Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Milo Santa Barbara 3 stars

202 West Cabrillo Boulevard, West Beach, Santa Barbara, CA 93101, USA

#41 of 71 hotels in Santa Barbara

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1329 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Paid WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Se enjoyed the wine casting from 4-6 upon our arrival.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They failed to tell us there AC was not working at the time, the room felt stuffy, we needed more air circulating in the room. I also requested a tub for 2, they failed to tell me they didnt have one.

    Se enjoyed the wine casting from 4-6 upon our arrival.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Great staff and location, but property needs upgrades.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property needs renovation. The walls are paper thin, no sound barrier plus the bed was very uncomfortable. Didn’t get much sleep. For price, would choose another hotel in the future.

    Fantastic location and friendly staff. Wine tasting is a nice touch and very relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Our stay was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was just OK. Hotel undergoing renovations and our room didn’t have AC. Would have been nice if we were informed during check in.

    Walking distance to the beach and State Street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The parking is a bit expensive at $30 a night, however, if you read the parking signs on the street behind the hotel, on W. Mason, you can park on the hotel side of the street from Sunday at 3:30PM to Wednesday at 9AM, and then again from noon Wednesday to 11:30AM Saturday morning. It is a bit tricky, but it saved us a few dollars. Just make sure to read the signs, the other side of the street is resident only. We were there over the busy 4th of July week and had no problem finding a spot to park on the street.

    The location and staff are amazing. Our room, 115 was large and very comfortable, it even had two sofas. The design and décor of the rooms and the hotel are really nice. There are six buildings, so I suggest taking a look at the property map on the hotel website and requesting a room where you want it. We had 5 rooms total and all of them were great. The staff really are great, super friendly and helpful. All of the rooms have outdoor seating areas, which is really nice. Some of them are tables and chairs, some have a fire pit, and other areas have outdoor couches. There are lots of really nice areas to relax in around the hotel. We traveled with a family of 13 people and the kids had a great time at the hotel. There is so much to do right by the hotel. I think the location is perfect. We also had our dog with us and it was perfect for her. There is a park between buildings 1 and 2 that dogs play in, and the hotel is very dog friendly. The hotel charges $35 (plus taxes) a night for a pet. The hotel is working on getting all of the A/C's up and running, and right now buildings 1 and 4 are the only ones with A/C. We had a couple of fans in our room though and it worked out fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was extremely high, I think it would be valid if there was an onsite bar or restaurant or perhaps a snack bar for the daytime when your at the pool

    Location is excellent Pools are nice Relaxing outdoor seating areas all around the property Wine tasting is a nice touch Breakfast choice is plentiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.6
    Good location but not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we get to the room ,we didn’t like it at all ,very old and smelly they move us to a better room but only for That night beacose that room was booked for next day so we have to leave the hotel

    When we get to the room ,we didn’t like it at all ,very old and smelly they move us to a better room but only for That night beacose that room was booked for next day so we have to leave the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    I'd come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids at front desk failed to tell us about the free breakfast, and free bicycles. Our room keys kept failing.we figured it all out on our last day. Frustrating.

    Room comfortable. Great location. Safe. Nice mattress. Good tv. Pool. Coffee in room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    Front of beach location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. My room smelled like super chlorinated pool - Cleaning product smell was so strong, we had to leave the door open most of the night and day. Still woke up with my throat tasting of chlorine smell. 2. There was so many dust bunnies flying around under the bed and closet. 3. Carpet looked old and dirty. 4. Bathroom tiles were old, and grouts were so old, dirty and black, and corners of the bathroom looked gross. There were stains on the bottom of the bathtub that probably couldn’t be cleaned. 5. Motel quality room for $582 for one night. Resort fee didn’t include parking, which was additional $30/day.

    Front of beach location was good. L’Occitane products were good. Included breakfast nice. Easily made same day reservation for a last minute stay. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Peace and Relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My devices would not connect to the WiFi. It wasn't a big deal and I'm sure it could have been fixed with a quick call to the front desk, but we survived without it. Honestly it made the experience that much better because we weren't glued to our devices,

    I loved the location of the facility. They are in walking distance from the beach/pier as well as numerous restaurants and wineries. They had a lot of places for you to sit and socialize with your party or other guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Classy and Beautiful staying at The Milo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel charges a "resort fee" like mostly every other hotel in Santa Barbara. I think they should offer parking on it. The hotel charges 30 dollars a day for parking which I found a little bit overprice. This hotel has too many buildings and one detail I believe they are missing is that there is not a single water dispenser for you to take a cup of water just for refreshing. There is one when you breakfast and another one by the gym. If you guys are offering coffee and tea by the lobby, dont you think you should offer some cold water? Just an idea. I had to ask for a cup of water and a girl from front desk gave it to me from the manager office. Weird.

    Five Star review for a Five Star Hotel. Best location in Santa Barbara! We got there earlier for check-in and Dana at front desk helped us very quickly and with really nice & professional attitude. The hotel is beautiful with really nice amenities. Breakfast is good and generous. The rooms are quite big, nicely decorated and well designed. On the bathroom, the hotel provides L'Occitane products which my wife really appreciated that kind of detail. Everything is wonderful. Make sure you grab one of the bikes (included) and bike around Santa Barbara

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful - Bed was lovely and comfy and would recommend to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fridge was a bit noisy and we had to unplug it every night to get to sleep. We mentioned it to the hotel staff so I am sure that would be sorted out. Breakfast could be better if they offered more than the continental option but it was absolutely fine for 4 days.

    The Hotel is a short 5 minute walk from the Pier and State Street with all the shops and restaurants. Location is perfect and is a very big hotel but it still feels homey.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location and it’s pet friendly, however, walls are too thin and very noisy
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must pay $30 fee for Valet parking per night, must pay $25 Amenity fee per night, walls are too thin, very noise from upstairs where you can hear people walking and talking, bit overpriced for the condition of the room.

    Pet friendly, nice simple breakfast, free bike rental, toiletries, wine tasting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exterior doors and corridors give the impression the hotel it shabby even though the rooms are not

    Close to the beach. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Beds and linen were very comfy. The staff however were the best thing of all. Very accommodating, patient and helpful. Chris provided exceptional service as did Dalton.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had one problem with housekeeping, but it was resolved to our satisfaction.

    Bike riding on waterfront bike path across the road; simple but good continental breakfast; terrific location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.0
    Love Aanta Barbara
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction noise early in morning. Bathroom extremely small. Was offered other room but my friend didn’t want to change.

    Hotel experience in all was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice having the Santa Barbara experience, the wharf, the zoo, the walk/ride up and down State St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were under the impression that we would be getting a room with an ocean view as the ad shows. (See picture) That was not our view! From our room we could just barely see the ocean as it was behind a courtyard.

    The room was nice but we don't have much to compare it to as we don't normally spend over $270.00. However since we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary we thought it would be worth it just being in beautiful Santa Barbara. Having Sunday brunch at the iconic El Paseo Restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Location, Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rough bath towels, it felt like I was using a old stale towel. Good thing, I brought my own!

    Location, Location! 👍Great friendly, and helpful staff! Turn down service, is a plus! Restaurant on site. Great food, good prices, spectacular view and ambiance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean around the pool and seating areas. The staff was okay nothing to wow about. The continental breakfast was bare minimum. Ice machines only in pool areas

    Clean rooms Ocean front Lots of grass area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Restaurants were close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were awoken by maids in room next to us early. The neighbors door (evidently) only closed by slamming it, on the other side of us. Valet parking only was inconvenient.

    Restaurants were close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    STAY HERE! Great location, great rooms and views. Worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We tried to go to the hot tub but there were 12 people in it already, as you would expect with a larger hotel. Everything else was great.

    This hotel is amazing. Nice staff and offered a happy hour drink upon arrival. Valets were really nice as we kept having to grab stuff from our car. The room was AMAZING. I think we had the best view in the complex, felt like we had a private beach cottage. Right on the water, right next to the urban wine trail and great restaurants. They have free bikes so we took those out to see the town. Free continental breakfast with so many delicious options. I cannot recommend enough, I was blown away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    Underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional amenity fee of $25 per night for breakfast, internet, wine tasting and the bathroom toiletries, only parking available was valet and was $30. Breakfast was very poor, limited options and the staff had a tip jar out when they had not even showed us to our seats. Our shampoo was empty and was not replaced. Our room was in a block by the gym and we were not offered assistance with our luggage. Hotel looks like a half done up motel.

    Free wine tasting as part of the amenity fee of $25 between 4pm and 6pm daily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Located by beach and all restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have go vending machines for comes or snacks. There water bottles to buy are over priced.

    Located by beach and all restaurants. Lady’s are nice in front and made out stay enjoyable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    Very nice staff but for price of room expected more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only 2 towels in room. Had to request more. Did not provide washcloths after requesting them. 25 dollar guest fee was a surprise and desk said it was in "fine print". Coffee urn empty Monday morning in lobby.Took time to replace. Then no cream. No filtered ice water available in lobby. Specifically asked for a credit card to be used that we gave desk second day of visit. Did not want the card presented at check in to be used. Assured this would happen however at check out they used first card.

    Very friendly staff upon arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    We'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The included breakfast was delicious. They had a book in the lobby with recommended wineries and restaurants which were excellent. Very helpful and friendly staff. Location can't be beat. Absolutely beautiful and clean grounds. Dog friendly!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a beautiful and delightful hotel. The room we received was absolutely exceptional and had a full view of the beach. The entire staff was friendly and attentive. I will definitely be back to Hotel Milo, hopefully sooner rather than later.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Loved the hotel and all amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that parking was not included in hotel cost and that there was an unexpected service charge per day.

    Loved the hotel and all amenities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing. Would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn’t working In the room and while it wasn’t especially hot outside, the room was warm and stuffy. No one came to clean the room until 4 o clock, although we had been out all day. They wanted to clean just as we arrived to get ready to go out for the evening. The room seemed on the old and dingy side.

    The check in people were very friendly along with the valets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location, friendly efficient staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked hot eggs and bacon for breakfast, otherwise, it was a good variety of cold foods. Didn’t like the extra $25/day amenity fee since we didn’t want pools or fitness room etc. - this should be optional.

    Room was perfect for us and the dog - ocean view, light and bright, quiet even though it was close to the road. Well located for wharfs and beaches. We were allowed to leave the dog in the room (as long as he didn’t bark) - big plus for us in the evenings. Plenty of good outdoor patio tables for wine tasting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend to anyone,but this is not a cheap hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall cost once all taxes had been put on.I am a Brit.

    Excellent service throughout.Location was perfect.Staff were very helpful,and always happy to answer any queries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.0
    The property had some constructions and they started at 6 am...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property had some constructions and they started at 6 am with horrible noise, terrible views with construction materials. Also the staff didn’t had our room available and when it was ready they gave us the wrong one. Very disappointed. Not worth the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Ramim at the front desk was a life saver.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Milo Mini Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator

    Ramim at the front desk was a life saver. He went above and beyond to help us stay within our budget and made an uncomfortable 2am situation fun. Thank you!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.2
    If you don't want to overpay for your room, and then be nickle & dimed to death, don't stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with bunk bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is truthfully the worst value I've ever come across for a hotel stay. The room, which was a "family suite" that was supposed to sleep six, was essentially a normal sized hotel room with a bunk bed shoved into a space the size of a closet, for nearly $600/night!! On top of the already outrageous price, Booking.com and Hotel Milo failed to mention that there was a $35 PER NIGHT fee for our dog, a $25 PER NIGHT "amenities fee" (we didn't use any of their amenities, and an outrageous $30 PER NIGHT automatic valet charge. Our room was about a block away from the main lobby, so in order to use the valet service, we had to walk a block to get to our room. Awful value; they nickle & dime you to death, and - to top it off - they charged my credit card twice and have yet to rectify that after multiple attempts.

    The art work and decor in our room was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff was great, location is great- love the outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have a bar or small restaurant area available, but the happy hour and wine sales area is a great option.

    Staff was great, location is great- love the outside amenities and happy hour!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv controller didn’t work. Door to restroom was stuck. Faucet hard to open. Room was tiny had hard to use the toilet. Couldn’t turn on fan light with out the fan coming on. Breakfast was horrible. Was not asked when checking out how was our stay..,,...

    Location and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s quite noisy at times. Noise & ruckus starts early in the morning & it’s annoying. But other than the noisy-ness, stay was great.

    Room with balcony was amazing & I’m so thankful for the beautiful balcony & ocean view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Excellent day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ramin, Jessica, Jason, Chris, Serapina were all great customer service agents. Jason with the parking gave great info. Ramin,Jessica,Chris,Serapina were great at wine taste, great info on events in town and resturants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Simple wonderful 😊
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra charges like $30 a day for parking and $25 a day for use of bikes and other amenities that if you didn’t use you would still get charge, which I didn’t agree with.

    The staff are very welcoming and friendly, the area how close to state street and the peir. The fire pits that where all over the property so enjoyable, the complementary breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    One night to attend a family event. Ended up spending over $500.00. Not a good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Milo Mini Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very small, noisy and had no privacy. Acoustics are such that I could hear the guests on the floor above me walking around. Bed was marginally comfortable.

    The staff was friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    The hotel looks 4 star outside but felt like a cheap motel inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cheapness and age of the furniture and fixtures in the room were quite unexpected in contrast to the gorgeous exterior of the property

    Location was amazing. Property is stunning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.6
    Wish have chosen another hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They gave me a room where the air conditioning was broken, the room was very cold and wet so I asked to the reception to solve the problem. They said me that they could give me a blanket....for 300 $ per night!!!! I ask to change the room and finally I had a room very tiny and near the warehouse....in my opinion the hotel has a poor value for money, I won't come back.

    The gym and the breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bill was higher than that quoted through Booking.com. After getting back home I contacted Booking.com and the money was eventually refunded (for which many thanks) but would be nice for the quotes you receive from Booking.com to be honoured first time by the hotel concerned. To be fair, this is the first and only time it has ever happened with Booking.com.

    Fantastic hotel and location - highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff was extremely friendly and greeted us with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely small.

    Staff was extremely friendly and greeted us with a complimentary glass of wine which we enjoyed outside at the several fireplaces the hotel had. The hotel was walking distance to the beach and pier. Loved being able to use the hotels bikes to ride around Santa Barbara.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    We won't return due to the undisclosed mandatory valet parking and accompanying $30 fee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    have stayed at this hotel before and loved it. However, this time we found a mandatory valet parking and for a charge of $30 dollars. We asked the front desk if we could avoid the valet service for we don't like other people driving our car (rather exotic). The front desk staff tried to get an exception for us, but no deal. We will not be staying at this motel again as long as they have this mandatory valet services. And as far as your company is concerned, you never noted this additional charge in our booking! It shakes our support for your service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    This was our first time being in Santa Barbara and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our first time being in Santa Barbara and we couldn't be happier with our stay at Hotel Milo. We planned a one night stay as we were driving down the coast and it was so beautiful, we decided to stay a second night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely place, location and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking inside the hotel area was under valet, didn't expect that and they charge quite expensive (with the fact that we parked it ourselves).

    Very kind and friendly staff. Location is very near to the beach and the pier but a bit far to the city centre. Room is quite vintage but very comfortable and spacious. Enjoyed the beach view sitting on the patio area during breakfast. We went around the beach area with the free bike rent and it was a great experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Excellent stay couldn’t have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel. 5*. Pictures do not do this hotel justice. Beautiful grounds, room and views. Hotel is on the beachfront literally across the road. We got upgraded for free to a deluxe queen room. Four adults staying in one room very spacious. Luxury toiletries to use. Couldn’t have asked for anything better. $25 amenity fee completely reasonable based on lovely continental breakfast, good with lovely tables outside on seafront; and super fast WiFi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Love love loved our stay
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I didn’t like was that the Ice machine was all the way in the pool area.

    Right across from the beach/pier. Beautiful architecture. Downtown Santa Barbara is a few minutes away on bike ride or car ride. Love the location and views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists were useless they didn’t even know what a glass was!! The breakfast staff all just stood around chatting

    The location, the fire bowls and the planting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.3
    The staff at registration were friendly and the hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no place to park for longer than 90 minutes without using the $30 valet, and the room was down the street passed businesses. The cart of luggage was rolled down the sidewalk for a block. There was no elevator. We and the valet guy carried the suitcases up the stairs. Our room was noisy from the street with cars and yelling of someone having a verbal fight.Do not recommend. Paid almost $500 total!!!!!!!

    The staff at registration were friendly and the hotel was across the street from the water and the wharf. It is not on the beach.The room was on the corner of an old building with dirty steps but a view of water across the street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Great spot cute hotel. Would de come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet. For 30.00 you’d think they could maybe assist with lifting luggage into your car. But nope it’s simply to retrieve the car and park it. Oh and pillows on the bed could use a replacement.

    The Hotel and grounds are awesome. Location cannot be beat, and the breakfast is just perfect to start your day. Beach right across the street and state street with restaurants and shoppers a couple blocks away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.6
    The breakfast option was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The valet was rude, the room we got was (The front desks persons Favorite) issue was: too loud due to corner unit with people smoking cigarettes and coughing, bathroom was run down and missing shower door. Overall, not worth the money, location was good.

    The breakfast option was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.4
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with bunk bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost was high for overall condition of the hotel

    Good location. Hotel in average condition. Rooms were small but bed was comfortable. Facilities were average. Cost was high for overall standard of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    A pleasurable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been better if there is a bidet in the toilet. Also, the pillows were too soft for my liking.

    I liked the place overall. Very clean, safe. Accommodations more than I expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Great Weekend Getaway For Two, Bit Pricey, But Was Planed On The Fly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit annoying paying the valet fee of $30 twice(once for the two days would have been totally agreeable, however $60, is a bit much when we walked 85% of the time) no other parking options where made available too us or even mentioned. The continental breakfast was standard other than being bused, so marketing it as deluxe is a rather misleading.

    The staff where all very friendly. The location and quite/ beautiful atmosphere of the property where the best parts. The room was nice, not too cramped or stuffy, we enjoyed the view of the park next too the hotel and the fire pit on the balcony. I also made a special request when placing the reservation for a Birthday note to be left in the room for my boyfriend. Not only was a very sweet card left but also a bottle of wine that was great enjoy, it made the weekend even more special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.0
    we will never stay here again or recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with bunk bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff not pleasant upon arrival. I requested extra blankets at time of booking and ended up having to call for more blankets at bedtime which took close to 45 min for them to be delivered. Grounds seemed unkept, no towels at pool area both times we were there, mandatory valet makes no sense as our building was on far end of hotel and we had to end up walking to our room so our car could be valet parked right outside our room $30 per day. Alcove in the Family Suite MUCH smaller than website photos. The website also says occupancy is 6-should be more like max of 4.

    Continental breakfast was good-better than expected. Hair/body care products provided were high end.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Good place but too much money for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upset about $25/person/day "Guest amenity" charge that was not shown on Booking.com webpage (or at least nowhere obvious); rooms smaller than they appear in photos; many young children occupying hot tub until late evening made it hard for us to enjoy; beach in front of hotel is industrial, ugly, you cannot swim there.

    Beds were excellent, super comfy; breakfast was excellent, great coffee, good variety of healthy foods; front desk staff very friendly and helpful; great location close to main State street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    We booked what we understood to be a $300/night room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We originally booked a large/more expensive room and that was changed over the phone, none of the documentation was kept and we were ultimately charged incorrectly.

    We booked what we understood to be a $300/night room and have been charged incorrectly. We are very disappointed with how this has worked between Booking.com and the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    unimpressive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived to find the amenities Fee was compulsory, we didn’t want breakfast, having known there was a $50 increase we may have stayed elsewhere. The Breakfast was poor and with no where to sit, did not resemble the photos. A dirty robe was left in our room, and the room was dusty, there was no complementary water. The coffee station was always empty of supplies. The staff were not hugely helpful, on their mobiles a lot of the time. The wine tasting as part of the amenities fee, wasn't great. there was one red to try and was served from a ice bucket. when booking it said the bikes were free, we could only have this as part of the amenities fee.

    The bed was comfy, and the décor was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    If it was $100 per night cheaper, I probably wouldn't be writing this
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Milo Mini Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were thin. Decor a bit dated. Noisy fridge in room. Weird 2" metal step into the bathroom which i stubbed my toe on. Impersonal service. $30 for parking.

    It's centrally located. The bed was comfortable. Sea views, if you can afford them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Blah
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not thrilled with hidden cost that I learned upon arrival. $25/day/person for amenities and $30/day for valet (no self park option). The room itself had mechanical issues. We never figured out the thermostat and gave up. We had already had someone up to deal with a high-pitch squeak from the tv (which they fixed).

    Location was wonderful with easy access to the ocean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.4
    I don't think I would
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Milo Mini Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was placed in a room closer to the street( 205) I know it was an upgrade from my original room I booked, and I appreciate that but the room was very noisy, and the breakfast was very basic. You shouldn't say that you offer breakfast at all in my opinion.

    I liked the location is close to the main town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Accommodating Staff
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls too thin. Lol!

    The staff was friendly and very accommodating to our needs. We had a wedding party that needed room to change with AC/heat and the staff was kind enough to expedite cleaning rooms in order for that to happen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    I liked the overall environment of the hotel, especially the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the size of the bathroom and that when in the shower, when you’re neighbor is showering at the same time, the water turned super cold when it was nice.

    I liked the overall environment of the hotel, especially the fire pits, and close location to State St.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    We can recommend Milo to others👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy from early morning, when the big cars/trucks came to empty the litter etc and use the garage. It was just outside our bedroom. It was also very noisy when our neighbors used their front door, sounded like they had to slammer it to get it closed.

    The closeness to both beaches and town. Bicyclerent on the premises was perfect - and the winetasting in the afternoon was great. We also enjoyed the pool- especially on our first day, when it was a bit windy - and the gym. When we discovered the amenity fee of $25 pr room pr night - that was not on our booking nor infomed us about (but «Free internet og free breakfast»), Dana, the receptionist, took it off our bill. Thanks, Dona!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice pillows, nice shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor coffee choice in room, Hot water from sink took forever to get hot, where as the shower was instant. Bottom sheet should be FITTED, not flat, where it comes apart easily. Would be nice to have a small table and chairs for a place to sit up to eat. $30 a day parking fee seems excessive.

    Nice pillows, nice shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Overall, it was a wonderful and therapeutic experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower and ironing board was to small to properly iron my clothes.

    The view of the ocean, complimentary bikes and breakfast, wine tasting and the staff was so professional!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.3
    I liked the location and the free breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was too small the room was pretty small and needed repairs or improvements. Linens were old.

    I liked the location and the free breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Super comfy bed, room was large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super comfy bed, room was large. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free wine tasting in front of fire on patio was heaven.... staff even brought us out a blanket. Free bike rentals were fun. Location was as good as it gets!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Great place to experience Santa Barbara for a quick UCSB college tour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are "European sized". Bathrooms were small and a bit cramped. I didn't realize that one of the rooms we reserved was on the second level. Didn't like having to haul our suitcases up the stairs. Didn't like passing by the storage containers on the walk to our building.

    Loved being able to walk right across the street to the beach! Great proximity to UC Santa Barbara for a college tour. Charming boutique hotel. Liked the sunny, busy breakfast room with yummy options. Facilities looked great although our stay was so short we didn't get to check out all the common areas.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Free use of hotel bikes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 30$ valet parking each day.

    Free use of hotel bikes. The heated pool. Good breakfast but Nothing hot and limited for the kids . Really great fitness center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Almost entirely positive and would certainly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelling from the UK the rate was quite expensive for us although that’s a symptom of the poor exchange rate more than anything else. My main criticism is the $30 a day valet parking charge. Exorbitant. We parked on the street for free and saved $120.

    Fabulous location. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Hotel Milo is in a great position for city shopping and the beach. Good but no frills hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room heating was not available and it did get quite cold mornings and evenings. The extractor and bathroom heater fan was dreadfully noisy and you could here similar from other rooms. This needs to be urgently addressed.

    Very polite and helpful staff. Clean rooms. Simple but perfectly adequate breakfast (continental style).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Lazy staffers, great location, charming hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the BS charge for a one hour late checkout and the lack of proactive assistance upon our arrival. When we arrived two people staffed the front desk and the one valet was occupied parking a vehicle. Neither person at the desk offered to help with luggage or figuring out where to park despite several requests for assistance. Lazy and inattentive behavior on their part.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location and I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were pretty tight, but still nice. The shower door is not a full shower door, but the shower head was nice. There were issues with AC and heating system do to power issues with the SB Fire. Walls are very thin and you can hear everything around you. Luckily it was fairly quiet.

    Really cool vibe. Young and friendly staff. Great location across the street from the beach. They had a nice wine happy hour and the breakfast, although simple was good. Rooms were comfortable and the tv was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    3.3
    Very disappointing for our first night in California after leaving 44 below ! Awful............
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Travelled all the from Canada to be put in a room across a back alley! No face cloths no hand towels few was of a hedge. Rooms very small no closet the room was smaller then my bedroom at home this for over 200 a night! Breakfast was also not great and you are charged 25per person weather you eat it or not NO CHOICE!! The next night was spend up the coast same price balconey over ocean room and bathroom over 2x the size. This should not be given the rating it has. Parking is joke 30 dollar charge to park your car 4 spaces from your room off the back lane NEVER AGAIN!!! Please do not waste your time and money!

    NOTHING!

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: