Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. California hotel reviews
  4. Half Moon Bay hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Oceano Hotel and Spa Half Moon Bay Harbor

Reviews of Oceano Hotel and Spa Half Moon Bay Harbor This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019, United States of America

#7 of 14 hotels in Half Moon Bay

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 428 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    10
    Beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was pretty much perfect, the only thing I could say, which has nothing to do with the hotel, is that the harbor horn in the harbor is loud and can be heard throughout the night. The hotel includes earplugs if you need them and even a sound machine if you really feel you need to block it out. I was able to sleep through it without any of that though.

    The views from the room were spectacular. The room was clean and decorated with the beach in mind. The deep soaking tub was definitely a plus and the bed was super comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Room service from the attached restaurant was delicious and convenient since the room was so beautiful we didn't want to leave once we got there.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    8.8
    Beautiful property, would come back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The linen was a little old and the light in the bathroom was limited

    The property is stunning and has a great beach vibe which is what you want from a beach town location, love the fireplace in the room, staff were fantastic

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    7.1
    Kind of a bummer.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a long drive from home to the Bay Area for post cancer treatment/follow up, we selected this hotel to relax and enjoy. Unfortunately, there was a discrepancy ($9) between what Booking.com charged my credit card and what the hotel said was actually owing on the room. (For some reason the hotel had a computer problem when I tried to book direct a few months ago for a doctor visit at Stanford, and so I booked through Booking.com.) Instead of saying, "this was our -- or that of the booking agent -- mistake, we're very sorry, they insisted on payment, refusing to absorb the difference." The amount was trivial, and not the issue. It was the attitude of all three of the desk personnel who weighed in on the difference that left a bitter taste in my mouth, dropping my rating of the hotel considerably.

    We have stayed at the property several times before this visit. The rooms are excellent, especially with views of the harbor, and we love the location around the harbor and walking on the beach at Half Moon Bay.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    10
    Awesome, better than Moana Surfrider Westin hotel Resort and Spa in Oahu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing that we didn't like, maybe they could use a pool and a Jacuzzi!

    The staff welcomed us like family, were attentive, helpful, went above and beyond, my eggs were made perfectly like they knew how I liked them for years! Their Clam Chowder is the best I ever tasted! The fresh breakfast Muffins/scones are made fresh every day are amazing especially the Apple and Blueberry Muffins! Melt in your mouth and with a little butter! Need I say more. The view was beautiful, I can't say enough about the staff they were like our kids we loved this hotel better than the Moana Surfrider Westin Hotel in Oahu that was 1 compared to this hotel #13

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    8.8
    Enjoyable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a nice little hotel, but it has its peculiarities. For once, the bathroom was separated from the living room by two shutters, which could not isolate the bathroom light or sounds completely. It might be ok for some circumstances, but for a typical family setting I felt it wasn't convenient. Second thing that bugged me was not related to the hotel directly, but it affected my stay. During winter season, the local foghorn is on, which means a dial-like signal goes off every 10-11 seconds, round the clock. Some people can ignore it, but I couldn't. Ruined my sleep both nights we stayed there. And finally,I did not enjoy the bedding. Sheets felt very old, and blankets were awkward and not comfortable.

    Very beautiful setting, great view, good local eateries. Service was nice. We stayed with the kids, and it was ok.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    7.1
    Did not have the relaxing, quiet weekend we planned on having for that price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The layout of the king suite was less than ideal. No bedside table or lamp for right side of king bed and only 10 inches between bed and pony wall; doors to room from common hallway are paper thin, and not installed correctly and/or not maintained as they rattle and move with air flow if sliding balcony door is open; 3 story internal attrium allows for lobby and bar noise to rise up all 3 floors - nothing relaxing about that especially with hollow room doors. Might as well be at embassy suites. Horrible atmosphere at that price point. Staff indifferent. Bartender pompous for no reason - no wine list, food mediocre and patrons are from hotel anyway. Cracked outlet covers in room - at that price point - not acceptable. Planned on spa appt but did not pursue due to other inconsistencies, there was no confidence in spa service. Had to call for 2nd coffee cup and extra blanket - waited 40 minutes and called again - she forgot . Same for room service dessert.

    The location was great. The size of the king suite was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    10
    A perfect place to relax and enjoy the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a nice balcony, but wish the chairs were higher or the railing was a little lower to take in the view! It was beautiful though!

    We stayed in a double queen suite on the second floor. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The bathroom was super clean and spacious. We had a great view of the harbor. Room included a cozy fireplace, small fridge, and coffee making supplies. Great check in - even let us check in early. The location is perfect - near restaurants, some shops, and walking path. Really nice staff at the front desk and in the bar/restaurant. Perfect!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    7.1
    Overall not a bad experience, you're really paying for the location and the great staff. I wouldn't
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room itself is outdated, the furniture looks old and a little dirty. The bed was not comfortable and the sheets were tattered. It was a little unnerving to realize that there was no pillow protected between the tattered pillow case and the old pillow. For the amount that they are charging per night I'd expect more.

    The location is prime, lots of great restaurants nearby and a beautiful view of the harbor. The staff were all genuinely kind and helpful. Love that they use aveda for their complimentary amenities.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    8.3
    We'll be back! Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The way-finding around the buildings and property could use improvement. The mini-kitchen had very few of the usual basic items (such as wine opener! : )

    Trish loved the furnishings and wanted to pack them!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    7.1
    Overall convenient, free parking and wifi and the rooms were comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar and grille was suppose to open at 4. It was not open at least one of the two nights we were there

    Liked the location and furnishings and overall feel of the hotel

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    7.5
    The bed and pillows were very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and pillows were very nice! However there is a perimeter horn outside of the hotel that honks a horn every 8 seconds or so (we counted) and throughout the night it continued to wake myself and my partner up. When we asked in the morning, the attendant said there were supposed to be earplugs in the room, however our room was not supplied with any sadly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    6.3
    The quality and service has gone down hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My experience was disappointing on 2 accounts. The wifi access in my room was horrible. There were also guests being extremely noisy and I reported it multiple times to the front desk...went on til 3 in the morning. The restaurant was closed for breakfast one morning.

    I've been to this location before and it was quite nice.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    6.7
    It was fine, but we didn't quite get what we were supposed to get and it was pretty pricey for that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    First off, we paid $400.00 for one night for a room and spa, and the spa was "being renovated" the one night I could have used it. Also, the shower occasionally ran suddenly hot or cold suggesting that each room did not have its own water supply. Finally, the place is not actually in Half Moon Bay, but rather is part of an artificial 'village' property outside of Half Moon Bay. Not what we were expecting.

    The room was spacious and the maid was very helpful in accommodating our needs. The place is certainly clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    10
    Wish I had planned to stay longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 Double Beds Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Everything was delightful.

    This place is awesome! Definitely exceeded expectations. Wished I had planned a longer stay. Will definitely go back. The hotel food was also great.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    10
    A very peaceful stay with a very comfortable room .
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all .

    The views from the huge suite were wonderful and location ideal for travelling from airport after a long flight . Lift from car park straight into foyer of hotel which was handy for my disabled daughter .Staff very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.0
    beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 1 night

    our suite was very nice, however, for $288, we were disappointed in the fact our tv remote was broken, there was only 1 mirror in the room (located in bathroom) which made it difficult to get ready w/someone already in bathroom and a/c didn't work properly.

    beautiful location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.8
    Great place, very comfy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small things. It was my wife's birthday and I asked, when booking, to put a little something nice in the room (a flower, a chocolate - anything). Request was ignored. They didn't even have a candle to put on a cake we ordered from their restaurant.

    Very nice place, great bed, pillows and sheets were perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 Double Beds Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a shame we couldn't have a sauna, as it was fully booked. If they'd told us that was likely to happen, we'd have booked in advance.

    The location was perfect but it was quite noisy, as there was building work going on in the harbour. They did offer free earplugs though. The room was superb and the bathroom beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    10
    Wonderful time in Half Moon Bay
    • Couple
    • King Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would be nice to have curtains on the top part of the bay window so the sun does not come into the room too early.

    Excellent staff, excellent food and a great location. Beautiful views of the bay too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    10
    We really loved the spacious room and view on the deck.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We really loved the spacious room and view on the deck... Very relaxing, it was a time to just “Breathe”... Enjoyed local restaurants, the staff was always welcoming when leaving or returning... Parking was just perfect, close to the elevators, which was extremely important as we have handicap... We will definitely return... We came to “Oceano” to get out of the heat and smoke where we live...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    8.3
    Nice for a change
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our first room was unacceptable. Second floor room with the view from balcony completely obscured by tree and bushes. When I checked with hotel staff they moved us to a 3rd floor room. Big improvement. No AC or ceiling fan though so kind of warm at night

    Great location with lots of places to walk and explore. Good restaurant choices nearby

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    10
    Fabulous spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed here after arriving from a Long flight late at night instead of a SF airport hotel and didn’t regret the choice at all. Convenient location to start our trip down the coast. Beautiful lobby greeted us. Gorgeous harbour walk in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    Delightful hotel with excellent facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast options could be better

    Delightful hotel with excellent facilities. While the hotel is a bit pricy but it is very nice with a lot of character.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.2
    Get that vacation feeling with gorgeous Half Moon Bay at your feet but also have the city close
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, comfortable hotel - extremely friendly staff and a nice spot to unwind. Special mentions go to extremely comfortable bed and the staff were stand-out helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    5.4
    Hotel Lobby and colonial style entrance.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms!!!! It was a poor price - performance ratio ...it needs to be renovated ... and even my booking was with a ocean view I got an obstructed view …… the size of windows could be larger ... rooms were pretty dark! Avoid wedding weekends – very loud and disturbing the whole ambience...

    Hotel Lobby and colonial style entrance. Personnel from the Bar&Restaurant were very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.1
    Overall nice property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was in a separate building from the main hotel . The room was comfortable. However, this building is located right next to a road and there are traffic noises at all times of the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.2
    I loved the view from my room and that restaurants were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The underground parking lights were a bit to dim for me but I’m not sure if that’s a energy saver thing or not also when I got into the room there wasn’t a cup to rinse my mouth out after brushing my teeth I had to use a coffee cup or would have had to use my hand as a scoop.

    I loved the view from my room and that restaurants were walking distance. The check in desk and seating area were beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need a hook in the bathroom to hang clothes when taking a shower. Also, glasses for drinking purposes.

    The fire place and the seating area near the window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    The Oceano is beautiful Hotel with large rooms and many upgraded amenities with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Double Beds Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    awesome large room with a view of the marina and bay. It even had a sofa and fireplace. Delightful experience. The patio was small but adequate. Great place to wind down with a bottle of wine and watch the sunset or the fog come in. Both dinner and breakfast were great at the bar and grill. Breakfast was brought to the room very quickly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    8.3
    Pricey, but good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was in a separate building from the main hotel. No elevator, and I was on the 2nd floor. Not the fault of the hotel, but there is a fog horn in the bay that goes off every 10 or 15 seconds all day and night. I recommend you turn on the air conditioning, whether you need it or not, to drown it out.

    Room was comfortable, but a little dated. Bathroom had little counter space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    Exquisite, pampering, convenient and fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Double Beds Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everyone at the front desk was so accommodating, friendly and professional. Karin could smile more and make you feel like to actually wants to help you. It kind of felt like she was more closed minded than the others.

    The willingness of the staff to please and make your stay enjoyable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no curtains on the upper portion of the windows, and the harbor across the street is well lighted, so the room is rather bright all night. The patio is minuscule, which is okay, but also not properly sloped to drain, so it stays puddly long after rain and after the streets have dried, making it less attractive to use.

    The layout of the rooms is wonderful, with the sleeping area separated from spacious sitting area. The bathrooms are also spacious, with blinds that can be opened or closed for a sense of space or privacy in the tub.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.9
    Disappointing - if we come again we would only come if we could get a room in the main building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smaller building that housed our room was loud, had a loud ac stand alone unit too. Room was plain- rather shabby bedspread. I like hotels that have the white cover on a duvet. Speaks to class and cleanliness.

    Liked the main hotel but not the smaller part where our room was

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    10
    It was very relaxing and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well, I couldn’t think of anything. Maybe better lighting in the parking garage.

    Views were amazing especially the sunsets! Hotel and staff exceeded our expectations. Bed was super comfy. Will definitely be back again! Really enjoyed our stay!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    9.6
    Great location with plenty of restaurants within walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one bedside table and lamp on one side of the king size bed.

    Lovely gas living flame log fire in room. Great to take chill off in the early morning and early evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    The front desk staff were so helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front desk staff were so helpful and friendly. All the staff really were very accommodating . Our spa experience was amazing! Also, the room service was fast and the meals were delicious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fog horn is incessant, Day and night, even when there’s it’s 100% clear and NO chance of fog. Room did come with ear plugs and noise machines, but noise was still annoying.

    Spacious room overlooking the marina, beachy themed furniture and decor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    10
    Great staff - always eager to fulfill your wishes.
    • Couple
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything

    Great staff - always eager to fulfill your wishes. There is a small bar/restaurant there also. We stopped in at the bar one night and asked the bartender for a particular cocktail, which he admitted that he was unfamiliar with. but - he said that he would look it up, which he did and did a great job!! I appreciated him going the extra mile.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    5.4
    I was disappointed that we did'nt get more for what we paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were feather filled that poked you all night. No microwave oven in the room. The television channels were bland. The couch was uncomfortable. The vending machine was empty. The room was way over priced. We were charged too much for what we got.

    Close to all the shops. Parking was good underground.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    5.4
    Uncomfortable, unfriendly and poor overall. Property was clean and large and that is all the +
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were terrible room was by garbage dumpster and unloading dock and trucks began coming at 5:00am

    Location offered little entertainment or diversity

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    8.8
    Over all, had a great birthday weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I called for room service, got the front desk and was told to place my order with him. Well he said that, they didn't have deserts. Then called back and said they have cakes, I ask what about ice cream, no we don't have. Then they called back and said we do have vanilla ice cream, I said great send some up. We waited they forgot the ice cream. Also I don't understand why they don't clean the walls, after each party leaves. I could not believe how many scuffed marks were on the walls, when we walked in. A quick clean would work wonders..

    The view was great, the size of the room was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    10
    Great location beautiful scenery incredible sunsets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is well decorated the foyer is just beautiful and sit at the fire the location cannot be beat the price is amazing. They provide high-quality Aveda shampoo and conditioning, room robes and excellent customer service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, everything was great

    Everything, I had no idea this place would be as excellent as it is. I’m so great full that I was able to have such a wonderful peaceful time at this hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    8.3
    the fog horn going off every couple of minutes for 10...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fog horn going off every couple of minutes for 10 seconds was a pain as we could hear it all the night. I wish they had a double pane window / patio door to mask out the sound!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    10
    Perfect birthdays stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing perfect birthdays day perfect birthdays day

    The bartender was really great and very attentive. The housekeeping was wonderful every time we got back to our room it was already made up.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    4.6
    Room was disappointing for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed and bedding was uncomfortable. Heater was to loud to run at night. Claimed a 4star hotel but did not have that feel.

    Location was central and parking was easy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    5.0
    Location was great!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Double Beds Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was great! Saturday night they hosted party in banquet hall it was loud, very loud! my room was a couple doors down, however it did quiet down around 10pm. Sunday 9am I hear hammering go out to balcony look up to them fixing windows or the siding again more noise!!! Really on a Sunday morning! Not one staff member asked how my stay was., for the money I paid I expected better accommodations will not stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    10
    We would come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had dinner at Monsoon Himalayian Cusine for dinner, good service, the food took some time to come out, but it was good. We went to Pasta Moon for lunch, service and food was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.6
    Nice gettaway for me and my best friend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The harbor has a loud horn that goes off every two to three minutes. It's so loud you can hear it even if all the windows are shut. It took some getting used to and they offer earplugs in the room. Next time I might request a room further back from the harbor for that reason. I did like hearing the seals barking. I just could have done without the horn.

    Location was easy to find. It's right across the street from the beach and a famous restaurant in the area(Barbaras fish trap).The spa was gorgeous and our massages were excellent. I definitely loved having a both a fire place and ac unit in our room which overlooked the harbor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    10
    WE HAD A WONDERFUL SHORT VISIT TO HALF MOON BAY AND WE INTEND TO COME BACK AND STAY AT YOUR HOTEL. W
    • Couple
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE RESTAURANT AND BAR WERE USUALLY EMPTY AND NOT PARTICULARLY APPEALING SO WE NEVER ATE THERE. THE FOOD MAY HAVE BEEN WONDERFUL BUT NOBODY WAS EATING OR DRINKING THERE.

    I LIKED THE DECOR WHICH FIT WELL WITH THE SEASIDE LOCATION. WE WERE UPGRADED TO A SUITE LOCATION LOCATION BEDS AND ROOM WERE COMFORTABLE AND BEAUTIFUL

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    Lovely time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This is the 3rd time we have stayed here this year...it is a beautiful hotel, great location... the staff are all do friendly...we love it here...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful room but so noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Double Beds Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upgraded by the friendly staff to a beautiful room with a fire place. But the midnight noise of the screaming couple in another room and the workers on the roof in the morning completely detracted from the entire experience. Wish they had coffee in their lobby, really needed it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    10
    We’re really glad we picked Oceano Hotel to stay at for our quick short getaway. It was just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Double Beds Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found the thermostat difficult to work. The temperature was set at 74 degrees which was okay in the daytime. It was a bit stuffy for bedtime and I had a hard time trying to get the temperature, fan and air conditioning to get down to 60 degrees.

    The hotel was very clean, quiet, and had great friendly staff. We loved our spacious room that faced Pillar Point Harbor and the ocean. Several restaurants and shops that were within walking distance from the hotel made it convenient to get breakfast, lunch and dinner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    7.1
    Here was a lot of noise outside of our room.
    • Solo traveler
    • King Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedding wasn’t as soft as our first visit for our anniversary

    Here was a lot of noise outside of our room. People were not considerate in keeping it quiet past 1000

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2017

    7.5
    Very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The closet in rm 218 was missing a knob and the towel rack was bent and almost broken.

    Large fireplace, walking distance to many local restaurants, shopping and bars.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    9.6
    I would stay there again when I am in the area
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The constant sound of the foghorn in the bay, every 9 seconds, was not well insulated by windows that are a bit "leaky" of sound and temperature. The room includes earplugs, but an upgrade to the windows with double insulated panes would conserve energy and make the room quieter at night. Charming hotel though.

    Fireplace in the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    5.0
    Nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fireplace would not stay lit. Bed was too hard. Bedding uncomfortable and not warm enough. Maybe a nice warm down comforter would work better. No room service!!!

    View was nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not great value for almost $400 a night. Sofa bed would not pull out. Separate bedroom was up unlit flight of stairs so risky going downstairs to use bathroom at night. Would not recommend for seniors. No coffee setup until 7 am.

    Free underground parking. Bathroom was large with separate bath and shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    8.3
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lights very dim in underground parking

    Bed was good view from the balcony was awesome ! Bathroom was nice could've had a better shower head and more goodies around but was ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    9.2
    good location, comfortable and spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice if there were more kitchen items available, ie wine glasses, small plates.

    We liked the balcony overlooking the harbor. The beds were comfortable and the room was spacious. We would have liked a hot tub.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    7.1
    Enoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fog horn,the very large window(we stayed in the inn) was not completely covered by a blind,so a dark room for sleeping was not possible

    The stay was pleasant,but good eating places within walking distance are limited. Mezzanine Luna restaurant and their cafe being very good. A good night's sleep was prevented by the fog horn which sounds 24/24 foggy oo not.We realised that's the reason the hotel provided ear plugs. The front desk people,particularly Dyllan were most helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    5.8
    Lovely accommodations, but light sleepers must beware of noise factors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Light sleepers beware!! The accommodations themselves were actually lovely. A little overpriced for what you get, but that is mostly due to the area and not specific to this property. I would never be able to stay there again however, because of the noise. The room got very hot and they only provide a standalone air conditioning unit that is extremely loud. If you sleep with this unit running at night, it switches on and off to keep the set temperature and it disrupts your sleep each time it turns on. I then tried turning off the unit and opened the windows instead, but there was buoy (or something of that sort) that would sporadically sound every 30-75 seconds. It was almost as though someone was sitting in the parking lot and sounding their horn all night long. I was probably only able to get a total of 2 hours of sleep due to these factors.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Oceano Hotel never disappoints. It is confortable, clean and in a great location. The staff is most accommodating. This was my 3rd time there and will return!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    4.6
    Room was very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very noisy. Parking underground was poorly lighted and full. We had to park elsewhere. The rate of the room was not honored when originally booked and we were charged more. I will not stay here again or use Booking.com.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful surroundings, excellent underground parking and helpful staff. Overpriced though compared
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sound between rooms is horrible. I could actually hear the person in the next room peeing. Showers I have heard before, no problem, but actually hearing bodily functions is disgusting!

    Location and fantastic, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    7.5
    Everything was fine! Enjoyed our short time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedding/sheets didn't feel fresh or clean. 😳 May need to get some new bed comforter or blankets; pillows too flat; too decorative pillows on bed. We found used bottles of lotions; not full! Requested more from desk;

    The spacious room! The bed was firm. Lots of lamps & plugs!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    9.6
    Loved our stay. Looking forward to my next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 Double Beds Suite (Princeton)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was not set up for 3 people. We had to ask for extra towels, glasses and cups each day we stayed there. The WiFi in our room did not work well. My sister had to go to the lobby area to receive the WiFi strength she needed to use her i-pad.

    Nice big room, very comfortable with great views. The staff was very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    9.2
    Great sea-side hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fog horn going off outside all night. Not too loud but sounded like we'd left a phone off the hook somewhere. Room was otherwise quiet. I slept through it but it kept my husband awake. Also there was a window at the top of our room which didn't have a curtain over it which let early morning light in.

    Lovely sea-side feel to this hotel. Rooms were nice and big and beds were comfortable. Plenty of tea and coffee and a big fridge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    7.1
    my girlfriends were happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There needs to be more handicap rooms with views...There was not an easy way to get a handicapped accessible bathroom in a room that slept three and had a view. It was a very good thing I took my high riser portable toilet seat with me, but embarrassing to do so. I also have trouble sleeping on most hotel beds...too hard

    the staff was wonderful and the view was okay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    9.2
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom is large but sink is too small, there's no countertop space and toilet is LOW (like preschool size).

    Bed was WONDERFUL!!! Loved the fireplace ❤

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    8.8
    Great staff, adequet room but not priced right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the room was small for what we paid for. For a $300+ room it sure was small, no table and chairs, no full length mirror, not sure where we were supposed to put our lap top or play cards? The landscape also looked pretty tired and the 1 pot with dead plants on the deck was pretty sad.

    Super soft pillow, nice fireplace, good coffee and everyone who worked there was very very pleasant and helpful. They all seemed to like their jobs and place of employment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    10
    Love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows and sheets were uncomfortable, feels itchy when laying on it. Color choice was not impress, looks like old sheets.

    Love the room, the view and the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    7.5
    Good and not so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceano Inn King Suite- located outside main building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The AC was very loud. The bathroom was bad: tiny vanity (there was room for a larger one) and the tub had a lot of chips. The carpet had stains. The room needs to be redone.

    They had the best pillows ever and a comfortable bed. The location was good. We had a nice view of the marina.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    8.8
    Oceano hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately, the only things that were troublesome was the foghorn in the distance went off every 30 seconds all day & night. (They did supply earplugs) And the coffee machine was a pain in the butt. It was very confusing, couldn't get it to work right.

    The staff was very friendly. The room was clean & comfortable, it felt very homey. The view was amazing from our room. We loved the big tv over the fireplace. Great time!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    10
    Even better than we expected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The villa was even more comfortable than we expected -- extremely spacious with high end linens, toiletries, and furnishings. Our kids loved the gas fireplace. The location is ideal in terms of walkable proximity to a marina and local eateries, and convenient to some of the best beaches. We are already planning a second trip back -- my daughter requested a trip back for her 15th birthday to include a spa visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: