Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Days Inn by Wyndham West Branch Iowa City Area 2 stars

711 South Downey Street, West Branch, IA 52358, USA

#1 of 1 hotels in West Branch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 36 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager that checked us in couldn’t figure out our reservation. He said,”Just a minute,” then left the room. A moment later, his son( who appeared to be about 13 or so, ) came out and wanted to know what the problem was. I told him we needed to check in. He found our reservation right away. The outside of the building really needs updating. It has a trashy look to it. Although it was a good price for what we needed for the evening, we probably would not stay here again.

    This Days Inn was in a great location for us while we traveled to our next location. It was easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    2.5
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No one was at the front desk and had to call someone to get checked in. The room I had was very dirty and not kept up in any capacity. I found long black hairs under and on top of the fitted sheet. The mattress was yellow along one side. The coffee pot, phone, and furniture were worn and dirty looking. The wall mirror was not hung but on the floor next to the main dresser. The bathroom had hair and dirt along every wall trim and the bath tub. The bath tub floor was dirty. The water was surprisingly warm and constant. The light fixture in the bathroom had bulbs but no cover and all the wires were exposed. There were two flies buzzing around the room. And there was a rat trap outside of our first floor window. The walls were very thin and I could hear the man in the next room snoring and someone else talking in the hallway about $38 they paid for something. I didn't feel comfortable and did not use the blankets to sleep at night. Used my sweatshirt and jacket instead. All of this and the prices were inflated because of an event being hosted at the local university to which most hotels were sold out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Cold and loud sums up our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived in our room, the heat was not on and it was freezing. Also, there was a bar attached to the hotel and there were around 30 people outside our room smoking and being very loud until 2 in the morning. We will not be staying at this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Nothing fancy but it worked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing fancy here. Basic hotel was the only game in town...but for us (visiting the Hoover sites)...it worked just fine.

    Very adequate and clean facility and very near the Hoover Library. Breakfast WAS INCLUDED in the room rate... (Booking.com did not list this)..???

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    4.6
    It was a room that's it I wouldn't use a 3rd party like this site again !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The T.V didn't work and the desk clerk wasn't available he was drunk at the bar it pissed me off cause college football started couldn't watch the game and there was the biggest bug in the tub all night again the desk clerk shut down for the night

    Check-in in

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.0
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room had an odor that resembled old smoke; cleaning was completed at a minimal level; bed did not have enough support; the breakfast was very minimal. Back 'security' door was broken, so always unlocked.

    Convenient to the place we were visiting

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    4.2
    It sucked. Don't stay here. Stay in your car first.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything but the bed. And I do mean everything!!!!!!

    The management needs retraining. The whole hotel needs remodel. Three out of four bathroom out of order. The highlight to our stay was the bed was comfortable. The rest was not good at all. I made this reservation 6 months ahead of time because I have to be on the 1st floor because I can not climb steps. When I got there the guy behind the desk said all the first floor room were given out that morning. When I ask about booking 6 months ahead of time, he said it made no difference. I would not stay here if you paid me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    5.0
    The bar was a very friendly place to go
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They used the card i reserved the room with after I asked them not to then when I asked them to fix it item took 3 weeks for the the card to get refunded even though it took 5 seconds for the to charge the card i asked them to in the first place and they were very rude about it

    The bar was a very friendly place to go

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Exceeded our expectations.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outside bar area could have been more attractive. Ceiling falling down above gym equipment. I believe it was rectified during our stay.

    The beds were extremely comfortable. Having a bar on site was a bonus and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    6.7
    Location to the interstate was good, Bed was comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Person who checked us in did not give us much information on where to get dinner. The ice maker was out of order.

    Location to the interstate was good, Bed was comfortable and Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    3.8
    Don't waiste your money!
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was broken, whole place smelled bad, super expensive, the breakfast was tiny and tasted horrible. Awful hotel!

    It was literally the only hotel anywhere near Iowa city that had rooms left. I can see why! It sucked!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    3.8
    Last resort hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive for the condition of the hotel. The phone didn't work. There was no ESPN on the TV.

    They tried to update the bathroom. One of the best Mexican Restaurants we have eaten in was just down the road!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.8
    comfortable bed, easy access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    music from bar, hard to sleep

    comfortable bed, easy access

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    short
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    didn't eat there and the bed was ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    Smoker room for a dog guest.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy for a dog

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    good value especially for game day but facility is falling apart. did not finish renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked the sports bar downstairs and great service from staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anything

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.4
    Not a favorite Days Inn hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Someone on duty for check out, some pillows not so fat, better breakfast options, not a smelly room.

    The coffee was hot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    2.9
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything this place sucked.

    Leaving

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Great owner and manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great owner and manager.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.9
    Relaxable
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardly any plug ins in the room..

    I liked how the lady at the front desk came and helped me.. very pleasant stay.. I'd stay again..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    ticked all the boxes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    more attractive outside seating area.

    good breakfast choices. perfect location for our needs.

    Stayed in September 2016

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: