Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Orchard Garden Hotel 4 stars

466 Bush Street, Chinatown, San Francisco, CA 94108, USA

#34 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 476 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con...automatic central system with too much variable. .ie got too hot then cool would cut in and get cold until it settled..cycle would then repeat

    Very clean, staff accomodating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower pressure was a bit weak, and I think the heads could do with replacing, but water temperature was fine.

    As a first-time visitor to SF, this was a great option. We reserved one of the superior rooms which was spacious and, despite overlooking Bush St, we were not disturbed by traffic noise. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was a good size. This hotel is located just outside the gate to Chinatown - very central and we felt safe. Staff were happy to see us and check-in was no hassle at all. Given the astronomical prices in the city, I'd say this hotel is good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn’t very private even as a couple as door didn’t close completely.

    Very clean, neat hotel. Good location, felt safe and close to amenities and attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rain, but that wasn't the fault of the hotel :)

    I enjoyed the location of this hotel. Right next to China Town and walking distance from Union Square. We also walked to the Exploratorium which is a must if you are with kids.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy (room was right next to cleaners supply room, often woke up to them talking and moving around. Could also hear other guests - rooms were not noise cancelling), no additional facilities (room service, massage,etc as expected), bad quality television, some staff a little rude (door man especially)

    The big bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Being on the 10th floor. There was really no view, so perhaps a room on a lower floor.

    Our room was clean and very comfortable. Bed extremely comfortable. Service was great. The employees at the front desk always available to answer our questions and give directions to the transit system. Great location!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant serves only breakfast and is very much overpriced.

    Very quiet room with comfortable bed. Location is perfect for my business needs. Many restaurants close by as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked wine and cheese reception at night perhaps coffee in the morning. Everything else was wonderful .

    The staff was wonderful especially our bellman Rickie Martin. The location was great near restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included in booking.com reservation, but we ended up eating in the hotel and can also recommend the breakfast.

    Beds were very comfortable and room was spacious with beautiful sliding doors to bathroom and thick carpet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff and manager. We asked for a late checkout, I have in writing that the cost would be 15$ (fifteen) an hour, but then they tried to pull a thief thing on and told me it was 50$ (fifty). They often do that in USA because they think you don't know the difference between those two. Manager was extremely rude and yelled and told me "I am not a good customer":))

    Great hotel, great location and great facilities, very clean and confortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was VERY small and terribly rundown. Holes in the curtain backing, resulting in light coming through in a “ polka dot pattern, no sheer curtains for privacy, a broken towel rack in the shower, NO water pressure in the shower but a huge, wasteful flow from the sink faucet. This used to be our hotel of choice but never again !!

    Bed was very comfortable. Good location. Love the fountain and sculptures.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and beverage is a slight issue. No room service or food outside of breakfast. No mini bar either .You can order drinks to be delivered to your room but that's it

    So quiet, clean, staff really friendly. Spacious rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was a disappointment in the hotel BUT this wasn't a problem because there is a great breakfast eatery literally just across the road, which is popular with San Franciscans so you might need to book a table!

    The staff were especially helpful. Our first room was a bit noisy so we were moved to another - better - room instantly. We had other issues unrelated to the hotel and they went out of their way to be helpful. The location is excellent - right by the China Town gate; Union Square, Cable Car terminuses easily walkable; the tourist hop-on, hop-off buses stop almost right outside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building next door starts to renovate at 5 am. The noises are unbearable. Greedy hotel that provides one complimentary water for two guests. Moldy bathroom, dirty sheets and no view. You will be facing the construction side. Parking is a joke. They charge 55 dollar to park while the garage next door charged 30 dollars, if you don't mind the uphill drive. Drag luggage from their hotel to the nearest parking garage is pain the a**. It's uphill. The pumps for shampoo and shower ge is terrible, 2 inch of shampoo cost 15 pumps. Don't try to email them, they won't email back.

    Convenient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    booked a superior king room. were very lucky to get a room on the 10th floor with amazing view overlooking the union square area. very spacious room and bathroom, far superior to most of the other downtown SF hotels we have stayed in of the same/ and even slightly higher price category.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key Card for room stopped working each day during my 3 night stay. Noisy external a/c units outside room 903 (although didn't keep me awake). $55 parking per night expensive, especially considering it was weekend.

    Room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Only a 5 minute walk to Union Square for shops, restaurants etc. Staff were helpful and accommodating. Nightly turn down service a nice touch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price paid, I would have expected breakfast to be included.

    Beautiful roof top garden, friendly and professional staff, clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced parking-valet parking,u r able to find just one-two block away parking for the half of the price. Poor customer service-they barely care about newly arrived guest. Not offered any services of hotels-like breakfast,maps,basic info about check out and so on. Overall, do not expect 4stars attitude, hotel is ok for short time stay.

    Good location,downtown-that means i do not comment price. But i do comment services...not here-down in negative section. Comfy bed,bathroom large and fully loaded with complimantary stuff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If a Tumi briefcase was a hotel, it would be the Orchard Garden. This isn't a no-frills hotel by any means but it's pretty sleek, efficient and to the point. It doesn't have a huge lobby so if you're looking for a social scene, this isn't the place for it. Go to the Hotel Triton or one of the Joie de Vivre chains. Here's what makes it unique: 1) It's right next to Dragon's Gate China Town on the Bush street side, so if you fancy a stroll up the shops it's literally as far as the corner curb. 2) It's a newer building/facility that's about 10 yrs old, so if staying in old buildings (of which there are plenty in SFO) creeps you out, pick this hotel. T 3) It's well enough close to the Union Square shops as well as the financial district so you can walk to both at any given time. 4) This hotel has an on site restaurant that serves breakfast but room service ends at 6 pm. So if you're coming in famished from a late flight, expect to either get delivery or stop somewhere first. Cafe de la Presse is right across so that's also convenient. 5) Do not expect stunning views on most of the rooms. 6) THERE IS NO OLD SMELL, yay! 7) The section of Bush street it's on has less homeless/working girls at night though these are sadly unavoidable in SFO. I was pleased to find that there were plenty of towels in the super spacious bathroom, as well as a dvr player for those of you who still carry that. The flat screen tvs don't have great resolution so if that bothers you, just stream. Wifi is free. The room is not business cheap (below $200 after taxes) but I suppose that's just SFO being SFO. I've stayed at other properties through the city, and I would say that for business this is an excellent choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet wasn't working for the final 12hrs of our stay which were the more important.

    Clean simple rooms. Rooftop terrace was a cute option if not very basic

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure what amenities we were supposed to receive. Small things like room slippers, water etc

    Good, calm atmosphere. Quiet and great location. Like to commend door staff Ricky for being helpful and provide good assistance in general queries. Tony at reception was also quick in processing our check in and getting us a room quickly. It is a help especially when we hve travelled a long way.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Valet parking was very expensive. The first room we were offered had a terrible view of a dirty grey back yard. I asked to upgrade but it came at quite a price and the receptionist seemed to take some pleasure in charging me the extra amount.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask for a kettle but they gave us one as soon as we asked.

    This place was perfect for 5nights in the city . Would stay here again if I come back to San Francisco.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would NEVER stay HERE again. smelled like weed at the elevator hall. too expensive for a room that has a weak shower, a bad view of other buildings' windows, and no complementary breakfast. if you have a car then I would strongly recommend you to book a hotel that is a bit far from downtown and does not cost you $55 (+tax) for parking per DAY. Would have been much appreciated if they informed us about the bloody expensive parking in advance.

    handy location, clean room, comfy bed, staffs are alright.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 'interior' rooms which look out on light shaft. I would avoid these! There is not a full service restaurant but lots of places within walking distance!

    This hotel was in the perfect location. The bedding was superb and the staff was amazing. Rooftop area was great to byob and chill. Irish Bank bar right across the street is fun, lively and perfect for a nightcap!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is expensive however seems to be the norm for San Francisco

    Located close to union square, about a 5 minute walk. The turn down service and the chocolates left on the bed is a nice touch

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive but everything in San Francisco is

    The hotel was centrally located just beside gates to Chinatown and easy walking distance to Union Square and shopping The rooms were clean and comfortable Staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cable selection a bit basic, but you're not staying downtown for the TV

    Location, spacious bathroom, comfortable bed, great linen, env friendly, has AC

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person on reception desk was unhelpful, remote, rude and not informed about nearby facilities. The person at the door was not welcoming. The place is tired and dirty. Filthy carpet, filthy and marked covering on the chair at the reception desk. I have stayed here before when the hotel was a leader in the "green movement" then it was clean well furnished and lively, not dead as it is today.

    The bathroom and bed clean and comfortable. size and layout of the room good. furnishings tasteful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All good

    The location is what makes this hotel. It's perfectly positioned for sight seeing, especially China town and getting on the cable cars, and an easy walk to many restaurants and bars. The staff were friendly and helpful, and our room was nicely quiet, as the hotel fronts onto a relatively busy street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    It's just perfect. It's about attention to details in everything. This hotel is about nuances. It's one of the best places I've ever been.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The worn out carpet The moisture stains/mold in the bathroom The price is way too high for the quality of the room The Omni and The Meridian have a much better ratio Price/Quality The Omni was less expensive

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to know up front parking was an extra fee. Maybe I missed it when I booked, it wouldn't have made a difference, but the shock irritated me

    Roof patio was cute. Also I like the "Green" element of the Room. Staff was nice, location steps away from China town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had requested a quiet room, which it was in regards to street & hallway noise but I was too close to the roof & it was a bit noisy from (I'm guessing) the generators or some type of machinery. Would have liked a bar in the hotel.

    Great location, I enjoy walking & this hotel was within walking distance of most sites. I liked that the hotel was environmentally conscious. Room was very clean. Bed was comfortable & cozy with lots of pillows. Bathroom was spacious, had lots of towels & had good lighting. Staff was friendly & helpful, made great recommendations for dinner. Good breakfasts at Roots.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't think of anything I didn't like about this hotel.

    Most comfortable bed of the whole trip with ample pillows. Well appointed room, even had a dvd player in it. Location was great! Just around the corner from the Dragon Gate and chinatown. Walking distance to theater district and financial district. Easy to get around. We parked up the street at the Sutter-Stockton Garage and it wasn't too expensive. Housekeeping was super friendly. The shower&bathroom were very nice. The air conditioning/thermostat was easy to use and worked well. 10/10 will stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only parking is either self park at a remote garage or valet parking which was quite expensive.

    Choose this hotel as it was close to an early business meeting and more reasonably priced than others. The room was quiet, clean and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small newer hotel in great location. Smooth check-in and valet service (We used the valet parking and it really helped not to worry about parking issues.) We were upgraded to a nice size suite upon check-in. The room was easy to access, spotlessly clean (so nice!), and even had a small refrig (which was much appreciated). The bellmen/doormen/valets were particularly helpful throughout our stay. The turndown service was a nice treat for us...not expected, but certainly fun to come back to after a late evening! We will definitely stay here again when we come to SF.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no vending machines for drinks for middle of the night thirst quenching.

    The pillows were fabulous. The staff extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and professional. The first entirely GREEN hotel built in California. Robes available in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from most attractions and some staff unfriendly.

    Very clean and close to train station. Most comfortable bed ever and turndown service. Decent size room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The false fire alarm certainly woke me up from an afternoon nap! They may be repairing the ceiling where I clawed it

    The staff was the most helpful & most friendly of any hotel I've ever stayed at!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning crew missed our room somehow the first day we were there. We called the front desk and they sent someone up but it was 5:30 PM and we were getting ready to go out. If we hadn't called no one would have come to clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shuttle service to and from the airport or Fishermans Wharf which added a considerable expense to the trip. The need to have to place a deposit for incidental charges which was not shown on booking.com. That cost should have been included in the hotel description.

    The staff was outstanding and met my every need. Although I was supposed to get a room with a city view, it was still an excellent room. The office center and fitness center were both excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of water pressure in the shower

    Hotel was ideally located for the city and public transport links. Room was a good size and very clean and comfortable. Staff all very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We Couldn't connect to internet from Lobby? AT First they glave U.S a room which Was not agreed: 2 beds, without refrigerator... so We had to change later.

    Positon is very god. Just bu Dragon gate- entrance to The Chinese quartier

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom could have been larger so there was more space between end of bed and wall desk

    Very comfortable bed & spacious bathroom. Also roof deck garden space was nice and private.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room overlooked the bin area,which was noisy up until just before midnight. No noise from the road though. A bit of a corporate feel to it.

    Comfortable, modern room. On site restaurant for very nice breakfast, not included in tariff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They only have valet parking, which is EXPENSIVE. But there are parking garages nearby that are slightly cheaper during the weekdays and very cheap for the weekends.

    Great location-- right next to Chinatown and walking distance to Union Square. The building is nice and clean. The TV was a bit old but I was out in the city most of the time. Would recommend if you are visiting San Francisco for leisure. Definitely worth the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some carpets in rooms a bit worn and sofa bed pretty terrible

    Breakfast at Roots restaurant consistently excellent, very fresh ingredients, well-presented, delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the gym is not really a gym, it's just a room with 3 machines.

    Large and very clean room, comfortable beds, professional and kind staff, great position to enjoy the city

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near Union Square for shopping and sightseeing. The staff were really helpful with advice on the best directions to take to get to places and buying sightseeing tickets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bigger room.

    It is right around the corner from Chinatown. I felt like it was an excellent place for what we paid compared to other SF hotels. Also, the front desk staff was really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lady at the front desk that welcomed us was cold and never smiled once. She handed us the keys and that was it. No information about the hotel, no suggestions about SF, nothing at all. Quite underwhelming, especially considering we were the only ones at the reception. Luckily, other stuff members were more attentive. The room itself was decent, but the sink in the bathroom was filling up of water every time we opened the tap. It took 20 seconds to fill and 5 minutes to empty. The tubes are clearly clogged/obstructed.

    The location. The hotel is just ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv kept freezing its picture on every channel the first night, the wifi did not let you access the internet. The breakfast on Friday morning was Buffett only and my pancakes, eggs, and sausage was cold. We had breakfast at 830. I got an email saying that my bill was $900.00 and something on our first day when I booked thru booking . Com for the two nights for $400 and something. There was no view out the window. Just the side of a building.

    Loved the bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was poor. Our room overlooked a old roof and garbage cans. Power outage and stuck in elevator but generator kicked in. No discount was offered at checkout, no receipt available and a definite inconvience was experienced. Power outage turned out to be a wide section of San Fran in all fairness.

    Service was very good. It's a new facility and close to most locations. Pricing does seem right and may relate to power outage and a mistake.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power was out for most of the stay here. No air conditioning, tv, or anything. Parking was 55 dollars a day.... horrible value. And they would not compensate or anything for the inconvenience.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Extra towels. Very clean. Right next door to the entrance to China Town where we could get good inexpensive meals. Very close to Market street. Designer shops all around. Star bucks at the corner, very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable room. Large bathroom. Great bed linen and comfortable bed. Excellent service from Broc the doorman who was friendly and informative

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff work with different rules. I was told the night before i check out that i can ring the front desk before 12pm to inform them if i want to check out late, and i'll be charged 20 dollars per hour after 1pm. However, when I approched the receptionist Julian next morning at 9am, she said what i was told last night is wrong. The hotel will charge me half day rate, which is around 170 dollars, if i want to check out at 3pm. It's not my fault that got the wrong information from your staff. And it really caused inconvenience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel parking is pretty expensive, we parked a block away in a city car park and saved $70

    Staff were very friendly and the location was perfect. Close to everything and great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not included in the rate. The restaurant does open for breakfast but the options are somewhat limited. However there are at least three options in the same block. Starbucks is very close.

    I like almost everything in the hotel. It looks indeed like an Asian Hotel with a staff coming to make your bed every night. Location is excellent with several restaurants nearby and walking distance to Union Square. I really liked staying in this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for 3 days. The property is quite old. From elevator to room facilities. Has a window, but facing a wall.... Staff not that friendly and gave wrong directions when asked about transportation. Housekeeping is ok, but never clean the bathtub properly.

    Bed is nice and comfy. Location is good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV was poor picture quality, tuner was difficult to understand and operate.

    Nice size and layout of the clean room. Nice bed, good sleep. We didn't do much at the hotel since we were attending a business meeting at another nearby hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was too pricey--$57/night. White bathroom scuffs (slippers) could have been offered as "complimentary" to guests. We would have like 2 bottles of complimentary water placed in the room upon arrival.

    The staff was very helpful, friendly, professional, and accommodating. The room was spotless & welcoming. The size of the large bathroom was an unexpected surprise! We liked the fact that the shampoo and body wash came from a dispenser on the wall of the shower, rather than have to fumble with those small bottles. The 2 wine glasses in the room were a nice touch! Location of this hotel is perfect; a variety of excellent restaurants 1 block away and across the street, near Chinatown and Union Square. Very clean, beautifully appointed, welcoming front lobby with gorgeous fountain, comfortable beds, easy check-in.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have a luxury hotel feeling. All was good, but shouldn't be advertised as a 'Luxury deal'. I wouldn't call it a 4 star hotel. 3 stars more appropriate. Too expensive for what you get. Breakfast option too expensive for what's offered. We ate in a nearby restaurant for the same price and seemed like it had better options. Room size kinda small.

    All amenities in the room were good, but not a luxury hotel. Location - close to BART and cable cars.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. It was an excellent stay.

    We chose this hotel for value for money and location (short walk from Union Square, Cable Cars and the BART line which goes to and from the airport (SFO). Matt (concierge) was extremely helpful directing us to places to eat, MUNI/cable car etc to get to main tourist attractions (although we ended up walking most of it). Also, my husband was sick on the day we had to check out and Anthony arranged for a very late check out so we could hang out a bit longer in the comfort of the room. Liked having free wifi in room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needed to extend my booking for an additional night. After multiple confirmations in writing and in person with the staff, all our belongings were moved out of our original room without our knowledge or consent, including all personal items within the safe! After expressing our extreme disappointment we were offered a free breakfast to compensate. Ultimately, it was just a disappointing stay.

    Rooms were very clean and efficient and the location was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The conditioning system looked a bit old. This resulted in rooms to be very humid (in a very humid location like S. Francisco). I tried breakfast 1 morning: very poor and absolutely not valuable for the money.

    The place was very quiet, and I could really enjoy the sleeping hours. Staff was very friendly, helpful and always available.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we were placed in a disabled room but appreciated willingness to change room the following day.

    Location and friendliness of staff in particular Ricky.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have 24/7 room service.

    The staff were exceptionally professional, helpful and friendly-especially Thai and Matt. I appreciated the free Wi-Fi that worked well throughout my stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little tight, some noise from integral sources.

    Good location, good staff, adequate rooms and facilities. Plenty of places to eat nearby. Relatively good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel was excellent for walking around China Town and many more central areas. The breakfast was tasty and our server absolutely charming!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very rude. A young man with glasses at the front desk watched as my ride pulled up in front but did not help me carry my large suitcase to the car. He was talking to the female front desk attendant in a personal conversation

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed the cleanliness and the softness of the sheets. Location was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    needed a second chair or small couch in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of Orchard Garden Hotel is perfect for our business trip. Our room was very clean and lighting was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Orchard Garden Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: