Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Orchard Hotel 4 stars

665 Bush Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94108, USA

#21 of 264 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1067 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no food options on the property after breakfast, not even vending. The staff were happy to help with delivery, however.

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were larger than expected and up to date. San Francisco is lacking for affordable options in a central location and this one exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.5
    Walk to union square and near Powell cable car fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy of checking in and location is wonderful able to walk to shops and restaurants Friendly staff very helpful and breakfast was great surrounding is beautiful Room is beautiful and bed is very comfortable overall we love this hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay for visiting downtown San Francisco.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be aware it is on a main road and traffic noise can be heard.

    Very clean and comfortable room. Provided me with a kettle to have a cup of tea. Very good location and convenient for walking to many attractions.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Suite was spacious for SFO standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Original room was on 2nd floor, it was corner suite and due to it being lowest guest floor and closest to street level it was a bit noisier than we liked. The hotel staff moved us to a higher floor when a room became available and all was good. It is steep climb uphill from Union Square.

    The Powell and Market trolley car runs about 200ft away, a stop is at Bush St and Powell. Riding the trolley car is easy way up the steep Powell street climb. The suite rooms are very spacious for SFO standards. Breakfast at hotel good, $20 for fruit cup, hot tea and traditional eggs benedict. Bellman and hotel staff friendly. Having the larger suite allowed us to invite local family members and friends to meet up with us at hotel and use it as a place for drinks before going out. Very good location for access to public transportation. MUNI buses, MUNI trains, trolley cars, and BART all very nearby! The rooms looked like what was pictured on hotel website. Hotel has nightly turn down service and chocolates, nice touch. Also liked bath products and cleanliness.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Excellent and would certainly stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel in a great location. Staff were really pleasant and helpful and the breakfasts were great. Really beautiful room on the top floor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Good size room, helpful staff, great bathroom, loved the robes. Breakfast room was very elegant, food was very good, though not an extensive menu. Concierge was particularly friendly and very helpful. Location was great, with cable car right outside, and many attractions close by.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Location superb and hotel is clean and great value for money and would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was clean and very comfortable and area very quiet at night. Bed and Pillows excellent. Great location and very friendly and helpful staff. .Great value for money and would stay there again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    The Orchard hotel is well located in SFO, only two blocks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We chose to have breakfast in the hotel one day. Service was a bit chaotic and one of us had to wait longer then the others to be served. Breakfast was ok, but there are better options near the hotel for the same price.

    The Orchard hotel is well located in SFO, only two blocks from Chinatown, Union Square and the cable car. Rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable. I enjoyed the concierge, Broc. His personality and enthusiasm really made me smile.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitress who served us breakfast had a bad attitude when we asked to share a breakfast. We felt as if she looked down on us & was judging us. We’d come off a 7 hr flight the night before getting in late & i’d had a vomiting bug was still unwell & Didnt appreciate the attitude. Wish they had a restaurant for dinner as it was cold outside at night & on a steep hill, as we were two women we did not feel entirely safe walking the streets at night. Coffee machine didnt work No mini bar

    The rooms, the bathroom, the water stations, bed & pillows soft, the decor, the staff, in particular the concierges were lovely with exception of one breakfast staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Good location a few blocks uphill from Union Square,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Oversized Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be cheaper, but follows the city trend.

    Good location a few blocks uphill from Union Square, avoiding some of the noise and panhandling while still close to stores (if thats your thing - Id love to stay far from Union Square but most options are there). This hotel doesn’t look “contemporary” from outside but has one of the best rooms Ive stayed in SF around the $300 price point: spacious with a nice bathroom, also very clean and functional with 3 usb outlets and an iphone dock.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Our stay st the Orchard made our stay in SF great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about our stay. No complaints!

    The friendliness of the staff was exceptional! They made our stay one that we will always remember with fondness! A dream vacation!I can

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved this hotel. The staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly. Our room was stunning. Huge bed, and plenty of space in the room. As was the bathroom. There was nothing at all to find fault with. The location was excellent. I would highly recommend and stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Our stay at Orchard Hotel was made extra special by Roy who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay at Orchard Hotel was made extra special by Roy who generously upgraded us as it was our honeymoon. The room was brilliant and Roy continued to be of great help for the rest of our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    We like it. Perhaps because it has Singapore aura. We live in Singapore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet connection for my wife was cut in the last two days. The girl in the reception could not help and only said it will be fine. Mr Broc then helped my wife to get the wifi for her smart phone. But, the internet for her computer still did not work until we checked out. Please pay attention to the internet connection. In this modern era, internet connection is a very essential need in a hotel.

    Mr Broc, a doorman, is a very friendly and smiling gentleman who warmly greets every customer. Broc told us about sourdough. Excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Great location, beautiful room and amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The room was beautiful, the location was ideal and the staff was amazing. We are convinced Brock knows everything there is to know about San Francisco (we love you Brock)! We got everything we had hoped for and then some at the Orchard Hotel. Thanks so much!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location for touristing/shopping/eating; very roomy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was going to be picky - the pillows weren't great and we had to ask for tea (coffee was available though). The whole holding/temporary/incidentals fees were not very clear pre check-in or at check-in but were adequately explained when asked.

    Excellent location just up from Union Square and Chinatown and a cable car stop just on the corner. Friendly staff. Rooms were super roomy including the bathroom. Very quiet too (10th floor). We had adjoining rooms with our travelling party which was excellent. Water and ice available anytime.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Clean, well decorated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The "gym" was extremely small. They technically called it a "cardio room", which had 1 treadmill 1 elliptical and 1 bike. Room service but no hot food options. No bottled water. No cups at the water fountain in the lobby.

    Clean, well decorated hotel. Comfortable bed and huge bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    We had our final night in San Francisco at the Orchard hotel in the heart of the action.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little pricey

    Luxurious city centre hotel. Excellent location for exploring Union square and Chinatown. Although not the most glamorous hotel in SF, it is comfortable and not pretentious. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Overall a good experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    To some people, the hotel might look a bit dated and not exactly modern. However, this is subjective and I did enjoy my stay there.

    Everything was clean and neat. I had a good overall stay, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The Internet speed at the hotel was unexpectedly good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel in excellent location with very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a little more generous with the tea/coffee making facilities in the room only providing enough for 1 cup per 24 hours so having to keep asking for more.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Property was really clean and the room was big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downtown is ok but not the nicest of places. The nicest area was definitely Mission and Castro but staying there would have made exploring other parts of the city more difficult. The immediate area felt perfectly safe.

    Property was really clean and the room was big. The bed was especially comfortable which was great for getting over jet lag!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Good location and lovely rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a twin single bed room and the room was massive! The beds were very comfy and the bathroom was really nice. The rooms were very clean as well. Staff was friendly and the location of the hotel was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    The place was good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I guess it is a general problem of US hotels. Most of them look old and shabby. Three particular issues that were a bit annoying: 1. The sound of cable car. Although the windows were closed and facing the backyard and I was on the upper floor, you could still hear the car the whole day long until it stops in the evening. Which was annoying. 2. No drinking water in the room. You have to grab a bottle and go on the ground or 1st floor to fill it. 3. The hotel leaves the right to enter into the room at least once a day, even if you ask them not to disturb you. This are the conditions you have to accept when you check in, meaning, you won't be refunded if you disagree to the conditions set by the hotel. Also note early check in costs $75, as well as late check out. it is definitely not a value for money. I stayed in another hotel a week before and they were a lot more nicer and customer friendly. Tip a doorman if he helps you with the bags, the man looks devastated.

    The place was good. Clean and tidy, with a tiny bit of wear and tear. The location is good. the street seemed to be decent and safe. Online check in available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Impressed with the room (802) and comfort. Staff were excellent. Location was perfect! I would recommend people to stay here and will return again if the opportunity arises.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Very good location for Union Square, buses and cable car.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Oversized Twin Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym was away from the hotel and cost $15 per visit if being picky. A touch expensive.

    Very good location for Union Square, buses and cable car. Concierges were very helpful and characters to boot. Very comfortable and large rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful large comfortable rooms Great location with excellent restaurants nearby Nice and good value breakfast, nice touch to include fruit, juice and coffee Close to the action but a bit of a hill to walk up at the end of the day, but it is San Francisco

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    It wS
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There are a few things that a traveller must know, though, especially for those whose sleep is easily disturbed: the room where we were, in the old attic, does not have blinds that block the light effectively, so the room is not very dark at night. We also hear the sound of the street below. And the beds in that same room are just a bit small for two people.

    This is a beautiful Bed&Breakfast. A quaint old house, that used to belong to an elite member of society in Riviere du Loup, that is large and very well renovated and maintained. It is very clean and the personel is courteous and charming. The breakfast was delicious, prepared by the Chef of the adjacent restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    World best comfortable bed but staffs need hospitality training
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Oversized Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like many things about this hotel, but unfortunately there are some that I don't. I will share 4 things here, their coffee maker and coffee pods, rather rude staffs, and cheap hair dryer and simple maintenance in the bathroom. The worst is their coffee maker. The machine is made to fix one small mug cup coffee using one pod. This made a barely amber colored hot water. When we doubled the pods it made the same colored water with a hint of coffee smell and the leaked water all over from the side. When I complained and asked for a different machine, two housekeepers came in to demonstrate instead. The older lady showed us how but each attempt in different ratio failed miserably in the same result, making mess everywhere in the top of the fridge. She grabbed our bathroom towels to wipe the mess, even though she had many hotel towels in the cart. The young lady seemed to want to help us more, but the older one urged her to get out of the room, saying (more like yelling to be honest) " Use more coffee, Less water. That's it!! Okay!?" They declined to bring a different machine. We were left with many dirty towels and still-leaking coffee maker on the wet fridge with many used pods. We were surprised that they left without cleaning the mess or leave us the replacement towels and coffee ( well, not interested in that any more though). I have never encounter such aggressive hotel personnel. She started "I will show you. Come here. Watch!", treating as if we were her students or kids. Her speaking was always one way, never responded to us, but kept talking to us. We tried to convince ourselves that maybe this is due to her limited English, but still... This summer we stayed here again. Here comes. The same coffee pods and no better machine. We made one coffee and laughed. You know why. In the bathroom there was an extension magnified mirror (nice). The mirror was screwed into wall but very wiggly and at a child height.

    This location served the best for my purpose to shop in the China Town and Union Square. I come here to shop, so my hands get full quickly. It is so convenient to have the hotel near by so that I could drop off my stuffs as I continue with my shopping spree. This area is not the one you can drive through to check out shops, and especially in China Town, walking is the best way. Another thing I love is their guest room. It is spacy and has the world best bed. I stay in many good class hotels, but their bedding is by far the best. I even stripped their bedding to find the company that made them and contacted for purchase, but they were a wholesale company and I could not buy. I usually have a sleep issue, but I sleep like a baby when I come here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain No lobby or anywhere to rest/spend some time No converter for electronic devices (plug)

    Location Comfort of the bed Spacious room A/C

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Positive experience + value for money (compared with San Fran standards)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice with breakfast included. FYI - Avoid civic city area.

    Lovely spacious room. Huge comfortable bed with good quality bedding - which was amazing after full days of wondering the city. Rooms are older style, but nothing rundown or unbearable. Close to the city centre and short ubers too all the sights. Very clean. Felt very safe. Friendly staff. We could print our Alcatraz tickets in reception. Overall would definitely book again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    A good cental location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The constant noise from the cable car cables from start up to end of service. It was impossible to get on a cable car at the stop by the hotel at the weekend

    The staff were very helpful on arrival and during our stay. The central location made exploring the main parts of San Francisco easy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is very conveniently located, and many amenities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff wasn’t very helpful. When I booked the room the credit card payment didn’t go through the first time and I booked again. Then I discovered that my credit card had been charged twice for exactly the same dates. When I called the hotel to explain this obvious mistake, they wouldn’t help. I had to involve Booking to get one of the payments reimbursed. During my stay, I asked the staff for some advice to find a good restaurant. They gave me some recommendations (about 20-25 min walk) but one of the places was closed and the other two were fully booked. Maybe the concierge should have checked and proposed to make a reservation? Otherwise it was a fair stay.

    The hotel is very conveniently located, and many amenities can be reached on foot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Terrific location, fantastic staff comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrific location, fantastic staff comfortable beds. Concierge that most hotel staff should aspire to plus service with a capital S...comfort with a capital C.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place and very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee machine drips too fast and thus the coffee comes out looking like tea and taste like grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

    The size of the room, the views, the staff, the fact that the bed corners/edges were protected by a sponge to avoid accidents of bumping into them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful comfortable hotel in a perfect location for shopping and for exploring San Francisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor point only, the water pressure was quite low.

    This 10 storey Hotel may be quite old but is extremely modern and in perfect condition. Friendly courteous staff. We dropped off our hire car at Alamo’s depot, 100 metres up Bush St. so we arrived quite early, well before checking time. Regardless we were given a friendly greeting and immediately allocated a comfortable large room on the 9th floor. Spotlessly clean. Large well lit bathroom. Location is perfect for shopping and siteseeing. We didn’t use the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Heart of San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Good size room which was very quiet even though it faced the street. Great location close to Union Square with easy access to cable car stop at the corner of Powell and Bush. A number of good restaurants in close proximity including La Scala and Jean D'Arc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Luxury hotel which offers excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really beautiful hotel and spacious room in an excellent location - near union square and next to a cable car station. Staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't eat at the restaurant but had some excellent breakfasts at Roxanne's next door. I would definitely stay here again if visiting San Francisco in future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Nice boutique hotel and great location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Oversized Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water was intermittent the night before and morning of departure

    Great location. Quiet and nice room. Staff professional and helpful with restaurant ideas. It was a very nice boutique hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was approximately half way up one of the steepest streets in San Francisco so take a deep breath.

    It's fairly central location. 2 blocks from Union Square, the cable car ran along the next street, local transport passed by and although we used taxi's to get to and from Pier 39 and Fisherman's Wharf they were reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Location was perfect & bed was really comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar wasn't open but you could order a drink on room service which I thought was strange . One day the shower went from hot to cold while I was in there

    Location was perfect & bed was really comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Fairly central, yet quiet, location, elegant decor, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make up mirror in the bathroom, safety deposit box in the room, shower caps provided, turn-down service each evening and late checkout on request was free up to 1pm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic Hotel, Fantastic Staff, fantastic City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Fantastic customer service, very clean hotel with big rooms. It is just yards from a stop on the Powell/Hyde Cable Car line. The Hotel is located just a couple of minutes from Union Sq and is a good 40 minute walk (Downhill) to the port area. San Francisco is the hilliest city I have ever encountered so I recommend using the Cable Cars, Tour Buses, the concierge at the hotel and cheap taxis to see this fantastic city. Pier 39 is overcrowded and a tacky tourist attraction, far better to bypass it and walk further on towards Pier 45 where you will find smaller, cheaper and better quality seafood restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was alright (only) but convenient as we had day trips quite early in the morning but if time is not constraining you, definitely worth eating out better than at the hotel.

    Nice hotel, quite in the heart of China Town border with the Financial District. Nice, spacious room, great cleaning service. Helpful doorman and reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - we loved everything!

    Everything! Amazing location, staff were so amazingly attentive and nothing was too much trouble! Super clean and comfortable! The bed was the best we had on our trip!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    The property is advertised as having a bar and restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is advertised as having a bar and restaurant which is correct , what they don’t tell you is they are closed !! When I complained about it I was told there are bars etc near by .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Great comfort ať excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is 4-stars hotel and it really complies to the standard. Room and bed was very nice and comfortable, environment quiet. Despite the cable car stop of the Fisherman's Wharf line is literarly 20m from the door, we could hardly hear anything in the night in the room. Also entry to Chinatown is 2 blocks away only, so excellent location in the very center of the city. And good restaurant just at the corner :-) There is valet parking available in front of the hotel, so you can (off)load your car without stress. SFO international airport about 25 mins by taxi even in Friday rush traffic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Big room, good location and great doormen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot think of anything negative about this hotel.

    The room was cozy and clean. It's got a big bed and spacious bathroom. I wish I could have stayed longer than just one night. They got great doormen! You'll love them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    First time to San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location close to Union Square. Nice hotel with very pleasant staff. Good size bedroom with very comfortable bed. Close to bars and restaurants. Try Bouche, very good, French restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Room size was great and the decor was charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of a single thing that needs improvement.

    Room size was great and the decor was charming. I love Art Deco and the European feel of the room. Great linens, location and very clean. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Will definitely choose to return when I am in SF again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Amazing. You are going to love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is amazing, the room is perfect size. It has everything you need. Even temperature in the room was perfect. That famous electric train you want to ride stops in THIS corner. Just hop on!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Great place for a seeing all that San Francisco has to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While the coffee and coffee maker are standard(and even were able to change units, which did not improve the rate of flow), the drip fill system did, on multiple variances attempted of water levels, appear to run far too quickly to gain any semblance of a decent coffee. We even tried a different blend of coffee filter we had sat our disposal, but nothing changed. The bath is too shallow and small.

    Orchard is very well located. Executive King Room spacious and comfortable bed. Despite a couple of issues, we would probably recommend a further stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    We recommend that hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decoration a bit sad, Expensive parking, 62$ for one night

    Large and comfortable room, bed and bathroom, quiet even being on the street, good isolation, ideal situation, central, near cable car and buses, Kind and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Value for SF, large room, comfort level high
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last block approaching up steep hill if lugging cases up hill. Geriatrics get a cab. But price to pay for high location

    Very clean, quiet, large room, two sitting chairs, central location, excellent wifi for free, useful frig that is empty, therefore usable, fresh furnishings, very comfortable king bed, curtains keep night light out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and comfortable,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was all good.

    Location was great - just up from Union Square - so away from the noise but close enough to have everything right there. Concierge was really helpful (as they should be) in recommending restaurants and things to do in the rain....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Found another hotel the next day nearby and had more fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was just okay. The late night guy after midnight was unfriendly, seemed rude and unhappy sitting doing nothing at front desk. He actually was a turn off with regards to customer service when asking a question. But other than him the room made up for his negative attitude.

    Room was beautiful, bathroom huge, had a refrigerator and all amenities. Bed was extremely comfortable. Doorman welcoming upon our arrival. Nice they give yo hot towels at from desk which is customary in Japan at restaurants to clean your hands.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    The bed was super comfortable, the wi-fi access was smooth,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It was a bit pricey but after all San Francisco itself is.

    The bed was super comfortable, the wi-fi access was smooth, the staff was really nice, and the location is at the heart of downtown but this can also be viewed as a downside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Fit for purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed except for breakfast and not informed. Key cover and message on restaurant number gave no indication it was closed. No evidence of bar being open.

    Location, price and very helpful doorman

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel right in the heart of Union Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. Close to all major attractions. Broc our concierge was fabulous and made us feel at home. Can’t fault this great hotel. Can’t wait to stay here again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel in a fabulous location. I’ll be back but not during a conference! Lol
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came during a conference and paid almost $600 for one night.

    Hot towel on arrival was nice. Turn down service was great. Staff were very efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned design, definitely ugly but so clean & comfortable you luckily forget the ugliness !

    Very comfortable & spacious room, wide bathroom. Nice personnel, special mention for Rodney the very helpful concierge & doorman !! Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent memory of San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the staff was friendly, they seemed confused about our two rooms and the different times of arrival, etc. However, I had communicated all the information via email before our arrival. They seemed unfamiliar with our situation.

    The staff was welcoming and gracious. After a misunderstanding, they even cancelled the fee for the extra bed. Location is wonderful. King Suite is a good idea for three people, provided you get the extra bed. Bathroom is roomy with separate shower and tub. Overall a great hotel and convenient base to explore the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is pretty standard, just in line with any chain...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular - average hotel for average price (260$ per night for our stay) in the heart of San Francisco.

    The hotel is pretty standard, just in line with any chain hotel. If you are looking for something special - this shouldn`t be your choice. Otherwise everything was good - bed is comfortable, water in the shower is hot, view from the room is very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few random comments from staff and very early housekeeping (7.30am!). Nothing to upset, just be aware of.

    Brilliant location - awesome cafe for breakfast right next door, pizzeria across the road, tram stop on the corner. Big rooms, relatively quiet with double-glazing (its a city!! It can’t be perfectly quiet!), staff are overall friendly (there’s always one or two that need a holiday!) and it’s very clean. Typical chain hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Rooms are really comfortable and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Oversized Twin Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Low water pressure on shower

    Rooms are really comfortable and quiet. The hotel is very well located in the center of San Francisco. The staff is helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff were very helpul especially the concierge, great location, central but not too busy, great cafe/restaurant on the corner of the block.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    I had a great time staying here all along 10 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.The shower faucet— small and water does not come out that strong. Took lots of time to finish shampooing. 2. I made full payment upon my check-in with my credit card. I reconfirmed with a staff at the counter a day before I checked out that there would not be any other fee charged. I left for the airport at night while my daughter still stayed until the next day. We stayed in the period of our booking. When I got back to my country, a messsge notified by my bank was sent to me. My credit card was charged another $104.50! So I asked my daughter who lived in the US to get clarification from the hotel about this fee charged. The reply was it's a hold over for the credit card just to make sure I paid! It should be returned to me in 3-10 business days. If it isn't returned to my account after that time to contact them again. I think this is a burden on me. I had a great stay there but this kind of charge really made me displeased. Nobody told me about this “hold” charge during my check in and the burden is on me.

    Best location. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Overall we rated this as one of the best hotels that we used during our 18 day stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to some of the less desirable areas in SF and the City has a lot of homeless beggars that can be a nuisance and threatening at times. Breakfast menu too expensive.

    Good size rooms with decent furniture and very clean. The morning Concierge was particularly friendly welcoming and informative. Great to have free wifi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Our stay was very good. Very nice facility. Did not eat in restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Oversized Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was not working properly, shower wand would not stay in position for shower or shampoo. Reported to maintenance, said they would repair.

    Room was nice size. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lunch/dinner in restaurant, although several in the area. Used notepad in room to tell friends where to meet me. Apparently it was from the other location down the street. It caused a bit of confusion.

    Front desk, doorman, great bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Great location quiet boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Staff very helpful, room was good with lovely comfortable bed. Cable car stop just around corner easily takes you to fisherman's wharf. Hotel close to lots of good places to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location, nice room. Would stay there again.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the guy at the front desk was not warm and welcoming. This can make a big difference to travellers far from home. The woman at the desk was friendly and helpful but the guy needs to just be a bit nicer. ( When I got locked out of my room when the swiper stopped working he first wanted to see my ID before giving me new key, even though one minute earlier I’d just given him and colleagues bunches of tulips I’d picked up in the Square, for which I didn’t even get a smile or a nod from him! So hardly as though he didn’t recognise me! There’s ‘protocol’ and there’s humanity to guests ) Free coffee in room but no milk or anything dairy to go with it. So couldn’t make one. ( In fact there was nothing in our fridge though there were items listed for room service. This was no big deal. ) this is all trivia but the question was, what didn’t I like. So I’m telling you!

    Location, room size, friendly doormen. Sound proof windows, which is handy when in such a central location. Could hear no noise at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel, but there is a room for improvement
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. yet it is overpriced 2. very expensive car parking 3. breakfast was not included despite high price (although it is not a problem to find breakfast in downtown SF, but it is very convenient, when breakfast is served) 4. Bathroom was very good, but no protection from water spilling from shower, so the floor is wet after shower, which is very non-comfortable, especially since 5. slippers are not provided. It is very weird, the hotel provides bathrobes, but no slippers...

    1. Good room, quite spatious, although comparing to other 4-star US hotels, smaller 2. Good illumination in bathroom, no problems to shave 3. Bathrobe provided 4. Good control over illumination and TV set 5. excellent location 6. Separate space for baggage that is very convenient, baggage is not all around, but you can easily store

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Satisfactory stay but some room for improvement exists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The fitness facility is lacking with only a couple of cardio machines and no weight training equipment. We knew this going in, but the we had expected a discount arrangement with a nearby gym based on the hotel's advertisement. However, once we checked in, we learned that the hotel no longer has any preferred arrangement. This amounts to false advertising. Also, the quality of the staff's courtesy and client service attitude is somewhat inconsistent. Some employees are very friendly, while others provided indifferent service.

    The hotel was very quiet and we had very good sleep. The comfortable bed helped as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.8
    Would not stay again. OK at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not the one specified (did not have shower, was small), low floor, dark. Cleaning was often late. Hotel did not have sewing kit, usuallly available at 4 star.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.7
    Very comfortable room and great breakfast room service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the web and info in the room both stayed you had a restaurant that was open for 3 meals daily..this is the main reason I stayed at the hotel. Very disappointing.

    The room was CLEAN AND BED VERY COMFORTABLE.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: