Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Old Town Western Inn 2 stars

3889 Arista Street, Old Town, San Diego, CA 92110, USA

#168 of 226 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 310 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suttle to from car rental..or oldtown shuttles..we walked 5 blocks uphill it was fine but hard for elderly I would think.friendly

    Clean rooms nice staff walkable to oldtown.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The continental breakfast should have included fruit, at least boiled eggs and yogurt. They had plenty of starch. Waffles and cereal.

    Centrally located and walking distance to Old Town San Diego. Charming area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have improved on breakfast. Can't change the location, so it is what it is. Next time I would spend more for a different location.

    You get what you pay for. Breakfast is minimal. If they have fruit, its half bad. Room was clean and roomy, and loved there was no carpeting on the floor. Bathroom very outdated. Our room was quiet, which was good. Did not realize the neighborhood did not feel safe to walk around. Went to the corner for dinner, came out and their was a brawl happening on the street. Really!!! families and kids walking around. We found parking right in front of the hotel, did not have to pay. We left everyday to go anywhere but Old Town San Diego.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath fan LOUD. Tub permanently dirty. Fridge NOT cold. Desk called me an hour after we left saying GET OUT or they would charge for another day.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cigarette butt behind the coffee maker when we checked in.

    Great location although a bit run down. Staff were helpful and we liked the breakfast setting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were under staffed. The lady at the front desk had to book a room on the phone for a guest and check guest in. Needless to say that took a really long time for everyone. There were parts of the room that were clean and parts that were a bit dirty. The pull out sofa bed was stained and the sheets did not feel entirely clean. Also drunk people that were yelling outside kept waking us up.

    Lots of space in rooms like a little apartment. Even with 2 queen beds there was still a pull out sofa couch. A few minutes away from Old Town San Diego lots of bars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility was in need of serious updating. Towels were very rough, tiny breakfast area and if you can't find offstreet parking you will have to pay $10.00 for garage parking. Only thing good was that it was very close to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Their "breakfast included" was a joke. It was a hole in the wall that offered waffles, cereal, juice, coffee, and tea only. It was located outside on the second floor. There was a girl sitting on a stool that made the waffles in a waffle iron. Extremely disappointed. Also, their website said they had a shuttle service - wrong...it was a taxi that you paid for to and from. The hotel room wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. There was a gap in the door and the hotel wasn't even secured from outside...anyone could walk in from the side enrance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel parking is not free, they charge you $10 a night, but you can easily park on the streets around the hotel for free, so no big deal

    The location is great. Walking distance from San Diego Old Town. Staff is friendly, we arrived early so our room was not ready, Robert at the front desk offered us complimentary appetizer at a well known café in Old Town while we waited for our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room left something to be desired.

    Location, walking distance to old town. Room was large with a microwave and fridge. Tv had nick jr and disney channel for our 2yo grandson

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Person above us started walking loudly back and forth at 5:45 am. Will always ask for upper floors room from now on !! Adding fruits to breakfast would be nice.

    Beds were comfy , location was perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be updated. To park you had to park on street with little parking spots, and if you park in the garage you had to pay 10.00 a day, which should be free for your guests.

    The staff was outstanding. The room was comfortable. Quiet. The staff member made our waffles very kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertises free parking but actually charges $10.00, when you get there they point out there's "free" parking on the street! Room was clean but very shabby,and austere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit dated and tired. Water pressure wasn’t the best.

    Good location for old town and quick easy drive downtown. Clean room. Nice staff. They changed our room without hassle when we had an issue arise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old building. Outside hallways. Tiny breakfast room off the 2nd floor with basic breakfast items to take to your room. They charge to park your car in the hotel parking area.

    Location is great right by Old Town San Diego. The building is old, but they are trying to update the rooms. Room was clean. Friendly and helpful breakfast attendant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very dated, furniture was old and stained. Maintenance of facility and room was not to standard, previous leaks showed on walls and around air conditioner. No screens on windows, window ledge build-up of pigeon feces. will not re-visit this location.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just about everything. I think this hotel needs a complete refurbishing. You have what could be a goldmine in a perfect location but the building is old and feels not safe when you approach it.

    I didn't eat breakfast. The condition of the hotel didn't encourage me to try the food. I liked the wifi although one of my devices could never log in. I don't think the bandwidth was sufficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More chairs in room!! Baths need updating.Better lighting especially near mirrors in living room.

    Quiet, on site parking (for a fee)ok street parking.good beds.Good tv.Convenient.ok nighborhood.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is old. Furnitures old, shower knob is too hard to turm. The side street parking is always full, because of the 2 hotels close by.

    The hotel is close to the Airport and it’s easy to get to.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent for the price! Love the location! It smelled clean upon check in (big BIG plus). Breakfast nothing fancy but enough for what we needed. I would stay here again and recommend to to others!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was minimal and only place to sit was outside where it was too cool in the morning. We decided to skip the hotel breakfast and eat in town.

    Location, and the staff was very, very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was the only disappointment. Everything else was great!

    It's understood that it was a continental breakfast but I've stayed at much less expensive hotels before where the breakfast was so much better than Western. It could certainly be improved for the price paid per room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fax machine not working email receipt did not come so had to call

    breakfast was minimal but did the trick location to Old Town was great Had great time at Coyote Cafe & walked back to hotel Check in easy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, bad coffee, small TV , inadequate emergency preparedness when electric power was out

    Comfortable Bed, large size room, good shower included microwave, breakfast and fridge. Friendly staff and best price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shutters didn't block out enough of the walkway lighting

    Affordable with one step up from basic... coffee maker, fridge, free wifi! Clean and no musty carpet because the room has vinyl plank flooring. Carpet on outside walkway kept it quiet from passerby with rolling bags

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't know that there was an $8 per night fee for parking, so we were disappointed with that.

    We were pleased with everything. We didn't know about the continental breakfast, so we were pleased with that. We were pleased that it was close to Old Town and the airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast provided was chiefly freshly prepared pancakes. In theory this was superb. However, I did not wish to eat that much and had only coffee. I would have appreciated more variety.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a $60 motel with a $100 price. The discount rate was applied only to the first day. Second and third day went up to $116. The floors were uncarpeted so that they didn't have to wash/shampoo them. The outside hallways look like they aren't cleaned very often. The amenities are MINIMAL, and the continental breakfast room seems to be missing yogurt and fruit, which would have been nice.

    Location was close to the train and to the Old Town transit center. We used buses to get to Seaworld and the San Diego zoo. San Diego bus drivers were not very helpful about bus fares, and bus prices in S.D. seem exhorbitant compared to L.A.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A great reception on arrival. Both Sanjay and Violet were so very welcoming and helpful. We were at the end of a long bicycle trip down the Pacific West Coast and Sanjay helped us store our bicycles safely and securely for a few days before our flight home, whilst we took a side trip to Joshua Tree National Park. The Western Inn is ideally placed for the airport, Interstates and the charming Old Town and is great value. It is very well run, very clean and has all the facilities we needed. Whilst the breakfast is simple it is adequate and the lady who serves the breakfast was delightful, happy and helpful as were the cleaning staff. We would definitely recommend the Western Inn to other travellers and stay again ourselves.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is crappy, typical american. Bad coffee, bad waffles. No yoghurt or meat.

    Good bed, quiet sleep, the location is very nice. Room is good. Tv OK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We liked everything.

    The best was staying in Old Town. The Inn was centrally located. We took a taxi to the Zoo, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Downtown San Diego, Fashion Valley Mall, and etc. Peaceful and safe. Taking the Taxi was cheaper than renting a car for seven days.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was skipped the first day we were out and about. Had to track down the lady to get some extra toiletries. Our trash was overflowing.

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking said breakfast included, the breakfast was basically waffles and muffins; and there weren't any dairy free products. The space to take breakfast seemed improvised.

    In terms of the room, everything was great. Exterior wise, the hotel might look a bit old, but the room was pretty good. The bath could use some upgrade.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old hotel that could use some updating. Parking is free on street or $8/night in their structure.

    Comfy beds. Friendly staff. Convenient location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy as far as hearing the cleaning cart early in the morning. I did notice the cleaning lady left a mop in the elevator and some empty cans on the ground when I walked in through the garage.

    The staff was friendly and the bedroom was remodeled and clean. Overall it was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's called Old Town for a reason...everything is old. We could tell that remodeling is being done at the hotel with a few minor items left to be completed in our bathroom. But our room was very big and clean. The staff was especially helpful and friendly! The breakfast was free and very limited but once we tried the great breakfasts in Old Town at the "Hungry"we knew where to eat.

    Location, Location, Location. Old Town Western is an easy walking distance to Old Town while still very very economical. (a few blocks walk up hill) . Courtyard Marriott is across the street and there are other hotels in the immediate area. This is a very old (1800's) part of the city and every building is old. Old Town is an historical town with California's first State Park. Lots of great restaurants, historical points of interest, and souvenir shopping as well as a lot of places to have a drink and kick back. (Very popular with the locals!) Also it is the starting point of the San Diego Trolley Tours and California Beach Tours. We especially enjoyed the Fiesta and free Dancing show at the Casa Reyes restaurant! We liked not needing a car during our visit especially after seeing the traffic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were extremely dark because you couldn't open the shutter. Otherwise people can see you in your room. The WLAN was very slow and the parking spots very narrow.

    Rooms were clean, beds were ok. Good location if you have a car (about 10 minutes to the center) There were some small restaurants and a park which we didn't explore more. Gas stations were also right behind the hotel for some snacks or drinks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little water pressure in shower, very difficult to turn on, off and temp of water. Toilet bowl scratched inside, floor marred. Difficult to park in garage.

    Did not like property. This was 2nd time at this property but not good this time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Because they didn't have an accessible room available and I travel with a power wheelchair, the manager was very accommodating in seeing to it that I had a room with easy access for the chair and plenty of room to park and charge it. While the rooms may have been a little "dated", the hotel was clean and the bed comfortable. It is located within easy "walking" distance to Old Town and the transportation hub nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free breakfast i was told i would get was a little misleading. I would never eat a quesadilla or bunuelo for breakfast & that was what the voucher was good for.There was also no bedspread or comforter on the bed.

    The front desk person was extremely nice and got us an early check in!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The light that came into the room at night was excessive. There were windows at each end of the room, the shutters were ineffective and there was strong lighting at night adjacent to those windows. It was always a strong twilight in the room. Breakfast was a complete failure; the coffee was disgusting, quite the worst I've ever drank. The bread was poor, the kitchen was pokey and difficult to work in. The breakfast lady was disinterested, didn't clean the outside tables and was too busy passing the time of day to look after customers. We only had breakfast there on the first morning but found alternatives on subsequent mornings.

    Reception staff was efficient and helpful. Their help made our stay worthwhile. The rooms were a good size. Although on the edge of Old Town it was close enough to enjoy evenings there and to make us realise that it was probably the right part of San Diego to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included which was a bonus but could of had more choice

    Walking distance to Old Town. Very quiet and comfortable with big rooms. Good wifi and very Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is Terrible....No Street parking...Garage part terrible too. My car got scratched in the garage. Tiny garage and they charge 8 dollars to park. I arrived early, they said the room was ready but I could not check early unless I paid $20.00.

    Big bedroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no lobby at check in, only a little room, so I was told to go across the street to the Marriott to use the restroom. The breakfast is a Belgian waffle, or a bowl of cereal.

    Clean room, friendly staff, only 35 rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    My husband and I have been going to this hotel for years for our anniversary. The rooms have been renovated and they look much nicer. Also Sanjay at the front desk made our 10th anniversary extra special, he is the best!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was gloomy. No view.

    Great hotel if you want to move around the city using the buses or trolley. Staff were helpful and also held our luggage after check out. Bed was wonderfully comfortable. Bathroom was clean. Hairdryer provided.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the room smelled of smoke and it was suppose to be smoke free, no way to open windows, they offered to get a smoke machine and a smoke spray..for $186.00 dollars I shouldn't have to go through this!! I will never recommend this hotel!!

    I didn't..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking garage was tight. Bathroom is out dated. The phone in the room didn't work.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a microwave and a refrigerator. The area was quite so slept well. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is just coffee and some muffins, but there are plenty of places nearby to eat if you need more than that. Wifi is not the strongest, but it's OK for emails and stuff.

    Staff is super super friendly and helpful, beds are very comfy and they have a lot of pillows as well. The location is very good, a nice short walk to the main streets of Old Town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    One side of the building (mine) was noisy due to the freeway nearby and train noise. They advertised continental breakfast, but only some weak coffee and some bread or something in the lobby. No juice. No breakfast room or breakfast 'mood.' Worst "breakfast" of recent places I've stayed offering "free breakfast."

    Good location walking distance to Old Town restaurants and sites.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was disgusting. There had obviously had been a leek above the shower because there was patchwork. It looked like there was black mold growing on it. The toilets tank cover had previously been broken and it was replaced with one that was a different color and it slide back and forth because it didn't fit. The floor boards were stapled.

    I liked the room colors.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was reliable very very slow, hard to block out light while sleeping.

    staff very friendly; an easy walk to heart of Old Town and to public transportation (bus, train, trolley).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not comfortable and you can hear every person just walking by all night or next rooms

    The staff was so nice and the location was great. Fair price too!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we booked our stay from booking.com and it said our check out was until 12am. About 11:15 we get a call saying our check out time was at 11 & we said no it said 12. Point is the man was rude when we dropped the key off before 12. So next time inform the guest what time check out is when they check in.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that I had to pay extra for parking when the room was more expensive then what it was worth. I didn't like that my room was next to the ice machine.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe team up for a shuttle to old town or passing tram? It's easy to walk but I can't think of anything else.

    The staff are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and it's the only place I stay in San Diego.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking lot was very Dirty. I backed in my car on one night and did not notice until the morning when I tried to get something from my trunk that there was feces behind my car and was unable to get into my trunk.

    Walking distance to old town. The room was cozy and clean. I believe Stephanie was the young lady who helped and was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby and elevator smelled funny, like some air freshener had been sprayed. I am "sensitive " to chemicals and it was unpleasant.

    Extremely well located to Old Town San Diego State Park. The staff does work to see to your comfort.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dated and uninviting. Odd pieces of furniture...no effort in decor. Towels were terrible; worn and rough. Wish I'd taken my own.

    The location is excellent...parking at facility was also convenient...walking distance to everything! The room was spacious but dated. Beds were comfortable. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi, very basic breakfast. Noisy air conditioning.

    Location to Old Town,reasonable price but should be cheaper for the facilities on offer. Rooms need to be updated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was great- near freeway as well as walking distance to great bars, restaurants and best part of Old Town San Diego. Room, while outdated, was clean and staff was exceptionally professional and kind, as well as accommodating. As a San Diego native who had recently moved overseas and was back in town for a short weekend, this was the perfect spot for a short weekend in San Diego. Room was quiet and allowed us to get some rest and sleep as well as walk to some good food and drinks in Old Town or drive a short distance to the beach, airport or downtown San diego.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late check-in time. Most hotels in area are 2-3 p.m. for check-in. 4 seemed late. Also I was plugging in my charger and noticed toe nail clippings between bed and nightstand, not mine.

    Bed was very comfortable. Location is good. Quiet for the most part.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was the most awkward room I ever been in. There were two rooms and there was barely any furniture, and the furrniture that was in there was poorly matched. The big screen was the size of my computer screen at home and it didn't work. There were no mirrors in the room except for the bathroom and it took forever for the shower to work. The were anchors in the wall like they were going to hang a picture but forgot. There was a random hanger hanging from the blinds and the vanity area had no mirror The oddest thing was the wall socket was up in the corner of the ceiling??? For the amount of money that I paid I was hoping that the room was decorated nicer and cleaner.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Update the rooms. Old hotel but needs a few pictures and fresher looking rooms. At least the one we stayed in.

    The location was perfect to enjoy Old Town and access the trolly. Very friendly and accommodating front clerk.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    property was dated and could have be cleaner

    great location a block or so from old town and trolley stop. freeway noise was not a factor. on-site parking only $8. front desk staff was friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The humidity smell in the bathroom!!!

    That we were able to walk to Old Town restaurant as, bars and the park. Sue the front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had water leaks in ceiling. Flood light outside of room and poor blinds didn't make room dark enough. Interestingly, no artwork on the walls; made the room plain. Need to advertise $8/night parking fee.

    Nice location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking garage was horrible..we barely made it out the cars bottomed out and sparks were flying everywhere. We would have went out the other way if anyone had told us this was going to happen.If i wasn't in a rental and driving my own car i would have taken it straight to a mechanic to get it checked because it was BAD!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is older and the room smelled very musty when we arrived. It's very dated and needs upgrading. We had to open the window to air the room. It was a very chilly day so our room was quite cold. As well, the hotel is located very near the I-5, so you could clearly hear the traffic with the window open. There was an extra $8 charge to park our car and $2 to get a key to use the safe

    The staff let us continue to use the parkade for a few more hours so we could visit Old Town San Diego.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rate of the hotel wish it could go a little lower

    The cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not clean, pubic hairs in the tub.

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get hot water to come out of the sink☹️

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Yes and yes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location was good. Breakfast options poor.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: