Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rodeway Inn Ventura 2 stars

1690 East Thompson Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001, USA

#19 of 23 hotels in Ventura

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 99 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    About what you expect at this price. Still way better than a motel 6 in my view.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refrigerator made noises and was near impossible to unplug. TV was grainy. Free coffee not fit for humans.

    Comfortable bed, bathtub and roomy. There is a restaurant a couple blocks west of here that is a don’t miss. B-L- D First rate owned and operated by a real chef.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.5
    Terrible and run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manger in charge is the worst. He was very unhelpful we had a reservation. He told us we did not have one. Then I got charged for not showing up!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    I wont stay there at that location again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little scary that there was so many people just standing outside, on the property on i there phones for hours.

    The office person was very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    We were there for a race (running). We were able to get to our race in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking lot was not clean. There were some strange people staying there. Lots of smoking in the parking lot.

    The price and the availability of the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    Great Location, Pleasant Room Interior - Needs Upgrades to Exteriors
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the exteriors because most all appeared run-down, needing repairs and upgrades.

    The interior of the room was wonderful - tidy, visually appealing and also functional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.0
    I stayed here because my house was being fumigated and ironically this place needs the same.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way back in the corner. The ice machine was hard to find. No coffee maker. There was a dead fly on the ground. Spiders on the toilet paper and ants in the bathtub. The room smelled terrible. Have to turn the sink and shower on simontaniously to get hot water was an inconvenience.

    I liked that the room had a fridge and a microwave. The people staying there were friendly and helpful to me finding the ice machine. The staff was friendly and the maid service was efficient. Able to get a later check out since took a while to get all the ants out of bathtub before I could shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    Never again. Had permanent low income residents livong there. Not good atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location-no elevator to get upstairs with luggage.not enough handicap parking. No coffee in room. Broken sink on room. Just didnt look clean -needs baseboard in bathroom. Moldy looking between tiles and walls.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    It was a really nice stay. Just a little sad it had no pool
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better t.v channels or the t.v bigger or a little closer 😩

    The room wasn't that big but wasn't that small it was perfect, felt like home. The bed was really comfortable ☺️

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.7
    Bear bones place to stay in Ventura.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Learned I wanted to be closer to the ocean. No outdoor seating.

    Bear bones place to stay in Ventura. Staff is great. Room was adequate for my purpose

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    The owner was super nice, even if we had a problem with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner was super nice, even if we had a problem with booking dot com and our reservations. He immediately called in and helped us to our stay. The motel was super simple, for young people who like to travel and only go to the hotel to eat, and rest it was perfect. Everything was clean, the cleaning staff were super nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    3.8
    Rodeway Inn in Ventura, CA
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rodeway inn seemed a little run down. No covering on bathroom window. Loud guests even at midnight -- woke me up and couldn't go back to sleep. Sheets were scratchy. Won't be back.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    2.9
    Would not stay here at all. Unclean, rundown, and not very safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities were very run down, neighborhood was unsafe and with vagrants and questionable people milling around outside, the room and everything wasn't very clean and things weren't replaced/refreshed. Housekeeping is very poor and not at all thorough. Several supposedly clean towels had several strands of hair in them, the floors had hair, the shower and shower walls weren't clean and were barely rinsed, and the bedding was thin with only a bottom sheet and a thin top sheet and comforter (which we didn't use because those don't get cleaned) and the pillows were very uncomfortable.

    The check-in staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    6.7
    Expected a little better than what was given
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I first checked in, I was given a very shady room, under the stairs, secluded, in a dark corner & not 2 beds as requested, a king size bed & sofa bed. Also, ice machine was very far from room & parking lot was kinda shady

    Beds were clean, big & comfortable. Nice to have refrigerator & microwave in room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.2
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We book this hotel because we needed a place to stay for the night and it was halfway from the LAX and are destination. The room was very in-expensive so my husband and I were not expecting the nice room that we had! The bed was nice and comfortable and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Close to our reunion and easy to get to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside appearance was shabby, but room was very nice.

    Close to our reunion and easy to get to. We only stayed one night because Sunday activities were canceled.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    2.5
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s the worst place I ever been

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Could not find a ice machine but the room was clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find a ice machine but the room was clean and comfortable Also no elevator so I had to carry my luggage up the stairs which was a heavy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    2.5
    Never again
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would not stay there again. There was rusting fixtures in the bathroom , sticky carpet, smelly room. Broken window with toilet paper stuck in crack..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.8
    it wasn't very memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little dirty and outdated

    The bedding was comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was central to the beach and downtown Main St. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.4
    the bed was very soft and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilet was dirty and cobwebs in the bathroom

    the bed was very soft and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.1
    Big room, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towels were realy old, kept little yarns in our clothes

    Big room, comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Staff are very polite and friendly.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen needs to be up dated..

    Staff are very polite and friendly..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Not bad but would not book again. Decided on trip at last minute and everything else was booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the buildings were outdated. The parking area was old and shabby.

    Rooms were small but nicely furnished and had a frig

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment

    That the outside while clean, it was deceiving in that the room was VERY nice. Di it didn't look like it invited break-ins.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.0
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    OK place for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to understand staff at signin

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Good stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff restaurant was excellent and location and the pet friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Nice price, allot of restaurants close by and 25 minutes away from Santa Barbara.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The beds were comfortable and the room were clean. The person who checked us in was really nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.3
    Value money against facilities are not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price vs facilities are not worth it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.5
    The king size bed was comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A.C was loud.

    The king size bed was comfortable. The property was close to shops and restaurants. :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Clean and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No donuts with coffee

    Clean and quiet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.5
    The fact that the hôtel made a copy of my passport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the hôtel made a copy of my passport. I am not be assured the copy Will be destroyed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.1
    Good location, fast check-in/out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not cool guests around.

    Good location, fast check-in/out.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    4.2
    Reservation wasn't entry when I know i paid on my credit...
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reservation wasn't confirm and i had to pay again that upset me a lot

    Reservation wasn't entry when I know i paid on my credit card

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.1
    The pillows were the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 55 inch tv was fuzzy could not see picture well.. Ants were in the room Wish they had window locks on the ledge

    The pillows were the best

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    The staff was super nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    3.3
    Outside was neat and clean and beds were comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Carpet was dirty and sticky so I was unable to take my shoes off. Outlets in room were broken. You can see the room door was kicked in and security lock wasn't replaced. Room was infested with spiders of all kind. Not enough parking and spaces were very close together.

    Outside was neat and clean and beds were comfortable

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    5.0
    Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No ice in ice machine, coffee in lobby available late, showed up at 4:51pm to clean room (so I sent her away), wet floor (sink had huge Crack in it), wouldn't accept my credit card...made me use it as debit card because it cost them less,uneven non matching tiles made it easy to trip

    Price

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    6.7
    Cleanliness in rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coffee maker in the room. Coffee is served in lobby from 6am - 12pm, however at 9am there wasn't any. For $80 a night, you would think that toilet paper would be soft! It was the cheapest!

    Cleanliness in rooms.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    6.3
    Good location and responsive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    building is not attractive. Coffee isn't good. No frills at all. TV remotes were confusing and needed staff intervention to get them configured.

    Good location and responsive staff

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    7.5
    Liked the bed it was comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rm 102 is right next to rm 119. We were looking for good 5 min. Asked the staff twice where it was.

    Liked the bed it was comfortable! Microwave and refrigerator is a plus

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    5.0
    Parking lot is spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had to keep all three windows closed so that mosquitoes didn't come in because there was not one single proper fitting window screen. Two screens had large holes in them, and the main large window was completely missing the screen. The so called "free wifi" only worked on one side of the room, about in an eight foot area only, and always lost connection when I left that area. Both the small frig and microwave was about six feet from the bathroom which is not an idea location. All night there was some sort of machine that kept running constantly next door which was kinda hard to sleep through. Over all not happy, and not worth the $120 I paid for Saturday night. Will be the last place on my list to stay when I'm out again.

    Parking lot is spacious.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    5.0
    This place is located 4 blocks from the pier and 5 -blocks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    building under construction no one told us that. Coffee said to be only available in the office (-not the room) after 6am wasn't available until 7am. Rather scary neighborhood too, definitely the run down side of town

    This place is located 4 blocks from the pier and 5 -blocks from downtown so we were able to walk to most of our destinations

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.3
    Room was tidy and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    King sized bed sagged a bit in the middle. No fan other than AC unit. A ceiling fan would have helped.

    Room was tidy and very clean. Location was close to beaches and downtown shopping.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    5.8
    Seemed secure and the room was clean if worn and clearly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    While the wifi was free, the signal is so weak that my devices couldn't even detect it my room, meaning I had to conduct some needed business while sitting in the tiny lobby

    Seemed secure and the room was clean if worn and clearly updated with keeping costs down firmly n mind

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    4.6
    It had a bed i guess
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No working TV, no wifi, grumpy staff, no working phone, no plug for the bath, none of the things we wanted when we booked, and wouldnt give any discout. I didnt even stay the second night but still got charged for it!!!

    It had a bed i guess

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    7.5
    Okay area, close to everything via short ride in car -- not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Okay area, close to everything via short ride in car -- not in walking distance to shopping or ocean. Front desk personnel was very efficient and friendly. Inside of room was much better looking than outside of hotel. Needs some refurbishing on outside. There was no WiFi password provided, but we could have called for one I guess.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    7.5
    The room was big and clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stoppers were missing in the sink and the tub .You could loose your earring if it fell in the sink.You could not soak yourself in the bathtub because the stoppers were missing.Maybe they were conserving water since Ca lifornia is going thru a severe drought.

    The room was big and clean .Bed was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    5.8
    Most of the families there seemed thoughtful of each other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV didn't work. Musty smell until aired out. Couldn't open any windows. Would probably not stay there again.

    Most of the families there seemed thoughtful of each other and the price was reasonable. It was clean.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    8.3
    furniture was new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    internet was down, it was a service issue that affected everyone not just my room, they called it to repair right away. The only thing was the mini fridge that was not working, they were renovating and offered a credit for the inconvenience.

    furniture was new. clean. friendly staff, quick response when called. Nothing fancy but I would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    2.9
    The staff was rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was rude. When we asked for an extra towel the said "is it an emergency?". Then their was a huge bug in the light fixture. Gross. The water for the shower didn't warn up after 2 am.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    5.8
    The room was nicely decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor and unreliable wi-fi. Lamps did not work. Phone did not work. Refrigerator made alot of noise but did not work. Sink and tub had no plugs. Sink leaked all over the floor.

    The room was nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    10
    5 walking minutes from the beach, most comfortable motel bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    5 walking minutes from the beach, most comfortable motel bed we have ever slept on, extra friendly staff, equals happy customers! Highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    5.8
    It was relatively quiet as it was a week day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No stopper in sink. Broken toilet seat. Room to small for 2 beds and desk. Not much selection on TV.

    It was relatively quiet as it was a week day.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.6
    The room was very clean and up to date with appliances,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very clean and up to date with appliances, furniture and bedding

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    7.5
    Very comfortable room large beds and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The door was wrap and it was not closed easy and the toilet seat cover was broken.

    Very comfortable room large beds and clean.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    10
    Was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was ok

    Was nice

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    5.8
    price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    we needed to reset both room key cards several times within a two day stay.

    price

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    4.6
    Nothing.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    everything, granted it was only 100 bucks a night but this place was awful. noisy, creepy

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    8.0
    The staff were all very helpful.
    • Group

    The staff were all very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    6.3
    Was close to my planned activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too much outside noise and the refrigerator was extremely loud. Shower not safe very slippery.

    Was close to my planned activities

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.5
    It was a close to the beach and places to eat
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No WIFI

    It was a close to the beach and places to eat

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    10
    I loved how close to downtown we were.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to complain about

    I loved how close to downtown we were. The bed was huge and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.9
    The location was good, it was quite, clean and good size...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hallway to our room was very dark because the light was out.

    The location was good, it was quite, clean and good size room.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.8
    it was very clean and quiet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Please use better toilet tissue, for $100 a night Costco brand toilet tissue is an excellent choice!

    it was very clean and quiet!

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    2.5
    Absolutely nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rude owners who tried telling me there couldn't be ants cause they just sprayed the day before.

    Absolutely nothing!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    8.8
    Friendly, helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Took a long time for hot water.

    Friendly, helpful staff Super close to work destination & downtown business district.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: