Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Surf City Inn 3 stars

16220 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92649, USA

#7 of 16 hotels in Huntington Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 456 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Overall good value, good location, secure, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As others have mentioned the carpets and bed covers had some staining on them which is a little off putting. Sheets and towels and everything were fine though. Turning off and re-entering Hwy 1 from the parking lot is a bit dicey - it's a super busy road and traffic is moving really fast. Trying to turn left out onto the Hwy in the busy morning traffic is scary.

    Great location near Huntington and Seal Beach. Comfortable rooms, great overhead rain shower, good sound proofing to cut down the traffic noise. Mini fridge to stash some snacks and beers. Nice couple of coffee spots/restaurants and beach access just down the street walking distance although walking along the street isn't that comfortable as it's busy and there isn't sidewalks in some spots. Overall good value, good location, secure, comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely rooms, older motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We checked in a little after 1am, and the lady who answered the phone that was provided at the front desk didn't seem too impressed with us, but the guy that came to actually check us in was quite nice! The hallways and stairwells can definitely use a renovation.

    The room was beautifully redone, and I love the washroom! The waterfall showerhead was an added touch. It was clean, comfortable, and roomy. Great for a stay as you're travelling through, or to visit the beaches which were super close.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a genius Booking user it was my understanding that I could check in two hours early and check out two hours later with no additional charges. The manager here did not agree.

    Room was recently remodeled and everything was nice and clean. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    The property was convenient and is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not handicapped accessible without elevators. But it also a smaller place.

    The property was convenient and is very nice. The price was just right for what we needed. The staff was nice and sweet. The room was clean and modern. We absolutely loved the overhead shower. I would definitely come and stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.2
    Room have been renovated and look nice although furniture is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too soft, carpet in the room very dirty (I recommend a thorough cleaning of room carpets, location very noisy, not close to the see, in fact you don’t have any view to the see and far from amenities in Huntington. Room is very humid so quite uncomfortable to stay and you cannot close the window completely so light comes in at 6:30 am

    Room have been renovated and look nice although furniture is low quality so starting to be tired again...nice bathroom and free parking on site

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again!! Great location and beautiful clean rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area around the hotel was ok, a vacant building (not the hotels fault) made the area seem a bit run down but there were few unique eateries around which was nice. Huntington Beach is less than a 10 minute drive which is more populated and a nicer beach!!

    I took my two kids, age 11 and 13, and we had an amazing time!! The beach was literally less than a 5 minute walk! The beach was almost empty which was also a bonus. But for the price of the room, the room itself was beautiful. Everything matched what the website says, which is great! Definitely would recommend and would stay here again! Great value and everything is less than 10 minutes away!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that couldn’t check in early or even have the option to pay to check in early. I also disliked when I called down for 3 extra towels I was question “why more if you have 4 already?” And got brought up 2 more.

    Location was great, room was clean and the best weren’t too bad.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    Vegas visitor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator or handicap access. Lack of hot water. Rainforest shower head I found inadequate. Stained carpet and linen, hair in the shower.

    Proximity to the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You do have to walk up one flight of stairs, but no problem for us.

    the place is really clean, comfortable, and beaches nearby are quiet. We traveled a couple of miles to get to State Park & surf lesson.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Rooms are updated and nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast or coffee but there is a coffee pot in room. Pillows weren’t the greatest. Stairs only no elevator.

    Rooms are updated and nice! Beds are comfy. Has fridge and microwave. Great location to several beaches. Sunset beach is a 5 min walk

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.4
    If just need a place to sleep and that's it, then this works great for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located on VERY busy street it feels like racetrack going by. No elevator so if you're put on the 3rd floor as we were, there's a steep stairwell to lug your stuff up there. No pool and not grounds, IF looking for just a placed to put your head down in, then it's fine. But if looking for something that has a lobby with coffee, a little Continental breakfast, and pleasing grounds then try somewhere else down the street. It looked very different than what I expected.

    Room and bed was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    This property location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t a big fan of the memory foam beds but that’s just me. I have a bad back and memory foam doesn’t help. Lol

    This property location was amazing. So close to the beach. We could walk to restaurants. So fun!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    This beach hotel is a good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just like many other reviews stated, there were stains on the bedspread and the carpet in the stairwell is dirty and stained. However, the stairs are sort of open air so it would be impossible for them to stay clean and stain free. It is not located “on the beach”. It is across the street from the ocean and is not a walkable distance to the beach. But since we went to HB all the time, it really wasn’t a big deal. Parking was a little tight for larger vehicles so we parked in the parking lot in front of the office. It was not covered but still safe. They do have a lot of cameras through out the garage, etc. I take that as just added precautions. We did not have any issues with safety.

    The beds were very comfy (queen size). The bathrooms have an awesome rain shower with great water pressure. Down side is the exhaust fan didn’t work very well and didn’t keep up with the steam from the shower. Hotel is in a good location. It is really in Sunset Beach and there isn’t much there but you will be just a short drive (7-8 minutes) to Huntington Beach. Hotel is a good value for the price. It is an older building but has been updated nicely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    3.3
    Unfortunately the beds did not look clean, there was long...
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the beds did not look clean, there was long strands of hair under the blanket On one of the Queen size beds. The sheets had lots of stains on them as well. The carpet was also dirty. The older man that works in the front during the day was really nice and respectable, That's literally the only thing I liked. The room was disgusting and I will no longer be going to Surf City Inn again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.0
    The shower water had bad draining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water had bad draining. Had to take quick shower so water wouldn't go out of room. The restroom door was loud got a call claiming we were being loud slamming door when the doors squeaked and were loud closing. Blanket cover were stained.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Really nice modernized rooms, bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No extra bar lock on the door. There was a stain on one of the bed covers.

    Really nice modernized rooms, bathrooms. Free parking on the property. Locked doors to the hallways leading to the rooms at night. Other than the one stain on the bed cover, the room was very clean. Had a desk and separate two-person table for eating. Property is in between Huntington Beach and Seal Beach. I went to Seal Beach, which had a small town feel to it with a nice Main Street with small shops and restaurants. Loved Walt's Warf for seafood! Free two hour parking on Main Street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comforter was dirty/stained when we arrived. We removed it from the bed and did not use it. There was also a nice gross hair on the sheets, as well as in the shower. The hotel has been remodeled, but the carpet was already showing wear. I think more attention can be paid to cleanliness. Although...for the price in comparison to other properties we’d probably stay again. Will just bring our own sheets next time.

    The hotel was in a perfect location. Beach was close by, a few restaurants within walking distance, and everything else just a short Uber ride away. The gentleman that checked us in was friendly. Checkin was easy, there was enough parking, and the ac in the room worked great. TV and rainfall shower head were a nice touch. Bed was super comfy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    The night we stayed was interesting with a great taco shop within walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When my partner and I walked in the room we saw there was a liquid on our bed comforter. The front office guy replaced it very nonchalant like. The front guy also called our phone at 11 pm to move our car an inch over which was ridiculous because no one even parked next to us.

    I liked the room itself. It seemed to be renovated really nicely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    How close it was to the beach and they had free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets smelled like they hadn’t been washed.

    How close it was to the beach and they had free parking. They had outlets with USB ports to charge your phone on both sides of the bed. The shower was nice too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    WONDERFUL!
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Frankly, it was just great - there was nothing we did not like. A previous question in this survey asked us about the beaches in the area and I responded with a blank face - we were not here to go to the beaches and never did so I have no idea if they are nice or not - but they do have a fantastic reputation!

    The staff was outstanding with everyone being very helpful and considerate. The place was clean, comfortable and in a great location. We will stay there again when we go down to SoCal the next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location for beach access and various places to eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator and small covered parking spaces for a large vehicle (rental van).

    Super friendly and helpful staff. Our rental van's door did not shut properly and desk staff (manager) called us immediately to let us know. He had already checked that nobody was in the van and shut the door for us by the time we reached it in the parking lot! Housekeeping was also very friendly and did a great job with cleaning each day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note that this hotel is not close to centre of Huntington Beach and is a good 10 minute drive away.

    Great value for money Nice, large & modern rooms Cleaned to a high standard Comfortable - beds were great! Free Parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    I've stayed here 5-6 times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blackout shades would be nice. The vending machine could be improved.

    I've stayed here 5-6 times. It's the best value in Sunset imo. It's not fancy but it's clean and the staff is always friendly. The mattresses are great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Easy to find, clean and confortable rooms and bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy who made our Checkin spend all the time speaking language on His cell phone, didnt brother to Talk with us. No restaurants and surf points around, make sure u have transportation to explore the city.

    Easy to find, clean and confortable rooms and bathrooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Worth the money spent!
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator and hiking up and down the stairs was challenging with hip problems.

    The room was very clean, comfortable and well kept. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely choose this hotel again, it was an enjoyable experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the windows are open traffic. On the busy street PCH is can be heard. We were on the second floor this visit (3rd floor first time) and I could hear other guests more this time than last visit.

    The rooms are super clean and the beds Re extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended! Very nice 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I little far from beach , near Marshlands

    Nice new clean rooms !! Very charming beach vibe , comfortable beds nice bathrooms even shutters on windows .. nice people , free parking , good price !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    4.2
    Bathroom was very nice, recently redone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rug in the room was filthy. Stains and odor. Didn't want to walk on it even in socks. The room was within 60 feet of Coast hwy which is a fifty miles per hour stretch - very noisy

    Bathroom was very nice, recently redone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    It was okay. Couldve been better im sure for spending over $100 for the room for a night.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was okay. Spent over $100 for one night and nothing was different if i were to spend $80 at a motel 6. The shower was nice, but not over $100 nice.

    Comfy room. Nice shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Would absolutely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator so you need to be able to climb stairs with thi our stuff, not a big deal for me but being on the top floor could be challenging for someone who isnt able to climb a staircase.

    The rooms were updated and very clean. Also the beds were very comfortable with great pillows too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Plenty of parking available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plenty of parking available. Located directly on Pacific Coast Highway, so location itself is not very attractive but practical and surprisingly quiet at night. Mexican bar / restaurant a short walk away. Overall entirely satisfactory for a quick night's sleep and then we were on our way. No breakfast included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded my expectations!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hot water in the shower took a long time and never got actually hot.

    The manager was so accommodating, kind and helpful!!! I came in very late and tho I was very capable of bringing my carryon to the third floor, he could tell I was tired and took it for me. The renovation is great, and the beds and bath all very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Beds were very comfortable TV service was very spotty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the restaurants we visited were good to very good.

    Very good breakfasts both at the Harbor Cafe and Woody’s Diner. The edge goes to the Harbor cafe, better omelets. For dinner Fish Camp was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    It was a very nice, quiet room, with a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing... just not in the location of where we had additional plans, otherwise may have stayed another night.

    The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and appeared newly renovated (not sure), nice clean bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.6
    I was disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a strong smoking odor and we found dentures on floor, next to bed. I also called ahead of time to ask about pet policy, and he was ready to cancel my reservation! We were on the 3rd floor and no elevators which was very inconvenient with all our luggage. The hotel wasn’t near the main part of beach where the pier, shopping, etc. is located but rather 8 miles away, which means you pay for parking if you go to pier, shopping.

    Refrigerator and microwave

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    4.2
    WOMEN BEWARE RUDE DISRESPECTFUL STAFF
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    STAFF ( most not all ) TOTALLY SUPER RUDE DISRESPECTFUL lied about better rate outside of Booking.com when questioned multiple times regarding different options. I checked out of that place FASTER than an eye of a hurricane !

    Only that it was fairly close to beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and a short distance to Huntington Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little drive to Huntington Beach because of traffic but not too far. The beach by Surf City Inn didn't have many people on it so if that's what you want then it's perfect.

    Comfy beds and a nice shower. Easy walk to Katin's surf shop and a short walk to the beach. Lots of nice little restaurants within walking distance too. Taco Surf and the Harbor House Cafe were great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    I highly recommend staying here for the weekend!
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t really like how the parking spaces were but other than that it was a good stay!

    It was a nice room, I loved how it was decorated and how close it was to the beach. It’s right next to a bunch of places to eat as well!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Bed was really comfortable. No frills stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reading light. Bath plug did not work.

    Bed was very comfortable, room was spacious. Manager was helpful. Beach was a short walk away across quite a busy road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Very good. I would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing not great is that all rooms are up stairs no elevator or ramps so this would not be a place for anyone that was handicap or had difficulty with climbing stairs. The staff were awesome and carried our luggage to our room i would stay here again

    This is a small hotel. Price very reasonable for being so close to the beach. Room just redone and were nice. Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    I loved it here, I will definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was recently updated and it was very nice! There was a small fridge and microwave, beds were comfortable and the bathrooms are beautiful and were nice and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location, but dirty room.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was filthy. Towels wet only hand towels, there were no normal sized towels for after the shower.

    The gentleman that checked us in was very kind and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Rooms are clean and comfortable, but there is no where to sit and enjoy friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and no common areas.

    Rooms were nice and new, but there is no place to sit and visit with a cup of coffee. Carpets are old and dirty. All in all, it was pretty good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit different than expected. It was ok. The room was not sealed well and was loud. Lots of street noise and it was not in a hallway it was direct accessed from outside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful refurbished rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with some more blankets

    The new decor is so nice, fresh and clean! Bed is comfy. Big tv. Deffo feels more like a hotel than motel - no doors our straight onto a car park or anything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    Christmas get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front set if stairs are tight for getting luggage up to the third floor, I suggest using the back set, there is more room. Parking is also tight and a good many spots in the parking lot were blocked off for a guest that was apparently coming with a trailer?? We were eventually told we could use the handicap spot after we said we weren't comfortable parking in the business lot next to the hotel.

    A short walk to the beach, close to dinning and events. Clean facility with everything my family needed to be comfortable for our vacation. The manager was very accommodating when we asked for an extra chair and towels. The rooms look newly remodeled and are nicer than typical hotel rooms. The hotel was relatively quiet, we rarely heard other guests coming or going. We liked that the whole hotel is non-smoking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Most comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Steep stairs. Hallways not remodeled.

    The newly remodeled room was beautiful! The bed was extremely comfortable. Walking distance to restaurants and beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    Good for one night on the route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is typical, normal, without any holiday or surf climate. On a busy street.

    It is OK. A typical, rather new motel in the suburbs of LA. Nice three bars/restaurants and the beach near the motel. Rather for a short stay, than for a holiday.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    2.9
    Would not recommend, pay a few dollars more and stay at another hotel along PCH.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Let me first say, I'm a seasoned traveler and have stayed at many hotels. There is no lobby whatsoever, there is a very rude individual sitting in a booth outside to check you in. The room is very basic, very thin towels and one washcloth for two people. The shower has been remodeled, but it is not a step in shower, it is level with the bathroom floor and there is a shower curtain, so the whole bathroom floor gets wet when you shower. Be careful as you will slip, the little bathmat does nothing. We knew the checkout was 11 am and the guy comes pounding on our door at 10:45 am to tell us it's time to get out, we were all packed and ready, we didn't need this rude man pounding on our door, we were not late. So many hotels along PCH and for just a few dollars more it is so worth staying at one of them and you will also get breakfast and normal amenities and safety. No security locking so anyone can enter. I would not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    overall I would book here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They tried charging my credit card for $123 on my 2nd night after I had already paid in full and when I asked the guy at the desk he didnt know how to help me. The bathroom door was kind of dirty and there was a hole in the wall from there not being a doorstop but nothing major.

    The beds were comfy and overall the room was clean. The staff for the most part was friendly. I loved the shower set up. I think its great that the doors to the stairs lock at a certain time for safety and you use the key to get in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    My girlfriend and I came with an intimate purpose and we didn't get disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Nice classy, quiet room with a great bed. Bathroom was the same classy style and very clean. The room was painted in grey tones. The carpet was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    The beds were extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The three flight of stairs to get up with all of our stuff was a bit of a struggle but other than that everything was great

    The beds were extremely comfortable. The place was recently renovated and the usb ports on the wall were awesome and convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Close to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough places to hang even 2 towels up. The closet was oddly shaped so the hangers did not fit in straight. There is no iron in the rooms. The pillows were way too thick. The staff was slow to respond to normal requests like extra towels (never got them) or using the iron (2 days of asking).

    Newly remodeled. Very clean rooms. Close to the beach. Huge room with spa tub.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Very happy with Surf City Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could just use a few more hooks or towel bars in the room. When coming back from the beach there wasn’t enough places to hang wet swimsuits and towels.

    It doesn’t look like much from the outside but the room was fresh and newly remodeled. Loved it. The beach is close enough to walk and it’s very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Staff is rude and incompetent but the rooms are nice.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mitan G. who checked me in was very rude and unhelpful. I arrived at 2:45 and when I tried to check in he told me that my room was not ready before I even said my name. I explained that I have a two hour early check in window as a Genius at Booking.com. He relented and allowed me to check in when I asked him to write his name down. Then when I was putting my things in my room he came up to me and called me "girl" twice and asked if I was ok???? There were zero towels in the room and when I asked him for towels he tried not to give them to me. He really ruined the renovation improvement.

    I had stayed here before and now they have changed the name and renovated so the room was much nicer and without disgusting carpet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    A nice hotel for a family for the price. It is clean. Wear earplugs in case you have noisy neighbor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two of the nights of our stay some of the guests were really loud in the hallway at night and next door to us. I suggest you bring earplugs for noisy neighbors and use them at night. The parking is really tight. At the base of the stairs and the doors that go outside, it needs a coat of paint. And the stairs are very steep going up with no elevator.

    The room was very clean and smells nice. There is a coffee pot blow dryer refrigerator and microwave. The air-conditioning heating system is quiet and efficient. The TV is nice and the beds were very comfortable!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to take stairs everywhere, but with only 2 flights it wasn't too bad.

    Bed was super comfy and the whole room was newly renovated with excellent features. Extremely clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.8
    Bed bug spotting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found a bedbug. Yep. Just one, and we told the man in the office and he wasn’t defensive or rude and thanked me for telling him... but it really is every travelers nightmare and we ended up checking out several hours before we had planned because of it. Also there is no elevator and the stairs are pretty narrow.

    The room was pretty and updated and surprisingly large. Parking was easy, beds were pretty comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Staff was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was too bad u couldn't see the beach......but that wasn't the hotels fault. Condos across the street blocked all the view. Just one bad thing.....we were on the 3rd floor and there was no elevator. But they're working on that. :)

    Staff was really nice. I thought the room was really great. Newly remodeled they did a great job!comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Staff very friendly and accommodating. Rooms newly updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator and narrow parking.

    Bed was comfortable, room was clean and newly renovated. Had a nice big T.V. Anna was awesome and very helpful. Close to beach but still requires vehicle to get there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is new, rooms are very clean and nicely designed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is new, rooms are very clean and nicely designed. It has good wi-fi signal and own parking. Anna, the lady from reception, is great!! Very friendly, nice and helpful! Location is not far from the center of you are traveling with the car - approx 10 miles. There are some restaurants around the hotel. The bed is very comfy. We enjoyed our stay there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    I liked it I definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have anything negative to say about this property.

    The place is a major up grade from what it use to be! Friendly staff, clean and comfortable. My room had a good view which was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Great value if stairs aren't an issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator and I just had surgery. All rooms are second and third floor.

    It was newly remodeled, quality linens, and the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Excellent can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right off the beach and the nice patios to view the sunset, around good restaurants and just outside of the city, so there is no noise of the city life , very convenient location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.1
    Like the newly remodeled rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel with three story, there is no elevator and the stairway a very narrow makes it hard to carry suitcase upstairs. And impossible with people with wheelchair

    Like the newly remodeled rooms. And the beach location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Fun little cozy place.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Foam mattress are an either you like it or dont. I have a sleep number at home and its hard to compare but the bed is foam and Im a dont like it. But w the new born there is not much sleep anyway.

    We had a new born and the attendant helped carry the bags up and made sure everything got to the room. It was clean and modern and had all the amenities one could hope for.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Love this Place!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything negative except just to know that if you're not able to walk up stairs, there is no elevator which I actually really like. We need the exercise, people. Haha.

    I loved this place! The whole place was renovated and absolutely beautiful! The bathrooms especially were amazing! The beds were extraordinarily comfortable If you like being outdoors, request room 320 or 220. Those two rooms have an outdoor balcony space as the entrance. I also really like the staff. The main lady, Anna, even called us on our drive there to find out what time we were coming and I thought that was so sweet. Parking is super easy and to get to the beach you just start walking and head to your left and take a right at the next light and it's a very quick walk

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Motel Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the cleanest room I've ever stayed in, including high end places. The Surf City Inn's rooms are completely remodeled and comfortable. There is no elevator, but the front desk helped with luggage. We were able to walk to dinner in Sunset Beach and there was plenty of parking in the Surf City lot. This place is much nicer than nearby motels. Walk to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ONLY thing that was a bummer was no elevator and we were on the 3rd floor and staying for a few days so we brought all our stuff in. Parking was fine for us, but they only have about 15-20 spaces so if they were full it might be an issue.

    Room was nice and big and was very modern looking. Nicely decorated. Had microwave and fridge. Everything felt new. The beds were comfty. Literally a 5 minute walk to the beach. We checked in later than expected due to traffic and the staff who checked us in actually helped us with our luggage as we had 3 tired kids half sleeping. I cant say enough about this place. The japenese steakhouse next door was so much fun but definitely NOT for kids as it was like a x-rated Benihana.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Great room at a great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't have any complaints.

    The room was HUGE! That was a very pleasant surprise. The room was newly renovated and had just been cleaned when we checked in so it smelled wonderful. The bed and pillows were firm and very comfortable, the bathroom was squeaky clean. The waterfall shower head, although nice to look at, didn't have nearly enough water pressure for my tastes, but the water was hot and the tub was clean. All in all it was a great room in a fantastic location. I will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Clean and friendly place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have breakfast and an elevator for upper floors

    Property was very clean, staff were friendly and very helpful. A 7 minute walk to to beach, they didn't have breakfast but there is a small coffee maker microwave and mini fridge in the room. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.7
    Surf City Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell of my room

    The location is good in the fact that it is a short walk (5 minutes) to beach. This was my first time to this area. Sunset Beach is nice in that there really is no public parking or amenities, so you don't get the large crowds that you see a few miles down the road in the main part of Huntington Beach. Being from back east, it is strange that the hotels here are all on the Pacific Coast Highway which is a pretty busy, 4 lane highway. However, there are lights with crosswalks, so it was easy to cross the street and get right onto the beach. The hotel itself is only 3 floors, but there are no elevators so make sure you are capable of bringing your luggage up the stairs. There is ample parking and it is free which is nice. It is a non-smoking facility, which I require, but unfortunately there are always people who do NOT follow the rules, so the staff had to address them. Unfortunately, our room had a strong, lemony/chemical smell when you walked in and I thought it was just some type of cleanser, so I asked the staff. She said she believes the people in room before us smoked in there, so that is the cleaner I am smelling which I guess is suppose to mask the smell. I should have just requested a different room, but as we were not in the room much, I just tried to air it out. The room itself was clean and the beds comfortable. The rooms do need more "hooks" to be able to hang beach towels, etc. after a day at the beach. The staff was very accommodating though and let me use the drier to dry my towels. There is no Lobby, just a check in window basically. I liked that the hotel was just a short drive (5 minutes) to Seal Beach which has the cutest downtown of shops and restaurants and is so family-friendly. It costs $10 if you want to park for the day and go to the beach there, which we did one day. Otherwise, there is metered parking to just walk around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    Awesome staff & location. Having a parking space at Sunset Beach is worth the price of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms smell like the ocean. Weak shower pressure.

    Superb location. Beach toys/chairs available to borrow. Great upper deck - can see ocean, LA, amazing sunsets.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Remodeled and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    They do not have an elevator and all rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floor. The entire property is non-smoking. Otherwise, nicely remodeled and close to beaches.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Great value without an elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could really use an elevator for older/infirm people. The stairs are very steep. The female manager, wife of the male manager, was a little abrupt, almost rude. Maybe it's a cultural thing, but the guy was from the same background and was very friendly and likable.

    Room was excellent, as was location. Very cool shower, bed, and decor. Microwave and fridge. Even the back view was great. Male manager, although from a different country, was friendly and likable.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: