Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Oceana Beach Club Hotel 5 stars

849 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, Los Angeles, CA 90403, USA

#76 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 401 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Kitchenette Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They didn't have things in the kitchen to use but had a kitchen. It smelled funny when we first got there.

    It feels like home. It is a great place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lanai Kitchenette Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel is by the Ocean Avenue so some rooms are noisy. My room from the back side fortunately was very quiet.

    Location is great, just by the ocean (across the street). Spacious, super relaxing suites. I loved them! Relatively small hotel, patio perfect to rest and relax. Friendly and helpful staff. Overall exceptionally relaxing stay. I definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location and beautiful boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Amazing and comfortable bed Beachy decor which was super cute and really nice sized room We had a room overlooking the ocean which was beautiful and was great to be able to see the LA marathon from the room! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    the location was close to the Santa Monica beach area.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The value for the price is not great, for the price I would have expected more. I stayed because of a class was being held here. but the room is really over priced for what you get. If you want to eat out be prepared to walk a good distance. the charge to park the car was $50 per night which is highway robbery or you park on the streets which has non user friendly hours for parking if you can find it.

    the location was close to the Santa Monica beach area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    4.2
    terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel pre-authorized a great deal of money and still haven't released deposit for one month after checking out; and charged me lots of money for breakfast although my room included breakfast package

    nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay at Santa Monica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was huge with a separate sitting and dressing room. The bed was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful . All round - a lovely boutique hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel, great location, friendly staff and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had a noisy pipe that woke us up in the night.

    Great location far enough walk from the shops and pier in a quieter location. The staff are really friendly and our room was a great size with everything new need. They have a great text communication service called ivy that makes sure your stay is good and any problems you report to.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, homey luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furniture and soft furnishings needed replacing - some of the soft furnishings were quite soiled.

    The bed was sooo comfortable. Great mattress and beautiful linens. Pure luxury. My son loved the chess/games table - something different. Service was friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable trendy hotel with a perfect location but not service wise not worth the peice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Kitchenette Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old Kitchen, balcony off bedroom was ridiculous!!!!! It was like a small closet with no view. Breakfast expensive and not very good with 30 minute wait for one pancake. Not much originality on breakfast choices especially for an LA beach hotel... if I stayed again, i would eat elsewhere. Front desk staff totally arrogant ( female front desk staff)

    Rooms quite comfortable- Nice bedroom and bathroom- we had a suite. Nice pool area Veey relaxing setting Bellmen/ valet parking staff were very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Room was comfortable and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculously expensive parking (free street parking is to the right of the building).

    Room was comfortable and spacious. Good facilities, e.g. Warm pool, bikes for hire. Location was great on the pier front.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel in peacefull location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Awfull in room dining. Ordered pasta with meatballs - worse meatballs ever:) Choice of food in the late evening for in room dinning very poor (only 4 to choose from) There was some machine (AC or sth similiar) that was turning on and off every hour few times making it very annoying during the night. Felt like the room was shaking a bit and noise was disturbing falling a sleep. Not significant flaw, but if you're delicate like me then choose diffrent room (I stayed in top ocean view). "Sauna" in the elevator - elevator was the hottest "room" in the hotel with very poor air flow (if any?) Overall very good hotel with wonderfull location.

    Ocean view. Friendly stuff. Peacefull location. Great bartenders serving drinks in the evening near the pool:)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    4.2
    The service was not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Santa Monica Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was not good. Nonchalant attitude and was given poor treatment. My bags were not delivered to my room. I was given a room very far away with bad view and sound of traffic. I just stayed at the Andaz where was given beyond amazing service and their rate was a lot cheaper...so I felt I was ripped off.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    The room was very spacious and bed was extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advertisement was false. It seemed like the hotel was ocean front, whereas in real life it took time to go to the beach and the hotel wasn't on the beach. We had to walk around 10-15 mins just to get there. But the pictures online on your website showed the hotel closer to the beach.

    The room was very spacious and bed was extremely comfortable. The TV channels had a great variety of tv shows.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.0
    Saturday night there was the loudest party outside my window...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saturday night there was the loudest party outside my window which is right next to a apartment complex. I was awake on & off from 2am until 5am until the party people crashed or passed out. It was just so unbelievable. Never stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Santa Monica Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud and noisy. Walls way to thin. Didn't sleep all night. Could hear guests above us and next to us as though we were all in the same room. Valet did not even make a move to help us with our bags until everything was out of the car. He stood and watched

    The proximity to the ocean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.8
    Clean hotel, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely not worth for the money. It's supposed to look the ocean but very few room do that and is far enough that you don't really enjoy it. Resort fee is a rip off because the pool is inside in the middle of the hotel and is a kids size pool that is almost useless with every guest passing by while you are "relaxing" You are better off to safe the $500 and book a more reasonable hotel just block away and enjoy your money . My room was facing a building wall and was ugly. I will never pay that kind of rate for a room like that ! It was total rip off!

    Clean hotel, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing for the very expensive price - not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally over-priced. To spend over £600 per night on a hotel that is a 3*/4* at best is not acceptable. Kitchen understaffed. General grubbiness around the hotel - mat in hallway, lift, kitchen area not at the standard of cleanliness one would expect of a 5* hotel. Decor in bedroom poor, bathrooms very out-dated and of a 3*/4* standard.

    Location very good for our needs and the staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Family holiday with 3 children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Kitchenette Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacking a few facilities that make holidays with children easier, showers by the pool, toys for children to use, healthy and varied options in the restaurant. The kitchenette suites need more plates and glass wear. A trip to IKEA would make a difference!

    Great location in the residential area of Santa Monica, quieter than the other hotels on offer, yet walking distance to the main shopping area. The yoga teacher was excellent and would def recommend booking a class on the beach, it doesn't get much better.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.0
    Had a nice time but felt that it was a little pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Rooms are not soundproofed. Had an hour-long wait on our last night for dinner (problems in the kitchen) - they gave us free dessert to compensate. Overpriced in general (food and accommodation). Pool loungers fill up fast. Sun disappears relatively early in the afternoon/evening, only shines on one part of the pool, so it can get cold. Our room was an adjoining room, so we asked to change. Management did offer us another room, but due to a breakdown in communication, the room was already taken. Given what we paid, I did not expect to be given an adjoining room. Unfortunately we could hear the people next door talking, their TV, etc. Management did accommodate our request for a top floor room, however. Just a pity it was an adjoining one, otherwise I think we would have been more than happy.

    Within walking distance to the beach. Excellent valet service. Efficient maid service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    A supreb hotel in a quiet area, perfect for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Kitchenette Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pool area was great, clean and quiet. The restaurant and bar area were very nice, offering really nice food. The staff were superb, very friendly and really couldn't do enough. Our room was great, really large with comfortable beds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing and very poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lanai Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Grossly over-priced, mis-named - nowhere near the ocean, far removed from the city centre, valet parking extortionate, only one restaurant, food / drink very expensive, menu limited particularly breakfast, often insufficient items for number of guests, pool too small, poor soundproofing with constant floor 'thudding' from room above! Would definitely not recommend this hotel

    Our suite - the only recently renovated room in the hotel. Maid service excellent. Front desk staff pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location. If you are driving, there are many street parking spaces available across the street. We decided to return the rental car and just use Lyft to get around. The hotel is very child friendly. My children and I stayed there without my husband and we felt very safe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.1
    Very disappointing, very poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Grossly overpriced. Exorbitant valet charge. Name very misleading - nowhere near beach - have to cross main road, steep cliff descend / climb! Very few rooms with ocean views! Only one restaurant. Food / drinks expensive - breakfast fare very limited - some items insufficient for number of guests. Small Pool area.

    The room, reception staff, excellent maid service, free bicycles

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    Good stay, could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resturant was too busy and did not have the right amount of food at breakfast. Most of the time, the food was limited and late in serving. Also, the house keeping staff were poor in cleaning the room with on time, and they were so poor in adding the bathroom items like soups and shampoo. The staff on general was moderate friendly. Those type of hotel should be more friendly and easy going staff.

    The location, The coziness of the building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    4.2
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Becarful guys, The photos of the rooms are very misleading since I used to take a suit and the photos shows that it is ocean view and when I reached there they informed me the room is not sea view!!!

    Nice location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    HIGHLY recommended this property. Preferred this specific location over other high-end hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Santa Monica Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Fantastic property! We only wished we realized how nice this hotel was prior to booking since we would've stayed here for the entirety of our trip. The staff upgraded our room on check-in to a beautifully renovated suite. The hotel itself is in a perfect location, steps from the beach and all the Santa Monica action. Extremely easy to find parking and superb neighborhood. Will DEFINITELY stay with you all again if we are in the area. Thanks for an amazing stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.0
    Rip off
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Financial surprise....booking .com and oceana completely out of sync

    We were ripped off by the oceana and booking.com VERY UGLY/UNFORTUNATE EXPERIENCE WHICH WE WONT BE DOING AGAIN

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Hotel was ok. I didnt feel that i was treated fairly over the additional cost for the pull out bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having booked on booking.com a room for 2 adults and a child, the room only had one bed. The hotel then charged me an extra $50 per night for a pull out bed. If you book a room for 2 adults and a child, i expect two beds as standard or at least a sofa bed. Also they use plastic stirrers rather than teaspoons, throughout the whole hotel. The hotel is noisy, the walls are very thin.

    Free bikes to get around. Valets were really helpful. Pool was nice. Good location, Santa Monica is lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    This was a really lovely place to stay after a couple of days in LA, I would recommend it to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ..if I had to mention one thing it would be that there could be more drawers and cupboard space to store cases in the room we were in.

    The hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere and the pool was just the right place to hang out at the end of a day of exploring....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    The best hotel if you like Santa Monica beaches & restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The room service burger was like a shoe sole, too cooked twice. - Check out at 11:00 AM

    - Huge room suite - Direct front ocean view. - mini-bar with quality beverages. - Design style.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    4.6
    Terrible night shouting and screaming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At night between 3-30am to 4.00am there was extremely loud shouting and screaming from the pool area that is surrounded by bedrooms. Finally I had no option but to call the night reception to insist that they take action to control the totally unacceptable disturbance that was taking place. In response to my complaint the night staff attempts to claim the shouting had just commenced was insulting to me and indicative of disinterest or/or defensiveness. Following my call the shouting finally ceased. I shall never stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Loved the location and the vibe - great heated pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room photos on line were a lot brighter and prettier than reality. Rooms were a little dark. Staff were very friendly but some areas were left with tables uncleared and breakfast was slow. They ran out of beer and the coffee machine didn't work for two days. General manager Leah was charming and professional. Some staff were a little laid back and less efficient.

    Loved the location and the vibe - great heated pool and delicious food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.8
    Great location but not the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Kitchenette Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Terrible service at the cafe by the pool! Staff is inexperienced and food was just ok.

    Location is great with short walk to Santa Monica Pier, all shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Great comfortable location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and comfortable. We only booked a junior suite so we did not have a couch but we did have a coffee machine and refrigerator. Upon request an electric kettle was supplied. The breakfasts were excellent with a variety of options including omelettes and fried eggs cooked to your liking. Drinks in the bar and around the pool are readily available along with a menu. The pizza we had was delicious. It is close to the beach, Sanata Monica Peir and shopping mall all of which are in walking distance. Staff went our of the way to satisfy our needs and were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had a very late flight so after check out they kindly stored our suitcases and allowed us to take a shower prior to departure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.8
    Good breakfast and nice pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room Our first room was dark, dated and the air con was so loud we couldn't sleep. We changed rooms but then it wasn't a twin so one of us had to sleep on a put you up which given how much we were paying was very disappointing. There wasn't much space around the pool for people and the prices in the restaurants were very over priced

    Good breakfast and nice pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.8
    Rooms were a good size, bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lanai Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road Noise as not double glazed,dark rooms, breakfast expensive, noise from the next door and above rooms. Pool area very small.

    Rooms were a good size, bed comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    The beds are very comfortable and I slept well here.
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was a little too crowded for us to enjoy, but the beach is a nice backup. A little too much noise of people walking in the room above us.

    The beds are very comfortable and I slept well here. The location is great and the onsite restaurant, Tower 8, is delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first impression when we arrived at the hotel was....wow, this is the best hotel in Santa Monica and we were very happy about everything until we tried to sleep. The room was really noise and we couldn't sleep at all, so it doesn't matter all the others facilities if you can't sleep.

    Staff, location, facilities are very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.3
    Stayed here before, room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lanai Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not nearly as nice as past visit.

    Stayed here before, room was great. This time carpets dated, stained. Pool (again with the pool!) had hair and gunk on top- yuck. They tried to clean but completely missed it. I did tell them.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable Boutique living at the best part of Santa Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The bathtub itself was kind of old and clunky. Not easy to use. - Pricey...

    - The property is perfectly located on Ocean Blvd, In Santa Monica. Just in front of a pathway down to the beach. It is also in the northern part of Santa Monica, so it is in a quiet area, but still on 3 blocks from the Promenade and the center of attractions. -The staff has been kind and courteous. - The room we stayed at (lanai suite) was spacious, and comfortable. I like that they have Nespresso coffee machines in the room and not the standard filtered coffee machines you'd usually find in other hotel rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel will come back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing as they are updating rooms later in the year, and they are just a little tired, all lovely.

    Outdoor area is amazing, also breakfast lovely and good value. Staff great too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Kitchenette Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    See above

    The staff was very friendly and parking was easy if you decided not to use their valet service. I was disappointed in the room. While it was large it was outdated for example the kitchen reminds me of renting a 1970s studio in Manhattan.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    Ocean life style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lanai Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Location, services, privacy, suite, stuff are absolutely great.

    This was like the perfect journey. Big suit in front of the Pacific Ocean, with a balcony and a stunning view, it was really a pleasure to wake up on the morning. Huge comfort bed, perfect service. Great continental breakfast, served everyday by a really helpful and gently staff. Quick check in/out. Do it! Choose Oceana!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    Great locale, beautiful and clean. Just get your booking facilities double checked!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Inspite of booking well in advance and for 3 nights, we were allotted a room in the extreme corner. Although we asked for a better room (we were in the us for the first time), we were not accommodated at all. Left a slight bad taste. However, overll the hotel was fantastic. I am trying to figure out that the bad room location was due to my booking thru booking.com and maybe if I had booked directly I would have got a better room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    5.8
    Solid spot, but lighten up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They closed the pool at 6pm! Got back from a day out and about and just wanted a quick dip. They obliged but it was brief, and who closes the pool at 6pm anyway? Overall solid place, very nice staff, but not enough to be one of those go-back-every-time kind of places. Worth a stay one time, but for us, next time we would probably look to another place. Tons of spots close to the beach in that corridor +/- 1 mile from the pier.

    Beach and sunset view as advertised. A little blocked on view by trees, but right across from the beach and on the ocean which is what we wanted. Our place had a spacious veranda which was really nice. Parking was great - public meters right across the street, for just a few bucks and free overnight from like 6pm to 9am.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing and peaceful near the heart of Santa Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in bathroom. Valet parking was way too expensive so I parked across the street and ended up with a parking ticket.

    Staff comped my sisters lunch since she had to wait to get into our room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.5
    Very comfortable bed, and a huge room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was surprised that such a luxurious and comfortable hotel should not be better soundproofed. We could hear the TV and talking from the next room, which was a bit of a nuisance. There was no information in the room about the hotel's facilities and administration: it would have been useful to have things such as a telephone directory for the hotel, and the information about access to the internet, available in the room.

    Very comfortable bed, and a huge room. More than we needed for just the one night, but it was a special occasion. Reception staff very helpful, as were the staff who dealt with the car. Very good location, overlooking the beach and the Ocean, and within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were charged something like $8.00 for a glass of orange juice in the morning.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable and quiet atmosphere to visit with and entertain local friends.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    8.8
    Coastal California Beach Charm, in LA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared to spend a little extra; but the location (a little further North of Santa Monica) is quieter and cleaner than the Pier area.

    The Staff were great; attenative, professional and polite. The onsite (private) restaurant served fresh and amazing dishes -top notch. The courtyard/pool area; beautiful. And, the rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    8.8
    One problem marred a perfect stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 problem only : Room was noisy because of roof arcon unit on 3f - not constant issue but distracted from an excellent hotel offering. Maid reassured me this was unique to the room but front of house should be more aware (and less in denial ) of property issues

    Staff helpful, kind and excellent Great size rooms Beautiful views Attractive pool

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.2
    Rooms are large and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really don't like that there is only one price option for breakfast. If I just want a cup of coffee and toast I have to pay for the full buffet. Or just a bowl of cereal. Too exspensive. I went out for breakfast instead.

    Rooms are large and very comfortable. Very comfortable beds and nice linens. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    Back again and doesn't disappoint
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lanai Kitchenette Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Especially the free bike hire and free yoga and hiking classes. Staff are extremely friendly and so is the valet staff. They all seem to work well as a team - there is a good vibe going on here. Also love the sizes of the rooms. Big beds and great lined. This place is awesome.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    6.3
    A lot to improve service wise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad breakfast service. And Generally speaking not a very good value for the money. Noisy room probably because of old pipe system.

    Good Location but not on the beach as the name would say.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    Wonderful ocean view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear the street traffic. Wasn't too bad. The view made it worth it

    Great location. Ocean view with big window facing the Ocean. Staff really nice and personable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    10
    Our 'go too' place in Santa Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lanai Kitchenette Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nope. Can't fault this place. A little away from the action but this could be a positive or negative depending what you like.

    French Champagne on arrival Really friendly staff Free bike hire - so easy and great bikes Free yoga class daily on the beach - really great yoga instructor too Rooms are lovely - spacious and great beach decor. Large bathroom and expensive amenities Pool area really nice and inviting. This place has nailed it. Highly recommend it. We have already re-booked our next stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.2
    OBC--our new secret hideaway. Go. Stay. Enjoy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were comfy and dream inducing. Staff was outstanding--kind, knowledgeable and extremely pleasant. The yoga on the beach was the icing on the cake. Intimate and friendly atmosphere. All guests we encountered were lovely--families, singles and couples alike. Nice mix. We didn't use our car entire stay. Great location for access to some of the best of Santa Monica: Montana Street, farmers market, Promenade and Pier--all 10-20 minutes away on foot. Good beach access (footbridge) and great restaurants close by---glad we skipped Malibu for this place. OBC made it easy to be so much more connected to activity and offerings but has the right distance to make you feel like you are away from it all.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    5.8
    You do not get what you book at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Kitchenette Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You do not get what you book and the management does not care. We booked a room with kitchenette and we got a different one, which didnot meet our needs. The receptionist offered 50percent discount on the first night, but the next day said it is a mistake and just gave 50 usd off the price, this is ridicilous and unacceptable for a 5 star hotel, which failed to provide a room that we booked. When you pay almost 600 usd per night such treatment is simply not acceptable. We were also promised to be moved asap to another room, but we still had to wait for several hours. The rooms were not prepared for 4 persons and we had to ask for all extras.

    Hotel is at perfect location, quiet and comfortable, swiming pool is very warm.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.5
    Great hotel for family but not romantic getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lanai One Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were looking for a romantic place near the ocean, but the layout of the room left a bit to be desired. The lanai has only one chair, so the only place we could sit together was in the living room. Also, the pathway to access rooms was just outside the lanai so there was quite a bit of traffic in a space that we thought would be private. Also, there was not a lot of natural light in the room. The living area was overly large with the only natural light coming through lanai doors/windows. The window to the bedroom opened directly to an alley offering no view and little light. Just not the luxury experience I was expecting for a romantic getaway. We would definitely select this hotel when we bring our kids as the extra space would be perfect, but too large and dark for two.

    The staff was very helpful and professional. The room was clean and nicely appointed. The pool area had a cool and hip yet comfortable vibe. Loved that we had access to bikes to get around the area! It is a great hotel for a family beach vacation in Santa Monica.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    Everything you could wish for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, even greater location. Close enough to the centre of Santa Monica to walk to the restaurants but far enough away to be quiet with fantastic views

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    A place of tranquility very hard to leave behind
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lanai One Bedroom Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well sized suites Super clean , super comfy beds , gorgeous decor in keeping with the period Laid back first class service , not in your face Relaxing environment Fabulous pool Perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.9
    Very pretty hotel not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lanai One Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't get breakfast with this booking although I requested it. What made it worse was that had I booked directly with the hotel I would have save $200 a night and would have included breakfast. I'm very disappointed with booking.com Also the hotel walls are very thin you can hear everything going on in the room above you and next to you. Plus since they were offering free breakfast through October, I think I should have been given breakfast for $500 per night!! But the management on reception at the time said they couldn't do anything about it as it was booked through booking. Com

    Some staff in reception were great and the boys working at the door and valet went above and beyond. So lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Boutique hotel in Sant Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was quite arrogant. Parking costs 45 USD!

    Beautiful small hotel in a very good location. Nice heated outdoor pool. You can get bikes for free to go around the neighborhod.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.2
    Fabulous first time trip to Santa Monica......we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Kitchenette Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small detail but the pool loungers/chairs, cushions were all marked with stains and that is not appealing to sit on apart from that everything else was fantastic.

    The team on the help desk were super helpful and always friendly and polite as sometimes when travelling with children people don't always treat you with the same respect, so very impressed especially as first impressions count and your reception team were awesome!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.1
    Excellent location, friendly staff and comfortable facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel's building is at the end of its life and one would expect this hotel to refurbish and modernise shortlly.

    The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood, but still very near to the beaches.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    LOVED IT
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautiful. Happiest room I have ever stayed in. The gals at the desk were lovely. It's was a great stay. I would absolutely come back here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Beautiful sanctuary within minutes from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Lanai One Bedroom Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fantastic, wonderfully stylish, understated and classy place, with tip top service and excellent food. Just the right distance away from the middle of Santa Monica to be able to enjoy the buzz if we wanted to, but to get away from it when we'd had our fill!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you really wanted to find something wrong... maybe the cushions on the pool furniture need to be replaced next season. And the valet parking cost is a bit on the high side. Honestly, that's it. This is a pretty amazing place.

    This hotel is superb! Right across the street from the ocean. Check-in was very easy, staff is just great and breakfast was a delight. It is in walking distance from 3rd street promenade, but if you don't want to go for a walk you can relax by the pool in the courtyard. Rooms are very nicely decorated and the bathroom was spotless. Not the cheapest hotel, but you get a very relax and worryfree environment for your money. I've stayed in various hotels around the area in the past and this is my absolute favorite. Great experience!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.2
    Great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were a little noisy from floor to floor but they handled it really well and offered to move us.

    Great feel, we used the bikes a lot to get around too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.6
    Good stay, would have been the best if not for the minor details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little over the top in price, if they can do single items on room service I can't see why they cannot provide same in restaurant rather than having to pay for full buffet when all you wanted was cereal and a coffee!!!

    Front of house, Concierge, Housekeeping and Restaurant staff best I have ever encountered, always go above and beyond the call of duty. Bedroom excellent, beds really comfortable and mini bar and snacks well stocked with a very good variety.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice but too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Kitchenette Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We do not recommend to use the hotel restaurant - too expensive for the quality and quantity of food they serve. Expensive private valet parking (more than $40 per night). Swimming pool area was too small for all guests. On overall we believe that this hotel is overexpensive for the services and quality offered, however it is Santa Monica - everything is expensive!

    Spacious luxurious apartment with a living room and fully equipped kitchen. Nice view from the balcony. Clean and cosy, and very close to the beach and to the downtown.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful property!
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bed, though LOVELY looking with fine linens was not comfortable, unfortunately. My back is a good indicator of a worn mattress. This was once a great mattress but now has an indentation on the most commonly slept on side with a mound in the middle. My back suffered.

    Staff and service were above and beyond. Food in restaurant was excellent. Location for our needs was perfect. The room is spacious and the bathroom amenities were very nice!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.3
    Taste of luxury in Santa Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai One Bedroom Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only things that could have been better is the sofa bed wasn't fairly small and not as comfortable as I would have hoped, and our patio area in room 116 was quite dark and right on a corner with people walking past....but we did love the proximity to the pool. This hotel is expensive but then so is Santa Monica in general - we are British and not used to taxes etc being displayed separately. So with the taxes and resort fee ($38) etc we ended up paying around $100 more than the price on booking.com. That was a lot for us - it would be great if the prices were more transparent, but if you can afford it this is a great hotel.

    Our stay in a Lanai Suite was wonderful - this really is a beautiful hotel. The suite was very spacious with a proper door into the bedroom which is perfect as we were travelling with our daughter and prefer not to share a room. The swimming pool was heated so we were able to swim early in the morning and although we didn't use it on our one night stay the small gym and yoga sessions really appealed. I wish we could have stayed longer....luxury! The staff were super friendly and housekeeping were with us instantly when we requested to have our sofa bed made up.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    9.6
    Perfect relaxing stay in Santa Monica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Kitchenette Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing to dislike

    Kitchenette suite was spacious and clean. Atmosphere very relaxing, location perfect. Front desk extremely helpful and friendly. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    A really stylish hotel with a Californian feel - value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai One Bedroom Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think the scrambled eggs were not made from real eggs? Might be being a bit picky but a bit yuck.

    Beds divine. Staff very, very good. Rooms large which was great with kids. Loved the pool side.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.9
    Very nice staff, the hotel is quite small,nicely decorated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Lanai Kitchenette Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    balcony in our room was not really for use (small and not inviting to seat there)

    Very nice staff, the hotel is quite small,nicely decorated in a style of '70s (I guess); and all though there is some distance to the beach still this is one of the best location

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Oceana Beach Club Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: