Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quality Inn University Center 3 stars

3401 Boulevard of the Allies, Pittsburgh, PA 15213, USA

#50 of 62 hotels in Pittsburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 861 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms needed to be updated waternice access to the restaurant pressure in shower not very good

    Staff very helpful nice access to the restaurant downstairs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpet was sticky, sink drained VERY slowly, there was a urine smell in the bathroom, sliding glass doors were very dirty.

    The bed was very clean and comfortable. It felt safe. There was an excellent Panera Bread restaurant at the ground level.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are extremely small. Luck of view. AC system extremely noisy. No restaurants arround the hotel except Panera Bread under the building. Overpriced.

    Close to museums.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms and especially the bathrooms are a little tired.

    Some recent upgrades to public areas of the hotel. Having a Panera on the ground floor is nice. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed before and the 'place' is beginning to show 'wear'. I think it's time for a some fresh carpeting, paint and fixtures.

    The fact that Panera's is located on the Ground floor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place had obviously undergone a poor renovation. There were large cracks around the counters. Also - we had a very loud group of partiers in the next room - that did not wind down until 2:00 AM.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility is not handicap accessible. Bathroom did not have handicap support bars. No hand held shower head. Plastic shower surround laid very poorly over tile and the bath spigot was improperly installed to the point where it felt as though it would break every time I changed to the the water flow. After changing water flow to shower as much water still flowed from the spigot as the shower head.

    Bed was comfortable. Staff friendly. Panera restaurant on site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud room. Said it was a non smoke but the cigarette smell was awful. Thin walls and loud. VERY LOUD. Bathroom and room floor were dirty and sticky. I wasn’t able to sleep and I called the reception and the staff said that she couldn’t change my room because it was booked through booking.com and the manager would be there only after 10am. I don’t recommend the place.

    The location was nice, walking distance to a few places. There was also a parking and a Panera bread in the hotel on the first floor with a elevator for there which was nice and convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls paper thin! Heard entire conversations, heard opening of drawers, business in bathroom, etc...of neighbors.

    Perfect location. Comfy bed. Staff nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This room desperately needs a new sliding glass door. It wasn't even closed all the way. I was scared to even move it for fear I wouldn't be able to re close it. They need to upgrade desperately.

    Looked like newer carpet and overall room seemed clean. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a common problem with places I have stayed. The AC/heater unit is too noisy and does not keep a consistent temperature. When it turns on the room rapidly chills and you need blankets to be comfortable. Then it shuts off and you wake up sweating. It is hard to get a good nights sleep.

    Beds, bedding and pillows were very comfortable and excellent quality. The young lady who checked us in and helped us change rooms was very polite and knowledgeable. I don't remember her name but we checked in on Sat. May 5 around 3:30 to 4:00.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A faint smell of urine or something which may have come from the AC/Heating unit.

    Staff was very friendly and close to University of Pittsburgh. Near entry and exit to major traffic routes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Great location.... great people definitely coming back ... that was my second time staying in Pittsburgh many more times to come and booking with quality inn will be my go to place ...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were too soft and no options. Mattress could have been more firm

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Nice, big rroom. Attached Paneras was very convenient for early breakfast. Walking distance to plenty of dining options. Some firmer pillows would have been nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was advertised as queen but looked like a double . The pillows were small and hard the bed was hard. The bathroom could use a little updating

    Close to Pitt. Staff extremely friendly. Plenty of parking nice view of Oakland the little balcony was really cool just wish it would have been warmer to enjoy it .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It said 300 feet from downtown, not true, a lot further. I had to drive and could not find a parking place.

    I don't remember the eggs, but I slept well

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self identified Quality Inn University Ctr. manager, Anmary Vaccarello, was arrogant, condescending not helpfulful via phone conversation. Will never again recommend stay at location. Good customer service starts at the top.

    Panera bread

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was hard. Noise from the room next door easily bled through the (locked) door that joined the two rooms. On the other hand, I didn't go out of my way to see if I could be moved to a room that wasn't adjoined to another one.

    A mostly fine Quality Inn – not luxurious, but met expectations. The room was kept clean, was larger than many, and the blackout blinds worked. It's a convenient spot for Oakland/the universities, and a nice compromise location for neighborhoods between downtown and Squirrel Hill, including the South Side. Boulevard of the Allies makes it fairly easy to get around. There wasn't much outside noise – but I wasn't on the Boulevard side.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is shared with busy restaurant attached to hotel, making it sometimes hard to find a spot.

    For my needs, the location was perfect! Centrally located to tons of great things to do and see in Pittsburgh. Rates were awesome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place could really use some renovation work. Our balcony sliding door was stuck and everything looks really old and worn.

    This place was not very expensive compared to other properties in the area. Beds are good. Breakfast at the next door Panera is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure was lacking that “hangover cure” quality but that’s my fault.

    Panera on the property, need I say more? The room was adequate, didn’t blow me away by any means but was as expected for $110.00.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly located near our family, easy enter and exit of parking lot, great restaurant in lower level, very clean, covered entrance to unload luggage on available carts, staff was over friendly and just wonderful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really liked location to the University of Pittsburgh, having Panera Bread restaurant within the hotel, friendly staff in hotel and restaurant, and the view of the Cathedral of Learning from my room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very, very obnoxiously loud heater in our room which made it very difficult to sleep. The heater was not properly installed into the wall, so there was a cold draft coming in through the outside wall. We needed the heat, but could not turn it on because the noise kept us awake.

    Free coffee in the lobby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The vending machines were empty on my floor, and the heater was a little noisy.

    I was attending a convention, and it was almost a straight shot to the hotel from downtown. The room was very clean and having access to a Panera on the lower level allowed me to grab a quick breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning needs improvement. Used hotel shampoo and conditioner and a piece of used soap left behind from previous guests on the shower shelf.

    Room was extremely large, made it nice to move around. And the HUGE Panera Bread restaurant was FANTASTIC.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was not vacuumed, both garbage cans was put together and on the side of the desk out of viewing. I left a note at the front desk just to let the housekeeping know of this action. I didn’t want anyone to get in trouble

    This was my first time here . I have booked another room for June

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is filthy and noisy. There is no insulation between rooms. You can hear your neighboring room and commotion in the hallway.

    Room smells cigarette even though it is anon smoking room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is basic and had seen better days. All we wanted was a place to sleep but the occupants in the room next door returned in the middle of the night drunk, raised their voices, had disagreements, kept going out to the shared balcony opening and closing the loud sliding door - smoking (possibly not cigarettes). We called the front desk and security went up to address to no avail. When things didn't improve we went down to reception to complain again and they offered to move us to a different room. So, at 3:30 in the morning we packed ourselves and moved to different room. The room was a little nicer and bigger but the whole experience was upsetting and needless to say we were a bit sleep deprived the next day. :(

    Having Panera right there was very convenient. The staff and security person were nice and helpful in the middle of the night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows weren't very comfortable. You could also hear your neighbors very clearly. I heard my neighbor's cell phone alarm through the wall. There was also a party of some kind on the same floor and I could hear everything. I didn't complain so I can't say staff wouldn't have addressed it, but if you're a light sleeper be wary.

    The hotel had a shuttle service which was great because it had started to snow when we arrived. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the soda machines weren’t working when we were there and that was slightly frustrating.

    The staff was great, we checked in and out quickly, the rooms were nice, and it was a great location, everything we wanted to do was sitting 10-15 minutes of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance of parking lot has a dip. Scraped bottom of my car upon entering. Walls were paper thin. Two people in room next door were talking. I felt I was in the conversation. I could hear every word. When I told front desk, she offered to tell people that they to keep it down. I said they aren’t being disruptive, just a normal conversation but the walls are very thin. After some poking on the computer she changed my room. It was late and dark. Went straight to bed. In the morning there was a bug on my toothbrush. Disgusting!

    Panera Bread is in the building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Well, the pricing was very strange - for one night I paid 75 bucks and for another 145 bucks - however, If you have to stay in Pit - it is a fair deal with this hotel!

    To be honest, the localization is the main props of the object - it so close to PITT campus as well as UPMC facilities. The staff is friendly and without any probs, they store luggage for few hours. In addition, so nice view from 7th floor on Cathedral of Learning!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the hospital, had the weather been warmer I could have walked. Panera Bread was in the building if I got hungry. Staff was polite, and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast included.

    Rooms were spacious, beds were comfortable. The shuttle service was a nice feature; they were able to drive us to the subway to catch the train to the game. Staff and front desk were friendly and answered any questions we had. Free parking and WiFi. Convenient Panera Bread located in the building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. quite stuffy room 2. everything is done on low quality level - fissures between wall panels, very low fit-and-match quality 3. breakfast was horrible, really non-eatible with very poor option 4. reception was not easy to find 5. parking is a bit far off from the entrance

    1. Big room 2. Comfy bed 3. free parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shabby worn out sink, tub, lighting fixtures. Towel rack was loose from the wall. Grime in corners of bathroom and window frames. Restaurant in same building was closed at 9:30PM, no really convenient way to eat a light meal after long car trip, other than vending machine. WiFi was open and not secure.

    Free parking. Bed was firm, room was quiet. Sheets and towels were clean and new. Sink and tub were well cleaned by maid service, but...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too small, the pillows were to smal, the bed was hard, did not feel safe. The sliding glass door barely shut, the tv was small, coffee was disgusting, terrible decorating and you could tell the contractors could not obviously build a wall. It was a nasty place and I was embarrassed in front of my husband because it looked so nice on the website. I was totally wrong!

    I didn't like anything about the place and won't be back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was weird and not well explained. It should be on their web site that you can/should enter through the Panera

    room were comfortable. Entrance and parking in not very obvious. Most of the parking spaces are near the Panera entrances. The parking can be confusing if you have not been there before. I think that info should be on the web site

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location for where I was heading adn if you are visiting University but not a very good location if you expect to walk to pittsburgh tourist area sites.....esp liked that the ground level is a Panera restaurant which means good quality casual food at very modest price open early a.m. until 9pm

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Steelers could have won.

    We loved the area, in the middle of Universities, with all the little shops and take out pizza shops. People of Pittsburgh are very helpful and friednly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is clean and comfortable but just has a dingy feel because it's so outdated.

    The room was comfortable enough. Although in need of an update, it's perfectly adequate. The view from the room was great. It was a nice 15 minute walk to Pitt's campus. Having a Panera on-site is a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathrooms in the hotel are well outdated and therefore appear dirty as well I became very ill which i believe contributed from the room air conditioners. i believe the filters were dirty.

    nice staff, clean around hotel lobby etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was in poor repair: holes in wall that were not well fixed. Mattress was also not level. Finally, entrance to hotel was hard to find.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I expected nicer facilities for the price I paid. This is a budget hotel with no frills, clean but dated and worn out. The pillows were terrible - old lumpy cheap ones. The high price was probably because it was Pitt Homecoming weekend and CMU Parent's weekend but I felt taken advantage of. Located on a very large and busy intersection surrounded by rundown student housing.

    Free parking. The staff were the best thing about this place, very helpful and pleasant. No breakfast, but there is a Panera Bread located in the building. Soundproofing seemed good, our room was very quiet. Even though the hotel was busy but we didn't hear the people next door or above us as often happens with hotels of this type. The neighborhood looks dodgy but it seemed safe, even at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The housekeeping was spotty. We allowed them in twice. the first time they totally missed our coffee supply leaving us zero coffee and zero coffee cups! The second time I was hoping for another small bottle of lotion and it wasn't replaced.It was a

    The parking was free ,well lit and always a space available. The staff was friendly and the hot coffee in the lobby was a nice plus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night had very noisy neighbours and couldn't sleep even after they were spoken to by security. Pity no breakfast.

    Met our requirements. The shuttle bus and pick up to places of interest was great. Free parking was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the shuttle for the Penguins game didn't run until the game was over at 10. The shuttle stop running at 9. I think it would be more attractive place to stay if the shuttle did pick up after the game. Their was a bunch of people staying at the hotel that went to the Penguins game and all had the same complaint

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 14 nights

    A/c thermostat control needs improvement... cuts off air circulation as well instead of switching off only the compressor or heater Water dripping in balcony

    Hourly shuttle service to major universities Regular tea and coffee service at Reception Fridge and microwave in the room Gym and drinking water facility

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked through Booking.com which sometime during my search, the dates got changed so I accidentally booked the wrong weekend. Of course to change it, the hotel didn't have any more rooms which I had booked so I ended up paying 50% more than my original reservation. My fault but also I believe I was gauged with they had the opportunity.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm went off one night at about 11pm one night. I also found dirty wash cloths in the bathroom when I checked in

    Having a Panera in the hotel was very convinant. You can take the elevator directly into the restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was in town for the roger waters concert,the free shuttle service took me to the concert.the staff was very friendly. Panera bread restarurant on the ground floor was also a big plus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we managed to find parking, it's a very small lot and has to share the space with retail.

    The location is perfect for taking our son back to University of Pittsburgh and relatively inexpensive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was hair all over the bathroom tub and shower curtain. And as we were checking out my mom informed me that there was also blood on the wall in the shower!

    Didn't like anything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we didn't like the balcony doors and it took 2 people to open and close the doors. The beds were not comfortable. The air condition vents were not adjustable and the cold breeze had to be absorbed by the person sleeping close to it.

    We liked the size of the room but we expected a suite as per the website booking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived in the dark and however the parking entrance was clearly marked, but the hotel entrance was kinda hidden. The bakery which is very good has ads everywhere, but would be good to mark the hotel reception with a clear sign. (Maybe there is some, but we didn't see it in the dark). But this is just a suggestion for improvements. :)

    The bakery below the Inn. The view from the balcony was incredible. I love the 24/7 coffee and tea availability in the lobby :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not quite sound proof. I can clearly hear the people's voice next door. And the traffic outside the building.

    I like the stuff. They are all nice and helpful. I also like the location, 15mins from the Universities. And the parking is also smooth.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent new renovated rooms, very clean and comfortable. Hotel is next to a train station and the airport however, so there is a bit of noise depending on which side of the building you are on, but not enough to keep you awake into the night at all. location is convenient, just outside the city, however during rush hour it is almost impossible to get out because the people who use the train to get to work all get back and are hitting the road at the same time and it all comes to a stand still. Otherwise, the new rooms are amazing and definitely a good value, I would stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Eh, it was a bit of an older hotel but that's not really a complaint. The service was wonderful and the location and price were great!

    The staff were VERY welcoming! They allowed me to store my things in the reception while I went out. One of the kind ladies at reception saw me walking back later on and tried to get my attention to give me a ride but I was on the phone and didn't see her although I very much appreciated the gesture when she told me later. The wi-fi worked great and the room was clean. The hotel itself is a bit older but it was very clean and in a great location at a wonderful price. I would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had room 100, with one queen bed. The location was AWFUL. The elevators are next to the room and several times during the night (3:30 am, 4:00 am...) people either on the elevator or getting off the elevator were laughing and/or screaming! The walls and/or door do not muffle this at all, so we woke up each time. Then at 6:30 am, the music from the Panera Bread restaurant one floor down began piping into our room through the walls - it wasn't super loud, but nonetheless was disruptive to sleep. Whatever you do don't stay in room 100 -- and I'd stay away from any room ending in "00" or "01" or "02"unless you want to risk noisy guests disrupting your sleep. The morning staff and manager said they had no evidence of the noise since we didn't call down to the desk when it happened, so were totally unsympathetic to our discontent. Obviously, the noise was not from a room, so even if we had called it would have done nothing but disrupt our sleep more. We have stayed here before with no problems, so my suggestion is stay away from rooms near the elevator, and don't expect any sympathy from the daytime staff.

    The evening staff was very friendly. The location near Pitt campus is convenient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Take a good map that accounts for overlapping layers of roads. Driving in Pittsburgh is confusing. Luckily the road noise was not that bad in the room. We could hear the traffic but it did not disturb us.

    It was a nice comfortable place to stay. The location was good. We had intended on going to the conservatory in the nearby park but we ended up in Mount Washington because the roads in Pittsburgh are so confusing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been more helpful on places to visit. Room was definitely overpriced for what we got. Air conditioning was not the greatest and balcony door did not work properly.

    Panera bread was in the hotel. Very close to downtown Pittsburgh. Close to restaurants. Close to Pittsburgh Zoo (although I wouldn't recommend going its horrible! ) area felt safe. Bed was comfortable. We took the tour bus through the city which was very nice! Union Grill and Pam's restaurant was AMAZING!Pittsburgh has awesome pizza places and restaurants and great places to shop! We enjoyed our time here except for waisting our money on the zoo!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What kind of hotel would refuse to exchange s queen bed only for a double standard room,especially when the hotel is half full.... With no apology. A very unsatisfactory place!

    Not very much

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel shows a lot of age. The shower needs some repair work. The room needs a paint job and the air conditioning unit had duct tape holding it together at the top. I really don't feel the room was worth what I paid and wouldn't go back to this hotel

    The staff was patient and very helpful. They were very willing to give us suggestions where to go and answered all our questions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little worn...I would bring your own toiletries.

    It was clean and comfortable and convenient to the university of Pittsburg campus. That was my main goal. They offered good coffee, tea and USA Today paper.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were awaken at 1 am as were other guests because someone had parked blocked Ng the driveway. Room not cleaned well; bathroom worn, smelly and drains slow

    Fairly inexpensive and convenient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entire floor reeked of marijuana, I wouldn't have minded but with 2 small children I was NOT happy. The balcony looked liked it was about to fall off the building, the doors to our adjoining rooms were painted shut. I definitely won't come back to this property.

    Location was close to the facility we were visiting

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility was old. It was clean but needs updating. I thought I went on the hotel's website and expected a pool but it must have been the Quality Inn website that said there was a pool. There was NO pool.

    The staff were VERY accommodating. They shuttled us where we wanted to go and picked us up when and where they said they would. All we had to do was call.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The radio in the room was not very good; lots of static. I like to listen to it a while before getting up in the morning but I couldn't get any of the stations I would like to.

    The most important aspect of any service is its people. I give everyone I met at the Quality Inn University Center a big thumbs up!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't offer a continental breakfast.... which was fine because the elevator took you right to Panera Bread and their breakfast was good

    Staff was very friendly, answered all our questions. Rooms were a decent size for the 3 of us. Asked staff about what happens if we needed to check in before 3pm and they told us if they had a room available they would check us in. If not we could leave our belongings there and park our car there and use their shuttle to get to our event. That put us at ease.We plan on staying there again next month

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To much furniture in the room made it hard to walk around and the shuttle service would not take us to PNC park for the game or pick us up. We were told we would have to call uber to get back so we drove and had to pay to park. No very happy about that since the shuttle was the one reason I chose the hotel.

    Location, staff was amazing, convenient parking, bed was very comfortable .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything is old and outdated, needs renovation. So the price is too high for what is offered

    coffee in room, bed was comfortable, balcony access (though no sitting possibility

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are thin and we were woken other guests in the night, and then by the music from the cafe crazy early in the morning.

    The room was spacious. It was great to have a Panera Bread downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is dated, with old fixtures and questionable cleanliness. Fire alarm went off and staff said it happens all the time from people showering with the bathroom door open. Not a total dive, but not good even for the low expectation type of chain hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sheets smelled fresh and liked the Panera being an elevator stop.

    Rooms and hallways smelled bad, some of the beds, we had a total of 3 were very hard others were ok. interior painting was poorly completed. Towels were ruff, bathroom was ok but should have spent more money on the updates instead of having a Toto toilet, which are expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Quality Inn University Center traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: