Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ocean View Hotel 3 stars

1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, Los Angeles, CA 90401, USA

#133 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 840 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a Deluxe Double room with Ocean View. The room 201 on the 2nd floor did not have a view of the ocean but had a view of a building across the avenue. The bar/disco next door keeps you awake until 2am. Balcony needs an upgrade. Has no food facilities and no bar.

    Location in Santa Monica on Ocean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Booking.com price didn’t include tax so we had to pay extra when we checked out which was not covered by what we paid Booking.com and was an unpleasant surprise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t really an issue until last night but there are a couple of late night bars that get busy on the weekend and noise was spilling onto the street slightly. Nothing too loud to keep awake however

    Note: LA Stop on California road trip; 3 nights. Aim: coastal LA 3 day chill with links to central LA. Great location on Santa Monica beach, minutes from beach and pier Valet parking is efficient $38.5 per day Ocean View Room - WOW! Great view and facilities within the room Beach towels available from reception $1283 for 3 nights late in the week June

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to pay the parking fee in addition to the hotel rate was a bit of a shock. Maybe that is to be expected in LA but I thought it was a bit excessive. thought we were getting 2 queen sized beds. that is OK as they were comfortable.

    clean rooms. nice towels. we really felt safe and secure. Staff was super friendly, possibly the most accommodating that we have had anywhere in a long time, from the valet, to the front desk to the Housekeeping professionals!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered a hotel by the beach with an oceanview and paid a lot extra for that! Our room was on the 4th, top floor. Well, just take a look at the photos and see the location and view for yourself. There is a long way to get to the beach (...the closest beach is under construction of some sort, perhaps for more parking lots). The parking at the hotel costs 38$ per night and is not included! We got our 7 nights parking for free because we did not at all get what we ordered and booking.com should totally be responsible for ruining our beach vacation!

    Nice clean hotel but not by the beach!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean and maintained, but it could use a little bit more detailing to bath corners and floors. It has some age so repainting has been done but it could be time for a full room reno. The view if the ocean is fantastic.

    The property is located in the middle of it all when it comes to Santa Monica beachside. You can grab great dining, the beach or a coffee in 10 minutes from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service - like when we asked for glasses, we had to go down to the lobby. Also, they were not glasses but paper cups used by the staffs. I guess they don’t have those since they do not have any dining area in the hotel.

    Location was the best.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was fabulous! That includes the valet parking staff. The hotel has fabulously views of the ocean and mountains. There were places to eat and shop everywhere. We were able to walk to restaurants for all our meals. I am very happy that I chose Ocean View Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not much coffee.no vent in bathroom.

    Comfortable bedding.very clean. Loved the thick towels and robe. Liked that snacks were there if u like. And the vallet parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room for sitting in each of the rooms we had.

    The local is fabulous!! Walking distance to great shopping and just as close to the beach. Loved it !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was weak. Would have been nice to be able to have breakfast in the hotel, but the hotel staff recommended a good place around the corner so not a big thing.

    Wonderful view of the beach and Ocean Avenue from the room and balcony. Tastefully decorated room and beautiful lobby. Very helpful staff. Parking on the premises was fast and effective. The location was perfect, very nice and safe area for walking and plenty of restaurants, pubs and cafes in within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful front desk staff. Being able to store luggage was also helpful since our flight was late at night. Area around the hotel was great for shopping, dining, strolling by the ocean and people watching. Glad we didn’t have a car to contend with.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was at 4:00, and that’s what time we had to wait for. A little unusual for us to have to wait to check in all the way to the check in time.

    Everything was good but the fellow in the garage when we got here was a big help with parking and getting us out of the garage with my big truck.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    way overpriced

    this is not a hotel. it is a room. no facilities, no services. fine if you are paying usd 200 a night, but we were expecting a lot more for the usd 425 per night we paid.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room over looked the parking area and when the bars closed it was very noise when people started up there motorcycles..

    Very convenient to the Santa Monica pier and many good place to eat all in walking distance from this Hotel.. the staff was very helpful and knowledgeable and above all they made us feel that we where important..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the bedroom was a bit dull

    The room was a great size as we had lots of luggage, and had everything you would need perfect location and all the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be great if the room set up was a queen and a double in the 2 bed rooms.

    Reception and the lobby facilities were great- little extras like tea and coffee maker and iced water- nice touch. Reception staff really helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable and a lot of noises were heard after hours- you can hear the neighbors tv through the wall. The remote didn’t work.

    The view and the location was second to none

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Best view ! Nearby a lot of restaurants for breakfast, dinner. Lovely place.The best place for morning activities - running, walking by the ocean. Near metro station (walking distance). Santa Monica is good choice to go LA, Malibu, Venice beach and stay in pleasent city by the ocean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free bottles of water in room.

    Staff was friendly and helpful on eating places close by. Loved the Kureg coffee pods! Watching the sunset over the ocean from the balcony was most peaceful and spectacular. We'll be back!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room whilst very nice internally was described as a courtyard view but I don't class a view of a car park a courtyard so that was disappointing. No photos of a courtyard room were displayed as it turns out. For the size of the bathroom a larger towel rack would have been better. There was no laundry only an expensive laundry service and also there was not a grocery store within walking distance. Yes it was on the esplanade but probably if you have a family and do not have a car whilst there you may be able to find something closer to a food store.

    We booked 2 rooms and both were lovely internally. The King room was very spacious and the bathroom with double shower was great. Also it isn't to far from the airport and we felt safe in Santa Monica the whole time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed, fabulous view of sunset over the ocean. Great location. And I got to my room to find a platter of cookies, macaroons and fruit as I'd been chosen for their guest of the day! Lovely gesture.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought everything was of a good standard and didn’t not like anything!

    The location was great and the room was very clean, comfortable and a good standard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property in located across the street from the beach and a few blocks from the pier. The room where very clean and comfortable with a rainfall shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking. Guy was not at desk all the time. He fiddled with controls in car , lights etc. No need to enforce valet parking in a place with a car park. Staff at front desk rude except for nice woman who has worked there for years, room key had to be updated twice.

    Nice decor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were wonderfully comfy, the staff was outstanding and the ocean view room definitely delivered. I absolutely loved the balcony and the stand up shower in the modern bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lock was broken to My balcony door The front door chain was broken. The fridge was full of items to buy instead of giving me room for my own items since traveling. If you offer a fridge I figured it would be usable like most hotels.

    The view and walking location to mall the pier and third street promenade. Parking attendant very nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid more for balcony, corner balcony was very small, hard to open door without hitting chair and had a hard time sitting comfortably. Would book again but would specify a ocean balcony not on the corner

    Location was great, staff was fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Santa Monica and surrounding areas will need to implement a strategy to assist with the number homeless as it will influence people's willingness to return or to recommend the destination.

    Sunsets over the water

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t that helpful, and my rate was suppose to be changed but that didn’t happen like the rep for booking.com said it was.

    Nothing really the trim was to small for the price that it cost.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    don't know

    Excellent location, Beautiful Views from balcony, Very helpful staff, Cleanliness of hotel was very good, Plenty of eating places nearby, Weather was perfect, :-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy due to the air extractors on the roof top. Also we had noises from the traffic.

    Central location and nice restaurants in neighbourhood.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a single dollar bill and a quarter in the same spot, tucked away by my vitamins and allergy medicine behind the TV, for 4 days and on the 5th morning the maids took it. It was in no way, shape or form presented as a tip. Little flys on the ceiling.

    front desk staff at night was the only positive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from the room was over the parking lot at the rear of the hotel. The cost, it was the most expensive hotel of our trip. There was no catering facilities, we had to walk a block to their sister hotel for breakfast. The hotel has no pool.

    The location is brilliant for the pier, shops and restaurants in Santa Monica. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, although not as big as some of the hotels we stayed in. They have valet parking, which was expensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really nothing here to report

    The room was very nice, We enjoyed watching the sunsets from our balcony! We had a great view of the beach! The staff was wonderful and we loved the warm cookies waiting for us in the evening! The lobby smells so good too, like a fresh breeze! The beach towels and water were a nice touch as well! The beds were very comfortable! Great location to the beach, restaurants and shopping!! Valet parking was very convenient. We felt very safe and had a wonderful time!! Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy at night ( from behind the hotel) and also air conditioner noisy

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Early check in was a huge bonus after a very long flight. Water, tea & coffee all day in reception a nice idea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Simple 3 star hotel for high price.We were downgraded from Oceanwiev to garage wiev/ noise from cars and staff trolleys early in the morning.Walls are not soundproof.TV was not working.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Nothing was a problem. Gave us an extra hour to check out. Stored our luggage as we had a later flight. Front desk staff always there to answer questions, all other staff greeted you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weekends get loud with music and noise from late party crowds, traffic jam noise, emergency services noise, price -for location be ready to pay more. Room offerings of snacks and drinks for premium price. Uneasy feeling of high turnover and rooms being used up a lot - with a concern on cleanliness.

    Location of the hotel, view, room service, running and biking paths next to ocean, ice cold water in lobby, room air conditioning, balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room nightclub noise at night and garbage collection at night . Parking facilities not free 38.5 per night no Resturant all food on delivery service . Air condition very old doesn't cover whole room .

    Location close to beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overnight valet parking was more expensive for guests than for a member of the public staying for the day. Why guests of a hotel have to pay to park there I DO NOT KNOW.

    Great location, we had a room with a sea view. Towels provided for the beach and complimentary sun cream.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi Hotel blocks more than accommodation amount in CC (They blocked during C/in an amount and upon c/out they took another amount from CC and the first blocked amount still didnt cancel)

    Location Easy access to parking area Room (big enough) Around the hotel shopping facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard room daesn't worth the prices. They have a internal view for a noise and all night busy valet parking. Only the front suites are good. Small bedroom. Too expensive for what they offer.

    Localization

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Over priced compared to what the hotel offers. Charges premium just for the location. Rooms are noise and the fact that the access to the rooms is through an open area made it prone to mosquitoes to get in. Got bit twice. Valet is only working till 10:30 PM (or 10:00 PM) after which, you need to get your key from the reception to get the car. Hotel lacks international standards of room service; for example, noticed that the toilet wasn't cleaned properly and when asked for a change of bed sheets; room service left the new sheets on my luggage and forgot to change it. Also, the AC vents were not clean which shows slight lack of maintenance. Complimentary water was not refilled everyday which is the minimum to expect for what is paid.

    In the heart of Santa Monica and very close to Santa Monica Pier (3 minutes walking). Close to the shopping mall that has everything and most restaurants deliver through Uber Eats. Quick access to main highway I-10 and about 45 minutes to Airport which is not bad for LA traffic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed having a pool Would like complimentary water after each clean not just for check in day only.

    Staff went above and beyond. So polite happy and professional Beds were good Location Stored bags before room avail and after check out

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially we had an ocean view room . We requested to change rooms at 11pm. The hotel is right next door to a bar that was playing very loud music . People were outside on the sidewalk dancing and screaming . It would of gone on all night long with the noise level .

    The location was close to the pier and the promenade

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have a few hiccups with the hotel. Locked me out of the hotel and my room, one time each. I was a bit annoyed as i had never been there and many homeless on the pier and it was pretty late. The Hotel staff took care of the situation and the hotel management was very apologetic an received a small discount. The do take care of you!

    The location was the best. Santa Monica pier was fun and entertaining. Great restaurants and bars around. Love the California weather!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like I paid more than I got. Rooms are not great. Needs renovation and are small. No room service.

    Location is great. Although some homeless people begging outside when I arrived.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only a few negative comments: 1. Loud music from the restaurant next to the hotel. The music was so loud that it was hard to fall asleep and would last until almost 1:00 in the morning. 2. The restaurant for the hotel is down the street at the main hotel. I thought it would be located inside this hotel. 3. I thought there was a work-out room and a swimming pool. They must also be located down the street at the main hotel.

    Great hotel, staff and valet parking. The bed and pillows are really comfortable. The hotel is across the street from the Santa Monica Pier.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    But flip side, it is in the heart of it all so if you're looking for a quieter get away...this may not be the location. That's my fault for not researching.

    Friendly staff, clean rooms and accessible to a ton in the area. Good central location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy from outdoor traffic, but we expected that considering the location. So it wasn't a deal breaker for us. But, it would have been nice to have vending machines available. I had children traveling with me.

    We loved the location! And the staff were very friendly and accommodating!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price and beds were small. Also it isn't on the beach...its across the street. I paid $400 for a night. I thought I'd have a view.

    Walking distance to the beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning unit was old and very noisy.

    The location was excellent right across from the beach, close to shopping, dining, and bars. The hotel was very clean and modern and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I CANNOT FAULT THIS HOTEL ITS INCREDIBLE

    AMAZING!!!!!! I have stayed in 3 different hotels in Santa Monica now and I would only recomend this one and I would 100% go back to this one every time. It's modern, clean, amazing bathroom/bed, Friendly staff, Safe(you need a room key to work the elevators), Free cookie every day at 4pm, Comfortable Bed, safe in room, free wifi, free use of the computer and printing, it's LITERALLY across the road from the beach/santa monica peir. 2 blocks away from the Promenade. INCREDIBLE HOTEL! can't fault it at all. we arrived at 11am and check in isn;t untill 4pm, they took a note of our name and our number, we ended up being checked in early. They also don't look like they have a lot of parking when you first drive in but it's valet parking and they have a lot of parking for your car so that was a worry for me at first but it was perfect. Expensive hotel but 100% worth it for the location and how gorgeous the hotel is.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing location to Santa Monica Pier, Venice Beach via the Hulu Bikes and Santa Monica shopping / dining centre. Great view from our room and surprisingly quiet considering the busy location. Very comfortable room with quality bedding. Friendly and accommodating staff. We'd definitely stay again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs Better upkeep of building . Needs better AC. So many homeless and mentally ill people across the street.. one was shouting obscenities in front of my grandchildren. No pool. Hotel refused to give me senior rate even though it was available . Very over priced for what you get. We had no view of the ocean at all.

    The valet attendant was very prompt.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a noisy room but not all rooms would have that, we were just unlucky to get a room facing an ally.

    The location was awesome and the Hotel has been tastefully renovated. The room was large with a great bed and pillows. Our only issue was our room looked out on an ally and the establishments started throwing bottles etc in the bin before 7am so a lot of load bangs and no sleep in. We were in walking distance to a lot of things, 5 minute walk to Santa Monica Pier, 3rd street Shopping and 30 minute walk to muscle beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We booked a room above the courtyard, it was sometimes a little noisy but the room was lovely. Hotel had apparently not long been renovated.

    Hotel is ideally located for Santa Monica, opposite the Pier. Right in the hub of everything. Rooms are really lovely, serviced everyday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy - the courtyard is actually the entrance to the car park and noise revertarates around the central area. Poorly insulated rooms especially when compared to the cost of the room.

    Good size room and bathroom

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit noisy because of main street, it would be great to have double windows. Bathroom was not so new, water gets out from the sink to the floor. So many homeless and strange people around, did feel safe.

    Very close to the beach, very comfortable bed, hotel is undergoing renovation but mostly outside. Room was ok with ocean view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed were actually to hard for my spine. Not all reservations made via Booking.com (eg. ocean view room) guarantee that guest will received this exact room (we received backyard view room). Hotel staff offered free valet parking etc but we booked at Ocean View and not eg. Shore or The Georgian because of OV's better price value for ocean view room (and not because of possible free valet parking or bonus mini bar usage).

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Traffic! No Fault of the Facility or staff.

    I enjoyed A very comfortable Bed, very clean, awresome view and an Amazingly Professional Staff and Facilities..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was sad was not able to get a Ocean View, but happy they were able to fix date. It was windy and we had Court/parking entrance balcony. The winds going through the courtyard was very loud due to the structure. But we understood that was not easy ro control. Person or room above us was slightly noisy, heavy feet and sounded like they were dragging furniture but it did not lastlong. And last, there did not appear to be a place on sight to eat, but places close by and staff recommended a great place that gave us discount with room key.

    Very clean. Great staff. Made a mistake on booking date and staff accomodated us and booking company to fix. Really helped us in a pinch. Really appreciated them helping us at last minute.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is very expensive.

    Nice hotel with friendly staff. Clean rooms, new equipment. Great location. We had an "Ocean View Room", it has a small balcony with an indeed nice, unobstructed view to the beach. Affordable public parking in less than 5 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony is small. There is no bar or restaurant on the premises but they are building one.

    Location, location, location. The property is located easy walking distance (under 5 min) from Santa Monica Pier and Venice Beach. It is also around the corner from the mall and basically one block from Pacific Coast hwy which will get you to Malibu and Santa Barbara. We booked the Ocean view with balcony and had coffee there every morning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor attention to detail regarding cleanliness of room. Bedspreads needed laundering. Coffee pods, etc were not restocked.

    The location was excellent. Great ocean views but the traffic noise kept us awake at night. We really appreciated the coffee machine in our room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no drinking glasses in the room. There was no shampoo, no soap. The room had hair on the bathroom floor and in the shower. There was sand on the floor in the main room. Did not know if we had WIFI cause we were not told anything. Paid more for an upgraded room but don't know what we got for that.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a kettle in the room to make a cup of tea would've been nice, but I understand most US hotels dont have one

    Great location Comfy beds good shower water pressure

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple of times there was no one on reception. Very small room, cold corridors, no coffee facilities in room. Only tea in reception. Very expensive.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No restaurant/bar in the hotel, which is fine because you are within walking distance to everything in Santa Monica.

    No nonsense rooms which is preferable. Air works, bed was comfortable, there was coffee and TV and an ironing board. What more do you really need? Also, the location is absolutely incredible.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coffee machine didn't work. Get a small drip pot instead. Would have liked a small bar which served continental breakfast.

    room bright and cheerful. Clean great location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't recommend this hotel to anyone. Damaged equipment. Chairs had stains. Rips in the upholstery. Cracks in the ceiling. Stains on the walls. The staff just keeps smiling and ignoring issues. When asked how everything was at check-out I said not that good and the ladies response was, "Ok. Thanks for staying with us." Also, you can drive into the valet and park your car for 10 dollars a day. When you are not a guest there. But guests have to pay 33 dollars a day to park there. Does this make sense to anyone?

    The view from the balcony.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No amenities at all... very over priced.. also late check in even after requesting a early one for my birthday was that day..

    Hotel was clean... no facilities what so ever and VERY Over priced for what it is.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant on site. It can be noisy and i this the location isn't so good for children (someone was vomiting outside and cars parked outside revved their engines non stop). The beds are tiny so don't expect to feel comfortable sharing beds.

    Very good location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too expensive! The location was good but for us was just a waste of almost $400 for one night and one night parking. The hotel has no kitchen so that was just for sleeping. The location is great and I assume the view to the pier is great, cuz we didn't pay for it so for us was just a waste of money.

    Location Comfort

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ocean View Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: