet, in the woods area, kayak available if wx permits, breakfast included is perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bugged me that we were not allowed to bring breakfast back to our rooms or better yet, outside to enjoy the gorgeous scenery and day. Last thing I want to do on vacation is eat breaksfast in a frumpy diner with a bunch of hungover wedding guests. Perhaps that's a bit hyperbolic; let's just say I was annoyed that there was not a take-out option for anything but the coffee and the mini muffins.

    The location is idyllic and I loved the family feel of the place. Also, the updated interior of the rooms more than make up for the circa 1974 cement architecture. Great value for the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dining room warm and muggy. Took along time to get hot water for shower. Alot of hilly walking. Parking on incline, hard to open door to get out. Alot of steps.

    Room was great size, tv size great ocean view great area was quiet and relaxing. Thought it was a good buy for ocean view. Pancakes and bacon were great would of like them again the next morning but were not available. Staff were helpfull.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem was the lack of hot water at times. Also needed were more places/shelving to place your personal items in the bathrooms

    It was a wonderful stay and the location was beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could have been a lot better.

    The location is spectacular. The staff was hit-or-miss. One guy just kept repeating "I can't wait to get to Florida." The entire resort has a shopworn feel, like something being kept minimally afloat. Breakfast was adequate, although my wife refused to eat it after the first day. Coffee was good!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is amazing-kayaks available for use, chairs scattered for outdoor enjoyment and beautiful views from the room. Breakfast was great with a lot of choices and good coffee!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    Room overlooked water..nice view. Breakfast area was large, lots of choice. Wished we could have stayed more than 1 night. One family was going kayaking which would have been awesome in the bay. Went down to Tugs Pub for dinner (5 minute drive) & had a nice dinner. Botanical gardens was a 10 - 15 minute drive. Boothbay harbour...10 minute drive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was simply stunning! Room was comfortable and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Plan to go there again. Boothbay Harbor and the shops/restaurants were aces

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can say enough about the resort. The accommodations were amazing. The views were beautiful and the staff were very friendly and attentitive. The breakfast was delicious and more than expected. Great place for kids and worth the money. I would definitely revisit and encourage others to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi signal strength was very poor in room 114. A grab bar in the bath tub would have been very appropriate as myself & most of the guests were elderly.

    The breakfast & staff were outstanding. The view was very nice. A very nice stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no comment

    I am in awe of the view into the harbor from our room and balcony. My husband grew up on the ocean and misses it and I wanted the view for him. A plus that I loved it also. Staff was friendly and polite. Breakfast was to die for!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    loved the omelette eggs and the view was amazing. This is a very nice location with a great staff and grounds and rooms are beautifully maintained. cant wait to go back next year!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children's Games were few. They should get some Games for Children to stay busy with. They advertised Games! Had about 3 in broken boxes! Bring your Own!

    A highlight was the Bountiful Breakfast. The Staff are #1. Food #1 Also the Pool was just great. Nice having a Refrigerator too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly. The view of the Harbor was great and th resort was tucked in the pines which is peaceful and great for hicking yet it's close enough to Booth baby. Also a great central point for all the points of interest.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location!Laid back Maine atmosphere and loved hot coffee and breakfast first thing in the morning. Our second time there....did touristy things in Boothbay Harbor; loved the cruise on Cap'n Fish's boat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We made reservations for 4 adults but only had 3 sets of towels. Requested additional and they came quickly. Also would have liked having additional seating. only 3 chairs available.

    Room was nice, Breakfast was very good. Beautiful location, would come back again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The area was so lovely and quiet, but the individual room A/C's were so loud and prevented us from enjoying quiet evenings and mornings on the balcony. I know they probably aren't needed that often so maybe the management doesn't want to invest any more, but sure would be nice to have quiet, modern units instead! We did need them but hated the noise!

    The location is lovely. We stayed for 5 nights while we visited colleges in the area. The rooms are comfortable and we were grateful for the laundry facilities. Great breakfast, and so grateful when they put out coffee early in the morning! Big thanks to the staff for being so patient with my elderly mother's requests. We didn't use the pool but there seemed to be a lot of happy people there every day! We adored canoeing. You can walk or canoe/kayak about half a mile to Robinson's Wharf, a great local restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some of the maintenance work was disturbing at times, particularly leaf blowing around & during pool visits.

    staff went above & beyond to please.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms with views of the water are great. The mattresses seemed a little old and could use replacing. Offering the free kayaks and canoes is awesome, though the kayaks needed some updating - backs were broken, ropes missing, etc. staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym could use an upgrade but the options for outdoor activities offset that.

    My sister and I went up to Maine for a girls' weekend. We were pleasantly surprised with the property at the Ocean Gate Inn. The pictures online do not show how beautiful it is there and how well maintained the grounds are. We loved that kayak rentals were available at no extra charge as well as a hot breakfast each morning. The resort is tucked away so you do need a car to get around but it is so close to all the cute little shops and restaurants in Boothbay Harbor and parking there is very easy. We preferred being a few miles outside of the town and away from the crowds. We wouldn’t change anything; it was the perfect weekend. We will definitely stay at Ocean Gate again in the future.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was not flushed in our room. Walls seemed thin and when toilet was flushed in adjacent room it was very loud.

    Beautiful setting overlooking bay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Extremely well located with a beautiful view of the bay, especially at sunset. Large room with a small balcony with beautiful view. Very quiet. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the rustic quality of the resort but it is showing a bit of wear in a few places. We saw maintenance touching up paint in some rooms so they do work to keep the quality high

    The waterfront location was so peaceful and serene. Lots of activities like tennis courts, mini-golf, ping-pong and a pool. Something for everyone. Breakfast buffet included with stay was hot and delicious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet. -no FRESH fruit variety (only melon). Other was canned :( Oatmeal was not cooked No fresh eggs

    Woodsy rustic feel to the property, nice weight room, enjoyed sitting out on the dining deck, waterfront, pool, mini golf

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a gem....perfect location on the water and just minutes to downtown Boothbay Harbor. Rooms are clean and comfortable, nice pool, mini golf and wonderful breakfast. We will go back, for sure!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very nice but definitely rustic. Nothing in walking distance however boothbay harbor is only 10 minutes by car. Interior dated.

    Beautiful setting. Good breakfast selection. Very clean. Staff very nice. Beds are comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    Location, very relaxing setting. Quiet. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast. Close to town but away from the congestion.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows desperately need to be replaced!

    Breakfast buffet was great with plenty of food to choose from. The muffins were delicious,especially the carrot cake ones!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we stayed in looked "tired". There had been obvious poor repairs made to water leaking and it smelled very musty. I also felt that the room was too small for 4 people. One of the employees commented that the better rooms are not available to booking.com customers, which is disappointing. My mother had called prior to our arrival to make sure we had the multiple rooms we booked were right next to each other. They had indicated the resort was full but they were referring to that building only. There were better accommodations available that were newer and larger but not available to booking.com customers. The resorts own website is poor, so it would be difficult to pick out the right room for you. I would stay again, but would have to book through the resort directly.

    We loved all of the amenities that came with the resort, we were outside of town so it was great to utilize the grounds. It was also nice to have breakfast available as well. The views from the grounds were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room interior was dull and dark, outside of building needed work, however grounds were lovely and other buildings looked newer. Bath was nice and clean

    Lovely area great view, well kept swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was hardly any hot water, although they were trying to correct that.

    Beautiful, private location with lots to do or simply to relax watching the view. Good breakfast and clean rooms with a helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower took forever to produce warm water, clearly no circulation pump. The "gym" has old, non-functioning equipment. Even the weights were old-fashioned (vintage?) slabs of metal, that are hard to hold ifyou do not want to use the bar.

    Wonderful view over the bay. Staff very forthcoming and helpful. The pool was very warm.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location of room and heated pool and hot tub. Breakfast was very good, it would have been nice if they left out hot water and cold water thru out the coarse of the day so people could help themselves.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Putt putt needs updating but there was no extra charge for the activity and the kids had a blast doing it multiple times.

    Lots of stuff to do with kids. Pool and jacuzzi are in great shape and the pool is even heated. No additional cost with various activities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny and did not have a fan. The window was funtional so it could be opened but pretty cool with 40+ early morning temps. Outside stairs at waterside building and dinning facility had inconsistent riser heights posing a potential trip problem.

    It was "off the beaten path" so very quiet. While not direct ocean views, the waterfront provided good wildlife watching. A good place to kayak if new to it as the water was very calm amid the sheltering island. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The entire staff was so friendly and genuinely happy to help you. The room was right on the water so we woke up to an amazing sunrise. The breakfast had a continental aspect,but also had fresh cooked eggs, pancakes, omletes included. A lot of amenities for the price including canoes and kayaks to enjoy the Atlantic inlet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms could use some updating.

    breakfast was provided daily, our room overlooked the beautiful Booth Bay and the Rooms were pretty roomie with a nice balcony. The staff is always hustling. Also, you have canoes and kayaks to use at your disposal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is in need of updating and repairs. Spoke to the front desk and was told the problems would be taken care of.

    The view and bird watching were wonderful. Having extras like kayaks, mini golf and heated pool were nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet service. Some of the rooms need a bit of updating but they were always very clean.

    Great quiet location but close to charming villages. Resort staff was fabulous and very accommodating. I would definitely recommend this resort.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This location is exceptional and worth the trip! The views are wonderful! There is little "light pollution" and the starry sky viewing on a clear night is great! Common breakfast area is great and breakfast offerings and hospitality from staff is wonderful! Also a great opportunity to chat with other travels and learn interesting things!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly and welcoming -- and the view from our balcony was stunning. Breakfast was yummy -- excellent coffee. We really enjoyed exploring the area -- especially the Maine Coastal Botanical Garden. Hope to spend more time here on another trip!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Should have a light over the second sink. TV was not HD and the horizontal aspect was not correct. Everybody looked fat!

    Excellent room. Very clean Excellent and comfortable bed. Good heat and cool controls

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool was closed, actually while we were in it! Apparently, it gets closed on a given date regardless of the (good) weather. The breakfasts were poor, lots of mushy food served in canteen conditions. Water in the mornings was tepid and did not improve despite the office being informed.

    Good location and well maintained grounds

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Resort needs to make its mind up about its name.When arriving was looking for Ocean Gate Resort ,found Ocean Gate Inn. Paperwork etc says Resort, sign outside says Inn.

    Breakfast was good and plentiful.Rec facilities were good. Staff always helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connectivity (WiFi and phone) was sketchy, which was actually a plus to really getting away!

    Our room was very comfortable, and, like other reviewers, we appreciated the two sinks. Views from everywhere are spectacular, the breakfast varied and plentiful, and the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful, so A++ for them!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited places to eat under 50 bucks for two. Area restaurant charges 9 bucks for each item on the child's menu ($9 hotdog) . Robinsons Wharf raised their prices on lobsters to over $32 for a single lobster. Too much for families to afford.

    Great breakfast but only have bacon once every three days. Pancakes and French toast cold, limited fruit selection. Rooms were very clean and have been recently updated, super location from rooms with excellent bay view. Best place to stay in Booth bay!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    my complaint was, the pipes rattled when your neighbor took their shower and such, you could hear.

    I thought the room was a little small compared to how the pictures appeared. it was clean and comfortable. views were good and surrounding were quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room although clean and spacious needed updating and it needed a dehumidifier. Rug felt wet and room smelled damp from being close to water. Our sink was blocked up and slider had a broken lock. They offered to try to change our room but it was an effort to move out once unpacked. They unclogged the drain and said to use the board in door for security. We did not like the response but overlooked it this time. If we decided to return perhaps another room in a different location would be better.

    The staff were fabulous friendly and accommodating. We loved the grounds breakfast and location of the resort

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping staff wasn't the best. Ex.left ice bucket filled with water in room. No attention to detail. Some fixtures a little old and should be replaced, ex. Sliding doors to terrace are hard to open and close.

    Beautiful facility, grounds and view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything needs to be updated. And families going with teenagers need to know usage of canoes are not allowed unless someone over 18 is in the canoe with the teenagers.

    View

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Management was HORRIBLY rude. Communication and organization between Booking.com and counter wasn't good, and Management response was terrible. I won't return for this reason. Visiting international staff, however, were great.

    Great Location and temporary staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The music at breakfast... need to change it up.

    Stayed (2) nights. Location was beautiful and felt secluded. Staff was kind and helpful. Breakfast was outstanding both mornings. So close to Boothbay Harbor activities!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is a little tricky and tight but this was the only downside to the entire facility.

    Wonderful full hot breakfast buffet, beautiful views, the bed was so amazing that spent an entire day lounging.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was wonderful, the location is gorgeous, our room was fantastic, the opportunity to kayak, play ping pong, mini golf, tennis, swim, canoe, local beaches, etc was great. Breakfast is fabulous!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had disgusting /terrible odor i.e. of a wet dog/animal urine - management indifferent to our complaint. Rooms very dark, dank and depressing. Entire place needs updating, especially beds/linens. Mini golf course looked rusty not rustic. Was not as pictured or described in any way!!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location....close to Botanical Gardens which was a fantastic take for us. Loved hot coffee and breakfast right at the top of the morning so we could get right into the day!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no bar. Thus, you always have to leave the hotel to get drinks.

    Location was beautiful. Kanu/Kajak for free. Great Pool and hottub. Close to great Restaurants. Amazing view from probably every room. Hotel faces northeast which lets you see great sunset. Even from within your room. One of the better breakfasts in america (still not as good as in Germany/Europe)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no light above the sink in the room; the room overall could have used more light.

    The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. The views were amazing! Staff was friendly! Liked that there was a sink in the bathroom and in the hotel room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better and bigger coffee maker. Microwave would be nice too. Room was a little outdated and so were the railings and stairs to our complex

    The view from our waterfront room. Located a short distance from booth bay downtown. Nice and quiet!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mini golf and play area could be updated.

    Breakfast included and the service was fantastic. I asked for new pillows and they were delivered to my room within 30 minutes. The pool was a pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was positive!

    Our room, which had a nice balcony overlooking the water and great pine trees, all the staff, starting with the main manager Frank, and all that we came in contact with. Also the services, the food, the coffee, the dining room and their staff. The grounds, and pool area, hot tub, everything was a great experience. And the other guests were very pleasant and friendly which was also a plus. There are families with children, but we knew that going there, and that was fine also. There is kayaking and canoeing, although we did not end up using them.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room seemed a bit musty, but overall not bad.

    The room had a great view. The pool was clean and great fun, along with other things offered. Also relaxing stay. The breakfast was very good, and the location was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome waterfront but wooded location. Teen aged sons loved the access to kayaking on salt water and fresh water fishing on pond. Nice pool! Full delicious buffet breakfast with hot coffee! Adults will love the vibrant but quaint neighborhood of waterfront restaurants with great seafood nearby!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was picturesque, property was well maintained, staff was very helpful and things to do close by. Will recommend this resort to family and friends for vacations.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a great place for families with young children. We were a group of adults with no children.

    This was an unexpected gem In Southport ME very convenient to Boothbay on a beautifu 3 mile drive from Boothbay center. Island location. Our room was right on the ocean with incredible sunset view and screened slider to private balcony. Free short kayak use, full breakfast included, beautiful pool and hot tub. Serene location and very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The balcony of our building had fake green turf for flooring and only fit two people. The area right below the room had a ton of seaweed. The breakfast, while included in the price, did not have much for fresh fruit, yogurt, etc.

    It was convenient having tennis courts, basketball, mini-golf (though old), and a pool and hot tub all very accessible. The pool area was very clean. Only ten minute drive to Boothbay. Staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    accommodation is at the bottom of a slope from the check-in area and one had to hike up to the pool, breakfast area, check in, etc.... Not a big slope but if one has a walking issue, it might be nice to know this.

    beautiful location, very nice furniture, bed comfortable enough, gorgeous view, canoeing, delightful pool!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom door hit toilet when 1/2 open....seasoned taters for breakfast?...my nurse had to lug the bags up the stairs-no elevator and they pay no attention to a booking.com request for 1st floor, per the Macedonian counter girl.

    lil' water view, nice hot tub and pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property needs an update and refurbishing. All furniture and fixtures are dated and well worn. The mini golf course needs a total redo.

    This was a great property for families. The pool was in good shape. Extras, such as mini golf and kayaking, are included.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connections were not very good. Even the pavilion wasn't always working and never got a reliable connection in our room.

    Room was comfortable and the views were spectacular!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only improvement would be on the breakfast buffet, eggs were watery and they served spam (mystery meat). Location and views were perfect. Rooms comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cell phone service from our room Lighting was poor

    Location on the water Breakfast was great Casual relaxing environment Music at breakfast!!! Price was reasonable Staff went above and beyond to be pleasant

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ocean Gate Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: