Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4 stars

1710 Orrington Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201, USA

#6 of 8 hotels in Evanston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 174 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not check in at arrival (3:30pm). We had to wait extra 30 minutes. Needed to leave right away for a concert in United Center, we were late for VIP check in. I was not very pleased with shower. Nice design but not comfortable.

    Staff was very friendly. The Farmhouse bar/restaurant next door was excellent. Comfortable bed and great view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was average especially breakfast. Price obviously based on location. Although updated, very small rooms. No option for park and lock auto facility.

    Rooms were small but surprisingly comfortable. Best location. Staff always available and helpful.Rooms were well played out and beds extremely clean and comfortable..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Already mentioned the cozy bathroom. The hotel building is quite old and I suspect that the size of the bath was not a big part of the architectural requirements of the day.

    The room itself was very nice, clean, and the bed was comfy. The only downside to the room was the extremely small bathroom -- room for one only! The main restaurant "Farmhouse" looked a bit "seedy" but the food was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small so it was hard to use comfortably. The sink was on a diagonal in the corner facing and right up against the toilet so to use the sink, you had to stand to the side of it. There was no counter space on which to place toiletries, brushes, etc.

    This property is an excellent location in downtown Evanston, just off the south end of Northwestern University. The price for this particular stay was very reasonable. Certain aspects of the room were quite comfortable and functional -- the bed was firm, there was a big cozy easy chair for reading, a nice sized desk and stocked mini-frig. There is a reasonably sized gym with good working equipment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed some attention. Paint chipping on ceiling and large scuff marks on wall are disappointing in this category of hotel. Reasonable public parking is located 2/3 blocks away. Otherwise, valet parking is available.

    Large, clean and comfortable room in a terrific location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst night ever. Hotel was old and dirty, rooms were an awkward shape, bathrooms were tiny. Our heat was broken and so loud that we had to go ask for another room so we could sleep at 3:00 in the morning. They did provide us with another room but I feel like our room should have been comped due to how poorly our night went. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We hated to leave!

    We were immediately greeted by professionals at the door, who made us feel like we were visiting a friend instead of staying at a hotel. The front desk staff were expedient and welcoming. The room was freshly cleaned, the bed was very comfortable and it was quiet. First hotel I ever felt like I was in another room of my own home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely small bathroom, rooms a bit outdated and hard to park around the hotel , gym was nothing special but you could go running at the lake which was fabulous

    Wonderful historic hotel (with the comfort of a chain hotel) , rooms were small and a bit old but with Charme. Excellent location in the heart of beautiful Evanston town (excellent little bars and restaurants in walking distance), it's about 45 min by car to arrive in Chicago downtown. Value was much better than downtown hotels

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was really bad. It was incredibly slow and kept disconnected. The amnities should have been provided right in the room in the first place...basic things like cotton buds, toothpaste and toothbrush. I called housekeeping twice and both were directed to auto reply. I had to go down to the reception to get those things! The cabinet in the closet was dusty. I did not put anything in the cabinet but managed to hang clothes. The cabinet had not been wiped clean at all till the day I checked out. Besides, when we got out of the elevator, there was weird smell on that floor like garbage. The smell was so bad. I was in room 804. I must admit I was disappointed with this stay. Not happy at all.

    Good location near downtown Evanston near Northwestern

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our ac didn't work even after staff looked at it. No onsite parking. Hard place to get to when fairs are going on.

    It was a nice room and spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    front desk staff not helpful at check in; we had to ask for each thing, such as directions, a map, information on breakfast. Bathroom was tiny and the room had peeling paint. Multiple ice machines were broken or missing. Very expensive for the amenities offered and the condition of the hotel and the lack of welcome at check in.

    the bed was fine; the location was very good; lobby is nice, much nicer than sitting in a small room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was very Small. Room was near the elevator and was very load all night. We asked the front desk for a bottle opener and they said no. When we asked them to open it they said they could not do that. The ceiling was full of cracks and not just 1 crack it was over 30 of them. NEEDS repairs.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A) The breakfast buffet was cold and overpriced. The wait staff in dining room was terrible. We had breakfast at 9am only 2 out of the 4 days and had to try somewhere else the other 2 days. There were maybe 3 other tables occupied when were there and our waiter was very short and dismissive with us. He had to be asked 3 times for the check, left items on our table meant for another table, tried to charge the $17.00 buffet for a friend that joined us and who only had a cup of tea and then asked us "what he was supposed to do about it?" That was not our experience when we stayed a year ago but will affect our decision when we next need to book a room to visit our son at NU in the future. B) We had to leave a note for housekeeping for amenities enough for all 3 of us: 3 glasses, 3 hand towels, shampoo.

    Room was sufficient and clean. Front desk was helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee in the room was not good. We had to go to the lobby to get fresh, strong coffee.

    The room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. We attended a wedding on the 9th floor and it was beautiful. Inside and Out.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevators need a bit of grease to smooth the door operation.

    Staff are all amazingly friendly! Our 2 little dogs were fawned over. The bell staff were very professional. Valet parking was a breeze. Our spacious room had a lovely view of the quiet side of the tree lined street. The bed was like a fluffy cloud. The air handler was quiet and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price I got through booking.com was higher than calling the hotel. I needed a second night and couldn't get it through booking.com, so I called the hotel and got a better price

    Loved the beds, location and staff, but it would have been cheaper for me to book it through the hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was over booked first night and we had no where to stay. They tried to find us a hotel but with no results.

    Great service from staff. Friendly and courteous staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the room I chose a king bed and was given a double bed and the staff didn'tattempt to fix my issue or accommodate me but instead stated that there is a glitch in the site which isn't the customers problem

    I liked the cleanliness of the location and the location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was quite small, and we had some minor issues with the tv, but other than that the room was nice.

    Very convenient location and lots of restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keeping a better eye on clients when they are by the hotel just enjoying the evening. We had a incident of someone approaching my son for money right in front and he was uncomfortable-he came up to retrieve money for this person-I told him to tell the front door man-when he did-the front door man took care of it but, wished it was taken care of before Incident. Overall safe area and wonderful area.

    Great location for NW and Loyla University! Nice staff-great college & professional atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room at the back with a bad view (rooftop with A/Cs) In general the interior is a bit dated (eg slow elevator, room interior)

    Very helpful staff Good bed Convenient location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The desk, table, entertainment/remote control was very dusty. This is the first time that I use Hilton services, and the only time that I experience this situation. I have never experience it with another hotel before. I am not the type that will complain for every little things and ordered to be done just because I pay for it. If it can be ignored and there are other options, I just leave it alone.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay was excellent

    I love this hotel. It is close to the beach, book store, downtown. The food was great and the staff friendly, polite, and competent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always wish for an extra blanket here. The bathrooms are small but that is due to historic nature of the building and isn't a problem for me.

    Such a great location. Always a clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were smaller than expected although the complimentary toiletries were excellent.

    The staff were friendly and made sure we were taken care of.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor.

    Kindness of desk personal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets and the pillow wasn't smell good

    Good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    air conditioning is noisy

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lumpy mattress, expensive valet parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the staff to be extremely helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel needs major updating. Thin blankets on bed. Tiny bathroom. Flush hardly worked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was cramped. No counter space. Rooms could use updating

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window shutters didn’t block the light well

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom too small no counter space

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The AC kept turning on and off every five minutes at night time and it was extremely loud!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds comfy , no noise

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need to be updated! It is very close to NU...They couldn’t of gotten away with this hotel without that closeness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is so expensive

    Good location and convienience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excessive price for the quality

    Room was alright, but nothing special. Location was outstanding for our needs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over-priced for very small and old rooms. The very noisy air conditioner in the room made it very difficult to sleep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little too small.

    Location and great service/staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast expensive

    Convinced and safe

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    X

    ?

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was top notch

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi kept falling

    Cleanliness so so

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much counter space in the bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely small bathroom.

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great.

    Very close to Northwestern University. We were there for a campus tour with our daughter, who is considering attending.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard for my liking.

    Nice property! Great location. Nice amenities.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was hectic but hey it was New Years Eve.Reserved 10 months in advance saved over half.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very good, just walk to nw university. Clean quiet comfortable love here

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work half the time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, older property, expensive relative to amenities

    Convenient location to Northwestern where we were visiting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, 624, was dated with old carpet and the bathroom was not acceptable for a room costing more than $400 a night.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    air conditioner very noisy

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sinks in the bathrooms were too small and there was nowhere to put personal items such as makeup, hair spray, deodorant etc

    Everything else

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff working at the valet stand were amazingly kind and blazingly fast. Front desk staff were friendly and efficient. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelled like moth balls

    Nice staff and location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanly room with comfy bed. The location was great. The staff was very helpful. Close approximity to public transportation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very near restaurants and shops. 15 min walk to Kellogg. Comfy bed, free wifi and small fridge in room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet is very old

    Beds are comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bartender made the best margarita I have ever had.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was a pool!

    The staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room, bathroom

    Valet staff great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have indoor pool

    Clean, convenient to restaurants

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Our room was not cleaned after our first night

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Loved the hotel but the bed didn't have a comforter on it, just a sheet. Was very cold to sleep on and had to call for a blanket.

    The cleanliness and updates of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No clock or alarm clock in room, refrigerator froze everything, electric outlet in bathroom did not work, extra pillows not removed, no ability to pay for room service by cash, dishes and silverware not always clean in the restaurant.

    Available restaurant, room service, good location to Northwestern and transportation and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    The staff were not particularly helpful, for instance no assistance was offered with luggage. Breakfast was badly cooked and the manager didn't seem to care much despite his perfunctory apology. The drinks at the bar were not of impressive quality, either. Overall, everyone on the staff seemed indifferent.

    nicely situated, reasonably good lounge areas

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't like the parking situation with no access to my car. There didn't appear to be enough help at front desk as long wait times to speak with an employee

    The closet was large but the bathroom was small and toilet was so close to bathtub there was hardly any room to get into/out of shower.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They booked someone to my room right after giving it to me. I was surprised when a strange man walked into my room. The fresh fruit was disappointing at breakfast.

    Nicole was wonderful. She called to apologize when someone at the front desk checked in a man to the same room as me. She sent up a free breakfast coupon.

There are also 80 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: