Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palace Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Francisco 5 stars

2 New Montgomery Street, Financial District, San Francisco, CA 94105, USA

#10 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1762 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Paid WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    The Palace Hotel has a beautiful large restaurant/lounge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music played in lounge in evening was out of keeping with beautiful setting. No supervision at pool where children were noisy and skylarking. Too noisy to swim on arrival. Early next morning just three boys pushing each other around detracted from enjoyment. And an accident could have occurred. Our room wasn’t soundproof, so we heard trams and other external noises at night.

    The Palace Hotel has a beautiful large restaurant/lounge and a pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have really nothing to complain about

    The bed was heaven, staff very attentive, wonderful old time depth ambiance, so all in all liked the whole pakage

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    The hotel was beautiful and the service faultless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the bedrooms could have been brighter but aside from that everything was perfect.

    The hotel was beautiful and the service faultless. A really enjoyable stay. The main dining room design was impressive. Definitely recommended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Throwback to a bygone era.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon checkout, the bill included a charge for parking which was included in the price of my booking. When I stated that parking was included the clerk argued with me, until I was able to pull up the booking on my phone. Other than that, everything was absolutely first class.

    The Palace Hotel is a throwback to a bygone era of understated opulence. The hotel boasts perhaps the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The location, decor, and amenities were superb. We enjoyed delicious cocktails in the Pied Piper bar and an elegant Sunday breakfast in the garden court. It was such a treat to stay in such a luxurious place in San Francisco and the price at Booking.com was really astonishing. Amazing value for such a prestigious hotel. Our rate also included parking. I would certainly go back here. I felt like a princess for a weekend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    The lobby of the hotel looked so fancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -For the price we paid, the wifi was not for free!!! you have to pay extra for that per day !! Even four stars hotel would provide free WIFI! -We expected from a 5 stars hotel to at least have a coffee maker or a cattle in the room but guess what you have to call them to get you (which took them a while till they got it us one room with plastic cups!). -The reception women didn't even bother to tell me how much they will charge my card for incidental charges ! this should be communicated to the customer upon their check in! Overall: Yes they have a fancy lobby and restaurant but personally i wouldn't stay in this hotel next time !

    The lobby of the hotel looked so fancy. i like that the hotel is located at the center of the city. All of the shops and restaurants are walking distance. The lady at the concierge was so friendly and helpful not sure what was her name (she had long white hair and wore a glasses) but she was so different from the other staff which they barely smiled.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Classic and classy hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom with small vanity counter top. Bath tub partition not well designed to keep sprayed water in while taking showers. Interior room with a window facing the same across the atrium.

    Well preserved classic and nostalgic features. Courteous and helpful staff. Soft and comfortable bedding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Good experience but should be better for a 5-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need to pay for Wifi and the reception was poor (even non-existent on my phone). TV was not working. We had to call. We were told someone was coming asap. We had to call again 40min later to have an update. Someone came to fix it a bit more than 1h later. Room was very noisy, you could everything happening in the corridor like if there were not door...

    Nice room, very clean, modern, great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    If you are traveling and decide to stay here and need to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you are traveling and decide to stay here and need to schedule something, you definitely should talk to Debbie Lew. She is a concierge there goes out of her way to make sure that it's done correctly the first time and she follows through! The hotel itself was amazing and the history behind it is great as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, clean, well kept, and excellent location with long elevator wait times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very long wait for elevators. There are three for the entire hotel and it seems that only two were working when we stayed. Also, you can hear everything through the walls. So if you are a light sleeper I suggest some earplugs.

    Location is great. Staff are very nice and accommodating. Beds are very comfortable. Very clean and well kept hotel with beautiful bar and lounge area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    wonderful, would recommend to all my friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing I didn't like was I couldn't find my way out the 2nd floor stairs because it's an emergency exit (ended up getting the lift each time)

    LOVED THE BYREDO FREEBIES IN THE BATHROOM THEY WERE BEAUTIFUL.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    I cannot wait to return and we will !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised there were no coffee facilities in the room

    The Palace collection shop The Ghiadelli ice cream location The beds The breakfast, great choice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.2
    1.The air condition did not work properly.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.The air condition did not work properly. He stop and go even when off 2.Nothing in the minibar - at this rate!? 3.Internet on payment without option for a standard option?!...in silicon valey :) 4.And when I want to pay for internet..the site did not work....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    We will recommend The Palace to others and will enjoy staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room (768) was beautiful however it was somewhat noisy. The air conditioning fan plus the noise from the maintenance room next door was a little disruptive at night.

    All staff members were outstanding. They used our names as the greeted us throughout the day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel had made an extra reservation from my account without mentioning about it beforehand. The sum was reserved to them for a whole month and I did not succeed to get contact to hotel although I tried to email to several different addresses e.g. to one they sent the receipt from. Market Street is full of homeless people.

    Nice room and bathroom, confortable beds, spacious closet for clothes. Helpful personnel , great pool area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Great Hotel, met expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con was good, but made an intermittent whirring noise, The WIFI was $15 for 24 hours, but as this was our first stay in USA for many years not sue if thats normal over here - got used to free WIFI as standard in Uk. Also, breakfast prohibitively expensive- why no option for coffee and toast?

    Location, Quality of beds, linen, towels, etc superb. Staff were really lovely and the feel of the place was very old-school smart Hotell, which is fitting given the age and setting of this building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    Location and Lobby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced Unfriendly staff Tiny bathroom No free wifi!!! Not even a phone signal in the room! Electronic keys don’t work properly. Had to change them 3 times during a 3–day stay. Booked for three nights and wanted to leave after the first night but the hotel would charge the entire stay!.. so we stayed 🙁 Asked for a late checkout: 250$ for 2 hours! Room advertised as accommodating 4 guests but can’t even fit an extra bed. Empty mini bar.

    Location and Lobby

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    Very expensive hotel 425 dollars per room per day, and they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive hotel 425 dollars per room per day, and they charge you everything, 15 dollars per WiFi per day, 72 dollars per day to park your car, if you order a regular beer in the room it cost 8 dollars plus 5 dollars delivery charge plus 20 % tips. Is too much. I will never come back. If you want to be robbed that is your hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Hotel in a great location to explore San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    $84 plus tax per day to park an unwelcome surprise. Some of the food overpriced too particularly room service nearly $20 for French fries. No Marriott rewards points until August in a Marriott hotel ?

    Staff fantastic and so helpful throughout the hotel. Property is stunning and well maintained. Indoor swimming pool and gym excellent and included in rate. Family friendly hotel. Pied Piper a great place to eat and drink in a buzzing atmosphere and again family friendly. Buffet breakfast in garden court a great start to any day, food and selection superb. Would highly recommend this hotel but suggest you budget accordingly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    We loved our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay here. The staff did everything to accommodate us. We had unusually heavy pieces of luggage and they were more than helpful. Early check in made it comvinient to tour the city! We wanted to remember everyone’s name; however, we can only recall one person in particular. Norman you are a gem. Mahalo Niu Loa me ke Aloha pumehana!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    A truly luxury hotel but not that child friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar service was a bit lame. The bar closed at 9 and there wasn't anywhere else to go that was child friendly

    Beautiful building, beautiful rooms. The hotel was luxury at its best

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.0
    A beautiful building but it doesn't live up to its reputation as a luxury hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Almost always had to queue to speak to front desk. Trollies were not available to take our luggage to the room. Staff were incompentent and not particulary helpful. It took them 4 days to find a parcel that was delivered to the hotel for me just before I checked in. We stayed for 1 night and then went away for 24 hours and checked in again. On our return the front desk made a big fuss saying they were going to upgrade us to a bigger room and when we got into the room we found it was significantly smaller than the one we had on our first night! The rooms (even the larger one) were too small for a luxury hotel and there was no space to open a suitcase properly. In the second room the chair had to be squashed in between the bedside table and the closet making it virtually unusable. The walls were very thin and we could hear people in the adjacent room. The plumbing made noises all through the night disturbing our sleep. In one room the shower didn't work properly. I definitely wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

    A beautiful building and whether you stay there or not you should make a visit just to see the wonderful lobby area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.8
    Propaganda enganosa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked through booking.com, we paid for an apartment for two adults and one child - with breakfast included. In no time or document, we were told that we would have to pay for breakfast. Unpleasant surprise as it is a determining factor in the choice of hotel. We noticed that the hotel is so disorganized and related to that every date in the charged different values for breakfast (as below) and when we asked, they said that it was anyway, that we were only entitled to two breakfasts. so we felt cheated by an establishment that is rated 5 *. I will make a complaint to the competent bodies.

    Quarto confortável, banheiro pequeno com pia minúscula

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location right in the centre with good connections everywhere. Too pricy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First room had smell of blackwaters; sound isolation to neighbouring rooms and hall is very limited; seems there are different types of rooms of the same category. The waiter assigning seats for the breakfast was very inflexible "... at this time we have only a few servings open..." at 7AM. If you go for a swim in the pool, you'll become the scenery of the joggers in the gym.

    Excellent location, good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Pure luxury! Awesome staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would like to see the pool area open to adults only from 9-midnight so that adults may enjoy some time in this beautiful area of the hotel and enjoy these facilities child free as well. The pool and hot tub were packed full of children all weekend which is wonderful. However, I really do think having a little time set aside for adults when children really should be in their rooms settling down anyways would have made our stay even more enjoyable.

    The staff and hotel itself is just wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    An absolutely wonderful building- the glass covered Garden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a problem with the Wifi- the only way I could get connected was to phone Technical Support, and I had to do this more than once. Once connected, the service was fine. (And, while my wifi was free, I note that they reserve the right to charge USD 15.99 a day, which strikes me as pretty unreasonable in this day and age even for a service that is glitch-free.)

    An absolutely wonderful building- the glass covered Garden Court is splendid. The buffet breakfast is very varied, and high quality

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay! This is where we will stay everytime we come to San Francisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wished that they served dinner at the Garden Court or at least have another choice of restaurant aside from Pied Piper.

    Beautiful hotel. Our room was clean and beds were comfy. Swimming pool and fitness area was just awesome. Everyone was very nice, friendly and helpful. This is our new favorite hotel! We will be back soon!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, and the hotel felt very luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the breakfast - which is why we didn’t eat there!

    Great location, and the hotel felt very luxurious. The hotel also gave us plenty of bottles of water which are always useful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    36 years to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost for just parking was shocking.that was unfortunate cause we could have afforded to eat at the beautiful garden court a couple more times.maybe you can offer a deal if bringing a car offer a free or 2 for one meal coupon to the rear or restaurant after the second day paid.

    Everything else.from service to helpfulness to quality and security.and cleanliness. Everyone seemed to love their job.a beautiful setting and really felt special .Jorge was our first exposure to the hotel and our last.he is a great leader and Authority figure to represent the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi option: it is free, but you need to ask the front desk to get you to enable the wifi access in your room.

    The bed was extremely comfortable! I would purchase as my own bed!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Spoil Yourself 🍾🍾🍾
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe seeing people on their phones at breakfast. So much to enjoy here, it's a waste to be looking down!

    Exceptional. From the moment I arrived. Treat yourself. Get the breakfast included and have a meal at The Pied Piper. Everybody should stay here at least once. And concierge impeccable. Even bought the book about the history of the hotel. So glad I stayed at The Palace. 🍾🍾🍾

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay! It has spoiled us for all other hotels : >
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not the fault of the hotel at all, but I was surprised that Financial District coffee shops and several restaurants are closed on the weekends - that was really unusual. There is a Starbucks on Montgomery just 2 blocks south that stayed open all the time, so I did still get my "fancy" coffee in the morning, but I was very surprised about Peets and Illy down the street being closed Sat. & Sunday. I know the Concierge area has free coffee in the mornings, but I prefer the specialty versions with espresso, etc., so when I stay in a hotel without any coffee cart option like that, I run out into the neighborhood.

    The staff are amazing, happy, helpful and enthusiastic, and the property is gorgeous and elegant. The pool is just an extra amazing bonus. I loved being an easy distance from Union Square, but not right in the middle of that busy area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location but pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the room was high. $72 / day parking steep but also a charge of $15/day for wi fi? For a top quality hotel with a high room rate surely wi fi should be included?

    Good location and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely beautiful!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I traveled with my adult son and while I was at a CELA conference he stayed to enjoy the hotel amenities. When I returned he indicated he was questioned by security as to whether or not he was staying there. Several times! I found this bothersome. The staff passing judgment on him because he may not "appear" to fit in did not sit well with me. Once, maybe, but several times in one day, unacceptable!

    "Norman the Doorman" was the highlight of the staff. The heated bathroom floor was a lovely surprise! Best part was the heated toilet seat and built in bidet! We were across the hall from the ice machine room which originally worried me, however, we never once heard a thing! The lobby is quite impressive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    Lovely hotel, near to shops but down town/city is not a nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Lovely hotel Terrible location Lots of homeless people everywhere cannot leave hotel without someone homeless or with mental issues walking past

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay, good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking costs $72/day. Find street parking (not terribly hard).

    pool is absolutely worth the stay, as is the splurge on breakfast/brunch in the beautiful high ceiling/domed room. Really beautiful, great location. All rooms in SF are small, these are no different, but were very clean and comfortable. Restaurant abutting hotel sufficient for kids and vegetarians!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Classic Hotel - the Garden Court takes some beating
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Good rooms and bathrooms. Always clean and tidy. The Garden Court (inside) takes some beating. The Wharf and restaurants all 5 to 15 minute walk away. Taxis always available on rank outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    This is a return trip for me and I was not disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The way the bathtub is designed, it was difficult to run the water for a bath.

    The location of the Palace Hotel is excellent. Museums are close by and the warf and the Ferry Building are only about a 15 minute walk. On the ground floor, there is a Ghiradelli Chocolate store which served up delicious ice-cream and chocolate, to end your day. It is a perfect place to stay in San Francisco.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Completely wasted our time staying at what is a beautiful hotel, customer experience was awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    3 emergency alarms on the first night.. On the first morning being told to wait 10mins for a table at breakfast, once seated being told that it would take 20mins to cook the breakfast or we could have the buffet - the most expensive breakfast - ha. On the second night being kept awake by loud noises from the adjacent room and having to bang on the wall to make it stop! The sound proofing is totally inadequate! On the second morning being told the breakfast was closed at 1030hrs at 1030hrs then we were eventually offered a table only to see 3 more people being offered seating 15mins later without any trouble. Our stay was ruined and our customer experience was dreadful, the hotel is beautiful but we wish we had not booked it and could get a refund. We will not stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Expensive but overall my stay was comfortable. The reception staff are friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive rate and doesn’t include WiFi in the room. WiFi and parking are separate charges. Parking is expensive $75/ day when nearby parking is 25-40/day

    Location close to my conference area. The room is comfortable and I like it when it’s quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Great end to our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views weren’t the best, and breakfast isn’t included & it is expensive, although it is delicious.

    The staff were exceptional, the food was incredible & the location was perfecf

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful hotel, but that is about it. Expected more for the cost left disappointed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room service cuisine was good quality and speedy, however the hotel staff was often times very unfriendly . This was disappointing considering this was to be a " luxury" stay. My husband had to ask multiple times for coffee, and when they delivered the k cups it was decaf. He even went to the lobby to try and get a cup only to have both bar staff completely ignore him. The location of this property is wonderful with a ton of bars and restaurants close by so at least we had great service elsewhere. Overall, was not glad I selected this hotel, service is a huge part of a hotel stay and this fell far short of my expectations. Also the $85.00 parking charge daily was exorbitant. I would recommend skipping the rental car and calling Uber to save yourself almost $100.00 per day with tips.

    The hotel was truly beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    superb staff --front desk, housekeeping, etc
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    --lighting in room needs improvement, either overhead and/stand up lamps --add mirror (s) in sleeping area--bathroom alone is inadequate

    superb staff --front desk, housekeeping, etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.5
    Excellent hotel in ideal location for seeing the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-fi could have been better - and if we had not been members of starwoods loyalty programme it would have cost us 15 dollars a day.

    Relaxed atmosphere. The historic building and the pride the staff had in it. The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Poor security. Otherwise GREAT place.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security was horrible!!! Random people not guests of the hotel were able to sneak into the women’s locker rooms and steal our phones!!! They were found on video but no one was watching when it happened so they got away. THE HOTEL NEEDS TO FIX THIS BEFORE SOMETHING SERIOUS HAPPENS‼️

    Great location. Beautiful lobby so wonderful for meeting friends to make plans.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Hotel was nice and good location to access waterfront and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel very close to an area of high number of homeless people and blatant drug use in the streets It felt very unsafe, even during the day.

    Hotel was nice and good location to access waterfront and shops

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Classical 5 start hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is good about hotel . Didn’t find anything to complain about

    It’s a great 5 star hotel in a center of San Francisco. Very beautiful lobby with breakfast option in this historical atmosphere. Cleaning service is perfect ! Real 5 star experience. Complimentary coffee and tea in the morning is a very pleasant touch . Would stay again in this hotel !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Overall we loved our stay, the room was impeccable and we would absolutely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room view shot directly into an alley full of homeless people, an office building filled with messy desks and random workers. Not the best sight in the city. Also the windows for the room do not open and the bathroom does not have a fan.

    The quality of the bed and the pillows was absolutely amazing. So comfortable, that my partner and I had no issue at all getting some much needed rest. The room service also was great, we ordered in two meals and the menu is quick and easy to understand and the food is delicious. The room design is simple and elegant, house keeping is diligent, and the architecture of the entire hotel is mesmerizing. Also the staff and personal service we received was off the charts. Everyone is kind, helpful and had an answer to all of our questions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.0
    Great location, quiet room
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -the dirt, trash and smell outside of the hotel, many homeless living on the streets... -the final bill is a mile long with all the taxes and assessments and makes the total bill higher then originally expected -the Garden Court was blocked off in the evening for a private function which was very disappointing since we usually like to listen to the live music and have a drink there...

    Great location, quiet room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Bed is very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Airconditioner doesn;t work well. Repair twice. Waiting for long time for maintanenace. Call guest service center at least 4-5 times. Wait for more than 4 hours.

    Bed is very comfortable My friend lost shoes in the hotel. I get back. The lost-find service is very well-organized and profession Location is really good. Bar service is bad. Cannnot understand why no alcohol service to Room after 2am. No mini bar in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Location and overall building charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in corridors look aged Breakfast could be of higher quality Pool is relatively small

    Location and overall building charm Garden court lobby is beautiful Rooms were beautiful and modern Staff was very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some collected trays of food from room service left in the corridor for a whole day, which was rather disgusting. The staff during Sunday breakfast weren't very friendly or polite.

    Very lovely hotel with great staff. Super central location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    The staff was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t any drawers to put your clothes in. Our view was of the other buildings and a roof with river rocks on it. No coffee maker in room.

    The staff was fantastic! The hotel is beautiful. Room very nice and comfortable. The bar made delicious drinks, didn’t skimp on the alcohol! They let us check in early. Valet parking was fast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    It's a beautiful, historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! This hotel and the quality of the service are excellent.

    It's a beautiful, historic hotel. The food, drink and service in the Pied Piper Lounge were exceptional. What a treat to be able to view the gorgeous Pied Piper mural by Maxfield Parish. A stay at The Palace and a drink in the Pied Piper Lounge are not to be missed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Definitely recommended, central luxury in SAN Fransisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool is on the cold side. Not a major issue (at all), but a quick fix :). The hotel bar (Pied Piper) was unloading the dishwasher when we arrived, which smelled up the whole bar.

    The location is the very best in town. The rooms are very decent, comfortable, clean. The hotel has that wow factor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Stunning hotel with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I received unrecognized charges on my card. They could be valid. I need to verify.

    The staff did an excellent job helping me to make my partner's birthday special---balloons, champagne and birthday cake. She was thrilled.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel but overpriced especially when you get hit with a 14% tax on top which I wasn't expecting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room service was slow. I requested ice and had too ring three times before it was delivered after 45 minutes. Small room with view of a car park.

    This is beautiful luxury hotel in a great location. Our room was too small for our family and it was too expensive to upgrade.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one day

    I did not need the WiFi so I never noticed if it was paid or not. The best part was the staff the second was stay in a place soulless of history and yet so modern

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel and location sad sites outside the doors
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sad sights of homeless people in the cold streets sleeping and asking for money . Although not confrontational was a lot more ptevalent than my last visit. Many business were posting signs looking for staff .

    Location and proximity to great shopping and many good eating places

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought paying $72 a night for parking was ridiculous. Everything else was fair. The staff was amazing. Water served while in the pool was a real treat.

    Wonderful food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Hard to leave
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning could be better my room was a bit dusty there was food hidden from previous guest

    Great character hotel Concierge Debbie Pool&Gym Old time flair Very clever designed bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Market Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk was not very nice. Stuffy and rude, as though it was a burden to check us in. No coffee or tea at the coffee station this morning. They had run out of coffee and hot water. I waited for almost 25 minutes for someone to re-supply the coffee. No one ever showed, after repeated requests.

    Hotel and room were beautiful. Bed was comfortable and room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    The stay was comfortable, convenient, and will surely comeback and stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room could have been better, and would have liked a bigger bathroom.

    The Room was spacious, and the bed was really comfy. The location was just great, as access to public transport and work was within 5mins, plus union square was just 10 mins by foot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect

    Staff was excellent . Above and beyond . So impressed bell man remembered my name . Very nice and helpful . Hard to find this excellent quality of service ! And very comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Location, view , friendly staff, beautifull design and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, overpriced parking and WiFi, empty mini bar, no even wather. Can’t remember last time when WiFi was chargeable

    Location, view , friendly staff, beautifull design and architecture.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    The Royal Treatment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sadly, the Financial District in San Francisco isn't what it used to be. My daughter and I encountered numerous homeless people camped out along Market Street and didn't feel safe venturing out at night. For those taking taxis, the presence of homeless people, some of whom can be quite vocal, wouldn't be a problem, but if you plan to get around by public transportation, this would be something to bear in mind.

    The staff gave us the royal treatment, from the desk clerk who warmly welcomed my daughter and me to the housekeeper who left a nice note on my pillow. We were given a complimentary upgrade since we were there during the off-season and spent three nights in an elegant room with every convenience imaginable, including a heated toilet seat. When the city's recent work on the water pipes resulted in a minor plumbing issue, the maintenance man had a spread of wine, cheese, crackers and more sent to our room to make up for the inconvenience, which hadn't even impacted us all that much.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    The bed was the most comfortable thing I've slept in, in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was the most comfortable thing I've slept in, in a very VERY long time. It almost made us not want to leave the room. However, we did leave the room and enjoyed being right in the heart of town! Great location, great facilities - will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    Great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit old, but comparing to other hotels, not too bad. Just expected a bit more fresh finitions according photos. Service is difficult, unfortunately lots of azian people working there with a tipical akcent , that's why was difficult to understand them especially on telephone.

    It is stunning lobby. Must see. Good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    All in all we enjoyed the stay and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an outside room facing an alley and it was probably the noisiest room I have ever stayed in. The windows must be very thin and don't do much to block traffic noise.

    Beautiful historic property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Lovely historic hotel that’s up to date
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and bathrooms are lovely, nice linens, clean, comfy bed, nice closet. There are leather suitcases in the night stands instead of drawers for clothes which is a nice retro touch in keeping with the hotel history, etc, but not overly handy. The details of the room furnishings are lovely, and there are plenty of outlets! Morning and evening turn-down staff friendly, flexible and willing to be helpful. Breakfast buffet in the historic Garden Court is a “must do” tho it’s $38 before tax/tip. The room is so gorgeous, it’s just a lovely gracious start to the day. Food is wonderful, wide variety. There’s no dinner served in the hotel, tho there are plenty of every kind of restaurant nearby, and the concierge is very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Welcoming and happy staff and a very luxurious and high class feel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No 'mini bar' room snacks...these are part of the experience for me: gourmet snacks like lollies and chocolate :-)!

    Great air conditioning, big window, very clean, a non-sagging mattress and lots of pillows, nice hot shower with big shower head, nice bath products and hair dryer, room service option, luxurious feel, great location and staff! Loved the 12pm checkout time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    great location. beautiful property.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (Maximum Occupancy: 4 Guest)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    how ever the rooms in general are below average and very small for the price i paid. Not as per the displayed images. not value for money.

    The common areas in the hotel are exceptionally beautiful. the staff is very courteous.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location to go shopping, and experience San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi/internet. US hotels are really cheap when it comes to giving away wifi. It’s totally unnecessary in this day and age - especially in San Francisco, the home of tech.

    Definitely extra comfy bed. Outstanding location. Really lovely lobby. Lots of privacy once you’ve arrived

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    absolutely wonderful location and superb facility.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    absolutely wonderful location and superb facility. The restored areas on the first floor lovely. There is also a very nice exercise The Sellitti in the pool and the fourth floor. Nice room, comfortable bed and good sound insulation from the street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.1
    service was a big lowlight but dit not destroyed the lovely SF experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    service overall was a lowlight. probably function of new and/or untrained staff. beginning with check-in, that was late by 2h, never happened to me before. we had just arrived from a long haul flight and room was not ready at 4pm as it should. after complaining twice we were granted vouchers to drink at the bar that we never used. I also had stuff delivered at the hotel that was either hard to be found and taken to the room, and some that was nowhere to be seen. Had to call several times front desk and security to make follow-ups, and they seemed to forget about it. Luckily the service provider was able to cancel and refund me on the package that was never found, that was top-notch service by the way. lastly, we asked for a late check-out, from noon to 2pm, and it was denied in the first place (wished they had known we had to wait for 2h to check-in), obviously after complaining we managed to get it. left phone message to the manager because we wanted to go thru all these issues, but never got a feedback. so, it is a pity, but they were very low on the service side, just don't know if it is always like that or we were just unlucky.

    the architecture is amazing, good size rooms and clean. did not use the pool which is a perk in the city but did use the tub just beside it, totally worth it. concierge is very good at giving instructions/tips and arranging reservations. location is really good, close to the heart of SF but not at busy area of union square.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.3
    Facilities were fine and location was ok. There business practice is very off putting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was overcharged for one of my rooms even though the charge was quite clear on my booking.com reservation. I tried to have this corrected multiple times by phone for two weeks before I travelled as well as at check-in. Each time they refused to refund my credit card with several excuses. Then at check-out although they finally acknowledged the overcharge, they said it would take five days to credit my account back. And beyond that, while I was there they tried to charge me for parking in each of my rooms (two cars, really?, $72 per night for each, really?) when I did not have a car? Very poor business practice!

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: