Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Park Plaza Lodge 2 stars

6001 West Third Street, Los Angeles, CA 90036, USA

#194 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 588 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet is ready to be upgraded.

    Overall, an excellent place to stay near The Farmer's market and a 10 minute drive to the Dolby Theatre. The room was big with a comfy bed and plenty of storage space. I happened to leave my passport in the room safe after we left. On ringing reception they secured it safely and handed it to an Uber driver who delivered it to me in Manhattan Beach. Phew!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.2
    Sadly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard, the pillows flat as pancakes. The room was filthy and looked like 1970 sine the last redecoration. The frig was unplugged. I assumed it didn’t work but found the plug strip. The walls were thin as paper. If I had the choice I would have asked for my money back and stayed elsewhere but I was pressed for time. The one saving grace was the shower. Kudos to the tile guy!

    Close to my destination

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.6
    I paid high rate because it’s the holiday weekend. Over priced for what it’s.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very old in need of upgrade. Room has a very strong dirty, moldy smell to it It’s dirty. Bed spread had someone else’s hair on it. The building is located right on the Main Street, so lots of traffic noise.

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    Great location for The Grove
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shabby and needed a deep clean. On the surface it looked clean. The bed had a quilt with no cover on top of sheets and blankets. The quild had been while but had gone yellow in places. Such a pity about the cleanliness as its in a great location and the staff are lovely. We had a room for three people and were given 1 sachet of coffee. The picture below shows the dirt around the base of a lamp.

    The staff were lovely and happy to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    If you want location, value and basic needs met (i.e. safe & clean), book this! I'd stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in was on the first floor a few doors down from reception and in a hallway that took you from the lobby to the covered garage spaces...staying in a room like that means if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. We could hear everyone out in the lobby. Do not go here if you want luxury and solid peace. With that said, I will definitely go again for a short stay and I'll ask to be placed on the second floor :)

    The parking is phenomenal as it is a covered carport attached to the hotel and it is FREE! It was also really nice that the wifi was free too, and it was a good signal strength! In terms of location, you are also SUPER close to the grove, the tar pits & LACMA, El Rey Theatre, and a ton of other great places. At night, they lock the front lobby door (that's the only way into the hotel, as the door to the garage only lets you out into the garage and does not let you into the hotel) and a staff member has to let you in. I appreciated that extra bit of safety! I say for the money it was excellent if you are planning a short stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is a little tired could do with an overhaul and new carpets. No breakfast but good diner's nearby.

    Large room and bathroom with a powerful shower. Good parking facilities. Walking distance to the farmers market, some nice restaurants and short a drive to LACMA and Brea tar pits. We thought the area felt safe to walk around. We felt it was a good choice and glad we did not get a hotel in the main tourist area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff was awesome. We had bicycles with us and they understood that we preferred to be by an exit to get in and out easy. Best place I've stayed at in LA

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    I liked the property and pretty much everything was close-by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The little garden area was filled with discarded tools, wood, and other stuff. Could have been a nice area to sit outside.

    The location was great with buses departing close by. Next door was a great coffee shop. There were no restaurants. The closest was the Farmers Market with a 10 min. walk, which wasn't bad. The rooms were very clean and a TV problem was taking care off right away. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location, suited us perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was an old motel style builing. The staff were brilliant. We liked it, but I would imagine some would feel it was old and worn out. The local area seemed a bit run-down, but it was full of dog walkers, shoppers, nice houses etc. so you always felt safe.

    The location is excellent, it is about 2 blocks from The Grove, 2 blocks from La Brai Tar Pits. It is within easy driving distance of Hollywood stars, the freeway for Venice beach. We had a lovely time here. There is a coffee shop next door which is open from 6am, a 7-11 within a block and it is within walking distance to IHOP, and lots of other restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Clean basic hotel walking distance from farmers market
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer the gates to the hotel were locked during the day rather than left open.

    Solid safe hotel with large rooms. Basic and no frills, but clean with comfortable beds. Lovely staff and excellent location. Walking distance to the Grove and Farmers Markets.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.3
    It was fair for the price. More signage for where rooms are located and ice machine would be helpfu
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refrigerator had no plug to plug it in, had to wheel it to outlet, no clear directions on where ice machine is located or room signage. A microwave would be nice to have.

    The large shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator. I had my carry my luggage to the second floor. The housekeeping didn't refill the shampoo and I had to go and ask for one.

    Good location. Large and comfy room. Private parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value in a good location for what I needed to do in LA
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gardener who spent about half an hour with a leaf blower making a racket when there was not really anything to blow away.

    I was visiting the El Rey Theatre for a couple of nights so this was well placed being a 10 minute walk away, the room was exactly as I needed with covered parking for my hire car too, if I ever return to El Rey I will stay here again for sure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    If you like museums and walking stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could use a remodel.

    It was in a great location. Museums, stores and famous Farmer’s Market were all a short walk away. Though it was an older property, it was well maintained.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Park Plaza Lodge is a great value with super friendly staff and a perfectly central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having ironing boards/irons in every room would be a nice addition, and the air conditioners are near the floor, so setting the controls takes some squatting/bending.

    The location can’t be beat. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful and the rooms are all spotless. It’s definitely a “no frills” motel, but that works in its favor. I’ve stayed there before and I’ll stay there again. Excellent value and top-notch customer service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location right next to a coffee shop and a short...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location right next to a coffee shop and a short walk from the Farmer's Market. Right on a bus route to downtown. A functional, comfy room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.4
    Location was good and staff were very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic accommodation. Not even a toilet facility for use on reception floor. No where to lock up luggage oon day of leaving. Not enough bathroom toiletries

    Location was good and staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    If you just want a clean,safe place to lay your head while in L.A., this is an affordable option.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been nice if they had a full size ironing board and shower caps. Something they cant really help, the parking is in the alley and smelled of urine. Will still recommend it.

    We chose a motel strictly for sleeping not to lounge in, so it served it's purpose well. The shower was nice and big. The staff was friendly and professional. It was great for a place to sleep while being in L.A. The location is good, a safe neighborhood with close proximity to some sites. We'll definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location, very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows are extreamly thin, so you can hear everything from outside. But it's rather silent out there.

    Place is great. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel, coffe bean next door. Room is clean and comfortable. Surranding is clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.3
    Family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very outdated. Room smelled as if someone had smoked in there and bad air freshener was used. Needed to have the entry Card reprogrammed every day.

    The location is great. Within walking distance to The Grove. Safe parking for the car.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    For the price I expected mediocre at best but was surprised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really... nothing.

    For the price I expected mediocre at best but was surprised. The staff here makes all the difference. Extremely helpful and would go out of their way to help. The building looks like an old apartment building but it’s very cozy and clean. Towels were clean and sheets were clean. Acceptably fast internet service. Again staff made all the difference! Anytime I come back to Beverly Hills area I would have no reason not to stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable bed, good location but for total but would have preferred better room/amenities for $
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallways &room have exceptionally old carpeting, furniture & drapings; no iron/board;doors&locks loose so didnt feel completely secure even tbough building seems safe; hear through walls the bathroom fans from other rooms & conversations; addtl cleaning fee of $10..For what?

    Location;parking;friendly, efficient staff @ check in; comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    The staff was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have parking behind them but if cars take up two spots or there is construction work in front of another it can be tough to find parking but not really their fault. The curtains and lamps could be updated.

    The staff was amazing!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable And Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Some reviews mention the old styling and decor as a negative. I don't see it as such. Personally, if it works and is clean i have no problems at all. I don't really have anything negative to say about the property.

    The room I was in had two beds, but the one I used was super comfortable. The aircon, TV and fridge all worked - and there as was a coffee machine! The bathroom was fit for purpose and did everything it needed to. I feel like i need to mention the toilet... which was probably the most comfortable toilet seat i have ever sat on in my life. Perhaps it's an american thing - maybe they just make better toilets than we do. Finally; the staff were all great; as helpful as they could possibly be.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    3.3
    Location is walking distance from the Grove
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    DON'T STAY HERE!!!! I didn't have high expectations, just needed a place to crash overnight. But this was unbearable. It's started when the front desk person hard-copied my credit card without asking me for permission. i couldn't sleep because the shower tap was leaking. the front desk person came to see it himself and told me to talk to the manager in the morning!!!!   I explained that I wouldn't be able to sleep like this  and he replied that there's no other room available and that no one can fix this now and that the previous guest did not complain so no one knew about the problem.. (which means there was no cleaning service?!! And unfortunately the small hair on the toilet bowl confirms this as well..) I asked to cancel the reservation and he said it's non refundable in any condition. He told me to close the bathroom door, which doesn't help at all as the door doesn't even reach the floor... Other than that ( in case it's not enough..) there's a funny smell in the bedroom and bugs in the shower. Since I checked in late, a woman alone and since he said that I'd be charged anyway I had no choice but stay.. but save yourselves!

    Location is walking distance from the Grove

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    good option in good price in good area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i got room at dark with another door outside to pool, didn't know about pool and falled to the water- no fence' no light! and started my vacation in hospital! my knee was smashed! part of the rooms are smell bad like mold

    very good location in west L.A. low price compare to alternatives

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice stop over for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the room given the temperatures outside wasn't very effective. There was a lot of traffic noise late at night. It was also located within easy walking distance of a park and shops.

    The Park Plaza staff were happy to assist with any enquiry we had. The room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water on one day. Also, we stayed in the second building - at night when returning to the room via the reception, it is extremely dark between the reception and the second building... felt a little unsafe. A simple floodlight or 2 would be very useful to help guests feel more secure.

    All in all, it was a great place to stay for the price and location. Room was a good size too. Location close to The Grove and Farmers Market was the key selling point for me and I loved it... would stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    The location couldn't be more perfect for my needs, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you're coming back to the hotel late at night, the hotel parking might be full already, so be careful about the street sign regulations around it. Thankfully the night clerk was friendly and helpful, too!

    The location couldn't be more perfect for my needs, and you can't find a place remotely close for this price with free parking, either.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.2
    A "meh" hotel; wouldn't stay there if I was a tourist in LA
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite ran down. Very expensive for what it was, although it was cheaper than the alternatives in the area.

    Bedroom was quite big; bathroom was spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Fab hotel, very reasonable for area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with more coffee, sugar and creamer in room, did ask and was given freely.

    Good location near bus stops, near the Grove shopping centre and the farmer's market, KFC on next block, large room, comfortable bad, clean and tidy hotel, staff helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    Convenient and priced well by comparison
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, although nice, needs to be updated, also, we were downstairs which tended to be a bit noisy

    Staff was friendly, bathroom updated and great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    2.9
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was old and uncomfortable. The pillows were flat. The parking lot had homeless people sleeping in it. I saw a drug deal on the corner next to the hotel. I did nit feel safe

    Location was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Dated, clean, nice pool, near museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated

    Clean, inviting outdoor pool. Nothing fancy with this hotel, but roomy, comfy, needs met. Parking is concerned. The Coffee Bean across the street, great for morning coffee or snack..no breakfast at Park Plaza. Bus route nearby. Location good for museums.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Park Plaza Lodge is an example of getting what you pay for. I was looking for location and rates.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was expecting two beds. There was no bathroom outside the rooms. One hundred dollars was taken from my credit card for a $138.25 charge. When I got there, I had to pay the full amount again. I have not received my refund as of 7/25/17. On my receipt, the amunt due was listed as $38.25. I was not happy.

    The rates were reasonable according to rates in that area. I selected the motel because it was within walking distance to where I need to go.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    50/50
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms have paper thin walls so the kid next doors whose parents seemed to not have been bother by the yelling and screaming at 3 am was annoying. ANTS !!! everywhere !! you couldn't leave a crumb of food because you will get ants in a matter or minutes and not just a couple but a swarm of ants. The bathroom was not cleaned properly because there were streaks running down the outside of the toilet, the bathtub had mold and water smelled kind of funky.

    I liked that it did have things relatively close, especially since I had to go everywhere walking. Also the pool, it was very nice and cool . Especially on hot days !! The A/C worked great so the room never felt hot although it's a little loud but to be honest the noise kind of soothed me when I tried sleeping. The beds are big and comfy and you get spare pillows in your closet and drawers also another blanket if you get cold so I did like that a lot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable for the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan in our bathroom didn't work and there were some really loud customers at 1am right outside our room.

    The location and free parking were a huge plus. And it wasn't expensive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    3.8
    Location was good near a coffee shop and near the groove .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel is SO old and the room was full of Ants!! they were everywhere even on the bed ! it made me sick . the money wasn't worth the stay its little bit cheaper but i can pay 100 extra and get a much better hotel . Also the bed is not comfortable at all and it makes noises. the high review made me choosing it but maybe its better for people who wants to spend a day only , but i stayed for 4 days and it was bad experience.

    Location was good near a coffee shop and near the groove . parking is available and staff were kind

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    The room was really big, so as the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was cold but it's refreshing for the flaming days in LA, and the pool could be cleaner!

    The room was really big, so as the bathroom. The location is ideal, walking distance to The Grove , Farmers Market and LA lights, must see in LA !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Good bang for your buck.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an older property. Room was still clean and comfortable, though.

    Good bang for your buck. Walking distance to The Grove and Farmers' Market. Having a place to park is a big deal. Area is very safe.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.6
    Well located but beware
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff was not able to fix the TV during the 4 days of our stay and I discovered on arriving back home that someone had stolen me a black sweater.-

    It's a typical motel very well located

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.6
    A nice location but the hotel lived better times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet was old and dirty. The same applies to the bathroom and the curtains.

    The location. The restaurant which apparently doesn't belong to the hotel is really good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    A great value accommodation option, centrally located for all you wish to do while in LA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing negative to report

    Great and convenient location in La Brea on W. 3rd Street, close to good restaurants and shopping, including the farmer's market. Also, the central location makes it easy to get from the airport, go east to downtown LA or west to Santa Monica.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed the position of the hotel, quite central to drive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We enjoyed the position of the hotel, quite central to drive around the city. We walked around the neighbourhood and it was very good to have the 'Grove' market and shopping area nearby. We went there for breakfast every morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Good value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The maid who cleaned our room before our stay did not do a thorough job. There were traces of the previous guest left behind. Most of the critiques commented on how clean the rooms were so I'm hoping this was a one-time miss. I will give them another chance on my next stay in LA.

    The mattress firmness was perfect. The neighborhood seemed nice and it was very close to Beverly Hills. Plenty of parking available. Even if they ran out of parking, there seemed to be plenty of parking in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    I will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window view...my room located behind parking garage...the parking garage could have been wider for cars...

    Centrally located to restaurants, shopping staff genuine friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    Expected a little more for what we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating! There were no plug ins on the nightstand for your phones. I had to move the nightstand just to plug in the refrigerator. The smoke alarm started chirping at 1am so I had to figure out how to reset it so we could sleep. Toiletries we're very low quality. Bedsheets were clean but made us feel a little itchy.

    The location was excellent near LACMA and some great places to eat. Staff was helpful and friendly. Parking was free, easy, and close.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.9
    This hotel is all about LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Airco is noisy !

    The hotel is a bit dated but they do their best to keep it clean ! The shower was great and and the bed was comfy. I really like the location. If you don't do the touristy stuff, this is just 5-10-15 min away from all local spots. 7-11 & Farmers Market is even in walking distance. If you are doing Touristy stuff, this is still a great location ;o)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.7
    24 hour reception was needed as we arrived late.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality is lower in general it seems due to the large number of tourists and high demand for rooms in LA - so don't expect much for your money. Layout was confusing and not well sign posted inside hotel - so we ended up staying put for the night, as didn't feel overly safe wandering round. I think the accommodation was close enough but too far away from tourist hotspots to attract quite a few unsavoury characters - especially after dark!

    24 hour reception was needed as we arrived late. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    8.8
    Location: short car rides or moderate flat walks to: upscale...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't see an elevator if one needs that. While I appreciate no heavy art frames to sleep under (regional earthquake potential), prints and fabric can be hung with very lightweight framing so walls aren't bare. Add mirrors somewhere outside bathrooms.

    Location: short car rides or moderate flat walks to: upscale Grove mall, a park, L.A's historic and vibrant indoor farmer's market, and LACMA. Lodge: well kept 60s style overall, rooms have different sets of 40s-50s era furniture, expected basic amenities, 3 picky women found 3 different beds very comfortable! Nice staff. If you seek luxury-level pampering go elsewhere (and pay much more).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.9
    Parking for Car Included; Great Value for Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No frills such as continental breakfast or coffee in lobby.

    Good value proposition for this location; basic hotel needs including parking for car met conveniently.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    The look of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. Parking was in a back alley but the size of the parking spaces where for small cars only. Very tight.

    The look of the hotel. And the shower was hudge.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.8
    Everything is a walk away
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear everything outside and the room didn't come with a body length mirror

    Got to check in early and got two beds instead of one. Love the shower it's very spacious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    Great Location for Visiting Hollywood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Housekeeping did a rather poor job of vacuuming the carpet. No way to lock the window . . . . which was accessible from the outside via a scramble through some shrubbery.

    Easy walk to LaBrea Tar Pits, LA Art Museum, and Farmers' Market. Right next door to a wonderful restaurant. Minimum street noise (double pane windows).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.6
    GREAT Location! Easy walk to the Grove.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an old place, but the rooms are large and bed comfortable. There is a mini fridge and coffee maker in all the rooms. No breakfast, but the cafe attached is very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.9
    Great Location- Great Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only 1 main problem with this hotel. Walls are thin- we could hear TV and low talking in next room and hallway (although we came in late from the show show didn't last long). Then traffic noise starts at 6:30am. BUT we knew this upon booking and location to the venue was our main priority. Coffee making supplies were also a bit thin (hence Coffee Bean).

    Location was great. Exactly what we were looking for- walking distance to El-Ray venue. Ate at the Fiddlers Bistro next door. All meals were excellent. Grabbed coffe at the Coffee Bean on the other side of the hotel on the way out the next morning. We had to transport some Music equipment and the hotel saved our parking space (due to truck size). Hotel staff was great. Coffee maker and mini fridge plus flat screen TV. Older hotel but shower had been updated- good shower and temp. Window unit heater worked well and extra blankets already in the room!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.6
    Affordable, clean option in central LA
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little noise came from the adjacent room with a shared suite door. The front door is locked after a certain time, which makes you a bit self-conscious.

    Convenient location near The Grove shopping center, Miracle Mile and Melrose-Fairfax. Decent furnishings.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.9
    Quite cozy beds, and staff is friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very loud ventilator in the bathroom is connected to the lights, so we had to shower without lights on to avoid the noise.

    Quite cozy beds, and staff is friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.8
    Grreat location, good restaurant on the premises,...
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The drapes are too flimsy to keep out the bright lights in the alley. The coffeemaker has poor-quality coffee and no teabags. A microwave would be nice. The desk staff tend to smoke just outside the reception area.

    Grreat location, good restaurant on the premises, comfortable bed, plain but pleasant room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    5.4
    Hotel in need of refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed at this hotel several times. The hotel is in serious need of a refurbishment . There is inconsistency in the quality of the rooms. The carpets are grubby some of the windows don't close properly and some curtains have stains. There is no colour in the rooms which are lifless. There is not even a picture on the wall. With a little money spent on remodelling the rooms this place could be superb .

    Convinient location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.9
    While the place was not the most modern property in town...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the place was not the most modern property in town (it's actually a little bit old) it's being kept in decent shape. The rooms are decently sized, and have all the comfort you might expect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    8.8
    Good basic comfort at a good price in a great location.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A microwave oven might be useful, as would some room-darkening curtains (bright light in the alley).

    Good basic comfort at a good price in a great location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    3.3
    The location was good for where we wanted to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a wierd smell, the furniture was bad and overall the worst hotel room we ever stayed in. Would not recommend it.

    The location was good for where we wanted to be. That's about it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    7.5
    -Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -Breakfast is not included. -We wanted to stay one more night and they said that the price out of booking.com was 3x more! absurd! -One night the manager gave our parking spot to another guest. we had to park 1 block away, in a public spot, during the night cold!

    -Very good location. You are in the halfway between downtown, hollywood, beverly hills and santa monica exit. You can reach all of these spots easily and without traffic.; there is also all sort of stores, markets and 02 big malls nearby that you can reach walking. -Very good wifi signal, free. -Very good hot shower. -Easy access parking, free. -Comfortable room. -Kind staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.9
    Convenient location, easy parking, spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some technical problems: smelly heater, hard-to-control shower (too hot), dim lightbulbs, refrigerator with no switch

    Convenient location, easy parking, spacious room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    3.3
    Meh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crowded lobby in the afternoon with tons of people shouting and laughing in Tagalog while we were trying to nap. Parking was difficult, but it's LA so I was not surprised.

    They didn't cancel the reservation like the original hotel I reserved did.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    Near enough to everywhere, but far enough away from the noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the bedding and carpets look a little tired. But if you want 5 star; you pay for 5 star.

    One of my favourite short stay places in Hollywood. Near the Farmers Market, but far away enough from the noise of Hollywood. Free Parking, too, which is a rare thing in LA! The lobby staff are always friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    6.7
    What you get and what you pay is good!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    During the week days a good price . Good location, I advice you to stay in this hotel. Very very nearby restaurant and coffee shop. Good parking places, free of charge.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.5
    Not Bad for the Excellent Price ... I
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was not happy to see a big cockroach (Palmetto bug?) on the stairs. It put me on "red alert," and I expected to see them inside the room. GLAD to say that I saw none of these elsewhere on the property nor in the room. The parking is adequate if you have a mid- to compact-sized car. It's a tight squeeze if you have anything larger, but at least parking IS provided (directly under the motel with a back alley entrance).

    The mattress was clean and comfortable and pillows were great - no complaints with these. The bathroom had been renovated and I liked that. I especially appreciated the room safe (which was bolted down) and felt secure leaving things in it. The TV offered many stations. The air conditioning unit (not central air) worked but it was quiet loud. The location of this motel is just so convenient for me that I can't complain about much. As long as I have a comfortable bed/pillows, and I feel the room is secure, I'm fine. I don't spend much time in the room itself.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.0
    Don't stay here - look elsewhere, plenty of other options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived just before 2pm and were told we were "really really early" - hardly what we wanted to hear after a 14-hour flight. Granted check in was at 3pm, an hour early is hardly a reason to say really really early. The front desk wasn't friendly and when we asked if they could provide an alternative room for three friends or a pull out bed (which was asked at booking), they simply refused to help and said no. They lacked any empathy or willingness to help accommodate us. The room smelled of cigarette smoke, although all rooms are advertised as non-smoking. The decor was rather rundown and is in desperate need of an upgrade. Our toilet backed up and when we asked for help, we were told, they couldn't and handed us a plunger to unblock it ourselves! Who does that? In addition, there was a wasp in our room that we had to swat and remove on our own. I have stayed in many hotels in LA and wouldn't stay here again. It was a very disappointing experience. And most of our concerns could have been avoided with some basic customer service. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.

    Decent location next to The Grove and Farmer's Market. Walking distance to shops an cafes.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.8
    Great place for a great price!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have loved more access for exits. I always had to walk to the far end of the hotel to exit (but then again, that's probably why it felt so safe)

    Great WiFi. Amazing location. Felt safe.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.5
    Good location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked two rooms for two nights. But at the check-in (11pm), they informed there was only one room available w/ ONE bed. I've contact Booking.com by phone and, although the attendant was very polite, she just called the hotel and listen to the same thing I had; there wasn't any other room available for that night, and they would provide folding beds, which by the way were horrible; old, deformed springs and very short and narrow. As it was late and we had an appointment early next morning, my fiancé and I slept on my parents room on the old carpet floor with a 4 inch "mattress" (sleeping-bag). To compensate that awful night, the hotel didn't charge the second room.

    Good location; good size bedroom and bath room. Affordable price if compared with similar hotels.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice room, hopefully your car is still there in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Within the first 10 hours of parking, someone broke the door lock on my truck attempting to break in/steal it. Parking is off a public alley way and offers no security at all. Park at your own risk!

    Nice rooms and a convenient location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Nothing fancy but clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints! It's nothing fancy but clean and I loved the location! It's very centrally located in LA. I would stay again! I spent half the day at The Grove and the Famers Marker which is less than 10 minutes walking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.3
    Adequate for a very short, economical one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding was very low budget. Pillows as hard as a rock. Carpet on its last leg. No amenities in the bathroom.

    It was within walking distance to the CBSStudios, the Grove and Farmer's Market.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: